Dallas, TX - HDTV - Page 298 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 270Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #8911 of 9289 Old 09-09-2018, 07:32 PM
Senior Member
 
See The Light's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: DFW
Posts: 401
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 71 Post(s)
Liked: 85
Quote:
Originally Posted by teasip View Post
Yep, I found Start last night as well.

Ummm, I don't think I'll add Start TV...


From Wiki https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Start_TV :

Start targets a female niche with a more recent focus in series than MeTV, carrying a number of police procedurals, legal procedural lead by women. The network features series from a narrower timeline and focus on more recent content than that from which Decades, its sister network, source their programming.

Current programs

Procedural dramas

The Closer (September 3, 2018–present)
Cold Case (September 3, 2018–present)
The Division (September 3, 2018–present)
Early Edition (September 3, 2018–present)
Family Law (September 3, 2018–present)
Joan of Arcadia (September 3, 2018–present)
Medium (September 3, 2018–present)
Profiler (September 3, 2018–present)
Touched by an Angel (September 3, 2018–present)

Cable Channel Choice is the only choice I want to make !!
See The Light is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #8912 of 9289 Old 09-10-2018, 10:20 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
rakstr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: dallas
Posts: 1,284
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 390 Post(s)
Liked: 171
Do you know anything about KTXA (21.1 and .2)? Reception is still poor compared to "normal". Began a few days ago.
Quote:
Originally Posted by JHBrandt View Post
Hmm - it looks like all three of those share the same transmitting antenna (along with KDAF/33's auxiliary transmitter). Lightning strike?

(BTW, KTXD got back on the air around 7 PM last night.)

Last edited by rakstr; 09-10-2018 at 10:27 PM.
rakstr is offline  
post #8913 of 9289 Old 09-11-2018, 03:00 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
JHBrandt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: S. Garland, TX
Posts: 6,797
Mentioned: 67 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2718 Post(s)
Liked: 1335
I haven't noticed anything at my house, but checking the area's live bandscans, it does look like there were drops in KTXA's signal on Saturday, and a smaller drop on Monday, visible in the Frisco and Decatur bandscans. Looks like it's back to full power today though.

Religious broadcaster KDTN/58 is still suffering after-effects of the lightning strike or whatever it was that happened Friday night, though. That would be ironic....
rakstr likes this.
JHBrandt is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #8914 of 9289 Old 09-11-2018, 07:18 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
rakstr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: dallas
Posts: 1,284
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 390 Post(s)
Liked: 171
It's real bad again right now. I'm just off the north shore of Lake Grapevine. I've always had pretty good reception of this station.
Quote:
Originally Posted by JHBrandt View Post
I haven't noticed anything at my house, but checking the area's live bandscans, it does look like there were drops in KTXA's signal on Saturday, and a smaller drop on Monday, visible in the Frisco and Decatur bandscans. Looks like it's back to full power today though.

Religious broadcaster KDTN/58 is still suffering after-effects of the lightning strike or whatever it was that happened Friday night, though. That would be ironic....
rakstr is offline  
post #8915 of 9289 Old 09-12-2018, 09:15 PM
Member
 
Bradskey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 60
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I've been having noticeable difficulty receiving KTXA at fringe (~70 miles) for about 2 months, although it has generally been very strong for me 99% of the time for the past several years. There are faint vertical dotted lines frequently visible in the picture on 21.2 MeTV going back about the same length of time.
Bradskey is offline  
post #8916 of 9289 Old 09-12-2018, 10:00 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
rakstr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: dallas
Posts: 1,284
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 390 Post(s)
Liked: 171
Bad again tonight for me. I've sent them emails but haven't received any responses.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bradskey View Post
I've been having noticeable difficulty receiving KTXA at fringe (~70 miles) for about 2 months, although it has generally been very strong for me 99% of the time for the past several years. There are faint vertical dotted lines frequently visible in the picture on 21.2 MeTV going back about the same length of time.
rakstr is offline  
post #8917 of 9289 Old 09-15-2018, 04:53 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Posts: 32
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Does anyone know how many of the MLB Extra Innings/NHL Center Ice channels Spectrum is carrying in HD in DFW? Specifically in the areas that used to be TWC, like Dallas and Plano, not the areas that have always been Charter like Fort Worth and the Park Cities. I know they used to only have 2 of the 14, but that was pre-takeover and it looks like Spectrum has brought in a lot more HD since then. I asked them directly and all they could do was parrot the "up to 40 out of market games a week" line from the advertising, so that wasn't much help.
jd8000 is offline  
post #8918 of 9289 Old 09-16-2018, 06:52 AM
Senior Member
 
JSUL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 361
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 43
Spectrum has 2 HD channels set for MLB/NHL Center Ice. All other channels are SD...and the images are letterboxed on the 4x3 screen.
I have asked for additional HD feeds for these sports offerings for years, to no avail. From info from others, Spectrum has more HD home/away feeds on other regions, but DFW, and TX in general, seem to be stuck with only 2 HD feeds: channels 700 and 701, then repeated again on 750 and 751. Nobody can explain why they repeat either as it seems to be a waste of band width.
Direct TV offers all home/away feeds, all in HD, so no reason Spectrum can't also.
JSUL is offline  
post #8919 of 9289 Old 09-16-2018, 11:17 AM
Newbie
 
ab3tx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by JSUL View Post
channels 700 and 701, then repeated again on 750 and 751. Nobody can explain why they repeat either as it seems to be a waste of band width.
I no longer have Spectrum, but on the L-TWC system, all of the repeats were just mapped on the box[1], they weren't actually duplicated on the coax. (Do they still map the locals to 3 different places? I always thought that was ludicrous.) There's a 'hidden' menu/screen on most boxes to check the actual QAM assignment, if you wanted to dig further.

[1] If 700 was pointed to QAM channel 123-45678, then 750 was also pointed to QAM channel 123-45678.
JHBrandt likes this.
ab3tx is offline  
post #8920 of 9289 Old 09-20-2018, 05:06 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
JHBrandt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: S. Garland, TX
Posts: 6,797
Mentioned: 67 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2718 Post(s)
Liked: 1335
Just noticed that KWDA/21 went off the air about 6:30 PM today as thunderstorms blew through the Dallas area.

This has happened before. Usually takes them about a week to get back on the air.
JHBrandt is offline  
post #8921 of 9289 Old 09-21-2018, 08:15 AM
Member
 
teasip's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Texas
Posts: 113
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Had them last night about 8:30 while channel surfing as I removed OTA cable from TiVo and reattached to television.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
teasip is offline  
post #8922 of 9289 Old 09-21-2018, 11:20 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
JHBrandt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: S. Garland, TX
Posts: 6,797
Mentioned: 67 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2718 Post(s)
Liked: 1335
Quote:
Originally Posted by JHBrandt View Post
Just noticed that KWDA/21 30 went off the air about 6:30 PM today as thunderstorms blew through the Dallas area.

This has happened before. Usually takes them about a week to get back on the air.
Back up as of around 11:15 AM today. BTW, got the RF and virtual channel mixed up above; sorry about that.

They were off the air less than a day. That must be a record for them!
JHBrandt is offline  
post #8923 of 9289 Old 09-21-2018, 11:52 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
rakstr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: dallas
Posts: 1,284
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 390 Post(s)
Liked: 171
You must go sit in the corner and wear the cap for an hour for your mistake
Quote:
Originally Posted by JHBrandt View Post
Back up as of around 11:15 AM today. BTW, got the RF and virtual channel mixed up above; sorry about that.

They were off the air less than a day. That must be a record for them!
rakstr is offline  
post #8924 of 9289 Old 09-22-2018, 12:53 AM
Senior Member
 
See The Light's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: DFW
Posts: 401
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 71 Post(s)
Liked: 85
Quote:
Originally Posted by JHBrandt View Post
Just noticed that KWDA/21 went off the air about 6:30 PM today as thunderstorms blew through the Dallas area.

This has happened before. Usually takes them about a week to get back on the air.

Friday evening (9/21) about 9:30pm, when the heavier rains began over Irving, I lost my signal from CH. 4. After 2am I could get a CH 4 signal that came and went. But for Chs 5, 8, & 11, there was no noticed signal loss through the rain storms this evening.

Cable Channel Choice is the only choice I want to make !!
See The Light is online now  
post #8925 of 9289 Old 09-22-2018, 06:52 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
JHBrandt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: S. Garland, TX
Posts: 6,797
Mentioned: 67 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2718 Post(s)
Liked: 1335
I've also noticed a lot of signal loss on certain channels whenever it rains, particularly KTVT/11 on RF 19, and KHPK/28 on RF 10. I assume these are on my end because they always coincide with rain here, not necessarily rain in Cedar Hill. But it's odd that only a few channels seem affected while others, even low-power stations, remain OK.
teasip likes this.
JHBrandt is offline  
post #8926 of 9289 Old 09-26-2018, 01:43 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
rakstr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: dallas
Posts: 1,284
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 390 Post(s)
Liked: 171
Anyone else having reception issues on 21.2 at the moment? Currently 3:45PM
rakstr is offline  
post #8927 of 9289 Old 09-26-2018, 01:55 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
ed_in_tx's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: NW Dallas TX
Posts: 1,510
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 254 Post(s)
Liked: 108
Quote:
Originally Posted by rakstr View Post
Anyone else having reception issues on 21.2 at the moment? Currently 3:45PM
10 min... not a glitch. What kind of issue are you having?
ed_in_tx is offline  
post #8928 of 9289 Old 09-26-2018, 02:12 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
rakstr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: dallas
Posts: 1,284
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 390 Post(s)
Liked: 171
Breakup, macro block, ... Basic low/loss of signal stuff. I'm on the north edge of Lake Grapevine, about 1 mile off the lake as the crow flies.
Have had these intermittent issues for a while now. I don't see any storms between me and the towers and it's sunny now up here.......

Quote:
Originally Posted by ed_in_tx View Post
10 min... not a glitch. What kind of issue are you having?
rakstr is offline  
post #8929 of 9289 Old 09-26-2018, 08:55 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
rakstr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: dallas
Posts: 1,284
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 390 Post(s)
Liked: 171
I went up in the attic and gave the antenna a slight bump. It's not an attic that anyone uses and everything is tightened down so it shouldn't have shifted on its own but I didn't know what else to try. I'll give it a couple days to see if it helps. My headings range from 161-162 according to antennaweb and I was closer to 162 per my trusty BSA compass and confirmed by my phone. That, 162, is the direction for 21 but ... I'm now more 161. I know, inexact tools
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	21.JPG
Views:	9
Size:	5.4 KB
ID:	2460792  
rakstr is offline  
post #8930 of 9289 Old 09-29-2018, 03:02 PM
Member
 
PlnOTA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 49
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Slightly off-topic: KXII has added ION on 12.4. 480i WS, but the video has the incorrect AR. No resolution changes on the other subchannels.
PlnOTA is offline  
post #8931 of 9289 Old 09-29-2018, 05:59 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
JHBrandt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: S. Garland, TX
Posts: 6,797
Mentioned: 67 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2718 Post(s)
Liked: 1335
KFWD/52 added Jewelry TV "Extra" on 52.6. (Because just having "regular" Jewelry TV on 34.4 isn't enough ) Coming in windowboxed for me....

Last edited by JHBrandt; 11-01-2018 at 12:00 PM.
JHBrandt is offline  
post #8932 of 9289 Old 10-05-2018, 01:27 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
JHBrandt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: S. Garland, TX
Posts: 6,797
Mentioned: 67 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2718 Post(s)
Liked: 1335
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bryan Cannon View Post
The ATSC 3.0 SFN is supposed to light up any day now.
Quote:
“Everything seems on track, and we expect to light the SFN up on the Fourth of July when we have the connectivity.”
https://www.tvtechnology.com/atsc3/d...ars-completion
It's October, and two of the stations that were supposed to participate in the SFN test are still broadcasting ATSC 1.0 signals. Nor have I seen or heard of any banners airing, telling OTA viewers to rescan their TV tuners on a particular date, so it doesn't seem like a switch is imminent.

Either the SFN hasn't lit up yet, or if it has, it's only broadcasting on RF 56, the channel owned by Dish Network. Broadcasting on RF 46 or 48 would only interfere with the stations' ATSC 1.0 signals at this point and I can't imagine it would provide useful info.
JHBrandt is offline  
post #8933 of 9289 Old 10-07-2018, 06:51 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
JHBrandt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: S. Garland, TX
Posts: 6,797
Mentioned: 67 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2718 Post(s)
Liked: 1335
Quote:
Originally Posted by JHBrandt View Post
There's an ATSC 1.0 carrier on RF 38 right now! It seems to have been on the air since mid-Feb.: https://www.rabbitears.info/tvdx/sig...tuner0/KVFW-LD

It seems to be just a carrier, with zero channels; but if KVFW's transmitter is kaput, then who is that? If it is KVFW, are they even aware they're broadcasting (even if they're broadcasting nothing)?
Quote:
Originally Posted by schultdw View Post
I looked and the data stream is 100% null packets (ID= 0x1fff). So I have removed the entry in my config table that inserted the data so that it would be listed as decodable.
Looks like someone finally shut the thing off at 11 AM today. Carrier dropped both here and at Schultdw's site.

Don't see any new paperwork filed with the FCC. Maybe someone finally figured out they were just wasting a lot of electricity for no reason.
JHBrandt is offline  
post #8934 of 9289 Old 10-18-2018, 07:24 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
JHBrandt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: S. Garland, TX
Posts: 6,797
Mentioned: 67 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2718 Post(s)
Liked: 1335
KUVN-CA repack woes

Attached to the latest repacking progress report filed with the FCC:
Quote:
The original KUVN-CD post auction facility tower failed structural analysis requiring major modification ineligible for reimbursement. Consequently, KUVN-CD recently completed a search for an alternate tower site and identified a suitable tower. A revised application for CP is now being prepared. Repack equipment can now be ordered with an expectation the repack deadline can still be met for this station.
They're trying to put a cheerful face on it, but it sounds to me like their plans to move to Arlington and broadcast to most of the metroplex on RF 11 are kaput.

They haven't applied for a new construction permit yet, but based on their latest repacking expenses reimbursement form, it looks like they're considering going back to RF 22, which they were assigned by the FCC's repacking algorithm, and broadcasting from their current tower.

If that's what they request and get approval for, it would obviously affect KNAV, who currently plans to cover much of the metroplex on RF 22. KUVN-CA and KNAV would probably end up covering Ft. Worth and Dallas, respectively, with a "dead zone" in between. That would leave RF 11 available for another LPTV station.

Unfortunately that may not help, because currently KQFW also has an application for RF 11. Before repacking, KQFW had an application for RF 24, but never lit it up.

I eagerly await KUVN-CA's next application with the FCC. Be interesting to see how this gets sorted out.

Scratch that. I think I misread the attachment quoted above and had it backwards: it was their original RF 22 facility that failed structural analysis; the RF 11 facility is the alternate site alluded to above. I think this was an old note, although I can't explain why it was only filed with the FCC last month.

Last edited by JHBrandt; 11-01-2018 at 12:24 PM.
JHBrandt is offline  
post #8935 of 9289 Old 10-27-2018, 01:42 PM
Member
 
schultdw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Arlington, TX
Posts: 171
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 50 Post(s)
Liked: 23
KERA has an annoying problem. 13.1 seems normal most of the time but it occasionally pauses for just a fraction of a second. Just enough to be noticeable. I don't see this on other stations and I see it with both the Dish DTVPal DVR and the TVs built in tuner so it would appear to be something in the KERA data stream. Or maybe its just me.
schultdw is offline  
post #8936 of 9289 Old 10-27-2018, 02:10 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
ed_in_tx's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: NW Dallas TX
Posts: 1,510
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 254 Post(s)
Liked: 108
Quote:
Originally Posted by schultdw View Post
KERA has an annoying problem. 13.1 seems normal most of the time but it occasionally pauses for just a fraction of a second. Just enough to be noticeable..
After about 15 min watching it with no problems, I am seeing and hearing glitches too. So it isn't just you.
ed_in_tx is offline  
post #8937 of 9289 Old 10-27-2018, 06:04 PM
Member
 
nukeboy67's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Arlington, Texas
Posts: 131
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by ed_in_tx View Post
After about 15 min watching it with no problems, I am seeing and hearing glitches too. So it isn't just you.
I have been having glitches over the past week after having a pretty steady signal as well. I noticed this on my RabbitEars graph.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Capture.JPG
Views:	13
Size:	72.1 KB
ID:	2474682  

Forecaster for Decatur, Texas Storm Team
nukeboy67 is offline  
post #8938 of 9289 Old 10-27-2018, 06:49 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
JHBrandt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: S. Garland, TX
Posts: 6,797
Mentioned: 67 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2718 Post(s)
Liked: 1335
After seeing that, I had to check mine. Mine shows a pretty steady signal for KERA, but I'm a lot closer to Cedar Hill, so small fluctuations may not show up as well.

Last 12 hours:


Last 10 days:
JHBrandt is offline  
post #8939 of 9289 Old 10-28-2018, 12:12 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
JHBrandt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: S. Garland, TX
Posts: 6,797
Mentioned: 67 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2718 Post(s)
Liked: 1335
KHPK/28 off air?

Looks like it died about 1:45 today. Anyone know anything? Did they shut down for some construction on their tower?

Edit: And I just noticed that KNAV/22, our last remaining analog station, is also off the air. Looks like it went off last night around 6:20 PM.

That may be a clue. KNAV's new antenna (for digital service) is going on the same tower as KHPK's current antenna. The new KNAV/22 antenna is a couple hundred feet below KHPK's antenna on the tower, but maybe that's still too close for work to be done safely.

If that's what's going on, we may have a new digital station on RF 22 soon. Of course, what happens after repacking is still a bit up in the air (no pun intended), thanks to the recent uncertainty about KUVN-CD I posted about several days ago.

Last edited by JHBrandt; 10-28-2018 at 02:52 PM.
JHBrandt is offline  
post #8940 of 9289 Old 10-28-2018, 12:22 PM
Senior Member
 
See The Light's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: DFW
Posts: 401
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 71 Post(s)
Liked: 85
With my 2015 SAMSUNG 46" LED TV, I have had to monkey with the Time Settings options to finally get the show times for each channel to show correctly. The time itself, for the TV, reads correctly. But to get the times of the shows currently airing to show correctly, I had to choose the DST option of "On" instead of "Auto."

Cable Channel Choice is the only choice I want to make !!
See The Light is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off