Charlotte, NC - OTA - Page 145 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 328Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #4321 of 11944 Old 02-05-2012, 06:09 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
tylerSC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Mauldin SC, 29607
Posts: 6,311
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1118 Post(s)
Liked: 215
Have not noticed black bar on WCNC or WYFF4 OTA. Pic quality looks good on both channels.
tylerSC is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4322 of 11944 Old 02-05-2012, 06:19 PM
Member
 
bill875's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Conover, NC
Posts: 52
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Black bar is present at the top of the screen on WCNC OTA and DirecTV in the 4th with 9:35 remaining.
bill875 is offline  
post #4323 of 11944 Old 02-05-2012, 06:21 PM
Member
 
tesla_engineer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Hickory, NC
Posts: 115
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 39 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by blackcat6 View Post

Country Boy I understand. It's the same situation here in Huntersville with WKHY, no decent signal, no guide & no prospects that it's going to improve. I don't even think the NSA could pick it up in a reliable manner. So, like you, I've decided to give up on it for now.

At Huntersville you do not have a problem with WHKY breaking WMYT. This is only a close in problem to the main transmitter site for WHKY (Baker Mt) and WMYT (Dallas)

Tom

Tom
tesla_engineer is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4324 of 11944 Old 02-05-2012, 06:25 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
foxeng's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Where ever I am is where I am.
Posts: 14,264
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 203 Post(s)
Liked: 84
Quote:
Originally Posted by ybsane View Post

Unless you have film mode engaged on your TV for Telecine, It did change (video) during the half time show.

I think I read it was to be a 3D Halftime Show (but not for OTA). The resolution did drop a little when they did that. Because of the bandwidth required, the resolution suffers for the 3D effect. I saw them switch it back after the Halftime.

All opinions expressed (unless otherwise noted) are the posters and NOT the posters employers. The poster in NO WAY is/will speak for his employers. "Arguing with an engineer is like mud wrestling with a pig. After a couple of hours, you realize the pig likes it"
foxeng is offline  
post #4325 of 11944 Old 02-05-2012, 06:33 PM
AVS Forum Club Gold
 
homcom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: SE Michigan
Posts: 6,261
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Trip in VA View Post

I don't have any overscan. I'm watching it on my computer in VLC, so I see whatever is being transmitted.

And yes, I see it again.

- Trip

The black line is put in by NBC to hide camera data that is inserted by the graphic system used for "yellow line" virtual on field graphics.
homcom is offline  
post #4326 of 11944 Old 02-05-2012, 06:34 PM
Senior Member
 
Zaxcom's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 404
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 118 Post(s)
Liked: 47
dont think so. We use that system every week and we dont have to put any extra line blanking in.
Zaxcom is online now  
post #4327 of 11944 Old 02-05-2012, 06:36 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
tylerSC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Mauldin SC, 29607
Posts: 6,311
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1118 Post(s)
Liked: 215
Yea black bar is now present on bottom of screen on both 36.1 and 4.1 OTA.
tylerSC is offline  
post #4328 of 11944 Old 02-05-2012, 06:41 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
ybsane's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 1,354
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 136 Post(s)
Liked: 39
Quote:
Originally Posted by homcom View Post

The black line is put in by NBC to hide camera data that is inserted by the graphic system used for "yellow line" virtual on field graphics.

It is not there on the satellite feed but OTA it is there, MPEG-4 to MPEG-2 conversion is my guess with the mux conversion

All Comments made are my own and not of my employer.
ybsane is offline  
post #4329 of 11944 Old 02-05-2012, 08:31 PM
Advanced Member
 
ejb1980's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Vermont
Posts: 903
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 125 Post(s)
Liked: 32
There is a weird purple bar on the left side of Univision, WUVC Raleigh, if anyone cares.
ejb1980 is offline  
post #4330 of 11944 Old 02-06-2012, 12:38 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
blackcat6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Charlotte
Posts: 1,562
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 319 Post(s)
Liked: 70
Quote:
Originally Posted by tesla_engineer View Post

At Huntersville you do not have a problem with WHKY breaking WMYT. This is only a close in problem to the main transmitter site for WHKY (Baker Mt) and WMYT (Dallas)

I'm not sure why this is relevant to what I posted. I was commenting on the waste of spending more money on antennas, when it's clear that WHKY isn't transmitting a usable signal towards Huntersville. Obviously there was business decision that you can't share as to why you guys decided to put a 18Kw transmitter in Meck and then aim it down a narrow strip of the county. If WHKY is knocking WMYT off the air in Dallas, it must be more of the same.

It's ironic since back in the day, Huntersville and points north were the only parts of Mecklenburg to get WHKY on cable. (CableVision, Vison Cable, Lakeside/Prestige Cable)
blackcat6 is offline  
post #4331 of 11944 Old 02-06-2012, 01:39 AM
Member
 
tesla_engineer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Hickory, NC
Posts: 115
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 39 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by blackcat6 View Post

I'm not sure why this is relevant to what I posted. I was commenting on the waste of spending more money on antennas, when it's clear that WHKY isn't transmitting a usable signal towards Huntersville. Obviously there was business decision that you can't share as to why you guys decided to put a 18Kw transmitter in Meck and then aim it down a narrow strip of the county. If WHKY is knocking WMYT off the air in Dallas, it must be more of the same.

It's ironic since back in the day, Huntersville and points north were the only parts of Mecklenburg to get WHKY on cable. (CableVision, Vison Cable, Lakeside/Prestige Cable)

First of all WMYT causes a problem with WHKY at Dallas. Also by your post here if you would point your antenna at the transmitter on Baker Mt you would have a signal. I have looked at signal levels in that section of the county and they do what they are expected to do. As far as the 18KW in Charlotte it does what it is to do. That is not for coverage that way. You have made the comment here before you get a signal if you aim the antenna for Hickory. Try moving the antenna to the side and look at how many of the Charlotte stations you loose. Don't believe you would be happy if I put a transmitter across the street from you. From your post here your are not happy, with much of anything, on any channel.

Tom
tesla_engineer is offline  
post #4332 of 11944 Old 02-07-2012, 07:43 AM
Newbie
 
off-air newbie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
All--new to this game. Thinking of ditching cable TV. Live in Rock Hill area. Any suggestions on antenna/reputable installers? Thanks.
off-air newbie is offline  
post #4333 of 11944 Old 02-07-2012, 01:40 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
tylerSC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Mauldin SC, 29607
Posts: 6,311
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1118 Post(s)
Liked: 215
Antennacraft HBU33 or HBU55 are available at most Radioshacks and when used with a rotor, will give you Columbia signals, possibly Greenville-Spartanburg, and of course, Charlotte. Winegard also makes similar versions. For Charlotte only, a Clearstream 2 from Best Buy should work well, but order online for better price. Also, Channel Master 4221 or Antennacraft 4400 from Radioshack should work good also. Find a sweet spot between Dallas and Charlotte towers. And perhaps a medium gain preamp such as Winegard 269.
tylerSC is offline  
post #4334 of 11944 Old 02-07-2012, 06:43 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
tylerSC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Mauldin SC, 29607
Posts: 6,311
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1118 Post(s)
Liked: 215
Beware Channel 9 said coyotes are now running wild in the Charlotte area. Find out what to do tonight at 11.
tylerSC is offline  
post #4335 of 11944 Old 02-08-2012, 03:48 AM
Member
 
hamstang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: South Charlotte NC
Posts: 196
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 29 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Coyotes, gangs, puppy mills. It must be ratings time.
hamstang is offline  
post #4336 of 11944 Old 02-08-2012, 04:02 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bdfox18doe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 6,824
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 314 Post(s)
Liked: 168
All we need now is some bad weather so we can see the new sooper dooper
doppler 600,000 and wall to wall coverage!

Bob

The views expressed here are my own and do not necessarily represent those of ABC, CBS, CW, FOX, MeTv, or AntennaTv; my employer; or its parent company.
Nor my wife for that matter!
bdfox18doe is offline  
post #4337 of 11944 Old 02-08-2012, 04:30 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
foxeng's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Where ever I am is where I am.
Posts: 14,264
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 203 Post(s)
Liked: 84
Quote:
Originally Posted by bdfox18doe View Post

All we need now is some bad weather so we can see the new sooper dooper
doppler 600,000 and wall to wall coverage!

Maybe in Charlotte but not so much in the Triad!

All opinions expressed (unless otherwise noted) are the posters and NOT the posters employers. The poster in NO WAY is/will speak for his employers. "Arguing with an engineer is like mud wrestling with a pig. After a couple of hours, you realize the pig likes it"
foxeng is offline  
post #4338 of 11944 Old 02-08-2012, 05:36 AM
Senior Member
 
Zaxcom's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 404
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 118 Post(s)
Liked: 47
Quote:
Originally Posted by tylerSC View Post

Beware Channel 9 said coyotes are now running wild in the Charlotte area. Find out what to do tonight at 11.

Gee all I see running around in Ballantyne is cougars!
Zaxcom is online now  
post #4339 of 11944 Old 02-08-2012, 07:25 AM
Advanced Member
 
Theo1080's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 926
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 114 Post(s)
Liked: 53
Jealousy is an ugly emotion... :-)

plus we killed a coyote in our parking lot, so there are really in Charlotte...

Ted Hand, CPBE. 8VSB, DRB, AMD
Fellow - Society of Broadcast Engineers
I was there on July 23, 1996...First DTV broadcast in the US..WRAL-HD
Amateur Radio - W9SOC
Theo1080 is offline  
post #4340 of 11944 Old 02-08-2012, 08:26 AM
Advanced Member
 
eacalhoun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Valdese, NC
Posts: 503
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 79 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by Theo1080 View Post

Jealousy is an ugly emotion... :-)

plus we killed a coyote in our parking lot, so there are really in Charlotte...

Live Team Coverage at Noon, including PETA? :-)

Eric Calhoun

"If it was simple, anyone could do it" - Roy Clark from Hee Haw
eacalhoun is offline  
post #4341 of 11944 Old 02-08-2012, 08:34 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
tylerSC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Mauldin SC, 29607
Posts: 6,311
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1118 Post(s)
Liked: 215
The coyotes are a legitimate concern, however sometimes the news teasers become a bit humorous ... And apparently there is also a flasher on the loose in Charlotte. Not sure which is worse. Now perhaps if the coyotes could chase down the flasher ...
tylerSC is offline  
post #4342 of 11944 Old 02-08-2012, 05:12 PM
Advanced Member
 
Theo1080's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 926
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 114 Post(s)
Liked: 53
As WSOC is the process of putting the Statesville translator online...I will be changing PSIP call letters....the WSOCTV1/WAXNTV2 etc....will begin to get confusing.....Crowder's Mtn will be WSOC-CR 9.5 / WAXN-CR 64.5.....China Grove will be WSOC-CG 9.7 / WAXN-CG 64.7....Statesville will be WSOC-ST 9.9 / WAXN-ST 64.9. Smith Mtn will remain W42DR-D since it is a true translator while the others are Displacement Translators licensed to the main. I have a target date on April 1 for Statesville going online. I will inform if that sildes either way....

Ted Hand, CPBE. 8VSB, DRB, AMD
Fellow - Society of Broadcast Engineers
I was there on July 23, 1996...First DTV broadcast in the US..WRAL-HD
Amateur Radio - W9SOC
Theo1080 is offline  
post #4343 of 11944 Old 02-09-2012, 05:16 AM
Advanced Member
 
eacalhoun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Valdese, NC
Posts: 503
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 79 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by Theo1080 View Post

As WSOC is the process of putting the Statesville translator online...I will be changing PSIP call letters....the WSOCTV1/WAXNTV2 etc....will begin to get confusing.....Crowder's Mtn will be WSOC-CR 9.5 / WAXN-CR 64.5.....China Grove will be WSOC-CG 9.7 / WAXN-CG 64.7....Statesville will be WSOC-ST 9.9 / WAXN-ST 64.9. Smith Mtn will remain W42DR-D since it is a true translator while the others are Displacement Translators licensed to the main. I have a target date on April 1 for Statesville going online. I will inform if that sildes either way....

Glad to know we have something authentic in Burke County

Eric

Eric Calhoun

"If it was simple, anyone could do it" - Roy Clark from Hee Haw
eacalhoun is offline  
post #4344 of 11944 Old 02-09-2012, 02:20 PM
 
Country_Boy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Hickory, NC
Posts: 185
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
It's still a little strange to me that I can pick up the Charlotte stations better at times than the translators in Marion. Weather? Sun Spots? Floaters in my eyes?

On another note: I hooked one of my home-made computers up to the VGA input on my TV, and can now watch SyFy, and other sorts of brain killing programs, full screen on my 46" couch potato babysitter. The computer has built in video (not the best, but it works good) and I have 700 megs allocated to it.

The video is pretty good, although it is not HD. It is more like just standard lo def. I had to hook it up to the VGA port as I don't have an HDMI output on the computer. I am not sure if this would really make a difference in the quality from something like YouTube.

Note to self: Build a new computer and add a good video card with HDMI output.
Country_Boy is offline  
post #4345 of 11944 Old 02-09-2012, 05:49 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
tylerSC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Mauldin SC, 29607
Posts: 6,311
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1118 Post(s)
Liked: 215
PSIP data down again on WBTV all 3 channels. Every time they seem to get it working again on all subchannels, it seems to go down.
tylerSC is offline  
post #4346 of 11944 Old 02-09-2012, 07:31 PM
Member
 
jmduncan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Statesville, NC
Posts: 53
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
What channel will WSOC-ST 9.9 be broadcast on in Statesville? I'm surprised that a translator is needed in this area because I receive 9.1 and 9.7 at 100% strength, and 9.5 at about 50% strength with no dropouts. Maybe it will be directed north and west of here, to help the signal in the mountains.
jmduncan is offline  
post #4347 of 11944 Old 02-09-2012, 07:46 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Trip in VA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Alexandria, VA, US
Posts: 16,345
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1344 Post(s)
Liked: 459
Send a message via AIM to Trip in VA
46.

- Trip

N4MJC

Comments are my own and not that of the FCC (my employer) or anyone else.

RabbitEars

"Ignorance and prejudice and fear walk hand in hand..." - Rush "Witch Hunt"

Trip in VA is online now  
post #4348 of 11944 Old 02-09-2012, 09:12 PM
Senior Member
 
mcy919's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Blowing Rock, NC
Posts: 239
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by tylerSC View Post

PSIP data down again on WBTV all 3 channels. Every time they seem to get it working again on all subchannels, it seems to go down.

They are also still trying to change the name of 3-3 from "ThisTV" to "THIS TV." I'm glad I don't use the timers on my converter box since that screws them up!
mcy919 is offline  
post #4349 of 11944 Old 02-10-2012, 05:58 AM
A J
Advanced Member
 
A J's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Indian Trail, NC
Posts: 561
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 177 Post(s)
Liked: 55
Quote:
Originally Posted by Country_Boy View Post

It's still a little strange to me that I can pick up the Charlotte stations better at times than the translators in Marion. Weather? Sun Spots? Floaters in my eyes?

Yeah, I'm puzzled, too, by reception that seems counter-intuitive. For example, my antenna is aimed almost directly at WHKY's Charlotte transmitter which is 15 miles away and I often get squat, then sometimes 60% (basically unwatchable). Yet, I receive WXLV 45.1 & .2 in Greensboro pretty much 24/7 at around 70% signal strength. I also get WCWG 20.1,2,3,4 intermittently, about as good as WHKY. Those Greensboro stations are 71 miles from me and over 50 deg east from where my attic antenna is aimed. Go figure...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Country_Boy View Post

Note to self: Build a new computer and add a good video card with HDMI output.

I use a Roku to stream video as a supplement to OTA but one of my friends has a computer outputting HDMI 1080P to his TV with terrific picture quality, ever bit as good as my Roku and far more versatile.
A J is offline  
post #4350 of 11944 Old 02-11-2012, 02:15 PM
Advanced Member
 
evan237's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 699
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 102 Post(s)
Liked: 35
Quote:
Originally Posted by A J View Post

Yeah, I'm puzzled, too, by reception that seems counter-intuitive. For example, my antenna is aimed almost directly at WHKY's Charlotte transmitter which is 15 miles away and I often get squat, then sometimes 60% (basically unwatchable). Yet, I receive WXLV 45.1 & .2 in Greensboro pretty much 24/7 at around 70% signal strength. I also get WCWG 20.1,2,3,4 intermittently, about as good as WHKY. Those Greensboro stations are 71 miles from me and over 50 deg east from where my attic antenna is aimed. Go figure...

Reportedly, WFMY still has one of the largest coverage areas in the Carolinas with its transmitter located in Randleman, NC. It seems it's been this way for many years with coverage as far away as Charlotte to the SW and Raleigh to the east.

WCNC seems to be my strongest out of market (Charlotte station) with its tower in Dallas, NC. This seems a bit ironic given the fact that CH 36 used to the the 'step child' network in Charlotte, always taking a back seat to the others. But it would be nice to see them upgrade their news studio to full HD.
evan237 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off