New Firmware Update for Epson 5030UB - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 56 Old 10-16-2014, 10:37 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
ricochet315's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 52
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
New Firmware Update for Epson 5030UB

Last October 8, I received my 5030UB from Amazon. Anybody here can confirm if my projector already comes with the new firmware upgrade? If not, can I install it personally or do I have to bring the unit to a service-center?
ricochet315 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 56 Old 10-19-2014, 10:47 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Kilgore's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Huntsville Ontario
Posts: 3,842
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 729 Post(s)
Liked: 440
If you mean October 2013, then no, you don't have the new firmware. I believe you can update the firmware yourself once it's published to the Epson website. It hasn't been "officially" released yet, but it should be soon.


It looks promising. Super Resolution and CFI have both been greatly improved, apparently. It will also be interesting to see if input lag has been affected, and hopefully reduced.
Kilgore is offline  
post #3 of 56 Old 10-21-2014, 07:28 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
ricochet315's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 52
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
No, I mean October 8, 2014. Do you think my unit has already the new firmware in it?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
ricochet315 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 56 Old 10-21-2014, 08:19 AM
Member
 
flight planner's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Buckeye, AZ
Posts: 98
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by ricochet315 View Post
No, I mean October 8, 2014. Do you think my unit has already the new firmware in it?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Pull up the MENU and look in the INFO section.

The firmware version is listed there and the updated version is 111, I believe.
flight planner is offline  
post #5 of 56 Old 10-21-2014, 11:52 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 0
5030ub firmware upgrade

Bought the 5030UB a couple of weeks ago and it had V102.


Got the upgrade last week and installed it took about 5 minutes, V111.


Can't post a link, but do this.


Go to the Epson website, in their search box type in Firmware update for 5030ub,


The first result "Where can I get the Detail Enhancement firmware update?" Will take you to the right place.
uga11980 is offline  
post #6 of 56 Old 10-23-2014, 06:03 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
kreeturez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 1,375
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 505 Post(s)
Liked: 406
New Firmware Update for Epson 5030UB

ProjectorReviews has reviewed this update (both the update procedure and their thoughts on its results):
http://www.projectorreviews.com/arti...0ube-and-4030/

Their conclusion? "Go For It!"

BenQ HT2050A Projector; Kodi (on Ubuntu, OpenELEC & S802) via Sony STR-DH540 AVR with Boston Acoustics SoundWare XS SE 5.1 Audio + Jamo 210 Sub. Emby for Mobile Streaming.

Last edited by kreeturez; 10-23-2014 at 06:21 PM.
kreeturez is offline  
post #7 of 56 Old 10-24-2014, 10:53 AM
Senior Member
 
ckronengold's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Boston Strong / Jersey Strong
Posts: 405
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 199 Post(s)
Liked: 76
I just bought mine this week and it still only had v102.
Guessing most people buying one thats already on the shelves will need the update.

Movies: Epson 5050 / Marantz 7010 / OPPO-103
Streaming: nVidia Shield / Roku Ultra / Chromecast Ultra
Speakers: MartinLogan Motion 40 (LR), Motion 50XT (center), Motion 2 (surrounds)
Server: Ubuntu 18.04, i7-8700 CPU
HTPC: Win10 Pro 64-bit, i5 750 Radeon HD 5850
ckronengold is offline  
post #8 of 56 Old 10-24-2014, 01:31 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Australia
Posts: 28
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by ckronengold View Post
I just bought mine this week and it still only had v102.
Guessing most people buying one thats already on the shelves will need the update.
I bought mine in September and updated it last week. All I can say is "Awesome". Looks like a completely new projector. The images are razor sharp. I would say go for it. It is worth the little trouble.
Quo Vadis is offline  
post #9 of 56 Old 10-25-2014, 06:19 AM
Senior Member
 
dawziecat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Rural Nova Scotia
Posts: 291
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Quo Vadis View Post
I bought mine in September and updated it last week. All I can say is "Awesome". Looks like a completely new projector. The images are razor sharp. I would say go for it. It is worth the little trouble.
I am interested in hearing from more folks WHO HAVE ACTUALLY DONE this FW update.
Claims that it brings a major increase in sharpness seem all but impossible to me? The picture is already about as sharp as it can be IMO.
The updates always come with risk. I quote from the update instructions. The colour enhancements are Epson's, not mine:

" Be sure to carefully follow the Projector Firmware Update instructions. Incorrect installation of the firmware can cause serious damage to your product." and . . .
"Note:If your projector will not turn on after installing the firmware, contact Epson support."

If there are indeed tangible benefits to this update, of course I will do it. Otherwise, I'd rather not. Yes, the instructions do seem simple enough. Perhaps I am being overly timid but I've only had this thing two days. I have verified it does NOT have the latest FW. I am especially eager to hear from anyone who had trouble during or after the update.

Terry Danks
Nature & Wildlife Photography
http://danks.netfirms.com/home.htm
dawziecat is offline  
post #10 of 56 Old 10-25-2014, 08:09 AM
Member
 
flight planner's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Buckeye, AZ
Posts: 98
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Terry:

I did the update yesterday and I can say that it was WELL WORTH the time and effort.

Got my 5030 in July with firmware version 100 (I guess that was the original version).

I also thought that the picture was stunning and why fix it...................

The picture with version 111 is incredible!

I was thinking of getting a Darbee and canceled those plans.

Do it.

You'll be very happy with the result.

Jim
flight planner is offline  
post #11 of 56 Old 10-25-2014, 09:43 AM
Senior Member
 
dawziecat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Rural Nova Scotia
Posts: 291
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 12
OK, Jim.

I've downloaded the file and the instructions and will "screw my courage to the sticking point," with apologies to Shakespeare.
Thanks for the info!

Terry Danks
Nature & Wildlife Photography
http://danks.netfirms.com/home.htm
dawziecat is offline  
post #12 of 56 Old 10-25-2014, 10:26 AM
Member
 
flight planner's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Buckeye, AZ
Posts: 98
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Terry:

Let me know if you have any questions while doing it and let us know how it turns out.

Jim
flight planner is offline  
post #13 of 56 Old 10-25-2014, 11:02 AM
Senior Member
 
dawziecat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Rural Nova Scotia
Posts: 291
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Thanks, Jim.
Update is done. V111 confirmed and new "super" res menu located in Signal sub menu. Will have to wait for nightfall to see how it looks with super res changes from 0 through 5.

I am still very much feeling my way through the menus on the new toy!

Two things that surprised me about doing the update. I was concerned that the instructions did not mention replacing one file with another. The Epson folder that came up was initially empty? Seemed strange. Anyway, I just dropped the downloaded file into the folder and all was well.
Also, I read in the http://www.projectorreviews.com/arti...0ube-and-4030/ that the updated FW was in a zip file? Not so now. I did not have to unzip it.

Glad it's done. Never know with these persnickety computers!

Terry Danks
Nature & Wildlife Photography
http://danks.netfirms.com/home.htm
dawziecat is offline  
post #14 of 56 Old 10-25-2014, 11:09 AM
Member
 
flight planner's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Buckeye, AZ
Posts: 98
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Terry:

You'll be happy with the update.

I too was surprised that the Epson icon on my PC was empty.

Guess if there hasn't been an update, you only have the hardware firmware which is the physical device itself.

I was also confused about reading that the update was a zip file and then not finding one was concerned that I didn't have the correct data.

However, all turned out well.
flight planner is offline  
post #15 of 56 Old 10-25-2014, 01:41 PM
Senior Member
 
Gil Arroyo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: SEATTLE, WA
Posts: 328
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 87 Post(s)
Liked: 33
Will the Detail Enhancement work with the 5010?

Quote:
Originally Posted by dawziecat View Post
Thanks, Jim.
Update is done. V111 confirmed and new "super" res menu located in Signal sub menu. Will have to wait for nightfall to see how it looks with super res changes from 0 through 5.

I am still very much feeling my way through the menus on the new toy!

Two things that surprised me about doing the update. I was concerned that the instructions did not mention replacing one file with another. The Epson folder that came up was initially empty? Seemed strange. Anyway, I just dropped the downloaded file into the folder and all was well.
Also, I read in the http://www.projectorreviews.com/arti...0ube-and-4030/ that the updated FW was in a zip file? Not so now. I did not have to unzip it.

Glad it's done. Never know with these persnickety computers!
This is probably the "4K Pixel Wiggle" mode used in the new LSD10000. I would like to try it
on my 5010--I wonder if it might be compatible?
Gil Arroyo is offline  
post #16 of 56 Old 10-25-2014, 04:55 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Kilgore's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Huntsville Ontario
Posts: 3,842
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 729 Post(s)
Liked: 440
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gil Arroyo View Post
This is probably the "4K Pixel Wiggle" mode used in the new LSD10000. I would like to try it
on my 5010--I wonder if it might be compatible?
This update is only for the 6030, 5030 and 4030, so no, it's not compatible.
Kilgore is offline  
post #17 of 56 Old 10-25-2014, 07:21 PM
Member
 
chriso1671's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 73
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by flight planner View Post
Terry:

I did the update yesterday and I can say that it was WELL WORTH the time and effort.

Got my 5030 in July with firmware version 100 (I guess that was the original version).

I also thought that the picture was stunning and why fix it...................

The picture with version 111 is incredible!

I was thinking of getting a Darbee and canceled those plans.

Do it. yep I feel the same was going to get a darbee but I think I will wait till I update to a new PJ had the upgrade for about3 weeks ( Australia) and it looks awesome .

You'll be very happy with the result.

Jim
chriso1671 is offline  
post #18 of 56 Old 10-25-2014, 07:22 PM
Member
 
chriso1671's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 73
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 14
[QUOTE=chriso1671;28537065][/QUOTE ] What I was trying to say is I was going to get darbee as well but am going to wait till I upgrade to new pj, had the upgrade firmware for about 3 weeks and its awesome.
chriso1671 is offline  
post #19 of 56 Old 10-26-2014, 01:56 PM
Senior Member
 
Gil Arroyo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: SEATTLE, WA
Posts: 328
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 87 Post(s)
Liked: 33
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kilgore View Post
This update is only for the 6030, 5030 and 4030, so no, it's not compatible.

Thanks for the advisory. Guess I'll wait for the LS 10000 to show up and look for a seller.


gil
Gil Arroyo is offline  
post #20 of 56 Old 10-30-2014, 11:12 PM
Newbie
 
ML41's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
I Tried this update process and my projector still shows firmware V100. It does have "super-resolution" under the Signal sub menu. When I update and eject the Epson from my computer I wait for a minute and the unplug the usb. The projector immediately shuts off. it restarts but always with the same firmware (V100).

Any suggestions on what to do would be appreciated.

Thanks
ML41 is offline  
post #21 of 56 Old 10-30-2014, 11:32 PM
Newbie
 
ML41's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
I figured out the problem. When I tried to update with a windows 8.1 computer it would not work so I tried an older window 7 laptop and it worked perfectly.
ML41 is offline  
post #22 of 56 Old 10-31-2014, 08:38 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Kilgore's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Huntsville Ontario
Posts: 3,842
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 729 Post(s)
Liked: 440
Quote:
Originally Posted by ML41 View Post
I figured out the problem. When I tried to update with a windows 8.1 computer it would not work so I tried an older window 7 laptop and it worked perfectly.

I just bought a 5030UB, and immediately updated it from 1.02 to 1.11. I used a Windows 8.1 computer and had no problems whatsoever.

I think you were probably using a USB 3.0 connection on the Windows 8.1 computer. That's what I believe the problem is, and not "Windows 8.1". Like I said, I updated mine with no trouble at all.
Kilgore is offline  
post #23 of 56 Old 10-31-2014, 09:00 PM
Newbie
 
ML41's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kilgore View Post
I just bought a 5030UB, and immediately updated it from 1.02 to 1.11. I used a Windows 8.1 computer and had no problems whatsoever.

I think you were probably using a USB 3.0 connection on the Windows 8.1 computer. That's what I believe the problem is, and not "Windows 8.1". Like I said, I updated mine with no trouble at all.
Yes Kilgore you are correct. My laptop has two USB 3.0 ports. It is all good now and is a nice improvement.
ML41 is offline  
post #24 of 56 Old 11-01-2014, 10:16 AM
Member
 
y2ks2k's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Knoxville, TN
Posts: 62
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
4930 Firmware Update

I followed the directions very carefully. After plugging the USB into the projector and PC, I held down the power button and reconnected the power plug on the PJ.
The projector's fan started, no lamp, but the Epson did not show up on my PC.
I waited about 5 minutes, still no show.
Unplugged the projector, waited a few minutes, plugged it back in and it fired up normally.

I tested both the USB cable and the USB port on the PC prior to trying to update the firmware.
Any ideas on why it didn't show up. BTW, I am using a PC with windows 7
y2ks2k is offline  
post #25 of 56 Old 11-01-2014, 11:23 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Thanks for the update bro!
mistikempire is offline  
post #26 of 56 Old 11-01-2014, 05:50 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Kilgore's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Huntsville Ontario
Posts: 3,842
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 729 Post(s)
Liked: 440
Quote:
Originally Posted by y2ks2k View Post
I tested both the USB cable and the USB port on the PC prior to trying to update the firmware.
Any ideas on why it didn't show up. BTW, I am using a PC with windows 7

Do you only have one USB port? Is it a laptop? Is it a USB 3.0 port?
Kilgore is offline  
post #27 of 56 Old 11-02-2014, 03:08 AM
Member
 
y2ks2k's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Knoxville, TN
Posts: 62
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yes, it's a laptop, the USB port that I tried yesterday wasn't 3.0. Tried a different laptop and I was able to update the projector with no problems. The USB on the second laptop is 3.0
Thanks!
y2ks2k is offline  
post #28 of 56 Old 11-05-2014, 04:30 AM
Advanced Member
 
ccapozzoli's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: North of Boston
Posts: 622
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 11
The update went smooth. Now does anyone have any calibration settings I could use to tweak this machine
ccapozzoli is offline  
post #29 of 56 Old 11-05-2014, 11:35 AM
Advanced Member
 
willieconway's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 867
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 314 Post(s)
Liked: 305
Has anyone with a Darbee applied the update and compared the effects? I'd rather not take my 5030 down from its shelf to apply the update unless the improvement beats what my Oppo 103D does.

Equipment and collection:
Spoiler!
willieconway is online now  
post #30 of 56 Old 11-05-2014, 02:14 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
jpmst3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Davidsville, PA
Posts: 8,591
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 196 Post(s)
Liked: 314
Quote:
Originally Posted by uga11980 View Post
Bought the 5030UB a couple of weeks ago and it had V102.


Got the upgrade last week and installed it took about 5 minutes, V111.


Can't post a link, but do this.


Go to the Epson website, in their search box type in Firmware update for 5030ub,


The first result "Where can I get the Detail Enhancement firmware update?" Will take you to the right place.
Thanks for that info!

______________________________________________
Joe = LFE Addict
Past Builds: 24" LMS-5400 cube, Anarchy 25Hz Tapped Horn, Danley DTS-10 kit, BFM AutoTuba, BFM THT, BFM THT-LP
Joe's LOWARHORN build, Dual LMS-5400 Ultra Endtables build
jpmst3 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Digital Projectors - Under $3,000 USD MSRP

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off