Vivitek HK2288 - Real 4K DLP home theater projector - Page 37 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 249Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1081 of 1123 Old 11-12-2018, 05:05 PM
Advanced Member
 
golden78's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: syracuse
Posts: 940
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 406 Post(s)
Liked: 134
Maybe your cable is not good enough but the colors is more color gamut than to do with hdr. It does help make some colors in scenes brighter but it has do more with brightness. Your projector isn't going to look same a s flat screen lcd tv .. tvs go way brighyer and the hk2288 doesn't have a super bright pic or even a extended color gamut only does rec 709 but it still should look pretty good depending on the content. But youtube content will always look better than netflix in hdr or not. But Netflix logo should be red not orange you may have some settings off .The youtube 4k videos usually always look better than movies in hdr tho. Do you have a 4k bluray player? Usually they can tell you the signal and if displaying hdr or not. I have the hk2299 which is almost the same as the 2288 . Do you have any settings adjusted for hdr ? I use user mode for the hdr mode and have some saved settings and looks really nice . I also make sure turn on boost for brighter pic. What picture mode do you use .? I find night and day the best.
golden78 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1082 of 1123 Old 11-12-2018, 05:18 PM
Advanced Member
 
golden78's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: syracuse
Posts: 940
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 406 Post(s)
Liked: 134
Heres link for review with some basic settings to try for different content and modes

https://www.projectorreviews.com/viv...tion-settings/
golden78 is offline  
post #1083 of 1123 Old 11-12-2018, 05:57 PM
Advanced Member
 
golden78's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: syracuse
Posts: 940
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 406 Post(s)
Liked: 134
You should be able to tell if hdr in or off by playing content that is definitely in hdr and turning it on and off in menu don't do it with remote button as that doesn't always actually turn it off or on correctly but you shoukd tell a difference that's easy to notice whether it's on or off
golden78 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1084 of 1123 Old 11-13-2018, 06:37 PM
Member
 
mginster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 108
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 29 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Can someone show a picture of what the hdr information shows? I only see 3840x2160 in my info.
mginster is offline  
post #1085 of 1123 Old 11-15-2018, 05:40 PM
Member
 
mginster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 108
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 29 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Ok, I am really beginning to hate this projector and just wished i dropped more on something that gives me less stress in life.

Thinking it was my cable I bought the ruipro optical 33ft. Absolutely no difference.

I have my Shield set to 4k 420 10bit > 6 ft high speed HDMI cable > Denon X2400H set to bypass > Ruipro > Vivitek 2288. I have played with every setting under the sun and all HDR content on Netflix and Kodi is washed out and worthless. I have never seen HDR in any information text on the Vivitek.

I may be on old firmware, but I thought that was only to address drop outs, I have yet to ever see HDR. SW Ver 1: MS019F, SW Ver 2: DD18, SW Ver 3: MC20

Another thing, if I connect my Shield directly to the Vivitek, there is insane lag on any video. Its like the projector cant even keep up and studders about every 2 seconds on video. It never does this when coming from the Denon....which makes 0 sense to me.
mginster is offline  
post #1086 of 1123 Old 11-15-2018, 06:45 PM
Advanced Member
 
golden78's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: syracuse
Posts: 940
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 406 Post(s)
Liked: 134
Quote:
Originally Posted by mginster View Post
Ok, I am really beginning to hate this projector and just wished i dropped more on something that gives me less stress in life.

Thinking it was my cable I bought the ruipro optical 33ft. Absolutely no difference.

I have my Shield set to 4k 420 10bit > 6 ft high speed HDMI cable > Denon X2400H set to bypass > Ruipro > Vivitek 2288. I have played with every setting under the sun and all HDR content on Netflix and Kodi is washed out and worthless. I have never seen HDR in any information text on the Vivitek.

I may be on old firmware, but I thought that was only to address drop outs, I have yet to ever see HDR. SW Ver 1: MS019F, SW Ver 2: DD18, SW Ver 3: MC20

Another thing, if I connect my Shield directly to the Vivitek, there is insane lag on any video. Its like the projector cant even keep up and studders about every 2 seconds on video. It never does this when coming from the Denon....which makes 0 sense to me.
What picture mode are you using for projector and what hdr mode
golden78 is offline  
post #1087 of 1123 Old 11-15-2018, 06:49 PM
Advanced Member
 
golden78's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: syracuse
Posts: 940
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 406 Post(s)
Liked: 134
And does your shield show that your getting a 4k hdr signal?
How did pic look on netflix when bypassed receiver?
Did you try any other video sources besides the shield?
Do you have a premium netflix 4k hdr subscription or the basic subscription?
Did you try any of the picture settings from the link I posted yesterday from projector reviews
golden78 is offline  
post #1088 of 1123 Old 11-15-2018, 06:52 PM
Member
 
mginster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 108
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 29 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by golden78 View Post
And does your shield show that your getting a 4k hdr signal?
How did pic look on netflix when bypassed receiver?
Did you try any other video sources besides the shield?
Do you have a premium netflix 4k hdr subscription or the basic subscription?
Did you try any of the picture settings from the link I posted yesterday from projector reviews
I dont really know how to tell on the shield. It says HDR in netflix and I do lose the picture settings on the vivitek.

It looked the same, yet all video stuttered like mad.

I do have the prem sub.

Ill try more settings
mginster is offline  
post #1089 of 1123 Old 11-15-2018, 07:13 PM
Advanced Member
 
golden78's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: syracuse
Posts: 940
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 406 Post(s)
Liked: 134
What picture setting are you using for hk2288. Also when you go to advanced and select hdr mode what hdr mode is it in?
golden78 is offline  
post #1090 of 1123 Old 11-15-2018, 07:15 PM
Advanced Member
 
golden78's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: syracuse
Posts: 940
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 406 Post(s)
Liked: 134
Also make sure you do the hdr in the menu not using the remote. Sometimes even though press hdr on remote and meny tgen says it's on or off it doesn't actually change it so turn it off in the advanced menu and then back on again with that menu and try user setting
golden78 is offline  
post #1091 of 1123 Old 11-15-2018, 07:37 PM
Advanced Member
 
golden78's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: syracuse
Posts: 940
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 406 Post(s)
Liked: 134
Do you have a 4k disc player? Or any other 4k source besides shield
golden78 is offline  
post #1092 of 1123 Old 11-16-2018, 08:12 AM
Member
 
mginster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 108
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 29 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by golden78 View Post
Also make sure you do the hdr in the menu not using the remote. Sometimes even though press hdr on remote and meny tgen says it's on or off it doesn't actually change it so turn it off in the advanced menu and then back on again with that menu and try user setting
Yeah I have tried to turn it from Auto to Off many times, and tried all the sub HDR settings (user, details, normal)

Quote:
Originally Posted by golden78 View Post
Do you have a 4k disc player? Or any other 4k source besides shield
Sadly, I don't. Only a 4k roku, but its not HDR.

Quote:
Originally Posted by golden78 View Post
What picture setting are you using for hk2288. Also when you go to advanced and select hdr mode what hdr mode is it in?
I tried the default, day, night, etc. I have tried every HDR mode.
mginster is offline  
post #1093 of 1123 Old 11-16-2018, 08:34 AM
Advanced Member
 
golden78's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: syracuse
Posts: 940
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 406 Post(s)
Liked: 134
Quote:
Originally Posted by mginster View Post
Yeah I have tried to turn it from Auto to Off many times, and tried all the sub HDR settings (user, details, normal)



Sadly, I don't. Only a 4k roku, but its not HDR.



I tried the default, day, night, etc. I have tried every HDR mode.
I Thought the 4k roku had hdr? mine does.. what model roku do you have
golden78 is offline  
post #1094 of 1123 Old 11-16-2018, 08:39 AM
Advanced Member
 
golden78's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: syracuse
Posts: 940
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 406 Post(s)
Liked: 134
go into roku home screen menu and go to settings then go to display it should have multiple options for display 720p 1080p 4k 4k hdr 4k hdr30 4k hdr60 and auto click auto and it will run a check to see what your display capable of it will give you 3 things hdcp 1.4 or 2.2 1080 or 4k and hdr 30 60 or not at all
golden78 is offline  
post #1095 of 1123 Old 11-16-2018, 09:18 AM
Member
 
mginster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 108
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 29 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by golden78 View Post
go into roku home screen menu and go to settings then go to display it should have multiple options for display 720p 1080p 4k 4k hdr 4k hdr30 4k hdr60 and auto click auto and it will run a check to see what your display capable of it will give you 3 things hdcp 1.4 or 2.2 1080 or 4k and hdr 30 60 or not at all
I have the original premiere model (5th gen). Only the premiere+ had HDR in the first rollout.

Fifth generation
On September 26, 2016, Roku revamped their entire streaming player line-up with 5 new models (low end Roku Express, Roku Express+; high end Roku Premiere, Roku Premiere+ and top-of-the-line Roku Ultra), while the Streaming Stick (3600) was held over from the previous generation (having been released the previous April) as a sixth option.[22] The Roku Premiere+ and Roku Ultra support HDR video using HDR10.[23]
mginster is offline  
post #1096 of 1123 Old 11-16-2018, 10:44 AM
Advanced Member
 
golden78's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: syracuse
Posts: 940
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 406 Post(s)
Liked: 134
if i were you first thing id try be to go bestbuy and pickup a roku streaming stick + for 60$ and try it out. can always return it next day . just use it to test connection to see if showing your projector/cable are 4k 60 hdr capable
golden78 is offline  
post #1097 of 1123 Old 11-17-2018, 01:16 PM
Member
 
mginster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 108
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 29 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Well you were right. I got a roku ultra and it’s getting into hdr now. It’s a huge difference from what I had. However, now I get to see all the issues with it getting stuck in and out of hdr. I got it in a few times and now I can’t. I assume this is the firmware fix.

What about my shield now? I’ve tried every damn setting.

The hdmi and hdr spec truly are irritating.
mginster is offline  
post #1098 of 1123 Old 11-17-2018, 01:37 PM
Member
 
mginster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 108
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 29 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Well it appears it’s ok when direct. When through the Denon it will not get into hdr. I have it on bypass. I also found out that buying the ruipro optical was worthless, my old 25ft cable is fine when direct from the roku.

I still have serious lag with my shield when connecting directly, yet never lags when going through the denon....wtf.

Last edited by mginster; 11-17-2018 at 04:48 PM.
mginster is offline  
post #1099 of 1123 Old 11-17-2018, 05:20 PM
Advanced Member
 
golden78's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: syracuse
Posts: 940
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 406 Post(s)
Liked: 134
Quote:
Originally Posted by mginster View Post
Well you were right. I got a roku ultra and it’s getting into hdr now. It’s a huge difference from what I had. However, now I get to see all the issues with it getting stuck in and out of hdr. I got it in a few times and now I can’t. I assume this is the firmware fix.

What about my shield now? I’ve tried every damn setting.

The hdmi and hdr spec truly are irritating.
What mean stuck in and out are you saying you can't get it always to display hdr when playing hdr content? Did your display settings read you can get 4k hdr 60?
The main issue I had was netflix or vudu menus not switching on or off automatically but I didn't care as long as could see what selecting. If I had a issue where it was not going into hdr when played content but it was on and selected then just go into menu turn hdr off then back on again. Another thing that sometimes fixes it is Re synch on controller .
One last thing do not use the hdr button on remote alot of time it does not work correctly most time so you may press it and go into menu and say on but it isn't actually on and you have turn it off and back on but in the advanced meny settings NOT ON REMOTE . So if want to turn it on or off do so only in menu settinhs under advanced. Maybe new firmware fixed that but I am still on original firmware .
golden78 is offline  
post #1100 of 1123 Old 11-17-2018, 05:44 PM
Member
 
mginster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 108
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 29 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by golden78 View Post
What mean stuck in and out are you saying you can't get it always to display hdr when playing hdr content? Did your display settings read you can get 4k hdr 60?
The main issue I had was netflix or vudu menus not switching on or off automatically but I didn't care as long as could see what selecting. If I had a issue where it was not going into hdr when played content but it was on and selected then just go into menu turn hdr off then back on again. Another thing that sometimes fixes it is Re synch on controller .
One last thing do not use the hdr button on remote alot of time it does not work correctly most time so you may press it and go into menu and say on but it isn't actually on and you have turn it off and back on but in the advanced meny settings NOT ON REMOTE . So if want to turn it on or off do so only in menu settinhs under advanced. Maybe new firmware fixed that but I am still on original firmware .
I am almost in the same boat as you then. It is getting "stuck" in HDR when on Netflix menus, but the actual content switches it to non-HDR and its washed out again. No matter what I do to switch back and forth it wont go HDR.

However, when direct to the projector, its very consistent to display HDR. I can even go from connected via the Denon and playing Netflix (HDR not working), hit back (to the episode selection screen), unplug HDMI the Denon and go straight to the Roku, hit play and its now HDR. No setting changes, reboots or anything. It just works when direct, so I am thinking its partially related to the AVR.
mginster is offline  
post #1101 of 1123 Old 11-18-2018, 05:54 AM
Advanced Member
 
golden78's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: syracuse
Posts: 940
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 406 Post(s)
Liked: 134
That's very odd. What hdmi in and WHaT hdmi out are you using on denon receiver. I'm trying think if there is a setting that be be wrong that coukd effect it . I'll have look at my 4400h and see what mine Is on
golden78 is offline  
post #1102 of 1123 Old 12-04-2018, 01:55 PM
Senior Member
 
RKreutzer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Knoxville, TN
Posts: 333
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Bought a Roku Ultra during the Black Friday weekend to replace the Sony X700 as streaming device.
Roku is a lot better than the X700. While the time to connection is not much different, once a connection in Netflix or Prime is made, the picture and sound stay and don't drop whenever I move within those sites. Money well spend.
Somehow the Sony X700 and the 2288 don't like each other.
RKreutzer is offline  
post #1103 of 1123 Old 12-26-2018, 09:47 AM
Member
 
mginster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 108
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 29 Post(s)
Liked: 10
So I sent my projector in for a firmware update and tested again with getting my shield to do HDR. I am still stuck with a Roku that always goes into HDR fine, yet my shield never does....also posting this to the shield forum.

Vivtek 2288 > 25ft high speed HDMI > Denon 2400 > 6 ft high speed HDMI > Roku / Shield (swap them with no other changes)

With the Roku the screen blacks out and switches on HDR and it looks amazing. The vivitek shows its HDR.
With the Shield the screen NEVER blacks out and just starts playing. The vivitek does show HDR though...

I have my Shield set to 10-bit 2020 etc and have tried many different outputs. See attached images for a clear comparison.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_2433.jpg
Views:	82
Size:	568.0 KB
ID:	2500868   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_2434.jpg
Views:	68
Size:	547.8 KB
ID:	2500870   Click image for larger version

Name:	compare.png
Views:	74
Size:	339.6 KB
ID:	2500872  
mginster is offline  
post #1104 of 1123 Old 12-28-2018, 12:27 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
dan webster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: western mass.
Posts: 1,220
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 271 Post(s)
Liked: 268
Quote:
Originally Posted by mginster View Post
So I sent my projector in for a firmware update and tested again with getting my shield to do HDR. I am still stuck with a Roku that always goes into HDR fine, yet my shield never does....also posting this to the shield forum.

Vivtek 2288 > 25ft high speed HDMI > Denon 2400 > 6 ft high speed HDMI > Roku / Shield (swap them with no other changes)

With the Roku the screen blacks out and switches on HDR and it looks amazing. The vivitek shows its HDR.
With the Shield the screen NEVER blacks out and just starts playing. The vivitek does show HDR though...

I have my Shield set to 10-bit 2020 etc and have tried many different outputs. See attached images for a clear comparison.
I would try the shield with any other hdr capable projector or tv. Bring ot to a friends house who has a hdr tv and see if the tv goes into hdr mode or shows hdr in the i signal info. If it works than you know its your projector.

Dolby Atmos 7.2.4 Yamaha CX-A5200 Gemstone 200x7 Emotiva upa-500 amps
Oppo 103 panasonic ub820 Ultra HD Blu-ray Jvc RS3000 projector
silver ticket 125 2.35 screen Golden Ear Triton 5 L&R
super center XXL triton 7's sides Emotiva T1 rears
4 RSL C34 in ceiling SVS PB2-plus sub SVS PC13 ultra sub
dan webster is online now  
post #1105 of 1123 Old 12-29-2018, 10:54 AM
Member
 
madermat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 174
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 59 Post(s)
Liked: 29
that hdr pic looks nice
madermat is offline  
post #1106 of 1123 Old 12-29-2018, 02:14 PM
Senior Member
 
iafzal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 304
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 26 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by madermat View Post
that hdr pic looks nice
I am using Fire TV stick on my HK2299. Used a 35' HDMI cable what was sold as 4k capable upto 18gbps on Amazon.
It actually works. Able to play 4k videos from Amazon prime, confirmed with the info on my AVR and 2299 that it is playing HDR.

Colors are really nice although that being said there is not a huge difference for me in blu-ray DVDs and 4k content from Amazon

5.1.4 Setup - Dedicated Media Room
Denon 4400
JBL590/520C/530/550P 5.1.x
MartinLogan MLT-2 x.x.4
Vivtek 2299 4K Projector
iafzal is offline  
post #1107 of 1123 Old 01-03-2019, 06:24 AM
Member
 
mginster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 108
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 29 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by dan webster View Post
I would try the shield with any other hdr capable projector or tv. Bring ot to a friends house who has a hdr tv and see if the tv goes into hdr mode or shows hdr in the i signal info. If it works than you know its your projector.
I will see what I can do. It just makes no sense to me that the Roku works fine with exactly the same cabling, denon settings etc. Switch it over and it never does HDR with the shield.

Nvidia's official response was "I would like to Inform you that the Shield does not go well with HDR system wide" - WTF
mginster is offline  
post #1108 of 1123 Old 01-07-2019, 09:01 AM
Member
 
sumitagarwal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 180
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 36 Post(s)
Liked: 11
My refurbished HK2299 has a pretty odd issue that I'm wondering if other people have encountered as well: in the transition area between highlights and pure white I'm getting magenta posterization. In SDR content it occasionally noticeable but it really gets out of control on a lot of HDR content.

In particular it results in blocky magenta halos around shots including the sun or bright lights, with magenta banding.

Has anyone else experienced this? I thought it may have been the calibration settings I was using but even after doing a full reset I'm seeing it.

I'm on:
MSV021b
DD19
MC20

I've tried different sources, different HDMI cables, and running direct into the projector instead of receiver.
sumitagarwal is offline  
post #1109 of 1123 Old 01-07-2019, 06:47 PM
Senior Member
 
dagameballa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Portland,Or
Posts: 290
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 75 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Try aztar35's calibration settings in the hk2299 thread on page 11 I believe and if you have hdr in user mode, you have full cms to play with, try turning magenta down.
dagameballa is online now  
post #1110 of 1123 Old 01-08-2019, 01:00 PM
Member
 
sumitagarwal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 180
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 36 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by dagameballa View Post
Try aztar35's calibration settings in the hk2299 thread on page 11 I believe and if you have hdr in user mode, you have full cms to play with, try turning magenta down.
Thanks, I'd previously tried those settings and it didn't help anything, but I will try adjusting magenta. The problem is so bad that I'm getting magenta rims around highlights even in the black and white film Roma! Which looks very odd indeed.

Early last year I bought my parents an HK2288 which we've been generally happy with and was the reason for me buying the HK2299 more recently. On their HK2288 I've run both Aztar35's settings and Projector Reviews' settings without any hint of the magenta issue.
sumitagarwal is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Digital Projectors - Under $3,000 USD MSRP

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off