Official Epson 5040ub/6040ub owners thread - Page 638 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 27430Likes

post #19111 of 19836 Old 04-04-2020, 04:34 AM

Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 164 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Folks, I could really use your input. I'm pretty decent with tech but I'm a bit stumped. There are 3 things that are very much annoying me and I'm not experienced enough to figure it out still after 1 year of ownership:

1) I've been noticing when playing a DVD (specifically WS, not sure about FS) that is an older title like Airplane, The Golden Child and even Top Gun - the player/projector combo play what appears to be a widescreen image but a small one in the middle of the screen with black letter box all around. I have now learned this is very likely to do with the fact that these DVD's were non-anamorphic and I've found many people are complaining of this phenomenon with newer devices. There is no setting on either component that I can use to correct the issue. I've experimented with the resolution output on the player and there is no aspect control on it. I've looked into the PJ settings but there is nothing that I can find that does anything. This was never a problem with my OppoDVD or Panasonic PJ, I recall sometimes where there was a rare issue like this I could just hit the aspect on the PJ to zoom and it was perfect. Aspect always greyed out on the Epson, only get normal. Currently I had to create a lens adjustment setting to handle this issue, but I don't like having to move the lens every time.