St. Louis, MO - HDTV - Page 457 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 35Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #13681 of 13690 Old 11-23-2019, 10:53 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2019
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 1
St Louis, MO cannot get PBS (chan 9) OTA

Folks...my first post here...probably not doing everything correct...

Wanting to cut the cable....so I installed an 8 element bow tie on my roof...about 20' tall....pointed it at about 170 degrees...
I live in 63122...and except for all the trees I think I could see the chan 9 tower about 8 miles away...

I get great reception on 2, 4, 5, 11, 30...but I cannot get in chan 9...

Now....in my struggles with this....I started out with a simple dipole antenna on the roof...and I could get 2, 5, 11 was all....so I attached an amplifier and I was able to get
chan 9 but not 4 or 30....

I went to A-1 Antenna on Gravois...they told me to get a 4 element bow tie...didn't have a 4 element so I got an 8 element bow tie...
I get GREAT reception on all the channels but I cannot get in chan 9....

Read someplace sometimes if you cut the power to the tv...let it clear out it's casche I guess....tried that but no joy....It's almost like my tv has decided that it will
not let me watch chan 9...

Looking for some suggestions...anything might help me solve this...
Thanks in advance...
Steve
[email protected] is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #13682 of 13690 Old 11-23-2019, 10:54 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2019
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Well...just realized that my email address is my display name....gotta change that...
[email protected] is offline  
post #13683 of 13690 Old 11-23-2019, 11:10 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Location: Springfield, Missouri
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 3
KETC 9 actually broadcasts on RF 23 (UHF) and is only 7 miles south of Kirkwood. Here is the Google Maps link to the KETC tower...

https://*******/maps/7zRim3V3jmJ62UcE6

I can't think of any reason why you shouldn't be getting KETC with the antenna you describe. Does your TV allow you to bring up the physical channel (RF) in a manual tuning menu? IF it does, you should be able to go to RF 23 and see what is going on with the signal strength and quality. Perhaps you can share a little info about where the antenna is located, how high up in the air, etc.

BTW, here is a listing of the St. Louis channels, to give you an idea of what is really available and see if there are others that might be missing...

https://www.rabbitears.info/market.php?mktid=28


Jim - Springfield, Missouri

Antennas - Antennacraft MXU59 UHF antenna & home-brew version of Antennacraft VHF Y-10-7-13 antenna @ 25'. Both antennas fed through a Channel Master 7777 30dB pre-amp.
Tuners - Zenith DTT901 converter box; AirSpy HF+ sdr; Silicon Dust HDHomerun Dual ATSC tuner, using Rabbitears autologger support.
mrradiohead55 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #13684 of 13690 Old 11-23-2019, 11:17 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Location: Springfield, Missouri
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 3
Here is the Hazelwood MO HD Homerun auto logger...

https://m.rabbitears.info/index.php?...tzone=CT&unit=

Its 21 miles from the KETC tower and signal strength is at 85%.


Jim - Springfield, Missouri

Antennas - Antennacraft MXU59 UHF antenna & home-brew version of Antennacraft VHF Y-10-7-13 antenna @ 25'. Both antennas fed through a Channel Master 7777 30dB pre-amp.
Tuners - Zenith DTT901 converter box; AirSpy HF+ sdr; Silicon Dust HDHomerun Dual ATSC tuner, using Rabbitears autologger support.
mrradiohead55 is offline  
post #13685 of 13690 Old 11-23-2019, 11:49 AM
Super Moderator
 
DrDon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Metro Detroit, Tampa Bay
Posts: 17,201
Mentioned: 40 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2334 Post(s)
Liked: 4440
Quote:
Originally Posted by [email protected] View Post
Folks...my first post here...probably not doing everything correct...
Also probably didn't read the "READ BEFORE POSTING" post that's stuck to the very top of this section.

Should probably go back and do that.

Also, please use call letters, not channel numbers. Easier to figure out.

Thread moved to St Louis thread.

Walking the fine line between jaw-dropping and a plain ol' yawn.
DrDon is offline  
post #13686 of 13690 Old 11-23-2019, 04:07 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2019
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 1
DrDon...already you caught me....
I read a number of pages trying to figure out what I had to do....
I did see a page to post under my city location....but I did not see the "read me" page...
Although it stuck out...

Going thru that info now and will try to become a "legal eagle"...

And first thing is that the site would not accept my normal posting name of "stevem5000"...
When I tried to create an account...
Only when I put my email address in would it accept...

I assume I can change that in the admin panel...

Thanks for bringing this to my attention...
[email protected] is offline  
post #13687 of 13690 Old 11-25-2019, 08:21 AM
Member
 
lukin4u's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 80
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 15
ive recently starting using ota's through dish hopper for locals and i am having issues picking up KTVI 2 fox .
5 or so years ago it used to be my strongest signal!
Was it moved?
i live close to barrett station in west county
Thanks!
lukin4u is offline  
post #13688 of 13690 Old 11-25-2019, 08:35 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2019
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Lukin4u....
I live right off Barrett Station also...near the train museum...
KTVI has not been moved...
With all my OTA problems...I;'ve had no problems getting KTVI...

When you say "dish hopper"...you mean Dish satellite recording device...???
[email protected] is offline  
post #13689 of 13690 Old 11-25-2019, 02:14 PM
Member
 
lukin4u's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 80
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by [email protected] View Post
Lukin4u....
I live right off Barrett Station also...near the train museum...
KTVI has not been moved...
With all my OTA problems...I;'ve had no problems getting KTVI...

When you say "dish hopper"...you mean Dish satellite recording device...???
hopper3 dvr with a dual band ota using a RCA hd antenna,
i now how to move it around to get different ota channels,
cannot find a sweet spot for all of them anymore
used to have major issues getting abc 30 but easy now
KTVI 2 seems to be the stubborn one now

maybe the new antenna isnt as good as my old school one
lukin4u is offline  
post #13690 of 13690 Old 11-27-2019, 02:52 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2019
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Exclamation

Ok folks....I got it but it was as ooofta....

First....thanks to all who responded...those who reached out via email to assist...

In short....I had Direct TV on the roof....when I cancelled Direct TV they left the dish on the roof....So I used the mount they had to hold the post for my antenna....
And I also used the coax that was attached to the satellite dish....

I could not figure out WHY I could not get the various channels when the furthest away was about 8 miles...and according to Rabbitears.info I was line of sight to all the towers...

Turns out I had bad coax....I got a new 100' roll of coax...strung it thru from the antenna thru the window to the tv...and it worked perfectly...

I wound up using the Channel Master CM-4228HD....but I believe it was overkill.....but I could not get much of anything OTA with lesser antennas....

So...My suggestion is.....don;t use coax left over from a previous installation...
mrradiohead55 likes this.
[email protected] is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off