Official Sony VPL-HW40ES Owners/Settings Thread - Page 3 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 384Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #61 of 1561 Old 12-14-2014, 05:56 PM
Advanced Member
 
Tom899's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Brownstown, Michigan
Posts: 681
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 147 Post(s)
Liked: 58
Quote:
Originally Posted by horseflesh View Post
I have a 135" 1.0 screen and my PJ is mounted at about 14 ft back.

At this distance, I find the brightness in 3D mode to be totally adequate. Adequate, not eye-poppin' awesome. I'd make it brighter if I could. It simply isn't "IMAX bright" in this configuration.

Based on this experience, I'd be concerned that 21-22 ft might be too far away for pleasing 3D brightness.
I'm getting ready to mount my 40ES soon. Projector Centrals calculator says 16' 4" for my 134" screen. I see you are at 14'. I'm trying to understand what distance I should go with? What would be the best? I only want to mount this once.

Pioneer UDP-LX500 | Denon AVR-X4400H | Emotiva A-300 2ch amp | Emotiva PA-1 monoblock | JVC DLA-RS1000 Projector | Mini DSP 4x2 | Dune HD Smart D1 | ZIDOO Z9S | Buttkicker system | HSU VTF-3 MK4 subs(2) | HSU MBM-12 MK2 Mid bass module | Klipsch RP-8000F(2) | Klipsch RP-504C | Klipsch RS-62 II(2) | Polk RC80i Ceiling(4) | Carada 134” screen | unRAID 40TB
Tom899 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #62 of 1561 Old 12-14-2014, 06:08 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Crabalocker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 1,225
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 182 Post(s)
Liked: 122
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tom899 View Post
I'm getting ready to mount my 40ES soon. Projector Centrals calculator says 16' 4" for my 134" screen. I see you are at 14'. I'm trying to understand what distance I should go with? What would be the best? I only want to mount this once.
You won't have to worry about brightness so your good to mount it 16' back. Mount it where it's optimum for your room.
Crabalocker is offline  
post #63 of 1561 Old 12-14-2014, 06:16 PM
Advanced Member
 
Tom899's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Brownstown, Michigan
Posts: 681
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 147 Post(s)
Liked: 58
Quote:
Originally Posted by Crabalocker View Post
You won't have to worry about brightness so your good to mount it 16' back. Mount it where it's optimum for your room.
Thanks Crabalocker, My room is very deep, I can mount it from very close to 35' back (obviously won't do that). So I don't know what optimal is? If 16' is the perfect sweet spot than I will use that.

Pioneer UDP-LX500 | Denon AVR-X4400H | Emotiva A-300 2ch amp | Emotiva PA-1 monoblock | JVC DLA-RS1000 Projector | Mini DSP 4x2 | Dune HD Smart D1 | ZIDOO Z9S | Buttkicker system | HSU VTF-3 MK4 subs(2) | HSU MBM-12 MK2 Mid bass module | Klipsch RP-8000F(2) | Klipsch RP-504C | Klipsch RS-62 II(2) | Polk RC80i Ceiling(4) | Carada 134” screen | unRAID 40TB
Tom899 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #64 of 1561 Old 12-14-2014, 07:10 PM
Advanced Member
 
horseflesh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Seattle-ish
Posts: 677
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 105 Post(s)
Liked: 50
My PJ is at that distance only because it's where it had to be for the room.
horseflesh is offline  
post #65 of 1561 Old 12-14-2014, 07:42 PM
Member
 
lespaulman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 165
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 117 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tom899 View Post
I'm getting ready to mount my 40ES soon. Projector Centrals calculator says 16' 4" for my 134" screen. I see you are at 14'. I'm trying to understand what distance I should go with? What would be the best? I only want to mount this once.
I have 135" fixed 1.1 Elite screen and my Sony 40es is mounted at 13' 6" to front of lens. Mine is very bright and looks amazing.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	movie1.jpg
Views:	1278
Size:	264.8 KB
ID:	422561  
lespaulman is offline  
post #66 of 1561 Old 12-14-2014, 10:02 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Kilgore's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Huntsville Ontario
Posts: 3,842
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 729 Post(s)
Liked: 440
Quote:
Originally Posted by quakana View Post
Have any of you guys has Keystone issues with the Sony VPL-HW40ES? I am looking at buying one and will be ceiling mounting and read a bad review relating to this on amazon. I currently have a Panasonic PT-AR100 which has keystone control through the remote (electronic?) and have a trapezoid shaped pic would drive me nuts!

You should never have to use keystone with a projector that uses lens shift like the Sony. To avoid a trapezoidal image, you must start out with the PJ level with the floor, and projecting perpendicularly to and directly straight at the opposing wall that contains the screen, regardless of where on the wall the screen is, and then using the lens shift controls to move the image onto the screen.


To recap.


1: Make sure PJ is level with the floor
2: Point the PJ directly at the wall so the beam is perpendicular to the plane of the wall.
3: Use lens shift to move the image to the screen.


It's simple, really. I refuse to buy a PJ that doesn't have lens shift. It makes things SOOOOOO mush easier and gives you so many options for PJ location. Phooey on offsets!
Kilgore is offline  
post #67 of 1561 Old 12-15-2014, 02:01 AM
Senior Member
 
mike123abc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Norman, OK
Posts: 325
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 34 Post(s)
Liked: 28
Quote:
Originally Posted by quakana View Post
Have any of you guys has Keystone issues with the Sony VPL-HW40ES? I am looking at buying one and will be ceiling mounting and read a bad review relating to this on amazon. I currently have a Panasonic PT-AR100 which has keystone control through the remote (electronic?) and have a trapezoid shaped pic would drive me nuts!
The only reason you would have a keystone problem is if you mount the projector too high/low (or side to side) of the screen that it is out of range of the lens shift, and you had to tilt the projector.
mike123abc is offline  
post #68 of 1561 Old 12-16-2014, 12:05 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Craig Peer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 15,776
Mentioned: 106 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6613 Post(s)
Liked: 7687
" You should never have to use keystone with a projector that uses lens shift like the Sony. To avoid a trapezoidal image, you must start out with the PJ level with the floor, and projecting perpendicularly to and directly straight at the opposing wall that contains the screen, regardless of where on the wall the screen is, and then using the lens shift controls to move the image onto the screen. "


Keystone correction should be eliminated from home theater projectors for the users own good !
ben38 and Kilgore like this.

Last edited by Craig Peer; 12-17-2014 at 10:42 AM.
Craig Peer is offline  
post #69 of 1561 Old 12-16-2014, 05:19 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 39
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Has anybody used the Sony VPL-HW40ES on a 150" screen? How does the Sony VPL-HW40ES look on a 150" screen? I'm debating between a 135" screen or a 150" screen, I was wondering if this projector loses any image quality as it gets bigger.

Thanks
johann777 is offline  
post #70 of 1561 Old 12-17-2014, 10:28 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Mike Garrett's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 25,537
Mentioned: 232 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11816 Post(s)
Liked: 9351
Send a message via Skype™ to Mike Garrett
Quote:
Originally Posted by johann777 View Post
Has anybody used the Sony VPL-HW40ES on a 150" screen? How does the Sony VPL-HW40ES look on a 150" screen? I'm debating between a 135" screen or a 150" screen, I was wondering if this projector loses any image quality as it gets bigger.

Thanks
All projected images lose quality as you make them bigger. I doubt that you are really going to notice much if any difference in image quality going from 135" to 150" The 40 has enough lumens for a 150" screen, especially so if you get a screen with a little gain.
Mike Garrett is offline  
post #71 of 1561 Old 12-19-2014, 08:01 AM
Member
 
Soxfan111111's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 64
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 42 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Cable tv image quality

So I have this projector ceiling mounted on a 120" screen. Blu-ray's look fantastic, but I also use it for cable television watching, which I get with Comcast running through a TiVo mini box. I am not nearly as satisfied with TiVo image quality, and not just because it obviously isn't going to look as good as blu-ray, but that it doesn't even come close to what my 60" plasma achieves. For the most part close-ups look good, but wide shots really suffer, with lots of grain and artifacts showing up.

Is this just a function of the image being blown up so much bigger and therefore the weakness of the picture becomes more apparent?

Are there possibly any settings out there someone could point me to that might improve a cable television image?
Soxfan111111 is offline  
post #72 of 1561 Old 12-19-2014, 08:17 AM
Senior Member
 
hv9200's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: NH
Posts: 387
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 112 Post(s)
Liked: 71
Quote:
Originally Posted by Soxfan111111 View Post
So I have this projector ceiling mounted on a 120" screen. Blu-ray's look fantastic, but I also use it for cable television watching, which I get with Comcast running through a TiVo mini box. I am not nearly as satisfied with TiVo image quality, and not just because it obviously isn't going to look as good as blu-ray, but that it doesn't even come close to what my 60" plasma achieves. For the most part close-ups look good, but wide shots really suffer, with lots of grain and artifacts showing up.

Is this just a function of the image being blown up so much bigger and therefore the weakness of the picture becomes more apparent?

Are there possibly any settings out there someone could point me to that might improve a cable television image?
I have noticed same issue with my set up (also 120" and also using TiVo), its basically the signal coming in, I see a tremendous differences in the picture quality from channel to channel, in my setup HBO, Showtime look great but AMC and FX look somewhat grainy I don't have artifacts though...the picture is not poor but not great either. I have played with the settings but IMO you are just not going to be able to get as good an image on 120" projection that you will with you plasma with a cable TV signal.

"although he walks among us, he is not one of us"
hv9200 is offline  
post #73 of 1561 Old 12-19-2014, 08:20 AM
Member
 
hendry98's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 125
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 97 Post(s)
Liked: 8
I just bought Sony HW40 for my new HT, but still in the box, any recommendation for specific Ceiling Mounting Kit (black material) for this projector?

this is my first projector, and i have zero experience with projectors/mounting kits


p.s., most likely will order the kit from amazon.


Thanks
hendry98 is offline  
post #74 of 1561 Old 12-19-2014, 08:24 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
tcramer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Madison, WI
Posts: 1,300
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 388 Post(s)
Liked: 203
Quote:
Originally Posted by hv9200 View Post
I have noticed same issue with my set up (also 120" and also using TiVo), its basically the signal coming in, I see a tremendous differences in the picture quality from channel to channel, in my setup HBO, Showtime look great but AMC and FX look somewhat grainy I don't have artifacts though...the picture is not poor but not great either. I have played with the settings but IMO you are just not going to be able to get as good an image on 120" projection that you will with you plasma with a cable TV signal.
Yep, the same here. The biggest letdown to me is football. The typical field view is never that great but it still looks good on my VT50 but it almost always looks crappy on my 110' screen. Like you said, some channels aren't bad and the closeups are usually good, but most things it will take some adjusting to get used to the decreased PQ on the big screen.
tcramer is offline  
post #75 of 1561 Old 12-19-2014, 08:40 AM
Senior Member
 
hv9200's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: NH
Posts: 387
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 112 Post(s)
Liked: 71
Quote:
Originally Posted by hendry98 View Post
I just bought Sony HW40 for my new HT, but still in the box, any recommendation for specific Ceiling Mounting Kit (black material) for this projector?

this is my first projector, and i have zero experience with projectors/mounting kits


p.s., most likely will order the kit from amazon.


Thanks
I use the peerless universal (black) and the 6-9" adjustable extension tube...worked good for me and yes...I bought it from Amazon
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	FullSizeRender3.jpg
Views:	1073
Size:	175.1 KB
ID:	431010  
hendry98 likes this.

"although he walks among us, he is not one of us"
hv9200 is offline  
post #76 of 1561 Old 12-19-2014, 08:45 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Crabalocker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 1,225
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 182 Post(s)
Liked: 122
Quote:
Originally Posted by johann777 View Post
Has anybody used the Sony VPL-HW40ES on a 150" screen? How does the Sony VPL-HW40ES look on a 150" screen? I'm debating between a 135" screen or a 150" screen, I was wondering if this projector loses any image quality as it gets bigger.

Thanks
I run 153" 16x9 and the HW40 is plenty bright.

As you go bigger, source material becomes paramount. Any flaws become exaggerated as you enlarge the image. I sit 14-15' from my screen and it looks really good. HD TV looks good on some channels, not so good on others.....Bell ExpressVu compresses their signal so you're not watching true HD. Blu-ray looks really good! As stated above...NFL football on the network channels doesn't look all that great, on TSN (CFL) looks pretty good. If you can pick up the HD channels locally with an antenna....I hear that makes all the difference, but I don't have first hand knowledge of that.

If it were me and I was sitting 12'ish feet from my screen, I'd go 135". If I were sitting 14 feet or further back, I'd go 150"

To give you size comparison... here's a shot of my 153" A/T screen and if you look closely you can make out my old painted screen (now painted black) which was 133". Just to give you some perspective with the size differences.


Click image for larger version

Name:	9.jpg
Views:	1136
Size:	72.6 KB
ID:	431018
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_0912.jpg
Views:	889
Size:	42.4 KB
ID:	431026  

Last edited by Crabalocker; 12-19-2014 at 09:22 AM.
Crabalocker is offline  
post #77 of 1561 Old 12-19-2014, 01:28 PM
Member
 
hendry98's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 125
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 97 Post(s)
Liked: 8
Quote:
Originally Posted by johann777 View Post
Has anybody used the Sony VPL-HW40ES on a 150" screen? How does the Sony VPL-HW40ES look on a 150" screen? I'm debating between a 135" screen or a 150" screen, I was wondering if this projector loses any image quality as it gets bigger.

Thanks
I have order AT 150" screen (16:9) and Sony HW40, but my first row will be 14-15' from the screen.

So i am in the same boat
hendry98 is offline  
post #78 of 1561 Old 12-19-2014, 01:29 PM
Member
 
hendry98's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 125
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 97 Post(s)
Liked: 8
Quote:
Originally Posted by hv9200 View Post
I use the peerless universal (black) and the 6-9" adjustable extension tube...worked good for me and yes...I bought it from Amazon
Awesome, thanks a lot, i will check it out now.

are referring to this one:

http://www.amazon.com/Peerless-PRGUN...=pd_cp_e_1#Ask

Last edited by hendry98; 12-19-2014 at 02:20 PM.
hendry98 is offline  
post #79 of 1561 Old 12-19-2014, 01:31 PM
Member
 
hendry98's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 125
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 97 Post(s)
Liked: 8
Quote:
Originally Posted by Crabalocker View Post
I run 153" 16x9 and the HW40 is plenty bright.

As you go bigger, source material becomes paramount. Any flaws become exaggerated as you enlarge the image. I sit 14-15' from my screen and it looks really good. HD TV looks good on some channels, not so good on others
if you go back to 19-20', would the HD TV image get better?
hendry98 is offline  
post #80 of 1561 Old 12-19-2014, 07:35 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Crabalocker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 1,225
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 182 Post(s)
Liked: 122
Quote:
Originally Posted by hendry98 View Post
if you go back to 19-20', would the HD TV image get better?
Most television channels look good...for the most part. Moving back doesn't really help....maybe a bit but it's not like on a smaller TV. It's hard to explain. But for most of your TV viewing it will look really good.

The only other weird television issue I experience is that some channels, the show itself is on the dim side.... I have to put the lamp on high. The commercials will be at normal brightness levels but the show itself goes dim. Sports appear bright.

I'm not sure why NFL looks...well not great on ExpressVu. When I watch the highlights on TSN it looks fine. It seems like it's more of a dish issue rather than a projector issue. I'm glad I'm not a football fan anymore.
hendry98 likes this.
Crabalocker is offline  
post #81 of 1561 Old 12-19-2014, 07:52 PM
Member
 
lespaulman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 165
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 117 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by Crabalocker View Post
I run 153" 16x9 and the HW40 is plenty bright.

As you go bigger, source material becomes paramount. Any flaws become exaggerated as you enlarge the image. I sit 14-15' from my screen and it looks really good. HD TV looks good on some channels, not so good on others.....Bell ExpressVu compresses their signal so you're not watching true HD. Blu-ray looks really good! As stated above...NFL football on the network channels doesn't look all that great, on TSN (CFL) looks pretty good. If you can pick up the HD channels locally with an antenna....I hear that makes all the difference, but I don't have first hand knowledge of that.

If it were me and I was sitting 12'ish feet from my screen, I'd go 135". If I were sitting 14 feet or further back, I'd go 150"

To give you size comparison... here's a shot of my 153" A/T screen and if you look closely you can make out my old painted screen (now painted black) which was 133". Just to give you some perspective with the size differences.


Attachment 431018
what screen material do you have? And where did you get it from.
lespaulman is offline  
post #82 of 1561 Old 12-20-2014, 12:45 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Crabalocker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 1,225
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 182 Post(s)
Liked: 122
Quote:
Originally Posted by lespaulman View Post
what screen material do you have? And where did you get it from.
It's a Seymour xd screen and I got the material from....Seymour AV. I bought the material and built my own frame and false wall. Acoustically transparent screens are awesome!! I have zero regrets going this route.
Crabalocker is offline  
post #83 of 1561 Old 12-20-2014, 07:33 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 39
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by Crabalocker View Post
I run 153" 16x9 and the HW40 is plenty bright.

As you go bigger, source material becomes paramount. Any flaws become exaggerated as you enlarge the image. I sit 14-15' from my screen and it looks really good. HD TV looks good on some channels, not so good on others.....Bell ExpressVu compresses their signal so you're not watching true HD. Blu-ray looks really good! As stated above...NFL football on the network channels doesn't look all that great, on TSN (CFL) looks pretty good. If you can pick up the HD channels locally with an antenna....I hear that makes all the difference, but I don't have first hand knowledge of that.

If it were me and I was sitting 12'ish feet from my screen, I'd go 135". If I were sitting 14 feet or further back, I'd go 150"

To give you size comparison... here's a shot of my 153" A/T screen and if you look closely you can make out my old painted screen (now painted black) which was 133". Just to give you some perspective with the size differences.


Attachment 431018
Thanks, I'll be sitting about 15-17 feet away.

I was trying to figure out whether to do a plus gain or not since I have to do a AT screen. I debating between the Falcon Horizon screen at 1.0 gain or the Seymour Centerstage XD (1.2 gain screen)

Which screen is yours?
johann777 is offline  
post #84 of 1561 Old 12-20-2014, 09:08 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Crabalocker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 1,225
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 182 Post(s)
Liked: 122
Quote:
Originally Posted by johann777 View Post
Thanks, I'll be sitting about 15-17 feet away.

I was trying to figure out whether to do a plus gain or not since I have to do a AT screen. I debating between the Falcon Horizon screen at 1.0 gain or the Seymour Centerstage XD (1.2 gain screen)

Which screen is yours?
Look one post above yours.... I have a Seymour xd screen. (Center Stage xd)

I found this, measuring screens. Go to page 18, they have a section on acoustically transparent screens. http://www.accucalhd.com/documents/a...een_report.pdf

Last edited by Crabalocker; 12-20-2014 at 09:16 AM.
Crabalocker is offline  
post #85 of 1561 Old 12-20-2014, 12:09 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
badgerpilot's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Bedford, Texas
Posts: 1,564
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 75 Post(s)
Liked: 46
For TV signals, I figured out a long time ago that using an OTA antenna is the way to go for the main channels. I have DISH and some channels are ok but for football games on FOX, NBC, CBS and ABC I use the OTA signal. No compression and the picture is excellent.
Crabalocker likes this.
badgerpilot is offline  
post #86 of 1561 Old 12-22-2014, 08:50 AM
Member
 
Schlemstar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Indiana
Posts: 141
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by badgerpilot View Post
For TV signals, I figured out a long time ago that using an OTA antenna is the way to go for the main channels. I have DISH and some channels are ok but for football games on FOX, NBC, CBS and ABC I use the OTA signal. No compression and the picture is excellent.
That's interesting because just yesterday I was trying to figure out why the football games looked so bad. It seemed like close-up shots were very crisp, but wide-angle views of the whole field were very noisy looking. I thought maybe they were using different cameras or something, but the picture was the same on CBS and FOX.

I also read that some people turn Reality Creation off for cable TV viewing. I was going to try that tonight, but maybe going OTA is the way to go...

Do you have a separate antenna for that? If so, which one?
Schlemstar is offline  
post #87 of 1561 Old 12-22-2014, 09:09 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
badgerpilot's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Bedford, Texas
Posts: 1,564
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 75 Post(s)
Liked: 46
Quote:
Originally Posted by Schlemstar View Post
That's interesting because just yesterday I was trying to figure out why the football games looked so bad. It seemed like close-up shots were very crisp, but wide-angle views of the whole field were very noisy looking. I thought maybe they were using different cameras or something, but the picture was the same on CBS and FOX.

I also read that some people turn Reality Creation off for cable TV viewing. I was going to try that tonight, but maybe going OTA is the way to go...

Do you have a separate antenna for that? If so, which one?
I have a powered Terk antenna that I have had for at least 10 years. I have it mounted in my attic. I don't think they make the model I have anymore but I am sure their current antennas are just as good if not better.
badgerpilot is offline  
post #88 of 1561 Old 12-23-2014, 06:17 AM
Member
 
Schlemstar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Indiana
Posts: 141
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by badgerpilot View Post
I have a powered Terk antenna that I have had for at least 10 years. I have it mounted in my attic. I don't think they make the model I have anymore but I am sure their current antennas are just as good if not better.

What do you use as a tuner?
Schlemstar is offline  
post #89 of 1561 Old 12-23-2014, 06:49 AM
Senior Member
 
hv9200's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: NH
Posts: 387
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 112 Post(s)
Liked: 71
Quote:
Originally Posted by hendry98 View Post
Awesome, thanks a lot, i will check it out now.

are referring to this one:

http://www.amazon.com/Peerless-PRGUN...=pd_cp_e_1#Ask
yep, that's the one I used

"although he walks among us, he is not one of us"
hv9200 is offline  
post #90 of 1561 Old 12-23-2014, 08:43 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
badgerpilot's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Bedford, Texas
Posts: 1,564
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 75 Post(s)
Liked: 46
Quote:
Originally Posted by Schlemstar View Post
What do you use as a tuner?
I have a dish hopper with the OTA tuner add on. Works great!
badgerpilot is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Digital Projectors - Under $3,000 USD MSRP

Tags
computer , hw40es , Sony , VPL-HW40ES

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off