BenQ W1070 : DLP Full HD, 3D Ready with lens-shift for 1000$ - Page 404 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 3463Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #12091 of 12118 Old 01-09-2019, 09:29 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 44
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 34 Post(s)
Liked: 2
Haha. I wish for that too.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
cychua is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #12092 of 12118 Old 01-10-2019, 02:33 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by argentum246 View Post
Get the dust checked on color wheel. Also google on how to access it’s service menu to check what really happened.
Thanks for the reply. But how can I access the Service Menu since the VP doesn't start at all?
Tiguemi is offline  
post #12093 of 12118 Old 01-11-2019, 12:10 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Houston
Posts: 170
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 81 Post(s)
Liked: 8
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tiguemi View Post
Thanks for the reply. But how can I access the Service Menu since the VP doesn't start at all?
In that case it is better to send it to Benq.
argentum246 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #12094 of 12118 Old 01-15-2019, 04:47 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bori's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 3,230
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 232 Post(s)
Liked: 141
I currently have a 100 inch screen with the w1070 projector mounted 9ft away from screen. My ceiling height is around 84 inches and I want to increase the screen size to 125 inches. Is it possible in my room to do this if I move the projector back to 11 feet? How many inches does the center of the lens need to be from the ceiling coupled with an 125 inch screen? Ceiling are low so dont want to bring projector too low.
bori is offline  
post #12095 of 12118 Old 01-15-2019, 10:26 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bori's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 3,230
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 232 Post(s)
Liked: 141
Quote:
Originally Posted by bori View Post
I currently have a 100 inch screen with the w1070 projector mounted 9ft away from screen. My ceiling height is around 84 inches and I want to increase the screen size to 125 inches. Is it possible in my room to do this if I move the projector back to 11 feet? How many inches does the center of the lens need to be from the ceiling coupled with an 125 inch screen? Ceiling are low so dont want to bring projector too low.
Anyone please help.

Sent from my ONEPLUS A6013 using Tapatalk
bori is offline  
post #12096 of 12118 Old 01-15-2019, 10:35 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 187
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 105 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by bori View Post
Anyone please help.

Sent from my ONEPLUS A6013 using Tapatalk


I think the website projector calculator should be able to assist in answering your questions.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
BleedingBlue is offline  
post #12097 of 12118 Old 01-15-2019, 10:43 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bori's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 3,230
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 232 Post(s)
Liked: 141
Quote:
Originally Posted by BleedingBlue View Post
I think the website projector calculator should be able to assist in answering your questions.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
I don't see the ceiling distance.

Sent from my ONEPLUS A6013 using Tapatalk
bori is offline  
post #12098 of 12118 Old 01-15-2019, 12:32 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
tomtastic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Wichita, KS
Posts: 3,154
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1225 Post(s)
Liked: 483
Quote:
Originally Posted by bori View Post
I currently have a 100 inch screen with the w1070 projector mounted 9ft away from screen. My ceiling height is around 84 inches and I want to increase the screen size to 125 inches. Is it possible in my room to do this if I move the projector back to 11 feet? How many inches does the center of the lens need to be from the ceiling coupled with an 125 inch screen? Ceiling are low so dont want to bring projector too low.
I have an even lower ceiling. About 78". I sit at 10' and the projector is back behind me about 15' or 16' feet. I have it set for 115" (used to be 140" but I changed screens so I can fit a motorized drop down in front of my 65" OLED).

And in seating position I am out of the projector beam but standing up, it's in the path. Bottom of my screen is about a foot off floor.

This line intentionally left blank.
tomtastic is offline  
post #12099 of 12118 Old 01-15-2019, 12:34 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bori's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 3,230
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 232 Post(s)
Liked: 141
Quote:
Originally Posted by tomtastic View Post
I have an even lower ceiling. About 78". I sit at 10' and the projector is back behind me about 15' or 16' feet. I have it set for 115" (used to be 140" but I changed screens so I can fit a motorized drop down in front of my 65" OLED).



And in seating position I am out of the projector beam but standing up, it's in the path. Bottom of my screen is about a foot off floor.
How far is the center of the projector supposed to be from the ceiling?

Sent from my ONEPLUS A6013 using Tapatalk
bori is offline  
post #12100 of 12118 Old 01-15-2019, 12:42 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
tomtastic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Wichita, KS
Posts: 3,154
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1225 Post(s)
Liked: 483
Quote:
Originally Posted by bori View Post
How far is the center of the projector supposed to be from the ceiling?

Sent from my ONEPLUS A6013 using Tapatalk
Not sure what you mean. Are you talking about where it's mounted? It doesn't really matter because you can adjust the skew in the menu so it lines up. Measuring from the center of the projector mine's about 7" from ceiling. And yes, if I'm not thinking about it, I do bump my head on it walking past if I'm not careful but I usually remember it's there.

This line intentionally left blank.
tomtastic is offline  
post #12101 of 12118 Old 01-15-2019, 12:44 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bori's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 3,230
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 232 Post(s)
Liked: 141
Quote:
Originally Posted by tomtastic View Post
Not sure what you mean? Are you talking about where it's mounted? It doesn't really matter because you can adjust the skew in the menu so it lines up. Measuring from the center of the projector mine's about 7" from ceiling. And yes, if I'm not thinking about it, I do bump my head on it walking past if I'm not careful but I usually remember it's there.
That's what I mean. How far from the ceiling does it have to be?

Sent from my ONEPLUS A6013 using Tapatalk
bori is offline  
post #12102 of 12118 Old 01-15-2019, 12:48 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
tomtastic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Wichita, KS
Posts: 3,154
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1225 Post(s)
Liked: 483
It's not arbitrary. But in a low ceiling environment like ours, the higher, the better so you don't bump it.

This line intentionally left blank.
tomtastic is offline  
post #12103 of 12118 Old 01-15-2019, 01:17 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bori's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 3,230
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 232 Post(s)
Liked: 141
Quote:
Originally Posted by tomtastic View Post
It's not arbitrary. But in a low ceiling environment like ours, the higher, the better so you don't bump it.
Right now the projector center of lens is 7 1/2 inches from the ceiling. 11 feet away from screen for 125 image. Will the lens shift work enough for this setup?

Sent from my ONEPLUS A6013 using Tapatalk
bori is offline  
post #12104 of 12118 Old 01-15-2019, 02:55 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
tomtastic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Wichita, KS
Posts: 3,154
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1225 Post(s)
Liked: 483
No, won't work. You'll need to have it at 15' feet at closest, same as mine.

I went and measured mine. Actually, my screen is 125" so same as want you want.

Projector is at about 15' and back of it is almost 16'. That's the closest it will work for 125" image. Can't go any smaller with image. I have it zoomed in max for that to work where it is mounted. I had a 140" screen before and I left projector where it was and adjusted the lens out to work. But really I should move it back another foot or so but I don't really want to because it will be more difficult to mount there and it might interfere with seating then.

I have a couch sitting between 8' and 11' area and the projector is at 15'-16' front/back.

This line intentionally left blank.
tomtastic is offline  
post #12105 of 12118 Old 01-15-2019, 03:07 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
tomtastic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Wichita, KS
Posts: 3,154
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1225 Post(s)
Liked: 483
Ok, I take that back. It might work. I actually just fiddled with it some. I can move my projector forward but not back the way it's mounted. I have it attached to a 1/2" plywood set inside a light receptacle. I was able to move it to 13' at the front and it looks like it will fill the screen there. I can't go any further forward because my HDMI cable won't reach. It's 25'. Possibly, it can go closer. It looks like I'm at just past 50% on the zoom so 11' might be doable. You'd have the zoom all the way to 0%, which is the best image quality anyway. I might try to redo my HDMI cable and see if I can get 11'. The light receptacle is long enough, I have plenty of room to move it up closer. Just need the HDMI cable to reach.

This line intentionally left blank.
tomtastic is offline  
post #12106 of 12118 Old 01-15-2019, 03:42 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
tomtastic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Wichita, KS
Posts: 3,154
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1225 Post(s)
Liked: 483
Ok, after some cable adjustment I was able to slide the whole thing forward almost to 11' and have everything reach. It's about 11' 1" where it is now measuring from the front of screen to front of projector. I'm zoomed out almost all the way now, so best image quality, maybe 5% zoom. Yeah, 11' will work and I'm glad you brought this up because I'd been meaning to look at my setup since I went with a smaller screen, I knew I was zoomed out quite a bit at 15'. Going to relocate power and HDMI cable another way so not as much hanging down. Only thing I can hear the fan on it a little more now because it's closer but audio should cover it up.

This line intentionally left blank.
tomtastic is offline  
post #12107 of 12118 Old 01-16-2019, 05:15 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bori's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 3,230
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 232 Post(s)
Liked: 141
Quote:
Originally Posted by tomtastic View Post
Ok, after some cable adjustment I was able to slide the whole thing forward almost to 11' and have everything reach. It's about 11' 1" where it is now measuring from the front of screen to front of projector. I'm zoomed out almost all the way now, so best image quality, maybe 5% zoom. Yeah, 11' will work and I'm glad you brought this up because I'd been meaning to look at my setup since I went with a smaller screen, I knew I was zoomed out quite a bit at 15'. Going to relocate power and HDMI cable another way so not as much hanging down. Only thing I can hear the fan on it a little more now because it's closer but audio should cover it up.
Yes I got mine set up yesterday to around 11' 4". Adjusted the lens shift along with zoom settings and some keystone correction. Look great now and center of projector lens is around 7" from the ceiling going to a 125" screen.

Thank you guys for your help!

Sent from my ONEPLUS A6013 using Tapatalk
bori is offline  
post #12108 of 12118 Old 01-28-2019, 08:03 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
BENQ w1070+ no power to the blower fan

Hi! I've been having some issues with my Benq w1070+. I took it apart and cleaned everything, but the fault remained. Turns out one of the fans (fan 1 i think, the blower one) isn't getting any power from the motherboard! I used a multimeter. I tried to run a cable from one of the other fans which seemed to work at first, but only made it run at the wrong RPM causing error. Is this a common issue that i can fix, or should i consider changing the motherboard?
Herman Jonsson is offline  
post #12109 of 12118 Old 01-28-2019, 03:47 PM
Member
 
magnification's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: The Big Apple
Posts: 191
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 71 Post(s)
Liked: 76
Quote:
Originally Posted by pennywise666 View Post
I just want a 120 inch oledtv in my bedroom for 2000 euro.
Still too small. Once you go 200 inch, you never go back.
pennywise666 likes this.
magnification is offline  
post #12110 of 12118 Old 02-02-2019, 08:22 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Benq 1070 shutdown

Hi everybody
My Benq 1070 was running flawlessly when it abruptly shutdown. Now the VP doesnt start. The power button(with the power sign) stays green and the power led stays red. Everything else stays off. I had recently successfully changed the lamp and the VP run for about 50 hours before the above occured. Any help please?
Tiguemi is offline  
post #12111 of 12118 Old 02-02-2019, 02:41 PM
Member
 
CHIA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Van, BC
Posts: 92
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Just a quick check-in from a very happy W1070 owner. Purchased June 2013 and have run Smart-Eco since new.

Just installed first replacement bulb today at 6021hrs and only replaced based on hours and concern that a bulb may explode if left longer.

Picture, brightness and overall performance seemed perfect still, but better safe than sorry. Replaced with legit BenQ bulb, $228CAD

CHIA is offline  
post #12112 of 12118 Old 02-02-2019, 03:59 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 2
Ya bought mine in 2014 ...3 lamps later and a Darbee 500s added last year ... I really got the upgrade bug but still WOWed by this thing on 120 inch screen best $800 I have ever spent !
Purcey007 is offline  
post #12113 of 12118 Old 04-12-2019, 06:50 AM
Advanced Member
 
Adult Beverage's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 554
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 46 Post(s)
Liked: 28
I'm working on switching from a 97" screen to a 110" one. Based on planned placement I will need to move the PJ back and to the left, and raise it 4 inches. While doing all the measuring/calculating I started wondering if it was time for a replacement. This W1070 is almost five years old, and I wasn't looking forward to researching all the current PJs available. I turned it on and looked closely at the image. It still looks good and only has 1,207 hours on the original bulb, so I'm just going to keep on with it.

Think ya used enough dynamite there, Butch?
Adult Beverage is offline  
post #12114 of 12118 Old 05-05-2019, 09:11 PM
Senior Member
 
Moosebox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Canada
Posts: 282
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Well my bulb exploded unexpectedly. I've had this projector for 4 years, very happy with it, however I didn't think the bulb was anywhere close to end of life.
Picked up a new bulb and housing and got it back up and running again. Checked how many hours I had on the old lamp, only 2300 hours.

Surprised to have the lamp explode at 2300 hours, all of which were on smartEco. Oh well, hopefully I can get another few years out of the new lamp before upgrading to 4k and better blacks.
Moosebox is offline  
post #12115 of 12118 Old 05-10-2019, 08:06 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2019
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by bori View Post
Anyone please help.

Sent from my ONEPLUS A6013 using Tapatalk



You can use "projectorcentral" calculator.
bori likes this.
Rick4hun is offline  
post #12116 of 12118 Old 05-17-2019, 05:27 PM
Member
 
chaka2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 23
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Does anyone know if doing a factory reset will delete all the firmware updates? The 3D dlp link signal seems to have stopped working, and I thought I would try to reset the projector before considering getting it serviced.
chaka2 is offline  
post #12117 of 12118 Old 05-25-2019, 05:35 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bori's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 3,230
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 232 Post(s)
Liked: 141
I recently started to see this on my projector. What is it and how do I fix it?



Sent from my ONEPLUS A6013 using Tapatalk
bori is offline  
post #12118 of 12118 Old 05-25-2019, 07:34 AM
Senior Member
 
pennywise666's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Posts: 383
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 285 Post(s)
Liked: 86
Quote:
Originally Posted by bori View Post
I recently started to see this on my projector. What is it and how do I fix it?



Sent from my ONEPLUS A6013 using Tapatalk

Seems like dust blobs inside the lens tunnel perhaps?
I also had that, so i RMA'd it and got it returned clean.
bori likes this.
pennywise666 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Digital Projectors - Under $3,000 USD MSRP

Tags
benq w1070 , Benq W1070 1080p 3d Projector , w1070



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off