Official Epson 5040ub/6040ub owners thread - Page 240 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 26901Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #7171 of 17706 Old 04-11-2017, 09:52 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
john barlow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Lansing Michigan
Posts: 1,266
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 168 Post(s)
Liked: 196
Quote:
Originally Posted by Geraldius View Post
TVs are simply much brighter than projectors to begin with. You can try to compensate by increasing the lamp power or the brightness setting in the 'image' menu. But the "3D Brightness" setting in the 3D Setup menu does only one thing -- it increases or decreases the 'open' period of the LCD shutter on the glasses. You can't leave the shutter open longer than the left or right frame period without beginning to see some of the unwanted opposite frame.


This is not an "all of a sudden PJ" problem. People have been lamenting dark 3D from projectors for a long time.
I have found out through viewing multiple Blu ray 3D discs that the problem for me is dependent on the disc I'm viewing. Some films are amazingly rendered, others not. Same goes for UHD discs for me. Some UHD Blu ray discs, like, Lucy, Planet Earth ll, Divergent series, Enders Game, Pride and Prejudice Zombies and most animated UHD discs play extremely well with our setup in our cinema. Oppo203/Epson5040Ub combo. I recall being an early adopter when Blu Ray and HDD discs competed for domination earlier in the century. There were a plethora of issues back then as well but, eventually, before long, manufacturers and content providers were able to work through most consumer complaints and provide us with stable reproduction from players, displays and content. With time and patience, early adopters will realize improvements and eventually,4k UHD, HDR and the gear we use to bring the technology into our home cinemas will play nice together and we will live happily ever after. Until, 8k just around the corner.
gene4ht likes this.
john barlow is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #7172 of 17706 Old 04-11-2017, 10:15 AM
Newbie
 
murof's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Poolesville, MD
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I don't have the post count to PM. Would you mind PMing me? I am interested.


Quote:
Originally Posted by inspector View Post
I have a Chief 4500 ceiling mount brand new for sale. I originally bought it because I had bought the 5040 that didn't come with one. Returned the 5040 and bought the 6040, now I have two. The new one that came with the 6040 is for sale...$125 plus $25 for shipping. The same price I paid for it on eBay last month.


PM me if you are interested.
murof is offline  
post #7173 of 17706 Old 04-11-2017, 10:32 AM
Senior Member
 
darkangelism's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 250
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 125 Post(s)
Liked: 56
Samsung - UBD-K8500 refurb for $170 or Sony UBP-X800 for $300? Does the samsung have issues with the only 10Gbps hdmi? Seems like a lot of people prefer the X800
darkangelism is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #7174 of 17706 Old 04-11-2017, 03:24 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
dholmes54's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Edmonton, Kentucky
Posts: 1,863
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 530 Post(s)
Liked: 145
Quote:
Originally Posted by elmalloc View Post
Check your image settings, set it to HDR1, check this thread for good HDR settings - save them to a profile called HDR. The HDR settings you find here will have brightness at 50+. Get some popcorn and enjoy. If you firmware update, I think "AUTO" for HDR/SDR will default to HDR1 when it gets an HDR signal. Right now it defaults to HDR2 or something (much darker).

I have the SI pure white 110" zero edge. Wonder how the slate looks. Depending on your throw distance you are probably getting better black levels.
Si screens are $$$,are they good quality? I had to get a Elite screen which is good for 700.00 but could be better.
dholmes54 is offline  
post #7175 of 17706 Old 04-11-2017, 03:27 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bommai's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Melbourne, FL
Posts: 5,415
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 620 Post(s)
Liked: 203
My 5040ub is on its way and is coming on thursday. Yay. I have not ordered a mount yet. Still hoping I could use the one I already have. I am having a sticker shock over the chief mount!


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
bommai is offline  
post #7176 of 17706 Old 04-11-2017, 03:35 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
drhankz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 6,648
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 142 Post(s)
Liked: 94
3D Blu-Ray Reference DVD

Hi All

I have been reading all these ghosting comments about
3D Movies you might be watching.

What I have found is when movie makers shoot the movie
with REAL 3D Cameras - IT IS A NIGHT AND DAY DIFFERENCE.

The trouble with movie makers today is they are LAZY. They
shoot the movie in 2D and have a Computer process the
image to make a 3D movie. The quality of these 2D-3D
Conversions can vary all over the map.

When I want to DEMONSTRATE a 3D movie to someone new
I use my Reference Standard

Legends of Flight

It only costs $9 at Amazon and is a short movie you can show
people and watch their eyes pop out in amazement.
ken8 likes this.
drhankz is offline  
post #7177 of 17706 Old 04-11-2017, 03:46 PM
Member
 
ken8's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I still can't work out what's going on because all the reviews I've read on the European/Pacific version of the 6040, the 9300 seem to give the 3D pretty high marks. I'm in Australia and had a demo and used 3D films that have given me problems on my 5020 and the results were impressive with minimal, if any crosstalk. This seems to be a US problem for some reason that I can't fathom

Check out this review on Youtube from Europe, the 3D report is around the 33 minute mark


...and from a UK review I posted earlier....

3D comparison

For the 3D evaluation, we only looked at the the Epson EH-TW9300 since we personally own the Epson EH-LS10000 and know its 3D performance by heart. Both Sammy and Life of Pi 3D Blu-ray were used to get an idea of the 3D that the Epson EH-TW9300 can provide.
Well, let’s keep it short: this is simply the best 3D we have ever seen! Why? Because it was bright on our 2m50 gain 1 screen, very bright even. Also because it did not suffer from any flickering leaving you with a headache after 5min of the 3D movie. In addition there was virtually no ghosting! The depth of the picture and the pop-outs were amazing.
To achieve these results, we used the Epson EH-TW9300 on bright lamp mode, combined with the “Cinema” color mode. Also, we reduced the glasses 3D brightness to the lowest level to eliminate any residual ghosting.


http://projectiondream.com/en/epson-...s10000-battle/

I pulled the pin based on what I saw and am picking up my unit today. Will report back when I get it set up

Last edited by ken8; 04-11-2017 at 03:50 PM.
ken8 is offline  
post #7178 of 17706 Old 04-11-2017, 04:59 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
inspector's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Menifee, CA , USA
Posts: 1,346
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 231 Post(s)
Liked: 142
Quote:
Originally Posted by bommai View Post
My 5040ub is on its way and is coming on thursday. Yay. I have not ordered a mount yet. Still hoping I could use the one I already have. I am having a sticker shock over the chief mount!


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
...and I have PMed you about the perfect ceiling mount! Come on, get with the program and order mine...it's much less than what is on eBay.


...just buy something!

...finally retired and spending time in my dedicated HT!!!

SPARKSPLEX HT - Epson 6040 3D/4K UB Projector; 110" 16x9 Dalite HD Progressive Screen; Sammy 3D/4K K8500 region free; 7.2.4. w/Def Tech speakers, Earthquake P12v2 Subs; Auto Source 100vs Amp; Denon 4300H; MX990 Remote; 5 Bello chairs; Coaire Mini-split.
inspector is offline  
post #7179 of 17706 Old 04-11-2017, 06:53 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
aaranddeeman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Lover's State
Posts: 4,079
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1874 Post(s)
Liked: 675
Quote:
Originally Posted by bommai View Post
My 5040ub is on its way and is coming on thursday. Yay. I have not ordered a mount yet. Still hoping I could use the one I already have. I am having a sticker shock over the chief mount!


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
What mount do you have? Because this PJ is way too big compared to the old 1080p crop. So unless the mount is future proof, you may be in for absorbing that sticker shock..
aaranddeeman is offline  
post #7180 of 17706 Old 04-11-2017, 07:33 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bommai's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Melbourne, FL
Posts: 5,415
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 620 Post(s)
Liked: 203
Quote:
Originally Posted by aaranddeeman View Post
What mount do you have? Because this PJ is way too big compared to the old 1080p crop. So unless the mount is future proof, you may be in for absorbing that sticker shock..
I have a mighty mount
http://m.ebay.com/itm/CEILING-MOUNT-...%257Ciid%253A1

It is held on to the ceiling part with two screws. Feels a little unstable with the 1080ub itself. So I think I need a new mount 😫
bommai is offline  
post #7181 of 17706 Old 04-11-2017, 07:43 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
ac388's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Hong Kong
Posts: 1,513
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 192 Post(s)
Liked: 49
By the way, are you hooking the Epson directly with the Oppo 203 ?

Quote:
Originally Posted by panman40 View Post
I am glad we are in agreement, i calibrate my displays and with superwhite off white information is missing, some professionals say it's extra information that should not be seen but in scenes with bright sky's and clouds etc it's clear to see some detail is lost.

The only setting that clips black on my unit is brightness control. Or if you have poor gamma that can crush black detail.

Man see things as they are n say why. I dream of things that never were, n say why not ....... A Perfect PROJECTOR
ac388 is offline  
post #7182 of 17706 Old 04-12-2017, 02:25 AM
Member
 
ken8's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Got my 5040/8300 up and running and am happy to report that the 3D is as good as reported in my previous post. Hardly any crosstalk and only on high contrast scenes, if at all. Glasses on the lowest brightness certainly does the trick.

The only problem I'm having is some faint intermittent diagonal "banding" which I suspect may be RF interference from the 3D transmitter. Will grab a new cable with better shielding tomorrow and see how I go. I have rung Epson Australia and let them know about it.

I don't have a UHD BD player yet but would a 4K HDMI cable be okay?
ken8 is offline  
post #7183 of 17706 Old 04-12-2017, 03:33 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
k3nnis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 1,176
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 642 Post(s)
Liked: 60
Quote:
Originally Posted by ken8 View Post
Got my 5040/8300 up and running and am happy to report that the 3D is as good as reported in my previous post. Hardly any crosstalk and only on high contrast scenes, if at all. Glasses on the lowest brightness certainly does the trick.

The only problem I'm having is some faint intermittent diagonal "banding" which I suspect may be RF interference from the 3D transmitter. Will grab a new cable with better shielding tomorrow and see how I go. I have rung Epson Australia and let them know about it.

I don't have a UHD BD player yet but would a 4K HDMI cable be okay?


Nice I'm from Sydney. Can I ask how much you got the 8300 for? I'm actually wanting the 9300 because it's black haha but not sure what pricing I can get that down to?

Which mount did you use?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
k3nnis is offline  
post #7184 of 17706 Old 04-12-2017, 03:49 AM
Member
 
ken8's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by k3nnis View Post
Nice I'm from Sydney. Can I ask how much you got the 8300 for? I'm actually wanting the 9300 because it's black haha but not sure what pricing I can get that down to?

Which mount did you use?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
I got it for $3500 AUD from AIM Digital on eBay. Not using a mount, I have a stand
ken8 is offline  
post #7185 of 17706 Old 04-12-2017, 04:32 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
k3nnis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 1,176
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 642 Post(s)
Liked: 60
Quote:
Originally Posted by ken8 View Post
I got it for $3500 AUD from AIM Digital on eBay. Not using a mount, I have a stand


Oh ok thx. Did you compare it to the 9300?

Is that a good price? One of the lowest?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
k3nnis is offline  
post #7186 of 17706 Old 04-12-2017, 07:50 AM
Member
 
ken8's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by k3nnis View Post
Oh ok thx. Did you compare it to the 9300?

Is that a good price? One of the lowest?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
It was the best price I found after much looking. There's a factory second 9300 on Epson's site for around $3800. They come with a six month warranty
ken8 is offline  
post #7187 of 17706 Old 04-12-2017, 09:40 AM
Member
 
burton14e7's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 83
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 54 Post(s)
Liked: 28
Sorry if I'm being dense but I've ordered my first projector for my new house being built and so I'm trying to wrap my head around the HDR limitations.

My current understanding is that if I'm using a PC with an Nvidia 1070 GTX and MadVR to play a 4k 4:2:2 HDR10 REC. 2020 file that HDR will be dropped. Is that right?
burton14e7 is offline  
post #7188 of 17706 Old 04-12-2017, 10:20 AM
Senior Member
 
Evan201's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 423
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 276 Post(s)
Liked: 188
Anyone else running these settings when viewing UHD blu rays?
I have a few settings that I'll play with depending on the movie but these have been really pleasing for most UHD movies.
Can't seem to see any clipping. So far my absolute favorite UHD content has been Planet Earth II and Kingsmen.

HDR Settings: Bright Cinema
(Auto Bright HDR1)
Brightness: 48
Contrast: 70
Color: 80
Tint: 45
Gamma: +2
Image Enhance: 4
Lamp: High (only when watching 4k UHD blu ray, because why not splurge for the good stuff)

image hosting 10mb limit
jladner likes this.

CURRENT SETUP:
Sony X940E / Denon AVR-S730h /
NVIDIA SHIELD TV 2017 / PANASONIC UB820 UHD PLAYER / MAudio BX8a front mains / Klipsch R‑15PM rear left/right / Emotiva C1 center / Polk Audio OWM3 height left/right.

Last edited by Evan201; 04-12-2017 at 10:25 AM.
Evan201 is offline  
post #7189 of 17706 Old 04-12-2017, 10:29 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
inspector's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Menifee, CA , USA
Posts: 1,346
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 231 Post(s)
Liked: 142
okay...I need HELP!!!


Just installed new high speed HDMI cable and put on PASSENGERS, it reads"


1920 x 2160
23.97 Hz
12 bit 4:2:2
BT. 2020 HDR


(It reads this way with the old HDMI 1.4 and the new HDMI 2.0)
.................................................. .................................................. ......


Shouldn't it read:


3840 x 2160
23.97 Hz
12 bit 4:2:2
BT. 709 HDR2


What are the settings to get the above. One thing, I'm on FW 1.08. Could the new FW 1.9 help make me to receive 3840 x 2160?


HELP!!!

...finally retired and spending time in my dedicated HT!!!

SPARKSPLEX HT - Epson 6040 3D/4K UB Projector; 110" 16x9 Dalite HD Progressive Screen; Sammy 3D/4K K8500 region free; 7.2.4. w/Def Tech speakers, Earthquake P12v2 Subs; Auto Source 100vs Amp; Denon 4300H; MX990 Remote; 5 Bello chairs; Coaire Mini-split.

Last edited by inspector; 04-12-2017 at 10:48 AM.
inspector is offline  
post #7190 of 17706 Old 04-12-2017, 10:45 AM
Senior Member
 
Evan201's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 423
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 276 Post(s)
Liked: 188
Quote:
Originally Posted by inspector View Post
okay...I need HELP!!!


Just installed new high speed HDMI cable and put on PASSENGERS, it reads"


1920 x 2160
23.97 Hz
12 bit 4:2:2
BT. 2020 HDR


(It reads this way with the old HDMI 1.4 and the new HDMI 2.0)
I installed the monoprice Luxe Active Cable at 35' and have had no issues with 1.09 FM. You may need an active cable, not just high speed.
If plugged into the HDMI 2.2 on PJ
I'm using the philips UHD player for HDR.

I receive:
3840 x 2160
23.97 Hz
12 bit 4:2:2
BT. 2020 HDR1

CURRENT SETUP:
Sony X940E / Denon AVR-S730h /
NVIDIA SHIELD TV 2017 / PANASONIC UB820 UHD PLAYER / MAudio BX8a front mains / Klipsch R‑15PM rear left/right / Emotiva C1 center / Polk Audio OWM3 height left/right.
Evan201 is offline  
post #7191 of 17706 Old 04-12-2017, 11:46 AM
Member
 
cchrono's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 165
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by inspector View Post
okay...I need HELP!!!


Just installed new high speed HDMI cable and put on PASSENGERS, it reads"


1920 x 2160
23.97 Hz
12 bit 4:2:2
BT. 2020 HDR


(It reads this way with the old HDMI 1.4 and the new HDMI 2.0)
.................................................. .................................................. ......


Shouldn't it read:


3840 x 2160
23.97 Hz
12 bit 4:2:2
BT. 709 HDR2


What are the settings to get the above. One thing, I'm on FW 1.08. Could the new FW 1.9 help make me to receive 3840 x 2160?


HELP!!!


I would try updating before trying anything else might help with your 3d too who knows


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro
cchrono is offline  
post #7192 of 17706 Old 04-12-2017, 11:50 AM
Senior Member
 
Evan201's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 423
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 276 Post(s)
Liked: 188
Is there a way to have the Turbo Fan happen upon shutting the projector down rather than when it starts up? Seems counter productive.
I feel like it should vent the heat before shutting down, not once it's been off for a long time already and completely cool. If i've been watching a UHD blu ray I run the lamp on High for the whole movie and then sometimes before I go to bed I will put it on eco and run the high altitude option for a few minutes to kick up the fan and let it cool out before shutting it down.

Anyone contact Epson about this? I know other brands like BenQ pj's have this as a standard. Anyone have the epson support number to let them know about this issue?

CURRENT SETUP:
Sony X940E / Denon AVR-S730h /
NVIDIA SHIELD TV 2017 / PANASONIC UB820 UHD PLAYER / MAudio BX8a front mains / Klipsch R‑15PM rear left/right / Emotiva C1 center / Polk Audio OWM3 height left/right.
Evan201 is offline  
post #7193 of 17706 Old 04-12-2017, 11:59 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 112
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 91 Post(s)
Liked: 39
Quote:
Originally Posted by Evan201 View Post
Anyone else running these settings when viewing UHD blu rays? ...
Color looks oversaturated to me, and high contrast is causing loss of detail and color banding. Shouldn't need image enhancements.
Just my opinion, but it looked like you wanted feedback.
Geraldius is offline  
post #7194 of 17706 Old 04-12-2017, 01:16 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
inspector's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Menifee, CA , USA
Posts: 1,346
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 231 Post(s)
Liked: 142
Quote:
Originally Posted by cchrono View Post
I would try updating before trying anything else might help with your 3d too who knows


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro
Well, when they hooked up my 6040 the guy connected my old 1.4 to HDMI 2 on the 6040. Of course no UHD. Bought a new 2.0 high speed cable and still no UHD while plugged into HDMI 2, tried HDMI 1 and got no picture and sent it back. Just received Monoprice Cabernet Ultra cable and still no UHD plugged into HDMI 2. Didn't bother with HDMI 1 because I figured I wouldn't get a pic like last time.


Just now read an article in CNET about how the Sammy K8500 needs HDCP 2.2 to play properly. So, I plugged in the new cable into HDMI 1 (HDCP 2.2)...and what do you know, now I get UHD and awesome sound to boot!!!


Don't know about wanting to update FW to 1.09 since it works at 1.08...if it ain't broken, don't fix it.


Thanks for your input guys!

...finally retired and spending time in my dedicated HT!!!

SPARKSPLEX HT - Epson 6040 3D/4K UB Projector; 110" 16x9 Dalite HD Progressive Screen; Sammy 3D/4K K8500 region free; 7.2.4. w/Def Tech speakers, Earthquake P12v2 Subs; Auto Source 100vs Amp; Denon 4300H; MX990 Remote; 5 Bello chairs; Coaire Mini-split.
inspector is offline  
post #7195 of 17706 Old 04-12-2017, 01:18 PM
Member
 
cchrono's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 165
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by inspector View Post
Well, when they hooked up my 6040 the guy connected my old 1.4 to HDMI 2 on the 6040. Of course no UHD. Bought a new 2.0 high speed cable and still no UHD while plugged into HDMI 2, tried HDMI 1 and got no picture and sent it back. Just received Monoprice Cabernet Ultra cable and still no UHD plugged into HDMI 2. Didn't bother with HDMI 1 because I figured I wouldn't get a pic like last time.


Just now read an article in CNET about how the Sammy K8500 needs HDCP 2.2 to play properly. So, I plugged in the new cable into HDMI 1 (HDCP 2.2)...and what do you know, now I get UHD and awesome sound to boot!!!


Don't know about wanting to update FW to 1.09 since it works at 1.08...if it ain't broken, don't fix it.


Thanks for your input guys!


1.09 has some fixes for hdr that might give you a better experience with uhd discs


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro
cchrono is offline  
post #7196 of 17706 Old 04-12-2017, 01:36 PM
Senior Member
 
whmacs's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Chisholm, Australia
Posts: 354
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 106 Post(s)
Liked: 65
Hi All,
Another Epson 9300 (6040) review. Seems AVForums quite like it!
https://www.avforums.com/review/epso...r-review.13460

I was a bit surprised how good out of the box tracking was. They say for Rec709 set it to 'Natural', colour temp 7000k, gamma -1 and you are good to go!

Regards,
Stephen
whmacs is offline  
post #7197 of 17706 Old 04-12-2017, 02:33 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
roland6465's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: NC, USA
Posts: 1,545
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 395 Post(s)
Liked: 401
Just to make sure I'm not crazy...

I have self-calibrated the "Cinema" setting for DirecTV, Roku, and U/BRD viewing with the dynamic range set to "auto", and saved to memory. I have also created a "Bright Cinema" save for HDR discs, with dynamic range to 'HDR1", but when I switch from one save to the other, then range doesn't change.

Do I have to change the dynamic range each time I switch formats, or is there something I'm missing?
roland6465 is offline  
post #7198 of 17706 Old 04-12-2017, 02:45 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 194
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 119 Post(s)
Liked: 22
I found the same.
Dynamic range isn't saved.
Need be changed each time.
raf77 is online now  
post #7199 of 17706 Old 04-12-2017, 02:46 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
roland6465's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: NC, USA
Posts: 1,545
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 395 Post(s)
Liked: 401
Quote:
Originally Posted by raf77 View Post
I found the same.
Dynamic range isn't saved.
Need be changed each time.
Thanks!
roland6465 is offline  
post #7200 of 17706 Old 04-12-2017, 05:34 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
inspector's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Menifee, CA , USA
Posts: 1,346
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 231 Post(s)
Liked: 142
Quote:
Originally Posted by cchrono View Post
1.09 has some fixes for hdr that might give you a better experience with uhd discs


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro
My UHD disc plays perfect...everything plays perfect, except 3D...with the ghosting.


The problem I'm having now is trying to get the old cable to pull out from the wall. I attached the new cable to the old and pulled it through but it's hanging up on something. The hole holds 7 cables, so maybe the new HDMI connection that is attached to the old HDMI connection is hanging up on the edge of the hole...who the hell knows. It's behind the screen and I hope I don't have to cut into the wall.

...finally retired and spending time in my dedicated HT!!!

SPARKSPLEX HT - Epson 6040 3D/4K UB Projector; 110" 16x9 Dalite HD Progressive Screen; Sammy 3D/4K K8500 region free; 7.2.4. w/Def Tech speakers, Earthquake P12v2 Subs; Auto Source 100vs Amp; Denon 4300H; MX990 Remote; 5 Bello chairs; Coaire Mini-split.
inspector is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Digital Projectors - Under $3,000 USD MSRP

Tags
5040ub power , atmos

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off