BenQ W1070 : DLP Full HD, 3D Ready with lens-shift for 1000$ - Page 377 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 3464Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #11281 of 12131 Old 06-11-2015, 02:13 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Rew452's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 1,208
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 197 Post(s)
Liked: 85
SmartEco gives longest hours on paper and also most of the brightness of Normal. I've used it for almost 2 years and it works pretty good.

Cheers

Rew
Vizio PX75-G1 | Vizio P75-C1 | Denon AVR-X4500H | OPPO UDP-203 | Tivo Bolt+| Nvidia Shield Android TV | Roku Ultra | Apple TV 4k | C =Axiom VP150 |FL/FR =Axiom M60 |SL/SR =Axiom QS8 |TFL/TFR =Bose 161 | TRL/TRR =Bose 161 | Sub =Reaction Audio S-15 500W SEALED SUBWOOFER
Rew452 is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #11282 of 12131 Old 06-11-2015, 02:30 PM
Advanced Member
 
gonzo90017's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 506
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 43 Post(s)
Liked: 20
That's very surprising to here. I use my pj about 90% of the time to watch sports. I wonder if that makes a difference in eco vs smarteco?

But if Smarteco will give me the longer bulb life. Even though I watch mostly sports. I'll gladly take the extra brightness.

Last edited by gonzo90017; 06-11-2015 at 02:38 PM.
gonzo90017 is offline  
post #11283 of 12131 Old 06-12-2015, 02:09 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Movie78's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: NY
Posts: 1,553
Mentioned: 15 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 977 Post(s)
Liked: 297
I would like to upgrade my Benq W1070,what would be the next step up from this projector?
Movie78 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #11284 of 12131 Old 06-12-2015, 08:56 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Ftoast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 6,635
Mentioned: 104 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2721 Post(s)
Liked: 910
Quote:
Originally Posted by Movie78 View Post
I would like to upgrade my Benq W1070,what would be the next step up from this projector?
EDIT: looked at your build thread..noticed you've already treated the room nicely.

The cheapest way to upgrade if at all possible would be to cover the walls and ceiling between the screen and the seats with dark flat/matte paint or dark fabric to maximize the black-levels and contrast of the w1070.
Doing this to a light-colored, smaller room can roughly DOUBLE the contrast.
About $50-200 depending on your choice of paint or fabric.

If you don't already mask black bars, buying or simply building your own masking panels can make a large percieved improvement. It won't actually increase contrast, but it will really look like it does.
Building your own black panels and putting a simple attachment method on or near the screen can easily be as low as $20.

Otherwise, to get a projector with noticeably deeper contrast, the least expensive option would be the Panasonic ae8000 at $1500.
It will have worse input-lag and worse motion-handling, but the contrast will look great for movies.

The next better projector if you want low input-lag, solid motion-handling AND excellent contrast will be the Sony hw40 at $2000.
.

Easy $25 DIY black (or any color) ALR paint +$40-$50sprayer screen mix smooth/clean and very easy to learn spraying with little/no mess.
Simple $25-40 DIY black/dark-grey ambient-light rejecting screen, grab two things from a local store..mix..roll..done.
Quick <$250 dedicated black-fabric theater room "A store that sells blinds can help your picture more than a store that sells projectors many times." -bud16415

Last edited by Ftoast; 06-12-2015 at 09:01 PM.
Ftoast is offline  
post #11285 of 12131 Old 06-13-2015, 04:46 PM
Advanced Member
 
DekPM19's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Pooler, Ga
Posts: 990
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 219 Post(s)
Liked: 70
I would like to know how high off of the floor a 120" screen is. I am looking at a 120" screen and right now I have a tape measure sticking up off of a small waste basket trying to get and idea of how it would look. Also on a 120" screen what is the best distanced back from the screen to mount the 1070.
Thanks
Allen
DekPM19 is offline  
post #11286 of 12131 Old 06-13-2015, 05:04 PM
Advanced Member
 
scoobdude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 540
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 69 Post(s)
Liked: 35
My 120" is about 24" off the ground at the border. And had about 8" above the upper border.

Ceiling mounted I was able to get it at 11 feet but would recommend it a little further like 12 feet
scoobdude is offline  
post #11287 of 12131 Old 06-13-2015, 09:41 PM
Advanced Member
 
DekPM19's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Pooler, Ga
Posts: 990
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 219 Post(s)
Liked: 70
Thanks that sounds good
Allen
DekPM19 is offline  
post #11288 of 12131 Old 06-15-2015, 07:16 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Movie78's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: NY
Posts: 1,553
Mentioned: 15 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 977 Post(s)
Liked: 297
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ftoast View Post
EDIT: looked at your build thread..noticed you've already treated the room nicely.

The cheapest way to upgrade if at all possible would be to cover the walls and ceiling between the screen and the seats with dark flat/matte paint or dark fabric to maximize the black-levels and contrast of the w1070.
Doing this to a light-colored, smaller room can roughly DOUBLE the contrast.
About $50-200 depending on your choice of paint or fabric.

If you don't already mask black bars, buying or simply building your own masking panels can make a large percieved improvement. It won't actually increase contrast, but it will really look like it does.
Building your own black panels and putting a simple attachment method on or near the screen can easily be as low as $20.

Otherwise, to get a projector with noticeably deeper contrast, the least expensive option would be the Panasonic ae8000 at $1500.
It will have worse input-lag and worse motion-handling, but the contrast will look great for movies.

The next better projector if you want low input-lag, solid motion-handling AND excellent contrast will be the Sony hw40 at $2000.
.
Thanks!
Movie78 is offline  
post #11289 of 12131 Old 06-16-2015, 10:39 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: Hanover, Maryland
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Just got my BenQ W1070, and boy does it look fantastic! I'm thinking about getting the silver ticket 110" screen, but I wanted to wait until I had the BenQ installed with the In Focus RSMAU mount. Should I install the screen or the projector first, and is there a thread I can read about how to best mount it in the ceiling? I have a small 10' 7" by 10' 7" space and I don't want to screw it up because it would minimize my possible screen size...

And after I get it installed is there a good thread to read on how to best calibrate it?

- Austin
phlogis is offline  
post #11290 of 12131 Old 06-16-2015, 11:18 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Ftoast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 6,635
Mentioned: 104 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2721 Post(s)
Liked: 910
Quote:
Originally Posted by phlogis View Post
Just got my BenQ W1070, and boy does it look fantastic! I'm thinking about getting the silver ticket 110" screen, but I wanted to wait until I had the BenQ installed with the In Focus RSMAU mount. Should I install the screen or the projector first, and is there a thread I can read about how to best mount it in the ceiling? I have a small 10' 7" by 10' 7" space and I don't want to screw it up because it would minimize my possible screen size...

And after I get it installed is there a good thread to read on how to best calibrate it?

- Austin
With 9ft lens-to-screen, you won't quite get 110"diagonal, so you'll need to have juuust enough room behind the projector for cords and nothing else to make it fit. It would probably be easier to mount the projector first (far back as possible and perpendicular to the screen-wall), center its small amount of lens-shift, make sure the image is square and level on the wall, mount the screen centered with the image, then use the zoom and offset controls to perfectly fill the screen.

Easy $25 DIY black (or any color) ALR paint +$40-$50sprayer screen mix smooth/clean and very easy to learn spraying with little/no mess.
Simple $25-40 DIY black/dark-grey ambient-light rejecting screen, grab two things from a local store..mix..roll..done.
Quick <$250 dedicated black-fabric theater room "A store that sells blinds can help your picture more than a store that sells projectors many times." -bud16415
Ftoast is offline  
post #11291 of 12131 Old 06-16-2015, 02:30 PM
Advanced Member
 
scoobdude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 540
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 69 Post(s)
Liked: 35
I would mount the projector first and see what size screen you can put up. If you are doing audio as well you might need an acoustically transparent screen or at least some room on the sides. Good luck and pussy pics when you get a chance
scoobdude is offline  
post #11292 of 12131 Old 06-16-2015, 02:40 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 8
I just bought the ht1085st. after setting up.(8'6" to wall) and enjoyed several movies at night. I really like to color and focus in the middle. and I don't hear fan noise during movie at all. Heck, I even like the 10w speaker with it, that produce very loud sound during night that I leave the volume at 1.

I do have questions:

1 it came with firmware 1.02, is it necessary to upgrade to higher firmware? because I have to send it back to benq for it,(nowhere to find the latest FW online) benq needs a RMA request form that claim some problem before approving the return.

2 the left and right edge on the wall shows a little " (" and ")" , maybe 1/100 or less in scale, is there a way to fix it or it's supposed to be this. I know it's much better than a camera, but still a little annoying, I'd like perfect square on the wall.

3 I don't know if it's my picky or lack of experience on projector, it still looks not sharp enough. (I can identify single pixel of computer screen in 1080P hdmi, ) but in the edge, I can see the yellow and blue shade on both side of white line. I've tried the focus, and the best possible still shows the yellow and blue shade. Is it supposed to be this or better?

4 the lens looks dirty, but nothing on the surface, is it just the scattered lighting or something inside? the projection on the wall looks very uniform though.

5 why the remote can only put it to standby mode (orange led) but not completely shutdown.

Anyway I still enjoy it, it can fill my wall beautifully, just need to cover the window for daytime viewing later.

Thank you all for reading. and hope I can get some answers here
hahajiang is offline  
post #11293 of 12131 Old 06-16-2015, 07:16 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
dreamer's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Walnut, CA, USA
Posts: 4,069
Mentioned: 56 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1495 Post(s)
Liked: 601
Quote:
Originally Posted by kreeturez View Post
The model number displayed on the bare bulb used in the official housing (at least mine) is:
Osram P-VIP 240/0.8 E20.9n

Here's a pic of the bulb in the housing with the model no visible:
Attachment 762697

Actually looks (on the surface) identical to the $70 link.
FWIW, my bulb finally arrived from China. I bought it from Ctlamp via Amazon http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00...ilpage_o03_s00

It doesn't have exactly the same markings as in your picture. It is the same except without the "n" at the end.

I bought it to have as a spare, so I won't know for quite a while how it actually performs. My original lamp still has thousands of hours (hopefully) to go.

*********************
Kirk Ellis
BenQ TK800 VuTec 122" Screen, Harmon Kardon AVR 247
Psycoustic Mark III L&R Towers, Boston Center, Energy Take 5 Surrounds
dreamer is offline  
post #11294 of 12131 Old 06-18-2015, 03:36 AM
Newbie
 
tetraider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
help!

I have a lamp exploded and damaged the glass behind her. What is the model name of the glass and where can I buy it? The lamp was replaced. But chipped glass give defects in displaying black. The service said that they can only replace the whole unit for $150

p.s.: also interested in the question of harm from the broken lamp. After all, to get rid of all debris/residue is almost impossible without investigating fully the projector. In what form and how many harmful substances are in the lamp?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	w1070_lamp_glass.jpg
Views:	135
Size:	28.7 KB
ID:	782538  

Last edited by tetraider; 06-18-2015 at 04:31 AM.
tetraider is offline  
post #11295 of 12131 Old 06-18-2015, 01:03 PM
Advanced Member
 
gonzo90017's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 506
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 43 Post(s)
Liked: 20
That sucks! How many hours did your lamp have?
gonzo90017 is offline  
post #11296 of 12131 Old 06-19-2015, 10:00 AM
Newbie
 
tetraider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by gonzo90017 View Post
That sucks! How many hours did your lamp have?
~ 3600h in smart eco/eco mode: 2600h plus approximately 1000h was reset after flashing firmware
Ftoast likes this.
tetraider is offline  
post #11297 of 12131 Old 06-19-2015, 09:29 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
AV_Integrated's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Northern, VA - Washington, DC
Posts: 6,661
Mentioned: 102 Post(s)
Tagged: 2 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1661 Post(s)
Liked: 1205
Quote:
Originally Posted by tetraider View Post
help!

I have a lamp exploded and damaged the glass behind her. What is the model name of the glass and where can I buy it? The lamp was replaced. But chipped glass give defects in displaying black. The service said that they can only replace the whole unit for $150

p.s.: also interested in the question of harm from the broken lamp. After all, to get rid of all debris/residue is almost impossible without investigating fully the projector. In what form and how many harmful substances are in the lamp?
Buy a new lamp. Buy an entire lamp. The UV filter on that glass breaks down over time, and a factory original lamp should give you the same 3,000+ hours you got out of the original. That protective glass isn't just there to keep glass out of your projector, but it there to block harmful UV from destroying the projector, and this UV protection wears down with usage, which is why the manufacturer ONLY sells complete lamp assemblies, and why people should always replace the entire lamp.

3,600 hours... If a replacement original BenQ lamp is 250 bucks, then that's less that 7 cents for each hour of viewing.

No chance I would go generic if I actually cared about my projector and it continuing to deliver the stunning image I have loved for several years.

AV Integrated - Theater, whole house audio, and technology installation in the Washington DC metro area.
AV_Integrated is offline  
post #11298 of 12131 Old 06-22-2015, 08:30 PM
Senior Member
 
JoeBoy73's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 289
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 29 Post(s)
Liked: 32
Quote:
Originally Posted by gonzo90017 View Post
I haven't read the whole thread. But from the last few pages I was wondering if I should be running it in Eco or Smarteco mode? I normally run in it in Eco to get the most hours out of the bulb. But if i'm going to get the same amount of hours by running it in SmartEco maybe I should run it in that mode?
I started out in Normal Mode..then I left it in Smart Eco...built died last week with a little over 5000 hours (a little over 2 years) on it. I'm really digging the new OEM bulb now!
gonzo90017 likes this.
JoeBoy73 is offline  
post #11299 of 12131 Old 06-22-2015, 08:35 PM
Advanced Member
 
gonzo90017's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 506
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 43 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by JoeBoy73 View Post
I started out in Normal Mode..then I left it in Smart Eco...built died last week with a little over 5000 hours (a little over 2 years) on it. I'm really digging the new OEM bulb now!
What kind of content do you usually watch? And what OEM bulb did you get and how much did it cost?
gonzo90017 is offline  
post #11300 of 12131 Old 06-24-2015, 02:39 AM
Newbie
 
csgve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Is there anyone that knows how to turn off the message "Save up to 70% of your lamp power. Time to do your part in saving the planet."? Seems like I have to let the source be continuously on or send back the projector.
csgve is offline  
post #11301 of 12131 Old 06-24-2015, 06:09 AM
Member
 
Mako PJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 104
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I was wondering, if anyone has suggestions, already switch out HDMI cables. Bought the W1070, great projector, very happy with it overall especially for the price. I upgraded from the Optoma HD66. I have PS4/Xbox 360 hooked up and even tested 3D gaming, seems to work very well. My problem has been TWC box. We had an old Scientific Atlanta HDTV cable/dvr box but there was a problem with handshaking or something, called TWC they updated the box but that didn't fix it, they had no problem replacing the cable box. They gave us a Samsung cable/dvr box (H3272) which seemed work at first but now we are noticing things we didn't notice in the first 2 minutes of setting it up.

When we change channels the projector first gets the new channel but after about 1-2 seconds it loses the signal, screen goes black (searching for signal) for 2-5 seconds then it comes back. After that it looks fine, not a deal killer at all but its kind of annoying. This doesn't seem to be an issue with a Cisco HD box (DTA 271HD) but I might need to do more testing.

Wondering, if this is a normal issue and if anyone has any suggestions. It's not a deal breaker it would be nice if it worked a little smoother. Thanks in advance.
Mako PJ is offline  
post #11302 of 12131 Old 06-24-2015, 08:00 AM
Member
 
StephenRC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Spacecoast of Florida
Posts: 132
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Set the Cisco to output 1080 only, that may fix it.
StephenRC is offline  
post #11303 of 12131 Old 06-24-2015, 03:17 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bluer101's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: South Florida
Posts: 2,422
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 642 Post(s)
Liked: 773
Quote:
Originally Posted by StephenRC View Post
Set the Cisco to output 1080 only, that may fix it.
Yep, it sounds like it's changing resolutions.
bluer101 is offline  
post #11304 of 12131 Old 06-24-2015, 03:21 PM
Member
 
Mako PJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 104
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Stephen and Bluer,

I thought that might be what is happening but not sure I can do anything. Its the Samsung that is hooked up. I had it set to auto then this started happening and I just set it to 1080i. I am going to test out some more stuff but yeah, its actually like its changing the resolution every channel. Thanks guys.
Mako PJ is offline  
post #11305 of 12131 Old 06-24-2015, 06:19 PM
Member
 
Mako PJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 104
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Even if I set the cable box to 1080i output, it manually outputs different resolution between 480p, 720p, and 1080i on an individual channel basis... when I turn the channel which has a different resolution output then it resets the projector.
Mako PJ is offline  
post #11306 of 12131 Old 06-24-2015, 07:31 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bluer101's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: South Florida
Posts: 2,422
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 642 Post(s)
Liked: 773
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mako PJ View Post
Even if I set the cable box to 1080i output, it manually outputs different resolution between 480p, 720p, and 1080i on an individual channel basis... when I turn the channel which has a different resolution output then it resets the projector.
Even if only 1080i is the only thing checked off.



settings > left arrow 5 times to "high definition" > resolution > make sure only 1080I has the dot next to it.
bluer101 is offline  
post #11307 of 12131 Old 06-24-2015, 11:04 PM
Newbie
 
Paulus_Grandis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hey All,

I've been using the BenQ W1070 for a couple months now and I've been very happy with it!

I just had a question concerning motion blur...By default, the motion blur isn't too bad, but is noticeable in certain situations.

I was reading a thread on BlurBusters and it talks about turning on 3D mode on this projector, even when viewing 2D content, to help decrease motion blur. But I'm not sure how to do that...is such a thing possible? Or are there other ways to minimize motion blur?

Thanks!

-Paul
Paulus_Grandis is offline  
post #11308 of 12131 Old 06-25-2015, 02:16 AM
Member
 
pletwals's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 181
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 94 Post(s)
Liked: 27
Is this still more or less the best projector for the money?

I am finishing a big multifunctional (black) space in our new house build. I have a big scope screen (55" height) ready to install for which the Sony VPL 500/600 would be awesome but the budget doesn't allow it yet.

My thinking is to get the BenQ and use it in 16/9 only while saving up ASAP for the great Sony. Alternatively, I could spend about 2K on the Sony HW40 and do a little longer with it if that is suitable for 2.35/1. The house is for the weekends/holydays only during the next few years until it's completely finished, BTW.

One more question: the projector will mounted against the ceiling. I reccon it's necessary to use a mount and upside-down?
I was hoping to make a U-shaped shelve against the ceiling and put it on the shelve, upside-up. That's no go, right?

It's the room, stupid!

Last edited by pletwals; 06-25-2015 at 02:44 AM.
pletwals is offline  
post #11309 of 12131 Old 06-25-2015, 07:21 AM
Senior Member
 
Surfdrifter's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Athens, Greece
Posts: 248
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 135 Post(s)
Liked: 66
Quote:
Originally Posted by rolling01 View Post
Ok cheers look forward to your thoughts.
Ok, I have the Lumagen Mini 3D for about 3 weeks now. It's a great piece of hardware and I really enjoy the aspect ratio management, which was the main reason of buying it, in the first place.

I hired a professional to calibrate the Benq with the help of the Lumagen few days ago.

I think there must have been an error somewhere, because when I play videos from my Oppo, I think there is a red tint.
For instance, when I press the info button of the Oppo the letters don't look white to me, but SLIGHTLY red.

This makes the faces look a little bit more red, than what I was used to (Benq was calibrated from the same professional before without the lumagen). I'll call him to come back to see if something strange has happened in the process.

Other than that, there is an obvious change in contrast. The picture (other than the issue with the red tint, which for sure is fixable) is way better in terms of contrast! The image looks stunning, comparing my previous calibration.

I also, use the enhancements of the Lumagen, which I don't know if they help in perceiving a better picture, but I think I prefer them over Darbee.

Also, in some movies the Adaptive Contrast at 1 is nice, but not a set-and-forget setting like Darbee or the other enhancements.

I'll definitely recommend a Lumagen, which really pushes the limits of BenQ. I would really like to create a mechanism to make the ceiling black during movie watch as the next step!
Surfdrifter is offline  
post #11310 of 12131 Old 06-25-2015, 11:51 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
AV_Integrated's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Northern, VA - Washington, DC
Posts: 6,661
Mentioned: 102 Post(s)
Tagged: 2 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1661 Post(s)
Liked: 1205
Quote:
Originally Posted by pletwals View Post
Is this still more or less the best projector for the money?

I am finishing a big multifunctional (black) space in our new house build. I have a big scope screen (55" height) ready to install for which the Sony VPL 500/600 would be awesome but the budget doesn't allow it yet.

My thinking is to get the BenQ and use it in 16/9 only while saving up ASAP for the great Sony. Alternatively, I could spend about 2K on the Sony HW40 and do a little longer with it if that is suitable for 2.35/1. The house is for the weekends/holydays only during the next few years until it's completely finished, BTW.

One more question: the projector will mounted against the ceiling. I reccon it's necessary to use a mount and upside-down?
I was hoping to make a U-shaped shelve against the ceiling and put it on the shelve, upside-up. That's no go, right?
If, for whatever reason you got a scope screen, then you should be looking at the Panasonic AE8000 which has the zoom range, and a motorized zoom feature to deal with the two different image sizes you will need to deal with.

No chance I would go with the W1070 and a scope screen. You didn't buy a 2.35 projector, so using a 2.35 screen always requires some extra thought and effort and a serious case of 'does this make sense?' before buying.

AV Integrated - Theater, whole house audio, and technology installation in the Washington DC metro area.
AV_Integrated is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Digital Projectors - Under $3,000 USD MSRP

Tags
benq w1070 , Benq W1070 1080p 3d Projector , w1070

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off