Official Epson 5040ub/6040ub owners thread - Page 63 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 26961Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1861 of 18175 Old 10-15-2016, 07:48 PM
Member
 
royboy365's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: SF Bay Area & Portland OR
Posts: 178
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 112 Post(s)
Liked: 74
Quote:
Originally Posted by canillo View Post
Ok..this will sound silly..but has anyone had the idea of having 2 epsons 5040ub creating one single image. That way we would be able to double the lumens and create the ultimate bright image for an HDR viewing? I work for Cirque du soleil and we use 4 projector per image , because the amount of brighness we need on those images. I guess it would be tricky to match and align the pixels but if it works I think $6,000 for a 5,000 lumens 4k HDR is not bad. Would this make any other improvements aditional to more light output? anyone has done this before?
This is actually not too difficult as people have been using 2 projectors to display passive 3d for quite awhile and there is specific hardware and software available to make it easier to do that.

My only thought would be that for non HDR content it would be too bright but then I suppose you could always turn off one projector.

A search on "how to make 3d with 2 projectors" will get you a bunch of info and I wouldn't be surprised if there isn't thread on AVS about it.
royboy365 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1862 of 18175 Old 10-15-2016, 07:54 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
gnolivos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: OHIO, USA
Posts: 2,289
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 372 Post(s)
Liked: 293
Closer = more lumen.
Farther = more contrast.

Well, a function of zoom lens more than distance, but you get the idea.

Setup: Epson 5040 UB, 110" SilverTicket AT screen, PS3 bluray, Yamaha RX-V673 AVR, Polk and Athena speakers, Batcave room.
The Moderno Theatre! Slideshow (here!)
Pixar screenplay slideshows here!
gnolivos is offline  
post #1863 of 18175 Old 10-15-2016, 09:36 PM
Senior Member
 
KRGM1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 288
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 86 Post(s)
Liked: 41
I can't get a 4K picture from a 4K Blu Ray with the Samsung player. It has the update. The following message is displayed before the Blu Ray begins:
The
content will be played in HD because
the display or the HDMI input port does not support
HDCP 2.2


I'm using the same HDMI cables that work flawlessly with my Sony 4K projector. Info says 10 bit 4:4:4 BT 709 HDR2. 1920 x 1080. Any suggestions? HDMI video direct to projector, HDMI audio to processor. Netflix and Amazon work with 4K and Amazon works with 4K HDR.
gnolivos likes this.
KRGM1 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1864 of 18175 Old 10-15-2016, 09:38 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
gnolivos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: OHIO, USA
Posts: 2,289
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 372 Post(s)
Liked: 293
Quote:
Originally Posted by KRGM1 View Post
I can't get a 4K picture from a 4K Blu Ray with the Samsung player. It has the update. The following message is displayed before the Blu Ray begins:
The
content will be played in HD because
the display or the HDMI input port does not support
HDCP 2.2


I'm using the same HDMI cables that work flawlessly with my Sony 4K projector. Info says 10 bit 4:4:4 BT 709 HDR2. 1920 x 1080. Any suggestions? HDMI video direct to projector, HDMI audio to processor. Netflix and Amazon work with 4K and Amazon works with 4K HDR.


You're probably connected to HDMI port 2? Try port 1 which is the only HDCP 2.2 compliant port.
royboy365 and KRGM1 like this.

Setup: Epson 5040 UB, 110" SilverTicket AT screen, PS3 bluray, Yamaha RX-V673 AVR, Polk and Athena speakers, Batcave room.
The Moderno Theatre! Slideshow (here!)
Pixar screenplay slideshows here!
gnolivos is offline  
post #1865 of 18175 Old 10-15-2016, 10:04 PM
Senior Member
 
KRGM1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 288
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 86 Post(s)
Liked: 41
LOL, such a simple fix. I thought this projector had both ports compliant. I've been trying to fix this for about an hour now. Thanks. Changed to 12 bit 4:2:2 BT 2020 and HDR2, and of course 3840 x 2160.
gnolivos and Ronman79 like this.
KRGM1 is offline  
post #1866 of 18175 Old 10-15-2016, 10:29 PM
Member
 
royboy365's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: SF Bay Area & Portland OR
Posts: 178
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 112 Post(s)
Liked: 74
Quote:
Originally Posted by KRGM1 View Post
LOL, such a simple fix. I thought this projector had both ports compliant. I've been trying to fix this for about an hour now. Thanks. Changed to 12 bit 4:2:2 BT 2020 and HDR2, and of course 3840 x 2160.
That's been one of my beefs about the projector. Would it really have been that big of a deal to make them both compliant?
royboy365 is offline  
post #1867 of 18175 Old 10-16-2016, 12:54 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: las vegas
Posts: 381
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 239 Post(s)
Liked: 127
Quote:
Originally Posted by KRGM1 View Post
LOL, such a simple fix. I thought this projector had both ports compliant. I've been trying to fix this for about an hour now. Thanks. Changed to 12 bit 4:2:2 BT 2020 and HDR2, and of course 3840 x 2160.
does this mean samsung and epson fixed their communication problems?
canillo is offline  
post #1868 of 18175 Old 10-16-2016, 04:44 AM
Member
 
chiltonj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 125
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 54 Post(s)
Liked: 47
Quote:
Originally Posted by royboy365 View Post
That's been one of my beefs about the projector. Would it really have been that big of a deal to make them both compliant?
So much for passing through video directly from, let's say the oppo 203, to the 2nd port on the projector. Damn.

Sent from my SM-G930V using Tapatalk
chiltonj is offline  
post #1869 of 18175 Old 10-16-2016, 04:56 AM
Advanced Member
 
jamieuk147's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 743
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 76 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Will I be able to watch a UHD Blu-ray via HDMI 1 with a high speed HDMI 1.4 cable or must it be HDMI 2.0?

Not sure if HDMI 1.4 passes HDCP 2.2 restrictions?
jamieuk147 is offline  
post #1870 of 18175 Old 10-16-2016, 07:06 AM
Newbie
 
Pesonen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by canillo View Post
does this mean samsung and epson fixed their communication problems?
Hey, I have performed the "1008" update on the Samsung UBD-K8500 4K-player as well as the 105/103 update on my 9300W projector. I was hoping they would resolve the HDR-issue over an HDMI connection but sadly it does not. Samsung has done something because the projector info tells you everything is as it should (12 bit 4:2:2 and BT.2020 HDR2) but the image is dim and has the issues I've seen before the update over an HDMI-connection (when the info read 8 bit and Rec 709) are still clearly visible. Colours are not produced as they should and gradients of light are coarsely rendered in the image. A clear example of the problem can be seen in the final scene of Batman V Superman where Lois stands over a grave, the sky is filled with artefacts and layers of light are roughly rendered. I have attached photos taken with my iphone but the problem is even clearer when viewing. Shots were taken in Bright cinema mode in HDR1.

With a wireless connection on the Samsung player I get an image which is brighter and shows colours and light evenly. My massive problems with the wireless connection that works only when it wants to leads me to return the Samsung player and buying a Panasonic 4K player. I don't know if the Panasonic would help the wireless connection but at least I will get a proper HDMI connection.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_2703.jpg
Views:	253
Size:	144.4 KB
ID:	1718809   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_2702.jpg
Views:	255
Size:	177.9 KB
ID:	1718817  
Pesonen is offline  
post #1871 of 18175 Old 10-16-2016, 07:40 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
aaranddeeman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Lover's State
Posts: 4,079
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1874 Post(s)
Liked: 677
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pesonen View Post
Hey, I have performed the "1008" update on the Samsung UBD-K8500 4K-player as well as the 105/103 update on my 9300W projector. I was hoping they would resolve the HDR-issue over an HDMI connection but sadly it does not. Samsung has done something because the projector info tells you everything is as it should (12 bit 4:2:2 and BT.2020 HDR2) but the image is dim and has the issues I've seen before the update over an HDMI-connection (when the info read 8 bit and Rec 709) are still clearly visible. Colours are not produced as they should and gradients of light are coarsely rendered in the image. A clear example of the problem can be seen in the final scene of Batman V Superman where Lois stands over a grave, the sky is filled with artefacts and layers of light are roughly rendered. I have attached photos taken with my iphone but the problem is even clearer when viewing. Shots were taken in Bright cinema mode in HDR1.

With a wireless connection on the Samsung player I get an image which is brighter and shows colours and light evenly. My massive problems with the wireless connection that works only when it wants to leads me to return the Samsung player and buying a Panasonic 4K player. I don't know if the Panasonic would help the wireless connection but at least I will get a proper HDMI connection.
I remember reading that you should use HDR1 preset than HDR2
aaranddeeman is offline  
post #1872 of 18175 Old 10-16-2016, 07:42 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
aaranddeeman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Lover's State
Posts: 4,079
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1874 Post(s)
Liked: 677
Quote:
Originally Posted by jamieuk147 View Post
Will I be able to watch a UHD Blu-ray via HDMI 1 with a high speed HDMI 1.4 cable or must it be HDMI 2.0?

Not sure if HDMI 1.4 passes HDCP 2.2 restrictions?
IMHO there is no such thing as HDMI1.4 cable or HDMI2.0 cable.
The cables are the same. Those are the specifications.
aaranddeeman is offline  
post #1873 of 18175 Old 10-16-2016, 07:50 AM
Member
 
Kelvin1000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 190
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 148 Post(s)
Liked: 116
Quote:
Originally Posted by aaranddeeman View Post
I remember reading that you should use HDR1 preset than HDR2

This is correct.
Kelvin1000 is offline  
post #1874 of 18175 Old 10-16-2016, 08:16 AM
Newbie
 
Pesonen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by aaranddeeman View Post
I remember reading that you should use HDR1 preset than HDR2
Yes and I use HDR1 but the info screen will always tell you that you are in "HDR2" for some reason.
Pesonen is offline  
post #1875 of 18175 Old 10-16-2016, 08:24 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
ndabunka's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Charlotte, North Carolina
Posts: 1,458
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 572 Post(s)
Liked: 231
Quote:
Originally Posted by canillo View Post
does this mean samsung and epson fixed their communication problems?
Samsung makes a patch for it's devices and you are asking if this means that Epson did something (to fix a KNOWN Samsung issue)?

The obvious answer is...
"NO, as it is Samsung that is responsible for fixing THEIR flaw which was never was an EPSON issue in the first place"

Here's your question in the corrected presentation
Quote:
Originally Posted by canillo;47510657{SIC}
Does this mean that Samsung FINALLY got around to correcting their communication problems?
Answer: Possibly but they may need to make other corrections as well

Epson 5040ub Projector, Elite Screens 120" Saker AUHD, Yamaha RX-A3060, B&W Speakers: Signature 7's, FMP4, CWM7.5s, CCM65s, Rythmik 15" CI Sub, 30' Monoprice Cabernet Ultra CL2, Tiara CI-Pro Series In-wall wiring, Phillips BDP7501 UHD BD Player, Niles 1230 WHA Amp, Xbox, WiiU, TiVo Premiere

Last edited by ndabunka; 10-16-2016 at 10:18 AM.
ndabunka is offline  
post #1876 of 18175 Old 10-16-2016, 08:26 AM
DIY Granddad (w/help)
 
MississippiMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Byhalia, Mississippi. Waaaay down in the Bottoms
Posts: 22,251
Mentioned: 282 Post(s)
Tagged: 6 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3795 Post(s)
Liked: 1762
Send a message via Skype™ to MississippiMan
Concerning the Samsung 8500 Update

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ronman79 View Post
@MississippiMan , check this out.
Hopefully that is / will be good news.

My Owner got a gander at an image in 1080p using the HDR presets we engaged and went nuts....as in "not so happy". And who could blame him as the image was dim, dull, and incredibly Red.

I got a call from him...a text from his Wife, both pleading me to change it back asap.

I rushed over and did so, resetting the PJ on Default, and it was looking so good then he (owner) said please...just leave it like that.

Granted, these Folks are decidedly "Non-Techy", most of their DVDs are SD.

But of coursed they are elated at having a 175" 2.39:1 and a 178" 16:9 image at the level of quality the Epson delivers "out of the box", so it's not like I'm smelling Tar boiling or the Chickens are running around naked.

Now....I will return...upgrade, and give the HDR settings another chance, using both the Wired and Wireless connections. I'll say this....if I can set up the HDR functionality and it does not adversely impact non-NDR content (IMO) then I will do so and leave it and then just settle back and wait for the next Phone call.

(...which BTW, also included the fact that the PJ powered down,and would not restart! I came by and unplugged it and it reset and has had no issues since. We shall see....we shall see.......)

Lastly, upcoming will be a series of Screen Shots in HDR mode if such a thing can be done. For the record, I gotta express to those who might care....given a proper screen surface and governable room conditions, the 5040 can power up 160" to 180" diagonal images with no problem. So all those of you with picayune, tiny 130'ers, or Postage Stamp sized 100"-110"ers, you've got "Zerox" potential going for ya!
gnolivos, ndabunka and Ronman79 like this.

"They said it couldn't be done. Well, we sure showed 'em otherwise!"
HAS Advanced Audio and Imaging Solutions...Audio Transducers & Projection Screen Coatings
MississippiMan is online now  
post #1877 of 18175 Old 10-16-2016, 08:56 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
gnolivos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: OHIO, USA
Posts: 2,289
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 372 Post(s)
Liked: 293
It's true I'm projecting on a measly 110" and I have to set the lamp to LOW even on Cinema mode, AND have to close the iris a few notches. This thing could easily fill a much larger screen no doubt.
Ronman79 likes this.

Setup: Epson 5040 UB, 110" SilverTicket AT screen, PS3 bluray, Yamaha RX-V673 AVR, Polk and Athena speakers, Batcave room.
The Moderno Theatre! Slideshow (here!)
Pixar screenplay slideshows here!
gnolivos is offline  
post #1878 of 18175 Old 10-16-2016, 10:40 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 54
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 44 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Can anyone confirm if hdr with Xbox one s still doesn't work with this projector? Any news when that might change or if it ever will?
njbrodeur87 is offline  
post #1879 of 18175 Old 10-16-2016, 11:09 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
ndabunka's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Charlotte, North Carolina
Posts: 1,458
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 572 Post(s)
Liked: 231
Quote:
Originally Posted by njbrodeur87 View Post
Can anyone confirm if hdr with Xbox one s still doesn't work with this projector? Any news when that might change or if it ever will?
Have you heard that MS released a patch or something? If not, then just like Samsung did, Microsoft will eventually figure it out and issue a patch...or not

Epson 5040ub Projector, Elite Screens 120" Saker AUHD, Yamaha RX-A3060, B&W Speakers: Signature 7's, FMP4, CWM7.5s, CCM65s, Rythmik 15" CI Sub, 30' Monoprice Cabernet Ultra CL2, Tiara CI-Pro Series In-wall wiring, Phillips BDP7501 UHD BD Player, Niles 1230 WHA Amp, Xbox, WiiU, TiVo Premiere
ndabunka is offline  
post #1880 of 18175 Old 10-16-2016, 12:18 PM
Newbie
 
mhendu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Nvidia control panel / 12-bit color

Quote:
Originally Posted by hoogs View Post
I'll check 1080 tonight, but here is what I can output from my GTX 1080:

[email protected] 8bit 4:2:0
[email protected] 8bit 4:4:4
[email protected] 8bit 4:2:0
[email protected] 8bit 4:4:4
[email protected] (I'll check chroma tonight but I wanted to confirm you cannot use 120hz)
I have a GTX 1070 and an Epson 6040UB, hooked up via HDMI 2.0a cables (18Gbps compliant) through a Denon X6300H. At one point I had the projector displaying 4K with 12 bit color, not sure how, but I was able to confirm this when looking at the projector's information menu; however, when I swapped out my old cables with the new HDMI 2.0a cables I can no longer get it to do this (and it won't work with the old cables now either). From what I've read in this forum ideally I'd be able to set the graphics card to output 4K 30Hz 12-bit 4:2:2 but this doesn't seem to be an option in the Nvidia control panel. Has anyone managed to set their Nvidia card to use 12-bit color successfully and, if so, how did you do it?
mhendu is offline  
post #1881 of 18175 Old 10-16-2016, 12:54 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
hatlesschimp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 1,292
Mentioned: 12 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 505 Post(s)
Liked: 541
Ive had 4k 60hz at 8 bit from my Titan X.

Sent from my SM-N930F using Tapatalk
hatlesschimp is offline  
post #1882 of 18175 Old 10-16-2016, 01:04 PM
Newbie
 
mhendu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by mhendu View Post
I have a GTX 1070 and an Epson 6040UB, hooked up via HDMI 2.0a cables (18Gbps compliant) through a Denon X6300H. At one point I had the projector displaying 4K with 12 bit color, not sure how, but I was able to confirm this when looking at the projector's information menu; however, when I swapped out my old cables with the new HDMI 2.0a cables I can no longer get it to do this (and it won't work with the old cables now either). From what I've read in this forum ideally I'd be able to set the graphics card to output 4K 30Hz 12-bit 4:2:2 but this doesn't seem to be an option in the Nvidia control panel. Has anyone managed to set their Nvidia card to use 12-bit color successfully and, if so, how did you do it?
OK, scratch that. I can set to YCbCr 4:2:2 12-bit color @ 30Hz 4K, but the dynamic range box can only be set to 'limited'. The projector shows that it's receiving 12-bit color @ 4:2:2 but the color format shows as BT.709 SDR. Is there a way to get HDR? If I set to RGB 8-bit color with full dynamic range the projector still displays BT.709 SDR. A little confused on how I can get HDR working with an Nvidia graphics card and this projector.
mhendu is offline  
post #1883 of 18175 Old 10-16-2016, 02:03 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
ndabunka's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Charlotte, North Carolina
Posts: 1,458
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 572 Post(s)
Liked: 231
Quote:
Originally Posted by mhendu View Post
OK, scratch that. I can set to YCbCr 4:2:2 12-bit color @ 30Hz 4K, but the dynamic range box can only be set to 'limited'. The projector shows that it's receiving 12-bit color @ 4:2:2 but the color format shows as BT.709 SDR. Is there a way to get HDR? If I set to RGB 8-bit color with full dynamic range the projector still displays BT.709 SDR. A little confused on how I can get HDR working with an Nvidia graphics card and this projector.
The Epson manual shows that it "translates" the 12-bit 4:2:2 to 10-bit 4:2:2 so rather than requiring that translation why not simply set the Nvidia card to output 10-bit 4:2:2 as that would match the projectors published capabilities, right?

Epson 5040ub Projector, Elite Screens 120" Saker AUHD, Yamaha RX-A3060, B&W Speakers: Signature 7's, FMP4, CWM7.5s, CCM65s, Rythmik 15" CI Sub, 30' Monoprice Cabernet Ultra CL2, Tiara CI-Pro Series In-wall wiring, Phillips BDP7501 UHD BD Player, Niles 1230 WHA Amp, Xbox, WiiU, TiVo Premiere
ndabunka is offline  
post #1884 of 18175 Old 10-16-2016, 04:33 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
JewDaddy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Lawrenceville, GA
Posts: 1,308
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 408 Post(s)
Liked: 177
After watching about 5 movies in 4K HDR with the Phillips player and both the projector and Phillips having the latest firmware, I prefer 1080p with the settings I came up with that look good to my eyes. The colors pop as much if not more than HDR, and yes that includes HDR Mode 1. I would say the true 4K as opposed to the 4K enhanceement looks a little more clear and sharp but not enough to take away FI. Once again, just my preference. I'm sure most don't use FI on high when watching movies. My eyes have just gotten so used to it that it's hard for me to watch without it. And, I feel like the motion handling on this projector is very bad without it on at least on low. I guess it's all about what we're able to find that makes us happy with the picture and with our purchase. Glad I've finally been able to do that with my settings. It can be frustrating trying to find settings we can be happy with and not feel the urge to make changes. I can sit back and just enjoy what I'm watching now :-)
WynsWrld98 and Ronman79 like this.


Last edited by JewDaddy; 10-16-2016 at 05:33 PM.
JewDaddy is offline  
post #1885 of 18175 Old 10-16-2016, 05:08 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
WynsWrld98's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Puyallup, WA
Posts: 3,090
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 575 Post(s)
Liked: 217
Quote:
Originally Posted by JewDaddy View Post
After watching about 5 movies in 4K HDR with the Phillips player and both the projector and Phillips having the latest firmware, I prefer 1080p with the settings I came up with that lookmgood to my eyes. The colors pop as much if not more than HDR, and yes that includes HDR Mode 1. I would say the true 4K as opposed to the 4K enhanceement looks a little more clear and sharp but not enough to take away FI. Once again, just my preference. I'm sure most don't use FI on high when watching movies. My eyes have just gotten so used to it that it's hard for me to watch without it. And, I feel like the motion handling on this projector is very bad without it on at least on low. I guess it's all about what we're able to find that makes us happy with the picture and with our purchase. Glad I've finally been able to do that with my settings. It can be frustrating trying to find settings we can be happy with and not feel the urge to make changes. I can sit back and just enjoy what I'm watching now :-)
I'm one of the oddballs that likes F.I. as well. I'd be curious why it isn't available with a 4K signal because as far as I know the JVC RS400 that has been out for over a year does offer F.I. with 4K signals.

If I recall correctly with the Epson 6010 F.I. wasn't available in 3D but when I upgraded to the 5030 it is available. I wonder if Epson will do the same thing in that it will be available in the 5050. I'm just curious why it isn't available with the 5040.

Based on your comments about preferring 1080p over 4K HDR on the Epson I wonder if you were to try a 4K UHD player like the upcoming Oppo 203 whereby supposedly you can keep 4K and the wide color but use SDR vs. HDR what you'd think of that. I read on the RS400 forum that some prefer SDR over HDR with UHD Blurays and are doing it using an HDFury Integral.

Last edited by WynsWrld98; 10-16-2016 at 07:22 PM.
WynsWrld98 is offline  
post #1886 of 18175 Old 10-16-2016, 05:46 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
JewDaddy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Lawrenceville, GA
Posts: 1,308
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 408 Post(s)
Liked: 177
Quote:
Originally Posted by WynsWrld98 View Post
I'm one of the oddballs that likes F.I. as well. I'd be curious why it isn't available with a 4K signal because as far as I know the JVC RS400 that has been out for over a year does offer F.I. with 4K signals.

If I recall correctly with the Epson 6010 F.I. wasn't available in 3D but when I upgraded to the 6030 it is available. I wonder if Epson will do the same thing in that it will be available in the 5050. I'm just curious why it isn't available with the 5040.

Based on your comments about preferring 1080p over 4K HDR on the Epson I wonder if you were to try a 4K UHD player like the upcoming Oppo 203 whereby supposedly you can keep 4K and the wide color but use SDR vs. HDR what you'd think of that. I read on the RS400 forum that some prefer SDR over HDR with UHD Blurays and are doing it using an HDFury Integral.
It's funny how we feel like oddballs when it's a feature that comes with tv's. Obviously it's there for a reason right?? Lol.

I'm not sure either why FI isn't available with 4K. Just seems like something they intentionally left out to make next years model a little more appealing to upgrade to. I had the 5020 and hated that FI wasnt avaiable in 3D. That's the reason I jumped to the 5030. Can't give us everything we want in a projector.

It's not that I prefer the SDR over HDR. I really like how HDR looks on this projector. The HDR looked phenomenal with the new XMEN Apocalypse. But after watching half of it in 4K HDR, I switched the player to 1080p with my settings and it looked just as good. One of the key things I found to make the colors pop and look very very saturated was changing to BT 2020. Yes at first it looks overblown, but after you tweak some settings, it looks amazing. Took me some time but I got it. I assume about 95% of the people on here would hate them, they look great to my eyes. I just wish there was a way to get 4K HDR with FI on this projector. I would pay for them to release an update that would allow for it to be used in 4K.

JewDaddy is offline  
post #1887 of 18175 Old 10-16-2016, 06:08 PM
Member
 
Waikis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 108
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 83 Post(s)
Liked: 42
Quote:
Originally Posted by mhendu View Post
OK, scratch that. I can set to YCbCr 4:2:2 12-bit color @ 30Hz 4K, but the dynamic range box can only be set to 'limited'. The projector shows that it's receiving 12-bit color @ 4:2:2 but the color format shows as BT.709 SDR. Is there a way to get HDR? If I set to RGB 8-bit color with full dynamic range the projector still displays BT.709 SDR. A little confused on how I can get HDR working with an Nvidia graphics card and this projector.
What content / player are you using on your PC?
The only ones that work for me are the nvidia HDR demo and Shadow Warriors 2 (first PC game to support HDR).

Netflix / Youtube doesn't currently support HDR output via PC.
I've played around with MadVR as well but can't seem to get it to output bt 2020.
Waikis is offline  
post #1888 of 18175 Old 10-16-2016, 06:12 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 121
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 98 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by spirithockey79 View Post
Should be no problem. I have a 110" 2.35 screen at pretty much max closeness/zoom for 5040, which is like 11'6". No issues at all with picture. At 12' you might be able to go up to 120".
Spirit, what screen do you have? Standard 1.0 gain, ALR, etc.? Glad to hear it's working for you.
techjoy is offline  
post #1889 of 18175 Old 10-16-2016, 06:16 PM
Newbie
 
mhendu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by ndabunka View Post
The Epson manual shows that it "translates" the 12-bit 4:2:2 to 10-bit 4:2:2 so rather than requiring that translation why not simply set the Nvidia card to output 10-bit 4:2:2 as that would match the projectors published capabilities, right?
That's fair, thanks for the suggestion. I'll make that adjustment to my settings.
mhendu is offline  
post #1890 of 18175 Old 10-16-2016, 06:16 PM
Senior Member
 
spirithockey79's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 261
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 192 Post(s)
Liked: 72
Quote:
Originally Posted by techjoy View Post
Spirit, what screen do you have? Standard 1.0 gain, ALR, etc.? Glad to hear it's working for you.


It's just a standard 1.2 gain white screen. You should be fine with that size on 1.78 or bigger.
spirithockey79 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Digital Projectors - Under $3,000 USD MSRP

Tags
5040ub power , atmos

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off