PT-AE2000U VGA connection @ 1080p - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 9 Old 11-12-2008, 09:09 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
GeeForce11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
My PC is hooked up with a 1680x1050 DVI connected primary LCD display and a Panasonic PT-AE2000U VGA connected secondary (extended) display HD projector.

The projector works fine @ 1080i (1920x1080x30iHz) setting, but cannot make it work properly @ 1080p (1920x1080x60Hz), even if I force these settings, the signal parameters seem to be fine as the projector switches to 1080p60 mode, but the picture is distorshioned (shrunk) to 4:3 Aspect Ratio. Anyone else having problems setting up an HDTV in 1080p mode with a VGA cable? Any suggestions, workarounds?
GeeForce11 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 9 Old 12-18-2008, 06:41 AM
Member
 
thearm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello. I just had to chime in since I have the same issue with my PT-AE2000U Projector. I'm sad to see in over a month, nobody can help you. I'm very sorry but I don't think I can be much help either since I still have not fixed the issue yet myself. Today I'm goning out and buying a DVI to HDMI cable to see if that works. If you have since found a solution, I would like to hear it. Here is my situation:

720P looks great first of all.

On XP, I can only display 1080i @ 30Hz. On my Vista, I can't correctly display any 1080 video. On both XP and Vista, 1080P displays crisp but it's horizontally smashed to almost a 4:3 ratio. On XP, 1080i looks good but I can sort of tell it's interlaced. This maybe the combination that it's interlaced and @ 30Hz. On Vista, I tried 1080i @ 30Hz, 1080i @ 60Hz, 1080P @ 30Hz and 1080P @ 60Hz and none will work correctly. My projector does support full 1080P up to 60Hz. Two days ago, I installed Windows Media Center and I though it was displaying 1080P but when I looked closer, instead of 1080P being smashed to a 4:3 ratio, it was streatched off the screen. So I had to take the mouse and scroll over to the right to see the clock. Almost like the PC was displaying in 2200X1080. I can't be more frustrated.

I've looked through the Nvidia software over and over. I've tried all the profiles in the advanced section of the "customer display resolution." Can't find a driver on the internet for the projector. I've tried a refresh rate of 59.98 which did not work. So, I'm out of troubleshooting energy. I've been working on this for some time. Good luck if I don't hear from you.

My PC Spec's are:

Mobo: Gigabyte GA-N680ISLI-DQ6
Processor: Intel Dual Core Duo e6700
memory: 2GB RAM in Dual Channel Mode
Video: 8800GTS 512 G92
Sound: Turtle Beach Catalina
500 Watt Power Supply
Display: Panasonic PT-AE2000U
thearm is offline  
post #3 of 9 Old 12-18-2008, 09:25 AM
Advanced Member
 
ferbal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 609
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 32 Post(s)
Liked: 43
I have the AE2000U and the Nvidia 8800 card. Win XP.
I connect the PC and the PJ with a DVI-HDMI cable and I can confirm you that you can get a 1920x1080P (@ 24, 50 and 60 fps) perfect picture.
Check that you are using the correct AR on the PJ (16:9) with the ASPECT button on the remote.
ferbal is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 9 Old 12-18-2008, 12:22 PM
Member
 
thearm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yes, the aspect is correct. I've tried it both 4:3 and 16:9 (I didn't think you could change the AR via VGA but I was able to last night). I'm glad to hear you can get 1080P via a DVI to HDMI cable because I just ordered one. However, I'm shocked VGA can't do this since the manual says it can and I was able to do 1080i with XP Pro.
thearm is offline  
post #5 of 9 Old 12-18-2008, 12:22 PM
Member
 
thearm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thank you for your reply's by the way.
thearm is offline  
post #6 of 9 Old 12-18-2008, 05:05 PM
Member
 
thearm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Wow. I went out a purchased a DVI to HDMI cable and the PC reconized my projector and it works great. No tweaking needed at all. It had all the resolutions and refresh rates my projector supported. It looks great. Thanks again for a prompt response everyone.
thearm is offline  
post #7 of 9 Old 12-19-2008, 09:29 AM
Advanced Member
 
ferbal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 609
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 32 Post(s)
Liked: 43
Quote:
Originally Posted by thearm View Post

Wow. I went out a purchased a DVI to HDMI cable and the PC reconized my projector and it works great. No tweaking needed at all. It had all the resolutions and refresh rates my projector supported. It looks great. Thanks again for a prompt response everyone.

thearm
I am happy to know that you solved the problem. You have nothing to thank, this is the reason of AVS forum. Fernando
ferbal is offline  
post #8 of 9 Old 12-23-2008, 09:00 AM
Member
 
thearm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I hope the original poster reads this or has solved his problem. His issue was exactally like mine. He really needs to see the potential of his projector.
thearm is offline  
post #9 of 9 Old 07-06-2009, 12:59 PM
Newbie
 
eary15's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
hi im new at this, i have the panasonic ptae2000u about for 8 months it was working great, but last week i dont knopw what happend but the hdmi inputs are not recving any signal, only the others input, and when i go to the projector optiones there is one that i caqn not select HDMI INPUT SIGNAL the projectorn onle has like 400 hours, i have tryed the other 2 hdmi inputs and do not work either. please help!!!!!
eary15 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Digital Projectors - Under $3,000 USD MSRP

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off