Dallas, TX - HDTV - Page 308 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 310Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #9211 of 9522 Old 06-25-2019, 03:02 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Trip in VA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Alexandria, VA, US
Posts: 16,713
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1562 Post(s)
Liked: 641
Send a message via AIM to Trip in VA
The right people at the FCC are aware of KPFW-LD. (And JHBrandt, thanks for confirming.)

- Trip

N4MJC

Comments are my own and not that of the FCC (my employer) or anyone else.

RabbitEars

"Ignorance and prejudice and fear walk hand in hand..." - Rush "Witch Hunt"

Trip in VA is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #9212 of 9522 Old 06-25-2019, 05:23 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
HoustonPerson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 3,869
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 31 Post(s)
Liked: 20
From where I sit, this appears to be the problem:

Display Channel 29-1, is using both RF 30 and RF 21 at the same time (same programming). This seems to have 58-1 TBN block from being on-the-air.
HoustonPerson is offline  
post #9213 of 9522 Old 06-25-2019, 06:18 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
JHBrandt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: S. Garland, TX
Posts: 6,959
Mentioned: 69 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2819 Post(s)
Liked: 1367
That's correct, but how that's happening is a mystery. KMPX/29 doesn't even own an RF 21 transmitter! KMPX has always been on RF 30 and didn't move in the reshuffling last week.

KMPX does have an auxiliary (backup) transmitter; I can imagine that it got misprogrammed from RF 30 to RF 21 somehow. But then we'd have a similar situation to KTXA and KPFW. If there were two transmissions on RF 21, we wouldn't see either one; we'd just see a strong signal that no one could lock.

The only stations I know of that own an RF 21 transmitter are KWDA/30 and KDTX/58, and I don't know how either of those could even have access to KMPX's data stream, even if they wanted to broadcast it.

My first guess was that KDTX's and KMPX's transmitters were colocated, and someone just had the wrong cable plugged in or punched the wrong buttons on the computer. But those stations don't share the same tower, so that seems unlikely.

This one has me completely stumped.
JHBrandt is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #9214 of 9522 Old 06-25-2019, 06:27 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
JHBrandt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: S. Garland, TX
Posts: 6,959
Mentioned: 69 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2819 Post(s)
Liked: 1367
Quote:
Originally Posted by rakstr View Post
I've got no 51.X stations on my server tuners.
K26KC is ridiculously weak (4.45 kW ERP); thus tough to receive if you live more than ~15 (maybe 20 if lucky) miles from Cedar Hill. I see it show up occasionally on @schultdw 's bandscan in Arlington; that's the only way I could tell they were broadcasting the 51.x channels.
JHBrandt is online now  
post #9215 of 9522 Old 06-25-2019, 06:36 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
JHBrandt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: S. Garland, TX
Posts: 6,959
Mentioned: 69 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2819 Post(s)
Liked: 1367
Quote:
Originally Posted by Trip in VA View Post
The right people at the FCC are aware of KPFW-LD. (And JHBrandt, thanks for confirming.)

- Trip
KTXA's SQ just jumped about 10 points. I'm guessing that KPFW finally shut off that stupid RF 18 signal - and that somebody probably got chewed out pretty bad, if not fired. It's not as if they had no idea what was supposed to happen on June 21!
Trip in VA and arnoldevns like this.
JHBrandt is online now  
post #9216 of 9522 Old 06-25-2019, 07:03 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Trip in VA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Alexandria, VA, US
Posts: 16,713
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1562 Post(s)
Liked: 641
Send a message via AIM to Trip in VA
Yes, it should be off now.

- Trip

N4MJC

Comments are my own and not that of the FCC (my employer) or anyone else.

RabbitEars

"Ignorance and prejudice and fear walk hand in hand..." - Rush "Witch Hunt"

Trip in VA is online now  
post #9217 of 9522 Old 06-25-2019, 07:24 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
JHBrandt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: S. Garland, TX
Posts: 6,959
Mentioned: 69 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2819 Post(s)
Liked: 1367
@jd8000 and @ed_in_tx , is KTXA looking OK now?
JHBrandt is online now  
post #9218 of 9522 Old 06-25-2019, 10:07 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
ed_in_tx's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: NW Dallas TX
Posts: 1,529
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 273 Post(s)
Liked: 112
Quote:
Originally Posted by JHBrandt View Post
@jd8000 and @ed_in_tx , is KTXA looking OK now?
Did the interfering signal go away?

I just tried it. Had to do a full factory reset on the one DTVPal I've done so far and it found the KTXA channels. Simple re-scanning or adding new channels won't cut it with the 'Pals looks like. One more to do. That add function worked perfectly with 27's move last week after I deleted the old 27s first. Then I scanned my Sony TV and it found KTXA too, wouldn't do that yesterday. So seems fixed to me. Just have to go through the resetting up of my DVRs and losing the timers and distant channels they had found as you well know. I liked having those there just to check once in a while.
ed_in_tx is offline  
post #9219 of 9522 Old 06-25-2019, 11:01 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
JHBrandt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: S. Garland, TX
Posts: 6,959
Mentioned: 69 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2819 Post(s)
Liked: 1367
Quote:
Originally Posted by ed_in_tx View Post
Did the interfering signal go away?
Quote:
Originally Posted by Trip in VA View Post
Yes, it should be off now.

- Trip
Quote:
Originally Posted by ed_in_tx View Post
I just tried it. Had to do a full factory reset on the one DTVPal I've done so far and it found the KTXA channels. Simple re-scanning or adding new channels won't cut it with the 'Pals looks like. One more to do.... Just have to go through the resetting up of my DVRs and losing the timers and distant channels they had found as you well know. I liked having those there just to check once in a while.
Major bummer.
Quote:
Originally Posted by ed_in_tx View Post
That add function worked perfectly with 27's move last week after I deleted the old 27s first.
That's what I did too; in my case it worked for 23, 27, 39, and 21.
Quote:
Originally Posted by ed_in_tx View Post
Then I scanned my Sony TV and it found KTXA too, wouldn't do that yesterday. So seems fixed to me.
JHBrandt is online now  
post #9220 of 9522 Old 06-25-2019, 12:56 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
ed_in_tx's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: NW Dallas TX
Posts: 1,529
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 273 Post(s)
Liked: 112
Quote:
Originally Posted by JHBrandt View Post
Major bummer.That's what I did too; in my case it worked for 23, 27, 39, and 21.
Neither of my 'Pals would find 23 either. On 21 and 23 I tried the delete first then add new channel and no go. Oh well I got to re-familiarize on the setup procedure. And maybe their clocks will sync up again. They had lost their time calculation abilities and were both running a couple of minutes slow.
ed_in_tx is offline  
post #9221 of 9522 Old 06-25-2019, 02:23 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Posts: 39
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 26 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by JHBrandt View Post
That's correct, but how that's happening is a mystery. KMPX/29 doesn't even own an RF 21 transmitter! KMPX has always been on RF 30 and didn't move in the reshuffling last week.

KMPX does have an auxiliary (backup) transmitter; I can imagine that it got misprogrammed from RF 30 to RF 21 somehow. But then we'd have a similar situation to KTXA and KPFW. If there were two transmissions on RF 21, we wouldn't see either one; we'd just see a strong signal that no one could lock.

The only stations I know of that own an RF 21 transmitter are KWDA/30 and KDTX/58, and I don't know how either of those could even have access to KMPX's data stream, even if they wanted to broadcast it.

My first guess was that KDTX's and KMPX's transmitters were colocated, and someone just had the wrong cable plugged in or punched the wrong buttons on the computer. But those stations don't share the same tower, so that seems unlikely.

This one has me completely stumped.
Not the same tower, but adjacent towers, and both owned by American Tower. If we believe KDTN's STA filing, then American Tower has pretty firm control over what happens in their facilities, so it's not a big leap to think they might have some sort of central location where they get all the different feeds from the different stations and they are responsible for routing them into the correct transmitters, and that would be an easy point for things to get mixed up. I don't have any inside knowledge of how things are actually run, but that's how I'd do it if I had to manage a few dozen TV and FM broadcasts.

Quote:
Originally Posted by JHBrandt View Post
@jd8000 and @ed_in_tx , is KTXA looking OK now?
Yes, coming in clear now.
JHBrandt likes this.
jd8000 is offline  
post #9222 of 9522 Old 06-25-2019, 03:38 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
JHBrandt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: S. Garland, TX
Posts: 6,959
Mentioned: 69 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2819 Post(s)
Liked: 1367
Looks like KHPK/28 got back on RF 10 again shortly after 3 PM today. Let's hope the chewing gum and bailing wire hold this time.
JHBrandt is online now  
post #9223 of 9522 Old 06-25-2019, 05:10 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
ed_in_tx's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: NW Dallas TX
Posts: 1,529
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 273 Post(s)
Liked: 112
So are the major channels done moving around or is there more of this to come?
ed_in_tx is offline  
post #9224 of 9522 Old 06-25-2019, 05:33 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
JHBrandt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: S. Garland, TX
Posts: 6,959
Mentioned: 69 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2819 Post(s)
Liked: 1367
Most of it's done, but there are a few more to come, probably in the next two weeks:

  • KDTN/2
  • KLEG/44
  • KTXD/47
  • KAZD/55

There are also several LPTVs that have gone silent but should return in the next few months.
JHBrandt is online now  
post #9225 of 9522 Old 06-25-2019, 05:58 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Posts: 39
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 26 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by JHBrandt View Post
Most of it's done, but there are a few more to come, probably in the next two weeks:

  • KDTN/2
  • KLEG/44
  • KTXD/47
  • KAZD/55

There are also several LPTVs that have gone silent but should return in the next few months.
Let's hope the 3 full power stations work together and pick a specific date and time and all switch at once so multiple different rescans aren't required. KLEG today filed a request for a 45 day extension on their transition due to parts being backordered and not arriving as expected, so they might be off for a while.



And, of course, KDTX's actual broadcast needs to be brought on-air instead of a duplicate KMPX or (as it is currently) nothing.


Whether any of these qualify as "major" is subject to interpretation .
jd8000 is offline  
post #9226 of 9522 Old 06-25-2019, 06:22 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
JHBrandt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: S. Garland, TX
Posts: 6,959
Mentioned: 69 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2819 Post(s)
Liked: 1367
Quote:
Originally Posted by JHBrandt View Post
Looks like KHPK/28 got back on RF 10 again shortly after 3 PM today. Let's hope the chewing gum and bailing wire hold this time.
Carrier's still there, but looks like all the programming got shut off
JHBrandt is online now  
post #9227 of 9522 Old 06-25-2019, 11:45 PM
Member
 
PlnOTA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 77
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 46 Post(s)
Liked: 24
KBOP 20.1 is now broadcasting AMG TV. Better than infomercials, I suppose.
arnoldevns and JHBrandt like this.
PlnOTA is offline  
post #9228 of 9522 Old 06-26-2019, 04:54 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
HoustonPerson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 3,869
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 31 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Last Thursday: Station count 90

Friday through Early Tuesday: Station count would vary from 66 to 77

Most of Monday was 68, then Tuesday afternoon went to 75 when 28-X returned for a short while at 100%

Wednesday Morning station count is 66.

During this whole period 58-1 on RF 21 was "never" there and it still not there Wed AM.

Yes, the problem is most likely American Tower and/or their adjacent towers.

Phase Three Repack: Epic FAIL
HoustonPerson is offline  
post #9229 of 9522 Old 06-26-2019, 02:02 PM
Senior Member
 
See The Light's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: DFW
Posts: 415
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 76 Post(s)
Liked: 87
KDTX CH. 58 is back on the air!!


I just did a re-scan... picked up 66 channels from my location in Irving.

Cable Channel Choice is the only choice I want to make !!

Last edited by See The Light; 06-26-2019 at 02:07 PM.
See The Light is offline  
post #9230 of 9522 Old 06-26-2019, 02:03 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Posts: 39
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 26 Post(s)
Liked: 11
It must be Easter, because KDTX has risen from the dead. The normal 2 HD/3 SD TBN mux is alive on RF 21. PSIP and the clock are correct, for those interested in such things.

@Trip in VA I noticed you changed KDTN to 720p on your site. It's now back to 1080i, and it's on program 1 rather than program 3.
jd8000 is offline  
post #9231 of 9522 Old 06-26-2019, 06:04 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Trip in VA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Alexandria, VA, US
Posts: 16,713
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1562 Post(s)
Liked: 641
Send a message via AIM to Trip in VA
Quote:
Originally Posted by jd8000 View Post
@Trip in VA I noticed you changed KDTN to 720p on your site. It's now back to 1080i, and it's on program 1 rather than program 3.
Thanks. I've updated accordingly, but I wouldn't be surprised to see KDTN go back to 720p before all is said and done. They're planning to channel share with their own LPTV station as if it were a subchannel. When Daystar did that in Denver, they switched to 720p.

- Trip

N4MJC

Comments are my own and not that of the FCC (my employer) or anyone else.

RabbitEars

"Ignorance and prejudice and fear walk hand in hand..." - Rush "Witch Hunt"

Trip in VA is online now  
post #9232 of 9522 Old 06-26-2019, 06:39 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Posts: 39
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 26 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Once they have the LP set up for channel sharing, would they then be able to sell the LP and bandwidth on KDTN's transmitter to someone else? I don't think KDTN operating on a noncommercial allotment would have any effect on commercial use of shared channels (WGBH and WHYY come to mind), so that combination of full OTA coverage and minimal requirements on the LP license would be very attractive to a broadcaster looking to get a foothold in the market. Unless I'm missing something like not being able to sell the LP to a commercial entity.
jd8000 is offline  
post #9233 of 9522 Old 06-26-2019, 08:43 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
JHBrandt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: S. Garland, TX
Posts: 6,959
Mentioned: 69 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2819 Post(s)
Liked: 1367
Quote:
Originally Posted by JHBrandt View Post
Looks like KHPK/28 got back on RF 10 again shortly after 3 PM today. Let's hope the chewing gum and bailing wire hold this time.
Quote:
Originally Posted by JHBrandt View Post
Carrier's still there, but looks like all the programming got shut off
Sometime this evening the programming came back on, but the way things have been going, I wouldn't be surprised at a few more outages before it's finally stable.
JHBrandt is online now  
post #9234 of 9522 Old 06-27-2019, 02:32 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Trip in VA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Alexandria, VA, US
Posts: 16,713
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1562 Post(s)
Liked: 641
Send a message via AIM to Trip in VA
Quote:
Originally Posted by jd8000 View Post
Once they have the LP set up for channel sharing, would they then be able to sell the LP and bandwidth on KDTN's transmitter to someone else? I don't think KDTN operating on a noncommercial allotment would have any effect on commercial use of shared channels (WGBH and WHYY come to mind), so that combination of full OTA coverage and minimal requirements on the LP license would be very attractive to a broadcaster looking to get a foothold in the market. Unless I'm missing something like not being able to sell the LP to a commercial entity.
I imagine it would make more sense to lease rather than sell, but yes, a commercial operator could use that bandwidth.

- Trip

N4MJC

Comments are my own and not that of the FCC (my employer) or anyone else.

RabbitEars

"Ignorance and prejudice and fear walk hand in hand..." - Rush "Witch Hunt"

Trip in VA is online now  
post #9235 of 9522 Old 06-27-2019, 05:30 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
HoustonPerson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 3,869
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 31 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Station Count this AM is 79; but Daystar 2-1 is gone from the airways. Both 58-X and 28-X are at 100%

As others have said it may be a week or two before it is all sorted out.

All the TV's we have handle this well, but the TiVo has serious problems; it has gone MAD. I will go to the TiVo forums later.

When Phase 2 Repack hit Dallas a couple of years ago, the only solution then was to reformat the hard drive. Rescanning, Doing Guided Set Up again, clear channels, rescan etc. simply does not work on the TiVo. Seems the old channel data, like 7-1's etc and couple of dozen others cannot be eliminated without the full reformat of the hard drive.
HoustonPerson is offline  
post #9236 of 9522 Old 06-27-2019, 08:20 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
JHBrandt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: S. Garland, TX
Posts: 6,959
Mentioned: 69 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2819 Post(s)
Liked: 1367
Daystar seems to be back now. They were off between 7 AM and about 8:30 this morning.

They're still on RF 43 though, so another rescan will certainly be needed at some point
JHBrandt is online now  
post #9237 of 9522 Old 06-27-2019, 09:50 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
HoustonPerson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 3,869
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 31 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Yep Daystar is back etc.

Now if I can only get the TiVo set up again on planet earth.

The only way I was able to get the TiVo to work with the Phase Two Repack a couple of years ago, was to reformat the hard drive and start over with set up. etc.
HoustonPerson is offline  
post #9238 of 9522 Old 06-27-2019, 10:13 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
JHBrandt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: S. Garland, TX
Posts: 6,959
Mentioned: 69 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2819 Post(s)
Liked: 1367
KAZD seems to have dropped 55.7, Advenimiento TV, from their lineup. Or maybe they moved it to 55.6, which was vacant (not home to check), but 55.6's label still says "BIZ TV."
JHBrandt is online now  
post #9239 of 9522 Old 06-27-2019, 10:39 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Posts: 39
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 26 Post(s)
Liked: 11
55.6/program 7 is Advenimiento TV. VieTV moved from program 5 to program 6, but is still virtual 55.5.



KDTN is back to 720p.
jd8000 is offline  
post #9240 of 9522 Old 06-27-2019, 10:54 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
JHBrandt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: S. Garland, TX
Posts: 6,959
Mentioned: 69 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2819 Post(s)
Liked: 1367
I guess they're still working on it. The channel number just changed from 55.6 to "6.6" I assume that's a mistake and they were actually trying to fix the label.

Edit: Back to 55.6 again. Label still says "BIZ TV" though.

Last edited by JHBrandt; 06-27-2019 at 12:27 PM.
JHBrandt is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off