THE SONY SERVICE CODES - Articles, Comments, Discoveries - Page 100 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 3Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #2971 of 2976 Old 03-06-2015, 09:39 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 1
My kv-30hs420 does not seem to respond to any of these adjustments or any convergence adjustments. Does this set not support them?
Pspboy17 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2972 of 2976 Old 03-19-2015, 01:34 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by KenTech View Post
<b>02 - NAVIGATING SERVICE MODE</b><br><br>
First download the attached Zipped file that should explain all: a page describing how to enter Service Mode, and two pictures of how it looks on my 36XS955 (gray background):<br><br>
THEN: Download the official chart of codes from a previous message, otherwise the relationships among them is hopelessly confusing. Don't worry that it may not match your exact set model. (But it may be way off for earlier-model sets.) This chart seems to be fine for XS and HS-series, for example. Earlier XBRs are not represented.<br><br>
SUMMARY: First power-off the TV, or start cold. Then press on the remote these four buttons within one second of each other: Display - 5 - Volume Up - Power. You should see a screen similar to "ServModeFirstView.jpg."<br><br>
The code group-name (e.g. 2170P-4, MID5, etc.) is in the upper-left corner. Below that is the name of the actual code-name within that group. The code-name's number (in the group) is also shown to the right of the group-name. In the "TypDisplay" example attached, 2170P-3 is the group, and we're at item #7, SHF0.<br><br>
To the right of the 7 is the code's *value.* This one is set to 0 (zero).<br><br>
The other designations are for information only: "FULL" screen mode, "Video5" is the active input, and "480i" is the video-scan mode. I have never figured out what "WSL: " means; its value changes while you fiddle with Service Mode, so it's readout of some sort, maybe the TV's "mood" at the moment, who knows.<br><br>
The number-key pair 2-5 are up-down for stepping thru the groups to the first code in each group.<br><br>
The pair 1-4 are up-down for the codes (spanning groups if you go past the group's end).<br><br>
The pair 3-6 are up-down for setting the code's value. **Write down the initial value before changing anything.**<br><br>
You can check out what different code-values do by tinkering -- no harm done. If you decide to back out after screwing things up, you have two choices: (1) press - Enter on the remote, which will re-enter the previous settings from memory; or (2) recycle Power to leave Service Mode, or press Power - Display - 5 - Volume Up - Power to start over in Service Mode. This is safe tinkering, but it's really best to log what you are doing.<br><br>
If you make a change you want to "stick," press the Mute button (the word "WRITE" appears), then Enter within a few seconds. (WRITE changes to red, then back to SERVICE.) The changes have been written to internal memory. If you hit Mute by accident, it will revert shortly, so don't worry.<br><br>
There are some aspects of this that can be confusing. If you change some settings, then change inputs or Picture Modes, you'll likely lose the changes -- but sometimes not, so don't assume anything. Some settings are always temporary, such as POP in the MID5 group. You can see the effect of different MID5 settings by changing POP, which then points to a different column in the MID5 table, maybe even change a few items. But if you step past the start or end of the MID5 codes, you lose the POP setting (it goes back to same as 2170P-3, MIDE) and the changes.<br><br>
Recommended: If you've been tinkering for a while and you've determined a change you want to make in, say, a *few* nearby and related codes, first reset Service Mode with - Enter (as above). Now note the old values, make the changes, and Write them each separately. (By resetting to old values first, you avoid accidental changes while you were previously tinkering.)<br><br>
CAUTION: AVOID keys 7 and 9, as they are part of a key-sequence that can reset all of the deflection or image-decoding settings back to a "factory-newborn" state. If you think youve hit any key by accident, STOP. In a few seconds it will revert back to SERVICE mode, as youll see at the right side of the screen. All dangerous key-sequences are combinations of *three* keys, by the way.<br><br>
I have made *very substantial* improvements to the display of my XS955-series set, as have many others with theirs, and I take some delight in experimenting with these codes, trying to deduce what they do. I am posting what I discover as I can, and I hope other folks will, too, as several generous folks already have (thanks!).<br><br>
[Revised 9-8-05.]
<p> </p>

<span huddler_attributes="{&quot;plugin&quot;:&quot;atta chment&quot;,&quot;params&quot;:{&quot;id&quot;:&q uot;23331&quot;,&quot;name&quot;:&quot;servmodehel p.zip&quot;,&quot;description&quot;:&quot;&quot;,& quot;size&quot;:104.2255859375,&quot;type&quot;:nu ll}}" huddler_plugin="attachment">
<a
class="attachment " href="/attachments/23331" title=""><span class="file ">servmodehelp.zip <span class="details">104.2255859375k . file</span></span>
</a></span>
Hi KenTech,

I would be so much in your debt if you could help me with saving my POP settings in MID5. I HAVE read your posts on a couple forums already but my set seems to be fussy or I'm missing something.
I understand about the columns in the manual, which I have. I have tried every method of writing the column data into each thing one by one and not leaving the section. Tried turning off and unplugging afterward.

The difference between the setting burned into it now and any of 3 or 4 different alternatives I've found using the MID5 - 0 setting is astronomical to my eyes. PLLAZE HALP!

p.s.
I have really appreciated your posts about the service modes of these beauties for a few years now.
Bahn Yuki likes this.
d0nkatron is offline  
post #2973 of 2976 Old 02-07-2016, 06:51 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 36
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 6
I realize this is an old thread but I'm just curious to see if anyone with experience in messing with the service menu is still around. I recently bought a Sony KD-30XS955 and it's great but it did have quite a bit of overscan, which I have fixed. It's still a tad dark and the reds bleed a little. Another issue that I can't seem to fix is a faint outline around certain objects' edges, as if the image were slightly out of focus.

Thanks for the help!
The_Height_of_Folly is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2974 of 2976 Old 06-01-2018, 12:17 PM
Member
 
HunterZ0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 67
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 11
My Sony Wega appears to be too late-model to support NES Zapper guns. It does not appear to have a Game Mode. Is there something I might be able to toggle in the service menu to turn off various features in order to reduce the picture latency?
HunterZ0 is offline  
post #2975 of 2976 Old 02-09-2019, 06:14 AM
Member
 
SovietSlayer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 189
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by HunterZ0 View Post
My Sony Wega appears to be too late-model to support NES Zapper guns. It does not appear to have a Game Mode. Is there something I might be able to toggle in the service menu to turn off various features in order to reduce the picture latency?
Pro Mode disables all the software enhancements so it might improve response time. With that said, the late model WEGAs are best used for DVI or HDMI hook-up to a PC with emulators.
SovietSlayer is offline  
post #2976 of 2976 Old 02-09-2019, 07:55 AM
Member
 
SovietSlayer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 189
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nitewatchman View Post

Which reminds me --- On another note -- an update on the "HDPT" PM I sent you and Ken the other day. Among other things, if you missed it, In the PM, it explains how I followed the info on this for older sets on other threads, and read all the approrpiate info in the "vertical bar" thread/etc.

Anyway -- I played around with HDPT=0 a little more in one pic mode last night. HDPT has Pic mode specific setting on my set - for instance, you can have it at "0" for vivid and "1" for Standard. With 1080i sources(which is all HDPT effects I believe), The screen going "scrambled" on my set(like you've lost V Sync or H Sync, and somewhat similar, in a sense to what you may get in some occasions if the 2171CXA "FIXS" paramenter isn't correctly set)occurs ONLY if you bring up the user "display" function, and only does that when your in SM - although, even outside SM, the user menus, channel banners/etc, are still "garbled" and not correctly displayed. Otherwise, it seemed to "work" to "by-pass MID".

I didn't find any "good" use for HDPT=0 it however. Except involving "differences" involved with values for the "PT"(passthrough) columns for some controls which differ -- (such as YOSW value, the 1080i PT specific CROP/CBOP(interestingly enough, CROP/CBOP AND YOF~CROF all are offsets that effect the "1080i PT" signal, as well as PT column CBGN~YGN/etc) from the "component" or 'ATSC" specific columns, I couldn't find any differences using HDPT=0 concerning the picture quality of 1080i sources as compared to using HDPT=1 and using all Zeroes in the MID5 Column.

Or, If there were any differences in "image quality"/etc, I couldn't "see" them. I also noticed, with "HDPT" at "0" there was often a "quick moving", rather wide Vertical bar moving across the screen at times(only on 1080i sources of course). Also note that MID1/"DPSW" "blank screen" on my KD34XBR960 if set to "1", and on this set "0" is the "normal" setting for it. If I recall my reading about older sets correctly, it's the other way around.

**disclaimer** At this point, I do not endorse, or recommend that anyone, at least with one of these newer Sony sets "check out" MID-by pass and the "HDPT" setting! As, (just based on my short experiments), #1). I don't think we know "enough" about what it does on these newer sets, it might not be 100% "safe", #2) I don't see that its "MID by pass" does anything "useful", and you can use all Zeros in a MID5 column+accomplish the same thing, at least that seems to be the case given my short experience with it, and from what I can tell. I could be wrong, of course. #3). Also, when you're in SM at least, you might find the screen becoming "all garbled" if you set it to "0" making the Service Menu info "unreadable", therefore you'll be in a real fix if you don't know a way "out" of it. #4). At least on my set, when using HDPT=0, the User menus and channel displays/banners/etc. do not display properly.

Thanks. I reset my service mode to default settings and by default 1080i Pro Mode has HDPT=0. I was struggling for a few hours trying to determine was was occurring. Your post helped me fix the issue.
SovietSlayer is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Direct View (single tube) CRT Displays

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off