Portland ,Ore. / Vancouver ,Wa. - first meet done , next one coming soon ... - Page 5 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 18Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #121 of 5241 Old 04-19-2002, 12:04 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
ramick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: WA, USA
Posts: 1,460
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Used to have some of the Korg synths a looong time ago.

Nice modular equipment.

My Home Theater System
See my weather site at: Seattle
See my webcam at: Wunderground
ramick is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #122 of 5241 Old 04-20-2002, 11:06 AM
Member
 
Drummer Geek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Vancouver, Wa
Posts: 124
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I too am a musician, Krag. Come to think of it, doesnt my user name say it all? But I have just one thing to say to you "You klingon b***, you killed my son"

Don't forget the popcorn (and the movie)!
My DVD Collection
Drummer Geek is offline  
post #123 of 5241 Old 04-21-2002, 08:16 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
DaGamePimp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: USA
Posts: 16,380
Mentioned: 17 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 670 Post(s)
Liked: 689
Ok , so how did it go ...
-- Should have done a WebCam broadcast from Rick's place - .
--- Let me have it ,
--- Jason

HT = Epson 5050ub @133" / Marantz SR6013 7.3.4 Atmos / B&K 5000 II amp / Boston VR2/VR12/CR67 speakers / Rythmik 12" x2 / CV 15" / Sony x800 / Panasonic UB820 RIP KOBE
Media Room = Sony 65x930e / Denon x3300 /Klipsch speakers /Velodyne subs /Sony x700 /PS4 Pro + PSVR/WiiU/PS3/360/Wii/ 2080 TI - 9900K PC / Multi-Arcade / Virtual Pinball TRE45ON
DaGamePimp is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #124 of 5241 Old 04-22-2002, 09:45 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
krasmuzik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: NewPort, VA
Posts: 11,213
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Now I have something to spend my tax refund on!

http://www.hanaho.com/products/ArcadePC/index.html
krasmuzik is offline  
post #125 of 5241 Old 04-22-2002, 10:39 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
krasmuzik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: NewPort, VA
Posts: 11,213
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
I checked my Windows Virtual Memory - it is using the recommended let windows manage the settings.

Good this be the cause of my HD thrashing? Anyone recommend a good setting? I have 384MB mem, and the HD is 25% full.
krasmuzik is offline  
post #126 of 5241 Old 04-22-2002, 10:59 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
DaGamePimp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: USA
Posts: 16,380
Mentioned: 17 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 670 Post(s)
Liked: 689
krag [ Kevin ] ,
-- 512 meg [ swap file ] always seems to work best for me but I doubt that is causing your trouble .
--- Jason B.

HT = Epson 5050ub @133" / Marantz SR6013 7.3.4 Atmos / B&K 5000 II amp / Boston VR2/VR12/CR67 speakers / Rythmik 12" x2 / CV 15" / Sony x800 / Panasonic UB820 RIP KOBE
Media Room = Sony 65x930e / Denon x3300 /Klipsch speakers /Velodyne subs /Sony x700 /PS4 Pro + PSVR/WiiU/PS3/360/Wii/ 2080 TI - 9900K PC / Multi-Arcade / Virtual Pinball TRE45ON
DaGamePimp is offline  
post #127 of 5241 Old 04-22-2002, 11:56 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
ramick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: WA, USA
Posts: 1,460
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
krag, get the big one; I have a 17" monitor in my arcade machine and sometimes I wish it was 21".

Unfortunately, I had to cut last night a little short (had to pick up the wife).

There was a power outage about an hour before the demo and I could not get the Sat working; found out later it was because the VCR had not switched back on. Not a big loss, though.

I was only able to demo WinDVD and HD on the projector; I think it went pretty well considering all of the problems I have been having with the drivers the past month. I still have to calibrate a couple more times to get the pic really good (it's a little dark right now). Doing a calibration on an LCD is an iterative process, each iteration taking ~2 hours and I only did one. Also, I have over 1000 hours on this bulb.

Still, I feel it presents an excellent picture.

Jason, have you had a chance to install the shakers yet?
I'm seriously considering going this route to round out the lows below what my little 10" sub can do.

My Home Theater System
See my weather site at: Seattle
See my webcam at: Wunderground
ramick is offline  
post #128 of 5241 Old 04-22-2002, 12:21 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
DaGamePimp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: USA
Posts: 16,380
Mentioned: 17 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 670 Post(s)
Liked: 689
Rick ,
-- I have not received the shakers yet , they shipped a week ago so I am not sure what the delay is . I will let you know how they work out when done [ I have done all the wiring , just need the sssssshhhaaaakkkerss ].
-- The Extron has not shown up yet either , so I am bummed ! [ I built all the cables for the Extron with CAT 5e 350mhz solid core - I can't wait to see what happens ] .
-- I did get a new PS2 this weekend though , been Playing Tekken 4 which is the first Progressive Scan PS2 [480p] capable game . I can't play it in 480p mode yet though , need a Transcoder .
-- Glad it went well [ heard Matt had fun with GTA3 - ] ,
-- Jason
**** Hey , One of the Shakers showed up and the Extron did too , now just waiting for one more shaker ....

HT = Epson 5050ub @133" / Marantz SR6013 7.3.4 Atmos / B&K 5000 II amp / Boston VR2/VR12/CR67 speakers / Rythmik 12" x2 / CV 15" / Sony x800 / Panasonic UB820 RIP KOBE
Media Room = Sony 65x930e / Denon x3300 /Klipsch speakers /Velodyne subs /Sony x700 /PS4 Pro + PSVR/WiiU/PS3/360/Wii/ 2080 TI - 9900K PC / Multi-Arcade / Virtual Pinball TRE45ON
DaGamePimp is offline  
post #129 of 5241 Old 04-22-2002, 02:30 PM
AVS Forum Club Gold
 
Greg_R's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: Portland, OR USA
Posts: 3,831
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 10
A big thank you to Ramick for allowing us to invade his home for a few hours. Although I had to show up late, I got to see most of the system (round 2 of the demos). Since I am getting close to pulling the trigger on a FP setup the demo was very helpful... Thanks again!
Greg_R is offline  
post #130 of 5241 Old 04-22-2002, 02:57 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
krasmuzik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: NewPort, VA
Posts: 11,213
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Yep I just ordered the deluxe arcade PC - has the 21" monitor, good sat/sub , trackball and coin drop. I have every intention of charging the two bits to play it too for how much that thing cost! So I guess if I am hosting in june - bring your quarters!

I'll throw in my own network card so I have access to the information required to make the investment effective... (unless you want to get friendly with the CDRs again....)

I was thinking the ArcadePC also makes a good access point for building streaming mp3 playlists for the house audio or even using it as a local zone - have you tried that yet? Are those games good multitaskers? Need to look at some of those fullscreen players mentioned on the forum.

Now I have to crawl under the house and redo my wiring/switching scheme so I can use the PS2 component rather than Svideo. Never realized it made that much difference in the saturation/sharpness!

Doubt I will be hooking the HD back up just so I can watch soap operas in HD though!
krasmuzik is offline  
post #131 of 5241 Old 04-22-2002, 03:09 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
krasmuzik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: NewPort, VA
Posts: 11,213
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Here is the Pronto on Pocket PC thread I mentioned as I noticed there was a high PocketPC to geek ratio (not counting the one geekkete - sorry Vanessa!) in the room!

https://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showt...77#post1023677

He just started a new thread here since he overloaded the last thread with just one month of development.

https://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showt...hreadid=135048
krasmuzik is offline  
post #132 of 5241 Old 04-22-2002, 03:10 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
ramick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: WA, USA
Posts: 1,460
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I currently use my arcade machine for my mp3 server; I have a seperate 4G SCSI drive that stores the mp3's. This computer is an 800MHz PIII w/256M RAM and I have been able to stream the same mp3 over to 4 machines at the same time over 100BT switched net with no degradation.

I haven't played a game at the same time, but it should work depending upon the type of game. I would think a SuperNES game might have a problem, but the older arcade games (mame) should work fine. I'll test it tonight and post my results.

The best frontend for MAME based games (as of about 18 months ago) I found was ArcadeAtHome.

I didn't get the chance last night, but I run a number of visualizations with WinAmp. Some of these are very good and look even better on a very large screen; check out Jet, Gordon Plugs, MilkDrop, NeBuLa, Nullsoft vis plug-ins.

My Home Theater System
See my weather site at: Seattle
See my webcam at: Wunderground
ramick is offline  
post #133 of 5241 Old 04-22-2002, 03:14 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
krasmuzik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: NewPort, VA
Posts: 11,213
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Hey that is cool - I did not even think of using visualizations to turn the thing into a Video Juke Box!
krasmuzik is offline  
post #134 of 5241 Old 04-22-2002, 03:57 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
ramick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: WA, USA
Posts: 1,460
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Exactly, now that I have you chomping at the bit, think about:
http://www.techtv.com/screensavers/s...381727,00.html
& HTPC...

My Home Theater System
See my weather site at: Seattle
See my webcam at: Wunderground
ramick is offline  
post #135 of 5241 Old 04-22-2002, 04:16 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
DaGamePimp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: USA
Posts: 16,380
Mentioned: 17 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 670 Post(s)
Liked: 689
-- Well the Bass Shaker is amazing mounted to the couch [ really fun ] but the Extron is even Better - WOW ! Nice difference with the Extron , more than I was expecting . The 108 can go to 1.45v but I have it at about 1v and the picture is bright and crisp . The Peaking control is a nice addition , text is sharper now . My wife even noticed a difference right away .
-- Rick , you should try the shakers , they work great and very cheap . Just buy the Aura Vest on Ebay and take the transducer out of it . This way you can use the Included 25 watt Aura amp to power the shaker . I got both my vests for about $50.00 including shipping [ both are brand new ].
-- I use my PC for all the classic games along with all the gaming consoles that I own [ from Atari 2600 to PS2 - about 8 or 9 systems ] . I would love to have an Arcade cabinet like that but 3 to 4 thousand is a bit much for me .
-- Best Wishes ,
--- Jason Berg

HT = Epson 5050ub @133" / Marantz SR6013 7.3.4 Atmos / B&K 5000 II amp / Boston VR2/VR12/CR67 speakers / Rythmik 12" x2 / CV 15" / Sony x800 / Panasonic UB820 RIP KOBE
Media Room = Sony 65x930e / Denon x3300 /Klipsch speakers /Velodyne subs /Sony x700 /PS4 Pro + PSVR/WiiU/PS3/360/Wii/ 2080 TI - 9900K PC / Multi-Arcade / Virtual Pinball TRE45ON
DaGamePimp is offline  
post #136 of 5241 Old 04-22-2002, 06:04 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
ramick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: WA, USA
Posts: 1,460
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
What are you using to xover the shakers?

I'm glad the Extron works well; I though it might. As I said before, CRT electronics are very sensitive to correct voltages - just don't overdrive the phosphors. Did you do a recal of the proj?

I also have the 2600 and 5200, Nesticle, ... on the arcade machine. I have the smaller version I bought about 2 years ago. I had them mod it to allow removable control panel and a 17" monitor instead of the normal 15" at the time. They are great to deal with and have a great product.

My Home Theater System
See my weather site at: Seattle
See my webcam at: Wunderground
ramick is offline  
post #137 of 5241 Old 04-22-2002, 07:31 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
DaGamePimp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: USA
Posts: 16,380
Mentioned: 17 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 670 Post(s)
Liked: 689
Rick ,
-- I am going from the LFE out of my receiver to my Sub then out of the sub to the shaker amp , it works great . The effect is so cool , I really liked my force feedback chair [ which my Son broke 2 weeks ago ] but the shaker installed in the couch is much more realistic , really adds to the realism of the movie . Plus since I use Pro Logic II with all stereo sources I get the effect from games too . Come by and check it out if you are going to be in the Area sometime , just give me a call [ I think I sent you the # ] .
-- I readjusted the PJ settings after hooking up the Extron , I had to as you could see Blooming all over the place - it was really BRIGHT . I like it so much that I may invest in a Dual input model so that I can run 2 pc's to the PJ , one for Movies and one for Gaming [ the 108 has a single ECL input ] . The Extron output being at 1v really speeds the warm-up process for me too . I wish I had done this a long time ago ...
-- Simply - the Brights are brighter and the darks are darker the color is great and the image is sharp , much more accurate now and it wasn't too shabby before . Has you can tell I am just Smilin' ear to ear right now .
-- Jason B.

HT = Epson 5050ub @133" / Marantz SR6013 7.3.4 Atmos / B&K 5000 II amp / Boston VR2/VR12/CR67 speakers / Rythmik 12" x2 / CV 15" / Sony x800 / Panasonic UB820 RIP KOBE
Media Room = Sony 65x930e / Denon x3300 /Klipsch speakers /Velodyne subs /Sony x700 /PS4 Pro + PSVR/WiiU/PS3/360/Wii/ 2080 TI - 9900K PC / Multi-Arcade / Virtual Pinball TRE45ON
DaGamePimp is offline  
post #138 of 5241 Old 04-22-2002, 07:45 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
ramick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: WA, USA
Posts: 1,460
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I don't know how much the dual input model would cost; what about a KVM? Some of the newer models have a fairly high bandwidth due to the rez most folks are running on their monitors. Just look for bandwidth to be twice what you are using. Also, be careful as some of these are powered by the keyboard or mouse input.

My Home Theater System
See my weather site at: Seattle
See my webcam at: Wunderground
ramick is offline  
post #139 of 5241 Old 04-23-2002, 10:07 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
ramick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: WA, USA
Posts: 1,460
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Not to make this a gaming thread, but I had to post this. GTA III is REALLY coming to PC:
http://www.gamespy.com/interviews/april02/gta3pc/

My Home Theater System
See my weather site at: Seattle
See my webcam at: Wunderground
ramick is offline  
post #140 of 5241 Old 04-23-2002, 12:19 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
DaGamePimp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: USA
Posts: 16,380
Mentioned: 17 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 670 Post(s)
Liked: 689
Rick ,
-- the dual input models can be found on Ebay for around $100.00 usually . I thought about a dual input box then out to the Extron but figured that would just increase the possibility of ghosting in the image .
-- I have been waiting for GTA3 pc to come out for about 6 months now , it was announced it would come out for PC back before the PS2 version came out . I actually just traded in the PS2 version [ while it still has good trade in value ] in order to get the PC version when it is released next month . The PC version should be far superior to the PS2 version on all counts plus I prefer to play with the mouse & keyboard [ which the ps2 can do as well but I don't have them ] . Bottom Line though this is one of the best games ever made , period [ right up there with Half-Life from Valve ] .
-- Best Wishes All ,
--- Jason B.

HT = Epson 5050ub @133" / Marantz SR6013 7.3.4 Atmos / B&K 5000 II amp / Boston VR2/VR12/CR67 speakers / Rythmik 12" x2 / CV 15" / Sony x800 / Panasonic UB820 RIP KOBE
Media Room = Sony 65x930e / Denon x3300 /Klipsch speakers /Velodyne subs /Sony x700 /PS4 Pro + PSVR/WiiU/PS3/360/Wii/ 2080 TI - 9900K PC / Multi-Arcade / Virtual Pinball TRE45ON
DaGamePimp is offline  
post #141 of 5241 Old 04-25-2002, 08:35 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
ramick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: WA, USA
Posts: 1,460
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Has anyone gotten the .vob files I gave them working? How is the display (frame) rate?
I played the Leno clip on a 1.6G P4 and it was very choppy; I think this is due to the choice of video filter and the speed of RAM.

I just bought 2 of the interactor vests on Ebay for $15 each (buy it now) and $8 shipping; they should be here next week sometime.

I tried to order some component cables for the PS2, but the place I ordered them from says they no longer exist (bluelight.com). I've had problems with them before, but I thought I'd give them one last chance. I'll order them somewhere else.

Hope everyone's doing well.

My Home Theater System
See my weather site at: Seattle
See my webcam at: Wunderground
ramick is offline  
post #142 of 5241 Old 04-25-2002, 10:14 PM
Member
 
RedTalon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Washington
Posts: 25
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Wow work has been insane this week!

Thanks, Rich, for hosting; I had a great time learning all about FP's. Much more informative than I expected! You should teach!!! hehe

Still trying to get Jason his CD's. Had to bail out last night unfortunatly. I'll get them to ya!

Rich, where can I find where to grab that cloth you used for your curtains? Thankfully *grin* I won't need to use as much as you do, but that stuff did work quite well.

Here's a link to the component cables you are looking for:
http://www.ebgames.com/ebx/categorie...p?pf_id=217461 They also have the bundled version with that short optical cable or analog cable but you will likely be buying a longer one somewhere else (bettercables perhaps).

Matt
RedTalon is offline  
post #143 of 5241 Old 04-26-2002, 12:35 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
ramick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: WA, USA
Posts: 1,460
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Exactly where I ordered the cables from (the second time). Thanks.

I got the "double-faced commando" cloth at Pacific Northwest Theater Associates http:\\\\www.pnta.com

The stuff comes in 118" wide and any length you need in .5 yard increments. It was $20.55 per yard. They were great to deal with - their catalog has all sort of fun "theater" things. I am thinking about one of those foggers .

I am going to redesign the room. The large cabinets are going away. I will have a sofa table behind with all of the equipment including the proj. Again, I want a living room that doubles as a HT, so the proj will be inside the sofa table until I want to use it; then it will raise up to the height it is at now. My only problem now is the screen, but I have a couple of ideas

My Home Theater System
See my weather site at: Seattle
See my webcam at: Wunderground
ramick is offline  
post #144 of 5241 Old 04-26-2002, 10:53 AM
Member
 
Drummer Geek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Vancouver, Wa
Posts: 124
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Who needs a fogger when you could just put your popcorn popper in the theater area?

Don't forget the popcorn (and the movie)!
My DVD Collection
Drummer Geek is offline  
post #145 of 5241 Old 04-26-2002, 07:57 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
ramick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: WA, USA
Posts: 1,460
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Drummer Geek, LOL; funny, funny.

I think krag asked if the game/Arcade machine could also be used to serve up mp3's. I just did a test; I ran the same song list through winamp to four computers (one being the arcade machine). Everything went well.

I then tried to play Galaxia (MAME based). There was a little hiccup when it started and when I was finished (level 27 ). I then tried Nesticle (an NES emulator). This didn't go so well, but the game was playable and the music didn't suffer at all.

My arcade machine is running Win98 SE on PIII 800, 256M PC133 RAM, 1 WD 2G IDE HD for the O/S & games, 1 IBM 4G SCSI on Adaptec 2940 Ultra Wide. Also, I have a 100BT switched network. The network didn't seem stressed at all - could probably stream HD to another server as well .

I set it up this way so playing music from this server would not cause (much of) a problem when playing games. I haven't tested it this throughly before, but I'm glad it works.

My Home Theater System
See my weather site at: Seattle
See my webcam at: Wunderground
ramick is offline  
post #146 of 5241 Old 04-26-2002, 08:17 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
DaGamePimp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: USA
Posts: 16,380
Mentioned: 17 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 670 Post(s)
Liked: 689
Rick ,
-- Did you have a little mishap with the popper at the meet ?
--- I love the smell of Burned popcorn on a Sunday afternoon .
-- I have a 100mb network too and can play streaming mp3 , play game roms from another pc and stream any type of Video content [ other than HD - which I have not been able to try yet thanks to Matt - hehe ] . I have even ran opposite streams from each pc at the same time with no slowdown [ DivX content and Vob files work just great ] .
--- I have many emulators and many Roms if any of you are interested in something other than Mame / NES / SNES . Let me know ...
--- Best Wishes All ,
-- Jason B.
**** so is Greg_R next ??? ****

HT = Epson 5050ub @133" / Marantz SR6013 7.3.4 Atmos / B&K 5000 II amp / Boston VR2/VR12/CR67 speakers / Rythmik 12" x2 / CV 15" / Sony x800 / Panasonic UB820 RIP KOBE
Media Room = Sony 65x930e / Denon x3300 /Klipsch speakers /Velodyne subs /Sony x700 /PS4 Pro + PSVR/WiiU/PS3/360/Wii/ 2080 TI - 9900K PC / Multi-Arcade / Virtual Pinball TRE45ON
DaGamePimp is offline  
post #147 of 5241 Old 04-26-2002, 09:01 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
krasmuzik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: NewPort, VA
Posts: 11,213
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Hanaho was configuring a 600Mhz

I was thinking of using the HGPC as the MP3 master connected to the house audio distribution (digital coax)- but maybe not enough Mhz to play a game and MP3 at the same time?

Sounds like streaming MP3 from the disk should work well especially with limited numbers of zones since Mbps is more important than Mhz there. I will have to test out wireless 11Mbs vs. wired 100Mbs though.
krasmuzik is offline  
post #148 of 5241 Old 04-26-2002, 11:57 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
ramick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: WA, USA
Posts: 1,460
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
krag, if I were you, I would consider building your own PC.

Also, what is the make/model and the specs of the monitor?

I have my own PC and sent them the monitor for my setup.

My Home Theater System
See my weather site at: Seattle
See my webcam at: Wunderground
ramick is offline  
post #149 of 5241 Old 04-27-2002, 12:40 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
krasmuzik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: NewPort, VA
Posts: 11,213
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Ah but the pleasure is in plugging this in and playing Galaga and Defender right away. I can build PC's - but I take no pleasure in it and consider it a frustrating weekend exercise that is not worth the money saved, not to mention the time spent ordering parts.

The monitor is a Korean import rated top 10 by PCworld - mostly because it is a good value. For lowres 80's games it hardly matters - besides I understand they use the same in arcades and kiosks which makes it more authentic if it is not crisp text!

http://www.pcworld.com/resource/arti...d,58448,00.asp
http://www.hansol-us.com/products/pr...ges/2100A.html
krasmuzik is offline  
post #150 of 5241 Old 04-27-2002, 01:59 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
ramick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: WA, USA
Posts: 1,460
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Console games (like SNES) have much higher rez than the older arcade games which is why I had my own monitor installed. At that time, their 15" monitors were too small and they didn't offer a 17". The monitor posted above should work for anything I have seen in this area.

Streaming mp3's while trying to play a game might be too much for a single HD which is why I put in my own PC. Another reason is the vid card (at the time). I'm using a 3dfx Voodoo3 - decent card a couple of years ago and still works well if only in 16bpp mode. In 24bpp, the onboard 3D accel doesn't work.

All depends upon how you want to use it.

My Home Theater System
See my weather site at: Seattle
See my webcam at: Wunderground
ramick is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Area Home Theater Meets

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off