• 1 Post By kblackburn101
  • 2 Post By Ericglo

post #1 of 23 Old 10-31-2019, 10:14 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 2
Why crt went extinct?

I remember that they were once the most popular tv , why were they unable to keep manufacturing and upgrading the technology? It often looked more authentic to film.

I’m new to this so help me understand why good technology were killed off , especially when some were hdtv later on.

Ultimate bass lover !! si ht15 dvc.
Free the reptile aliens
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 23 Old 11-01-2019, 10:25 AM
AVS Forum Special Member

Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Quoted: 426 Post(s)
Liked: 512
It went extinct because the entire TV ecosystem and infrastructure around it totally collapsed. Fixed pixel imaging with razor thin architecture allows consumer benefits that big bulky interlaced scan line CRT can't come close to matching IMO. Can you imagine what an 85" CRT would look like today? What it would weigh? Then pour in the myriad the floodgate of new imaging technologies that propel modern HDTV...HDR, DV, WCG, etc. Imagine all of that cost in CRT? How about the world of interconnectivity? Can you imagine a CRT mobile phone?...Tablet?...other devices? One can reasonably see all of those benefits and more in a 65"-85" OLED or QLED panel at a small fraction of CRT size and cost. There is literally zero market, outside of nostalgic niches like the one the OP mentioned (like 120p-420p gaming) that would benefit from a CRT. And modern CPU/GPU/rendering/Upscaling/emulation/digital broadcasting tech even renders that a moot point. I still love everything I always loved about a CRT display. And I still loathe everything I hated about a CRT set. That evolutionary horse has left the barn...and is galloping the plains of a long extinct display tech prehistory IMO.
post #3 of 23 Old 11-01-2019, 10:36 AM
AVS Forum Special Member

Mentioned: 25 Post(s)
Quoted: 844 Post(s)
Liked: 788
Quote: