HDR cannot be enabled in Windows 10, totally clueless! - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 1Likes
  • 1 Post By drewTT
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 5 Old 10-29-2019, 02:28 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Red face HDR cannot be enabled in Windows 10, totally clueless!

Hi guys,


Please help, I'm trying to get HDR enabled in Windows 10, but all HDR sliders under "Windows HD color settings" are still greyed out and cannot be enabled. Spent hours of testing to no avail.




Setup:

TV:

- LG E6 OLED TV (definitely HDR compatible)


PC:

- GeForce RTX 2080 Ti (definitely HDR compatible)
- Windows 10 64bit, Build 18362




What I tried (and still remember):

TV:

- Enable "HDMI ULTRA HD Deep Color" for all HDMI ports
- Make sure the latest firmware is used
- Try out all input label like "PC", " Game Console" etc..
- Use the TV as the only display connected to the PC
- Connect a NVIDIA Shield to the TV, HDR works flawlessly


HDMI cable:

- Try a HDMI 2.1 cable
- Try various HDMI 2.0a high speed cables


PC:

- Use MPC-HC/madVR to play a HDR video using HDR passthrough, it works! TV detects and plays HDR content
- Try NVIDIA settings like RGB 8bit full, YCbCr 4:2:2 8/10/12bit Limited, YCbCr 4:4:4 8 bit Limited
- Try newest and older GPU drivers





I attached an excerpt of the PCs dxdiag result. In particular these 2 lines are odd:


Monitor Capabilities: HDR Not Supported (BT2020RGB BT2020YCC )
Advanced Color: Not Supported


The values "BT2020RGB BT2020YCC" only appear when "HDMI ULTRA HD Deep Color" is enabled on the TV's HDMI port, otherwise it will only say "HDR Not Supported" without the brackets. So switching the "HDMI ULTRA HD Deep Color" at least does something. But another value "Eotf2084Supported" should appear in the brackets when the setting is enabled, but it doesn't! And obviously "Advanced Color" should say "Supported".

Does anyone have even the slightest the idea what might be wrong with my system? Thanks a lot
Attached Files
File Type: txt DxDiag.txt (11.5 KB, 10 views)
T-800 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 5 Old 10-29-2019, 07:57 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Oh, just remembering 2 more things I tried:




TV:


- Reset to factory settings




PC:



- Set refresh rate to 30Hz
T-800 is offline  
post #3 of 5 Old 10-29-2019, 11:01 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
drewTT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Newport Beach, CA
Posts: 4,752
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2197 Post(s)
Liked: 2327
Sounds like you tried pretty much everything I can think of. Try posting in the E6 owner's thread if you haven't already. Back when I had an E6 it definitely worked for me but I think I had the 1080 card at that time.
T-800 likes this.

LG OLED65E8 | Plinius Hiato | Dynaudio Contour 20 | Dynaudio Stand 6 | REL S/510 | PS Audio DirectStream | Furman IT-Reference 15i
Sony PS4 Pro | Synology DS916+ | Apple TV 4K | BDI Mirage | NEEO | Focal Shape 40 | iFi Pro iDSD | iFi Pro iRack | iFi AC iPurifier | roon
drewTT is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 5 Old 11-06-2019, 07:49 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by drewTT View Post
Sounds like you tried pretty much everything I can think of. Try posting in the E6 owner's thread if you haven't already. Back when I had an E6 it definitely worked for me but I think I had the 1080 card at that time.

Thanks for the reply In case there is any update, I'll post it here.
T-800 is offline  
post #5 of 5 Old 11-25-2019, 12:26 PM
Advanced Member
 
SoNic67's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 725
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Quote:
Originally Posted by T-800 View Post
HDMI cable:

- Try a HDMI 2.1 cable
- Try various HDMI 2.0a high speed cables


PC:

- Use MPC-HC/madVR to play a HDR video using HDR passthrough, it works! TV detects and plays HDR content
- Try NVIDIA settings like RGB 8bit full, YCbCr 4:2:2 8/10/12bit Limited, YCbCr 4:4:4 8 bit Limited
- Try newest and older GPU drivers
As I see there, you don't have an RGB 10 bit (or 12 bit) setting available. My GTX1080 connected via DP 1.2 cable to my 4k/10bit monitor shows RGB 10 bit as available.


The YCbCr 4:2:2 is a compressed format, the color is sent with 1/2 resolution of the luminance, to save bandwidth. HDMI 2.0 is at the limit of bandwidth capacity with 4k (2160p)/60Hz
Do you really use the HDMI ports on your videocard?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	dp.JPG
Views:	3
Size:	67.3 KB
ID:	2645542  

Last edited by SoNic67; 11-25-2019 at 12:30 PM.
SoNic67 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply High Dynamic Range (HDR) & Wide Color Gamut (WCG)

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off