THE SONY SERVICE CODES - Articles, Comments, Discoveries - Page 23 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 3Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #661 of 2976 Old 01-08-2006, 03:33 PM
Member
 
ptchristensen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: LA
Posts: 191
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dr. Spankenstein View Post

Only I have a 34xs955 which is supposed to be (on the whole) the same set. Some of my other menus are a little off as well, but MID3 has none of the settings listed in the service manual and a complete search of ALL the menus found none of those adjustment parameters. My set has a build date of July 2005. Has there been a revamping of the SM to keep us twiddlers at bay?!?

What gives?

I do not know the 420 but the 955 should be the same as my XBR960, so this is a surprise. Question 1: When you go to the MID3 menu in the service menu or your TV, which entries are there? Question 2: What does your ID, ID7 say?
ptchristensen is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #662 of 2976 Old 01-08-2006, 04:28 PM
Member
 
BoloTheRomeo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 54
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by ptchristensen View Post

I do not know the 420 but the 955 should be the same as my XBR960, so this is a surprise. Question 1: When you go to the MID3 menu in the service menu or your TV, which entries are there? Question 2: What does your ID, ID7 say?

On mine (30HS420) it's the following:

ID7 = 17

MID-3
0 YCPO
1 CCPO
2 PRPB
3 DOSA
4 YCWD
5 MYCD
6 PSTP
7 PSTT
8 VHSC
9 VHSL
10 PLHC
11 PLHL
12 MDTC
13 MFRV
BoloTheRomeo is offline  
post #663 of 2976 Old 01-08-2006, 04:45 PM
Advanced Member
 
Dr. Spankenstein's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 902
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 147 Post(s)
Liked: 99
I'm not in front of my set (I'm at work. ), but I do remember that the listing that Bolo gave is exactly the set that I have. I didn't check the ID/ID7. I most certainly DID NOT change that setting, is it possible it left the factory with the wrong ID group? I would never have thought to check that!!
BTW, did anyone ever figure out if a 955 could mimick a 960 by changing the ID?
Thanks for the advice, PT!
Bolo, what is the buid date on your set? (just for reference.)

JVC X750R, 133" DaLite HP (2.8 gain), OPPO UDP 203
Denon X4300H, DIYSoundGroup Fusion 15 L/C/R, Mirage FS V2 Surround, Mirage Omnisat V1 Surround/Atmos
Dr. Spankenstein is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #664 of 2976 Old 01-08-2006, 04:47 PM
JTF
Newbie
 
JTF's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have a 30XS955 built in August 2005. Try going to MID2 and use DHHP, DHHS, DHVP, and DHVS after you've switched to an HD source. The 720p and 1080i are independent of one another if I remember correctly.
JTF is offline  
post #665 of 2976 Old 01-08-2006, 04:57 PM
Advanced Member
 
Dr. Spankenstein's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 902
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 147 Post(s)
Liked: 99
That was the other change I noticed! MID2 labels were changed in regards to the second letter of the code (ie. DH HP instead of DR HP and so on...)
Now, you're suggesting that these MID2 settings have the same effect as VDHP, VDHS, VDVE, and VDVS? Curious!
What's the experienced Sony tweakers take on all this?

JVC X750R, 133" DaLite HP (2.8 gain), OPPO UDP 203
Denon X4300H, DIYSoundGroup Fusion 15 L/C/R, Mirage FS V2 Surround, Mirage Omnisat V1 Surround/Atmos
Dr. Spankenstein is offline  
post #666 of 2976 Old 01-08-2006, 05:03 PM
Member
 
ptchristensen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: LA
Posts: 191
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by BoloTheRomeo View Post

On mine (30HS420) it's the following:

ID7 = 17

MID-3
0 YCPO
1 CCPO
2 PRPB
3 DOSA
4 YCWD
5 MYCD
6 PSTP
7 PSTT
8 VHSC
9 VHSL
10 PLHC
11 PLHL
12 MDTC
13 MFRV

That is really strange...!

I have 2 versions of the 960/955 service manual and many of the menues are different. One of the most influential is the ID7 setting. I'm not saying that it will change anything but the newest revision of the service manual has the setting to 11 instead of 17. Give it a try. Make the change, save, turn TV off and on again.
ptchristensen is offline  
post #667 of 2976 Old 01-08-2006, 05:05 PM
Advanced Member
 
Dr. Spankenstein's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 902
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 147 Post(s)
Liked: 99
....they'e on to us!!

JVC X750R, 133" DaLite HP (2.8 gain), OPPO UDP 203
Denon X4300H, DIYSoundGroup Fusion 15 L/C/R, Mirage FS V2 Surround, Mirage Omnisat V1 Surround/Atmos
Dr. Spankenstein is offline  
post #668 of 2976 Old 01-08-2006, 05:07 PM
Member
 
ptchristensen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: LA
Posts: 191
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dr. Spankenstein View Post

That was the other change I noticed! MID2 labels were changed in regards to the second letter of the code (ie. DH HP instead of DR HP and so on...)
Now, you're suggesting that these MID2 settings have the same effect as VDHP, VDHS, VDVE, and VDVS? Curious!
What's the experienced Sony tweakers take on all this?

In my XBR960 the MID2, 0 to 3 settings are for 480i only, MID3, 0 to 3 are for 1080i and 720p in all the different inputs.
ptchristensen is offline  
post #669 of 2976 Old 01-08-2006, 05:21 PM
Advanced Member
 
Dr. Spankenstein's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 902
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 147 Post(s)
Liked: 99
I was making my adjustments in 1080i and my MID3 labels were exactly like the ones Bolo's 420 has.

JVC X750R, 133" DaLite HP (2.8 gain), OPPO UDP 203
Denon X4300H, DIYSoundGroup Fusion 15 L/C/R, Mirage FS V2 Surround, Mirage Omnisat V1 Surround/Atmos
Dr. Spankenstein is offline  
post #670 of 2976 Old 01-08-2006, 05:30 PM
JTF
Newbie
 
JTF's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Did you give the MID2 adjustments a shot? I can only vouch for the Video 5 input, but I don't see why that would make a difference.
JTF is offline  
post #671 of 2976 Old 01-08-2006, 05:31 PM
Member
 
BoloTheRomeo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 54
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Manufactured Date November 2005
BoloTheRomeo is offline  
post #672 of 2976 Old 01-08-2006, 05:40 PM
Advanced Member
 
Dr. Spankenstein's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 902
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 147 Post(s)
Liked: 99
JTF,
Sorry, I'm at work and cannot try the settings. I will see how it works when I get home! I was setting the Input 5 as well.

Bolo,
That is one fresh tube you got there!

About that ID7 line of reasoning, any more thoughts?

JVC X750R, 133" DaLite HP (2.8 gain), OPPO UDP 203
Denon X4300H, DIYSoundGroup Fusion 15 L/C/R, Mirage FS V2 Surround, Mirage Omnisat V1 Surround/Atmos
Dr. Spankenstein is offline  
post #673 of 2976 Old 01-08-2006, 05:40 PM
Member
 
BoloTheRomeo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 54
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by ptchristensen View Post

That is really strange...!

I have 2 versions of the 960/955 service manual and many of the menues are different. One of the most influential is the ID7 setting. I'm not saying that it will change anything but the newest revision of the service manual has the setting to 11 instead of 17. Give it a try. Make the change, save, turn TV off and on again.

What will that do? By changing that it won't affect any of the hard coded settings will it?
BoloTheRomeo is offline  
post #674 of 2976 Old 01-08-2006, 05:41 PM
Member
 
BoloTheRomeo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 54
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dr. Spankenstein View Post

JTF,
Sorry, I'm at work and cannot try the settings. I will see how it works when I get home!

Bolo,
That is one fresh tube you got there!

About that ID7 line of reasoning, any more thoughts?

Yeah I got it so I could play HD Xbox 360 .
BoloTheRomeo is offline  
post #675 of 2976 Old 01-08-2006, 05:46 PM
Advanced Member
 
Dr. Spankenstein's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 902
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 147 Post(s)
Liked: 99
From my limited knowledge base, it seems the ID settings let the set know -1)What functions it can utilize and 2) What the base settings will be.
It seems to be an evolving instruction set that is a lot of layers and patches that has grown over the life of these models. Easier than "reinventing the wheel" every time a new model comes along. Add a new component....patch the instruction set to the SM.

p.s. I'm rockin' the 360 as well! (Yummy!!!)

JVC X750R, 133" DaLite HP (2.8 gain), OPPO UDP 203
Denon X4300H, DIYSoundGroup Fusion 15 L/C/R, Mirage FS V2 Surround, Mirage Omnisat V1 Surround/Atmos
Dr. Spankenstein is offline  
post #676 of 2976 Old 01-08-2006, 06:34 PM
Member
 
ptchristensen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: LA
Posts: 191
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by BoloTheRomeo View Post

What will that do? By changing that it won't affect any of the hard coded settings will it?

It didn't for me. I lost ALL my settings by using a bad 7-9 combination. I then read in all the default settings from the service manual, to get a starting point. Now 3 months later I have a TV that is better than it was. One problem was that the newest service manual said that ID7 should be 19. With 19 picture in picture didn't work and I couldn't get my harmony remote to work either. Two weeks later I found an older revision of the service manual that had the ID7 at 25. I changed it and everything was perfect.

I honestly cannot remember if any existing settings were changed. I think not, but as with all these setings - write down everything before tinkering.
ptchristensen is offline  
post #677 of 2976 Old 01-09-2006, 02:44 PM
Advanced Member
 
Dr. Spankenstein's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 902
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 147 Post(s)
Liked: 99
JTF,

I tried the MID2 settings as you suggested. They seemed to have the same effect as the 2170D-1 & 2170D-2 (vpos/vsiz & hpos/hsiz). The issue I'm having is that I can't expand the image to 0% overscan and center it, it's just unbalanced as to how much you can see of the right/left and top/bottom edges. Also, to get anywhere near good geometry, I have to resort to 5%+ overscan because the bottom edge curves SEVERELY to the left at the last 3/4" of the raster.

This is the 5th 955 I've been through and the best of the buch, so far. It would be nice to send it to an Authorized repair shop and see if Sony will help me work these issues out. Am I delusional in expecting anything along these lines?

Bryan

JVC X750R, 133" DaLite HP (2.8 gain), OPPO UDP 203
Denon X4300H, DIYSoundGroup Fusion 15 L/C/R, Mirage FS V2 Surround, Mirage Omnisat V1 Surround/Atmos
Dr. Spankenstein is offline  
post #678 of 2976 Old 01-09-2006, 04:04 PM
Member
 
ptchristensen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: LA
Posts: 191
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dr. Spankenstein View Post

JTF,

I tried the MID2 settings as you suggested. They seemed to have the same effect as the 2170D-1 & 2170D-2 (vpos/vsiz & hpos/hsiz). The issue I'm having is that I can't expand the image to 0% overscan and center it, it's just unbalanced as to how much you can see of the right/left and top/bottom edges. Also, to get anywhere near good geometry, I have to resort to 5%+ overscan because the bottom edge curves SEVERELY to the left at the last 3/4" of the raster.

This is the 5th 955 I've been through and the best of the buch, so far. It would be nice to send it to an Authorized repair shop and see if Sony will help me work these issues out. Am I delusional in expecting anything along these lines?

Bryan

I do not know where you live, but in this thread there are several suggestions to how you find the "right" sony support people. There are also specific addresses to guys that actually know how to work the magnets.

If you go the "normal" route to the sony service groups, 5% overscan will be considered "within specs".

You have to remember that you should only set the raser and thereby overscan using the 2170-D, 1 and 2 settings. The MID settings should only be used to center the different "other" inputs and formats.
ptchristensen is offline  
post #679 of 2976 Old 01-09-2006, 04:28 PM
Advanced Member
 
Dr. Spankenstein's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 902
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 147 Post(s)
Liked: 99
Well, I live in Omaha Nebraska, if anyone knows of someone in my vicinity.
My issue is that I thow the first crosshatch pattern (from the QM menu) for the 1080i. Let's say I shrink the raster so I can see it's edges. The pattern is not centered within the raster and I thought the MID3 settings move the "picture" around on the "canvas"/raster. Am I completely wrong? Ifso, how do I move the pattern in respect to the raster? I have no doubt that the ammount of overscan/stetching has quite an impact on the PQ and, in particular, artifacts like edge ringing.
BTW, thanks for your continued interest in helping me. I forgot to mention that I tried different values in the ID7. Mine was set at 17. Tried 11 and 25. No difference to picture or menu structure. Boo!

JVC X750R, 133" DaLite HP (2.8 gain), OPPO UDP 203
Denon X4300H, DIYSoundGroup Fusion 15 L/C/R, Mirage FS V2 Surround, Mirage Omnisat V1 Surround/Atmos
Dr. Spankenstein is offline  
post #680 of 2976 Old 01-09-2006, 05:32 PM
Member
 
ptchristensen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: LA
Posts: 191
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dr. Spankenstein View Post

Well, I live in Omaha Nebraska, if anyone knows of someone in my vicinity.
My issue is that I thow the first crosshatch pattern (from the QM menu) for the 1080i. Let's say I shrink the raster so I can see it's edges. The pattern is not centered within the raster and I thought the MID3 settings move the "picture" around on the "canvas"/raster. Am I completely wrong? Ifso, how do I move the pattern in respect to the raster? I have no doubt that the ammount of overscan/stetching has quite an impact on the PQ and, in particular, artifacts like edge ringing.
BTW, thanks for your continued interest in helping me. I forgot to mention that I tried different values in the ID7. Mine was set at 17. Tried 11 and 25. No difference to picture or menu structure. Boo!

Since I have a 16:9 TV I always start by setting the full 16:9 raster in 1080i, by using the "overscan" pattern. This will set and center the raster and control the overscan. Then I change to all the other inputs one by one and center them using MID2 for 480i and MID3 for the rest.

In your case I would start with a 480i signal for your 4:3 TV, find the correct overscan pattern in the QM menu. Then of cause this signal and input should not be further corrected in MID2 and MID3, just the rest of the signals ond inputs.
ptchristensen is offline  
post #681 of 2976 Old 01-09-2006, 05:46 PM
Advanced Member
 
Dr. Spankenstein's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 902
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 147 Post(s)
Liked: 99
I hope I didn't give the wrong impression. I have the 34xs955 (widescreen). I am doing the same proceedure you describe above only with the crosshatch. It has a dashed rectangle which, I believe marks the 5% range. Would you suggest using the "overscan" pattern from a DVD or from the QM menu? I would think the TV generated one would be best to use (this may be my first misconception!) If you look at the QM "overscan" pattern, how many hash marks outside the rectangle do you want to see?
Question, did you think I had a 30" or 36" by the ID7 number I provided? Just curious...

JVC X750R, 133" DaLite HP (2.8 gain), OPPO UDP 203
Denon X4300H, DIYSoundGroup Fusion 15 L/C/R, Mirage FS V2 Surround, Mirage Omnisat V1 Surround/Atmos
Dr. Spankenstein is offline  
post #682 of 2976 Old 01-09-2006, 06:04 PM
Advanced Member
 
Dr. Spankenstein's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 902
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 147 Post(s)
Liked: 99
I was just reading in the 34xbr manual that they suggest using the 2150D-1 #12 SCRL(vpos) and #11 ASPT(vsiz) and 2150D-2 #1 HPOS for adjustments in 1080i mode. they also suggest doing this only after centering the raster in "FULL" mode using Input 1 (480i?). Then work out all your geometry problems and then go on to 1080i...confused? I am....
And has anyone else discovered that their MID3 menu does not match the general service manual?

JVC X750R, 133" DaLite HP (2.8 gain), OPPO UDP 203
Denon X4300H, DIYSoundGroup Fusion 15 L/C/R, Mirage FS V2 Surround, Mirage Omnisat V1 Surround/Atmos
Dr. Spankenstein is offline  
post #683 of 2976 Old 01-10-2006, 03:16 AM
Member
 
BoloTheRomeo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 54
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dr. Spankenstein View Post

I was just reading in the 34xbr manual that they suggest using the 2150D-1 #12 SCRL(vpos) and #11 ASPT(vsiz) and 2150D-2 #1 HPOS for adjustments in 1080i mode. they also suggest doing this only after centering the raster in "FULL" mode using Input 1 (480i?). Then work out all your geometry problems and then go on to 1080i...confused? I am....
And has anyone else discovered that their MID3 menu does not match the general service manual?

I'm pretty confused as well, has anyone with the Sony 30HS420 figured out how to do this. Which settings are for which input/video mode (480i, 480p, 720p, 1080i)? Any help any one can offer will be greatly appreciated.
BoloTheRomeo is offline  
post #684 of 2976 Old 01-10-2006, 07:46 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
ChrisPC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 1,277
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I had to first set my geometry in 480p, and 1080i fell into place. If I tried doing it in 1080i, then it would be off in 480. It's confusing, but that's the way it works. I think the manual says it has to be done that way.

I also tried to adjust 1080i overscan with HSIZ, and also got curved edges. I had to end up losing a few lines on each side, but not quite as many as before.
ChrisPC is offline  
post #685 of 2976 Old 01-10-2006, 11:58 AM
Advanced Member
 
mdtiberi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Woodland Hills, CA
Posts: 516
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by MaxDam77 View Post

Yeah, unfortunatly. When I read about the landing that could corrected the corners of the screen I quickly enterd the SM, and nothing.
I'd like to know aswell if there is anything similar to "landing" for the HS420 models.

I have a 34HS420 and yes there are landing settings. They are in D-CONV in the service menu. There is RUMP, which is right upper, LUMP which is left upper, etc. Use a 50IRE cross hatch and fiddle with the adjustments in this menu to line things up.
mdtiberi is offline  
post #686 of 2976 Old 01-10-2006, 01:17 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
williamtassone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 1,044
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Hello
I have the Australian version of the XBR 910/ 960 and I've been in service mode before.

Can anyone walk me through how to adjust horizontal pincushion, this horizontal bowing at the edges is starting to give me the ****s.
williamtassone is offline  
post #687 of 2976 Old 01-10-2006, 02:01 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
AVfile's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Ontario, CANADA
Posts: 2,584
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 358 Post(s)
Liked: 178
Quote:
Originally Posted by mdtiberi View Post

I have a 34HS420 and yes there are landing settings. They are in D-CONV in the service menu. There is RUMP, which is right upper, LUMP which is left upper, etc. Use a 50IRE cross hatch and fiddle with the adjustments in this menu to line things up.

Thank you! Is the geometry generally better on the HS420 than the XS955? All the demos I've seen in town would lead me to believe this, and Sony has disco'd the XS but not the HS. Hmmm...

"This one goes to eleven." Martin Logan Descent-i subwoofer
AVfile is offline  
post #688 of 2976 Old 01-10-2006, 02:27 PM
Member
 
Shadowx117's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 63
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Has anyone had the problem where on the left side of a 4:3 picture there is a small fuzzy virtical line where the 4:3 picture meets the black bars? I have heard of this many times, my tv has this slightly and i would like to know how to fix it. I am getting frustrated now as i have asked this question numerous times in about 2 weeks with no answers, please help me and also how much does DVE cost? Will fixing the overscan in video 5 fix it for viewing digital cable or what? Thank you.
Shadowx117 is offline  
post #689 of 2976 Old 01-10-2006, 04:08 PM
Advanced Member
 
mdtiberi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Woodland Hills, CA
Posts: 516
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by AVfile View Post

Thank you! Is the geometry generally better on the HS420 than the XS955? All the demos I've seen in town would lead me to believe this, and Sony has disco'd the XS but not the HS. Hmmm...

I couldn't say but I beleive they use the same magnetics so in that respect they wouldn't be any different, However, the XS series uses the fine pitch tube meaning more resolution so I think it might have a little better convergence. But really the HS is quite good and I was able to get really great convergence on my set, certainly better than the factory settings.
mdtiberi is offline  
post #690 of 2976 Old 01-10-2006, 05:23 PM
Member
 
ncasebee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 38
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I drilled a hole and diddled with my focus pot. The pot adjusts the ENTIRE screen. It makes a huge huge difference. I followed Kentec's article on precision focusing exactly. It's still not where I want it. The bottom right and right is constantly blurry, and I have attempted a refocus twice now. I follow the article exactly. The blurry on the right and not the left is even worse than just blurry. The uneveness is even more noticable.

Right now, I am back at my original settings with the focus nob adjusted for best overall focus while I research more. The focus nob has a point where all the extremeties come into their best focus, and this is where I have it at now, without any Service Menu adjustments. The side and corner focus is still nowhere near the center focus however.

#1 : Following Kentec exactly: Top middle blurry, right middle and right bottom corner blurry.

#2 Freeform attempt after following Kentec step on adjusting DQP. Right middle and bottom corner blurry.

I just don't know. If I called an ISF tech, could I hope to get focus at the corners and left, right.bottom,top-middle, like I get focus in the center? Is this possible?I'm just getting frustrated. If I kept trying to fix it, do you think I could ever get a uniform focus close to that of the center?

Television is a Sony KV36HS500
ncasebee is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Direct View (single tube) CRT Displays

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off