Official Epson PowerLite Home Cinema 5010 / 6010 thread - Page 115 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 34Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #3421 of 3736 Old 09-26-2014, 08:23 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
deano86's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 2,421
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 644 Post(s)
Liked: 319
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ewingr View Post
I'm pretty pleased with teh hours I've gotten on the first bulg, 4200.

I now get the message from the system that the bulb needs replacing. I do have one already. But I"m wondering if there is any reason I should go ahead and change it, or can I wait until it goes dark, or gets bad for watching, before replacing.

Any thoughts?
I would go ahead and replace it... obviously you have gotten very good life out of your lamp... with a nice slow loss of brightness such that you haven't even been bothered by it yet. But, why take the chance, albeit a slight one, of having your UHP lamp explode upon total failure? And at this point, you will probably be amazed by the big time increase in brightness an actual replacement OEM bulb will provide again...
deano86 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #3422 of 3736 Old 09-29-2014, 05:20 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
drhankz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 6,650
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 143 Post(s)
Liked: 94
OMG - I am Speechless

I have been on this thread since Day-One. I bought a 5010
when they were first released. My 5010 has OPERATED
FLAWLESSLY
until last night.

I read about all the owners with flashing lights and other
quality problems. AGAIN - Mine was FLAWLESSLY perfect
until last night.

1) It did not turn on other than the fan. The Front doors
never opened. The Lamp Never lit. It seemed almost as
dead as could be. There were NO ERROR lights. The flashing
BLUE light blinked forever.

Tonight - I called Epson Tech Support using my DIRECT
phone number. I described everything above to the Tech
Support Person - Phoenix.

He checked with the next level tech support and they suggested
doing a FIRMWARE update to version 1.09. I was at 1.04 so I
said - SHIP it to me.

They did.

I needed to install it TWICE to get everything Happy.

THE IS WHY I SAID OMG

- My 5010 is NOW BETTER THAN it was - I am HAPPY HAPPY HAPPY
old corps likes this.
drhankz is offline  
post #3423 of 3736 Old 09-30-2014, 09:56 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
WillyJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Atlanta Metro Area, Georgia, USA
Posts: 1,657
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 31 Post(s)
Liked: 84
Quote:
Originally Posted by drhankz

He checked with the next level tech support and they suggested
doing a FIRMWARE update to version 1.09. I was at 1.04 so I
said - SHIP it to me.

They did.
They shipped to you or emailed it to you? If you got it today and they shipped it, then it must have been NDA? I am also wondering why they don't post firmware updates on their website.
WillyJ is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #3424 of 3736 Old 09-30-2014, 10:08 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
drhankz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 6,650
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 143 Post(s)
Liked: 94
Quote:
Originally Posted by WillyJ View Post
They shipped to you or emailed it to you? If you got it today and they shipped it, then it must have been NDA? I am also wondering why they don't post firmware updates on their website.
NO NDA - it was emailed.

If you need it ask THEM or me.
drhankz is offline  
post #3425 of 3736 Old 09-30-2014, 12:23 PM
Senior Member
 
ashyt16's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 218
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 58 Post(s)
Liked: 35
Quote:
Originally Posted by jiggyk4 View Post
Well looks like my 5010 also took a crap after 1 yr of occasional grinding on startup now it jjst clicks and flashes both red led lights. What a piece of junk and im also 1 month out of warranty. Looks like im going to go panasonic next
https://www.avsforum.com/forum/68-digital-projectors-under-3-000-usd-msrp/1609002-epson-5010-6010-cinema-filter-error-grinding-noise-red-light-fix-pics.html
ashyt16 is offline  
post #3426 of 3736 Old 09-30-2014, 08:30 PM
Member
 
DeaconDan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: East Coast
Posts: 104
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by drhankz View Post
OMG - I am Speechless

I have been on this thread since Day-One. I bought a 5010
when they were first released. My 5010 has OPERATED
FLAWLESSLY
until last night.

I read about all the owners with flashing lights and other
quality problems. AGAIN - Mine was FLAWLESSLY perfect
until last night.

1) It did not turn on other than the fan. The Front doors
never opened. The Lamp Never lit. It seemed almost as
dead as could be. There were NO ERROR lights. The flashing
BLUE light blinked forever.

Tonight - I called Epson Tech Support using my DIRECT
phone number. I described everything above to the Tech
Support Person - Phoenix.

He checked with the next level tech support and they suggested
doing a FIRMWARE update to version 1.09. I was at 1.04 so I
said - SHIP it to me.

They did.

I needed to install it TWICE to get everything Happy.

THE IS WHY I SAID OMG

- My 5010 is NOW BETTER THAN it was - I am HAPPY HAPPY HAPPY
The same thing happened to me Sunday night with my 6010. Been up and running with no issues since 12/2012.

I have not taken any steps toward correcting yet, but plan to tomorrow night. From reading through the thread, it seems the fw update has not been successful for most, maybe one other besides yourself (many seem to have gotten the orange and red bulb LEDs after). Did Epson give any indication of what the technical issue being addressed is? I'm thinking about putting in my spare bulb before calling Epson to get the fw update.

Are there any others out there who eliminated the issue with a fw update?

Thanks,
DD
DeaconDan is offline  
post #3427 of 3736 Old 10-01-2014, 04:18 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
drhankz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 6,650
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 143 Post(s)
Liked: 94
Quote:
Originally Posted by DeaconDan View Post
I'm thinking about putting in my spare bulb before calling Epson to get the fw update.

Are there any others out there who eliminated the issue with a fw update?

Thanks,
DD
I had a spare lamp and I put it in Sunday Night when it failed.

IT DID NOTHING because the unit never got to the LAMP-ON
stage.

I did need to download the FW trice. Then it fired back up.

In 100% of my tests - I NEVER GOT ANY ERROR LIGHT.

By all means CALL and ask for the FW.
drhankz is offline  
post #3428 of 3736 Old 10-03-2014, 07:59 PM
Member
 
CpHaAiOnS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 164
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 61 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Just purchased the Epson 5010 for $1,300 (w/ new lamp, but missing remote). I've been in the market for a decent projector.. (Went from an acer h5370bd, to an acer h6510bd, recently to an optoma hd141x, and now to this projector)

I realize this is a step up into the nicer realm of projection and wanted to hear if I made a good decision (I realize it's a better picture.. I want to know if it's recommended to purchase a used projector, or if there are some things I should be weary of). I've got some time to decide and test the projector as well. Any advice would be very appreciated! Thanks

(looks like the first thing I should do when I get it is make sure the FW is updated, lol)
CpHaAiOnS is offline  
post #3429 of 3736 Old 10-03-2014, 10:36 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 0
For 3x the price of the 8350, I'd sure hope it beats it hands down
FeNoX is offline  
post #3430 of 3736 Old 10-06-2014, 06:40 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
42Plasmaman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 5,022
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 37
Quote:
Originally Posted by CpHaAiOnS View Post
Just purchased the Epson 5010 for $1,300 (w/ new lamp, but missing remote). I've been in the market for a decent projector.. (Went from an acer h5370bd, to an acer h6510bd, recently to an optoma hd141x, and now to this projector)

I realize this is a step up into the nicer realm of projection and wanted to hear if I made a good decision (I realize it's a better picture.. I want to know if it's recommended to purchase a used projector, or if there are some things I should be weary of). I've got some time to decide and test the projector as well. Any advice would be very appreciated! Thanks

(looks like the first thing I should do when I get it is make sure the FW is updated, lol)
You got a new bulb so that's a good start.

If the projector is working, I would not update the FW.
Matter of fact, if you are having no issues with the projector, you may not want to look for them or you may forever go down the path to achieve a perfect picture.

2016
42Plasmaman is offline  
post #3431 of 3736 Old 10-06-2014, 12:50 PM
Member
 
CpHaAiOnS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 164
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 61 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by 42Plasmaman View Post
You got a new bulb so that's a good start.

If the projector is working, I would not update the FW.
Matter of fact, if you are having no issues with the projector, you may not want to look for them or you may forever go down the path to achieve a perfect picture.
I think I'm just going to return it.. I've decided paying $1300 for a used projector is too big of a risk when you can get a Sony VPL-HW40ES for $1900. Thanks for the input though
CpHaAiOnS is offline  
post #3432 of 3736 Old 10-16-2014, 09:02 AM
Member
 
sfatula's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Calera, OK
Posts: 85
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Has anyone ever succeeded in getting the serial command 3DIMENSION? to work on their projector? It just returns ERR for me. I can set 3DIMENSION options per the serial commands guide, but, can not retrieve the current settings.
sfatula is offline  
post #3433 of 3736 Old 10-17-2014, 04:51 AM
Newbie
 
flinke flasche's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Laupheim - Germany
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by sfatula View Post
Has anyone ever succeeded in getting the serial command 3DIMENSION? to work on their projector? It just returns ERR for me. I can set 3DIMENSION options per the serial commands guide, but, can not retrieve the current settings.
Hi i use Demopad for the serial Command to send, but it must be the same for irule or any other Software.

I think the code to send 3D Format is:
3Dimension 03 01
3Dimension 03 02
3Dimension 03 03
3Dimension 03 04

For brightness you change the 03 with 05 and 02 for 3D Conversion.
I can Look After work if this is correct, but you can also test it.


The Feedback Code ist:
- 3DIMENSION? 03 (for 3D Format)
- 3DIMENSION? 05 (for brightness)
- 3DIMENSION? 02 (3D Conversion)

But the Epson give only the same feedback commend back.
There is no difference between the 03, 05 and 02.
(3DIMENSION? 03, 3DIMENSION? 05, 3DIMENSION? 02):
- 3DIMENSION=00
- 3DIMENSION=01
- 3DIMENSION=02
- 3DIMENSION=03
and so on.
flinke flasche is offline  
post #3434 of 3736 Old 10-17-2014, 08:10 AM
Member
 
sfatula's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Calera, OK
Posts: 85
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by flinke flasche View Post
Hi i use Demopad for the serial Command to send, but it must be the same for irule or any other Software.

I think the code to send 3D Format is:
3Dimension 03 01
3Dimension 03 02
3Dimension 03 03
3Dimension 03 04

For brightness you change the 03 with 05 and 02 for 3D Conversion.
I can Look After work if this is correct, but you can also test it.


The Feedback Code ist:
- 3DIMENSION? 03 (for 3D Format)
- 3DIMENSION? 05 (for brightness)
- 3DIMENSION? 02 (3D Conversion)

But the Epson give only the same feedback commend back.
There is no difference between the 03, 05 and 02.
(3DIMENSION? 03, 3DIMENSION? 05, 3DIMENSION? 02):
- 3DIMENSION=00
- 3DIMENSION=01
- 3DIMENSION=02
- 3DIMENSION=03
and so on.
3DIMENSION? 03\x0D does indeed return the 3D Format. Thanks!
sfatula is offline  
post #3435 of 3736 Old 10-25-2014, 01:17 PM
Senior Member
 
Gil Arroyo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: SEATTLE, WA
Posts: 328
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 87 Post(s)
Liked: 33
Detail enhancement firmware upgrade

There is a "Detail Enhancement" upgrade available from Epson identified as V111 is probably the
4K simulation (pixel wiggle). It is intended for the 5030 and warn that is should not be installed
in other projectors.
I wonder if the firmware will work with the 5010? Is anyone brave enough to try it?
My guess is that it is similar to the same pixel manipulation used for the new LS10000 laser projector.
gil
Gil Arroyo is offline  
post #3436 of 3736 Old 10-25-2014, 05:03 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Kilgore's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Huntsville Ontario
Posts: 3,842
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 729 Post(s)
Liked: 440
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gil Arroyo View Post
There is a "Detail Enhancement" upgrade available from Epson identified as V111 is probably the
4K simulation (pixel wiggle). It is intended for the 5030 and warn that is should not be installed
in other projectors.
I wonder if the firmware will work with the 5010? Is anyone brave enough to try it?
My guess is that it is similar to the same pixel manipulation used for the new LS10000 laser projector.
gil

Epson specifies that it is for the 6030, 5030, and 4030 models. Trying it in your 5010 is probably not a smart thing to do. Nothing may happen. Or you could brick your expensive PJ. I'm sure that if it worked for prior models, Epson would say so.
Kilgore is offline  
post #3437 of 3736 Old 10-27-2014, 05:31 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
wnielsenbb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Phoenix AZ
Posts: 2,084
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 28
I would put the odds of bricking it at 99.9%.
wnielsenbb is offline  
post #3438 of 3736 Old 10-27-2014, 09:45 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Kilgore's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Huntsville Ontario
Posts: 3,842
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 729 Post(s)
Liked: 440
Quote:
Originally Posted by wnielsenbb View Post
I would put the odds of bricking it at 99.9%.

...give or take 0.1%.
Kilgore is offline  
post #3439 of 3736 Old 11-01-2014, 09:15 PM
Member
 
tvanslooten's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Twin Cities, MN
Posts: 86
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Where is the best place to buy OEM replacement bulbs for the 5010 - that is cheaper than what Epson is selling them for (currently $299). I found some OEM stuff on eBay but I'm always leery I'll buy one and it will be a dud. Maybe I should just pony up and pay the $300.

On another note, I thought I would update my earlier post. My local repair center ended up trying to make several repairs as the cinema filter fix didn't work. After 4 weeks of trying to get it fixed (and failing), they gave up and sent it to Epson. 4 weeks later Epson sent the projector back to the repair center all fixed and ready to go. Apparently it was multiple things...the power supply, the cinema filter, and some other part had to replaced. It sounded like they basically rebuilt the projector.

I complained to the repair center that I shouldn't have had to wait 2 months to get my projector fixed when they promised me it would "only" be 4 weeks and that it was specifically the cinema filter. They agreed and ate all the costs I literally didn't have to pay for anything. While I was very pleased with that it was a long 2 months to go without a projector. It was painful but all is good (for now at least). If this machine dies this time around I may jump up to a JVC and be done with upgrading to projectors for a while.

Travis
tvanslooten is offline  
post #3440 of 3736 Old 11-03-2014, 08:23 AM
Member
 
dlambermont's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 38
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Overheating on ECO mode??

Trying to troubleshoot what might be going on with my 5010. Starting about 6 weeks ago, I'd be watching something and the picture would just shut off. Lens door stayed open, blue light flashing in the same way it does on startup. It would usually take me about 45 min of unplugging, trying to restart, etc before it would finally come back on. At first it was happening once a week or so, then more often.

When it won't start back up, I'll turn it on, blue light flashes, about 30 seconds later I hear something firing up, the fan kicks on for about 3 seconds, then the fan shuts back off and the blue flashing light stays forever.

When the "cutoff" happens, it always seems to be about 15 min after I turn the projector on. Even though I'm not getting a heat or bulb indicator, I started wondering about overheating when the projector shutoff about 5 min after I switched from Dynamic mode to Cinema mode. Made the switch, the fan stopped after a minute or so as expected, and a couple min later the projector shutoff. After that one, I couldn't get it re-started for over 24 hours. Left it unplugged overnight, and still nothing. I just kept messing with it, and eventually it came back on.

For the last few days, to test my theory I've been running in Dynamic mode to keep the fan on all the time. So far so good. I'm out of warranty (barely) and Epson has refused a replacement even though this projector is my FOUTH refurb and I'd only had it for 3 months when the problem started. Taking it in for repair seems a waste of time as long as it is an intermittent problem.

Anyway, after all that rambling, does this sound like it could be an overheating problem? I'm thinking it isn't just a firmware issue since, as I mentioned, it is a "new" refurb with the latest version already installed. The fans/air filter were totally clean, I'm at a loss.
dlambermont is offline  
post #3441 of 3736 Old 11-03-2014, 09:45 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
drhankz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 6,650
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 143 Post(s)
Liked: 94
Quote:
Originally Posted by dlambermont View Post
Trying to troubleshoot what might be going on with my 5010. Starting about 6 weeks ago, I'd be watching something and the picture would just shut off. Lens door stayed open, blue light flashing in the same way it does on startup. It would usually take me about 45 min of unplugging, trying to restart, etc before it would finally come back on. At first it was happening once a week or so, then more often.

When it won't start back up, I'll turn it on, blue light flashes, about 30 seconds later I hear something firing up, the fan kicks on for about 3 seconds, then the fan shuts back off and the blue flashing light stays forever.

When the "cutoff" happens, it always seems to be about 15 min after I turn the projector on. Even though I'm not getting a heat or bulb indicator, I started wondering about overheating when the projector shutoff about 5 min after I switched from Dynamic mode to Cinema mode. Made the switch, the fan stopped after a minute or so as expected, and a couple min later the projector shutoff. After that one, I couldn't get it re-started for over 24 hours. Left it unplugged overnight, and still nothing. I just kept messing with it, and eventually it came back on.

For the last few days, to test my theory I've been running in Dynamic mode to keep the fan on all the time. So far so good. I'm out of warranty (barely) and Epson has refused a replacement even though this projector is my FOUTH refurb and I'd only had it for 3 months when the problem started. Taking it in for repair seems a waste of time as long as it is an intermittent problem.

Anyway, after all that rambling, does this sound like it could be an overheating problem? I'm thinking it isn't just a firmware issue since, as I mentioned, it is a "new" refurb with the latest version already installed. The fans/air filter were totally clean, I'm at a loss.
Try the NEW FIRMWARE - Mine went Dead as a Door Nail
and the New Firmware brought it back to life. If you can
not find it --- PM me.
drhankz is offline  
post #3442 of 3736 Old 11-03-2014, 10:24 AM
Member
 
dlambermont's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 38
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by drhankz View Post
Try the NEW FIRMWARE - Mine went Dead as a Door Nail
and the New Firmware brought it back to life. If you can
not find it --- PM me.
Thanks. I'm already running the latest firmware (1.09). This refurb was just sent to me in June.
dlambermont is offline  
post #3443 of 3736 Old 11-04-2014, 01:17 AM
Senior Member
 
ashyt16's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 218
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 58 Post(s)
Liked: 35
Quote:
Originally Posted by dlambermont View Post
Thanks. I'm already running the latest firmware (1.09). This refurb was just sent to me in June.
The thing is if you put the pj in dynamic mode you are running the bulb at full brightness and thus generating more heat.
Put it back on eco and then enable high altitude mode and see how that goes.

If it is the sensor that is faulty it is fairly easy to change.
ashyt16 is offline  
post #3444 of 3736 Old 11-06-2014, 12:19 PM
Member
 
dlambermont's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 38
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by ashyt16 View Post
The thing is if you put the pj in dynamic mode you are running the bulb at full brightness and thus generating more heat.
Put it back on eco and then enable high altitude mode and see how that goes.

If it is the sensor that is faulty it is fairly easy to change.
Well, it ran for a couple days in ECO with high altitude on. Not sure what that tells me, but so far so good.
dlambermont is offline  
post #3445 of 3736 Old 11-06-2014, 12:49 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
drhankz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 6,650
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 143 Post(s)
Liked: 94
Quote:
Originally Posted by dlambermont View Post
Thanks. I'm already running the latest firmware (1.09). This refurb was just sent to me in June.
YOU DO NOT HAVE THE LATEST FIRMWARE

Latest is 1.11
drhankz is offline  
post #3446 of 3736 Old 11-06-2014, 09:10 PM
Member
 
AVMax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Texas
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by drhankz View Post
YOU DO NOT HAVE THE LATEST FIRMWARE

Latest is 1.11
I didn't realize there was a new firmware update for the Epson 5010 higher than version 1.09 of which I'm running on mine for about the last 9 months. I've heard there is a v. 1.11 for the 5030.

Could you please elaborate on the features or changes in version 1.11 for the 5010? Any information would be greatly appreciated as it seems hard to get detailed information from Epson regarding the differences between their firmware revisions.
AVMax is offline  
post #3447 of 3736 Old 11-07-2014, 04:26 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
drhankz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 6,650
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 143 Post(s)
Liked: 94
Quote:
Originally Posted by AVMax View Post
I didn't realize there was a new firmware update for the Epson 5010 higher than version 1.09 of which I'm running on mine for about the last 9 months. I've heard there is a v. 1.11 for the 5030.

Could you please elaborate on the features or changes in version 1.11 for the 5010? Any information would be greatly appreciated as it seems hard to get detailed information from Epson regarding the differences between their firmware revisions.
I have NO CLUE what was changed - I TO - was also running
version 1.09 for more than a year - THEN MY 5010 DIED.

I called Epson - Got a hold of a Senior Tech - He SAID: We
have a NEW VERSION which might fix your problem..

I SAID: I will give it a TRY before I send my 5010 in for REPAIR.

I TRIED version 1.11 and my PJ not only came BACK to LIFE,

BUT THE PICTURE QUALITY WAS IMPROVED for a 3 year old PJ.
drhankz is offline  
post #3448 of 3736 Old 11-07-2014, 05:22 AM
Member
 
AVMax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Texas
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by drhankz View Post
I have NO CLUE what was changed - I TO - was also running
version 1.09 for more than a year - THEN MY 5010 DIED.

I called Epson - Got a hold of a Senior Tech - He SAID: We
have a NEW VERSION which might fix your problem..

I SAID: I will give it a TRY before I send my 5010 in for REPAIR.

I TRIED version 1.11 and my PJ not only came BACK to LIFE,

BUT THE PICTURE QUALITY WAS IMPROVED for a 3 year old PJ.
Great to hear. Like I said, I always try to keep all of my upgradable electronics updated with current firmware. The way I look at it, the manufacturers wouldn't create it if there wasn't a good reason for it. Thanks
AVMax is offline  
post #3449 of 3736 Old 11-07-2014, 10:49 PM
Senior Member
 
xplorar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 252
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 62 Post(s)
Liked: 27
Quote:
Originally Posted by drhankz View Post
I TRIED version 1.11 and my PJ not only came BACK to LIFE,
BUT THE PICTURE QUALITY WAS IMPROVED for a 3 year old PJ.
Wait..what? how?
xplorar is offline  
post #3450 of 3736 Old 11-08-2014, 02:22 AM
Senior Member
 
ashyt16's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 218
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 58 Post(s)
Liked: 35
Quote:
Originally Posted by drhankz View Post
I have NO CLUE what was changed - I TO - was also running
version 1.09 for more than a year - THEN MY 5010 DIED.

I called Epson - Got a hold of a Senior Tech - He SAID: We
have a NEW VERSION which might fix your problem..

I SAID: I will give it a TRY before I send my 5010 in for REPAIR.

I TRIED version 1.11 and my PJ not only came BACK to LIFE,


BUT THE PICTURE QUALITY WAS IMPROVED for a 3 year old PJ.
Where is this new firmware? If you have it why not share with the rest of us?
sparky7 likes this.
ashyt16 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Digital Projectors - Under $3,000 USD MSRP

Tags
Cpu Fan , Epson 5010 Powerlite Home Cinema 3d Front Projector , Epson Powerlite Home Cinema 8350 , Epson Powerlite Pro Cinema 6010 Projector , Projectors

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off