Hisense 55H8C - HDR looks terrible? - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 1Likes
  • 1 Post By ergalthema
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 25 Old 01-13-2017, 09:32 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
ergalthema's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 298
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 221 Post(s)
Liked: 65
Hisense 55H8C - HDR looks terrible?

I just got a 55H8C. It looks great when YouTube plays 4K. However, the only way I can get the display to say "4K HDR" is to change the "HDMI Function - Format" setting to "Enhanced". And when I do that, the picture looks very bad. It's dark with muted colors. Again, when I make the HDMI Function Format to Standard, the picture looks great, but the YouTube display doesn't say "HDR" - it only says "4K". Can someone explain this?
ergalthema is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 25 Old 01-13-2017, 11:04 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Cleveland,Ohio
Posts: 7,042
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2987 Post(s)
Liked: 2828
Quote:
Originally Posted by ergalthema View Post
I just got a 55H8C. It looks great when YouTube plays 4K. However, the only way I can get the display to say "4K HDR" is to change the "HDMI Function - Format" setting to "Enhanced". And when I do that, the picture looks very bad. It's dark with muted colors. Again, when I make the HDMI Function Format to Standard, the picture looks great, but the YouTube display doesn't say "HDR" - it only says "4K". Can someone explain this?
I recommend to ask on the Hisense H8C owners thread

click on this link
https://www.avsforum.com/forum/166-lc...rs-thread.html


By the way you can't play hdr youtube videos on this display.
losservatore is offline  
post #3 of 25 Old 01-14-2017, 08:17 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
ergalthema's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 298
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 221 Post(s)
Liked: 65
Quote:
Originally Posted by losservatore View Post
By the way you can't play hdr youtube videos on this display.
What do you mean? They do play, but they look terrible.
ergalthema is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 25 Old 01-14-2017, 08:23 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Cleveland,Ohio
Posts: 7,042
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2987 Post(s)
Liked: 2828
Quote:
Originally Posted by ergalthema View Post
What do you mean? They do play, but they look terrible.
look terrible because it can't read the metadata.

Last edited by losservatore; 01-14-2017 at 08:27 AM.
losservatore is offline  
post #5 of 25 Old 01-14-2017, 08:26 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
ergalthema's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 298
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 221 Post(s)
Liked: 65
Quote:
Originally Posted by losservatore View Post
look terrible because it can't read the metadata.
I see. That's very disappointing, especially since it acts like it can play it. The HDR label is shown during playback. It shouldn't even try if it's not compatible. That's bad design.
ergalthema is offline  
post #6 of 25 Old 01-14-2017, 08:28 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Cleveland,Ohio
Posts: 7,042
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2987 Post(s)
Liked: 2828
Quote:
Originally Posted by ergalthema View Post
I see. That's very disappointing, especially since it acts like it can play it. The HDR label is shown during playback. It shouldn't even try if it's not compatible. That's bad design.

From what I read the display do some kind of psuedo-HDR.
losservatore is offline  
post #7 of 25 Old 01-14-2017, 08:30 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
ergalthema's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 298
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 221 Post(s)
Liked: 65
Quote:
Originally Posted by losservatore View Post
From what I read the display do some kind of psuedo-HDR.
Right. I knew that when I bought it. All the reviews are very positive and none of them mentioned that HDR actually looks terrible.
ergalthema is offline  
post #8 of 25 Old 01-14-2017, 08:35 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bhazard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: NY
Posts: 2,617
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 140 Post(s)
Liked: 111
Quote:
Originally Posted by ergalthema View Post
Right. I knew that when I bought it. All the reviews are very positive and none of them mentioned that HDR actually looks terrible.
It doesn't look terrible. You haven't mentioned your source. Several like the Xbox One S have issues with it, while some work perfectly.
bhazard is offline  
post #9 of 25 Old 01-14-2017, 08:39 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Cleveland,Ohio
Posts: 7,042
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2987 Post(s)
Liked: 2828
Quote:
Originally Posted by ergalthema View Post
Right. I knew that when I bought it. All the reviews are very positive and none of them mentioned that HDR actually looks terrible.

I'm not sure why the Op on the owners thread calls the display pseudo hdr ,maybe because it doesn't reach 90% of DCI P3 which is the minimum required?
losservatore is offline  
post #10 of 25 Old 01-14-2017, 08:41 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
ergalthema's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 298
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 221 Post(s)
Liked: 65
Quote:
Originally Posted by bhazard View Post
It doesn't look terrible. You haven't mentioned your source. Several like the Xbox One S have issues with it, while some work perfectly.
In my case, it's basically unwatchable. Source is YouTube through Chromecast Ultra. When I try to view a 4K HDR video using the TV's built-in YouTube app, it does not display the "HDR" label. But when I watch the same video through Chromecast, the "HDR" label is shown (but the video is dark and muted).
ergalthema is offline  
post #11 of 25 Old 01-14-2017, 08:53 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Cleveland,Ohio
Posts: 7,042
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2987 Post(s)
Liked: 2828
Quote:
Originally Posted by ergalthema View Post
In my case, it's basically unwatchable. Source is YouTube through Chromecast Ultra. When I try to view a 4K HDR video using the TV's built-in YouTube app, it does not display the "HDR" label. But when I watch the same video through Chromecast, the "HDR" label is shown (but the video is dark and muted).
oh Ok, it seems that is not reading the metadata. do this display have hdmi 2.0a?


https://www.avsforum.com/forum/465-hi...-displays.html
losservatore is offline  
post #12 of 25 Old 01-14-2017, 09:01 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
ergalthema's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 298
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 221 Post(s)
Liked: 65
[QUOTE=losservatore;49879545do this display have hdmi 2.0a?[/QUOTE]

I don't know. This is a thorough analysis: http://www.rtings.com/tv/reviews/hisense/h8c

I have contacted Hisense. Their chat support was responsive. Said they will send this to technicians and respond within 48 hours. Not bad for a Saturday. Curious what they will say.
ergalthema is offline  
post #13 of 25 Old 01-14-2017, 12:31 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Elisha's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 1,095
Mentioned: 12 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 625 Post(s)
Liked: 583
Quote:
Originally Posted by losservatore View Post
I'm not sure why the Op on the owners thread calls the display pseudo hdr ,maybe because it doesn't reach 90% of DCI P3 which is the minimum required?


Cause it can barely do 500 Nits.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Elisha is offline  
post #14 of 25 Old 01-14-2017, 12:35 PM
Senior Member
 
HammerJoe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Posts: 345
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 149 Post(s)
Liked: 20
try to download a video that you know has HDR and put it in an USB drive and try to play it on the Tv.
If it works then you know the TV plays HDR content and that the problem is with HDMI.
Are you suing an HDMI 2.0 cable?
HammerJoe is offline  
post #15 of 25 Old 01-14-2017, 01:09 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Cleveland,Ohio
Posts: 7,042
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2987 Post(s)
Liked: 2828
Quote:
Originally Posted by Elisha View Post
Cause it can barely do 500 Nits.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
I see that is basically do to no wide color gamut. Displays with high nits but without great blacks are also poor performers.


Seems like this one have full array local dimming which, if performs well it can be a lot better than an edge lit, specially in black levels,contrast and depth.

Last edited by losservatore; 01-14-2017 at 01:20 PM.
losservatore is offline  
post #16 of 25 Old 01-14-2017, 01:11 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Elisha's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 1,095
Mentioned: 12 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 625 Post(s)
Liked: 583
Quote:
Originally Posted by losservatore View Post
I see that is basically do to no wide color gamut. Displays with high nits but without great blacks are also a poor performers.


Such as? Any LED display that does 1000+ Nits does a decent job with HDR.
Colour is only one part, Highlight and Shadow range is a much bigger part in how HDR ends up looking!


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Elisha is offline  
post #17 of 25 Old 01-16-2017, 01:38 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 37
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 4
[QUOTE=Elisha;49885649]
Quote:
Originally Posted by losservatore View Post
I see that is basically do to no wide color gamut. Displays with high nits but without great blacks are also a poor performers.


It has to be the source. HDR thru USB works great. I have not tried HDR via hdmi because i do not own a xbone s (but from the forum, xbox users are very happy with the HdR output...gears of war 4 even has an HDR slider to test the difference).

I was reluctant on getting a streaming device until i have confirmation that they will not update the native opera apps to allow hdr passthru.

With that said, test the cable...make sure its high speed hdmi, download the LG chess demo and compare it to running it on the Chromecast...
Bryan Zamora is offline  
post #18 of 25 Old 02-05-2017, 02:46 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 5
I think some TVs are not equal when it comes to HDR and some can look better than other TV sets
Sandip basi is offline  
post #19 of 25 Old 02-05-2017, 07:33 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
ergalthema's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 298
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 221 Post(s)
Liked: 65
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sandip basi View Post
I think some TVs are not equal when it comes to HDR and some can look better than other TV sets
That's totally true, but in this case it is a software issue which is not displaying the HDR correctly for streaming services through Chromecast Ultra. HDR videos looked ok played from USB, but they were obviously incorrect through Chromecast. Hisense acknowledged it and said they hope to fix it one day, but they did not give a very clear resolution. So, I returned the TV.
Sandip basi likes this.
ergalthema is offline  
post #20 of 25 Old 02-08-2017, 06:13 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Have you updated the firmware to the latest version? I'm planning on buyinng one of these and I read online (maybe in another post here?) that there is a firmware update that fixes some HDR compatibility issues.
exactopposite is offline  
post #21 of 25 Old 02-08-2017, 06:24 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
ergalthema's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 298
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 221 Post(s)
Liked: 65
Quote:
Originally Posted by exactopposite View Post
Have you updated the firmware to the latest version? I'm planning on buyinng one of these and I read online (maybe in another post here?) that there is a firmware update that fixes some HDR compatibility issues.
A firmware update added some HDR compatibility, but there are still sources that do not play back correctly (Netflix, YouTube, etc. depending on whether you're using built-in apps, Chromecast, etc.). I went around in circles with their tech support for a couple weeks and eventually returned the 55H8C. For the price, the TV looks awesome for SDR content. But I learned that it doesn't really have the specs to benefit from HDR. I now have a true HDR TV. It looks a bit better, but it costs considerably more. It was a tough choice with my budget.
ergalthema is offline  
post #22 of 25 Old 01-18-2018, 08:04 PM
Senior Member
 
Dave Hanson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Seattle WA
Posts: 218
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by ergalthema View Post
A firmware update added some HDR compatibility, but there are still sources that do not play back correctly (Netflix, YouTube, etc. depending on whether you're using built-in apps, Chromecast, etc.). I went around in circles with their tech support for a couple weeks and eventually returned the 55H8C. For the price, the TV looks awesome for SDR content. But I learned that it doesn't really have the specs to benefit from HDR. I now have a true HDR TV. It looks a bit better, but it costs considerably more. It was a tough choice with my budget.

Bump. I am trying to get HDR from a Rodu ultra's netflix and Vudu apps to play properly on this TV...no joy, very dim and muted.

I'm guessing we can assume this will never work properly on this TV?

Thanks to everyone who worked on this thread!
Dave Hanson is offline  
post #23 of 25 Old 03-13-2018, 09:46 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 40
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 7
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dave Hanson View Post
Bump. I am trying to get HDR from a Rodu ultra's netflix and Vudu apps to play properly on this TV...no joy, very dim and muted.

I'm guessing we can assume this will never work properly on this TV?

Thanks to everyone who worked on this thread!
I have the 50" version of this and can confirm that HDR works.
I had problems with HDR and Netflix on the Xbox One S when hooked up directly to the TV.
Just bought a Denon x3400H and the dim/dark problems are now gone, also playing HDR,10bit content.
s0nniez is offline  
post #24 of 25 Old 04-16-2018, 12:35 AM
Member
 
ice cube's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 70
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 67 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I want the HDR firmware for 65M5010uw, I couldn’t find. I appreciate your help.
ice cube is offline  
post #25 of 25 Old 04-19-2018, 09:49 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
I posted this in the 50h8c before I found this thread so sorry for the repeat. Looking for an answer. I have the 55h8c. I'm using the TVs enhanced 3/4 HDMI port on a certified 18gbs 2.0a HDR, HDMI cable going from my computers gtx1050 ti HDMI 2.0b source to the TV. I can get 4k/60hz @ 10bit 4.2.2 which would be fine with me if HDR would work without dulling/darkening everything. My HDR games go very dull and dark. The windows desktop goes dull and dark. The EDID file on the 50h8c thread will not work even after I got past the windows certification crap. It says the tv is not the right one. I can not find a 55h8c EDID anywhere and have no clue how to make or mod one. Any help would be great, thank you.
Onion baker is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply High Dynamic Range (HDR) & Wide Color Gamut (WCG)

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off