Official Epson 5040ub/6040ub owners thread - Page 605 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 26963Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #18121 of 18206 Old 10-31-2019, 08:58 AM
Senior Member
 
tibimakai's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Los Angeles CA
Posts: 356
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 189 Post(s)
Liked: 54
How can you get to the service menu?

Living Room: Samsung UN65JS8500,Onkyo TX-NR676,Klipsch R-28F,Klipsch RC-62II,Klipsch R-14S,Polk Audio 80 FX/RT(Atmos)
Bedroom: Samsung UN55MU6290,Onkyo TX-RZ610,Onkyo & Fluance speakers
Garage: Epson 5040UB,Elite Screens 125" motorized screen,2xKlipsch RP-160M,4xKlipsch RP-150M,Klipsch RP-450C ,2xKlipsch CDT-3800II-Atmos,Klipsch R115SW,Klipsch R110SW
tibimakai is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #18122 of 18206 Old 10-31-2019, 09:13 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Archaea's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Kansas City, MO
Posts: 11,251
Mentioned: 629 Post(s)
Tagged: 2 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3916 Post(s)
Liked: 3724
Quote:
Originally Posted by tibimakai View Post
How can you get to the service menu?
https://factory-reset.com/wiki/Epson_Service_Menu

Archaea's 9.12.4 Home Theater Room
(13) JBL CBT 70j-1 | Denon x7200wa | Sherbourn PA 7-350 amplifier | (8) Ultimax 18" sealed subwoofers | (4) iNuke DSP 6000 amplifiers | (4) MB Quart 12" subwoofers mounted direct mounted to Berkline theater chairs BOSS style | Epson 5040UB Projector | Jamestown 144" acoustic transparent 2.35:1 screen w/ Seymour XD fabric
Archaea is online now  
post #18123 of 18206 Old 10-31-2019, 09:35 AM
Senior Member
 
tibimakai's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Los Angeles CA
Posts: 356
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 189 Post(s)
Liked: 54
Thanks for that.

Living Room: Samsung UN65JS8500,Onkyo TX-NR676,Klipsch R-28F,Klipsch RC-62II,Klipsch R-14S,Polk Audio 80 FX/RT(Atmos)
Bedroom: Samsung UN55MU6290,Onkyo TX-RZ610,Onkyo & Fluance speakers
Garage: Epson 5040UB,Elite Screens 125" motorized screen,2xKlipsch RP-160M,4xKlipsch RP-150M,Klipsch RP-450C ,2xKlipsch CDT-3800II-Atmos,Klipsch R115SW,Klipsch R110SW
tibimakai is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #18124 of 18206 Old 10-31-2019, 06:13 PM
Member
 
jesped2's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Question

Quote:
Originally Posted by Archaea View Post
Mmmm... my remote doesn't have any of those HELP, TELE or WIDE buttons the methods 1 & 3 say, and the method 2 of holding ENTER & MENU for 5 seconds doesn't work for me. Is there any other way or requirement?



And maybe this is a stupid question but... is there any way of using HDR and 3D at the same time with a signal from PC?
jesped2 is online now  
post #18125 of 18206 Old 11-01-2019, 08:50 AM
Member
 
lazlovision's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jesped2 View Post
Mmmm... my remote doesn't have any of those HELP, TELE or WIDE buttons the methods 1 & 3 say, and the method 2 of holding ENTER & MENU for 5 seconds doesn't work for me. Is there any other way or requirement?
Hold menu for 8 seconds

Press Esc 2x

Press right arrow then left arrow

Window should then pop up.
lazlovision is online now  
post #18126 of 18206 Old 11-01-2019, 09:15 AM
Member
 
jesped2's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Question

Quote:
Originally Posted by lazlovision View Post
Hold menu for 8 seconds

Press Esc 2x

Press right arrow then left arrow

Window should then pop up.
Oh, that did it. Thanks pal.

I can see info, and more info using the right arrow. Are there any settings that can be changed?
jesped2 is online now  
post #18127 of 18206 Old 11-01-2019, 11:52 PM
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 850
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 517 Post(s)
Liked: 116
can someone please explain harpervision to me?

first, looking at the epson 5040/6040 settings summary pdf, what are the sdr settings (aaranddeeman, dave harper, panman40, mikesp1, etc.) supposed to do to sdr content, make it look more like hdr?

second, what are the hdr settings (harpervision, oledurt bc v2, oledurt bc v1, etc.) supposed to do with hdr content? further, are these hdr settings intended to be used with hdr signals that have been tonemapped to sdr prior to reaching the pj, for example hdr signals that were tonemapped to sdr within an htpc, or are these hdr settings intended to be used with hdr signals that are passed through to the pj, using madvr hdr passthrough for example, or are the settings intended to be used with an hdr signal that has already been tonemapped to hdr at the source, for example tonemapped by madvr or windows (hdr toggle on)?

thanks very much!
aeneas01 is offline  
post #18128 of 18206 Old 11-03-2019, 09:28 AM
Member
 
Justins123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 92
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by aeneas01 View Post
can someone please explain harpervision to me?

first, looking at the epson 5040/6040 settings summary pdf, what are the sdr settings (aaranddeeman, dave harper, panman40, mikesp1, etc.) supposed to do to sdr content, make it look more like hdr?

second, what are the hdr settings (harpervision, oledurt bc v2, oledurt bc v1, etc.) supposed to do with hdr content? further, are these hdr settings intended to be used with hdr signals that have been tonemapped to sdr prior to reaching the pj, for example hdr signals that were tonemapped to sdr within an htpc, or are these hdr settings intended to be used with hdr signals that are passed through to the pj, using madvr hdr passthrough for example, or are the settings intended to be used with an hdr signal that has already been tonemapped to hdr at the source, for example tonemapped by madvr or windows (hdr toggle on)?

thanks very much!
Thanks for asking this. I have the exact same question (except I’m using a Panasonic 820 and not MadVR). I’m guessing in my case you need one setting for SDR content, one for tonemapped content, and one for straight HDR content (coming from a streaming device for example). Hopefully an expert can chime in.
Justins123 is online now  
post #18129 of 18206 Old 11-03-2019, 01:41 PM
Senior Member
 
bigbadbob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 243
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 66 Post(s)
Liked: 34
What’s the best way to turn off the projector? Is it ok to just power it off or should there be a cool down before turning it off?

Klipsch Rocks!
bigbadbob is offline  
post #18130 of 18206 Old 11-03-2019, 09:59 PM
Newbie
 
jmarc8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Hi there,
I wonder if someone can help me out on the throw distance as I am little confused based on some readings here.


I will have a dedicated room in the basement that I will use as a HT with a very small window. (I will use a black curtain if needed but it won't bring light much inside the room.)
The room is 11' x 23' and I currently have a 120" Elite Sabre 2 screen gain 1.1. Based on projector central, my throw distance for a 120" screen is 15.11' (almost 16 feet). With the mounting bracket, I will have to add approx 11 inches to the throw distance making it a total distance of 17'.



Based on some readings on this forum, I noticed people have a much shorter throw distance 13-15 feet for 120' screen. Is there any reason?



My question is, does it matter what's the throw distance I'll be using or should I keep it shorter?


Thanks for your advice.
jmarc8 is offline  
post #18131 of 18206 Old 11-04-2019, 05:58 AM
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Posts: 953
Mentioned: 17 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 491 Post(s)
Liked: 149
Quote:
Originally Posted by Justins123 View Post
Thanks for asking this. I have the exact same question (except I’m using a Panasonic 820 and not MadVR). I’m guessing in my case you need one setting for SDR content, one for tonemapped content, and one for straight HDR content (coming from a streaming device for example). Hopefully an expert can chime in.

Not sure, but here is the support thread:
https://www.avsforum.com/forum/26-ho...thread-53.html

Quote:
Originally Posted by jmarc8 View Post
Hi there,
I wonder if someone can help me out on the throw distance as I am little confused based on some readings here.


I will have a dedicated room in the basement that I will use as a HT with a very small window. (I will use a black curtain if needed but it won't bring light much inside the room.)
The room is 11' x 23' and I currently have a 120" Elite Sabre 2 screen gain 1.1. Based on projector central, my throw distance for a 120" screen is 15.11' (almost 16 feet). With the mounting bracket, I will have to add approx 11 inches to the throw distance making it a total distance of 17'.



Based on some readings on this forum, I noticed people have a much shorter throw distance 13-15 feet for 120' screen. Is there any reason?



My question is, does it matter what's the throw distance I'll be using or should I keep it shorter?


Thanks for your advice.

The closer the projector is to the screen the brighter it will be:
Zoom Lens Effect. The 2.1x zoom lens offers excellent flexibility for positioning the 5040UB. At the full telephoto setting, however, the lens curtails light by about 33% compared with the wide-angle setting. In most cases you'll want to put the projector as close to the screen as possible to maximize brightness.
https://www.projectorcentral.com/eps...ge=Performance

Some users also prefer to sit closer to the screen, the general recommendations are not ideal, it's up to user preference.
noob00224 is online now  
post #18132 of 18206 Old 11-04-2019, 07:42 AM
Advanced Member
 
Juiced46's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 816
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 451 Post(s)
Liked: 151
Quote:
Originally Posted by jmarc8 View Post
Hi there,
I wonder if someone can help me out on the throw distance as I am little confused based on some readings here.


I will have a dedicated room in the basement that I will use as a HT with a very small window. (I will use a black curtain if needed but it won't bring light much inside the room.)
The room is 11' x 23' and I currently have a 120" Elite Sabre 2 screen gain 1.1. Based on projector central, my throw distance for a 120" screen is 15.11' (almost 16 feet). With the mounting bracket, I will have to add approx 11 inches to the throw distance making it a total distance of 17'.



Based on some readings on this forum, I noticed people have a much shorter throw distance 13-15 feet for 120' screen. Is there any reason?



My question is, does it matter what's the throw distance I'll be using or should I keep it shorter?


Thanks for your advice.
As mentioned, the closer you get it, the brighter the image. @ 2.1x Zoom you can actually mount it as close to 11' 9" to get a 120" image.

It is personal preference. Some do not want it too close as it may hang over the seating and be too noisy. I run my projector directly above my front row seats and noise is not an issue for me.
old corps and AVTimme like this.
Juiced46 is offline  
post #18133 of 18206 Old 11-05-2019, 07:20 AM
Newbie
 
rcman1953's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Epson 5040 P3 Filter Issue

I have an Epson 5040 that I bought when it first came out. I have almost 15,000 hours on it and 7 bulb replacements. About a month ago when I went to switch it to HDR, it would make grinding noises and then lock up the projector.

I took it apart and found the P3 filter assembly and manually pushed it back to its starting position. The projector has worked fine since as long as I don't use Cinema setting. I found a video online that showed the small plastic gears in the P3 filter motor. They have stripped.

Has anyone else had this issue and sent their projector in to be repaired and the cost? Thanks.
rcman1953 is offline  
post #18134 of 18206 Old 11-05-2019, 09:36 AM
Advanced Member
 
welldun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Long Island NY
Posts: 522
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 313 Post(s)
Liked: 157
Quote:
Originally Posted by OrcusVaruna View Post
IME the gamma is pretty stable and translates okay between projectors. For HDR through the 820, shooting for a 2.4 gamma using SDR2020 will produce a fine image. However, even with differences in room, screen and projector ime my gamma curve and setting the 820 to HDR2020 will get you a much more pleasing image, will it be perfect? No, but will get you close enough, especially if you aren’t that critical of image quality. Since the color offsets are so powerful usually a few clicks adjusting for any pushes present in your screen is all you need to do to get an image that’s 95% of what a full calibration would do. I’ve gone through and calibrated 4 of these so far and that’s pretty much held.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Hi, Anthony. Question about these settings and their reliance on the Panasonic 820. Would it be safe to assume that these settings would not work well if one is using some other source such as the Sony UBP-X800 which doesn't have the optimizer as the Panasonic 820 does?

Also, since I have the S&M UHD Benchmark disc coming in the mail today, have you or anyone else with the 5040ub tried using the disc for calibration? I don't have any other calibration equipment, so I'll just be using the disc as a guide.
welldun is offline  
post #18135 of 18206 Old 11-06-2019, 06:43 AM
Senior Member
 
avtoronto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Toronto. Canada
Posts: 207
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 161 Post(s)
Liked: 64
3D Glasses

Yes I know the most focus is on 4K HDR, but I still like to watch 3D sometimes. I’ve been using glasses from my Panasonic VT60 as well as Sintron glasses. I read recently that the Epson glasses operate at a much higher frequency (>400 Hz) than say the Panasonic glasses. So my question is to anybody who has compared different glasses, do the Epson ones or plug compatible Epson ones make a big difference, and if so, in what way; better depth, brighter image, etc.?

Elunevision 4K 112" Audioweave motorized screen, Epson Pro Cinema 4040 projector, Emotiva XPA-5 amplifier, Denon AVR X4400h receiver, XTZ M6 LCR, XTZ S5 surround, XTZ 1X12 and Definitive Technology Powerfield subwoofers, RSL C34E Atmos speakers, Apple TV 4K, Panasonic DP-UB820
avtoronto is offline  
post #18136 of 18206 Old 11-06-2019, 08:10 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
inspector's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Menifee, CA , USA
Posts: 1,360
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 236 Post(s)
Liked: 149
I have 4 pairs...1 Epson and 3 of ValueView (which are not for sale anymore) and they have worked perfectly since day one. There is a post where a guy compares 3D glasses in this thread, somewhere.

...finally retired and spending time in my dedicated HT!!!

SPARKSPLEX HT - Epson 6040 3D/4K UB Projector; 110" 16x9 Dalite HD Progressive Screen; Sammy 3D/4K K8500 region free; 7.2.4. w/Def Tech speakers, Earthquake P12v2 Subs; Auto Source 100vs Amp; Denon 4300H; MX990 Remote; 5 Bello chairs; Coaire Mini-split.
inspector is offline  
post #18137 of 18206 Old 11-06-2019, 01:36 PM
Member
 
chaneyj1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Columbus, OH
Posts: 120
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I am hoping someone can help me out. I currently have these items in this order...

Xbox One X --> Denon x4500h --> Epson 5040ub

If I add the HD linker in the mix to play full HDR gaming on the xbox, would I want that before or after the Denon, or do I want the Denon completely out of the video chain? I also run a Nintendo Switch and a few other devices through the Denon to the projector. Do I want upscalling off on the Denon and let the projector handle that part? I am worried I am not getting the best possible picture I can out of this setup.

Thanks in advanced!

Jeremie
chaneyj1 is offline  
post #18138 of 18206 Old 11-06-2019, 01:55 PM
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 850
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 517 Post(s)
Liked: 116
@Dave Harper or equally experienced users of harpervision, can you please help me understand exactly what harpervision does as outlined below, it would be very much appreciated! thank you in advance.



Quote:
Originally Posted by aeneas01 View Post
can someone please explain harpervision to me?

first, looking at the epson 5040/6040 settings summary pdf, what are the sdr settings (aaranddeeman, dave harper, panman40, mikesp1, etc.) supposed to do to sdr content, make it look more like hdr?

second, what are the hdr settings (harpervision, oledurt bc v2, oledurt bc v1, etc.) supposed to do with hdr content? further, are these hdr settings intended to be used with hdr signals that have been tonemapped to sdr prior to reaching the pj, for example hdr signals that were tonemapped to sdr within an htpc, or are these hdr settings intended to be used with hdr signals that are passed through to the pj, using madvr hdr passthrough for example, or are the settings intended to be used with an hdr signal that has already been tonemapped to hdr at the source, for example tonemapped by madvr or windows (hdr toggle on)?

thanks very much!
aeneas01 is offline  
post #18139 of 18206 Old 11-06-2019, 11:41 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 2
It's been a while since I've visited this. Is there an updated pdf file with all the custom picture settings? or still same one?
QuyZilla is offline  
post #18140 of 18206 Old 11-07-2019, 01:48 AM
Senior Member
 
dimi123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 255
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 209 Post(s)
Liked: 64
Quote:
Originally Posted by rcman1953 View Post
I have an Epson 5040 that I bought when it first came out. I have almost 15,000 hours on it and 7 bulb replacements. About a month ago when I went to switch it to HDR, it would make grinding noises and then lock up the projector.

I took it apart and found the P3 filter assembly and manually pushed it back to its starting position. The projector has worked fine since as long as I don't use Cinema setting. I found a video online that showed the small plastic gears in the P3 filter motor. They have stripped.

Has anyone else had this issue and sent their projector in to be repaired and the cost? Thanks.
I've had the exact same happen to my 9300W (6040) after 16,000 hours. After three months of waiting (thank God I have a back-up 9300) on the repair service (first in Austria, then Germany) I received a brand new 9300W from Epson which is perfect in every aspect.

P.S.: The PJ had a 5-year guarantee.

PJ: Epson EH-TW9300W | Screen: 135" 2.40 Stewart StudioTek 100 | Anamorphic lens: Prismasonic Cinomorph P-100M | AVR: Denon AVR-X7200WA | Amp: 3x Naim Nait 5si Stereo Amplifier| HTPC: Intel Core i7, GTX1080Ti | BR Player: Oppo BDP-103D, Oppo BDP-95 | Speakers: JBL Studio L Series, 7.2.4 | Mains Filter: BlackNoise 1000 V2, BlackNoise 2500, ISOL-8 VMC1080 | Cables: Chord Cadenza Reference, Chord Epic Twin, Audioquest NRG-4

Last edited by dimi123; 11-07-2019 at 02:07 AM.
dimi123 is offline  
post #18141 of 18206 Old 11-07-2019, 04:50 AM
Member
 
hemo cave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 44
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 27 Post(s)
Liked: 9
Hi,

I do hope this helps someone, My Epson TW9300 / 5040ub stopped working, when i press it the lights continue to blink blue, no image is displayed and then the fan started to go full speed and nothing you could do about it unless you unplug it from the mains, i went to the local store and told me you need to replace the mother board but its out of warranty so i was left with either a huge bill to fix it or just buy a new one, A friend of mine told me to try and change the lamp, so i bought a new lamp and i swapped it with the old one .... IT WORKS.

Iam not sure why this is not in any forms cause i looked for over a month with no results so if you have my issue please try to replace your lamp. I have made a youtube video on that if you would like to see.

Thank you.

hemo cave is offline  
post #18142 of 18206 Old 11-07-2019, 06:12 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2019
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 0
SHould I buy a 5040ub now? Is it safe?

Hi! Should I worry about buying a 5040ub unit right now? I've heard about a lot of problems regarding the power supply. Did epson fix those problems?
Daniel Marques is offline  
post #18143 of 18206 Old 11-07-2019, 08:56 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Stereojeff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Whittier, CA USA
Posts: 1,736
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 231 Post(s)
Liked: 132
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daniel Marques View Post
Hi! Should I worry about buying a 5040ub unit right now? I've heard about a lot of problems regarding the power supply. Did epson fix those problems?

I used to do business with Epson supplying them with home theater products on an OEM level. A friend of mine who works there told me that the power supply problem was fixed when we spoke at the 2018 CEDIA Expo. I did not press for details. My current (and 3rd) PJ has worked flawlessly for a year and one-half and I believe AVS reports (or lack thereof) support his comments. The power supply issue has been addressed.


Jeff
BillyBarcode` likes this.
Stereojeff is offline  
post #18144 of 18206 Old 11-07-2019, 01:45 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
gene4ht's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Troy, MI
Posts: 3,998
Mentioned: 66 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1988 Post(s)
Liked: 2691
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daniel Marques View Post
Hi! Should I worry about buying a 5040ub unit right now? I've heard about a lot of problems regarding the power supply. Did epson fix those problems?
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stereojeff View Post
I used to do business with Epson supplying them with home theater products on an OEM level. A friend of mine who works there told me that the power supply problem was fixed when we spoke at the 2018 CEDIA Expo. I did not press for details. My current (and 3rd) PJ has worked flawlessly for a year and one-half and I believe AVS reports (or lack thereof) support his comments. The power supply issue has been addressed.


Jeff
Appreciate your input/response/perspective but the real question is why Epson elected to remain absolutely silent during this period. Most organizations today understand that complete transparency earns greater trust and respect. Even now, the consumer’s understanding is anecdotal and not common/general knowledge as the information is not an official statement from Epson’s leadership.

Epson: 5040UB | Elite: 115" Fixed Frame CinemaScope (2.35:1) | Onkyo: TX-RZ920 + M-5010 (7.2.4) | Klipsch: RF-7 II's, RC-64 II, RS-62 II, RB-61 II MICCA: M-8C (Atmos) x 6 | SVS: PB16-Ultra x 2 | Philips: BDP7501, Panasonic: DMP UB900, Oppo: UDP-203
gene4ht is online now  
post #18145 of 18206 Old 11-07-2019, 07:23 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Stereojeff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Whittier, CA USA
Posts: 1,736
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 231 Post(s)
Liked: 132
Quote:
Originally Posted by gene4ht View Post
Appreciate your input/response/perspective but the real question is why Epson elected to remain absolutely silent during this period. Most organizations today understand that complete transparency earns greater trust and respect. Even now, the consumer’s understanding is anecdotal and not common/general knowledge as the information is not an official statement from Epson’s leadership.

The OP did not ask if Epson handled the power supply problems correctly. He asked if it was safe to purchase the projector. Based on my experience and the answer I received from Epson, the answer is yes.



Jeff
Stereojeff is offline  
post #18146 of 18206 Old 11-07-2019, 09:31 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
gene4ht's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Troy, MI
Posts: 3,998
Mentioned: 66 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1988 Post(s)
Liked: 2691
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stereojeff View Post
The OP did not ask if Epson handled the power supply problems correctly. He asked if it was safe to purchase the projector. Based on my experience and the answer I received from Epson, the answer is yes.



Jeff
Agreed...IMO however, in today’s marketplace, Epson’s response would have been far more favorable if it had been a leadership “push” rather than an external “pull.”

Epson: 5040UB | Elite: 115" Fixed Frame CinemaScope (2.35:1) | Onkyo: TX-RZ920 + M-5010 (7.2.4) | Klipsch: RF-7 II's, RC-64 II, RS-62 II, RB-61 II MICCA: M-8C (Atmos) x 6 | SVS: PB16-Ultra x 2 | Philips: BDP7501, Panasonic: DMP UB900, Oppo: UDP-203
gene4ht is online now  
post #18147 of 18206 Old 11-07-2019, 09:43 PM
Member
 
jesped2's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Is there any way to force HDR in 3D modes?
jesped2 is online now  
post #18148 of 18206 Old 11-07-2019, 11:13 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 45
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 34 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Hi guys,

I was messing around yesterday and noticed my HT Installer is running my video through HDMI 2, the one not labeled HDCP 2.2.

I read that HDCPI 2.2 is better quality so I unplugged from port 2 and into port 1 (hdcp2.2). When I did that, my BDP won’t play the video on discs.

Why would that happen and what should I do if I want HDCP 2.2 if it’s better?

Is it true that I need to connect to HDCP2.2 for 4k? Or does the other port also play 4k?




Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
TeslaMS is offline  
post #18149 of 18206 Old 11-09-2019, 12:54 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 45
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 34 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by TeslaMS View Post
Hi guys,

I was messing around yesterday and noticed my HT Installer is running my video through HDMI 2, the one not labeled HDCP 2.2.

I read that HDCPI 2.2 is better quality so I unplugged from port 2 and into port 1 (hdcp2.2). When I did that, my BDP won’t play the video on discs.

Why would that happen and what should I do if I want HDCP 2.2 if it’s better?

Is it true that I need to connect to HDCP2.2 for 4k? Or does the other port also play 4k?




Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk


Bump!


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
TeslaMS is offline  
post #18150 of 18206 Old 11-09-2019, 01:24 PM
Senior Member
 
tibimakai's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Los Angeles CA
Posts: 356
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 189 Post(s)
Liked: 54
I'm new with this pj., there is a media player, that plays nice with this pj and an Onkyo receiver? It is hard to find this info, in 605 pages.

Living Room: Samsung UN65JS8500,Onkyo TX-NR676,Klipsch R-28F,Klipsch RC-62II,Klipsch R-14S,Polk Audio 80 FX/RT(Atmos)
Bedroom: Samsung UN55MU6290,Onkyo TX-RZ610,Onkyo & Fluance speakers
Garage: Epson 5040UB,Elite Screens 125" motorized screen,2xKlipsch RP-160M,4xKlipsch RP-150M,Klipsch RP-450C ,2xKlipsch CDT-3800II-Atmos,Klipsch R115SW,Klipsch R110SW
tibimakai is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Digital Projectors - Under $3,000 USD MSRP

Tags
5040ub power , atmos

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off