Epson Home Cinema 3000/3500/3600e Owners Thread - Page 30 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 98Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #871 of 1143 Old 01-25-2016, 06:10 PM
Advanced Member
 
DekPM19's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Pooler, Ga
Posts: 969
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 204 Post(s)
Liked: 65
Click image for larger version

Name:	image.jpg
Views:	543
Size:	154.7 KB
ID:	1210322

Here is a picture of my 120" AT screen from st. The lights are on and dimmed to about 50%. I am very pleased and think the same as others why did I wait so long. Oh I have the 3500 also.
Allen
Terence, carp and AlanAbby like this.
DekPM19 is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #872 of 1143 Old 01-26-2016, 09:24 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 0
So I'm looking at the 3500 or the 2045 because at Best Buy they have the $200 gift card. This will be a dedicated media room but I will have lights on in the back from time to time when watching sports and playing poker and we will play games on it as well. They aren't offering the gift card on the 3000 right now or I would look at that. The 2045 does split screen and every thing I've seen on the 3000 and 3500 they do a PIP can they do the split screen as well? Can someone shed some light on this for me? I'll be doing a 120"
screen.
Thanks
Rcdsupra is offline  
post #873 of 1143 Old 01-27-2016, 03:12 AM
Member
 
carlb23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 30
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 1
I just got a Refurbished 3500 from Epson for 1000 dollars no tax free shipping. The projector appears to be brand new I can't even see any marks on the inputs where anything was ever plugged into it. It also came with two new in sealed boxes of 3d glasses. The factory refurbished projector form epson comes with the same warranty as a new projector. So far I am very happy with it. As far as pip is concerned it does not do split screen and the pip wont work on using both hdmi ports you need to use one hdmi and one of the other ports.
carlb23 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #874 of 1143 Old 01-31-2016, 05:36 PM
Member
 
AR223's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: UpTown by the coast
Posts: 95
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 49 Post(s)
Liked: 36
Quote:
Originally Posted by Swolephile View Post
I'm still stunned at this post. Are you saying you feel the overall picture quality with the HC-3600e is comparable to the Sony HW 40ES? Nevermind the features.
Mines in a open living room. For the most part, it is brighter and with that the details is amazing even w/ the windows open and lights on. The 40es, lacked , but it was nice when the room was dark w/o the lights leaking in.

Both great PJs, but my epson works better for my application.
AR223 is offline  
post #875 of 1143 Old 01-31-2016, 05:48 PM
 
Swolephile's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 2,262
Mentioned: 22 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 896 Post(s)
Liked: 360
Quote:
Originally Posted by AR223 View Post
Mines in a open living room. For the most part, it is brighter and with that the details is amazing even w/ the windows open and lights on. The 40es, lacked , but it was nice when the room was dark w/o the lights leaking in.

Both great PJs, but my epson works better for my application.
Hmm, ok. I use my Sony 40ES for lights on viewing in my living room. I felt the difference in image quality between the two was easily discernable even with ambient light viewing. So I sold my Epson HC-3500 and kept the Sony.
Swolephile is offline  
post #876 of 1143 Old 01-31-2016, 06:04 PM
Member
 
AR223's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: UpTown by the coast
Posts: 95
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 49 Post(s)
Liked: 36
Quote:
Originally Posted by Swolephile View Post
Hmm, ok. I use my Sony 40ES for lights on viewing in my living room. I felt the difference in image quality between the two was easily discernable even with ambient light viewing. So I sold my Epson HC-3500 and kept the Sony.
How big is your screen?

I think the Sony for footlambers is only good up to 15', but I still think 13' is more equivalent when I was using mine.

Now the 3600 it can be pushed back up to 18' away from the screen and never loose brightness on my 150" screen. So I think you know where I am getting at now
AR223 is offline  
post #877 of 1143 Old 01-31-2016, 06:33 PM
 
Swolephile's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 2,262
Mentioned: 22 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 896 Post(s)
Liked: 360
Quote:
Originally Posted by AR223 View Post
How big is your screen?

I think the Sony for footlambers is only good up to 15', but I still think 13' is more equivalent when I was using mine.

Now the 3600 it can be pushed back up to 18' away from the screen and never loose brightness on my 150" screen. So I think you know where I am getting at now
Good point. You definitely need those extra lumens with a screen that large. However, you might also like one of Epson's business projectors for use with your screen.
Swolephile is offline  
post #878 of 1143 Old 01-31-2016, 06:48 PM
Member
 
AR223's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: UpTown by the coast
Posts: 95
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 49 Post(s)
Liked: 36
Quote:
Originally Posted by Swolephile View Post
Good point. You definitely need those extra lumens with a screen that large. However, you might also like one of Epson's business projectors for use with your screen.
Really? Amazing you would suggest that, lol.

I am not using my PJ w/ a laptop and time excel spread-sheets / powerpoint or going into a meeting room.

Business projectors lack much of what the Epson Home Cinema 3000 series provide home theater use.

Here is a oldie that you may enjoy reading. Enjoy your Sony

http://www.practical-home-theater-gu...rojectors.html
AR223 is offline  
post #879 of 1143 Old 01-31-2016, 07:04 PM
 
Swolephile's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 2,262
Mentioned: 22 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 896 Post(s)
Liked: 360
Quote:
Originally Posted by AR223 View Post
Really? Amazing you would suggest that, lol.

I am not using my PJ w/ a laptop and time excel spread-sheets / powerpoint or going into a meeting room.

Business projectors lack much of what the Epson Home Cinema 3000 series provide home theater use.

Here is a oldie that you may enjoy reading. Enjoy your Sony

http://www.practical-home-theater-gu...rojectors.html
I suggested an Epson business projector because there was not a sizable gap in black levels betweeen the HC 3500 and Epson's mid tier business projectors from what I saw. However there was a sizable gap in lumens output.

As I stated before I owned a HC 3500, and though I liked it alot. It's contrast was very, very low in my opinion. For ambient viewing, the Epson 1980WU showed a much brighter and more vibrant picture than the Epson HC 3500 was capable of.

Last edited by Swolephile; 01-31-2016 at 07:12 PM.
Swolephile is offline  
post #880 of 1143 Old 01-31-2016, 07:12 PM
Member
 
AR223's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: UpTown by the coast
Posts: 95
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 49 Post(s)
Liked: 36
Quote:
Originally Posted by Swolephile View Post
Good point. You definitely need those extra lumens with a screen that large. However, you might also like one of Epson's business projectors for use with your screen.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Swolephile View Post
I suggested an Epson business projector because there was not a sizable gap in black levels betweeen the HC 3500 and Epson's mid tier business projectors from what I saw. However there was a sizable gap in lumens output.

As I stated before I owned a HC 3500, and though I liked it alot. It's contrast was very, very low in my opinion.
The HC3500 contrast was low? Was it just not getting the depth in the colors to pop and seem to be dull looking? Did you try to exchange it and see if the same issue occurred / duplicated?
AR223 is offline  
post #881 of 1143 Old 01-31-2016, 07:15 PM
 
Swolephile's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 2,262
Mentioned: 22 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 896 Post(s)
Liked: 360
Quote:
Originally Posted by AR223 View Post
The HC3500 contrast was low? Was it just not getting the depth in the colors to pop and seem to be dull looking? Did you try to exchange it and see if the same issue occurred / duplicated?
I owned over five of them. Their perceived contrast was only marginally better than the Epson 1980WU I owned. However the Epson 1980WU's picture was much more bright and vibrant.
Swolephile is offline  
post #882 of 1143 Old 02-06-2016, 07:30 AM
Advanced Member
 
timfrommass's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: ummmm
Posts: 585
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Has there been any talk of epson replacing this series this year? It will have been out 2 years this summer I believe and the 2040 that was just updated has some features that even the 3000 series doesn't. I would be all set with the 3500 if it wasn't for the high lag times, high lamp price and lack of frame interpolation. These may not be deal breakers for me as it does have the brightness I need as well as the lens shift. However if there were to be an update in the next 6 months that went towards epson's lower lamp price trend while adding frame interpolation and maybe reducing lag I would be kicking myself. Any word on this?
timfrommass is offline  
post #883 of 1143 Old 02-06-2016, 11:15 AM
Advanced Member
 
DekPM19's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Pooler, Ga
Posts: 969
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 204 Post(s)
Liked: 65
Here is another picture as you enter my room.

Also I really like my 3500, me and my family and friends are blown away with how good it looks out of the box. Depends on what I am doing if the lights are on or off. Watching a movie I differently turn them off.
Allen
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	image.jpg
Views:	390
Size:	149.2 KB
ID:	1234489  

Last edited by DekPM19; 02-06-2016 at 11:27 AM.
DekPM19 is online now  
post #884 of 1143 Old 02-07-2016, 05:08 PM
Senior Member
 
DarenG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 439
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 185 Post(s)
Liked: 106
Quote:
Originally Posted by Swolephile View Post
I suggested an Epson business projector because there was not a sizable gap in black levels betweeen the HC 3500 and Epson's mid tier business projectors from what I saw. However there was a sizable gap in lumens output.



As I stated before I owned a HC 3500, and though I liked it alot. It's contrast was very, very low in my opinion. For ambient viewing, the Epson 1980WU showed a much brighter and more vibrant picture than the Epson HC 3500 was capable of.

Contrast very very low?!? Maybe you should have exchanged. I tested multiple projectors and came from an RPTV. You either or exaggerating the issue or had a bad unit.
DarenG is offline  
post #885 of 1143 Old 02-08-2016, 11:23 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by DarenG View Post
Contrast very very low?!? Maybe you should have exchanged. I tested multiple projectors and came from an RPTV. You either or exaggerating the issue or had a bad unit.
Anyone with the HC3000 willing to share calibration settings. I have seen settings for the 3500 but not for the 3000 anywhere online. I have heard a lot of people say the Natural mode has the best pictures but for me the colors are just off. I normally run either Cinema or Living Room mode and have the settings based off the 3500 calibration settings I was able to find.
timmyd6 is offline  
post #886 of 1143 Old 02-08-2016, 06:38 PM
Senior Member
 
wyattroa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Lombard, IL
Posts: 475
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 168 Post(s)
Liked: 118
For those of you who have used darbee, how does it compare to super resolution on this unit. I find super resolution just makes the picture horribly grainy. I think I have it set on 1 anything higher and I feel it takes away from the picture.

Sub build https://www.avsforum.com/forum/155-di...et-r-done.html
Center - JBL LC2
Mains - JBL L820
Surrounds - JBL L820
Sub - Dual UXL'18 enclosures,iNuke6000dsp
wyattroa is offline  
post #887 of 1143 Old 02-12-2016, 02:35 PM
Senior Member
 
wyattroa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Lombard, IL
Posts: 475
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 168 Post(s)
Liked: 118
bueller....bueller...Has anyone seen bueller

Sub build https://www.avsforum.com/forum/155-di...et-r-done.html
Center - JBL LC2
Mains - JBL L820
Surrounds - JBL L820
Sub - Dual UXL'18 enclosures,iNuke6000dsp
wyattroa is offline  
post #888 of 1143 Old 02-12-2016, 09:43 PM
Member
 
shakedog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 25
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by wyattroa View Post
bueller....bueller...Has anyone seen bueller
Hey Wyattroa. I came here seeking a solution to the uniformity focus (partial blurriness in certain areas of webpages. In particularly text). Before I could post, I saw you mentioned the Super Resolution. I had tinkered with it before but decided to give it one last shot and by taking it from 1 to 0, I fixed my issue. I can't speak for movies, but when it comes to using the pj for desktop pc tasks, super resolution was useless to me.
shakedog is offline  
post #889 of 1143 Old 02-12-2016, 09:53 PM
Member
 
shakedog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 25
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I may have spoken too soon. I'm now dealing with edge blur when using my HTPC, which isn't a major issue and I hear it's pretty common. Anyone have any ideas on how to eliminate or reduce it with the 3500?
shakedog is offline  
post #890 of 1143 Old 02-21-2016, 12:44 PM
Cos
Member
 
Cos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Dagobah
Posts: 40
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just upgraded to the 3500 last night, and have an annoying issue I cannot remediate:

After exactly 1 hour this thing just powers down. No temp light indicator, just flashing blue status light next to the power button. Sleep mode is off. I power it back on, and 1 hour later it turns off again.

What am I missing?


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
Cos is offline  
post #891 of 1143 Old 02-21-2016, 03:35 PM
Senior Member
 
DarenG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 439
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 185 Post(s)
Liked: 106
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cos View Post
Just upgraded to the 3500 last night, and have an annoying issue I cannot remediate:

After exactly 1 hour this thing just powers down. No temp light indicator, just flashing blue status light next to the power button. Sleep mode is off. I power it back on, and 1 hour later it turns off again.

What am I missing?


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

Are watching something when it happens?
DarenG is offline  
post #892 of 1143 Old 02-24-2016, 07:34 PM
Cos
Member
 
Cos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Dagobah
Posts: 40
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by DarenG View Post
Are watching something when it happens?

Whether it's a game on PS4 or movie on Apple TV. I think it's related to the power setting, don't think it happens in ECO mode. Testing to confirm.

Also starting to read comments regarding input lag when gaming, and after experiencing it, it's starting to become a bother.

Thinking about returning the projector to Best Buy since I'm still within the 2 week return period. What's a comparable projector picture wise that doesn't suffer as much with gaming lag?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Cos is offline  
post #893 of 1143 Old 02-26-2016, 10:42 AM
Member
 
verby's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm thinking about buying 3600 because of WiHD.
Have a couple of questions: how does this wihd works... is there any lagging in 1080/3d? sync issues? can I connect it to avr where all my devices are connected and just run our from avr to hdmi1 on transmitter?
verby is offline  
post #894 of 1143 Old 02-26-2016, 08:21 PM
Senior Member
 
DarenG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 439
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 185 Post(s)
Liked: 106
Epson Home Cinema 3000/3500/3600e Owners Thread

I don't really notice any lag playing my PS4 but you can switch to Fast mode to compensate when gaming with a slight sacrifice to visuals. There is no lag watching regular sources or 3D. In fact the 3D in this is fantastic and bright thanks to this thing being a light cannon.
DarenG is offline  
post #895 of 1143 Old 02-27-2016, 07:46 AM
Advanced Member
 
ben38's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Brooklyn, New York
Posts: 920
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 331 Post(s)
Liked: 171
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cos View Post
Whether it's a game on PS4 or movie on Apple TV. I think it's related to the power setting, don't think it happens in ECO mode. Testing to confirm.

Also starting to read comments regarding input lag when gaming, and after experiencing it, it's starting to become a bother.

Thinking about returning the projector to Best Buy since I'm still within the 2 week return period. What's a comparable projector picture wise that doesn't suffer as much with gaming lag?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
I've seen this a few times before on other projectors. You have a power issue, COS. It's not going to get better. Get the projector replaced right away.
ben38 is offline  
post #896 of 1143 Old 03-07-2016, 02:47 PM
Newbie
 
Maf Daniel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Hello to you all. I've a question about iris noise on the 3500 (6600 here in the UK). Some turn off the Auto Iris because of the noise but are all owners experiencing this? I'm not!

I recently acquired a motorised 105" screen from work that was going to be scrapped. I installed this in my living room at home and set up a borrowed Infocus DLP projector and was instantly hooked to the big screen home experience. However, I soon realised I was victim to the Rainbow Effect. After a couple of weeks of thorough investigation of pro reviews, user forums and demos at my local AV specialist, I decided an Epson 3LCD machine was for me and the 6600 looked to suite my budget.

I've been loving my purchase for 3 days now and racked up 26 hours already! (Where did the weekend go?) I've tried all the various settings and made a few tweaks here and there to get the best experience for my room but I'm a bit lost with this Auto Iris feature. Whether I put it in Fast or Normal mode or switch it off I'm not really seeing any difference and I'm not hearing any of the whirring noises that I've read about. So have I got a broken iris? Can somebody explain and help me understand how this feature can be quantified? Visually I see no difference in the projected image so what should I be looking (or listening) for? Also, can you see the iris moving behind the lens on the unit?

Thanks in advance for any advice you can offer,

Mat D

Sent from my SM-T715 using Tapatalk
Maf Daniel is offline  
post #897 of 1143 Old 03-07-2016, 05:18 PM
Advanced Member
 
chmorgan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Webster, Mn
Posts: 578
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 231 Post(s)
Liked: 165
Quote:
Originally Posted by Maf Daniel View Post
Hello to you all. I've a question about iris noise on the 3500 (6600 here in the UK). Some turn off the Auto Iris because of the noise but are all owners experiencing this? I'm not!

I recently acquired a motorised 105" screen from work that was going to be scrapped. I installed this in my living room at home and set up a borrowed Infocus DLP projector and was instantly hooked to the big screen home experience. However, I soon realised I was victim to the Rainbow Effect. After a couple of weeks of thorough investigation of pro reviews, user forums and demos at my local AV specialist, I decided an Epson 3LCD machine was for me and the 6600 looked to suite my budget.

I've been loving my purchase for 3 days now and racked up 26 hours already! (Where did the weekend go?) I've tried all the various settings and made a few tweaks here and there to get the best experience for my room but I'm a bit lost with this Auto Iris feature. Whether I put it in Fast or Normal mode or switch it off I'm not really seeing any difference and I'm not hearing any of the whirring noises that I've read about. So have I got a broken iris? Can somebody explain and help me understand how this feature can be quantified? Visually I see no difference in the projected image so what should I be looking (or listening) for? Also, can you see the iris moving behind the lens on the unit?

Thanks in advance for any advice you can offer,

Mat D

Sent from my SM-T715 using Tapatalk
Hey Mat-

I've got the 3500 in the US and love it as well. I find the auto iris to be near silent, or pretty darn quiet anyway, so I don't think you have anything to worry about. I turned mine off as I didn't see a great benefit other than slightly deeper blacks in very dark scenes.. I figure the payoff vs wear and tear on the projector wasn't worth it.

I hope this helps a little.

Chris
chmorgan is offline  
post #898 of 1143 Old 03-09-2016, 07:25 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
DLCPhoto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Mooresville, NC
Posts: 2,363
Mentioned: 14 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1567 Post(s)
Liked: 696
How does the 3000 Handle 2.35:1 Aspect Ratio?

I am planning to upgrade an audio-only room to an audio-visual system, with a Projector to provide the video component. Here is a thread I started which summarizes my overall plan, room specs, etc.:

Home Theater Plan

My initial plan was to use the Vivitek H1186-WT, with fairly low cost when I was starting my research ($637 on Amazon), good reviews, and especially its ability to readily handle 16:9 and 2.35:1 content. Now that I am nearing pulling the trigger on all of this, I can't find the Vivitek anywhere for less than $1000 at best. I called Vivitek, and they said it is discontinued, replaced by the H1188. That's all well and good, but I can't find the H1188 available anywhere on the internet; it's as if it doesn't exist.

So - I am exploring other options, and the HC3000 fits the bill in terms of throw, screen size, etc. My throw distance, ceiling mounted, will be 15' 6". The plan is to get the 138" 2.35:1 Silver Ticket fixed frame screen. This fills the available vertical distance on the wall where it will be mounted.

I want to be able to view 16:9 content, and have it fill the full 54" of visible vertical height of the screen, understanding that only 96" of the screen's width will be filled. But when viewing 2.35:1 material, I still want to fill the full 54" of vertical height of the screen, and have it now fill the full 126" of the horizontal visible portion of the screen.

Is this possible with the Epson 3000, and if so, how is it accomplished, how cumbersome, etc.? I'm hoping it won't require physically making adjustments on the Projector itself, although this isn't a deal-killer if it does.

Also, what are the practical benefits of going from the 3000 to the 3500, for my situation?

Thanks for any help!

Don

JVC RS400, Marantz SR7010, Screen Innovations 160" 2.35:1 Screen
Front L/R: Duntech Sovereigns, powered by 2 bridged Adcom GFA-555
Center: Revel C208 powered by Cambridge Audio Azur 851W
Dolby Bed (4): Sony Core SS-CS5, Atmos (4): Ascend Acoustics CBM-170 SE
Subwoofer: DIY 8' sub with 4 18" SI Drivers, powered by iNuke 6000
DLCPhoto is offline  
post #899 of 1143 Old 03-09-2016, 03:10 PM
Newbie
 
Maf Daniel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by chmorgan View Post
Hey Mat-

I've got the 3500 in the US and love it as well. I find the auto iris to be near silent, or pretty darn quiet anyway, so I don't think you have anything to worry about. I turned mine off as I didn't see a great benefit other than slightly deeper blacks in very dark scenes.. I figure the payoff vs wear and tear on the projector wasn't worth it.

I hope this helps a little.

Chris
I had another go with the Auto Iris this evening but still not seeing a difference. Is the effect more apparent in eco, medium or high lamp modes?

Sent from my SM-T715 using Tapatalk
Maf Daniel is offline  
post #900 of 1143 Old 03-09-2016, 04:05 PM
Member
 
Crazy4HD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 143
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 33 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by Maf Daniel View Post
I had another go with the Auto Iris this evening but still not seeing a difference. Is the effect more apparent in eco, medium or high lamp modes?

Sent from my SM-T715 using Tapatalk
I think the easiest way to see the effect of the dynamic iris is when watching just prior to the end credits rolling in a movie. Usually, when the movie ends, there is a fade-to-black and then the credits will start. If you have the Auto Iris set to High Speed, it will close down and make that fade-to-black a little darker, but will then open up again once the credits start to roll. I found this transition very easy to spot. I can also spot it sometimes if there is a similar quick dark to light change in the movie.

It's possible that if the Auto Iris is set to Normal speed, the transitions are too fast and the iris won't be engaged. I haven't tried this out myself. Also, I'm using the Natural Color Mode and ECO Power Consumption mode and not sure if it's still visible using other Color/Power Consumption modes.

Hope that helps.

Crazy4HD is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Digital Projectors - Under $3,000 USD MSRP

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off