Philadelphia, PA - OTA - Page 142 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 109Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #4231 of 4694 Old 12-21-2018, 05:26 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Ken.F's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: West Rockhill, PA
Posts: 5,676
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2389 Post(s)
Liked: 2786
Quote:
Originally Posted by frank70 View Post
I'm curious why WCAU was off-air for several hours this evening. Just came back up at 9:30PM.
They said on twitter:
"The issues were due to a power outage. In addition to CoziTV, viewers can also watch the Timeless finale and other primetime shows On Demand and on the NBC10 and Telemundo apps once the shows are posted."

And
"Broadcast programs on NBC10, Telemundo62, CoziTV and Telexitos were disrupted over the air and across several cable & satellite providers. Service has been restored and NBC10’s Timeless will re-air tomorrow from 8 p.m. to 10 p.m. ET on CoziTV."



That was posted last night so Timeless will re-air tonight (Friday) on CoziTV.
Ken.F is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4232 of 4694 Old 12-21-2018, 07:43 AM
Senior Member
 
trailblazer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Jackson, NJ
Posts: 369
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 152 Post(s)
Liked: 55
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ken.F View Post
They said on twitter:
"The issues were due to a power outage. In addition to CoziTV, viewers can also watch the Timeless finale and other primetime shows On Demand and on the NBC10 and Telemundo apps once the shows are posted."

And
"Broadcast programs on NBC10, Telemundo62, CoziTV and Telexitos were disrupted over the air and across several cable & satellite providers. Service has been restored and NBC10’s Timeless will re-air tomorrow from 8 p.m. to 10 p.m. ET on CoziTV."



That was posted last night so Timeless will re-air tonight (Friday) on CoziTV.

I noticed that WCAU went out around 7:10 pm but I was still receiving a signal till later on in the evening when there was no signal. While I was receiving a signal I was getting scrambled signal displayed on my TV till the signal was shut off. Timeless on CoziTV will probably be 480i and look horrible like everything else on Cozi!
trailblazer is offline  
post #4233 of 4694 Old 12-21-2018, 07:45 AM
Senior Member
 
trailblazer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Jackson, NJ
Posts: 369
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 152 Post(s)
Liked: 55
Quote:
Originally Posted by frank70 View Post
I'm curious why WCAU was off-air for several hours this evening. Just came back up at 9:30PM.

I was recording Timeless and only captured the last 31 minutes of the program.
trailblazer is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4234 of 4694 Old 12-21-2018, 01:03 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
wilbur_the_goose's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 1,493
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 623 Post(s)
Liked: 368
Seriously? They don't have a backup generator?!

Oh yeah, WCAU is a Comcast station. Figures that they'd do OTA as poorly as they do cable TV.
wilbur_the_goose is offline  
post #4235 of 4694 Old 12-21-2018, 05:20 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
LastButNotLeast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: 08077
Posts: 11,003
Mentioned: 104 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3031 Post(s)
Liked: 2841
Backup generator? They probably don't have a surge protector.
wilbur_the_goose likes this.
LastButNotLeast is offline  
post #4236 of 4694 Old 12-21-2018, 05:33 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Ken.F's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: West Rockhill, PA
Posts: 5,676
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2389 Post(s)
Liked: 2786
Quote:
Originally Posted by trailblazer View Post
Timeless on CoziTV will probably be 480i and look horrible like everything else on Cozi!
I'm watching it now. It is definitely standard definition but it's 16:9 and looks pretty clean. Much better than the typical CoziTV stuff.
Ken.F is online now  
post #4237 of 4694 Old 12-22-2018, 11:21 AM
Newbie
 
modifish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Wind Gap PA
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Anyone else notice WTXF broadcasting on channel 25 today? I had trouble with it up here in Wind Gap PA and looked at in my tuner and while there is a weak signal on 42, I cannot lock on it. Then I found it on 25! What's up with that? Thought they were going to 31 when all the post auction moves are done....
modifish is offline  
post #4238 of 4694 Old 12-22-2018, 01:15 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
unclehonkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Mankato, MN
Posts: 2,409
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 638 Post(s)
Liked: 185
Quote:
Originally Posted by modifish View Post
Anyone else notice WTXF broadcasting on channel 25 today? I had trouble with it up here in Wind Gap PA and looked at in my tuner and while there is a weak signal on 42, I cannot lock on it. Then I found it on 25! What's up with that? Thought they were going to 31 when all the post auction moves are done....
25 is the translator in Allentown. Same tower in Bauer Rock as WNEP's translator and the frequency for PBS 39, the religious channel and WMFZ

https://www.rabbitears.info/contour....7&site=2&map=Y
unclehonkey is online now  
post #4239 of 4694 Old 12-22-2018, 01:35 PM
Super Moderator
 
DrDon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Metro Detroit, Tampa Bay
Posts: 17,718
Mentioned: 45 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2556 Post(s)
Liked: 5014
Quote:
Originally Posted by modifish View Post
Anyone else notice WTXF broadcasting on channel 25 today? I had trouble with it up here in Wind Gap PA and looked at in my tuner and while there is a weak signal on 42, I cannot lock on it. Then I found it on 25! What's up with that? Thought they were going to 31 when all the post auction moves are done....
25 is the Allentown translator for WTXF. https://www.rabbitears.info/contour....ea70277&site=2

Walking the fine line between jaw-dropping and a plain ol' yawn.
DrDon is online now  
post #4240 of 4694 Old 12-22-2018, 07:11 PM
Member
 
ravi132's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by TranzPhat View Post
Last,

Back to 2.1 & 6.1, I am about the same distance from the 2.1 tower as you, but in a 2edge zone (not a LOS site as you). Using a dedicated low-VHF antenna in my attic, I receive both 2.1 and 6.1 very well (6.1 with a 30 dB SNR and 2.1 with a 26 dB SNR) - no amp, no filters needed.
Hi, which is a good dedicated low-VHF antenna? Would it only receive low VHF or be good for the other VHF and UHF stations?
ravi132 is offline  
post #4241 of 4694 Old 12-22-2018, 08:35 PM
Newbie
 
modifish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Wind Gap PA
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Ok guys, thanks. I thought they were using 38 on the Allentown translator. I see now it's 25. Allentown was weak for me in the past and I used to need to delete the translator to avoid duplicating WTXF in my channel lineup. Thanks for the info!
modifish is offline  
post #4242 of 4694 Old 12-23-2018, 02:56 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
frank70's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 1,496
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 213 Post(s)
Liked: 174
Quote:
Originally Posted by ravi132 View Post
Hi, which is a good dedicated low-VHF antenna? Would it only receive low VHF or be good for the other VHF and UHF stations?
Well, depends on where you are located, but a simple folded dipole made out of twinlead (only really suitable for an indoor/attic installation) and oriented at a right angle to your direction to Roxborough might do the trick. For channel 6, it should be 66" long (tapped at the center), and for channel 2, 100" long. You might try a 100" for both since 2 has the lower power. I'm using a 66" and you don't even want to know what crazy getup I'm using for 2


This would only be good for low VHF and you'd need a VHF/UHF combiner to mix it with your main (high VHF/UHF) antenna. Obviously, you can buy commercial low VHF yagi-style antennas or single-channel antennas too.
frank70 is offline  
post #4243 of 4694 Old 12-23-2018, 06:43 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: Lower Macungie, Pa.
Posts: 30
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 3
Quote:
Originally Posted by ravi132 View Post
Hi, which is a good dedicated low-VHF antenna? Would it only receive low VHF or be good for the other VHF and UHF stations?
I use a custom folded dipole using 1/2" copper pipe with a reflector, located in my attic. The antenna is tuned to around ch 3.8 to give me a solution that would have an optimum SWR at both frequencies It works very well.

I used the info from Holl_ands, at -> https://www.avsforum.com/forum/25-hd...els-2-6-a.html. And then used the calculator from John Drew (VK5DJ) to build the antenna.
TranzPhat is offline  
post #4244 of 4694 Old 01-17-2019, 12:53 PM
Newbie
 
blueeyedbanditt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Wpvi6

Have there been any solutions for 6ABC specifically for indoor antennas?

It seems like some of the "Leaf-style" antennas cover all the way down to 40 hz or so, has anyone had success with those for picking up 6ABC?

Any other relatively easy solutions?

Thanks!
blueeyedbanditt is offline  
post #4245 of 4694 Old 01-17-2019, 01:21 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Ratman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Collingswood, N.J.
Posts: 20,499
Mentioned: 35 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2863 Post(s)
Liked: 2905
I use one similar to this in my attic. Get 2, 6 and 12.


https://www.ebay.com/i/202389017707?chn=ps



If you can’t explain it simply, you don’t understand it well enough – Albert Einstein
Ratman is online now  
post #4246 of 4694 Old 01-17-2019, 01:38 PM
Newbie
 
blueeyedbanditt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks - are you connecting to an existing antenna in the attic and how? I was looking for a solution to connect to a Leaf-style near TV, is there like a coupler that will merge the two signals?
blueeyedbanditt is offline  
post #4247 of 4694 Old 01-17-2019, 01:47 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
frank70's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 1,496
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 213 Post(s)
Liked: 174
Quote:
Originally Posted by blueeyedbanditt View Post
...is there like a coupler that will merge the two signals?
There are many combiners offered on the internet. Here is one like the one I use: https://store.antennasdirect.com/antenna-combiner.html


Also note that 12 (VHF) will be moving to 13 (VHF) during the repack (spring 2020). And moving down to VHF, WFMZ 69, currently on 45 (UHF) out of Roxborough will be moving to 7 (VHF) during the repack.

Last edited by frank70; 01-17-2019 at 06:00 PM.
frank70 is offline  
post #4248 of 4694 Old 01-17-2019, 01:58 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Ratman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Collingswood, N.J.
Posts: 20,499
Mentioned: 35 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2863 Post(s)
Liked: 2905
Quote:
Originally Posted by blueeyedbanditt View Post
Thanks - are you connecting to an existing antenna in the attic and how? I was looking for a solution to connect to a Leaf-style near TV, is there like a coupler that will merge the two signals?
I just connected the rabbit ears to my Channel Master 4228 antenna. Just connected to existing connectors. No extra gadgets.
I worked for me, may not for you. IMO, inexpensive test if you have stuff in your basement in a box.



If you can’t explain it simply, you don’t understand it well enough – Albert Einstein
Ratman is online now  
post #4249 of 4694 Old 01-17-2019, 05:20 PM
Senior Member
 
Brian in CT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Location: Fairfield, Conn.
Posts: 302
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 168 Post(s)
Liked: 36
Quote:
Originally Posted by frank70 View Post
Also note that 12 (VHF) will be moving to 13 (UHF) during the repack (spring 2020).
When WHYY switches to RF channel 13 it will still be on the VHF band. I'm sure that was just a typo.
Brian in CT is offline  
post #4250 of 4694 Old 01-17-2019, 05:59 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
frank70's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 1,496
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 213 Post(s)
Liked: 174
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brian in CT View Post
When WHYY switches to RF channel 13 it will still be on the VHF band. I'm sure that was just a typo.
That was indeed my error - corrected in original post.
frank70 is offline  
post #4251 of 4694 Old 01-18-2019, 01:09 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: Lower Macungie, Pa.
Posts: 30
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 3
Quote:
Originally Posted by frank70 View Post
There are many combiners offered on the internet. Here is one like the one I use: https://store.antennasdirect.com/antenna-combiner.html


Also note that 12 (VHF) will be moving to 13 (VHF) during the repack (spring 2020). And moving down to VHF, WFMZ 69, currently on 45 (UHF) out of Roxborough will be moving to 7 (VHF) during the repack.
Speaking of AntennasDirect, here is a VHF antenna with a built-in combiner: https://store.antennasdirect.com/VHF-Antenna-Kit.html

I have used this to receive 6.x, 9.x and 12.x - works very well - it is not very good with 2.x though.
TranzPhat is offline  
post #4252 of 4694 Old 02-25-2019, 01:57 PM
Member
 
MattFromPhilly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 39
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by blueeyedbanditt View Post
Have there been any solutions for 6ABC specifically for indoor antennas?

It seems like some of the "Leaf-style" antennas cover all the way down to 40 hz or so, has anyone had success with those for picking up 6ABC?

Any other relatively easy solutions?

Thanks!
I actually added an FM antenna from an old stereo to my setup and channel 6 is usually pretty good. If you have one laying around it's worth a try. For some reason it seems to work better hung vertically rather than horizontally.
MattFromPhilly is offline  
post #4253 of 4694 Old 02-25-2019, 03:29 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
frank70's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 1,496
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 213 Post(s)
Liked: 174
Quote:
Originally Posted by MattFromPhilly View Post
For some reason it seems to work better hung vertically rather than horizontally.
Which just shows to go you that receiving antenna technology, in spite of all the documented scientific theory, is mostly black art.
frank70 is offline  
post #4254 of 4694 Old 02-26-2019, 07:56 PM
Senior Member
 
KEVINL71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: New Britain, CT
Posts: 388
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 170 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Is the FM antenna the kind with the two rods or as a dipole shaped kinda like a "T"? I used to use a dipole on an AM/FM/TV cassette radio back in 1987-88. It was so-so on the TV side. The VHF did seem a little better. (Hartford/New Haven had channel 3 in Hartford and channel 8 in New Haven for analog TV.)
KEVINL71 is offline  
post #4255 of 4694 Old 02-27-2019, 08:20 AM
Member
 
MattFromPhilly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 39
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by KEVINL71 View Post
Is the FM antenna the kind with the two rods or as a dipole shaped kinda like a "T"? I used to use a dipole on an AM/FM/TV cassette radio back in 1987-88. It was so-so on the TV side. The VHF did seem a little better. (Hartford/New Haven had channel 3 in Hartford and channel 8 in New Haven for analog TV.)
It's a T-shaped dipole wire. Like this one:

https://www.staples.com/Axis-FM-Dipo...EaAiTEEALw_wcB

I have a homemade UHF antenna so just attached the two leads to the screws where the antennae connects to the impedance matching balun.
MattFromPhilly is offline  
post #4256 of 4694 Old 03-08-2019, 08:21 AM
Member
 
edfiero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 23
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 13
WPHL 17.2 Antenna TV Picture QUALITY

What is up with picture quality on 17.2? I got that its not HD, but still, it looks horrible. I love some of the old shows from the 80's like Growing Pains, but the quality so poor that it is just unwatchable OTA. (Not sure if its any different on cable or not)

I'm not referring to signal STRENGTH, but quality. 17.1 looks fine. It's like they compress the heck out of 17.2 and its all pixelated and/or fuzzy.

I tried e-mailing WPHL, but I got no response.

Do you think they will ever reduce the compression or whatever on 17.2 to improve the picture quality?
edfiero is offline  
post #4257 of 4694 Old 03-08-2019, 08:32 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Trip in VA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Alexandria, VA, US
Posts: 17,206
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1891 Post(s)
Liked: 884
The channel 17 signal is carrying 2 HD streams and 5 SD streams. Something has to give along the way; priority goes to 17-1 and 65-1 in HD. The SD channels get squeezed.

- Trip

N4MJC

Comments are my own and not that of the FCC (my employer) or anyone else.

RabbitEars

"Ignorance and prejudice and fear walk hand in hand..." - Rush "Witch Hunt"


Last edited by Trip in VA; 03-08-2019 at 08:38 AM.
Trip in VA is online now  
post #4258 of 4694 Old 03-08-2019, 09:40 AM
Senior Member
 
trailblazer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Jackson, NJ
Posts: 369
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 152 Post(s)
Liked: 55
Quote:
Originally Posted by edfiero View Post
What is up with picture quality on 17.2? I got that its not HD, but still, it looks horrible. I love some of the old shows from the 80's like Growing Pains, but the quality so poor that it is just unwatchable OTA. (Not sure if its any different on cable or not)

I'm not referring to signal STRENGTH, but quality. 17.1 looks fine. It's like they compress the heck out of 17.2 and its all pixelated and/or fuzzy.

I tried e-mailing WPHL, but I got no response.

Do you think they will ever reduce the compression or whatever on 17.2 to improve the picture quality?

Even the HD channels on 17-1 and 65-1 look like crap. The picture is soft and dull. The sub-channels are totally unwatchable. Why bother with broadcasting these channels when they are unwatchable!
wilbur_the_goose likes this.
trailblazer is offline  
post #4259 of 4694 Old 03-08-2019, 09:47 AM
Member
 
edfiero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 23
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by trailblazer View Post
Even the HD channels on 17-1 and 65-1 look like crap. The picture is soft and dull. The sub-channels are totally unwatchable. Why bother with broadcasting these channels when they are unwatchable!
Exactly my point! Sounds like they need to drop 1 or more of those side channels to free up space.
edfiero is offline  
post #4260 of 4694 Old 03-08-2019, 03:23 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 1
My understanding is that RF9 in Allentown is constructing a new transmitter at 120kw as opposed to their current 80kw signal. They carry WFMZ, WPPT, WLVT, and WBPH. Unfortunately their signal does not reach into South Jersey as it did prior to the repack when these stations were on individual UHF channels.
Can anyone in the Delaware valley get RF9 currently and can anyone confirm when the more powerful signal is supposed to be active?
tavistock is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off