Official Epson 5040ub/6040ub owners thread - Page 564 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 26902Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #16891 of 17707 Old 02-09-2019, 12:01 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Posts: 70
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 36 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Smile

I hope this works for someone, its nice being able to pop any disk in and not have to change anything with everything being on auto.blade runner 2024 has bad azzz sound affects
MattTN likes this.

Last edited by Dirt9; 02-09-2019 at 12:06 AM.
Dirt9 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #16892 of 17707 Old 02-09-2019, 01:29 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Posts: 70
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 36 Post(s)
Liked: 11
few more sorry
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_0584.JPG
Views:	85
Size:	1,016.7 KB
ID:	2522372   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_0583.JPG
Views:	90
Size:	1.10 MB
ID:	2522374   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_0589.JPG
Views:	65
Size:	872.7 KB
ID:	2522376   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_0593.JPG
Views:	59
Size:	950.7 KB
ID:	2522378   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_0595.JPG
Views:	54
Size:	874.1 KB
ID:	2522380  

Dirt9 is offline  
post #16893 of 17707 Old 02-09-2019, 03:43 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dirt9 View Post
I hope this works for someone, its nice being able to pop any disk in and not have to change anything with everything being on auto.blade runner 2024 has bad azzz sound affects
Thanks Dirt. I just had a replacement sent from Epson a couple days ago and used your settings.
MattTN is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #16894 of 17707 Old 02-09-2019, 05:50 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Oh wow you guys are awesome. There are a ton of setting resources here. 😳😳😳

Any setting recommendations for noobs like me? Apple TV 4, Xbox One X, Anthem 1120.
MattTN is offline  
post #16895 of 17707 Old 02-09-2019, 06:29 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Posts: 479
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 364 Post(s)
Liked: 251
Official Epson 5040ub/6040ub owners thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dave Harper View Post
No, if you leave it on AUTO then it will go into it’s built in HDR mode when you feed it the HDR signal. For HarperVision you need to send full HDR, but then run the display in its SDR Mode so the HDR PQ can be mapped into the SDR Container! Again, Explained here:







I still can’t wrap my head around brightness being so darned high at 95! but OK.

Can someone else that’s run mine and others and has a lot of experience try these settings and confirm things are OK? I haven’t had a 5040 here in forever.

Not having your specific cms and temp settings significantly impacts your settings. More then any other HDR signal accepting display I have worked with (granted that’s only about 10 displays) HDR-SDR gamma mapping is significantly altered by very slight changes to these cms and temp settings. If I compare your settings without these values to my own HDR calibration your settings have no contrast whatsoever with elevated black levels and blown out whites.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
OrcusVaruna is offline  
post #16896 of 17707 Old 02-09-2019, 06:48 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Tweakophyte's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Boulder, CO, USA
Posts: 3,473
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 90 Post(s)
Liked: 48
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dave Harper View Post
No, if you leave it on AUTO then it will go into it’s built in HDR mode when you feed it the HDR signal. For HarperVision you need to send full HDR, but then run the display in its SDR Mode so the HDR PQ can be mapped into the SDR Container! Again, Explained here:



.
That helped... helped with Netflix as well.

Panny UB820, Denon X6300H in 6.1.4 mode, Epson 5040UB, SVS PCUltra paired with a MiniDSP HD and BEQ (of course!)
Working on making things blacker...
Tweakophyte is offline  
post #16897 of 17707 Old 02-09-2019, 08:07 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Posts: 70
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 36 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by MattTN View Post
Thanks Dirt. I just had a replacement sent from Epson a couple days ago and used your settings.
I would recommend starting at page 556 and using settings the experienced members are posting up,the settings I posted up only seem to work for me.highly recommended that you start there for a solid base line
MattTN likes this.

Last edited by Dirt9; 02-09-2019 at 08:19 AM.
Dirt9 is offline  
post #16898 of 17707 Old 02-09-2019, 08:51 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dirt9 View Post
I would recommend starting at page 556 and using settings the experienced members are posting up,the settings I posted up only seem to work for me.highly recommended that you start there for a solid base line
Thanks man. I appreciate you taking the time to post that. I know random posts like mine can be intrusive to the conversation.
MattTN is offline  
post #16899 of 17707 Old 02-09-2019, 10:28 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Posts: 70
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 36 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by carp View Post
I just tried it. It's way too washed out for me. In fairness though, I might have jacked up eyes because after trying all kinds of settings (including getting a professional calibration) I always come back to the default "bright cinema" settings along with the dynamic range slider on the Panasonic 900 to taste and it looks better to my eyes than anything else. I also have a very large screen, so that comes into play too. If I have to choose between a bit too dim/darker blacks vs. brighter/a bit washed out out I'll take the latter every time.
if you guys are up for it would you be willing to post a few pictures with your settings side by side with mine?Im wondering if my projector has a issue now 4k hdr in auto bright mode
Dirt9 is offline  
post #16900 of 17707 Old 02-09-2019, 11:25 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Dirt here you go. I did another preset with Harpervision and gotta say that really popped compared to your posted preset. A lot of stuff came out washed.

Whatever is highlighted is the setting. Be kind, I'm new at this and know these pictures stink.
MattTN is offline  
post #16901 of 17707 Old 02-09-2019, 11:27 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Take #2 .
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_0567 (1).jpg
Views:	83
Size:	63.9 KB
ID:	2522744   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_0563 (1).jpg
Views:	68
Size:	87.0 KB
ID:	2522746   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_0562 (1).jpg
Views:	54
Size:	84.4 KB
ID:	2522748   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_0566 (1).jpg
Views:	49
Size:	88.6 KB
ID:	2522750  
MattTN is offline  
post #16902 of 17707 Old 02-09-2019, 11:34 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Hopefully bigger. 🙄
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_0567 (2).jpg
Views:	85
Size:	1.07 MB
ID:	2522758   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_0563 (2).jpg
Views:	81
Size:	1.02 MB
ID:	2522760   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_0562 (2).jpg
Views:	56
Size:	971.6 KB
ID:	2522762   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_0566 (2).jpg
Views:	78
Size:	1.00 MB
ID:	2522764  
MattTN is offline  
post #16903 of 17707 Old 02-09-2019, 08:19 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Posts: 70
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 36 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by MattTN View Post
Hopefully bigger. 🙄
Hmm I don't know what's going on but here's what I get with same exact settings as MattTN's

Harpervision/oleduf on the left picture,my settings and custom gamma curve with brightness at 100 POSTED AT THE TOP OF THIS PAGE on the right picture.

The only reason I keep bringing this back up is because it solves the constant input switching from SDR to 4K HDR when you change discs.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_0632.JPG
Views:	90
Size:	1.20 MB
ID:	2523096   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_0634.JPG
Views:	93
Size:	1.11 MB
ID:	2523098   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_0636.JPG
Views:	72
Size:	703.6 KB
ID:	2523100   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_0637.JPG
Views:	63
Size:	1,002.4 KB
ID:	2523102   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_0644.JPG
Views:	56
Size:	859.5 KB
ID:	2523104  

Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_0649.JPG
Views:	54
Size:	889.6 KB
ID:	2523106   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_0656.JPG
Views:	48
Size:	829.9 KB
ID:	2523108   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_0658.JPG
Views:	50
Size:	849.9 KB
ID:	2523110   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_0661.JPG
Views:	58
Size:	828.3 KB
ID:	2523112   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_0666.JPG
Views:	57
Size:	818.6 KB
ID:	2523114  


Last edited by Dirt9; 02-09-2019 at 11:37 PM.
Dirt9 is offline  
post #16904 of 17707 Old 02-09-2019, 10:01 PM
Member
 
Lithium's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 94
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 63 Post(s)
Liked: 65
Quote:
Originally Posted by monkaquinas View Post
I just setup Harpervision thanks to the pointer to using Oledurt CMS settings and all I have to say is what a revelation. I've only been in the 4K camp for about 7-9 months since I added the UB820 as my 4K source. I set the 820 to HDR out and SDR out and the HDR signal was dim and the colors dull, "washed out" as has been said before by others. I then reverted to SDR and the image was bright and the colors vibrant, everything popped. It did seem a little too red at Color Sat of 80 and dropped it to 75 and it looked right to my eyes. I do have the 820 set to Projector with the Optimizer off and the Dynamic slider at +10. I'd like to thank everyone here for their advice and thoughts and willingness to share with others. I'll try to post some pics, I spun Infinity War and then the new 4k Superman: The Movie since it's a movie I'm very familiar with. Going to see what this does with MI: Fallout, any other badly encoded movies I should spin?
Ideally what you want is:

Panny 820: HDR/2020 OUT, Optimizer ON, Display Type: Middle Luminance, That Dynamic Slider Thing 2-3 clicks max to preference.
Epson 5040: Forced SDR Mode IN, HarperVision w/ Oledurt.

You might be getting a 'dim look' because you are clipping/maxing out content to 500 nits with the display type set to projector. You want middle luminance so that the clipping/maxing out is at 1000 nits which HarperVision is calibrated for.
Lithium is offline  
post #16905 of 17707 Old 02-09-2019, 10:02 PM
Member
 
john hunter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 186
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 72 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Am playing with oledurt's additional settings as per my post 16864 and which I have dubbed "Ultra HarperVision".
It tightens the red especially but the whites seem a bit blown out.
Will keep trying.
john hunter is offline  
post #16906 of 17707 Old 02-10-2019, 04:47 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Posts: 479
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 364 Post(s)
Liked: 251
Official Epson 5040ub/6040ub owners thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dirt9 View Post
Hmm I don't know what's going on but here's what I get with same exact settings as MattTN's



Harpervision/oleduf on the left picture,my settings and custom gamma curve with brightness at 100 POSTED AT THE TOP OF THIS PAGE on the right picture.



The only reason I keep bringing this back up is because it solves the constant input switching from SDR to 4K HDR when you change discs.

Here’s the same scene using my own settings white balance corrected in Lightroom as close as I could get it to give you an idea of what a calibrated image using this projector should look like. Obviously it’s not perfect and the image has more punch in real life but this is a decent approximation.




Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Dave Harper and bigbadbob like this.

Last edited by OrcusVaruna; 02-10-2019 at 04:55 AM.
OrcusVaruna is offline  
post #16907 of 17707 Old 02-10-2019, 05:28 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Posts: 70
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 36 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Looking awesome orcus.really good
Dirt9 is offline  
post #16908 of 17707 Old 02-10-2019, 05:58 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by OrcusVaruna View Post
Here’s the same scene using my own settings white balance corrected in Lightroom as close as I could get it to give you an idea of what a calibrated image using this projector should look like. Obviously it’s not perfect and the image has more punch in real life but this is a decent approximation.




Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Wow that looks great! Do you have your settings easily accessible to post?
MattTN is offline  
post #16909 of 17707 Old 02-10-2019, 06:26 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Posts: 479
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 364 Post(s)
Liked: 251
Official Epson 5040ub/6040ub owners thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by MattTN View Post
Wow that looks great! Do you have your settings easily accessible to post?

They’re the Orcus Digital Cinema settings on the left of the chart below.





Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
jbarteli and MattTN like this.
OrcusVaruna is offline  
post #16910 of 17707 Old 02-10-2019, 09:39 AM
Senior Member
 
jjwinterberg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: So. Cal.
Posts: 330
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 101 Post(s)
Liked: 63
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dirt9 View Post
Hmm I don't know what's going on but here's what I get with same exact settings as MattTN's

Harpervision/oleduf on the left picture,my settings and custom gamma curve with brightness at 100 POSTED AT THE TOP OF THIS PAGE on the right picture.

The only reason I keep bringing this back up is because it solves the constant input switching from SDR to 4K HDR when you change discs.
Are you using the Harpervision with Oledurt's suggestions on CMY values? If so I recommend you try the straight Harpervision with the RGBCMY values set to 50. I found that the Oledurt mods to Harpervision wash out the colors. For me the straight Harpervision provides the optimum HDR image prior to an installation unique calibration. YMMV
Dave Harper likes this.
jjwinterberg is offline  
post #16911 of 17707 Old 02-10-2019, 10:17 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Posts: 70
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 36 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I think harpervision look great with some tweaks.what I'm trying to do is get the same level of brightness without having to force SDR.I'm experimenting.ive tried the orcus settings but on my WAB woven screen the picture lacks brightness and pop.no offence to orcus,his posted pictures are fantastic,now I'm using oledurt cms with my own gamma curve to get to where I am now, its a work in progress but looks fantastic on my screen.

Last edited by Dirt9; 02-10-2019 at 10:43 AM.
Dirt9 is offline  
post #16912 of 17707 Old 02-10-2019, 11:03 AM
Member
 
jmeitz's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Eureka, MO
Posts: 167
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 55 Post(s)
Liked: 28
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lithium View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by monkaquinas View Post
I just setup Harpervision thanks to the pointer to using Oledurt CMS settings and all I have to say is what a revelation. I've only been in the 4K camp for about 7-9 months since I added the UB820 as my 4K source. I set the 820 to HDR out and SDR out and the HDR signal was dim and the colors dull, "washed out" as has been said before by others. I then reverted to SDR and the image was bright and the colors vibrant, everything popped. It did seem a little too red at Color Sat of 80 and dropped it to 75 and it looked right to my eyes. I do have the 820 set to Projector with the Optimizer off and the Dynamic slider at +10. I'd like to thank everyone here for their advice and thoughts and willingness to share with others. I'll try to post some pics, I spun Infinity War and then the new 4k Superman: The Movie since it's a movie I'm very familiar with. Going to see what this does with MI: Fallout, any other badly encoded movies I should spin?
Ideally what you want is:

Panny 820: HDR/2020 OUT, Optimizer ON, Display Type: Middle Luminance, That Dynamic Slider Thing 2-3 clicks max to preference.
Epson 5040: Forced SDR Mode IN, HarperVision w/ Oledurt.

You might be getting a 'dim look' because you are clipping/maxing out content to 500 nits with the display type set to projector. You want middle luminance so that the clipping/maxing out is at 1000 nits which HarperVision is calibrated for.
Do you set your 4k60 output to off or 4:2:0? Issue I am having is I am getting some clipping on my screen. Just trying to find the idea settings for my 820 and 5040.

Yamaha Aventage 3070 * Emotiva xpa5
Polk LSIM 707, 706, 703, 702, Rci85 and 65
Stereo Integrity HT18 (2) * Inuke 6000dsp
Panasonic UB820 * JVC NX5 * Silver Ticket 120” thin bezel

Last edited by jmeitz; 02-10-2019 at 11:40 AM.
jmeitz is offline  
post #16913 of 17707 Old 02-10-2019, 02:28 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mcallister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Dayton, Ohio
Posts: 1,590
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 203 Post(s)
Liked: 78
Quote:
Originally Posted by OrcusVaruna View Post
They’re the Orcus Digital Cinema settings on the left of the chart below.





Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
On the strength/range setting it says “preset 3”

I don’t see a preset on my 5040? It’s a slider for each with setting starting at 25

mcallister is offline  
post #16914 of 17707 Old 02-10-2019, 05:08 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 273
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 130 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by mcallister View Post
On the strength/range setting it says “preset 3”

I don’t see a preset on my 5040? It’s a slider for each with setting starting at 25
It's the actual preset you use for IE. When you change your IE it changes those settings to the preset you use. So all you do. Is use the preset 3 for image enhance and dont mess with those settings that says preset 3.
mcallister likes this.

Denon X4400H Emotiva XPS-7 Balanced minidsp 2X4
Klipsch icon series FLC/surrounds, RSL C34E for .4
2 4cu sealed Tc Sounds Lms Ultra 5400s FB14000
Xbox one X, Shield 4k, sony 65" X900F, RS540U, 115" 2.35:1 HD Fury Linker
MagnumMafia05 is offline  
post #16915 of 17707 Old 02-10-2019, 05:54 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Question for Apple TV 4 users.

What video settings do you use with your projector? I know we can get 4k HDR @ 30hz or 4k SDR @ 60hz. Is the higher refresh rate worth the trade off?
MattTN is offline  
post #16916 of 17707 Old 02-10-2019, 07:09 PM
Senior Member
 
Savatage316's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 490
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 126 Post(s)
Liked: 42
Couple quick bulb questions, so I just got the message stating I need to replace my bulb. I'm at 3400 hours, but honestly the picture still looks amazing so I'm guessing it's just something to plan for eventually. But anything I should know for when I do change the bulb? I actually never did that before.

How many hours have some of you gotten before having to change the bulb? Also, any good online stores to buy quality bulbs a little cheaper?
Savatage316 is offline  
post #16917 of 17707 Old 02-11-2019, 05:59 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Hi all. I have a question. I am building a PC. I was leaning towards an RTX 2080 TI for my GPU but would this be pointless for use with this projector? As I understand, 60 fps is the most this projector will put out. Would the GTX 1080 TI be a better option? I don’t really want to throw money away on the highest spec GPU if I won’t see any benefit out of it. I plan on keeping my 5040ube for several years. Thanks in advance!
rick a is offline  
post #16918 of 17707 Old 02-11-2019, 07:26 AM
Member
 
pete ramberg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: montana
Posts: 42
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 29 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Pixel structure with 4k enhancement "on"

I was one of the first to get the 5040UB when it came out 3 years ago. I didn't notice much (maybe a little) change in the pixel structure with and without 4k enhancement - both looked pretty close to each other. I never thought anything about it.

Fast forward to last month. I helped a friend install his brand-new 5040UB and immediately noticed that the pixel structure with 4k enhancement "on" was virtually invisible - almost perfectly solid and seamless.

I never gave it much thought, as I had nothing to compare my 5040UB to - in fact, I went back and looked at an early review of the unit, and photos showing the before-and-after 4k enhancement pixel structure looked just like mine - less structure, but clearly visible.


So, my question is: did the 5040UB get an upgrade to its pixel shifting hardware or software in the 3 years since it came out? BTW, I did do the version 1.09 software upgrade.

Thanks if anybody has an idea.

P Ramberg
pete ramberg is offline  
post #16919 of 17707 Old 02-11-2019, 09:33 AM
Member
 
monkaquinas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Irving, TX
Posts: 116
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 79 Post(s)
Liked: 40
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lithium View Post
Ideally what you want is:

Panny 820: HDR/2020 OUT, Optimizer ON, Display Type: Middle Luminance, That Dynamic Slider Thing 2-3 clicks max to preference.
Epson 5040: Forced SDR Mode IN, HarperVision w/ Oledurt.

You might be getting a 'dim look' because you are clipping/maxing out content to 500 nits with the display type set to projector. You want middle luminance so that the clipping/maxing out is at 1000 nits which HarperVision is calibrated for.
I knew I missed something. Setting it to Projector put me at 350 nits. I have changed the settings and it looks very good, not great. I'm going to check the settings for Harpervision and make sure that I have everything correct, my bulb has about 800 hours.

Epson5040UB - DragonFly DFM Tab 92HC High Contrast (.9 gain) 16:9 Screen - Denon AVRS740H - Klipsch Quintet V +
Klipsch KHC-6 In-Ceiling (Atmos 5.2.2) with Polk PSW110 Sub & Monoprice Premium Select 8" Sub (via iFinity Wireless Audio) - Panasonic UB820 - PS3
monkaquinas is offline  
post #16920 of 17707 Old 02-11-2019, 09:51 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
tlogan6797's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Northern VA
Posts: 5,341
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 155 Post(s)
Liked: 168
Quote:
Originally Posted by tlogan6797 View Post
Anyone have an issue turning off the projector with the remote?

I was programming my URC 980 to replace the old Panny 4000 with the Epson 5040 and it would turn on but not off, and yes I programmed it to send 2 ("enter" EDIT - OFF, then "enter" to confirm shutdown) commands with a slight delay, which is how the Panny worked. I used the IR code from the URC database and when that didn't work, I used the learning mode from the remote and THAT didn't work. Then I realized that even the original remote does not turn it off. As far as I can tell, that is the only thing that the original remote doesn't do. I pretty much only need the URC to turn it on and off at this point (although, I guess I'll have to program the Lens Mem buttons since there is no auto-switching).
I just wanted to update what I found, although again, I guess everyone already knew this but me.

To turn off with the remote you have to hit the Stand By button EVEN THOUGH THE DOCUMENTATION SAYS TO PRESS THE POWER OR STANDBY BUTTON . The remote power button does nothing when trying to shutdown. UNLESS you've hit the hard power button on the unit then you can use the remote for the confirmation to turn it off.

Tom Logan
Everytime I reply the thread ends

Need motivation? Get LOGANED
The Yellow Dog Cinema and Draft House
tlogan6797 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Digital Projectors - Under $3,000 USD MSRP

Tags
5040ub power , atmos

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off