Optoma UHD60/65 Owners Thread - Page 106 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 4524Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #3151 of 3432 Old 02-07-2019, 02:08 PM
Member
 
AtomicInternet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by ukaussi View Post
As many here use an XBox One X with their UHD60/65, can you point me to a best value Receiver if I just want 1 input (XB1X) and no fancy effects, just plain DTS, Dolby Digital, Dolby Atmos etc
Currently HDMI bypasses my Onkyo TX-NR515 and just use optical cable from XB1X to receiver.
Basically looking for upgrade to Atmos and also it is a 110v US receiver connected to a voltage regulator (Monster) which is connected to a voltage convertor (240v to 110v) as I now live in Australia so would like to simplify.
Cheers
Seems like the TSR-5810 comes up on woot.com for under $200 pretty regular. It's a 7.2 channel that supports Dolby Atmos and has ZERO source syncing issues. I used to get the "searching" delay before I got this receiver, haven't seen it since. Also, Atmos is amazing. I put two speakers in the ceiling in addition to my existing 5.1 setup and the change was very noticeable.

I bought this sale, but I swear I see it up for sale once a month for the same price: https://electronics.woot.com/offers/...-av-receiver-6
AtomicInternet is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #3152 of 3432 Old 02-07-2019, 02:13 PM
Member
 
AtomicInternet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by Spixe View Post
This I'm sure is a foolish question, but is there any possible way or hope of somehow doing a firmware update at home? I've moved with my projector overseas, to China to be specific, where they don't have a support base, so there's no way to get a firmware update. My pj is starting to randomly drop signal (and reconnect right after, but not with several seconds in between), and I've never see any HDR video work on it, so I'm thinking an update might help, since I'm still on C10.

Is this possible, or just a pipe dream?
Having upgraded from C08 - C10, and then again from C10-C13, it's almost exactly a 3 week turnaround. So much so I sent it right before taking my last vacation (3 weeks) and it showed up right when I got back. Both times I hoped for an upgrade that enabled a future USB upgrade but obviously no such luck. I will say the C10-C13 changes were the most noticeable, particularly with the HDR and (quasi) 3D support so I'd recommend taking a 3 week vacation to the US and sending it in right when you get there

Last edited by AtomicInternet; 02-07-2019 at 02:17 PM.
AtomicInternet is offline  
post #3153 of 3432 Old 02-07-2019, 02:43 PM
Advanced Member
 
madbrain's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: San Jose, California
Posts: 895
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 291 Post(s)
Liked: 74
Quote:
Originally Posted by AtomicInternet View Post
Having upgraded from C08 - C10, and then again from C10-C13, it's almost exactly a 3 week turnaround. So much so I sent it right before taking my last vacation (3 weeks) and it showed up right when I got back. Both times I hoped for an upgrade that enabled a future USB upgrade but obviously no such luck. I will say the C10-C13 changes were the most noticeable, particularly with the HDR and (quasi) 3D support so I'd recommend taking a 3 week vacation to the US and sending it in right when you get there

Is C13 for the UHD60 or UHD65 ? And can you describe the changes with HDR and 3D in more detail ?
madbrain is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #3154 of 3432 Old 02-07-2019, 02:48 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 1
nVidia Shield TV - beta Release 7.2.3

This release will allow the UHD60 to automatically shift between HDR & Cinema, depending on source.

There is a new HDMI setting in Developers Option to turn on "colormetry". This along with setting HDMI to YUV420 rec2020 works for me.
cjeman is offline  
post #3155 of 3432 Old 02-07-2019, 03:39 PM
Senior Member
 
Talking Rain's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Lake Oswego, Oregon 97035
Posts: 266
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Forgive me if this has already been discussed (i'm sure it has). I'm new to this product. I quickly skimmed a few of the 100 plus pages of this thread looking for a answer to a question I'm sure this has already been asked but I haven't found an answer to:

What HDMI cable are you using to connect your UHD60 to you system? I just acquired a UHD60 (replacement to my old 720p projector) and I have a need for an approximately 25 foot HDMI cable but have read just enough to know I'm going to have issues if I'm not carful in selecting the right cable. Fiber, Ethernet with adapters, boosted cables, What are you using to get reliable 4k performance. Model and manufactures would be great and if you can share the issues you've had with not so great cables that would be helpful also.

Thanks,

Technoholic
Talking Rain is offline  
post #3156 of 3432 Old 02-08-2019, 12:06 AM
Member
 
Spixe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 68
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by AtomicInternet View Post
Having upgraded from C08 - C10, and then again from C10-C13, it's almost exactly a 3 week turnaround. So much so I sent it right before taking my last vacation (3 weeks) and it showed up right when I got back. Both times I hoped for an upgrade that enabled a future USB upgrade but obviously no such luck. I will say the C10-C13 changes were the most noticeable, particularly with the HDR and (quasi) 3D support so I'd recommend taking a 3 week vacation to the US and sending it in right when you get there
Thanks for the info. Good to know my HDR problem is probably because of the firmware. Guess I'll have to wait awhile before I can upgrade. Oh well, at least I have a nice TV that supports HDR. Again, thanks for the reply.
Spixe is offline  
post #3157 of 3432 Old 02-08-2019, 11:28 AM
Advanced Member
 
JeffChap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Edmond OK
Posts: 724
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 128 Post(s)
Liked: 122
Quote:
Originally Posted by Talking Rain View Post
Forgive me if this has already been discussed (i'm sure it has). I'm new to this product. I quickly skimmed a few of the 100 plus pages of this thread looking for a answer to a question I'm sure this has already been asked but I haven't found an answer to:



What HDMI cable are you using to connect your UHD60 to you system? I just acquired a UHD60 (replacement to my old 720p projector) and I have a need for an approximately 25 foot HDMI cable but have read just enough to know I'm going to have issues if I'm not carful in selecting the right cable. Fiber, Ethernet with adapters, boosted cables, What are you using to get reliable 4k performance. Model and manufactures would be great and if you can share the issues you've had with not so great cables that would be helpful also.



Thanks,
I use a 40' Monoprice Cabernet from a Denon S730 to my UHD65 with no problems.

Sent from my moto g(6) using Tapatalk
JeffChap is offline  
post #3158 of 3432 Old 02-08-2019, 01:13 PM
Senior Member
 
Talking Rain's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Lake Oswego, Oregon 97035
Posts: 266
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by JeffChap View Post
I use a 40' Monoprice Cabernet from a Denon S730 to my UHD65 with no problems.

Sent from my moto g(6) using Tapatalk
Great. thanks for the reply. So what I get from this is there is really no need to go for a crazy expensive cable?

Technoholic
Talking Rain is offline  
post #3159 of 3432 Old 02-08-2019, 02:13 PM
Advanced Member
 
JeffChap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Edmond OK
Posts: 724
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 128 Post(s)
Liked: 122
Quote:
Originally Posted by Talking Rain View Post
Great. thanks for the reply. So what I get from this is there is really no need to go for a crazy expensive cable?
Not in my case.

Sent from my moto g(6) using Tapatalk
JeffChap is offline  
post #3160 of 3432 Old 02-09-2019, 06:36 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Hi I have just picked up my new uhd60 and although it’s better than my optoma hd230x I’m not to impressed with its colours out the box blacks not great, what’s people using as there settings ? It’s my lounge with black out blinds. With everything off you need a torch to see your feet so it’s good enough for darkness, I’m using a sapphire 106” pull down screen, I’m using 4K player, Xbox s and sky q. Any help would be brilliant.
Jjonesy90 is offline  
post #3161 of 3432 Old 02-09-2019, 07:39 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
m0j0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Florida
Posts: 1,623
Mentioned: 23 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 640 Post(s)
Liked: 652
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jjonesy90 View Post
Hi I have just picked up my new uhd60 and although it’s better than my optoma hd230x I’m not to impressed with its colours out the box blacks not great, what’s people using as there settings ? It’s my lounge with black out blinds. With everything off you need a torch to see your feet so it’s good enough for darkness, I’m using a sapphire 106” pull down screen, I’m using 4K player, Xbox s and sky q. Any help would be brilliant.

Give these a try:


Optoma UHD60 (using an Nvidia Shield as source):

Display Mode: HDR
Wall Color: Off
Dynamic Range: HDR Auto / HDR Picture Mode Bright
Brightness: 0
Contrast: -2
Sharpness: 8
Color: 3 or 6 usually
Tint: -2
Gamma: 2.0
Ultra Detail: 1 (I notch it up to 2 or 3 on really clean movies, but otherwise keep it at 1, especially if there is a lot of film grain)
Dynamic Black: On
Brilliant Color: 2 (Though I prefer the skin tones with this value set to 3, I get better contrast/black levels dropping this to 2)
Color Temp: D65
Color Gamut: Cinema
CMS: Defaults
Color Space: Auto
RGB Gain/Bias Settings:
Red Gain: -4
Green Gain: -1
Blue Gain: 12
Red Bias: 0
Green Bias: -1
Blue Bias: 2


If I'm watching 1080P material, I switch to Cinema and have color set to 19


With 4K discs in the Panasonic UB-900:
Luma: +1
Edge: +4
Contrast: +1
Black Gamma: +3 (sometimes +4)
Noise Reduction: Optional - If it's an older movie with a lot of distracting film grain, I might set all three noise filters between a value of 1 to 3, until I'm comfortable with the picture
Gamma: 1.8 (or 2.0, depending on content)
m0j0 is online now  
post #3162 of 3432 Old 02-09-2019, 08:38 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Thank you very much for that il try them when I get home, are these settings for a dark room in your home or a little bit of light, do you use these on all content sky q, 4K player etc how are they like in uhd ?
Jjonesy90 is offline  
post #3163 of 3432 Old 02-09-2019, 07:41 PM
Advanced Member
 
JeffChap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Edmond OK
Posts: 724
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 128 Post(s)
Liked: 122
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jjonesy90 View Post
Hi I have just picked up my new uhd60 and although it’s better than my optoma hd230x I’m not to impressed with its colours out the box blacks not great, what’s people using as there settings ? It’s my lounge with black out blinds. With everything off you need a torch to see your feet so it’s good enough for darkness, I’m using a sapphire 106” pull down screen, I’m using 4K player, Xbox s and sky q. Any help would be brilliant.
I posted mine for my UHD65 here: https://tapatalk.com/m/index.php?ope...3Fp%3D56136628

Sent from my moto g(6) using Tapatalk
JeffChap is offline  
post #3164 of 3432 Old 02-09-2019, 08:19 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
m0j0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Florida
Posts: 1,623
Mentioned: 23 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 640 Post(s)
Liked: 652
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jjonesy90 View Post
Thank you very much for that il try them when I get home, are these settings for a dark room in your home or a little bit of light, do you use these on all content sky q, 4K player etc how are they like in uhd ?

Yes, this is for light controlled, dark room. I do use them on all content, which consists of 4k mostly with some 1080p thrown in, and either via my Nvidia Shield or Panasonic UB900 (and sometimes an XBOX One X as well). They look good in UHD, which is the majority of the content that I watch.
m0j0 is online now  
post #3165 of 3432 Old 02-10-2019, 08:06 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
BondDonBond's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: US
Posts: 917
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 745 Post(s)
Liked: 676
Bought a Pani 820 player and set it up for my UHD65. That really took things to the next level on the picture with the auto tone mapping. If you are looking for a player that would be a good choice. I actually like the picture more than the Oppo 203.

I need lens shift in my setup so unfortunately I need to let the UHD65 go after having it 2 years. Loved that picture though. Wish they made it with a powered lens.

Home Theater: JVC RS2000, Stewart 120" 2:35 StudioTech 130, Panamorph DCR Lens, B&W 802 Nautilus, HTM1, 4-B&W 805's for surround, 4-Martin Logan 22's ceiling speakers ATMOS, 2- PB-16 Ultra Subs, Marantz 8802A, MacIntosh 8207 AMP and Proceed AMP 5, Panasonic 820, Apple TV, XBox One, HTPC with MadVR, Qnap NAS
BondDonBond is offline  
post #3166 of 3432 Old 02-10-2019, 09:56 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by m0j0 View Post
Yes, this is for light controlled, dark room. I do use them on all content, which consists of 4k mostly with some 1080p thrown in, and either via my Nvidia Shield or Panasonic UB900 (and sometimes an XBOX One X as well). They look good in UHD, which is the majority of the content that I watch.



Thanks buddy is there any settings for daytime light ? or any other settings to try ? alwasy up for trying a few things out, Could I possibly put these settings under user and keep the genuine settings under hdr that come set up already ?


Thanks for your help 1st projector. Am using on a sapphire 106 inch screen dunno what grain.
Jjonesy90 is offline  
post #3167 of 3432 Old 02-10-2019, 10:24 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wesley Hester View Post
To SilentKnight and all new UHD60/65 owners:


I would personally turn off Dynamic Black, Reduce BrilliantColor to 6 and reduce the "regular" Color Setting (defaults to 23/18 on Cinema/HDR modes on UHD60 I believe) down closer to 0 (I go as high as 3/6 before red gets just too over saturated-loosing picture detail in red areas) right out of the gate before you watch much content and get spoiled on the default settings. I can't speak for PureColor (having a UHD60 without it) but it being off sounds right as it seems every "Color" option on these projectors introduces some un-wanted/inaccurate effect. Also it seems Red, Blue and Magenta get blown out/over saturated very quickly and easily as color settings are increased. I've never had an issue with Yellow or Green (the UHD60 has a different color wheel though: 5 segment RGBYC).


I personally went around the world with various setting options when I first got my UHD60 and wish I had just used the settings above right out of the gate and had been done with it. Very similar to JeffChap's settings.

Sharpness defaults to 8 on the UHD60. I haven't seen any ringing with that setting and have never touched it. But with Ultra Detail, I started out thinking it was great but have since turned it off as well.


Those are the "big ones". All the other settings come down to personal preference and/or calibration.


YMMV

Hi I have just got the uhd60 and playing around with settings but just cant get the right colour for sky q, xbox, and my 4k hdr have you got or can point me in the right direction for settings im using a sony 1080 amp, ubp-x800 sony 4k player.


Thanks
Jjonesy90 is offline  
post #3168 of 3432 Old 02-10-2019, 02:17 PM
Senior Member
 
Talking Rain's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Lake Oswego, Oregon 97035
Posts: 266
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Arrow Long (>25') HDMI cable selection

Well, After a lot of reading here on various threads including the forum HDMI test report (a little out dated now), then debating among my technology selection team (me, myself and I) the decision was made to try a low cost fiber cable. My requirement was just too close to what I read as the "25 foot limit for copper HDMI cable runs at 4k HDR," AND, I always like to include a little future proofing to my setup rather than being on the edge of todays technical requirements.

So I ended up ordering the UGREEN (33') fiber HDMI cable as a test to see how well the cheapest fiber HDMI cable would preform with my UHD60. The specs on this cable read almost the same as the Ruipro and Monoprice cables. With an 18 month warranty I thought why not give it a try (I have pretty easy access if I need to change it). At just under $100. if it works I saved 1/3 over its nearest competition and am under the $100 wife radar. If it doesn't work, well I'll have some input for the next person in the market for a fiber cable. I should have it in a few days so look for an update very soon...

Technoholic
Talking Rain is offline  
post #3169 of 3432 Old 02-10-2019, 06:53 PM
Senior Member
 
Talking Rain's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Lake Oswego, Oregon 97035
Posts: 266
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Well, That was fast... Thanks amazon... So my first 24 hours with this cable has been great. No issues. Will update in a week or two but so far, a pretty good value compared to the other fiber solutions...
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_2143.jpg
Views:	41
Size:	168.8 KB
ID:	2523874   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_2144.jpg
Views:	31
Size:	244.4 KB
ID:	2523876   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_2145.jpg
Views:	25
Size:	212.3 KB
ID:	2524278   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_2146.jpg
Views:	22
Size:	208.4 KB
ID:	2524280   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_2147.jpg
Views:	21
Size:	146.8 KB
ID:	2524282  


Technoholic

Last edited by Talking Rain; 02-12-2019 at 12:38 PM.
Talking Rain is offline  
post #3170 of 3432 Old 02-10-2019, 07:49 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
m0j0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Florida
Posts: 1,623
Mentioned: 23 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 640 Post(s)
Liked: 652
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jjonesy90 View Post
Thanks buddy is there any settings for daytime light ? or any other settings to try ? alwasy up for trying a few things out, Could I possibly put these settings under user and keep the genuine settings under hdr that come set up already ?


Thanks for your help 1st projector. Am using on a sapphire 106 inch screen dunno what grain.

I haven't had much luck with using mine during the daylight, so don't really have any recommendations there. I think there are some grey screens that can filter light coming in from the side, but I just have a 1.0 grain white screen, so it's not really made for dealing with daytime light.
m0j0 is online now  
post #3171 of 3432 Old 02-12-2019, 11:05 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 405
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 226 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Hi there.

I'm in need of some help! I was over in the Epson 5040 owners thread and they are all advising that I get that (naturally).

I was wondering why you chose the UHD65 and what screen did you pair it with.

It looks like it has much more detail, but of course with some trade offs.

I am also comparing it to the JVC LX-UH1
cowbodude99 is offline  
post #3172 of 3432 Old 02-12-2019, 12:47 PM
Senior Member
 
Talking Rain's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Lake Oswego, Oregon 97035
Posts: 266
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Question 12V trigger - what's if for?

Has anyone used the 12v trigger? I assumed it was a means to trigger an electric dropdown screen but now after reading the instruction manual it seems like its more about IR control? Can anyone offer up details or experience using this. Id like to understand better what its intended use and how I can integrate its function into my media system. In particular, the "reserved" connection.

Technoholic
Talking Rain is offline  
post #3173 of 3432 Old 02-12-2019, 01:00 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
m0j0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Florida
Posts: 1,623
Mentioned: 23 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 640 Post(s)
Liked: 652
Quote:
Originally Posted by Talking Rain View Post
Has anyone used the 12v trigger? I assumed it was a means to trigger an electric dropdown screen but now after reading the instruction manual it seems like its more about IR control? Can anyone offer up details or experience using this. Id like to understand better what its intended use and how I can integrate its function into my media system. In particular, the "reserved" connection.

I haven't used it but I found this online in another forum. Perhaps it will get you started:


https://www.avforums.com/threads/opt...igger.1255888/
m0j0 is online now  
post #3174 of 3432 Old 02-12-2019, 01:18 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
m0j0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Florida
Posts: 1,623
Mentioned: 23 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 640 Post(s)
Liked: 652
Quote:
Originally Posted by cowbodude99 View Post
Hi there.

I'm in need of some help! I was over in the Epson 5040 owners thread and they are all advising that I get that (naturally).

I was wondering why you chose the UHD65 and what screen did you pair it with.

It looks like it has much more detail, but of course with some trade offs.

I am also comparing it to the JVC LX-UH1

Here's a review I found between the two online:


https://www.projectorcentral.com/Eps...D65-review.htm
m0j0 is online now  
post #3175 of 3432 Old 02-12-2019, 01:21 PM
Senior Member
 
Talking Rain's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Lake Oswego, Oregon 97035
Posts: 266
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Cool

Quote:
Originally Posted by m0j0 View Post
I haven't used it but I found this online in another forum. Perhaps it will get you started:


https://www.avforums.com/threads/opt...igger.1255888/
Thanks, I just called Optoma. They sure are nice people. They explained it can be used for a few items.

1) A mono 1/8" plug can be used to trigger a 12 cold circuit to activate an electric screen (just what I needed) or
2) A stereo 1/8" plug can be used to extend the IR sensor of the projector (one function of this would be, you can point your remote at your main equipment rack rather than the projector to control it).

You just need to activate the connection from the projector menu...
m0j0 and rdlohr like this.

Technoholic
Talking Rain is offline  
post #3176 of 3432 Old 02-12-2019, 07:38 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Need some advice with my new Optoma UHD60 projector.

I purchased it from amazon last year but didn’t set up my media room until this month.... The projector seemed to work fine for about 1 week, but then the lamp stopped working. I am getting a Lamp Failure indicator. This is obviously way too soon for a lamp to go out on a new projector.

Has this happened to any else? What do you all recommend? Call Optoma??
Sukadesha is offline  
post #3177 of 3432 Old 02-12-2019, 08:08 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
m0j0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Florida
Posts: 1,623
Mentioned: 23 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 640 Post(s)
Liked: 652
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sukadesha View Post
Need some advice with my new Optoma UHD60 projector.

I purchased it from amazon last year but didn’t set up my media room until this month.... The projector seemed to work fine for about 1 week, but then the lamp stopped working. I am getting a Lamp Failure indicator. This is obviously way too soon for a lamp to go out on a new projector.

Has this happened to any else? What do you all recommend? Call Optoma??

You can call them for sure. If it's still under warranty, they will probably have you send it back to them. It could be a bad lamp driver. If so, they will probably replace under warranty and probably replace the bulb too.
m0j0 is online now  
post #3178 of 3432 Old 02-12-2019, 10:22 PM
Newbie
 
mobhit101's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hey!

This forum was integral on helping me "upgrade" from my Optoma HD25-LV to a UHD65 and I've got to say that I am definitely underwhelmed... Am I doing something wrong? I went from a non-light-controlled media room (HD25) to a light-controlled theater room (UHD65) and I cannot tell the difference in visual fidelity. In fact, my UHD65 is much darker and practically similar resolution than my old, sub-$1000 HD25 projector. Are my calibrations off? I use my Xbox One X for all media and when I switch from Netflix to games to whatever it always seems like the input in the projector is changing as well. The picture does look good but not OMG-4K-blowing-mind-away good.

Some background:
  • HD25 was is in a naturally well-lit room, but at night, it was dark as night. Screen size was 135" (miss that!) projected on a light gray wall. Sat about 10 ft away from screen.
  • UHD65 is in a completely dark room with no windows. Screen size is 110" projected on a dark gray wall. Sitting about 8 ft away from screen.

Is it the wall color? I should also point out that I'm using an Xbox One X as my source, HDMI 2.0 cables and capable receiver. The HD25 was AMAZING in picture quality and I'm just not sure the 4K is worth the squeeze, yet.

I'm ready to send it back (have about 3 days to return) but want to be in the "future" of 4K!
mobhit101 is offline  
post #3179 of 3432 Old 02-13-2019, 02:00 PM
Senior Member
 
ttn333's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Orange County, CA
Posts: 365
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 190 Post(s)
Liked: 119
Quote:
Originally Posted by mobhit101 View Post
Hey!

This forum was integral on helping me "upgrade" from my Optoma HD25-LV to a UHD65 and I've got to say that I am definitely underwhelmed... Am I doing something wrong? I went from a non-light-controlled media room (HD25) to a light-controlled theater room (UHD65) and I cannot tell the difference in visual fidelity. In fact, my UHD65 is much darker and practically similar resolution than my old, sub-$1000 HD25 projector. Are my calibrations off? I use my Xbox One X for all media and when I switch from Netflix to games to whatever it always seems like the input in the projector is changing as well. The picture does look good but not OMG-4K-blowing-mind-away good.

Some background:
  • HD25 was is in a naturally well-lit room, but at night, it was dark as night. Screen size was 135" (miss that!) projected on a light gray wall. Sat about 10 ft away from screen.
  • UHD65 is in a completely dark room with no windows. Screen size is 110" projected on a dark gray wall. Sitting about 8 ft away from screen.

Is it the wall color? I should also point out that I'm using an Xbox One X as my source, HDMI 2.0 cables and capable receiver. The HD25 was AMAZING in picture quality and I'm just not sure the 4K is worth the squeeze, yet.

I'm ready to send it back (have about 3 days to return) but want to be in the "future" of 4K!
Maybe it's the "dark grey wall" you're projecting onto? Have you tried using a real screen?

NAD T758v3, Emotiva XPA-3, XPA-5, UPA-5, JTR Triple 12 LP L/C/R, Htm-6 surrounds, Volt 6 atmos, SVS PC13 Ultra and JTR Cap 2400 ULF - Denon x2400h, Elac Debut F5, Elac Debut C5, Elac Debut A4, Klipsch r-12swi - Stereo Totem Mite
ttn333 is offline  
post #3180 of 3432 Old 02-13-2019, 07:40 PM
Newbie
 
mobhit101's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by ttn333 View Post
Maybe it's the "dark grey wall" you're projecting onto? Have you tried using a real screen?
I haven't, was trying to zero in on screen size and install my in-wall speakers first. I'm hoping that's the issue but I honestly have no way of knowing until I try projecting onto a screen... Still wondering if I should downgrade to a UHD60 or move on to an Epson 4010...
mobhit101 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Digital Projectors - Under $3,000 USD MSRP

Tags
firmware , hd65 , Optoma , optoma uhd60 , uhd60 apple tv , uhd65

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off