Dallas, TX - HDTV - Page 292 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 314Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #8731 of 9532 Old 12-03-2017, 02:55 PM
Senior Member
 
JStew's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Carrollton, TX
Posts: 235
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by JHBrandt View Post
I doubt anyone reading this thread speaks Korean, but just in case, it looks like MBC America has moved from KAZD channel 55.2 to KLEG channel 44.6. I think that means KLEG now has a monopoly on all Asian-language TV in the metroplex (except for Vietnamese; I think the Vietnamese channels are still at KAZD).

KLEG is low power; I hope DFW's Korean population doesn't live too far out in the 'burbs!

55.2 is now just color bars (you'd think they'd at least have the courtesy to put up a "channel moved" slide for a week or two).
I may be one of very few who reads this thread and speaks Korean. Thanks for the info! I've been looking for MBC recently and have been watching KBS (44.2) from time to time just to keep my language skills from getting rusty.
JStew is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #8732 of 9532 Old 12-03-2017, 05:25 PM
Member
 
CKelley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by JHBrandt View Post
I doubt anyone reading this thread speaks Korean, but just in case, it looks like MBC America has moved from KAZD channel 55.2 to KLEG channel 44.6. I think that means KLEG now has a monopoly on all Asian-language TV in the metroplex (except for Vietnamese; I think the Vietnamese channels are still at KAZD).

KLEG is low power; I hope DFW's Korean population doesn't live too far out in the 'burbs!

55.2 is now just color bars (you'd think they'd at least have the courtesy to put up a "channel moved" slide for a week or two).
KAZD is being sold to HC2, so it will become a sister to KHPK-LD, KJJM-LD, KNAV-LP, KODF-LD 27, and K31GL once the sale is approved by the FCC and completes.
CKelley is offline  
post #8733 of 9532 Old 12-03-2017, 06:48 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
JHBrandt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: S. Garland, TX
Posts: 6,963
Mentioned: 69 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2825 Post(s)
Liked: 1369
Wow - so HC2 will add a full-power station to their portfolio here. (If they were going to do that, it seems like KFWD/52 would have been more up their alley.)

HC2's business model is brokerage (but to be fair, the previous owners have brokered everything except the .1 subchannel), which sounds like bad news for Azteca.
JHBrandt is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #8734 of 9532 Old 12-03-2017, 06:54 PM
Member
 
CKelley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by JHBrandt View Post
Wow - so HC2 will add a full-power station to their portfolio here. (If they were going to do that, it seems like KFWD/52 would have been more up their alley.)



HC2's business model is brokerage (but to be fair, the previous owners have brokered everything except the .1 subchannel), which sounds like bad news for Azteca.


HC2 is also buying the Aztecs America network, along with all the acquiring Northstar’s (KAZD’s owner) TV stations. So they get KAZD, KYAZ Houston, and the channel sharing agreement for KEMO San Francisco plus a bunch of LPTVs.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
CKelley is offline  
post #8735 of 9532 Old 12-19-2017, 01:28 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
JHBrandt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: S. Garland, TX
Posts: 6,963
Mentioned: 69 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2825 Post(s)
Liked: 1369
Quote:
Originally Posted by JHBrandt View Post
I noticed they finally got Retro/Rev'n back on last night. (Still no PSIP, naturally.) Seems like it took about two weeks to fix it yet again.
Almost made it 3 weeks! But late last night, the transmitter died again
JHBrandt is offline  
post #8736 of 9532 Old 12-19-2017, 03:37 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
ed_in_tx's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: NW Dallas TX
Posts: 1,533
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 276 Post(s)
Liked: 114
Noticed last night KDFW 4 was off the air around midnight as verified by the rabbitears tuner chart.
ed_in_tx is online now  
post #8737 of 9532 Old 12-19-2017, 07:23 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
JHBrandt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: S. Garland, TX
Posts: 6,963
Mentioned: 69 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2825 Post(s)
Liked: 1369
You are correct! KHPK/28 and KFWD/52 too. And it looks like all four went off at just about the same time, just before midnight here. (RabbitEars graphs show Eastern time, so it shows as just after midnight on them.)

It looks like whatever it was may have affected KMPX/29 too, although they didn't go off the air; apparently they immediately switched to their auxiliary transmitter, which has a weaker - but by my HDHR's readings, much cleaner - signal. Edit: Scratch that. The timing is different. KMPX switched right at 11 PM our time, 45 minutes before the outage, so it was probably just a coincidence.

Different towers though. No obvious link between the ones that went off. Naturally KVFW is the only one that didn't quickly recover

Last edited by JHBrandt; 12-19-2017 at 07:39 PM.
JHBrandt is offline  
post #8738 of 9532 Old 12-19-2017, 07:26 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
JHBrandt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: S. Garland, TX
Posts: 6,963
Mentioned: 69 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2825 Post(s)
Liked: 1369
Quote:
Originally Posted by JHBrandt View Post
It looks like MBC America has moved from KAZD channel 55.2 to KLEG channel 44.6.

55.2 is now just color bars (you'd think they'd at least have the courtesy to put up a "channel moved" slide for a week or two).
Color bars yesterday; today, 55.2 is a simulcast of 55.7, a Spanish-language channel for Seventh-Day Adventists.
JHBrandt is offline  
post #8739 of 9532 Old 12-25-2017, 12:00 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
JHBrandt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: S. Garland, TX
Posts: 6,963
Mentioned: 69 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2825 Post(s)
Liked: 1369
Quote:
Originally Posted by ed_in_tx View Post
Getting about a 63-65 on KVFW today but black screen. How do these guys get licensed?
Quote:
Originally Posted by JHBrandt View Post
Almost made it 3 weeks! But late last night, the transmitter died again
KVFW/38 still dead a week later. At this point I doubt anyone will even take a look at it until after the 1st.
JHBrandt is offline  
post #8740 of 9532 Old 12-27-2017, 01:55 PM
Member
 
Lord Zedd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Orlando, Florida
Posts: 69
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by JHBrandt View Post
KVFW/38 still dead a week later. At this point I doubt anyone will even take a look at it until after the 1st.
http://www.myretrotv.com/index.php/watch-now/
Retro TV Removed them from their affiliate Map
Lord Zedd is offline  
post #8741 of 9532 Old 12-28-2017, 10:29 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
JHBrandt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: S. Garland, TX
Posts: 6,963
Mentioned: 69 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2825 Post(s)
Liked: 1369
Of Interest

Although not part of the D/FW market, I wanted to mention that K44GS (KERA's Wichita Falls translator) has applied to move to RF 26. This would let them stay on the air after the 2019 repacking, so Wichita Falls won't lose their PBS affiliate. But it might put a crimp in any plans EICB may have had to boost power on K26KC, currently broadcasting at a puny 4.45 kW.

Edit: It appears K44GS has already moved to RF 26 under a special temporary authority. T-Mobile is moving very aggressively to begin operating on the 600MHz frequencies they purchased in the incentive auction, so K44GS had to move well before the Wichita Falls repacking.

K26KC is one of the few D/FW low-power stations that gets to stay in the UHF band after repacking. I had thought they may apply to boost their power after repacking, because Oklahoma station KTEN is moving, so interference with them will no longer be an issue. But now they will need to consider interference with K44GS in any application to boost power.

K26KC's sister station is KHFD, currently on RF 51. KHFD had a construction permit to move to RF 13, but that appears to have expired last month, so it's not clear what EICB will do about KHFD now. EICB could have been planning to abandon KHFD in favor of K26KC, but that possibility seems less attractive if K26KC can no longer get up to the 15 kW maximum for a low-power station.

Last edited by JHBrandt; 01-03-2018 at 12:32 PM.
JHBrandt is offline  
post #8742 of 9532 Old 12-31-2017, 07:43 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
JHBrandt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: S. Garland, TX
Posts: 6,963
Mentioned: 69 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2825 Post(s)
Liked: 1369
Hmm... KTXD's PSIP just went kaflooey. The channels are still working but the station can't be scanned in right now.

The station was recently bought by Sinclair Broadcasting. I wonder if they're working on changing the channel lineup?
JHBrandt is offline  
post #8743 of 9532 Old 12-31-2017, 07:55 PM
Member
 
schultdw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Arlington, TX
Posts: 185
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 59 Post(s)
Liked: 27
If by kaflooey you mean completely missing, then I see it too. Which is really annoying as my DVR failed to start for the second MST3K episode. It completed the first episode at least.

Checking with TSRreader I see no PSIP data at all.
schultdw is offline  
post #8744 of 9532 Old 01-01-2018, 04:53 AM
Member
 
CKelley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by JHBrandt View Post
Hmm... KTXD's PSIP just went kaflooey. The channels are still working but the station can't be scanned in right now.



The station was recently bought by Sinclair Broadcasting. I wonder if they're working on changing the channel lineup?


Cunningham is buying KTXD. Cunningham exists to own stations for Sinclair to operate. Sinclair has been interested in duopolies in large markets for the ATSC 3.0 conversion to create lighthouse stations; if allowed, Sinclair will get KDAF as part of the Tribune purchase. According to tvnewscheck.com, when the Sinclair main stations (KDAF in this case) move to ATSC 3.0, it will simulcast on the lighthouse stations (KTXD) in the current ATSC 1.0 standard so as not to disrupt service to people watching over the air with ATSC 1.0 sets.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
CKelley is offline  
post #8745 of 9532 Old 01-01-2018, 08:17 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
JHBrandt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: S. Garland, TX
Posts: 6,963
Mentioned: 69 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2825 Post(s)
Liked: 1369
Quote:
Originally Posted by schultdw View Post
If by kaflooey you mean completely missing, then I see it too. Which is really annoying as my DVR failed to start for the second MST3K episode. It completed the first episode at least.

Checking with TSRreader I see no PSIP data at all.
Out of curiosity which DVR do you use?
JHBrandt is offline  
post #8746 of 9532 Old 01-01-2018, 08:35 AM
Member
 
schultdw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Arlington, TX
Posts: 185
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 59 Post(s)
Liked: 27
Quote:
Originally Posted by JHBrandt View Post
Out of curiosity which DVR do you use?
The DTVPal.
schultdw is offline  
post #8747 of 9532 Old 01-01-2018, 10:52 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
JHBrandt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: S. Garland, TX
Posts: 6,963
Mentioned: 69 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2825 Post(s)
Liked: 1369
Odd that it failed to record, even without PSIP. The DTVPal records everything by time, not name, and losing one station's time shouldn't throw it off that much.

Are you sure it didn't record? Maybe it just titled the recording something like "no information available," since the show's true title wasn't broadcast.
JHBrandt is offline  
post #8748 of 9532 Old 01-01-2018, 12:20 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
JHBrandt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: S. Garland, TX
Posts: 6,963
Mentioned: 69 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2825 Post(s)
Liked: 1369
Looks like @nukeboy67 's HDHR got disconnected somehow back on the 29th. His bandscan is just a list of single-digit signal strengths at the moment.
JHBrandt is offline  
post #8749 of 9532 Old 01-01-2018, 12:22 PM
Member
 
schultdw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Arlington, TX
Posts: 185
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 59 Post(s)
Liked: 27
Quote:
Originally Posted by JHBrandt View Post
Are you sure it didn't record? Maybe it just titled the recording something like "no information available," since the show's true title wasn't broadcast.
I checked the scheduled recordings list and when I hit the info button for that one (listed as "skipped") the reason was "failure to start recording". It was also difficult to start manually. Pressing the record button seemed to work but the recording didn't start. I tried again using the option to record entire event and that worked. But that only because it still had stored schedule data. Without that I would have been down to stopping the recording manually. If it started at all.

Some PSIP seems to have returned just before 10AM today. Not all of it but some.
schultdw is offline  
post #8750 of 9532 Old 01-01-2018, 01:09 PM
Member
 
nukeboy67's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Arlington, Texas
Posts: 131
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by JHBrandt View Post
Looks like @nukeboy67 's HDHR got disconnected somehow back on the 29th. His bandscan is just a list of single-digit signal strengths at the moment.
Thanks for letting me know, my antenna's cable line for some odd reason snapped on the inside, more than likely from a mouse chewing through it. I ran some new line and it should be back in business.

Forecaster for Decatur, Texas Storm Team
nukeboy67 is offline  
post #8751 of 9532 Old 01-01-2018, 02:04 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
JHBrandt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: S. Garland, TX
Posts: 6,963
Mentioned: 69 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2825 Post(s)
Liked: 1369
Quote:
Originally Posted by schultdw View Post
Some PSIP seems to have returned just before 10AM today. Not all of it but some.
Yes, it looks like it came on briefly, then went off again.

When I tuned to Comet today, it took several seconds to lock on. Sort of like KVFW back when it was on the air without PSIP. Must have caused some sort of time-out of the scheduled recording.
Quote:
Originally Posted by nukeboy67 View Post
Thanks for letting me know, my antenna's cable line for some odd reason snapped on the inside, more than likely from a mouse chewing through it. I ran some new line and it should be back in business.
No problem. Looks good again. Hope it wasn't too hard to fix.
JHBrandt is offline  
post #8752 of 9532 Old 01-02-2018, 09:34 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 38
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 4
For the past month or so, I've been noticing some brief, but ongoing audio drop outs on CW33. I'm not seeing any visual glitches, just audio.
skypirate is offline  
post #8753 of 9532 Old 01-02-2018, 02:28 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
JHBrandt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: S. Garland, TX
Posts: 6,963
Mentioned: 69 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2825 Post(s)
Liked: 1369
Quote:
Originally Posted by JHBrandt View Post
Hmm... KTXD's PSIP just went kaflooey. The channels are still working but the station can't be scanned in right now.
Quote:
Originally Posted by schultdw View Post
If by kaflooey you mean completely missing, then I see it too.

Checking with TSRreader I see no PSIP data at all.
Quote:
Originally Posted by schultdw View Post
Some PSIP seems to have returned just before 10AM today. Not all of it but some.
Quote:
Originally Posted by JHBrandt View Post
Yes, it looks like it came on briefly, then went off again.
Looks like they got it fixed this morning. Seems like these things always pick a long weekend to happen.
JHBrandt is offline  
post #8754 of 9532 Old 01-03-2018, 04:47 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 30
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 6
KDAF 33.4 Charge is up. No audio or video yet.
Bryan Cannon is offline  
post #8755 of 9532 Old 01-04-2018, 10:14 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
JHBrandt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: S. Garland, TX
Posts: 6,963
Mentioned: 69 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2825 Post(s)
Liked: 1369
Sounds like Sinclair is confident the Tribune takeover will go through.

From Wikipedia's description, Charge! sounds a lot like Grit TV; maybe H&I too: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Charge!_(TV_network). Due to the common MGM source, some programming also overlaps with This!
JHBrandt is offline  
post #8756 of 9532 Old 01-05-2018, 09:12 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 30
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 6
Charge is now on the air but the framerate is choppy.
Bryan Cannon is offline  
post #8757 of 9532 Old 01-06-2018, 08:50 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
JHBrandt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: S. Garland, TX
Posts: 6,963
Mentioned: 69 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2825 Post(s)
Liked: 1369
Slightly annoying: KDAF changed the name from all-caps CHARGE to mixed-case Charge, causing my Pal to add it twice: CHARGE is 33-4 while Charge was 71-4 (I deleted it).

No guide info yet. Right now all that's on is an infomercial for a fish oil supplement

Last edited by JHBrandt; 01-06-2018 at 08:54 AM.
JHBrandt is offline  
post #8758 of 9532 Old 01-13-2018, 12:29 PM
Member
 
teasip's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Texas
Posts: 121
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by skypirate View Post
For the past month or so, I've been noticing some brief, but ongoing audio drop outs on CW33. I'm not seeing any visual glitches, just audio.
Me as well except I'm also dropping video. Unable to lock in last night when I checked my attic OTA for the first time in weeks. That's even after getting my trees trimmed back.
skypirate likes this.
teasip is online now  
post #8759 of 9532 Old 01-13-2018, 05:50 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
JHBrandt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: S. Garland, TX
Posts: 6,963
Mentioned: 69 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2825 Post(s)
Liked: 1369
33 does seem a bit weak on my Pal (signal reads 85%) but fine (100%) on the DVR+.

RabbitEars's live bandscans have been down for the past week. I hope they're able to get that repaired soon. It's a great tool for seeing what happened to a signal and when.
JHBrandt is offline  
post #8760 of 9532 Old 01-13-2018, 07:39 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
ed_in_tx's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: NW Dallas TX
Posts: 1,533
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 276 Post(s)
Liked: 114
Quote:
Originally Posted by JHBrandt View Post
33 does seem a bit weak on my Pal (signal reads 85%) but fine (100%) on the DVR+.

RabbitEars's live bandscans have been down for the past week. I hope they're able to get that repaired soon. It's a great tool for seeing what happened to a signal and when.
I noticed that too. Usually KDAF has been 100%. I have not noticed any audio glitches though. And, I also went to Rabbitears to analyze the situation and found it down.
ed_in_tx is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off