The Offical Epson 8350 Owners Thread - Page 241 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 49Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #7201 of 9398 Old 06-10-2012, 10:19 PM
Member
 
joeags's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 119
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Make sure that you select home theater instead of projector!
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark Booth View Post

I'm trying to register my 8350 on Epson's site at this link:

http://www.onlineregister.com/epson/app/

After I select the Projector family, I can't find the Powerlite Home Cinema (HC) 8350 listed in the available Model choices. Am I blind?

Mark
joeags is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #7202 of 9398 Old 06-10-2012, 10:23 PM
AVS Forum Club Gold
 
Mark Booth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Beautiful California
Posts: 1,681
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 127 Post(s)
Liked: 98
Quote:
Originally Posted by activeight View Post

261

Thank you! I didn't occur to me to select Home Theater when there was clearly a Projector family that included many other Powerlite models. Go figure.

Mark
Mark Booth is offline  
post #7203 of 9398 Old 06-11-2012, 08:57 AM
Newbie
 
milkman55's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Can someone give me the short course in Aspect control with the 8350?

I have a Pany 220 blue ray player and a Samsung HD cable box connected. I get the HD output set from the cable box and then when I play a blue ray disk, I get the letterbox look on my 110" screen which is 16:9. Regular DVD's play OK with the same settings as the cable box. I have tried all kind of settings on both the Pany and the 8350 and can't seem to find the right combination. Right now I think I have the Pany set on "Auto" for the Aspect output. On the 8350, I usually have it set to Zoom, except some output types restrict the Aspect to "Normal".

Obviously trying to avoid messing with the zoom ring on the projector once I get everything set. Everything looks great, just trying to tweek the settings.
milkman55 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #7204 of 9398 Old 06-11-2012, 09:53 AM
Senior Member
 
kevinwoodward's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Northborough, MA
Posts: 342
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 15
What's the issue? Most blue rays are wider than 16 by 9 so you don't get a full screen... is that what you are asking?
kevinwoodward is offline  
post #7205 of 9398 Old 06-11-2012, 11:43 AM
Member
 
Fatkinson's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: NC
Posts: 49
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
AV Company owner here posting an issue.

Hey guys. I sell a lot of the Epson 8350 and love it. But have a major flicker issue going. I have troubleshot it extensively and it seems to be the pairing of recent Onkyo receivers and the projector. Its not the Projector alone, HDMI Line, or Onkyo alone.

Wanted to post for feedback and a warning for theater system pairings.
Fatkinson is offline  
post #7206 of 9398 Old 06-11-2012, 02:32 PM
Newbie
 
milkman55's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by kevinwoodward View Post

What's the issue? Most blue rays are wider than 16 by 9 so you don't get a full screen... is that what you are asking?

That's what I am trying to figure out, that its normal. So everyone just goes with letterbox when they play Blueray and then have it fill the screen for normal HD content off the cable box? I will be watching 80% HD content off cable and probably 15% DVD and 5% Blueray.
milkman55 is offline  
post #7207 of 9398 Old 06-11-2012, 02:56 PM
Senior Member
 
kevinwoodward's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Northborough, MA
Posts: 342
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by milkman55 View Post

That's what I am trying to figure out, that its normal. So everyone just goes with letterbox when they play Blueray and then have it fill the screen for normal HD content off the cable box? I will be watching 80% HD content off cable and probably 15% DVD and 5% Blueray.
\

sounds about right.

some people will use a wide screen, then get the bars on the sides...

http://www.elitescreens.com/index.php?option=com_content&view=article&id=35&catid=12&Itemid=20&lang=en

some people spend a lot more and have masking systems that crop the screen depending on the source.

our projector, is a 16 by 9 format, so some dvd's and most hd programming fit perfectly...
kevinwoodward is offline  
post #7208 of 9398 Old 06-11-2012, 03:39 PM
Newbie
 
milkman55's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks, this is my first Blueray player. I now see some Blueray disks have an aspect of 1.85:1 and others have 2.35:1. I know this is elementary for some of you, but the 1.85 fit my 16:9 (which is 1.8:1) and the 2.35:1 show in letterbox.

I have only watched two Blueray disks so far, Thor (2.35:1) and Mission Impossible-Ghost Protocol (1.85:1) and saw the difference, but didn't understand it until now.

Thanks for the help.
milkman55 is offline  
post #7209 of 9398 Old 06-11-2012, 06:21 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Tesla1856's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Texas, USA
Posts: 1,826
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 295 Post(s)
Liked: 106
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fatkinson View Post

AV Company owner here posting an issue.
Hey guys. I sell a lot of the Epson 8350 and love it. But have a major flicker issue going. I have troubleshot it extensively and it seems to be the pairing of recent Onkyo receivers and the projector. Its not the Projector alone, HDMI Line, or Onkyo alone.
Wanted to post for feedback and a warning for theater system pairings.

Do you mean 2011 series (ie 609) or new 2012 series (ie 616)?

 

I'm using an older Onkyo 607 (and 45 ft. of HDMI cable) ... not a single problem here.


Epson 8350 3LCD Projector (96" @ 1080p) ~ Panasonic 850u 46" Plasma TV (1080p)
Onkyo TX-sr607 AVR ~ Cisco 8742hdc DVR (Spectrum) ~ Panasonic BD60 Blu-Ray Player
AppleTV-4 (iTunes,Plex,MA,Asphalt-8) ~ Simple Control HA ~ Alexa Echo Plus w/Hub
Harmony 670 Remote ~ HTPC (Kodi/Win10-64) Media-Server ~ Synology DS412+ 16tb Raid-5 NAS
Polk Audio Monitor Series-II CS-2 Center, 60 pair, three 40's / PSW-505 12-Inch Sub = 6.1
Tesla1856 is offline  
post #7210 of 9398 Old 06-11-2012, 06:31 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Tesla1856's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Texas, USA
Posts: 1,826
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 295 Post(s)
Liked: 106
Quote:
Originally Posted by milkman55 View Post

Thanks, this is my first Blueray player. I now see some Blueray disks have an aspect of 1.85:1 and others have 2.35:1. I know this is elementary for some of you, but the 1.85 fit my 16:9 (which is 1.8:1) and the 2.35:1 show in letterbox.
I have only watched two Blueray disks so far, Thor (2.35:1) and Mission Impossible-Ghost Protocol (1.85:1) and saw the difference, but didn't understand it until now.
Thanks for the help.

My copy of Avatar on Blu-Ray is 1.78:1, so it fills the whole 16:9 screen nicely. A 1.85:1 is pretty close also (thin horizontal bars).

 

Personally, I just enjoy seeing the whole picture (in the proper aspect ratio), and ignore any bars (really just lack of picture) that might appear.


Epson 8350 3LCD Projector (96" @ 1080p) ~ Panasonic 850u 46" Plasma TV (1080p)
Onkyo TX-sr607 AVR ~ Cisco 8742hdc DVR (Spectrum) ~ Panasonic BD60 Blu-Ray Player
AppleTV-4 (iTunes,Plex,MA,Asphalt-8) ~ Simple Control HA ~ Alexa Echo Plus w/Hub
Harmony 670 Remote ~ HTPC (Kodi/Win10-64) Media-Server ~ Synology DS412+ 16tb Raid-5 NAS
Polk Audio Monitor Series-II CS-2 Center, 60 pair, three 40's / PSW-505 12-Inch Sub = 6.1
Tesla1856 is offline  
post #7211 of 9398 Old 06-11-2012, 08:39 PM
Member
 
redfox102's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hey guys, i have a question. I've had my 8350 since december of 2010, and I've had 3 green dust blobs in the top right corner of the screen since mid 2011. I switched from my diy screen to a favi portable projection screen, and I'm now noticing the spots much more than before. Have any of you had any luck removing dust from the projector? I would really rather not get a refurb model...
redfox102 is offline  
post #7212 of 9398 Old 06-12-2012, 07:13 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
fitbrit's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 2,202
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 74 Post(s)
Liked: 59
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fatkinson View Post

AV Company owner here posting an issue.

Hey guys. I sell a lot of the Epson 8350 and love it. But have a major flicker issue going. I have troubleshot it extensively and it seems to be the pairing of recent Onkyo receivers and the projector. Its not the Projector alone, HDMI Line, or Onkyo alone.

Wanted to post for feedback and a warning for theater system pairings.

Yes I get this too with my 5007, but only on my HTPC at 60 Hz. Since I mostly watch movies down there, I have even my desktop set up at 23.976 Hz and there is no longer any flicker.
fitbrit is offline  
post #7213 of 9398 Old 06-12-2012, 04:07 PM
Newbie
 
JeffK1234's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Canton,Ohio
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
i need some opinions about a situation with the Epson 8350.I bought mine new approx. a year ago. I bought it at Best Buy. I am on my third projector now. The first one had a color issue and the second one had dust blobs that showed up. now the fourth one is giving me a message about a bad auto iris. I really like the projector.I have previously owned two other Epson models with no problems at all. Are there any kinds of lemon laws or will Best Buy do anything about this. I am not looking for anything free just a projector that is reliable.With my luck with it I am afraid any replacement i get will crap out after the warranty expires.Again I love the projector but I have never had this kind of bad luck with any electronic purchase I have ever made. Any opinions or possible options would be appreciated.
JeffK1234 is offline  
post #7214 of 9398 Old 06-12-2012, 05:20 PM
Member
 
Fatkinson's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: NC
Posts: 49
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tesla1856 View Post

Do you mean 2011 series (ie 609) or new 2012 series (ie 616)?

I'm using an older Onkyo 607 (and 45 ft. of HDMI cable) ... not a single problem here.

609 in house A and 616 in B. Hoping a firmware update could fix.
Fatkinson is offline  
post #7215 of 9398 Old 06-13-2012, 12:45 AM
Newbie
 
TrekFX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by kevinwoodward View Post

\
sounds about right.
some people will use a wide screen, then get the bars on the sides...
http://www.elitescreens.com/index.php?option=com_content&view=article&id=35&catid=12&Itemid=20&lang=en
some people spend a lot more and have masking systems that crop the screen depending on the source.
our projector, is a 16 by 9 format, so some dvd's and most hd programming fit perfectly...

And some spend a lot more still with anamorphic lens systems, et al.
TrekFX is offline  
post #7216 of 9398 Old 06-13-2012, 08:01 PM
Member
 
redfox102's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by redfox102 View Post

Hey guys, i have a question. I've had my 8350 since december of 2010, and I've had 3 green dust blobs in the top right corner of the screen since mid 2011. I switched from my diy screen to a favi portable projection screen, and I'm now noticing the spots much more than before. Have any of you had any luck removing dust from the projector? I would really rather not get a refurb model...
Anyone? I saw something about taking the bulb out and blowing compressed air inside, but i don't know how to get the bulb out, or what direction to blow compressed air... I know i must sound like an idiot, but I'm still fairly new to projectors tongue.gif
redfox102 is offline  
post #7217 of 9398 Old 06-13-2012, 09:16 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Tesla1856's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Texas, USA
Posts: 1,826
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 295 Post(s)
Liked: 106
Quote:
Originally Posted by redfox102 View Post

Anyone? I saw something about taking the bulb out and blowing compressed air inside, but i don't know how to get the bulb out, or what direction to blow compressed air... I know i must sound like an idiot, but I'm still fairly new to projectors tongue.gif

I hesitate to answer because I've never had this problem or ever opened a 3LCD projector. I have opened and successfully serviced an Optima DLP projector (overheating ... just needed to be cleaned out real good). I have many years experience opening and repairing consumer electronics, computers, monitors, TVs, dumb terminals, etc.

 

Whoever does this, needs to be familiar with working inside projectors. Not only so they don't kill themselves on high-voltage, but also so a small problem (dust) doesn't turn major (blown circuit board). If you don't know how to remove bulb ... that's a good sign that you should seek professional help.

 

What would I do if it was mine ... Carefully open projector (remove top cover). Carefully clean out the dust. Don't touch or move any lenses or mirrors. Reassemble. Test operation.

 

Check warranty and remember that sometimes credit cards extend purchases. That being said, I would never trade a new machine for a refurb ... if it only had a minor problem. Sometimes you end up with someone elses problems. Also, I have yet to find an electronic machine that works better after multiple trips through UPS system.


Epson 8350 3LCD Projector (96" @ 1080p) ~ Panasonic 850u 46" Plasma TV (1080p)
Onkyo TX-sr607 AVR ~ Cisco 8742hdc DVR (Spectrum) ~ Panasonic BD60 Blu-Ray Player
AppleTV-4 (iTunes,Plex,MA,Asphalt-8) ~ Simple Control HA ~ Alexa Echo Plus w/Hub
Harmony 670 Remote ~ HTPC (Kodi/Win10-64) Media-Server ~ Synology DS412+ 16tb Raid-5 NAS
Polk Audio Monitor Series-II CS-2 Center, 60 pair, three 40's / PSW-505 12-Inch Sub = 6.1
Tesla1856 is offline  
post #7218 of 9398 Old 06-13-2012, 10:18 PM
Newbie
 
xccxxx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 17
So after developing the dreaded Green Dust Blob problem on my EH-TW 3200, I decided to open it up to try and clean it myself. I believe the Epson 8350 is the same projector (just the U.S version of the 3200), so this should work for that also. I managed to get rid of all the dust with this method, so thought I would post this up for others if they want to try it also. It was actually really easy, and I'm happy to have avoided the hassle of having to go the replaced/exchanged route with Epson. All you need is a can of compressed air, a phillips head screwdriver and 20 or so minutes. Obviously, do this at your own risk, I'm not responsible if your projector blows up etc smile.gif To start with, make sure your projector is unplugged, and has been off for at least an hour or so.

Step 1
Take out the 2 screws circled in red, then flip the projector upside down.
aZcEHh.jpg

Step 2
Remove the next twelve screws circled in red.
IXD8eh.jpg


Step 3
Gently remove the side as shown in the picture. Once you are this far, you need to sort of push it down to disengage the top clips. This is by far the most annoying part of the whole process, be really careful here and do not force anything too much. You can also try flipping the projector right side up to try and wedge this off that way (it might actually be a little easier like this)
J87z2h.jpg


You can see the top clips here, and also the ribbon cable connecting to the 'Menu' panel.
oGTKKh.jpg

Step 4
With the projector right side up, gently lift off the top casing. This comes off really easily, just be careful of the ribbon cable that is connected.

RsdDih.jpg

Step 5
Locate the three ribbons that have the words RED, GREEN and BLUE on them.
k8wMBh.jpg

They look like this:
hjBgBh.jpg


Step 6
Spray compressed air as shown in the pictures. (Do all three ribbons just for good measure) I used up a 250ml can while doing this. Try and keep the can as vertical as possible in order to avoid any liquid/moisture coming out of the can. Give it a couple of test sprays before putting it near your projector. You could also get someone to hold the projector on its side while spraying in order to keep the can as upright as possible .
qdtxzh.jpg
Rx5WSh.jpg


Step 7
Re-assemble, and your blobs will hopefully be gone.

Good luck!
xccxxx is offline  
post #7219 of 9398 Old 06-13-2012, 10:24 PM
Newbie
 
xccxxx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 17
And for anyone in Australia, this is the compressed air I used (from Officeworks)
http://www.officeworks.com.au/retail/products/Technology/Peripherals/Stands-and-Cleaners/RA100150
xccxxx is offline  
post #7220 of 9398 Old 06-14-2012, 06:45 AM
AVS Forum Club Gold
 
Mark Booth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Beautiful California
Posts: 1,681
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 127 Post(s)
Liked: 98
Quote:
Originally Posted by xccxxx View Post

So after developing the dreaded Green Dust Blob problem on my EH-TW 3200, I decided to open it up to try and clean it myself. I believe the Epson 8350 is the same projector (just the U.S version of the 3200), so this should work for that also. I managed to get rid of all the dust with this method, so thought I would post this up for others if they want to try it also. It was actually really easy, and I'm happy to have avoided the hassle of having to go the replaced/exchanged route with Epson. All you need is a can of compressed air, a phillips head screwdriver and 20 or so minutes. Obviously, do this at your own risk, I'm not responsible if your projector blows up etc smile.gif To start with, make sure your projector is unplugged, and has been off for at least an hour or so.
Step 1
Take out 2 the screws circled in red, then flip the projector upside down.

Snip (photos removed to save space in quote)

Re-assemble, and your blobs will hopefully be gone.
Good luck!


Excellent tutorial and great photos! Thank you very much!

Mark
Mark Booth is offline  
post #7221 of 9398 Old 06-16-2012, 02:02 AM
Member
 
redfox102's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yeah i saw that tutorial before in another thread, but wouldn't taking the case apart void the warranty? If it wont void the warranty, I'll absolutely give it a go. Can anyone suggest a specific air duster? I'd like to minimize the chance of introducing liquid to the lcd panels... I would also really like more information on the method involving blowing compressed air through the bulb compartment, the details were very vague. It doesn't seem like it would work though, there are mirrors directly in the light path after all.
redfox102 is offline  
post #7222 of 9398 Old 06-16-2012, 02:27 AM
Member
 
redfox102's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
One more thing, I know this will sound stupid, but do i need a repeater for 2 10 foot hdmi cables I'm coupling together? I know under normal circumstances i would just need a regular coupler, but from what I've read, this projector has issues with longer hdmi cables.
redfox102 is offline  
post #7223 of 9398 Old 06-16-2012, 04:57 AM
Senior Member
 
kevinwoodward's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Northborough, MA
Posts: 342
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by redfox102 View Post

One more thing, I know this will sound stupid, but do i need a repeater for 2 10 foot hdmi cables I'm coupling together? I know under normal circumstances i would just need a regular coupler, but from what I've read, this projector has issues with longer hdmi cables.


why wouldn't you just go get a 20-25 foot cable and not worry?
kevinwoodward is offline  
post #7224 of 9398 Old 06-16-2012, 06:49 AM - Thread Starter
DIY Granddad (w/help)
 
MississippiMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Byhalia, Mississippi. Waaaay down in the Bottoms
Posts: 21,767
Mentioned: 232 Post(s)
Tagged: 6 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3519 Post(s)
Liked: 1637
Send a message via Skype™ to MississippiMan
Quote:
Originally Posted by redfox102 View Post

One more thing, I know this will sound stupid, but do i need a repeater for 2 10 foot hdmi cables I'm coupling together? I know under normal circumstances i would just need a regular coupler, but from what I've read, this projectorhas issues with longer hdmi cables.

I concur with the last poster. But it sounds like you already have 2 cords that you want to use..

If they are good h d m I cords and not the skinny, cheap ones that usually comes with dvd player you should be just fine using them.

for the record, c 8350 does not have cord length issues if a good quality ford issues. I regularly use 25 foot and 35 foot cords. I personally have encountered no issues with the porch I have chosen. I get to say this too, they were not very expensive cords.
redfox102 likes this.

"They said it couldn't be done. Well, we sure showed 'em otherwise!"
HAS Advanced Audio and Imaging Solutions...Audio Transducers & Projection Screen Coatings
MississippiMan is online now  
post #7225 of 9398 Old 06-16-2012, 01:32 PM
Advanced Member
 
cjsiv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Milwaukee, WI
Posts: 704
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 43
I use a 50ft cable i got from amazon that is pretty cheap. Way beyond the recommended max length. Issue free. It does take a few seconds to acquire the signal but that could just be handshake.

cjsiv is offline  
post #7226 of 9398 Old 06-16-2012, 06:54 PM
Advanced Member
 
pauleyc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Ashburn, VA
Posts: 676
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 24
c6e4c894-3814-42bf.jpg

Went to a community "flicks in the sticks" and they are using an Epson 8350 at 20ft diag!!! Looked great, maybe a little dim but not bad for the dough. Probably 150 people camped out on the lawn to watch.
pauleyc is offline  
post #7227 of 9398 Old 06-16-2012, 07:17 PM
Advanced Member
 
pauleyc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Ashburn, VA
Posts: 676
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 24
I take it back. The movie is a little dark but by the end it was popping. Amazing projector.
pauleyc is offline  
post #7228 of 9398 Old 06-17-2012, 08:15 AM
Member
 
redfox102's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by MississippiMan View Post

I concur with the last poster. But it sounds like you already have 2 cords that you want to use..
If they are good h d m I cords and not the skinny, cheap ones that usually comes with dvd player you should be just fine using them.
for the record, c 8350 does not have cord length issues if a good quality ford issues. I regularly use 25 foot and 35 foot cords. I personally have encountered no issues with the porch I have chosen. I get to say this too, they were not very expensive cords.
Thanks MississippiMan, I'm pretty confident it will work now.
Quote:
Originally Posted by pauleyc View Post

c6e4c894-3814-42bf.jpg
Went to a community "flicks in the sticks" and they are using an Epson 8350 at 20ft diag!!! Looked great, maybe a little dim but not bad for the dough. Probably 150 people camped out on the lawn to watch.
That's awesome! Makes me want to put a ridiculously huge screen in my front yard biggrin.gif

Don't want to quote this one, it would take up too much space, but does anyone know if following xccxxx's above guide would void the warranty? I'm trying to decide between getting a refurb, or fixing my original unit.
redfox102 is offline  
post #7229 of 9398 Old 06-17-2012, 12:36 PM
Senior Member
 
kevinwoodward's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Northborough, MA
Posts: 342
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by pauleyc View Post

c6e4c894-3814-42bf.jpg
Went to a community "flicks in the sticks" and they are using an Epson 8350 at 20ft diag!!! Looked great, maybe a little dim but not bad for the dough. Probably 150 people camped out on the lawn to watch.

can you tell me about that screen they are using in that picture?
kevinwoodward is offline  
post #7230 of 9398 Old 06-17-2012, 01:27 PM
Advanced Member
 
pauleyc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Ashburn, VA
Posts: 676
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 24
^^ I know the guy that runs it, so I will get more information. Its a large collapsible aluminum frame. The screen snaps to it and has a black border sewn into it (not velvet, just black like the screen). The surface feels like thick plastic w/ a texture. It wrinkles when they fold it up but its not obvious when you are watching it in the dark.
pauleyc is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Digital Projectors - Under $3,000 USD MSRP

Tags
Epson Powerlite Home Cinema 8350

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off