Please Bring back CRT TV's Into the Production line Again! - Page 9 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 3Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #241 of 262 Old 10-28-2013, 05:20 PM
Member
 
dieselrat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Denver , Co
Posts: 92
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by Floydage View Post

Yeah I wonder how long the new tech will 'really' last as it hasn't been around real long and of course is constantly changing. Looks good on paper and ALT (Accelerated Life Testing) but...

Sounds like that first poster you replied to is only familiar with 4:3 curved CRTs. BTW how far back did you dig for these posts? biggrin.gif

I got into the whole 480i/HD issue here before. Many of us are dependent on OTA broadcasts so forget 1080p, and like you said a lot of stations are 480i (I had pointed out that a lot of the movie stations broadcast in 480i). Then there's the whole DVD universe.



I read through the strings and found this one to b!tch about how useless my recently dead plasma was mad.gifmad.gifmad.gifmad.gif How angry I am at myself for throwing away the money on the thing in first place......How can a company survive when the service life of a $2,500 product is ~6 years of lite use.......

Then I thought I would throw in some real world experience on how good my CRTs have been tongue.gif:wink.gif:eek.gifsmile.gifbiggrin.gif

____________________________________________________________


I looked for a couple of weeks to find the dead toshiba's replacement. The first replacement I bought lasted 4 days before it failed, now that is good service life..!..... That is when I discovered that all HDTV makers have removed all of the analog connections!eek.gifmad.gif WT!....

Quote:
I haven't been much on upscaling DVDs, especially the ones I record - has a fuzzy look. I have a little better luck with my HDD recorder but it only upscales to 480p. I'm restricted to using component though as my Panny CRT is pre-HDMI/DVI.

I am today using my pannys to connect to my new LED-LCD( fingers crossed that it will last ).....

One connection through the component with upscaled 480p. And the other through my new -69's upscaled 1080p HDMI.........

VW,Audi, Porsch guy
dieselrat is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #242 of 262 Old 10-28-2013, 11:35 PM
 
tubetwister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: The Outer Limits....Don't trust any air I can't see ☺
Posts: 5,008
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1384 Post(s)
Liked: 623
I've upscaled DVD only with PC HD video cards with HDMI out and also PS 3 playback again with HDMI out most look pretty good that way if they were decent to begin with
that being the key . Most HDTV inputs other than HDMI do not display as well through other than the HDMI input, lots of picture presets or other options * may not be available
on other than HDMI inputs picture *may lack *as good contrast,color and detail as it otherwise would on an HDMI or OTA signal .
tubetwister is offline  
post #243 of 262 Old 10-29-2013, 08:34 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Floydage's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Fort Worth, TX
Posts: 1,881
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 172 Post(s)
Liked: 86
Quote:
Originally Posted by dieselrat View Post

That is when I discovered that all HDTV makers have removed all of the analog connections!eek.gifmad.gif WT!....

What no RF (CH 3/4), composite, s-video, or component? That would pretty much just leave HDMI other than maybe a PC input connection.

I was trying to improve my friend's satellite connection to his LED TV. He had SD-only service for the sat and the sat box only went up to s-video. But the TV didn't have s-video so the best we could do was composite. Sad on both the sat company and the TV (at least the TV had component) Obviously one can get a better picture with a better connection even if the signal is only 480i (maybe the sat company is trying to force the low quality pic issue to persuade customers to get an upgrade?).

___________________

Computers and I suspect game boxes can have pretty high power consumption. For example my PC (older) is several hundred watts while my DVDR, HDD, and blu-ray are around 30 W. A laptop wouldn't be too bad though.

Floydage is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #244 of 262 Old 10-30-2013, 02:35 PM
Member
 
pqwk50's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 74
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 24

What does CRT give viewer that Plasma cannot replicate? I'm assuming CRT has better PQ? What exactly is the problem with Plasma PQ when compared to CRT?

Bruce2019 likes this.
pqwk50 is offline  
post #245 of 262 Old 11-02-2013, 02:42 PM
Newbie
 
captainharlock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
If you are really anxious to get your new CRT display fix, Ikegami still has some pro HD "master monitors" in production.

Here's the Ikegami HTM-1917-R, for just $8,574.95:
http://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/product/632861-REG/Ikegami_HTM1917R_HTM_1917_R_19_HDTV_SDTV_Multi_Format.html

This ones a bit over $11k:
http://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/product/632863-REG/Ikegami_HTM1990R_HTM_1990_R_19_HDTV_SDTV_Multi_Format.html

Ikegami builds these things like battleships: I have their NTSC TM20-80RH (purchased used for cheap), and the build quality is SOLID: the CRT bezel is a solid metal casting fer crying out loud eek.gif. Ikegami seems to be a real CRT tech holdout, as they only somewhat recently went to flat faced tubes from the round screens and these monitors are still available. Does this confirm that a CRT production line still exists in Japan, or is Ikegami assembling these from existing stock tubes?
captainharlock is offline  
post #246 of 262 Old 11-02-2013, 08:00 PM
Member
 
dieselrat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Denver , Co
Posts: 92
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by Floydage View Post

What no RF (CH 3/4), composite, s-video, or component? That would pretty much just leave HDMI other than maybe a PC input connection.

I was trying to improve my friend's satellite connection to his LED TV. He had SD-only service for the sat and the sat box only went up to s-video. But the TV didn't have s-video so the best we could do was composite. Sad on both the sat company and the TV (at least the TV had component) Obviously one can get a better picture with a better connection even if the signal is only 480i (maybe the sat company is trying to force the low quality pic issue to persuade customers to get an upgrade?).

___________________

Computers and I suspect game boxes can have pretty high power consumption. For example my PC (older) is several hundred watts while my DVDR, HDD, and blu-ray are around 30 W. A laptop wouldn't be too bad though.

As long as they continue to include analog tuner the 3/4 option will work. But this renders the digital tuner in the tv pretty much useless!! Using the 3/4 option blocks too much of the digital signal so you can't pick up the over the air signal. I use the built in tuner to get all of my HD content today so using it as one of the analog inputs in not a option.

So like I said, they have removed all of the s-video hookups, most have a shared composite/component so that gives only one analog input......

The best option I have come up with for hooking up the analog signal to the current HDTVs to look good is through either the upconverted component or a upconverted HDMI out of one of my Panasonic DVD or HDD/DVD recorders. Right now I am using my both of my -E20s as connection control, three S-video inputs through the RGB upconverted to 480p out into my NEC CRT & my LED-LCD. And for the best picture through the S-video inputs into my -69 through the upconverted 1080p HDMI out to my new LED-LCD.

If I end up with another one of the current HDTVs that have no good analog connections I will get another -69 using the excuse of I need it for hooking up to my video stuff.... tongue.gifwink.gifbiggrin.gif

VW,Audi, Porsch guy
dieselrat is offline  
post #247 of 262 Old 11-03-2013, 07:54 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Floydage's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Fort Worth, TX
Posts: 1,881
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 172 Post(s)
Liked: 86
Quote:
Originally Posted by dieselrat View Post

So like I said, they have removed all of the s-video hookups, most have a shared composite/component so that gives only one analog input......

OK so new TVs are not completely devoid of analog inputs. In this case you have two but one is a sucky RF connection (can switch or use a combiner (splitter in reverse) with the antenna but...). Sounds like they're getting cheap though if they're combining a composite with a component.

Floydage is offline  
post #248 of 262 Old 11-03-2013, 04:55 PM
Member
 
dieselrat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Denver , Co
Posts: 92
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by Floydage View Post

OK so new TVs are not completely devoid of analog inputs. In this case you have two but one is a sucky RF connection (can switch or use a combiner (splitter in reverse) with the antenna but...). Sounds like they're getting cheap though if they're combining a composite with a component.

Using RF connection is not a option if you rely on over the air HD. The over the air signal is so sketchy that a splitter or switch remove just enough to wipe out half of the channels!

VW,Audi, Porsch guy
dieselrat is offline  
post #249 of 262 Old 11-04-2013, 07:26 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Floydage's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Fort Worth, TX
Posts: 1,881
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 172 Post(s)
Liked: 86
Quote:
Originally Posted by dieselrat View Post

Using RF connection is not a option if you rely on over the air HD. The over the air signal is so sketchy that a splitter or switch remove just enough to wipe out half of the channels!

A good quality switch has almost negligible insertion loss (0.5 dB or less). Anyhow it sounds like you need an amp or better antenna. Of course you're amongst mountainous tree heavy terrain with plenty of precipitation (and some of that snowy kind that likes to stick around on roofs and trees).
Now I've heard that some of the tuners in the new TVs aren't that great, I suspect it's the cheaper models. Might compare to a good converter box tuner if you have one available.

I'm using a 4-way splitter (~9 dB of loss) and still have signal to spare. Helps having an attic antenna with limited obstruction though.

Floydage is offline  
post #250 of 262 Old 07-20-2014, 03:42 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Dude111's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 2,487
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 501 Post(s)
Liked: 1203
Everything about CRTs are better!!!!
Dude111 is offline  
post #251 of 262 Old 05-06-2019, 04:21 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2019
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 1
hi

hi guys!!
a big hello from Italy!
I know i t's very old but...i love as you love the CRT tube

I have a lot of crt brand new (beautiful tvs too) where i took because i'm a collector...and i was so scared like you all would be dead...

BRand new i mean never took out of the original packaging..zero hours of working

I love them
Brian Hampton likes this.
Alessandro Clerici is offline  
post #252 of 262 Old 05-08-2019, 06:18 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Brian Hampton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Posts: 8,913
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1290 Post(s)
Liked: 755
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dude111 View Post
Everything about CRTs are better!!!!
Except they emit cancer causing X Radiation.

But these days, what doesn't?
Brian Hampton is offline  
post #253 of 262 Old 05-08-2019, 06:27 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Ratman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Collingswood, N.J.
Posts: 18,818
Mentioned: 20 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2100 Post(s)
Liked: 1948
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brian Hampton View Post
Except they emit cancer causing X Radiation.
Well below harmful levels.



If you can’t explain it simply, you don’t understand it well enough – Albert Einstein
Ratman is offline  
post #254 of 262 Old 05-08-2019, 06:34 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Brian Hampton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Posts: 8,913
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1290 Post(s)
Liked: 755
I do voluntary tech support for my local church and they have a back room with 3 very large and heavy CRTs. None are in use and I would be surprised if any of them still works. I've tried many times to get them to recycle them before there are no free places to go with them.

Where I live it's $20 to recycle a CRT TV. But, in the next state over it's still free and some people from the church live there so if they would ride with me we could get it done. But, no one has time to do some extra thing.

People put them out on the curb... like worn out couches. And they sit there sometimes for a year. One set has been hit by a plow truck and is in pieces but remains a lawn decoration and testament to the inability of someone to look up how to recycle it.

=Brian
Brian Hampton is offline  
post #255 of 262 Old 05-18-2019, 09:27 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Dude111's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 2,487
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 501 Post(s)
Liked: 1203
Its amazing how many people get rid of perfectly good working sets....... Its really quite sad





When you stop watching what they want you to watch you stop thinking what they want you to think.. Then you see a world that is nothing like they tell you it is.
Dude111 is offline  
post #256 of 262 Old 06-04-2019, 05:00 PM
Advanced Member
 
Bruce2019's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Vienna
Posts: 970
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 512 Post(s)
Liked: 289
I still have my small Sony Trinitron CRT..

I did a direkt comparison with my 2009 Plasma TV and the only reason to use a CRT is if you are into retro gaming..

Besides that, Plasma is the bigger brother of CRT (RGB phosphors, pulse drive motion)

Really surprising was the floating blacks of the Sony. With content on the screen the black level increased and the Plasma had a better black level..

CRT is much brighter, I have reduced it to get in to the same level as the Plasma. Besides that, if you see the Plasma picture you will not chose the CRT for movies, Gamings, TV..

It was almost impossible to take good pictures, so please dont attack me.. It is what it is..
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_20190316_202303.jpg
Views:	15
Size:	327.2 KB
ID:	2575974   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_20190316_202305.jpg
Views:	14
Size:	302.5 KB
ID:	2575976   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_20190316_202308.jpg
Views:	14
Size:	304.2 KB
ID:	2575978   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_20190316_203741.jpg
Views:	13
Size:	155.3 KB
ID:	2575980  

Panasonic 42inch ST60 owner
Panasonic 42inch S10 ES (Europe/Silver) owner
Bruce2019 is offline  
post #257 of 262 Old 06-04-2019, 05:02 PM
Advanced Member
 
Bruce2019's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Vienna
Posts: 970
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 512 Post(s)
Liked: 289
And with a plasma TV you get the same 3d deapth of field look, as on CRTs.. It has this organic real life look..
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_0543.JPG
Views:	12
Size:	1.46 MB
ID:	2575982   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_0542.JPG
Views:	12
Size:	1.45 MB
ID:	2575984   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_0555.JPG
Views:	12
Size:	1.57 MB
ID:	2575986   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_0554.JPG
Views:	12
Size:	1.49 MB
ID:	2575988   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_0553.JPG
Views:	10
Size:	1.41 MB
ID:	2575990  

Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_0552.JPG
Views:	9
Size:	1.52 MB
ID:	2575992   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_0551.JPG
Views:	8
Size:	1.40 MB
ID:	2575994   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_0550.JPG
Views:	8
Size:	1.43 MB
ID:	2575996   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_0549.JPG
Views:	9
Size:	1.50 MB
ID:	2575998   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_0548.JPG
Views:	6
Size:	1.45 MB
ID:	2576000  

Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_0547.JPG
Views:	6
Size:	1.68 MB
ID:	2576002   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_0545.JPG
Views:	8
Size:	1.36 MB
ID:	2576004   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_0544.JPG
Views:	7
Size:	1.45 MB
ID:	2576006  

Panasonic 42inch ST60 owner
Panasonic 42inch S10 ES (Europe/Silver) owner
Bruce2019 is offline  
post #258 of 262 Old 06-11-2019, 02:23 PM
Advanced Member
 
Actionable Mango's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Seattle
Posts: 622
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 300 Post(s)
Liked: 246
Quote:
Originally Posted by captainharlock View Post
If you are really anxious to get your new CRT display fix, Ikegami still has some pro HD "master monitors" in production.

Here's the Ikegami HTM-1917-R, for just $8,574.95:
http://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/produc...ti_Format.html

This ones a bit over $11k:
http://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/produc...ti_Format.html

Ikegami builds these things like battleships: I have their NTSC TM20-80RH (purchased used for cheap), and the build quality is SOLID: the CRT bezel is a solid metal casting fer crying out loud . Ikegami seems to be a real CRT tech holdout, as they only somewhat recently went to flat faced tubes from the round screens and these monitors are still available. Does this confirm that a CRT production line still exists in Japan, or is Ikegami assembling these from existing stock tubes?
Wow, you posted that in 2013 but here now in 2019, one of those models is still available.
Actionable Mango is online now  
post #259 of 262 Old 06-14-2019, 12:40 PM
Member
 
Gary Seven's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 60
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 24
While we're at it, I say bring back the abacus. These new-fangled computers just do not have the character of pushing beads to one side.
Gary Seven is offline  
post #260 of 262 Old 06-14-2019, 08:04 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Dude111's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 2,487
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 501 Post(s)
Liked: 1203
But this is a serious thread my friend





When you stop watching what they want you to watch you stop thinking what they want you to think.. Then you see a world that is nothing like they tell you it is.
Dude111 is offline  
post #261 of 262 Old 06-15-2019, 04:29 PM
Member
 
ask4me2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Norway
Posts: 145
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 75 Post(s)
Liked: 48
Wink

Think there is someone that have written... "He who takes a joke to be just a joke and seriousness to be just serious, has grasped both things equally bad..."

The only thing I can think of a CRT direct view TV may do better than today TVs is the lack of input lag and maybe its more native gamma capabilities because of the use of phosphorus.....

One of the biggest disadvantages With CRT TVs is their use of high voltage that make them accumulate a lot of dust particles electrostatic from the air in the room, and over the years that dust is growing inside the TV and make them a fire hazard where a high voltage arc or hot components easily may ignite the dust and start a fire.
Other disadvantages like often a high pitch sound, magnet system that often distort the picture different form cold to warm, is quite sensible for speaker magnets close bye, the power consumption, weight and need of space compared to screen size etc. If a CRT is run hard, it may also sends out some X-ray radiation.....

One thing I am a little curious about.. What kind of sources do the ones in here that want the CRT TV back, like to use these days?

If i got to choose between the earlier linked 19" CRT with 720p-1080i capability at 10k+$ or a New 77" 4K OLED at a something similar price range , think choosing between them when looking at the picture quality will be quite easy. Think today's reference professional studio monitors like this used by colorist etc. is a better way to go if we want high end monitors these days.


I do have some good feelings using CRT projectors still. Do have a Sony G90 that i can use from time to time, but direct view TVs i have more like Barney from the How I met your mother association with at the moment.


I do think it is nice someone still love these direct view CRT screens, but i also think it is more about the nostalgic feeling this technology may provide, and its not that much about the picture quality anymore. In the start when the first LCD and Plasma screens came out the CRT often produced a better picture in comparison, but today, do not think picture quality is a good reason to choose a CRT screen...

Last edited by ask4me2; 06-15-2019 at 05:30 PM.
ask4me2 is online now  
post #262 of 262 Old Yesterday, 11:43 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Floydage's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Fort Worth, TX
Posts: 1,881
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 172 Post(s)
Liked: 86
Native display of non-HD content (ex: 480i). Looks like pure crap on the new stuff forced to upconvert to their HD-only displays. Also motion.

Dust fire? Lol

Floydage is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Direct View (single tube) CRT Displays

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off