Epson LPE Filter. Over 1600 Color Correct Lumens Out Of the 5010/5020 6010/6020? A Detailed Review. - Page 2 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #31 of 218 Old 12-01-2012, 11:16 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
Kirnak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 826
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Lesliew, really nice of you to make those available here! BTW, If they're coming via the postal service, it might be a month before you see them. It took that long for mine to get here...
Kirnak is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #32 of 218 Old 12-01-2012, 01:12 PM
 
lesliew's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: From Nottingham in UK but living in Palm Bay, FL
Posts: 45
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kirnak View Post

Lesliew, really nice of you to make those available here! BTW, If they're coming via the postal service, it might be a month before you see them. It took that long for mine to get here...

Your Welcome

You could be right there regarding delivery I have seen packages take only days to make it over here then get stuck for a week or two at usps customs for no reason.
lesliew is offline  
post #33 of 218 Old 12-01-2012, 06:04 PM
Senior Member
 
buddhamus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Australia, Melbourne
Posts: 440
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 144 Post(s)
Liked: 114
Ahhh ****!......I missed it! frown.gif. I live in Aus and woke up late! DAMN DAMN DAMN DAMN!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! :'(
buddhamus is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #34 of 218 Old 12-01-2012, 06:36 PM
Newbie
 
rhisc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I'm in Australia as well.. i have a TW9000W... i want to try out this filter. I found a guy on Ebay germany but he wouldn't send overseas.
rhisc is offline  
post #35 of 218 Old 12-01-2012, 09:19 PM
Senior Member
 
buddhamus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Australia, Melbourne
Posts: 440
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 144 Post(s)
Liked: 114
Kirnak, if you could do a calibration without the filter and do a calibration with the filter in place and take some photos.....would like to see the difference in black levels if possible. Also how much of a percentage increase in blacks would also be very very cool!.

Ill keep looking to source this filter...but if you find anywhere to get them. Even for a bit more id be happy to pay a bit extra smile.gif
buddhamus is offline  
post #36 of 218 Old 12-01-2012, 11:57 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
Kirnak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 826
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 15
That's my plan. I started last night but something is either wonky with my i1 Pro or with my installation of Calman. I'm getting some readings that are obviously wrong, so I'll be sending in the i1 Pro to get re-certified. That's going to delay the analysis a week or two.

I will get some before and after screen shots up though.
Kirnak is offline  
post #37 of 218 Old 12-02-2012, 04:28 PM
Senior Member
 
buddhamus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Australia, Melbourne
Posts: 440
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 144 Post(s)
Liked: 114
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kirnak View Post

That's my plan. I started last night but something is either wonky with my i1 Pro or with my installation of Calman. I'm getting some readings that are obviously wrong, so I'll be sending in the i1 Pro to get re-certified. That's going to delay the analysis a week or two.
I will get some before and after screen shots up though.

Cool!, looking forward to it!
buddhamus is offline  
post #38 of 218 Old 12-02-2012, 08:23 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
Kirnak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 826
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 15
A new USB cable fixed the problem.

Measurements with the filter and suggested settings from the instructions added to Post #3. These aren't calibrated settings, just the settings from the instructions. Considering this an "Out of the box" setup, it's very nice. Subjectively, it looks great! Skin tones look very natural, colors are natural and definitely "pop". Contrast looks to be improved, but that is just a subjective impression. I'll add screen shots later.
Kirnak is offline  
post #39 of 218 Old 12-03-2012, 01:56 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
Kirnak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 826
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Calibration report added to post #4

1780 Lumens available in Normal, 1337 in ECO!!
Kirnak is offline  
post #40 of 218 Old 12-03-2012, 10:34 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
Kirnak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 826
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Kirnak is offline  
post #41 of 218 Old 12-03-2012, 10:58 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
Kirnak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 826
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 15
For you 8700 8350 guys, here's a link to a filter or your PJs. I know nothing about these other than they are listed as "Light Power Edition" filters.

http://www.secondhandbeamer.de/product_info.php?products_id=29
http://highend-hifi-shop.de/heimkino-komponenten-1/epson-heimkino-beamer-1/cine4home-glasfilter-epson-light-power.html

Credit to Andyk48 for finding these sites!!
Kirnak is offline  
post #42 of 218 Old 12-05-2012, 10:46 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
Kirnak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 826
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 15
All testing on hold. My brand new 5020 has something loose inside. All convergence all of a sudden went 4 or 5 pixels off when I mounted it on the ceiling. Color uniformity and focus is shot to hell too.
Kirnak is offline  
post #43 of 218 Old 12-06-2012, 02:17 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
Kirnak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 826
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kirnak View Post

All testing on hold. My brand new 5020 has something loose inside. All convergence all of a sudden went 4 or 5 pixels off when I mounted it on the ceiling. Color uniformity and focus is shot to hell too.



Kudos to both Best Buy and Epson. Epson offered to overnight a Brand new replacement--not a refurb. Best Buy was out of the 5020 nationwide, so they upgraded me to a 5020e--no charge. That on top of the deal they gave me on the 5020 to begin with--a partial price match to a cyber monday sale 5010--made for an incredible deal on the 5020e.
Kirnak is offline  
post #44 of 218 Old 12-06-2012, 08:18 PM
Advanced Member
 
rx-8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Atlantic, Canada
Posts: 522
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kirnak View Post

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kirnak View Post

All testing on hold. My brand new 5020 has something loose inside. All convergence all of a sudden went 4 or 5 pixels off when I mounted it on the ceiling. Color uniformity and focus is shot to hell too.



Kudos to both Best Buy and Epson. Epson offered to overnight a Brand new replacement--not a refurb. Best Buy was out of the 5020 nationwide, so they upgraded me to a 5020e--no charge. That on top of the deal they gave me on the 5020 to begin with--a partial price match to a cyber monday sale 5010--made for an incredible deal on the 5020e.

It's good to see that Epson offered you a new unit vs. a refurb. The 6020 is my first projector and the historically excellent Epson CS is one of the reasons I went with this projector. Kudos to Best Buy also.

Cheers!
-- Bill --
rx-8 is offline  
post #45 of 218 Old 12-08-2012, 06:03 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Pain Infliction's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Houston Texas
Posts: 4,233
Mentioned: 17 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 980 Post(s)
Liked: 514
I agree about Epson's customer service. I ordered my 5020 from projector people and when it arrived it did not work. I could not get it to do anything. Called Epson techinical support and they said it was a defective unit and that they will overnight me a new one and they did. No issues with the new one they sent. Just waiting for my screnn to be built and delivered now. I have another month unfortunatly.

The Thompson Theater

RIP William Alexander
Pain Infliction is offline  
post #46 of 218 Old 12-08-2012, 06:03 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Pain Infliction's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Houston Texas
Posts: 4,233
Mentioned: 17 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 980 Post(s)
Liked: 514
Any body else have a connection with these filters??? I really want one.

The Thompson Theater

RIP William Alexander
Pain Infliction is offline  
post #47 of 218 Old 12-13-2012, 09:23 PM
Member
 
FSOL1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Russia
Posts: 45
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yeah, me too
FSOL1 is offline  
post #48 of 218 Old 12-13-2012, 09:57 PM
Senior Member
 
ANDYK48's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 243
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Unfortunately the filters are hard to find.........
Your best bet is monitoring regularly German ebay listings in case something appears.
I bought mine from a German guy in ebay, but he has no more in stock. He had only one !!!!
I searched a lot in the internet for finding some more, but only came up with a couple of links for color correction filters for older EPSON projectors.

or you can try and contact these guys

[email protected]

they may have more info on how to get one of the filters
ANDYK48 is offline  
post #49 of 218 Old 12-15-2012, 11:09 AM
Senior Member
 
cemo62's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 458
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 173 Post(s)
Liked: 48
Hello

Why do we need these filters? Can you give me some information, sorry for my english

Regards
cemo62 is offline  
post #50 of 218 Old 12-15-2012, 01:05 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
Kirnak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 826
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by cemo62 View Post

Hello
Why do we need these filters? Can you give me some information, sorry for my english
Regards

The filter allows far greater output in a semi-accurate mode.
Kirnak is offline  
post #51 of 218 Old 12-16-2012, 05:50 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Deja Vu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: great white north
Posts: 5,513
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 989 Post(s)
Liked: 1036
Why doesn't someone that has this filter take it to a camera shop and determine what filter it is? I suspect someone at Cine4 experimented with high quality camera filters and found one that worked well. I'll bet you can get something close for 1/10th the price. This filter is designed to tame green and there are a number of filters on the market that do this.
Deja Vu is offline  
post #52 of 218 Old 12-16-2012, 08:40 AM
Advanced Member
 
rx-8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Atlantic, Canada
Posts: 522
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by Deja Vu View Post

Why doesn't someone that has this filter take it to a camera shop and determine what filter it is? I suspect someone at Cine4 experimented with high quality camera filters and found one that worked well. I'll bet you can get something close for 1/10th the price. This filter is designed to tame green and there are a number of filters on the market that do this.

What an excellent idea. What size of filter is needed? I checked the 6020 user manual and there is no mention that the lens can accept a filter - therefore no size reference.

Cheers!
-- Bill --
rx-8 is offline  
post #53 of 218 Old 12-16-2012, 09:59 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
Kirnak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 826
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 15
It might be pure magenta, or it might be off just a bit. Can a camera shop measure it? I'll check into that. Cost though would be worse I think. When you can find these in Europe, they're only around $40. The size is around 120 cm I think, I'll measure it later. But a filter that big is going to be at least $40 if not a lot more. Plus, you run into the mounting issue. This filter presses on to the housing...

As far as measuring, I could measure a white field with my i1 Pro with and without the filter in front of the sensor. What to do with that information though?
Kirnak is offline  
post #54 of 218 Old 12-16-2012, 10:25 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Deja Vu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: great white north
Posts: 5,513
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 989 Post(s)
Liked: 1036
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kirnak View Post

It might be pure magenta, or it might be off just a bit. Can a camera shop measure it? I'll check into that. Cost though would be worse I think. When you can find these in Europe, they're only around $40. The size is around 120 cm I think, I'll measure it later. But a filter that big is going to be at least $40 if not a lot more. Plus, you run into the mounting issue. This filter presses on to the housing...
As far as measuring, I could measure a white field with my i1 Pro with and without the filter in front of the sensor. What to do with that information though?

When I said 1/10 the price I was referring to the $500 someone had quoted, so $50 to $100 would be reasonable. If someone wants to sell them for $40 I'll be first in line! biggrin.gif
Deja Vu is offline  
post #55 of 218 Old 12-17-2012, 08:17 AM
Advanced Member
 
rx-8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Atlantic, Canada
Posts: 522
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 22
If the filter is that large I suspect that the filter could easily exceed $100 here in Canada. That's my experience with quality camera filters.

Cheers!
-- Bill --
rx-8 is offline  
post #56 of 218 Old 12-24-2012, 11:20 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 1,637
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 568 Post(s)
Liked: 565
I am getting ready to place my order on a Lumagen Mini 3D, am looking for to using it after I get my filter to see how well the Lumagen can calibrate when the filter is in place.

Lind Family HT
HT - RS2000 - ST130 - Emotiva RMC-1 - XPA-7 - XPA-5 - GE Triton 2 - GE Supercenter XXL - GE Invisa 650 x 8 - Xbox One X - PS4 Pro - Oppo BDP-203 - Kalediscape Strato - HTPC 1008ti- Dual SVS PB16-Ultra's - Lumagen Radiance Pro
kaotikr1 is offline  
post #57 of 218 Old 12-24-2012, 12:07 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
Kirnak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 826
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by kaotikr1 View Post

I am getting ready to place my order on a Lumagen Mini 3D, am looking for to using it after I get my filter to see how well the Lumagen can calibrate when the filter is in place.

Definitely post up! There's plenty of color available at every point, the Mini should be able to really nail the color!

You have a filter on the way? Could you post up how you found it? Thanks!
Kirnak is offline  
post #58 of 218 Old 12-24-2012, 03:25 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 1,637
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 568 Post(s)
Liked: 565
I got it via this thread. Was one of the lucky few.

Lind Family HT
HT - RS2000 - ST130 - Emotiva RMC-1 - XPA-7 - XPA-5 - GE Triton 2 - GE Supercenter XXL - GE Invisa 650 x 8 - Xbox One X - PS4 Pro - Oppo BDP-203 - Kalediscape Strato - HTPC 1008ti- Dual SVS PB16-Ultra's - Lumagen Radiance Pro
kaotikr1 is offline  
post #59 of 218 Old 12-26-2012, 12:48 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
Kirnak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 826
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 15
I watched the Imax Grand Canyon movie last night in 3D on my 138" white screen. Gain is probably around 1.0 to 1.1? I found the picture pleasantly bright, and I'm sensitive to dark pictures. I was using 3D Dynamic and the LPE filter. Colors seemed natural and skin tones all seemed natural as well. I thought the picture was gorgeous, even though I have not done a 3D calibration yet.
Kirnak is offline  
post #60 of 218 Old 12-27-2012, 06:56 AM
Member
 
postcorner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 46
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kirnak View Post

The filter allows far greater output in a semi-accurate mode.

Hello Kirnak, can you expand on your answer for the layman? Can you explain in greater detail what you can expect using the LPE filter? When us say "far greater output" I assume you are referring to brightness? And when you mention a "semi-accurate mode", do you mean an uncalibrated unit; out of the box per say?? And any idea where to get one?? A link perhaps?

Thanks for your help!
postcorner is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Digital Projectors - Under $3,000 USD MSRP

Tags
Epson , Epson Usa Inc , Epson Projector , Epson America , Epson Projectors

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off