Official Epson 5040ub/6040ub owners thread - Page 61 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 26967Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1801 of 18219 Old 10-14-2016, 04:21 AM
Member
 
MaximTre's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 101
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 110 Post(s)
Liked: 49
Just a quick question, is it safe for us europeans to update using the us firmware found here?
http://www.epson.com/cgi-bin/Store/s...aff_cj_3640326

I can't find any update on european websites.
Thanks you.
MaximTre is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1802 of 18219 Old 10-14-2016, 04:24 AM
Member
 
MaximTre's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 101
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 110 Post(s)
Liked: 49
Quote:
Originally Posted by frenzy987 View Post
Oh, so even an internal wall or a curtain, would interfere?
A wall I'd say 100% yes (I can't interrupt the signal with my body), a curtain I don't really know, but I imagine a too thick cloth could be a problem.
MaximTre is offline  
post #1803 of 18219 Old 10-14-2016, 05:00 AM
Member
 
frenzy987's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Posts: 83
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 52 Post(s)
Liked: 35
Quote:
Originally Posted by MaximTre View Post
A wall I'd say 100% yes (I can't interrupt the signal with my body), a curtain I don't really know, but I imagine a too thick cloth could be a problem.
Thanks, I think I can achieve line of sight.
frenzy987 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1804 of 18219 Old 10-14-2016, 06:09 AM
Member
 
rjguk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Hampshire, UK
Posts: 104
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 72 Post(s)
Liked: 34
Quote:
Originally Posted by MaximTre View Post
Just a quick question, is it safe for us europeans to update using the us firmware found here?
http://www.epson.com/cgi-bin/Store/s...aff_cj_3640326

I can't find any update on european websites.
Thanks you.
Yes, perfectly safe - it is the same software as on the UK site. The only difference is that the US site gives you a .bin file, the UK site gives you a zip file containing the .bin and the instructions. Worked fine on my TW7300.
rjguk is offline  
post #1805 of 18219 Old 10-14-2016, 06:51 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
k3nnis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 1,178
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 644 Post(s)
Liked: 60
What did the new firmware fix or added?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
k3nnis is online now  
post #1806 of 18219 Old 10-14-2016, 06:57 AM
Member
 
rjguk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Hampshire, UK
Posts: 104
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 72 Post(s)
Liked: 34
Quote:
Originally Posted by k3nnis View Post
What did the new firmware fix or added?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
I couldn't find a single thing that seemed different, nor have I seen any other information about the content.
rjguk is offline  
post #1807 of 18219 Old 10-14-2016, 07:53 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
ndabunka's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Charlotte, North Carolina
Posts: 1,458
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 572 Post(s)
Liked: 231
Quote:
Originally Posted by rjguk View Post
The PJ is on a normal UK power socket (50Hz) so if there were any ground loop/hum issues I'd expect something at 50Hz or a multiple. Nothing like that, the peaks with 4Ke on are very precisely multiples of the exact input frequency.

For 50Hz input (Sky HD box, 1080i) there is indeed a smallish sharp peak with 4Ke on compared to off. It is at 1350Hz, which is 27x the input. However, I struggled to hear the difference. The 60Hz input has the main peak at 419.6Hz (7x) and smaller ones at 540Hz (9x) and 1378.6Hz (23x) but it is the 419.6Hz one which is particularly evident. Lots of odd but exact multiples there, you'd think they were trying to avoid resonances...

My guess is that whatever opto-mechanical arrangement is driving the 4K enhancement is bound to be operating on various multiples of the frame rate, and the 419.6Hz noise is simply the sound of some component of that operation. It does vary according to listening position, the wavelength is about 86cm so plenty of scope for interference effects with the reflected sound from the ceiling just above the PJ.

I'd still like confirmation or otherwise that a 60Hz or 59.94Hz input gives this noise for other users. In my case it is an Amazon Fire TV 4K box. It is also clear in my case that for 50Hz and 24Hz inputs, and with 24Hz UHD, there is no noticeable noise.

Edited to add: I've updated the firmware, and no noticeable difference in noise.
The large majority of my viewing is BlueRay which is done at the 24Hz rate. It sounds like you are confirming that you have no noise at that rate which is in alignment with my and others observations. I have not noticed any noise in any of the limited 60Hz material I have watched so far but I may have to do more testing to be of any help here. Thanks for the details and I will reply back if I have anything further to contribute.

Epson 5040ub Projector, Elite Screens 120" Saker AUHD, Yamaha RX-A3060, B&W Speakers: Signature 7's, FMP4, CWM7.5s, CCM65s, Rythmik 15" CI Sub, 30' Monoprice Cabernet Ultra CL2, Tiara CI-Pro Series In-wall wiring, Phillips BDP7501 UHD BD Player, Niles 1230 WHA Amp, Xbox, WiiU, TiVo Premiere

Last edited by ndabunka; 10-14-2016 at 07:57 AM.
ndabunka is offline  
post #1808 of 18219 Old 10-14-2016, 07:53 AM
Senior Member
 
wbcollegekid's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 277
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 35 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Quote:
Originally Posted by Viche View Post
I'm going to assume that it's not actually displaying HDR, and that the banding you are seeing is the result of the down converstion from 10 to 8-bit color. HDR requires 10-bit color. As always. open to discussion.
The way I read it is that HDR can be 8 bit, but then it wouldn't meet the UHD standard.

Epson Home Cinema 5040, Yamaha Aventage 3050, Phillips BDP-7501, PlayStation 4, Energy Connoisseur Series 7.1.
wbcollegekid is offline  
post #1809 of 18219 Old 10-14-2016, 08:22 AM
Member
 
leo9000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 70
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 34 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Projector powering off issue - any ideas would be much appreciated

Last night while watching cable TV on my 5040UB, the projector suddenly powered off, as if I had hit the off button (I didn’t). This same thing had been happening with my previous Sony projector this past year. It started happening after I got the Harmony remote. At first I thought it was the remote, so I removed the projector from the activities and devices and used the projector remote to turn off and on. It still continued to happen randomly (once a week or so). Now that I got the 5040UB, I did not add it to the Harmony, but last night it just powered off the same as the Sony. The projector is plugged into a Monster Power Converter, the HDMI cable to the projector comes from the receiver. Any ideas on why this is happening? It’s too coincidental that both projectors would have shut off issues. Just not sure where to start troubleshooting the issue.
leo9000 is offline  
post #1810 of 18219 Old 10-14-2016, 08:27 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
gnolivos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: OHIO, USA
Posts: 2,289
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 372 Post(s)
Liked: 293
If I stand in front of the projector and mute all audio, I can clearly hear the whine. If I sit right below the projector, my main sitting position, I can hear absolutely nothing. Just saying, your position may have a lot to do with this.
shepdog likes this.

Setup: Epson 5040 UB, 110" SilverTicket AT screen, PS3 bluray, Yamaha RX-V673 AVR, Polk and Athena speakers, Batcave room.
The Moderno Theatre! Slideshow (here!)
Pixar screenplay slideshows here!
gnolivos is offline  
post #1811 of 18219 Old 10-14-2016, 08:38 AM
exm
AVS Forum Special Member
 
exm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: NYY
Posts: 1,607
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 232 Post(s)
Liked: 109
Quote:
Originally Posted by rjguk View Post
I couldn't find a single thing that seemed different, nor have I seen any other information about the content.
Probably bug fixes.
exm is online now  
post #1812 of 18219 Old 10-14-2016, 08:48 AM
Senior Member
 
WestCDA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Calgary, AB, Canada
Posts: 285
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 68 Post(s)
Liked: 79
Quote:
Originally Posted by leo9000 View Post
Last night while watching cable TV on my 5040UB, the projector suddenly powered off, as if I had hit the off button (I didn’t). This same thing had been happening with my previous Sony projector this past year. It started happening after I got the Harmony remote. At first I thought it was the remote, so I removed the projector from the activities and devices and used the projector remote to turn off and on. It still continued to happen randomly (once a week or so). Now that I got the 5040UB, I did not add it to the Harmony, but last night it just powered off the same as the Sony. The projector is plugged into a Monster Power Converter, the HDMI cable to the projector comes from the receiver. Any ideas on why this is happening? It’s too coincidental that both projectors would have shut off issues. Just not sure where to start troubleshooting the issue.
I don't know what the 'Monster Power Converter' is supposed to be doing for you, but if the other projector was also plugged into it, try taking it out of the loop and see if that eliminates the problem.
WestCDA is offline  
post #1813 of 18219 Old 10-14-2016, 09:04 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
ndabunka's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Charlotte, North Carolina
Posts: 1,458
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 572 Post(s)
Liked: 231
Quote:
Originally Posted by leo9000 View Post
Last night while watching cable TV on my 5040UB, the projector suddenly powered off, as if I had hit the off button (I didn’t). This same thing had been happening with my previous Sony projector this past year. It started happening after I got the Harmony remote. At first I thought it was the remote, so I removed the projector from the activities and devices and used the projector remote to turn off and on. It still continued to happen randomly (once a week or so). Now that I got the 5040UB, I did not add it to the Harmony, but last night it just powered off the same as the Sony. The projector is plugged into a Monster Power Converter, the HDMI cable to the projector comes from the receiver. Any ideas on why this is happening? It’s too coincidental that both projectors would have shut off issues. Just not sure where to start troubleshooting the issue.
If the same thing is happening with different products, it's most logically the one common component, a faulty Monster Power Converter, right?
leo9000 and dvdwilly3 like this.

Epson 5040ub Projector, Elite Screens 120" Saker AUHD, Yamaha RX-A3060, B&W Speakers: Signature 7's, FMP4, CWM7.5s, CCM65s, Rythmik 15" CI Sub, 30' Monoprice Cabernet Ultra CL2, Tiara CI-Pro Series In-wall wiring, Phillips BDP7501 UHD BD Player, Niles 1230 WHA Amp, Xbox, WiiU, TiVo Premiere
ndabunka is offline  
post #1814 of 18219 Old 10-14-2016, 09:11 AM
Member
 
Jasinto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 99
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Samsung have bluray firmware update in german forum one user say add hdr compatibility with the epson

Some folks can confirm the thing?


Saludos
Jasinto is offline  
post #1815 of 18219 Old 10-14-2016, 10:00 AM
Member
 
leo9000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 70
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 34 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by WestCDA View Post
I don't know what the 'Monster Power Converter' is supposed to be doing for you, but if the other projector was also plugged into it, try taking it out of the loop and see if that eliminates the problem.
Thanks, that’s what I was thinking. I think I’ll start by removing the Monster power conditioner from the loop. Just odd that this started occurring when I got the Harmony, but it’s possible that was just a coincidence.
leo9000 is offline  
post #1816 of 18219 Old 10-14-2016, 10:06 AM
Member
 
Kelvin1000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 190
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 148 Post(s)
Liked: 116
Quote:
Originally Posted by leo9000 View Post
Thanks, that’s what I was thinking. I think I’ll start by removing the Monster power conditioner from the loop. Just odd that this started occurring when I got the Harmony, but it’s possible that was just a coincidence.


Power conditioners and search protectors degrade overtime and must be changed periodically.
Kelvin1000 is offline  
post #1817 of 18219 Old 10-14-2016, 10:32 AM
Member
 
leo9000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 70
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 34 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kelvin1000 View Post
Power conditioners and search protectors degrade overtime and must be changed periodically.
Thanks, that's good to know. I've had it for around 13 years. Yikes!
leo9000 is offline  
post #1818 of 18219 Old 10-14-2016, 11:43 AM
Advanced Member
 
jamieuk147's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 743
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 76 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Is the 5040UB the UK version of the Tw9300?
jamieuk147 is offline  
post #1819 of 18219 Old 10-14-2016, 12:16 PM
Member
 
MaximTre's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 101
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 110 Post(s)
Liked: 49
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jasinto View Post
Samsung have bluray firmware update in german forum one user say add hdr compatibility with the epson

Some folks can confirm the thing?


Saludos
Just tested, it's true, it works now.
MaximTre is offline  
post #1820 of 18219 Old 10-14-2016, 12:36 PM
Senior Member
 
ana_moo_ana's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 277
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 76 Post(s)
Liked: 44
Getting my tomorrow morning! cant wait, I already own philips UHD player along with some UHD disks. Reading this forum makes me worried, not sure what settings to use to get the optimum outcome, all this 8, 10 & 12 bits talk confuse me even more. My use will be bluray, UHD, PS4 & XBOX1. Any special setting I have to use? I noticed only one hdmi input support hdcp 2.2, is the only lost benefit from the other port is that I cant stream protected 4k content?
ana_moo_ana is offline  
post #1821 of 18219 Old 10-14-2016, 01:45 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
k3nnis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 1,178
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 644 Post(s)
Liked: 60
Quote:
Originally Posted by MaximTre View Post
Just tested, it's true, it works now.


Nice. So with the Samsung and Epson, what bit and chroma is it showing uhd bluray at? 4:2:0 10 bit?

And is Netflix 4K HDR working on the Samsung and at what setting?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
k3nnis is online now  
post #1822 of 18219 Old 10-14-2016, 01:52 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 36
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 27 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by MaximTre View Post
Just tested, it's true, it works now.


For those of us who haven't purchased a UHD player yet, can you elaborate? Any special settings / configuration needed? What signal does the 5040 say it's receiving along with HDR (8, 10 or 12 bit)? Looking to pick up a player on Black Friday and if the Samsung is now at parity with the Philips then it will increase my chances of getting a good deal.
filter_sweep is offline  
post #1823 of 18219 Old 10-14-2016, 01:59 PM
Senior Member
 
spirithockey79's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 261
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 192 Post(s)
Liked: 72
Got my 5040 a couple days ago and I can't believe the difference it makes. I'm coming from a 5010 which I thought was very good. The 4k enhancement on 1080p is no joke! I don't have a 4k player yet but did get the Roku Premier+ and the 4k streaming on Youtube is incredible. I understand the issues everyone is talking about with HDR though.

I've run into a weird problem though and Epson support has said they haven't heard of this one yet so they will research and get back to me. Here's the issue:.

When I was watching 4k streaming on Youtube I was playing around with the HDR modes and color space and found a combination that was OK. Not great, but okay. I decided to save a memory slot with those settings for 4k streaming. When I switched back Blu-ray input which is PS4 everything was fine but then I tried to load my original memory setting for Blu-ray and the screen went blank. The projector was still in, iris closed down quite a bit but remote was unresponsive as was controls on PJ. Blue power light was on, couldn't really hear much noise coming from PJ but wouldn't power off. So I had to unplug.

After about 10 min I powered it back on. When I was messing around trying to get a response from the PJ I switch input on AVR (Denon x4200w) to DirecTV, so that's what came up when I powered the PJ back up. The color space and HDR modes was still active, so I tried again to use the original memory that I have set for Blu-ray (Dynamic Range and Color Space both set to Auto). PJ froze again.

Powered back up but had AVR source set to PS4. Manually changed the settings to Auto, re-saved the memory. Added a new memory with random changes to settings. Flip back between those memory settings and everything is fine. Go back to Roku>Youtube and manually change settings. Everything is fine. Switch back to PS4, manually change, everything fine. Then toggle memories with "Auto" for HDR and Color Space, everything changes fine. Toggle back to memory that I saved when first doing streaming 4K on Roku (while in PS4 input), freezes again.

Anyone experiencing this? Like I said Epson had no clue, just asked what FW I was on which is 1.05 ( I think). It say 105 for Main and 103 for Video 2, whatever that is.

So for now, when wanting to change settings after switching between a 4k source and 1080p source I guess I will have to change the Color Space and HDR manually. Very strange.
spirithockey79 is offline  
post #1824 of 18219 Old 10-14-2016, 01:59 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
ndabunka's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Charlotte, North Carolina
Posts: 1,458
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 572 Post(s)
Liked: 231
Quote:
Originally Posted by MaximTre View Post
Just tested, it's true, it works now.
What's true? What works now that didn't before?

Epson 5040ub Projector, Elite Screens 120" Saker AUHD, Yamaha RX-A3060, B&W Speakers: Signature 7's, FMP4, CWM7.5s, CCM65s, Rythmik 15" CI Sub, 30' Monoprice Cabernet Ultra CL2, Tiara CI-Pro Series In-wall wiring, Phillips BDP7501 UHD BD Player, Niles 1230 WHA Amp, Xbox, WiiU, TiVo Premiere
ndabunka is offline  
post #1825 of 18219 Old 10-14-2016, 04:38 PM
Member
 
frenzy987's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Posts: 83
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 52 Post(s)
Liked: 35
Quote:
Originally Posted by jamieuk147 View Post
Is the 5040UB the UK version of the Tw9300?
I believe the EU version of the 5040 is the 8300 which is white (in contrast to 5040), the 9300 (in black) is the equivalent of the 6040 but I don't believe it comes with the spare lamp and mounting bracket like the 6040 does.
k3nnis likes this.
frenzy987 is offline  
post #1826 of 18219 Old 10-14-2016, 05:18 PM
Senior Member
 
Black Banshee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Rocky Mountain High
Posts: 278
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 34
Woot! FedEx just delivered my 5040, can't wait to hook this baby up
Ronman79 likes this.
Black Banshee is offline  
post #1827 of 18219 Old 10-14-2016, 05:36 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 77
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 53 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Question Denon AVRX3100 and Epson Home Cinema 5040UBe and Marseille mCable

Dear readers, hopefully somebody have the chance to read this and help me out, i'm just about to configure my first step into the projection/home theater world and i would need some advices to get the most of it.

As i'm aware, the Epson projector does only upconvert 1080p to 4K via e-shift technology, but my concerns comes when i have to pass through the Denon Receiver AVRX3100 from the sources, for example my sources are DirecTV (1080i), Apple TV (1080p), PS4 (1080p) and Google's Chromecast (1080p), these will be connected to the receiver's input, the receiver output will be connected to the Epson's HDMI through a Fusion4K High Speed 4K HDMI 2.0 cable - Professional Series Ultra HD (it was the better i could find for the 40ft. distance i needed for my projectors distance), so i have 2 questions:

1) getting special HDMI cables from the sources to the receiver would make any difference at all in quality/performance? i've seen these Marseille mCable that does upconvert content, but not sure if it's worth it at all.

2) the receiver does have wireless hdmi feature, can i get any advantage using this in combination with special hdmi cables against the 40ft. hdmi which im concerned it could lose some quality/speed due distance...

3) any tips/ideas/suggestion/advices to get the most with my configuration?

* i've already purchased the projector and the 40ft. hdmi cable... regard the denon receiver is the best option available in my country which supports 4k content, advices/suggestions/tips?
Rodrigo Ventura Rosenblut is offline  
post #1828 of 18219 Old 10-14-2016, 06:06 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
gnolivos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: OHIO, USA
Posts: 2,289
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 372 Post(s)
Liked: 293
Quote:
Originally Posted by spirithockey79 View Post
I've run into a weird problem though and Epson support has said they haven't heard of this one yet so they will research and get back to me. Here's the issue:.

When I was watching 4k streaming on Youtube I was playing around with the HDR modes and color space and found a combination that was OK. Not great, but okay. I decided to save a memory slot with those settings for 4k streaming. When I switched back Blu-ray input which is PS4 everything was fine but then I tried to load my original memory setting for Blu-ray and the screen went blank. The projector was still in, iris closed down quite a bit but remote was unresponsive as was controls on PJ. Blue power light was on, couldn't really hear much noise coming from PJ but wouldn't power off. So I had to unplug.

After about 10 min I powered it back on. When I was messing around trying to get a response from the PJ I switch input on AVR (Denon x4200w) to DirecTV, so that's what came up when I powered the PJ back up. The color space and HDR modes was still active, so I tried again to use the original memory that I have set for Blu-ray (Dynamic Range and Color Space both set to Auto). PJ froze again.

That is bollocks!!! I have the same EXACT issue with 2 projectors Epson sent me and have been in contact with them weekly because they are actively trying to resolve. They even set up a 5040 in their lab and have been switching modes back and forth hundreds of times trying to reproduce.

That hey tell you they have no clue about the issue is, well, an uninformed statement.

Make sure you call again. Tell them to refer to reference numbers from my open cases:
160922-001664
161001-001917

They are well aware of our issue. Glad I'm not alone!

Setup: Epson 5040 UB, 110" SilverTicket AT screen, PS3 bluray, Yamaha RX-V673 AVR, Polk and Athena speakers, Batcave room.
The Moderno Theatre! Slideshow (here!)
Pixar screenplay slideshows here!
gnolivos is offline  
post #1829 of 18219 Old 10-14-2016, 08:39 PM
Senior Member
 
spirithockey79's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 261
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 192 Post(s)
Liked: 72
Quote:
Originally Posted by gnolivos View Post
That is bollocks!!! I have the same EXACT issue with 2 projectors Epson sent me and have been in contact with them weekly because they are actively trying to resolve. They even set up a 5040 in their lab and have been switching modes back and forth hundreds of times trying to reproduce.

That hey tell you they have no clue about the issue is, well, an uninformed statement.

Make sure you call again. Tell them to refer to reference numbers from my open cases:
160922-001664
161001-001917

They are well aware of our issue. Glad I'm not alone!


Agreed! Glad I'm not the only one as well. So I wonder if others haven't necessarily tried these exact steps that would reproduce the issue or if their PJ's don't have that problem.

I'll definitely call back and reference your cases. On a separate note, I have a BT 2020 vs Rec 709 question and you seem to have some pretty good knowledge based on reading your prior posts. I'm watching the Huntsman Winters War on Blu-ray but can't select 4k enhancement presumably because the source resolution is higher than 1080p. So I thought I would mess with the color space and change to BT 2020 and it looks pretty awesome. Colors are probably more saturated than they should be but still looks good. Is this normal? I thought the only benefit of BT 2020 was with 4k and HDR. Remember I don't have a 4k Blu-ray player.

I'm using Natural but I've read posts about the benefit of Cinema because of the P3 filter, but I still think Natural looks better than Cinema. Am I not combining the various settings appropriately?
spirithockey79 is offline  
post #1830 of 18219 Old 10-14-2016, 08:51 PM
Member
 
dsewardj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Glorious

Just installed this bad boy last night and I am very pleased. This is by far the best upgrade to my setup ever. Below is the setup:

- Screen Innovations Slate 1.2 motorized 110" screen
- Onkyo TX-NR646 receiver
- Polk Audio speakers (they do their job; been eyeing the ELACs)
- Xbox One S 2GB (for blu-ray 4k only, gaming is done on the PC)
- Wii U (I lied, gaming exceptions must be made for Mario Kart and Smash Bros)
- PC (1080 GTX SLI is almost irresponsible)

I should have calibrated the light cannon first but couldn't resist snapping a few photos. I am seriously considering getting rid of my tv and using this exclusively. Brother stopped by to grab some tools while I was watching X-Men Days of Future Past 4k blu-ray during the day with light pouring in through the kitchen. He couldn't believe this was a projector. He stayed for the rest of the movie.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	20161014_221959.jpg
Views:	449
Size:	147.1 KB
ID:	1717009   Click image for larger version

Name:	20161014_222035.jpg
Views:	381
Size:	154.7 KB
ID:	1717017   Click image for larger version

Name:	20161014_222052.jpg
Views:	361
Size:	148.1 KB
ID:	1717025   Click image for larger version

Name:	20161014_215932.jpg
Views:	381
Size:	103.7 KB
ID:	1717033   Click image for larger version

Name:	20161014_221536.jpg
Views:	388
Size:	195.8 KB
ID:	1717041  

Click image for larger version

Name:	20161014_221708.jpg
Views:	375
Size:	206.2 KB
ID:	1717049   Click image for larger version

Name:	20161014_221246.jpg
Views:	400
Size:	172.8 KB
ID:	1717057  
dsewardj is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Digital Projectors - Under $3,000 USD MSRP

Tags
5040ub power , atmos

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off