Washington, DC / Baltimore, MD - HDTV - Page 491 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 272Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #14701 of 15117 Old 04-07-2018, 04:24 PM
Member
 
pkpaul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Falls Church
Posts: 39
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 3
Quote:
Originally Posted by pkpaul View Post
Schedules Direct has 3 new OTA channels with program listings for WHUT 32 [RF 33] 32.3, 32.4 & 32.5. The program listings on all three channels is Chinese content, although 32.3 has some Africa content.
I assume that it will be the 3 China based channels from MHz networks; CGTN America, CGTN Documentary, CNC World.
And maybe some Africa Today TV.
But no OTA broadcast yet, and no other information/confirmation as of Saturday.

pk
Also in Zap2it.com listings
pkpaul is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #14702 of 15117 Old 04-30-2018, 10:50 AM
Member
 
jcorwin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Queens, NY
Posts: 65
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I’m about to move back to Howard County after 10 years in NYC. I’m trying to decide between Comcast and Verizon and am trying to find accurate channel lineups. From what I’ve seen so far, it appears that Comcast does not provide the DC local stations in HD. If true, that’s completely a dealbreaker. Can anyone verify this? Thanks.
jcorwin is offline  
post #14703 of 15117 Old 05-01-2018, 08:28 AM
Senior Member
 
dleedlee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: VA
Posts: 209
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 57 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by jcorwin View Post
I’m about to move back to Howard County after 10 years in NYC. I’m trying to decide between Comcast and Verizon and am trying to find accurate channel lineups. From what I’ve seen so far, it appears that Comcast does not provide the DC local stations in HD. If true, that’s completely a dealbreaker. Can anyone verify this? Thanks.
I don't have Comcast, or any cable, but I'm pretty sure that Comcast has both SD and HD versions of the local channels. My parents in MoCo have it, though dad still insists on watching the SD channels cause he's used to the old channel numbers. Of course, you have to have the HD cable box. He has one and two of the 'free' SD boxes for other parts of the house. For instance, CBS is on 29 (SD), 809 and 1009 are HD. Not sure what the difference is between 809 and 1009.

https://www.tvtv.us/ Enter your zip. It seems to match what I see in MoCo. You'll have to scroll through at the bottom of the page.

Last edited by dleedlee; 05-01-2018 at 02:39 PM.
dleedlee is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #14704 of 15117 Old 05-01-2018, 12:22 PM
UHD Addict
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 35,976
Mentioned: 71 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9327 Post(s)
Liked: 6008
Quote:
Originally Posted by jcorwin View Post
I’m about to move back to Howard County after 10 years in NYC. I’m trying to decide between Comcast and Verizon and am trying to find accurate channel lineups. From what I’ve seen so far, it appears that Comcast does not provide the DC local stations in HD. If true, that’s completely a dealbreaker. Can anyone verify this? Thanks.
Comcast has them in HD in Northern Virginia and Prince Georges County. No idea about Howard county though. But i would expect it to be the same.

But the bigger issue with Comcast is that they down rez their channels to 720p and lower the bitrate by alot. Even though the quality from FiOS has gone downhill too, it is still noticeably better than what Comcast sends out now.

53TB unRAID1a--49TB unRAID2--76TB unRAID3
TCL 6 Series--Sony UBP-X800--Philips BDP7502--Onkyo HT-S7800
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is offline  
post #14705 of 15117 Old 05-01-2018, 03:12 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
carltonrice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: Laurel, Maryland, USA
Posts: 1,098
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 85 Post(s)
Liked: 29
Quote:
Originally Posted by jcorwin View Post
I’m about to move back to Howard County after 10 years in NYC. I’m trying to decide between Comcast and Verizon and am trying to find accurate channel lineups. From what I’ve seen so far, it appears that Comcast does not provide the DC local stations in HD. If true, that’s completely a dealbreaker. Can anyone verify this? Thanks.
I think that Comcast in Howard County does provide the DC locals in HD based on my mother's HDTV which is on Comcast in that county. I know, for example, that channel 5 is on Comcast channel 196 and although it has a low channel number on Comcast, the channel is still in HD.
carltonrice is offline  
post #14706 of 15117 Old 05-01-2018, 09:11 PM
Member
 
jcorwin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Queens, NY
Posts: 65
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by carltonrice View Post
I think that Comcast in Howard County does provide the DC locals in HD based on my mother's HDTV which is on Comcast in that county. I know, for example, that channel 5 is on Comcast channel 196 and although it has a low channel number on Comcast, the channel is still in HD.
Thanks. I’m hoping to be able to shop for price instead of channel selection.
jcorwin is offline  
post #14707 of 15117 Old 05-10-2018, 03:17 PM
Senior Member
 
mdviewer25's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Capitol Heights, MD
Posts: 490
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Did something happen to WBFF's signal? Can no longer pick it up or MyTV Baltimore.
mdviewer25 is offline  
post #14708 of 15117 Old 05-10-2018, 03:31 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Trip in VA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Alexandria, VA, US
Posts: 16,756
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1591 Post(s)
Liked: 652
Send a message via AIM to Trip in VA
Not seeing it here either.

https://www.rabbitears.info/tvdx/sig...F4/tuner1/WBFF

Looks like it went out an hour ago, and was out for a while overnight as well.

- Trip

N4MJC

Comments are my own and not that of the FCC (my employer) or anyone else.

RabbitEars

"Ignorance and prejudice and fear walk hand in hand..." - Rush "Witch Hunt"

Trip in VA is online now  
post #14709 of 15117 Old 05-10-2018, 03:52 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
AntAltMike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: College Park, MD
Posts: 3,993
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 179 Post(s)
Liked: 86
WBFF is gonzo here in College Park, MD, too.

I have a small Winegard HD7694 combo pointed towards Baltimore:
Here are my UHF downlead readings taken on a Blonder Tongue, BTPDA-4 meter:

26 (designated repack of 45.X) no measurable signal.
29 (67.X) -23dBmV
38 (2.X) -11.5dBmV
40 (54.X) -10.2dBmV
42 (22.X) - 11.2dBmV
46 (45.X, 24.1) no measurable signal

Last edited by AntAltMike; 05-10-2018 at 04:00 PM.
AntAltMike is offline  
post #14710 of 15117 Old 05-10-2018, 04:58 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Trip in VA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Alexandria, VA, US
Posts: 16,756
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1591 Post(s)
Liked: 652
Send a message via AIM to Trip in VA
Looks like it came back an hour ago.

- Trip

N4MJC

Comments are my own and not that of the FCC (my employer) or anyone else.

RabbitEars

"Ignorance and prejudice and fear walk hand in hand..." - Rush "Witch Hunt"

Trip in VA is online now  
post #14711 of 15117 Old 05-10-2018, 05:02 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
AntAltMike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: College Park, MD
Posts: 3,993
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 179 Post(s)
Liked: 86
Any word on when WRC is going to move off 48? I'm going to have to adjust some dedicated channel converters in some hotels when it does.
AntAltMike is offline  
post #14712 of 15117 Old 05-10-2018, 05:12 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Trip in VA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Alexandria, VA, US
Posts: 16,756
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1591 Post(s)
Liked: 652
Send a message via AIM to Trip in VA
WRC is in phase 4, which ends 8/2/2019.

- Trip

N4MJC

Comments are my own and not that of the FCC (my employer) or anyone else.

RabbitEars

"Ignorance and prejudice and fear walk hand in hand..." - Rush "Witch Hunt"

Trip in VA is online now  
post #14713 of 15117 Old 05-17-2018, 07:40 AM
Senior Member
 
dleedlee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: VA
Posts: 209
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 57 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Channel 68.1, formerly LATV, is now Heartland TV.
http://www.watchheartlandtv.com/
dleedlee is offline  
post #14714 of 15117 Old 05-18-2018, 05:59 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
AntAltMike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: College Park, MD
Posts: 3,993
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 179 Post(s)
Liked: 86
Quote:
Originally Posted by dleedlee View Post
Channel 68.1, formerly LATV, is now Heartland TV.
http://www.watchheartlandtv.com/
Reincarnation of TNN; The Nashville Network.

Get your daily fix of classic, Crook and Chase at 1:00 PM weekdays.
AntAltMike is offline  
post #14715 of 15117 Old 06-02-2018, 10:38 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
AntAltMike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: College Park, MD
Posts: 3,993
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 179 Post(s)
Liked: 86
At around 7 AM today, channel 5.3 and 20.3 lost their video and 20.2 displayed a frozen picture... which could have been the last frame stored by my TV rather than a transmitted frozen frame, for all I know. Then, they came back on within half an hour. Did 20.X move from UHF 35 to UHF 36? It would take some effort for me to determine that with my current set-up.
AntAltMike is offline  
post #14716 of 15117 Old 06-02-2018, 10:51 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Trip in VA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Alexandria, VA, US
Posts: 16,756
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1591 Post(s)
Liked: 652
Send a message via AIM to Trip in VA
No, everything is still as it was.

- Trip

N4MJC

Comments are my own and not that of the FCC (my employer) or anyone else.

RabbitEars

"Ignorance and prejudice and fear walk hand in hand..." - Rush "Witch Hunt"

Trip in VA is online now  
post #14717 of 15117 Old 06-15-2018, 09:25 PM
Member
 
StevenJB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Olney, MD
Posts: 147
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 16
AntAltMike:

Unless I am mistaken, your listing of digital stations on Page 1 should read:

044-01 (48) WZDC-HD Telemundo
-----02 ------WZDC-SD TeleXitos

Delete 004-03 and 004-04.

Delete 25.1 (25) WZDC-CD.

58.2 is WIAV and not WAIV.

60.1 through 60.6 is WWPX and not W???.

54.4 is WNUV and not WUNV.

Last edited by StevenJB; 06-15-2018 at 09:39 PM.
StevenJB is offline  
post #14718 of 15117 Old 06-28-2018, 05:46 AM
Advanced Member
 
rviele's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 980
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 229 Post(s)
Liked: 49
Havre de Grace, MD: Trees and preamp question

is it worth it to put up a preamp just for the summer to get one channel that will return when the leaves fall.
rjv
rviele is offline  
post #14719 of 15117 Old 06-28-2018, 06:14 AM
Super Moderator
 
DrDon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Metro Detroit, Tampa Bay
Posts: 17,073
Mentioned: 34 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2303 Post(s)
Liked: 4345
We'd need to know a lot more about your setup, but the best advice is "try it and see." Read THIS THREAD for more
Ratman likes this.

Walking the fine line between jaw-dropping and a plain ol' yawn.
DrDon is online now  
post #14720 of 15117 Old 06-28-2018, 07:23 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Calaveras's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Hereford, AZ
Posts: 5,950
Mentioned: 20 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1734 Post(s)
Liked: 402
Quote:
Originally Posted by rviele View Post
is it worth it to put up a preamp just for the summer to get one channel that will return when the leaves fall.
rjv

Probably not because not only do trees attenuate the signal, they distort it in a way that looks like multipath and a preamp can't do anything about that.
Calaveras is offline  
post #14721 of 15117 Old 06-28-2018, 12:02 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
rabbit73's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: S.E. VA
Posts: 3,295
Mentioned: 21 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 893 Post(s)
Liked: 391
In 2015 you said:

Quote:
Originally Posted by rviele View Post
.....since i don't know to do a tv fool.....
If you still live at 2211, this would be your report:
http://www.tvfool.com/?option=com_wr...90381e553d941e

I see a LOT of trees around you in that area. Your report indicates that a preamp is not needed, but the trees might make the signals weaker. Adding a preamp would be a gamble; it might not help. If you are willing to try, I suggest an Antennas Direct Juice preamp mounted near the antenna. It is resistant to overload, but your tuner isn't. If the signals are too strong for your tuner, you can add an attenuator between the power inserter for the preamp and the tuner.





http://www.hdtvprimer.com/ANTENNAS/siting.html
scroll down to Trees and UHF

Your antenna is aimed directly at the trees for the Baltimore channels.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	rvieleAVSgoogleEarth.JPG
Views:	437
Size:	107.2 KB
ID:	2421568   Click image for larger version

Name:	rvieleAVSgoogleMap2.JPG
Views:	26
Size:	67.2 KB
ID:	2421570   Click image for larger version

Name:	rvieleAVSgreenLines4.JPG
Views:	27
Size:	88.8 KB
ID:	2421572  
Ratman likes this.

If you can not measure it, you can not improve it.
Lord Kelvin, 1883
www.megalithia.com/elect/aerialsite/dttpoorman.html

Last edited by rabbit73; 06-28-2018 at 02:56 PM.
rabbit73 is online now  
post #14722 of 15117 Old 06-28-2018, 01:24 PM
Super Moderator
 
DrDon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Metro Detroit, Tampa Bay
Posts: 17,073
Mentioned: 34 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2303 Post(s)
Liked: 4345
Thread title edited.

Walking the fine line between jaw-dropping and a plain ol' yawn.
DrDon is online now  
post #14723 of 15117 Old 06-28-2018, 02:49 PM
Advanced Member
 
rviele's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 980
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 229 Post(s)
Liked: 49
Quote:
Originally Posted by rabbit73 View Post
In 2015 you said:

If you still live at 2211, this would be your report:
http://www.tvfool.com/?option=com_wr...90381e553d941e

I see a LOT of trees around you in that area. Your report indicates that a preamp is not needed, but the trees might make the signals weaker. Adding a preamp would be a gamble; it might not help. If you are willing to try, I suggest an Antennas Direct Juice preamp mounted near the antenna. It is resistant to overload, but your tuner isn't. If the signals are too strong for your tuner, you can add an attenuator between the power inserter for the preamp and the tuner.



Your antenna is aimed directly at the trees for the Baltimore channels.
thats what i figured. no use wasting 200 bucks on a channel that is only used for a backup.
rjv
rviele is offline  
post #14724 of 15117 Old 06-28-2018, 02:59 PM
Super Moderator
 
DrDon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Metro Detroit, Tampa Bay
Posts: 17,073
Mentioned: 34 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2303 Post(s)
Liked: 4345
merged

Walking the fine line between jaw-dropping and a plain ol' yawn.
DrDon is online now  
post #14725 of 15117 Old 06-28-2018, 03:54 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
tylerSC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Mauldin SC, 29607
Posts: 6,671
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1323 Post(s)
Liked: 245
If I lived in Havre de Grace, Maryland I would use several high gain UHF and VHF antennas and preamp and try to receive multiple markets, such as Baltimore, DC, and Philadelphia. And perhaps even pull in NYC at times.
tylerSC is offline  
post #14726 of 15117 Old 06-28-2018, 07:20 PM
Senior Member
 
KEVINL71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: New Britain, CT
Posts: 341
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 144 Post(s)
Liked: 18
I wonder if H.D.G. could have a chance with Harrisburg/Lancaster, assuming you shoot up the Susquehanna River?
KEVINL71 is offline  
post #14727 of 15117 Old 06-29-2018, 06:53 AM
Advanced Member
 
rviele's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 980
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 229 Post(s)
Liked: 49
Quote:
Originally Posted by KEVINL71 View Post
I wonder if H.D.G. could have a chance with Harrisburg/Lancaster, assuming you shoot up the Susquehanna River?
on occasions i get ch.8 which is out of lancaster. one time i even got wboc which is out of salisbury. the one i have the most trouble with is wbff out of baltimore.
rjv
rviele is offline  
post #14728 of 15117 Old 07-02-2018, 04:54 AM
Member
 
HDTV Sparky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Hanover, Pa.
Posts: 130
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by rviele View Post
on occasions i get ch.8 which is out of lancaster. one time i even got wboc which is out of salisbury. the one i have the most trouble with is wbff out of baltimore.
rjv
I'm in Hanover Pa. but have much better reception from the Baltimore stations.
Since I have 6 TV's scattered about the house, I have two roof top antennas, one at each end of the house. The one with two trees blocking has really been a problem lately.. Started with Ch 54 being hit and miss. Now this morning, Ch 2 , 45 and 54 affected. Ofcourse, the with an unobstructed view is great. Very strange to loose Ch. 2 though. I was going to check it out today, but at 75 years old, wife isn't crazy about me getting on the roof ! Thought I'd check here to see if others are reporting a problem. Also wondering if the heat and humidity are contributing to the problem.
HDTV Sparky is offline  
post #14729 of 15117 Old 07-02-2018, 07:25 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Trip in VA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Alexandria, VA, US
Posts: 16,756
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1591 Post(s)
Liked: 652
Send a message via AIM to Trip in VA
Atmosphere has been very active over the past few days. A friend in Ohio picked up DC and Maryland stations yesterday.

- Trip
aaronwt likes this.

N4MJC

Comments are my own and not that of the FCC (my employer) or anyone else.

RabbitEars

"Ignorance and prejudice and fear walk hand in hand..." - Rush "Witch Hunt"

Trip in VA is online now  
post #14730 of 15117 Old 07-02-2018, 02:58 PM
Advanced Member
 
rviele's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 980
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 229 Post(s)
Liked: 49
Quote:
Originally Posted by Trip in VA View Post
Atmosphere has been very active over the past few days. A friend in Ohio picked up DC and Maryland stations yesterday.

- Trip
trip-- besides the trees does this hot weather have anything to do with signal loss?
rjv
rviele is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off