Help finding a basic projector - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 5 Old 02-12-2014, 12:30 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 13
I am new to this and hoping for a kickstart. I moved into a new house that has a movie room. It is nice and dark with 9 speaker surround system, several dimmable lights and run by a media computer (HP Pavilion). The room is 17 feet deep and projector mounted at ceiling in back part of room. It projects on a white painted wall, which is 9'9" x 7' or 12' diagonal. Obviously not all of this needs to be used.

The projector is an InFocus X3 with a burnt out bulb. I started looking around when I realized the bulb would be 100$ to replace. In looking this up it looks like this is really a presentation projector. I did see it before it burnt out and the picture was awful, so I never used the room. I don't know if maybe it was just out of focus or something, or if it is just totally unsuited for the job. It looks like a DLP with XGA resolution 1024x768.

I would like to get the room set up for use now. I am not a connoisseur of video at all. My goals are pretty simple, I just want an HD image that would be good enough to watch a game if/when I get some friends over. Good enough for kids to use sometimes. I would like to hang the projector where it is now but that is 17' away, I don't know if that is too far for my screen size.

I guess I need a projector and maybe a screen but not looking for a real movie theater set up here, just something that will get by and I can upgrade later if I am using it a lot. I would probably honestly just use the wall for now, until I get it going.

anyone thing what I have would work if I just get the lamp and tweak it some? If not, any suggestions on a budget projector that may get by in my setup?

thanks
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 5 Old 02-12-2014, 12:57 PM
AVS Forum Special Member

Mentioned: 19 Post(s)