Charlotte, NC - OTA - Page 435 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 582Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #13021 of 13063 Old 11-27-2019, 05:51 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bdfox18doe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 6,940
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 389 Post(s)
Liked: 251
Umm...I fergit exactly where you are CP...even tho I think I have your address..at work that is..

Bob

The views expressed here are my own and do not necessarily represent those of ABC, CBS, CW, FOX, MeTv, or AntennaTv; my employer; or its parent company.
Nor my wife for that matter!
bdfox18doe is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #13022 of 13063 Old 11-27-2019, 05:58 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bdfox18doe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 6,940
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 389 Post(s)
Liked: 251
I just re-scanned here in Mint Hill..Getting WHNS-21(17) weak but locked..It's mixed in with W21CK-D(15) due to same Virtual channel number.
WUNF 33(20) Asheville.. is weak but locked.

Bob

The views expressed here are my own and do not necessarily represent those of ABC, CBS, CW, FOX, MeTv, or AntennaTv; my employer; or its parent company.
Nor my wife for that matter!
bdfox18doe is offline  
post #13023 of 13063 Old 11-27-2019, 06:16 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Posts: 208
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 144 Post(s)
Liked: 44
Is anyone receiving WHKY? WHKY sent me an email saying to rescan but I still don't see their channels.
ncshawng likes this.
johnny antenna is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #13024 of 13063 Old 11-27-2019, 06:23 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bdfox18doe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 6,940
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 389 Post(s)
Liked: 251
PM: tesla_engineer

Bob

The views expressed here are my own and do not necessarily represent those of ABC, CBS, CW, FOX, MeTv, or AntennaTv; my employer; or its parent company.
Nor my wife for that matter!
bdfox18doe is offline  
post #13025 of 13063 Old 11-27-2019, 08:21 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
tylerSC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Mauldin SC, 29607
Posts: 6,743
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1359 Post(s)
Liked: 252
Quote:
Originally Posted by johnny antenna View Post
Is anyone receiving WHKY? WHKY sent me an email saying to rescan but I still don't see their channels.
I am off Thursday for Thanksgiving so I will check for WHKY. But they may still be having technical delays, remains to be seen.
tylerSC is offline  
post #13026 of 13063 Old 11-27-2019, 08:24 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
tylerSC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Mauldin SC, 29607
Posts: 6,743
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1359 Post(s)
Liked: 252
Quote:
Originally Posted by cpalmer2k View Post
Pretty good conditions for reception tonight. WSOC and WCCB coming in at 100% which is rare since the repack and picking up WFMY tropo from Greensboro about 150 miles away.
Yea earlier WSOC and WCCB were weaker as normal then right before I leave for work at 8pm they started coming in strong full 10 bars. Spartanburg County. But WCNC and WJZY went down a few bars then came back up. WBTV remained the same 10 bars. Look like tropo going on or due to rain and cloudy conditions.
tylerSC is offline  
post #13027 of 13063 Old 11-27-2019, 08:29 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
tylerSC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Mauldin SC, 29607
Posts: 6,743
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1359 Post(s)
Liked: 252
I plan to watch Macy's parade on NBC and then Charlotte parade tomorrow on WBTV. But I think WBTV parade may be tape delay, I will have to check the time. Not sure who the emcee may be this year.
tylerSC is offline  
post #13028 of 13063 Old 11-27-2019, 10:56 PM
Advanced Member
 
evan237's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Mocksville, NC
Posts: 875
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 214 Post(s)
Liked: 46
Quote:
Originally Posted by 4:3 Toshiba View Post
Sure wish WTVI and WUNG had stronger transmitters.
I'm surprised you don't get WUNG and WTVI being in Charlotte, although I know WUNG is at lower power right now. Outside of the Charlotte metro, I don't think WTVI has near the signal reach versus the other main CLT broadcasters; and I've never gone to any effort (with a VHF antenna) to get WTVI. Though I do know the programming on WTVI is somewhat different.

I actually get a better signal from WUNE Linville versus WUNG Concord, even though I am considerably closer to Concord. The signal reach of the WUNE Linville tower in the mountains is amazing.

Of course, at my location, I can also receive WUNL (north of Winston-Salem) on Sauratown Mountain (where WXII is also located). So I am covered with UNC-TV channels.
evan237 is offline  
post #13029 of 13063 Old 11-28-2019, 08:43 AM
Advanced Member
 
eacalhoun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Valdese, NC
Posts: 535
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 99 Post(s)
Liked: 28
Quote:
Originally Posted by johnny antenna View Post
Is anyone receiving WHKY? WHKY sent me an email saying to rescan but I still don't see their channels.
I was not getting WHKY in uptown, downtown, all-around-town Valdese this morning around 8:30am. But I just checked and it's back at full strength.

Happy Thanksgiving, everyone!
johnny antenna likes this.

Eric Calhoun

"If it was simple, anyone could do it" - Roy Clark from Hee Haw
eacalhoun is offline  
post #13030 of 13063 Old 11-28-2019, 09:10 AM
A J
Advanced Member
 
A J's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Indian Trail, NC
Posts: 580
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 198 Post(s)
Liked: 56
Quote:
Originally Posted by ybsane View Post
WUNG is down on power since the channel allocation but not too bad.

I'm on the southeast side of Indian Trail and use an attic antenna with preamp. WUNG was always rock solid, from 2009 when I cut the cord until this Fall. It is unwatchable now with extremely heavy pixelation and dropouts, so I blocked 58.1 thru .4 on my TiVo.


Is the reduced transmitter power permanent?
A J is offline  
post #13031 of 13063 Old 11-28-2019, 09:49 AM
Advanced Member
 
evan237's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Mocksville, NC
Posts: 875
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 214 Post(s)
Liked: 46
Quote:
Originally Posted by A J View Post
I'm on the southeast side of Indian Trail and use an attic antenna with preamp. WUNG was always rock solid, from 2009 when I cut the cord until this Fall. It is unwatchable now with extremely heavy pixelation and dropouts, so I blocked 58.1 thru .4 on my TiVo.


Is the reduced transmitter power permanent?
I think they are slowly working their way across the state with the UNC-TV towers. You may want to contact them directly to see if they can provide an update on WUNG. I've got a contact below if you want it:

Jayme Hanzak
UNC-TV Engineer
919-549-7281

[email protected]

Happy Thanksgiving all!
evan237 is offline  
post #13032 of 13063 Old 11-28-2019, 04:58 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bdfox18doe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 6,940
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 389 Post(s)
Liked: 251
Quote:
Originally Posted by A J View Post
I'm on the southeast side of Indian Trail and use an attic antenna with preamp. WUNG was always rock solid, from 2009 when I cut the cord until this Fall. It is unwatchable now with extremely heavy pixelation and dropouts, so I blocked 58.1 thru .4 on my TiVo.


Is the reduced transmitter power permanent?



It's all right here... https://www.unctv.org/watch/rescan/
A J and eacalhoun like this.

Bob

The views expressed here are my own and do not necessarily represent those of ABC, CBS, CW, FOX, MeTv, or AntennaTv; my employer; or its parent company.
Nor my wife for that matter!
bdfox18doe is offline  
post #13033 of 13063 Old 11-28-2019, 06:10 PM
A J
Advanced Member
 
A J's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Indian Trail, NC
Posts: 580
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 198 Post(s)
Liked: 56
Quote:
Originally Posted by bdfox18doe View Post

Thanks for the link. So, it looks like 4 more months on the interim antenna until WUNG Ch. 58 gets the new antenna. Hopefully I will be able to receive it then as strongly as in years past.
bdfox18doe likes this.
A J is offline  
post #13034 of 13063 Old 11-30-2019, 07:22 PM
Senior Member
 
Zaxcom's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 441
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 149 Post(s)
Liked: 74
I have not used HD Homerun since the repack. I did a scan tonight and I no longer see any stations from Asheville or Columbia. I will try again later to see if it gets better as the weather clears.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screen Shot 2019-11-30 at 9.19.39 PM.png
Views:	8
Size:	143.4 KB
ID:	2647802  
Zaxcom is offline  
post #13035 of 13063 Old 12-01-2019, 05:36 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bdfox18doe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 6,940
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 389 Post(s)
Liked: 251
Yep..
I get fewer channels both here and in Boone after the repack; with no change to my antenna systems.

Bob

The views expressed here are my own and do not necessarily represent those of ABC, CBS, CW, FOX, MeTv, or AntennaTv; my employer; or its parent company.
Nor my wife for that matter!

Last edited by bdfox18doe; 12-01-2019 at 05:42 AM.
bdfox18doe is offline  
post #13036 of 13063 Old 12-01-2019, 07:12 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
ybsane's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 1,422
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 191 Post(s)
Liked: 67
Quote:
Originally Posted by bdfox18doe View Post
Yep..
I get fewer channels both here and in Boone after the repack; with no change to my antenna systems.
I am guessing it's going take another year for everyone between getting their equipment and tower crews scheduled. Everyone assumed it was going to be a "Click of a Switch" but all of us who understand knew that was not going to happen, but the right Pre-Amp can fix everything just ask those who know...
bdfox18doe likes this.

All Comments made are my own and not of my employer.
ybsane is offline  
post #13037 of 13063 Old 12-01-2019, 08:22 AM
Senior Member
 
Zaxcom's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 441
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 149 Post(s)
Liked: 74
Quote:
Originally Posted by ybsane View Post
I am guessing it's going take another year for everyone between getting their equipment and tower crews scheduled. Everyone assumed it was going to be a "Click of a Switch" but all of us who understand knew that was not going to happen, but the right Pre-Amp can fix everything just ask those who know...
I’m going to daisy chain several preamps so I can get stations from Atlanta and Virginia, heck maybe even Florida.
bdfox18doe and mrradiohead55 like this.
Zaxcom is offline  
post #13038 of 13063 Old 12-01-2019, 09:21 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Location: Springfield, Missouri
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 3
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zaxcom View Post
I’m going to daisy chain several preamps so I can get stations from Atlanta and Virginia, heck maybe even Florida.

Maybe you could make your yard look like a *cable TV head end* system and have multiple antennas aimed different directions, so you could tune the eastern half of the US


Jim

Antennas - Antennacraft MXU59 UHF antenna & home-brew version of Antennacraft VHF Y-10-7-13 antenna @ 25'. Both antennas fed through a Channel Master 7777 30dB pre-amp.
Tuners - Zenith DTT901 converter box; AirSpy HF+ sdr; Silicon Dust HDHomerun Dual ATSC tuner, using Rabbitears autologger support.
mrradiohead55 is offline  
post #13039 of 13063 Old 12-01-2019, 10:58 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bdfox18doe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 6,940
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 389 Post(s)
Liked: 251
Quote:
Originally Posted by mrradiohead55 View Post
Maybe you could make your yard look like a *cable TV head end* system and have multiple antennas aimed different directions, so you could tune the eastern half of the US
Jim
Zaxcom has no yard ...(as he often reminds me while I work in mine)...they don’t have those on the 18th floor..tho he does have enough height as to not need a preamp..

Bob

The views expressed here are my own and do not necessarily represent those of ABC, CBS, CW, FOX, MeTv, or AntennaTv; my employer; or its parent company.
Nor my wife for that matter!
bdfox18doe is offline  
post #13040 of 13063 Old 12-01-2019, 11:06 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
ybsane's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 1,422
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 191 Post(s)
Liked: 67
Quote:
Originally Posted by mrradiohead55 View Post
Maybe you could make your yard look like a *cable TV head end* system and have multiple antennas aimed different directions, so you could tune the eastern half of the US


Jim
I did that plus a Satellite Garden and then my wife had me dial everything back a little. Someone gave me a nice dish and kicked everything back again while she was at work...

All Comments made are my own and not of my employer.
ybsane is offline  
post #13041 of 13063 Old 12-01-2019, 11:12 AM
Senior Member
 
Zaxcom's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 441
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 149 Post(s)
Liked: 74
Quote:
Originally Posted by bdfox18doe View Post
Zaxcom has no yard ...(as he often reminds me while I work in mine)...they don’t have those on the 18th floor..tho he does have enough height as to not need a preamp..
In fact I removed the preamp that came with my antenna as the signal was too high and it was overpowering the FE in the Homerun tuner.
Zaxcom is offline  
post #13042 of 13063 Old 12-02-2019, 12:54 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Posts: 208
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 144 Post(s)
Liked: 44
I hope that is not full power on WHKY, I can barely get it in Morganton and also weak in Hickory @ LR Blvd.

@tesla_engineer Is there any update on WHKY?
johnny antenna is offline  
post #13043 of 13063 Old 12-02-2019, 04:33 PM
Advanced Member
 
evan237's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Mocksville, NC
Posts: 875
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 214 Post(s)
Liked: 46
Quote:
Originally Posted by johnny antenna View Post
I hope that is not full power on WHKY, I can barely get it in Morganton and also weak in Hickory @ LR Blvd.

@tesla_engineer Is there any update on WHKY?
I would not expect to get any kind of signal level (with WHKY) on the level that you would in Morganton or Hickory. However, I don't even see a "hint" of anything from WHKY. They must still be working on it.
evan237 is offline  
post #13044 of 13063 Old 12-02-2019, 05:27 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
tylerSC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Mauldin SC, 29607
Posts: 6,743
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1359 Post(s)
Liked: 252
Quote:
Originally Posted by evan237 View Post
I would not expect to get any kind of signal level (with WHKY) on the level that you would in Morganton or Hickory. However, I don't even see a "hint" of anything from WHKY. They must still be working on it.
I am on the edge of the fringe for WHKY in Spartanburg County, according to the coverage map for the main full power 1000kw signal from Hickory. Then they have the same channel distribution signal from Charlotte. But not sure if either of these signals are fully functioning yet. But I am not seeing any signal on 14 right now, so they may not yet be full power.
tylerSC is offline  
post #13045 of 13063 Old 12-02-2019, 05:42 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
ybsane's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 1,422
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 191 Post(s)
Liked: 67
Quote:
Originally Posted by tylerSC View Post
I am on the edge of the fringe for WHKY in Spartanburg County, according to the coverage map for the main full power 1000kw signal from Hickory. Then they have the same channel distribution signal from Charlotte. But not sure if either of these signals are fully functioning yet. But I am not seeing any signal on 14 right now, so they may not yet be full power.
Charlotte is not full power yet.

All Comments made are my own and not of my employer.
ybsane is offline  
post #13046 of 13063 Old 12-02-2019, 09:30 PM
Member
 
ncshawng's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Harrisburg, NC
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by ybsane View Post
Charlotte is not full power yet.
Charlotte is more like no power. I'm less than 5 miles from their Charlotte tower and receiving zilch.
ybsane likes this.
ncshawng is offline  
post #13047 of 13063 Old 12-03-2019, 03:45 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
ybsane's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 1,422
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 191 Post(s)
Liked: 67
Quote:
Originally Posted by ncshawng View Post
Charlotte is more like no power. I'm less than 5 miles from their Charlotte tower and receiving zilch.
I am just being patient and waiting for them to get tower crews back out there. I can see the tower from my house 3-miles away crow flies and am barely getting 15db SNR. Than again nothing is really back to normal since the re-pack IMO.
bdfox18doe and A J like this.

All Comments made are my own and not of my employer.
ybsane is offline  
post #13048 of 13063 Old 12-03-2019, 09:57 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
tylerSC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Mauldin SC, 29607
Posts: 6,743
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1359 Post(s)
Liked: 252
Quote:
Originally Posted by ybsane View Post
I am just being patient and waiting for them to get tower crews back out there. I can see the tower from my house 3-miles away crow flies and am barely getting 15db SNR. Than again nothing is really back to normal since the re-pack IMO.
Guess these things take time. Some stations behind schedule due to availability of tower crews, equipment, and supplies. Apparently WCCB still working on theirs also but the top mount antenna seems to do good.
tylerSC is offline  
post #13049 of 13063 Old 12-04-2019, 08:04 PM
Member
 
4:3 Toshiba's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Western Gaston County
Posts: 198
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 117 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by bdfox18doe View Post
Never had any issues getting WUNG nor WNSC. And since the repack WUNE 17(36) is gangbusters here in Mint Hill. I could care less about WTVI....
There is more than enough PBS for me..
I can get WNSC, sometimes, but I can rarely get WUNG.

I need to clarify my location, and it is in western Gaston County, although for practical purposes, we are considered part of the Charlotte Metro area.
4:3 Toshiba is offline  
post #13050 of 13063 Old 12-04-2019, 08:15 PM
Member
 
4:3 Toshiba's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Western Gaston County
Posts: 198
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 117 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by evan237 View Post
I'm surprised you don't get WUNG and WTVI being in Charlotte, although I know WUNG is at lower power right now. Outside of the Charlotte metro, I don't think WTVI has near the signal reach versus the other main CLT broadcasters; and I've never gone to any effort (with a VHF antenna) to get WTVI. Though I do know the programming on WTVI is somewhat different.

I actually get a better signal from WUNE Linville versus WUNG Concord, even though I am considerably closer to Concord. The signal reach of the WUNE Linville tower in the mountains is amazing.

Of course, at my location, I can also receive WUNL (north of Winston-Salem) on Sauratown Mountain (where WXII is also located). So I am covered with UNC-TV channels.
I just updated my true location, but it's amazing you can get these stations. Heck, I can't even get Linville, although it used to come in faintly in the analog days. There was a time when I picked up WXII from eastern Cleveland County (again, back in the old analog days).

You live in pretty country. I used to take 801 past the Red Pig BBQ on my way to Winston-Salem. Beautiful highway for sure.
4:3 Toshiba is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off