Charlotte, NC - OTA - Page 400 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 776Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #11971 of 13536 Old 06-06-2019, 12:53 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
ybsane's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 1,458
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 220 Post(s)
Liked: 83
Quote:
Originally Posted by tylerSC View Post
Miss USA and Dolly Parton on WBTV morning show today.
I hope Dolly did not block the view to Miss USA
A J likes this.

All Comments made are my own and not of my employer.
ybsane is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #11972 of 13536 Old 06-06-2019, 04:59 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bdfox18doe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 6,996
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 430 Post(s)
Liked: 299
Quote:
Originally Posted by ybsane View Post
I hope Dolly did not block the view to Miss USA
Well..some things are even better in “widescreen” and hdtv...however off topic the original post may be..

Bob

The views expressed here are my own and do not necessarily represent those of ABC, CBS, CW, FOX, MeTv, or AntennaTv; my employer; or its parent company.
Nor my wife for that matter!
bdfox18doe is offline  
post #11973 of 13536 Old 06-07-2019, 02:37 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
ybsane's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 1,458
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 220 Post(s)
Liked: 83
WCNC 36 all channels: I got signal this morning but no picture or sound with error, Smart card error- weak and or scrambled station. Anyone else..?

All Comments made are my own and not of my employer.
ybsane is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #11974 of 13536 Old 06-07-2019, 05:17 PM
Advanced Member
 
LMckin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Spartanburg,SC
Posts: 875
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 281 Post(s)
Liked: 44
WBTV Channel 3 will be bring back the National Anthem air just before 4am

https://www.wbtv.com/2019/06/07/wbtv...ujW2yp2p415UwM
ybsane likes this.
LMckin is offline  
post #11975 of 13536 Old 06-07-2019, 07:37 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bdfox18doe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 6,996
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 430 Post(s)
Liked: 299
Quote:
Originally Posted by LMckin View Post
WBTV Channel 3 will be bring back the National Anthem air just before 4am

https://www.wbtv.com/2019/06/07/wbtv...ujW2yp2p415UwM

oh my..thanks for this..I used to air this on W3Tv on the overnights...right before I hit "plates off" on the transmitter...a LOONG time ago..
LMckin likes this.

Bob

The views expressed here are my own and do not necessarily represent those of ABC, CBS, CW, FOX, MeTv, or AntennaTv; my employer; or its parent company.
Nor my wife for that matter!
bdfox18doe is offline  
post #11976 of 13536 Old 06-07-2019, 07:45 PM
Advanced Member
 
LMckin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Spartanburg,SC
Posts: 875
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 281 Post(s)
Liked: 44
Bob,

when WCCB switch to it new side mount antenna will that change the signal pattern from reaching into Spartanburg in South Carolina
LMckin is offline  
post #11977 of 13536 Old 06-08-2019, 04:09 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
tylerSC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Mauldin SC, 29607
Posts: 6,879
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1436 Post(s)
Liked: 272
Quote:
Originally Posted by LMckin View Post
Bob,

when WCCB switch to it new side mount antenna will that change the signal pattern from reaching into Spartanburg in South Carolina
I think the current WCCB 27 antenna may be side mount and the old analog 18 antenna may still be on top of tower. They were going to use old 18 antenna for repack digital but need repair and no parts available. Hopefully the new 18 side mount pattern will be as good as current 27 or maybe a bit better. But Spartanburg County is getting into the fringe for WCCB and WSOC but you can pick them up in many locations. I hope to get WSOC on 19 and WCCB on 18 but I think may be problem with WSOC translator move to channel 12 but we shall see.
tylerSC is offline  
post #11978 of 13536 Old 06-10-2019, 11:16 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
tylerSC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Mauldin SC, 29607
Posts: 6,879
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1436 Post(s)
Liked: 272
Anybody tried the Mohu Sky 60 antenna? It is the small X shaped antenna made by Mohu in Raleigh, inspired by patented military technology. The original version had a built in preamp, but current versions have an external inline amp. But they are supposed to be comparable to a larger 8bay but much smaller size. They have a good promo sale right now, so the Air 60 version is only $41 so I thought I would give it a try since I have confined space in the attic.
tylerSC is offline  
post #11979 of 13536 Old 06-11-2019, 11:22 AM
Senior Member
 
realoldman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: columbus, nc
Posts: 414
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 229 Post(s)
Liked: 38
Anybody else having problems with channel 9 and 18 not showing info in the built in guide on there tv?
realoldman is offline  
post #11980 of 13536 Old 06-12-2019, 06:19 PM
Advanced Member
 
evan237's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Mocksville, NC
Posts: 912
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 241 Post(s)
Liked: 53
Quote:
Originally Posted by tylerSC View Post
Anybody tried the Mohu Sky 60 antenna? It is the small X shaped antenna made by Mohu in Raleigh, inspired by patented military technology. The original version had a built in preamp, but current versions have an external inline amp. But they are supposed to be comparable to a larger 8bay but much smaller size. They have a good promo sale right now, so the Air 60 version is only $41 so I thought I would give it a try since I have confined space in the attic.
I briefly tried the Mohu Sky 60 for my guest bedroom last year b/c I didn't want too many splits off my main antenna for the L/R and MBR. I keep any antenna for the guest bedroom about 10 plus feet off my main antenna (in the attic) to avoid interference...so that doesn't leave a lot of wiggle room as far as placements (and parts of my attic that are easily accessible). But what I can say is this. In the exact same placement as my Mohu Sail, the Mohu Sky 60 was not quite as effective in terms of signal readings. So I am using the Mohu Sail for that room. But you can give the Sky 60 a try. The nice thing about it's compact size is the fact that it's an easy test and you can always return it if you are not satisfied. And with the promo you mentioned, it's inexpensive enough.
evan237 is offline  
post #11981 of 13536 Old 06-12-2019, 06:45 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bdfox18doe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 6,996
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 430 Post(s)
Liked: 299
Quote:
Originally Posted by evan237 View Post
the Mohu Sky 60 was not quite as effective in terms of signal readings. .

Well dang.. so what you are saying is fancy plastic packaging and marketing hype still cannot overcome the laws of physics?
ybsane, A J and difuse like this.

Bob

The views expressed here are my own and do not necessarily represent those of ABC, CBS, CW, FOX, MeTv, or AntennaTv; my employer; or its parent company.
Nor my wife for that matter!
bdfox18doe is offline  
post #11982 of 13536 Old 06-12-2019, 07:02 PM
Advanced Member
 
evan237's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Mocksville, NC
Posts: 912
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 241 Post(s)
Liked: 53
Quote:
Originally Posted by bdfox18doe View Post
Well dang.. so what you are saying is fancy plastic packaging and marketing hype still cannot overcome the laws of physics?
Perhaps some companies might want buyers to think so. But what about other antenna manufacturers that claim a 150 mile range
evan237 is offline  
post #11983 of 13536 Old 06-13-2019, 02:46 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
ybsane's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 1,458
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 220 Post(s)
Liked: 83
Quote:
Originally Posted by evan237 View Post
Perhaps some companies might want buyers to think so. But what about other antenna manufacturers that claim a 150 mile range
They were testing with some Tropospheric Ducting...LOL

All Comments made are my own and not of my employer.
ybsane is offline  
post #11984 of 13536 Old 06-13-2019, 07:23 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bdfox18doe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 6,996
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 430 Post(s)
Liked: 299
Quote:
Originally Posted by evan237 View Post
Perhaps some companies might want buyers to think so. But what about other antenna manufacturers that claim a 150 mile range
Especially around here where it’s not exactly flat...

I worked on the Ussb-Cema antenna testing that was done here that is used for Antennaweb.org...
I know from real field experience what will and won’t work for the most part... RIP Neil Terk.

Bob

The views expressed here are my own and do not necessarily represent those of ABC, CBS, CW, FOX, MeTv, or AntennaTv; my employer; or its parent company.
Nor my wife for that matter!
bdfox18doe is offline  
post #11985 of 13536 Old 06-17-2019, 12:32 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
tylerSC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Mauldin SC, 29607
Posts: 6,879
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1436 Post(s)
Liked: 272
Wjzy

Problem WJZY low signal this afternoon. 2 bars then drop out. WCNC and WBTV full strength, 8 and 10 bars. Spartanburg County.

UPDATE: Must be tech problem of some sort because 95.1 radio station off the air same tower. But 96.1 radio same tower still on the air full power. Also look like 97.9 radio reduced power same tower. Something going on.

Last edited by tylerSC; 06-17-2019 at 01:26 PM.
tylerSC is offline  
post #11986 of 13536 Old 06-17-2019, 02:40 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
tylerSC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Mauldin SC, 29607
Posts: 6,879
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1436 Post(s)
Liked: 272
Quote:
Originally Posted by tylerSC View Post
Problem WJZY low signal this afternoon. 2 bars then drop out. WCNC and WBTV full strength, 8 and 10 bars. Spartanburg County.

UPDATE: Must be tech problem of some sort because 95.1 radio station off the air same tower. But 96.1 radio same tower still on the air full power. Also look like 97.9 radio reduced power same tower. Something going on.
WJZY and radio stations now back to full power problem fixed.
tylerSC is offline  
post #11987 of 13536 Old 06-18-2019, 11:46 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
tylerSC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Mauldin SC, 29607
Posts: 6,879
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1436 Post(s)
Liked: 272
Quote:
Originally Posted by tylerSC View Post
WJZY and radio stations now back to full power problem fixed.
Problem return today. WJZY low power and radio stations weak also. No signal 95.1 . Must be tower work going on.
tylerSC is offline  
post #11988 of 13536 Old 06-18-2019, 12:19 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
tylerSC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Mauldin SC, 29607
Posts: 6,879
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1436 Post(s)
Liked: 272
Quote:
Originally Posted by tylerSC View Post
Problem return today. WJZY low power and radio stations weak also. No signal 95.1 . Must be tower work going on.
UPDATE:

I receive email from WJZY and they confirm "exciting changes underway" as tower work begins. They are indeed reduced power as they install new antenna and transmitter. They say they will be the most powerful in the Carolinas when work is complete in September. Hopefully an improved coverage area as they have taller top mount antenna. And I guess 95.1 radio must be turned down while workers are on the tower.
tylerSC is offline  
post #11989 of 13536 Old 06-18-2019, 02:17 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
ybsane's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 1,458
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 220 Post(s)
Liked: 83
Quote:
Originally Posted by tylerSC View Post
Problem return today. WJZY low power and radio stations weak also. No signal 95.1 . Must be tower work going on.
I am going to call atmospheric on this one since I don't have any issue's here and you are close to fringe and no else is having issues...

Update:
I saw your update about tower work but I am not seeing issues here.

All Comments made are my own and not of my employer.
ybsane is offline  
post #11990 of 13536 Old 06-18-2019, 07:23 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
tylerSC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Mauldin SC, 29607
Posts: 6,879
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1436 Post(s)
Liked: 272
Quote:
Originally Posted by ybsane View Post
I am going to call atmospheric on this one since I don't have any issue's here and you are close to fringe and no else is having issues...

Update:
I saw your update about tower work but I am not seeing issues here.
WJZY email said they are working on the tower to install their powerful new transmitter and antenna. He said they are at reduced power while the workers are on the tower, and I guess the radio stations have to power down as well. I don't know if 95.1 still has the back up transmitter in Charlotte, or 97.9 in Concord. That would explain why they were not coming in at my distance in Spartanburg. But I was still getting 96.1.

I wonder if any of the other stations have started tower work yet. They say WCCB has been delayed due to replacement antenna, but perhaps work is underway for WSOC and WCNC. I know the engineer posted the picture of the big new channel 19 antenna for WSOC, and some stations may need to use a temporary antenna during the installation process. I guess they will let us know as they deem necessary.
tylerSC is offline  
post #11991 of 13536 Old 06-18-2019, 08:26 PM
Advanced Member
 
evan237's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Mocksville, NC
Posts: 912
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 241 Post(s)
Liked: 53
Quote:
Originally Posted by tylerSC View Post
WJZY email said they are working on the tower to install their powerful new transmitter and antenna. He said they are at reduced power while the workers are on the tower, and I guess the radio stations have to power down as well. I don't know if 95.1 still has the back up transmitter in Charlotte, or 97.9 in Concord. That would explain why they were not coming in at my distance in Spartanburg. But I was still getting 96.1.

I wonder if any of the other stations have started tower work yet. They say WCCB has been delayed due to replacement antenna, but perhaps work is underway for WSOC and WCNC. I know the engineer posted the picture of the big new channel 19 antenna for WSOC, and some stations may need to use a temporary antenna during the installation process. I guess they will let us know as they deem necessary.
Although there may be some interruptions this summer while they work to replace their existing transmitter and antenna, it appears the broadcast signal this Fall from WJZY should be great
ybsane likes this.
evan237 is offline  
post #11992 of 13536 Old 06-20-2019, 10:52 AM
Senior Member
 
OTA-DVR-guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Mount Holly, NC
Posts: 357
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 238 Post(s)
Liked: 47
Quote:
Originally Posted by realoldman View Post
Anybody else having problems with channel 9 and 18 not showing info in the built in guide on there tv?
I have this issue on the WCCB channels all the time. I am fortunate to get 12 hours of programming listed on the on-screen guide for 18-1 through 18-5. But I have noticed no such problems on channel 9. In fact, all of the WSOC and WAXN channels have the most extensive programming grids in the Charlotte market, generally containing 48 to 72 hours of programming.

But I will add that, about 50% of the time, it’s only the program names that are there. The rest of the time, episode descriptions also appear.

Last edited by OTA-DVR-guy; 06-20-2019 at 10:55 AM.
OTA-DVR-guy is offline  
post #11993 of 13536 Old 06-21-2019, 07:03 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Posts: 270
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 122 Post(s)
Liked: 122
Why is it that wmyt12 (55-1) came in so clearly for a couple of months with my antenna in a certain position, and now I get terrible interference with this one channel and had to move the antenna to attempt (only partially successfully) to bring it in again without break-up?
Flickpal is offline  
post #11994 of 13536 Old 06-21-2019, 08:49 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
ybsane's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 1,458
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 220 Post(s)
Liked: 83
Quote:
Originally Posted by Flickpal View Post
Why is it that wmyt12 (55-1) came in so clearly for a couple of months with my antenna in a certain position, and now I get terrible interference with this one channel and had to move the antenna to attempt (only partially successfully) to bring it in again without break-up?
Can you get all the 46.xx channels..?

All Comments made are my own and not of my employer.
ybsane is offline  
post #11995 of 13536 Old 06-21-2019, 10:41 AM
Senior Member
 
OTA-DVR-guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Mount Holly, NC
Posts: 357
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 238 Post(s)
Liked: 47
Quote:
Originally Posted by Flickpal View Post
Why is it that wmyt12 (55-1) came in so clearly for a couple of months with my antenna in a certain position, and now I get terrible interference with this one channel and had to move the antenna to attempt (only partially successfully) to bring it in again without break-up?
As I understand it, there is technically no longer a 55.1. It is broadcast with that label (so that WMYT will look like it previously did before the broadcast channel for 55 was relinquished), but it’s actually 46.2. If 55.1 has a failing signal, all of the sub channels of 46 should indeed be presenting the same problem.
ybsane likes this.
OTA-DVR-guy is offline  
post #11996 of 13536 Old 06-21-2019, 11:35 AM
Newbie
 
waqiii68's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by Flickpal View Post
Why isit that wmyt12 (55-1) came in so clearly for a couple of monthswith my antenna in a certain position, and now I get terrible interference with thisone channel and had to move the antenna to attempt (only partially successfully) to bring it in again without break-up?
I've been having issueswith WJZY, WMYT, and WCCB for the last couple of months. Especially when it'swindy. I think tree foilage isa big factor for me.
waqiii68 is offline  
post #11997 of 13536 Old 06-21-2019, 05:24 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
tylerSC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Mauldin SC, 29607
Posts: 6,879
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1436 Post(s)
Liked: 272
Quote:
Originally Posted by waqiii68 View Post
I've been having issueswith WJZY, WMYT, and WCCB for the last couple of months. Especially when it'swindy. I think tree foilage isa big factor for me.
This past week WJZY and WMYT has been reduced power signal as they work on the tower. They are working on new stronger antenna and transmitter for repack in September. Not sure about WCCB unless weather condition.
tylerSC is offline  
post #11998 of 13536 Old 06-24-2019, 05:59 AM
Advanced Member
 
Theo1080's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 937
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 139 Post(s)
Liked: 62
W42DR-D, Marion...WSOC has powered down the 42 translator at Smith Mt on Thursday at 10:15am. We installed a new transmitter and antenna and came back up on Channel 26 at 4:30pm Friday. For some reason the transmitter when down Friday night, I am back up there today to tried to get it back on. The Call sign is W26FA-D. It will take a few days to get the ID changed.


Ted

Ted Hand, CPBE. 8VSB, DRB, AMD
Fellow - Society of Broadcast Engineers
I was there on July 23, 1996...First DTV broadcast in the US..WRAL-HD
Amateur Radio - W9SOC
Theo1080 is offline  
post #11999 of 13536 Old 06-24-2019, 06:28 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Trip in VA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Alexandria, VA, US
Posts: 17,041
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1776 Post(s)
Liked: 773
Quote:
Originally Posted by Theo1080 View Post
W42DR-D, Marion...WSOC has powered down the 42 translator at Smith Mt on Thursday at 10:15am. We installed a new transmitter and antenna and came back up on Channel 26 at 4:30pm Friday. For some reason the transmitter when down Friday night, I am back up there today to tried to get it back on. The Call sign is W26FA-D. It will take a few days to get the ID changed.


Ted
Why not go to the FCC and change it to WSOC-LD? Then the call sign wouldn't change ever again.

- Trip

N4MJC

Comments are my own and not that of the FCC (my employer) or anyone else.

RabbitEars

"Ignorance and prejudice and fear walk hand in hand..." - Rush "Witch Hunt"

Trip in VA is offline  
post #12000 of 13536 Old 06-24-2019, 12:04 PM
Advanced Member
 
Theo1080's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 937
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 139 Post(s)
Liked: 62
Quote:
Why not go to the FCC and change it to WSOC-LD? Then the call sign wouldn't change ever again.

- Trip

How do I file that? I applied for a CP and W26FA-D is the call they gave me.

Ted Hand, CPBE. 8VSB, DRB, AMD
Fellow - Society of Broadcast Engineers
I was there on July 23, 1996...First DTV broadcast in the US..WRAL-HD
Amateur Radio - W9SOC
Theo1080 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off