Official Epson PowerLite Home Cinema 5010 / 6010 thread - Page 123 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 33Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #3661 of 3699 Old 04-09-2017, 08:03 PM
Advanced Member
 
seplant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Fort Wayne, IN, USA
Posts: 845
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 338 Post(s)
Liked: 144
Quote:
Originally Posted by saintblues View Post
Hi i need some help,

ive had my Epson 5030ub for about 3 years. was running fine until last week.
I purchased this projector new as part of my home theater build. As of today it had about 4200 hours on it (original bulb). I had just bought a new bulb as i knew it was going to be requiring a replacement soon. It's been working perfectly for the time ive owned it, until a week ago where it simply died. This is what happened:

The error occurred like this:
1. I pushed the standby button twice as normal on the remote to turnoff the projector after watching for about 2 hours.
2. Suddenly i heard something inside the projector rumble really loudly, a sound i had never heard before. It was not the sound of the auto iris adjusting as ive heard that many times. it was a different noise. Then the temp light started flashing bright red and status light blue and simultaneously the fan went to overdrive and started blowing air like crazy. (im not sure if i heard a little pop sound in the moment but maybe there was maybe there wasn't).
3. The projector then turned itself off after about 20 seconds etc.
4. I switched it off from the power assuming it would be okay the next morning and probably that it just needed a replacement bulb which i knew was needing to be changed. So i went to sleep.
5. next morning i found one my fuse in my house was tripped however the surge protector i had the projector plugged into was fine. i turned on the fuse and I then went to turn the projector on from the remote and then this --->
"power light" remains off, all i was getting was a flashing orange "lamp light" and a flashing blue "status light" which according to the manual indicates an internal error / malfunction with the projector (contact epson for help). The unit is powered but nothing at all happens. The projector will not turn on.
6. i tried the new bulb just to see if that was the issue but no help there. so its definitely not a bulb issue.

i rang EPSON who forwarded me onto one of their repairers who is telling me that the entire optical engine and mainboard needs to be replaced and that i am looking in the "thousands" to get it fixed. He says there isnt any issue with the power supply etc.

I am out of warranty but this is a catastrophic major failure, what are my chances regarding getting any help from EPSON? I mean i dont want to pay thousands to get this fixed and neither do i want to take out thousands of more dollars to buy an entirely new projector.

has any owners of the Epson 5010, 5020, 5025, 5030 or even 5040 owners know anything about this? Please help
You might have the cinema filter issue. My 6010 had it. It made a grinding noise, then the error lights flashed, fan ran on high, then it shut down and would not start back up. It cost only about $200 to have it fixed. Took the repair shop about an hour, then it worked like new. See the thread on this subject here.
seplant is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #3662 of 3699 Old 04-09-2017, 08:04 PM
Senior Member
 
Edgar_in_Indy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Indianapolis
Posts: 423
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 76 Post(s)
Liked: 54
Did you pay for it with a credit card? Some credit cards automatically extend the manufacturer's warranty. I used the process about a year ago and on my Visa card and they paid to replace a Samsung TV that was out of warranty.

__________________________________________________ ___________________________
My home theater gallery Epson 5010 Projector, 133" Cinemascope Screen, Klipsch RF-7, Tuba HT
Edgar_in_Indy is offline  
post #3663 of 3699 Old 04-09-2017, 08:09 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 40
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Thanks for that i will let my repairer know about this. Any other suggestions or ideas as to what it can be?

can an entire optical engine and mainboard simply die like that or is my repairer just doing what they all do which is to swap out the main two parts?

Thanks
saintblues is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #3664 of 3699 Old 04-09-2017, 08:11 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 40
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by Edgar_in_Indy View Post
Did you pay for it with a credit card? Some credit cards automatically extend the manufacturer's warranty. I used the process about a year ago and on my Visa card and they paid to replace a Samsung TV that was out of warranty.
Hi,

no i paid via paypal unfortunately....
saintblues is offline  
post #3665 of 3699 Old 04-19-2017, 08:27 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 40
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 14
hi guys, quick update

went to turn off my 5030ub, it rumbled (not a normal sound), temp light turned on then the fan sped up like crazy, and then the projector turned itself off. It Tripped one of the fuses to my house which i had to go an turn on again from the main fuseboard.

now when i turned it on my Epson 5030ub has the flashing lamp light and the flashing status light indicating an internal error and nothing will turn on except for the two flashing lights.

I opened the main top cover off and turned it on again and just let it flash away and then boom a POP sound from the right hand side powerboard area where all the capacitors are (from the power supply board). some smoke rose from that area too until i plugged the power out.

what is going on?
saintblues is offline  
post #3666 of 3699 Old 04-22-2017, 03:22 PM
Senior Member
 
Edgar_in_Indy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Indianapolis
Posts: 423
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 76 Post(s)
Liked: 54
Quote:
Originally Posted by saintblues View Post
hi guys, quick update

went to turn off my 5030ub, it rumbled (not a normal sound), temp light turned on then the fan sped up like crazy, and then the projector turned itself off. It Tripped one of the fuses to my house which i had to go an turn on again from the main fuseboard.

now when i turned it on my Epson 5030ub has the flashing lamp light and the flashing status light indicating an internal error and nothing will turn on except for the two flashing lights.

I opened the main top cover off and turned it on again and just let it flash away and then boom a POP sound from the right hand side powerboard area where all the capacitors are (from the power supply board). some smoke rose from that area too until i plugged the power out.

what is going on?
I know it's not what you want to hear, but that sounds to me like the definition of a dead projector. Unless you have an electrical engineer handy who wants to take on a challenge, then your best option might be to sell it for parts. Might be able to get at least $200-$300 back that way.

True, that money wouldn't go very far towards a new projector, but you could get a used Epson 5010 or Panasonic PT-AE8000U used for $800-$900. You could stay with that for a couple more years while the 4K projectors come down in price. Either one would have very similar picture quality to your 5030, even if the 5030 was a tad bit better.

__________________________________________________ ___________________________
My home theater gallery Epson 5010 Projector, 133" Cinemascope Screen, Klipsch RF-7, Tuba HT
Edgar_in_Indy is offline  
post #3667 of 3699 Old 04-24-2017, 09:47 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 40
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by Edgar_in_Indy View Post
I know it's not what you want to hear, but that sounds to me like the definition of a dead projector. Unless you have an electrical engineer handy who wants to take on a challenge, then your best option might be to sell it for parts. Might be able to get at least $200-$300 back that way.

True, that money wouldn't go very far towards a new projector, but you could get a used Epson 5010 or Panasonic PT-AE8000U used for $800-$900. You could stay with that for a couple more years while the 4K projectors come down in price. Either one would have very similar picture quality to your 5030, even if the 5030 was a tad bit better.
ive opened the unit up inside and the culprit looks like the Power supply. full burn marks on the underside of the PSU PCB board. the black protective layer the covers the psu board also has significantly visible burn marks.

only problem is it worth replacing the PSU with a new one? it seems highly likely this is what the cause was.

only issue is if the already dead psu fried my projectors motherboard then it wont likely work and ill be down almost $200.

thoughts?
saintblues is offline  
post #3668 of 3699 Old 04-25-2017, 04:31 AM
Senior Member
 
Edgar_in_Indy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Indianapolis
Posts: 423
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 76 Post(s)
Liked: 54
Quote:
Originally Posted by saintblues View Post
ive opened the unit up inside and the culprit looks like the Power supply. full burn marks on the underside of the PSU PCB board. the black protective layer the covers the psu board also has significantly visible burn marks.

only problem is it worth replacing the PSU with a new one? it seems highly likely this is what the cause was.

only issue is if the already dead psu fried my projectors motherboard then it wont likely work and ill be down almost $200.

thoughts?
So have you found a source for the power supply? Unless the part is very inexpensive, I would be very hesitant to put any money into this thing. Like you said, who knows what else may have been damaged.

I checked eBay just now to see what a dead projector might go for. I didn't find a 5030, but this 5020 with a dead main board was bid up to $455 + $30 shipping:

http://www.ebay.com/itm/Epson-PowerL...p2047675.l2557

That's more than I expected, and I don't know if you could get that much, but who knows. But I think you would get at least $200-$300. That still seems like a better option to me than risking throwing good money after bad.

__________________________________________________ ___________________________
My home theater gallery Epson 5010 Projector, 133" Cinemascope Screen, Klipsch RF-7, Tuba HT
Edgar_in_Indy is offline  
post #3669 of 3699 Old 04-26-2017, 04:52 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 40
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by Edgar_in_Indy View Post
So have you found a source for the power supply? Unless the part is very inexpensive, I would be very hesitant to put any money into this thing. Like you said, who knows what else may have been damaged.

I checked eBay just now to see what a dead projector might go for. I didn't find a 5030, but this 5020 with a dead main board was bid up to $455 + $30 shipping:

http://www.ebay.com/itm/Epson-PowerL...p2047675.l2557

That's more than I expected, and I don't know if you could get that much, but who knows. But I think you would get at least $200-$300. That still seems like a better option to me than risking throwing good money after bad.
its 200 in my country but i checked online and i came across epson authorised distributor over in India and itll only cost me $100 + shipping if i get it from there

may just get it from there. the estimated delivery time either way is 1 week

glad to know i may be able to get some money back if i sell it on ebay
saintblues is offline  
post #3670 of 3699 Old 05-22-2017, 06:59 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 40
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Hey everyone, got the replacement PSU, ripped the entire projector into bits. literally gave everything a clean and put it all back in with the new power supply unit and what do you know. back working beautifully!!!!!

cant believe epsons repairer said it was unfixable.. some of these guys literally work for money. fixed it myself, will be righting up a detailed post hopefully when i get some time!

thanks for everyones help!

most of epsons projectors all use the same PSU so this could be relevant to many epson projector models as well as the newer 5040ub thats just been released.
xplorar, old corps and berstuck like this.
saintblues is offline  
post #3671 of 3699 Old 05-22-2017, 07:06 PM
Senior Member
 
Edgar_in_Indy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Indianapolis
Posts: 423
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 76 Post(s)
Liked: 54
Quote:
Originally Posted by saintblues View Post
Hey everyone, got the replacement PSU, ripped the entire projector into bits. literally gave everything a clean and put it all back in with the new power supply unit and what do you know. back working beautifully!!!!!

cant believe epsons repairer said it was unfixable.. some of these guys literally work for money. fixed it myself, will be righting up a detailed post hopefully when i get some time!

thanks for everyones help!

most of epsons projectors all use the same PSU so this could be relevant to many epson projector models as well as the newer 5040ub thats just been released.
Awesome news! It's always a good feeling when you save yourself a big chunk of change by jumping in and fixing something yourself!

__________________________________________________ ___________________________
My home theater gallery Epson 5010 Projector, 133" Cinemascope Screen, Klipsch RF-7, Tuba HT
Edgar_in_Indy is offline  
post #3672 of 3699 Old 05-22-2017, 08:36 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 40
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by Edgar_in_Indy View Post
Awesome news! It's always a good feeling when you save yourself a big chunk of change by jumping in and fixing something yourself!
yup, relevant to you to since i see you have the 5010 which uses the same PSU. so if you ever have the same issue you should be good to go
saintblues is offline  
post #3673 of 3699 Old 05-23-2017, 04:21 AM
Senior Member
 
Edgar_in_Indy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Indianapolis
Posts: 423
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 76 Post(s)
Liked: 54
Quote:
Originally Posted by saintblues View Post
yup, relevant to you to since i see you have the 5010 which uses the same PSU. so if you ever have the same issue you should be good to go
I actually changed to the Panasonic PT-AE8000U a while back for the lens-memory features since I have a "scope" screen, but I still have some family members running Epsons, and my next PJ will very likely be the Epson 5040UB since Epson has finally added their own power-lens features.

__________________________________________________ ___________________________
My home theater gallery Epson 5010 Projector, 133" Cinemascope Screen, Klipsch RF-7, Tuba HT
Edgar_in_Indy is offline  
post #3674 of 3699 Old 06-28-2017, 11:17 PM
Senior Member
 
xplorar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 252
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 62 Post(s)
Liked: 27
My 5010 (purchased in 2012) had been running fine till now but is now exhibiting problems-

After turning on, it shuts down by itself in about 10 mins with two blinking red lights.
I pull plug off the mains to do a power re-cycle. After turning on, again it shuts down by itself in about 20 mins with two blinking red lights.
I pull plug off the mains to do a power re-cycle again. This time projector runs without problem for the entire movie (2 hrs +).

I am not sure what has gone wrong. Why the problem goes away after 2 power cycles? Actually problem started with one auto turn off but now it has become two.

What can I do from my end? I tried re-seating the bulb, but that didn't change anything. Maybe I will give that a try again.

Could a firmware update help here?
xplorar is offline  
post #3675 of 3699 Old 08-02-2017, 01:42 PM
Member
 
Toronto122's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Just got a 6010

So I used to have an 8350, but I just wasn't happy with the quality. So, I was lurking a local buy and sell site, and someone had a 6010 for sale for $900 Canadian. With two sets of glasses a spare bulb.

I promptly picked it up, went home, plugged it in to check throw distance, with m 8350 still up, and the no signal message showed up on both units, well I can tell you, the 6010 DESTROYS the 8350 for brightness. To say nothing of blacks and just overall picture quality. It's amazing. Even in Eco mode on a white screen I can sit here, as I am right now, and surf the web with the lights on and the windows open!!!

I'm soooooo Impressed. I can't wait for my new 120" Antra fixed screen to get here next week. This 100" pull down is so wavy it's ridiculous!

I can't imagine a better projector for the money.

Also, if anyone has a link to calibration, I'd really appreciate it....

Thanks
sparky7 likes this.
Toronto122 is offline  
post #3676 of 3699 Old 12-12-2017, 10:05 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
powerlite 5010e Blue error flashing

Hi the first time I have ever used a forum but here goes.I have an imported powerlite 5010e that has a strange fault, plug in press the power standby switch on the side of the unit it starts up the functions, you can here all is okay until the front lens shutter opens just before the lamp is to fire up, the lens shutter motor continues to run and despite the leaf switch having closed contacts and telling the projector it is fully open trigger the lamp it does not stop.Then the front flap closes and error leds flash.Please note I have tried this board on another working projector of the same type and the same thing happens so the fault is on the mother board.I guess I could try a firmware update but I do not have the firmware can anyone please advise.
shirleyw is offline  
post #3677 of 3699 Old 06-12-2018, 04:44 PM
Newbie
 
hack_the_planet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 16
MY 5010 recently started giving me two blinking red lights (temp and bulb). Any suggestions for things to try? I am in San Francisco and the repair center nearby doesn't seem like they'll be super-responsive. Any help deeply appreciated.
hack_the_planet is offline  
post #3678 of 3699 Old 08-21-2018, 07:14 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Location: California
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 3
Does anyone have an active dropbox link for the latest 6010 firmware? Thanks!
svpdog likes this.
dfhawk is offline  
post #3679 of 3699 Old 08-22-2018, 07:01 AM
Member
 
jschwartz73's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Fort Lauderdale, FL
Posts: 33
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by dfhawk View Post
Does anyone have an active dropbox link for the latest 6010 firmware? Thanks!
I'm interested in the latest firmware also
svpdog likes this.
jschwartz73 is offline  
post #3680 of 3699 Old 09-02-2018, 04:47 AM
Member
 
svpdog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by jschwartz73 View Post
I'm interested in the latest firmware also
I would be interested in a firmware update as well. I called Epson customer service and they tell me one is not available.
svpdog is offline  
post #3681 of 3699 Old 09-02-2018, 04:47 AM
Member
 
svpdog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by jschwartz73 View Post
I'm interested in the latest firmware also
I would be interested in a firmware update as well. I called Epson customer service and they tell me one is not available.
svpdog is offline  
post #3682 of 3699 Old 09-02-2018, 09:33 AM
Senior Member
 
pankov's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Sofia, Bulgaria
Posts: 253
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Here
https://www.dropbox.com/sh/m54rcx2e5...I_0O4xXDa?dl=0
you can find all the firmware versions I've collected during the years.
I don't have the projector (TW9000, because I live in Europe) any more and I'm not 100% sure I've tried the latest one (v110) because it might have been for a newer revision of the hardware than mine but I've used v109 for a long time and it was working fine.

!!! USE AT YOUR OWN RISK !!!
pankov is offline  
post #3683 of 3699 Old 09-03-2018, 12:48 PM
Member
 
jschwartz73's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Fort Lauderdale, FL
Posts: 33
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by pankov View Post
Here
https://www.dropbox.com/sh/m54rcx2e5...I_0O4xXDa?dl=0
you can find all the firmware versions I've collected during the years.
I don't have the projector (TW9000, because I live in Europe) any more and I'm not 100% sure I've tried the latest one (v110) because it might have been for a newer revision of the hardware than mine but I've used v109 for a long time and it was working fine.

!!! USE AT YOUR OWN RISK !!!
Thank you! I will try to install tonight.
jschwartz73 is offline  
post #3684 of 3699 Old 11-02-2018, 03:28 PM
Member
 
Toronto122's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Hello all!
I've got a 6010 and I love it, EXCEPT the Frame Interpolation.
It seems to skip frames. Does that make any sense at all?? Usually on dark scenes. It seems to stutter.
I'm using and HTPC with pretty decent specs as my main source, and it's all running through a Denon AVR-X4300h receiver.
The one and only thing I can think of as being a possible culprit is the 25' HDMI cable. BUT, according to the specs it should be more than capable of handling 1080p over that distance.

I like the frame interpolation setting at low because it seems to make the movies more cinema like. My wife likes it too.
Is there anything I can do about it??
Thanks for your help.
Oh, and if anyone has detailed calibration settings for a dark room that would be greatly appreciated!!
Also, I'm running firmware version v103. What does the newer firmware offer? I can't find a thing about it on the web.
Thank you all!

Last edited by Toronto122; 11-02-2018 at 03:49 PM.
Toronto122 is offline  
post #3685 of 3699 Old 11-02-2018, 05:46 PM
Member
 
Toronto122's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by jschwartz73 View Post
Thank you! I will try to install tonight.
Did you ever try the install for the firmware update for the 6010??
Did it work??
Any idea what the firmware upgrade includes??
Thanks!
Toronto122 is offline  
post #3686 of 3699 Old 11-08-2018, 07:24 AM
Member
 
jschwartz73's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Fort Lauderdale, FL
Posts: 33
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toronto122 View Post
Did you ever try the install for the firmware update for the 6010??
Did it work??
Any idea what the firmware upgrade includes??
Thanks!
Hey Toronto122 - I didn't. I ended up buying the JVC DLA-RS540U once it came down in price. I'm super happy with it!
jschwartz73 is offline  
post #3687 of 3699 Old 12-30-2018, 09:45 AM
Newbie
 
hack_the_planet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Just a friendly note for folks with the 5010: I had an issue where the projector would not power on. The firmware update that I got by calling Epson support resolved the issue 100%. It may not fix your problem, but if you're having trouble getting your 5010 to turn on, please try the firmware update before sending it in for repair. I received the firmware update on June 12th 2018, so don't let them tell you they don't have it.

Also, if you are in California, electronics manufacturers are required to make parts available to authorized repair centers for items worth more than $100 for 7 years. If they don't do this, they may be required to purchase it back from you.
sparky7 likes this.
hack_the_planet is offline  
post #3688 of 3699 Old 04-26-2019, 06:16 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Color banding help 5010

Hoping that someone might have come across a fix for this, I've done quite a bit of searching but couldn't find anything conclusive pertaining to my exact issue.
I have a 5010e that has some color banding on the the left and right side of the screen. I've seen some threads talking about a possible glass adjustments in front of the lamp. thought I would reach out to other users before trying my hand at it.

I recently bought the projector used and the previous owner couldn't tell me any info on the lamp except that he hardly used it and It could be original... when I fired up for the first time the lamp hours were at 147 so I highly doubt it been original.

my first thought was this could be caused by an inexpensive lamp replacement? poor quality glass used in enclosure?

any thoughts or wisdom would be greatly appreciated!

Cheers,
Chad
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_3406.jpg
Views:	19
Size:	79.1 KB
ID:	2558634  
Chad McClymonds is offline  
post #3689 of 3699 Old 04-26-2019, 10:31 PM
Senior Member
 
berstuck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Valley Springs, CA
Posts: 214
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 72 Post(s)
Liked: 52
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chad McClymonds View Post
Hoping that someone might have come across a fix for this, I've done quite a bit of searching but couldn't find anything conclusive pertaining to my exact issue.
I have a 5010e that has some color banding on the the left and right side of the screen. I've seen some threads talking about a possible glass adjustments in front of the lamp. thought I would reach out to other users before trying my hand at it.

I recently bought the projector used and the previous owner couldn't tell me any info on the lamp except that he hardly used it and It could be original... when I fired up for the first time the lamp hours were at 147 so I highly doubt it been original.

my first thought was this could be caused by an inexpensive lamp replacement? poor quality glass used in enclosure?

any thoughts or wisdom would be greatly appreciated!

Cheers,
Chad
I'm having a hard time seeing it in your images, but on the right side it looks kind of like the panels aren't aligned. Have you tried doing a panell alignment in the pj setup yet? It's relatively quick and easy once you get a hang of it. Hopefully that's all it is anyways, and not something expensive to repair.
berstuck is offline  
post #3690 of 3699 Old 04-27-2019, 12:51 AM
Senior Member
 
ashyt16's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 206
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 42 Post(s)
Liked: 34
While I can see what it is you're referring too, that's not a very good image.
Image also needs to be clearer and closer.

Put the alignment pattern on so we can see the alignment.
I think I also get something similar though not as bad because of the amount of realignment I had to do to get the picture right. It wasn't good out of the box.

Try turning off the alignment and see if it remains.
ashyt16 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Digital Projectors - Under $3,000 USD MSRP

Tags
Cpu Fan , Epson 5010 Powerlite Home Cinema 3d Front Projector , Epson Powerlite Home Cinema 8350 , Epson Powerlite Pro Cinema 6010 Projector , Projectors

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off