BenQ W1070 : DLP Full HD, 3D Ready with lens-shift for 1000$ - Page 397 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 3464Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #11881 of 12131 Old 11-29-2016, 08:26 AM
Senior Member
 
meegwell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 335
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 116 Post(s)
Liked: 25
I just sent mine back due to some dark splotches that developed on the screen. Silly me, I didn't realize they attached a FedEx label and paid $33 to have it shipped USPS Priority...ugh. We'll see how this goes.
meegwell is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #11882 of 12131 Old 11-30-2016, 06:52 PM
Member
 
Kezzbot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: AUSTRALIA
Posts: 75
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 30 Post(s)
Liked: 18
the only problem i had with mine was had an overheating issue and would shut down at random times but mainly after about 15min. Sent it back they fixed it and was up and running again in under 2 weeks was very happy with the service.

"Warning small but readworthy rant incoming"

I was so happy with it, especially the 3d image, due mainly to no perceivable crosstalk. I would get every movie i could that was 3d and watch most movies in 3d. I figured if i can get such a good image for about AUD$1,000 then imagine what it would be like if i got an AUD $3000 - AUD$4000 projector. So i sold the 1070 and I got the Sony HW40ES going on the "great for 3d" reviews i had read. I fired it up and was happy with the 2d performance tho a little let down as the contrast and black level where not great, all i can say is reasonable level of contrast, 2/5, as opposed to very bad level of contrast on the 1070, 1/5, it was better but not AUD$2000 better. Even though it was projected in a white room it was better, contrary to the miss information spread on this forum and others that there is no improvement if you use a projector like this in a non-dedicated home theatre room compared to the 1070. So I preceded to into 3d and was shocked how bad it was, there was visible crosstalk which made the image look terrible, i tweaked the settings which improved it a little but still was not good. Must be the movie projector combo, nope. After giving myself a headache convincing myself it was ok i gave up and sold the HW40ES at an AUD$600 loss, now i have no projector lol.

THIS is why 3d is failing, companies releasing products with crosstalk, people watch it get a headache watching a fuzzy image then get the opinion all 3d in the home situation is bad.

On top of this, reviews saying about such products as "Great 3D."
If there is any visible crosstalk then it is Bad 3D!!


Im writing this as i know there are many out there looking to upgrade from the 1070. Ive heard good things about the 3d on the 5040UB, but price!


Myself am waiting till next year as there are rumours that Ti have some new DLP chips.
RLBURNSIDE likes this.

Last edited by Kezzbot; 11-30-2016 at 08:07 PM.
Kezzbot is offline  
post #11883 of 12131 Old 12-10-2016, 04:22 PM
Senior Member
 
magnification's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: The Big Apple
Posts: 207
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 81 Post(s)
Liked: 82
I'm not sure if anyone has tried this but we all know what a light polluter this projector is
Especially in and around the lens housing as the following examples images show. I have a
well controlled room for light where even a candle being on would kill the screen contrast






I am able to capture somewhat this ambient light beaming forward along with the image from the lens housing
that is also ending up as part of the screen image hurting the contrast even more



Been wanting to experiment with getting this projector under better light control for a while now.
So, to work I went and I came up with doing this with what I had readily on hand. I have a
box that has a black matte on one side and used that for now. Cutting the image hole to the same size
the image would be at that spot so only that is getting projected forward and not the unneeded light. Rather on the same
idea as in a real theater with that little window you see when you look back at where the image is coming from








The results

Boom all that ambient light from the lens housing getting projected forever gone.


I noticed the difference right away on my screen. Probably could end up doing a better a job of this
with some more tinkering maybe with ringing the lens housing with some velcro or something.
RLBURNSIDE likes this.

Last edited by magnification; 12-10-2016 at 04:39 PM.
magnification is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #11884 of 12131 Old 12-17-2016, 10:30 PM
Advanced Member
 
Tangled Cable's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 748
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 117 Post(s)
Liked: 39
Quote:
Originally Posted by magnification View Post

I noticed the difference right away on my screen. Probably could end up doing a better a job of this
with some more tinkering maybe with ringing the lens housing with some velcro or something.
Oh man. I am SO trying this! Thanks for sharing your experiment with the rest of us.
Tangled Cable is offline  
post #11885 of 12131 Old 12-18-2016, 12:37 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
tomtastic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Wichita, KS
Posts: 3,225
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1264 Post(s)
Liked: 502
I haven't had that problem on mine. It leaks a little light through the vents but my walls are black so I don't have any light on the walls and nothing to the screen. If there's leaking to the screen thru the lens there's something wrong with your PJ.

This line intentionally left blank.
tomtastic is online now  
post #11886 of 12131 Old 12-18-2016, 01:33 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
ToddUGA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Eastman, Georgia
Posts: 1,649
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 60 Post(s)
Liked: 64
Finally bought my first projector...the W1070 projected on a 120" screen. My god what a revelation. 1080p is absolutely beautiful. Not sure why I waited so long to finally go with a projector. Time to read through this thread.

Sent from my Nexus 6P using Tapatalk

ToddUGA is offline  
post #11887 of 12131 Old 12-19-2016, 08:21 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
beastaudio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Western NC
Posts: 14,584
Mentioned: 401 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5644 Post(s)
Liked: 5499
Has anyone around here mounted this projector inside an enclosure to help with noise. In a pinch and the best spot I can seem to find to mount this for a friend is inside his coffee table. I would remove the front face of the center cabinet to allow the front of the PJ to shine up onto the screen.

I understand fully the negatives to such an install such as the coffee table moving, etc. I don't have much other choice. Not even thinking, we put it on the rear wall of a 20ft deep room and fully clamped on the zoom, I still can't even come close. Too bad they don't make additional zoom lense, but I understand for this budget PJ.

European Models do not accept banana plugs
Belly of the Beast: Bass Bunker Theater
beastaudio is offline  
post #11888 of 12131 Old 12-19-2016, 09:40 AM
 
RLBURNSIDE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 3,901
Mentioned: 16 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2012 Post(s)
Liked: 1408
I built a hushbox for mine out of an old Sony HTPC case, complete with quiet intake / output fans, noise damping padding, and mount points for my anamorphic lens. But I leave it open, since I don't hear the projector sound much any more. Maybe it's running quiet because my lamp is getting dim. I'm on my second lamp, around 5000 hours or so. The original one blew around the same time. Maybe I'll try to retrofit an LED light source, I bought a bunch of high lumen 6500k LEDs and you can get crazy lumens out with low heat / power consumption. (means much less noise too, since I won't need that vaccuum blower fan)

If I don't get a new projector soon I'll have to buy another lamp for this, which I don't want to do because frankly I've grown out of it. Want better blacks and HDR.

Thinking of buying one of these tiny LCD microdisplays and using that to increase the contrast ratio of my w1070 by placing it in the light path of the collimator rod (either on the input end or the output end, it'll probably only work on the output end inside the optical cavity I'm guessing) and using an HDMI splitter to feed the same video signal into the LCD as to the projector itself.

RLBURNSIDE is offline  
post #11889 of 12131 Old 12-19-2016, 11:23 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
beastaudio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Western NC
Posts: 14,584
Mentioned: 401 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5644 Post(s)
Liked: 5499
Quote:
Originally Posted by RLBURNSIDE View Post
I built a hushbox for mine out of an old Sony HTPC case, complete with quiet intake / output fans, noise damping padding, and mount points for my anamorphic lens. But I leave it open, since I don't hear the projector sound much any more. Maybe it's running quiet because my lamp is getting dim. I'm on my second lamp, around 5000 hours or so. The original one blew around the same time. Maybe I'll try to retrofit an LED light source, I bought a bunch of high lumen 6500k LEDs and you can get crazy lumens out with low heat / power consumption. (means much less noise too, since I won't need that vaccuum blower fan)

If I don't get a new projector soon I'll have to buy another lamp for this, which I don't want to do because frankly I've grown out of it. Want better blacks and HDR.

Thinking of buying one of these tiny LCD microdisplays and using that to increase the contrast ratio of my w1070 by placing it in the light path of the collimator rod (either on the input end or the output end, it'll probably only work on the output end inside the optical cavity I'm guessing) and using an HDMI splitter to feed the same video signal into the LCD as to the projector itself.

Crazy cool DIY stuff you are contemplating! One thing I haven't found that I guess is essential, but I would assume the large front vent is the exhaust, not intake correct?

European Models do not accept banana plugs
Belly of the Beast: Bass Bunker Theater
beastaudio is offline  
post #11890 of 12131 Old 12-22-2016, 11:32 PM
Advanced Member
 
Tangled Cable's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 748
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 117 Post(s)
Liked: 39
Where do you guys buy new bulbs for your w1070? I see some after market bulbs on Amazon but they look a little dodgy ...
Tangled Cable is offline  
post #11891 of 12131 Old 12-23-2016, 04:36 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bori's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 3,236
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 235 Post(s)
Liked: 144
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tangled Cable View Post
Where do you guys buy new bulbs for your w1070? I see some after market bulbs on Amazon but they look a little dodgy ...
I would like to know the same.

Sent from my ZTE A2017U using Tapatalk
bori is offline  
post #11892 of 12131 Old 12-24-2016, 07:55 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 0
I bought my replacement lamp from Staples but I got them to price-match a lower price from a smaller online retailer.
Alpine1.0 is offline  
post #11893 of 12131 Old 12-24-2016, 07:57 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 0
How many lamp-hours do you guys get when running only in Smart Eco mode? Both of my lamps blew in the low 2000 hours range.
Alpine1.0 is offline  
post #11894 of 12131 Old 12-24-2016, 08:04 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 2,093
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 299 Post(s)
Liked: 75
I'm at 2893 on my first one and still going strong knock on wood.

jsil is offline  
post #11895 of 12131 Old 12-24-2016, 12:28 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by jsil View Post
I'm at 2893 on my first one and still going strong knock on wood.
Thanks for the feedback.
Alpine1.0 is offline  
post #11896 of 12131 Old 12-24-2016, 01:01 PM
Advanced Member
 
Tangled Cable's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 748
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 117 Post(s)
Liked: 39
Quote:
Originally Posted by Alpine1.0 View Post
I bought my replacement lamp from Staples but I got them to price-match a lower price from a smaller online retailer.
How much did they charge you? I just checked online and Staples is listing them at $279?

Did you buy from a brick and mortar store or online?
Tangled Cable is offline  
post #11897 of 12131 Old 12-25-2016, 03:45 AM
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 946
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 485 Post(s)
Liked: 125
I think he means the brick and mortar store matched the lowest online price he found.
TheronB is offline  
post #11898 of 12131 Old 12-25-2016, 11:05 AM
Member
 
jayfoster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 126
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just want to make sure of something because I'm having a problem getting a picture or sound.

I'm connecting the 1070 directly to a pioneer 1130 into the "main arc." I then connect a ps4 directly to the "BD" on the pioneer.

I have a long cable from the projector to the receiver so that may be the problem. I just wanted to make sure I connected it properly. Thanks in advance for any help.

Jay Foster
jayfoster is offline  
post #11899 of 12131 Old 12-25-2016, 02:27 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bluer101's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: South Florida
Posts: 2,410
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 638 Post(s)
Liked: 741
Quote:
Originally Posted by jayfoster View Post
I just want to make sure of something because I'm having a problem getting a picture or sound.

I'm connecting the 1070 directly to a pioneer 1130 into the "main arc." I then connect a ps4 directly to the "BD" on the pioneer.

I have a long cable from the projector to the receiver so that may be the problem. I just wanted to make sure I connected it properly. Thanks in advance for any help.
Make sure you are choosing the correct source or picture in the pioneer. Or try a shorter hdmi cable. Also try connecting the PS4 to the long hdmi to rule out the pioneer.
schmidtwi likes this.
bluer101 is offline  
post #11900 of 12131 Old 12-25-2016, 06:16 PM
Member
 
jayfoster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 126
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by bluer101 View Post
Make sure you are choosing the correct source or picture in the pioneer. Or try a shorter hdmi cable. Also try connecting the PS4 to the long hdmi to rule out the pioneer.
Thanks.

This was how stupid it was: I needed to turn everything off and unplug the power cords. Let it sit for 5 minutes. Plug everything back in and now it works fine. I can't believe I did that.

Jay Foster
jayfoster is offline  
post #11901 of 12131 Old 12-25-2016, 10:21 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bluer101's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: South Florida
Posts: 2,410
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 638 Post(s)
Liked: 741
Quote:
Originally Posted by jayfoster View Post
Thanks.

This was how stupid it was: I needed to turn everything off and unplug the power cords. Let it sit for 5 minutes. Plug everything back in and now it works fine. I can't believe I did that.
No problem, glad it worked out.

Maybe needed a better handshake or something was not seated all the way.
bluer101 is offline  
post #11902 of 12131 Old 12-28-2016, 09:35 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tangled Cable View Post
How much did they charge you? I just checked online and Staples is listing them at $279?

Did you buy from a brick and mortar store or online?
I live in Canada so the following prices are in Canadian dollars. The lowest price for the lamp that I could find online was $222.74 but they also wanted $14.99 for shipping so Staples price matched the total of $237.73. My advice is just to do the same - find the lowest total price that you can from a regular retailer (online or brick and mortar) and have Staples price-match it. Btw, I did all my research and ordering online.
Alpine1.0 is offline  
post #11903 of 12131 Old 01-16-2017, 09:55 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
grubadub's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 1,331
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 143 Post(s)
Liked: 135
any problem replacing the bulb without taking the projector down (ceiling mounted)?
grubadub is offline  
post #11904 of 12131 Old 01-16-2017, 11:14 AM
 
RLBURNSIDE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 3,901
Mentioned: 16 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2012 Post(s)
Liked: 1408
Quote:
Originally Posted by grubadub View Post
any problem replacing the bulb without taking the projector down (ceiling mounted)?
That seems risky. Don't do it. Take the projector down I say, chances are there will be some dust in there anyway that you can clean with a q-tip. And try not to use air compressors because it can result in dust on the DMD inside the optics. Trust me you DON'T want that. I had to take apart my entire projector when I did that and broke my colour wheel cable and had to send it in for a repair (warranty was out too).
RLBURNSIDE is offline  
post #11905 of 12131 Old 01-16-2017, 08:01 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Hello! I am new to the site, so please forgive my noobiness.

I have had my W1070 for about 3 years with a 120" screen. Now, don't ask me how I did this, but I did manage to get all my movies to fit onto the screen without the black bars and no zoom.
Now, my girlfriend came in and screwed up the settings somehow, so now I have the black bars back, except for Pacific Rim, which still fits perfectly without adjusting anything.
But my other movies like Captain America Civil War and Warcraft all now have the black bars back.

I am very sure I didn't do any zoom adjustments though. Still I went through all the settings on the W1070 and can't seem to remove them unless I do overscan adjustment and digital zoom on one of the aspect ratios.

I have a PS3 that I have been using as my blu ray player and checked all those settings to be sure.

Still, I have done quite a bit of reading online about trying to get rid of those, but it most cases you really can't, but I did it and can't remember what I did.

Just wondering if anyone else figured out how to remove them with the settings.

Thank you and any help would be fantastic!
sherman_h is offline  
post #11906 of 12131 Old 01-17-2017, 10:54 AM
 
RLBURNSIDE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 3,901
Mentioned: 16 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2012 Post(s)
Liked: 1408
Quote:
Originally Posted by sherman_h View Post
But my other movies like Captain America Civil War and Warcraft all now have the black bars back.
Those black bars are inherent in the movie and belong there. It's called "letterbox", meaning the aspect ratio of the movie is around 2.35:1 instead of 16:9 which is the native projector aspect ratio. Black areas will always be projected in these films and that is on purpose.

Don't try to remove it by changing the aspect ratio to "fill" in the menu, unless you enjoy actors who are super tall and skinny and circles which look like ovals. This is your only "noob" mistake here. Show movies in their inherent aspect ratio, and if the black bars bother you, then you can add a masking system or buy an anamorphic lens. Check the DIY and CIH sections of this website for more info.

Black bars belong. Your girlfriend did you a favour
Sonyad, fredxr2d2 and sherman_h like this.
RLBURNSIDE is offline  
post #11907 of 12131 Old 01-19-2017, 08:46 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
grubadub's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 1,331
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 143 Post(s)
Liked: 135
Quote:
Originally Posted by RLBURNSIDE View Post
That seems risky. Don't do it. Take the projector down I say, chances are there will be some dust in there anyway that you can clean with a q-tip. And try not to use air compressors because it can result in dust on the DMD inside the optics. Trust me you DON'T want that. I had to take apart my entire projector when I did that and broke my colour wheel cable and had to send it in for a repair (warranty was out too).
taking your advice. as a matter of fact i'm taking this opportunity to upgrade my mount to a peerless prg. the mount i have has done the job but it's really difficult to make fine adjustments with and it doesn't have quick release either.
grubadub is offline  
post #11908 of 12131 Old 01-19-2017, 09:36 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bluer101's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: South Florida
Posts: 2,410
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 638 Post(s)
Liked: 741
Quote:
Originally Posted by grubadub View Post
taking your advice. as a matter of fact i'm taking this opportunity to upgrade my mount to a peerless prg. the mount i have has done the job but it's really difficult to make fine adjustments with and it doesn't have quick release either.
You will love the mount. I used it with my Benq and just recently bought the Epson 5040ub. Now the Epson is using the same mount.
bluer101 is offline  
post #11909 of 12131 Old 01-19-2017, 09:42 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
grubadub's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 1,331
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 143 Post(s)
Liked: 135
Quote:
Originally Posted by bluer101 View Post
You will love the mount. I used it with my Benq and just recently bought the Epson 5040ub. Now the Epson is using the same mount.
that's another reason why i want to upgrade the mount. i plan on upgrading to a nicer (and probably heavier) projector one of these days and i feel much more confident with the peerless over my cheap mount.
grubadub is offline  
post #11910 of 12131 Old 01-19-2017, 09:35 PM
Member
 
teddy0890's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello! I have the w1070 and I'm thinking of using w1070 to project on a 175" inch white screen. Is it any good? I'm worried that the brightness wouldn't be enough with a normal white screen.
teddy0890 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Digital Projectors - Under $3,000 USD MSRP

Tags
benq w1070 , Benq W1070 1080p 3d Projector , w1070

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off