Optoma UHD60/65 Owners Thread - Page 95 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 4525Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #2821 of 3435 Old 08-08-2018, 12:58 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Posts: 28
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by Parsnips View Post
Don't have any special settings for HDR, sorry, with C13 it works with the defaults whereas with C9 it didn't work no matter what I tried. It really needs the 'firmware' fix.
Thanks Parsnips so much. HDR of my projector works well when I play PS4 Pro or PC so that I'm scare to send it to upgrade firmware. Thanks once again ^_^
PhillipLe is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2822 of 3435 Old 08-10-2018, 03:09 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 1
UHD60 Firmware Upgrade

I am at FW Level C08. I cannot get a change log for C13 (or any releases) from Optoma. The unit is under warranty and the upgrade would not cost me. Is it worth the hassle to return the unit? I read in this Forum that C13 will/can switch to HDR automatically.

Thanks.. cj
cjeman is offline  
post #2823 of 3435 Old 08-10-2018, 03:27 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Posts: 28
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by cjeman View Post
I am at FW Level C08. I cannot get a change log for C13 (or any releases) from Optoma. The unit is under warranty and the upgrade would not cost me. Is it worth the hassle to return the unit? I read in this Forum that C13 will/can switch to HDR automatically.

Thanks.. cj
You can email to ask Technical support of Optoma they will answer you in 24hrs. If dont feel happy with current firmware, you can create RMA in optoma USA and send projector to them for update firmware. They will update firmware for you.
PhillipLe is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2824 of 3435 Old 08-11-2018, 06:25 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 1
I did just that and asked Tech Support for a change log. I was informed that one did not exist. This is why I posted to the Forum.
cjeman is offline  
post #2825 of 3435 Old 08-11-2018, 01:55 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 0
I have had the 5040 for about a year but have had it on a shelf rather than mounted. Bought a peerless mount this week and am going to mount it soon.

My question is: Should I mount it as close to the screen as possible (within the ideal range) in order to get a brighter picture or does it not matter?

I currently have it about 14-15 feet away from a 108 inch screen and it has been just fine but if mounting it closer would produce a better and brighter picture I am happy to do that.

Since it has a listed throw range of 10'7 - 22'4 I just wanted to mount it as ideal as possible.

Thanks!
wrighj9 is offline  
post #2826 of 3435 Old 08-11-2018, 06:15 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 1
UHD60 HDR Problem

Hi guys. I own a UHD60 with very expensive fibre optic HDMI cable (RUIPRO HDMI Fiber Cable 33 feet Light High Speed Support 18.2 Gbps 4K at 60Hz HDMI 2.0 Subsampling 4:4:4/4:2:2/4:2:0 Thin Slim and Flexible With Optic Technology 10m) and 4K Apple TV.

Problem is I've done everything I know how to get this to show in 4K HDR 60Hz setting. The best the Apple TV will let me do is 4K SDR 60Hz. The Apple TV says something is wrong with the HDMI cable and may not be compatible. I have it in the correct 2.2 HDMI2 slot. Even the 4K movies on Netflix don't look all that great. My internet signal is at full strength. Any suggestions?
[email protected] is offline  
post #2827 of 3435 Old 08-12-2018, 01:05 AM
Member
 
ukaussi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 163
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by [email protected] View Post
Hi guys. I own a UHD60 with very expensive fibre optic HDMI cable (RUIPRO HDMI Fiber Cable 33 feet Light High Speed Support 18.2 Gbps 4K at 60Hz HDMI 2.0 Subsampling 4:4:4/4:2:2/4:2:0 Thin Slim and Flexible With Optic Technology 10m) and 4K Apple TV.

Problem is I've done everything I know how to get this to show in 4K HDR 60Hz setting. The best the Apple TV will let me do is 4K SDR 60Hz. The Apple TV says something is wrong with the HDMI cable and may not be compatible. I have it in the correct 2.2 HDMI2 slot. Even the 4K movies on Netflix don't look all that great. My internet signal is at full strength. Any suggestions?
I have the Monoprice equivalent and it is directional so make sure you have the right end plugged in to source.
(TIP - also always measure twice as 1st cable I bought was just a bit short and had to cut across corner of room (I run along baseboard) which was fine for a while but new media chairs just came and would have crushed cable so bought a longer one. SO if in Sydney, Australia will have one for sale cheap)

_________________________________________
130" of 4K HDR picture via XBox One X - Optoma UHD60
Monoprice SlimRun AV HDR Cable for HDMI Enabled Devices, [email protected], YUV4:4:4, 30ft
ukaussi is offline  
post #2828 of 3435 Old 08-13-2018, 10:35 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Posts: 28
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by cjeman View Post
I did just that and asked Tech Support for a change log. I was informed that one did not exist. This is why I posted to the Forum.
I'm not sure where you ask a question. This is response from Technical support of Optoma USA.

Phillip,

Thank you for contacting Optoma. The latest major firmware is C08. C13 is currently out, but that update was solely for people having issues using pattern generators. To send it in for a firmware upgrade is normally 5-7 business days from when we check the unit into our system. With shipping and weekends it is around 2 weeks total time. While it is here, our technicians will put it through all the standard diagnosis and testing to ensure it is working in top shape. If it isn't, they will repair it as well as upgrade the firmware to ensure you get the unit back in the best possible condition. You can begin the RMA process by filling out the form located on our website at: http://arc.optomausa.com/support/rma/RMAForm.aspx and an agent will reach out to you with instructions.

Thanks,


Brad Langley
Technical Support Rep.
T: (510) 897-8600
PhillipLe is offline  
post #2829 of 3435 Old 08-13-2018, 05:19 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 1
PhilipLe.. Thanks for the clarification. Brad was not my Optoma contact. Somebody posted that C13 would switch to HDR automatically. A nice future, perhaps. cj
cjeman is offline  
post #2830 of 3435 Old 08-14-2018, 09:31 AM
Member
 
Matt Helander's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Fargo, ND
Posts: 193
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 82 Post(s)
Liked: 56
Quick question - do you guys use HDMI 1 or HDMI 2 on the UHD65?

I see the HDMI 2 has a label HDCP 2.2 / MHL - is that the BETTER port to use? I've tried both and don't really notice a difference (I have a Sony UBP-X700 through my Denon AVR-X6300) when I play 4k / HDR / etc.

Thoughts?

Matt Helander is offline  
post #2831 of 3435 Old 08-14-2018, 11:11 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
m0j0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Florida
Posts: 1,658
Mentioned: 23 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 662 Post(s)
Liked: 680
Quote:
Originally Posted by Matt Helander View Post
Quick question - do you guys use HDMI 1 or HDMI 2 on the UHD65?

I see the HDMI 2 has a label HDCP 2.2 / MHL - is that the BETTER port to use? I've tried both and don't really notice a difference (I have a Sony UBP-X700 through my Denon AVR-X6300) when I play 4k / HDR / etc.

Thoughts?


If you are doing anything higher than 1080p, you should use HDMI2. Perhaps try direct connecting to the projector and bypassing the Denon to see if you notice an improvement in the picture.
m0j0 is online now  
post #2832 of 3435 Old 08-14-2018, 10:37 PM
Member
 
Matt Helander's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Fargo, ND
Posts: 193
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 82 Post(s)
Liked: 56
Quote:
Originally Posted by m0j0 View Post
If you are doing anything higher than 1080p, you should use HDMI2. Perhaps try direct connecting to the projector and bypassing the Denon to see if you notice an improvement in the picture.
Ah yes- that seems correct.

I did that thing that no one does anymore and looked in the 'manual':

(*)Only HDMI 2 (HDCP2.2) connector supports 4K (Ultra HD) at 60Hz refresh rate

Watched a whole movie in HDMI 1. ugh.
Matt Helander is offline  
post #2833 of 3435 Old 08-15-2018, 01:04 PM
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 553
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 268 Post(s)
Liked: 209
Quote:
Originally Posted by [email protected] View Post
Hi guys. I own a UHD60 with very expensive fibre optic HDMI cable (RUIPRO HDMI Fiber Cable 33 feet Light High Speed Support 18.2 Gbps 4K at 60Hz HDMI 2.0 Subsampling 4:4:4/4:2:2/4:2:0 Thin Slim and Flexible With Optic Technology 10m) and 4K Apple TV.

Problem is I've done everything I know how to get this to show in 4K HDR 60Hz setting. The best the Apple TV will let me do is 4K SDR 60Hz. The Apple TV says something is wrong with the HDMI cable and may not be compatible. I have it in the correct 2.2 HDMI2 slot. Even the 4K movies on Netflix don't look all that great. My internet signal is at full strength. Any suggestions?
i heard apple tv 4k might have some signal issues to the UH60; regardless of cable.



can you try a regular shorter HDMI 2.0 18gbps certified cable and see how that goes?
I tried a 50 or 100 ft optial HDMI 2.0 18gbps cable and it would not send my 4k signal to my uhd60.

I got a regualr hdmi 2.0 18gbps cable around 20 or 25 ft and then things worked fine. (after testing a shorter run cable also)



are you able to run other 4k HDR signals from other devices over that optical?

like a 4K HDR signal from xbox one, x, or 4k player?



Does the apple tv 4k output at 24hz or 30hz? Try dropping to that setting for your 4K video and see what happens?
I think there are data transmission limits to doing 4k HDR 60hz video that go beyond hdmi 2.0 18gbps and that might be why it is erroring. HDMI 2.1 or whatever the next thing is supposed to open a huge bandwidth for future sources.



afaik; most of the apple tv movie/video content is 24hz or 30hz anyway; and you wouldn't want to output it at 60hz. (for example; 4k hdr movies from xbox one x HDR are all output at 24hz or 30hz in mysetup and works great.) I think if you want 60hz HDR; you will have to settle for SDR 4K in your current setup.
am2model3 is offline  
post #2834 of 3435 Old 08-15-2018, 01:06 PM
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 553
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 268 Post(s)
Liked: 209
the UHD60 does a great job accepting 24hz movie disc signals and displaying them smoothly cinematically.
[email protected] likes this.
am2model3 is offline  
post #2835 of 3435 Old 08-16-2018, 09:15 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Posts: 28
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by [email protected] View Post
Hi guys. I own a UHD60 with very expensive fibre optic HDMI cable (RUIPRO HDMI Fiber Cable 33 feet Light High Speed Support 18.2 Gbps 4K at 60Hz HDMI 2.0 Subsampling 4:4:4/4:2:2/4:2:0 Thin Slim and Flexible With Optic Technology 10m) and 4K Apple TV.

Problem is I've done everything I know how to get this to show in 4K HDR 60Hz setting. The best the Apple TV will let me do is 4K SDR 60Hz. The Apple TV says something is wrong with the HDMI cable and may not be compatible. I have it in the correct 2.2 HDMI2 slot. Even the 4K movies on Netflix don't look all that great. My internet signal is at full strength. Any suggestions?
1. Check your movie has HDR or not. Normally it wont enable HDR until movie play. You can try with other source such as PS4 Pro, PC
2. Check your firmware and email to technical support about your issue. I remember people in forums got issue with NVIDIA Shield with old firmware. They have to send projector to Optoma to update new firmware.
PhillipLe is offline  
post #2836 of 3435 Old 08-16-2018, 10:37 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Can anyone who has the c13 firmware post a picture of the firmware versions from the about menu in the projector,I’m currently having a “discussion” with optoma uk who are telling me the latest version is c08 🤷🏻*♂️
batfinkus is offline  
post #2837 of 3435 Old 08-16-2018, 10:51 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Can anyone who has the c13 firmware post a picture of the firmware versions from the about menu in the projector,I’m currently having a “discussion” with optoma uk who are telling me the latest version is c08 🤷🏻*♂️
batfinkus is offline  
post #2838 of 3435 Old 08-16-2018, 10:53 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by am2model3 View Post
i heard apple tv 4k might have some signal issues to the UH60; regardless of cable.



can you try a regular shorter HDMI 2.0 18gbps certified cable and see how that goes?
I tried a 50 or 100 ft optial HDMI 2.0 18gbps cable and it would not send my 4k signal to my uhd60.

I got a regualr hdmi 2.0 18gbps cable around 20 or 25 ft and then things worked fine. (after testing a shorter run cable also)



are you able to run other 4k HDR signals from other devices over that optical?

like a 4K HDR signal from xbox one, x, or 4k player?



Does the apple tv 4k output at 24hz or 30hz? Try dropping to that setting for your 4K video and see what happens?
I think there are data transmission limits to doing 4k HDR 60hz video that go beyond hdmi 2.0 18gbps and that might be why it is erroring. HDMI 2.1 or whatever the next thing is supposed to open a huge bandwidth for future sources.



afaik; most of the apple tv movie/video content is 24hz or 30hz anyway; and you wouldn't want to output it at 60hz. (for example; 4k hdr movies from xbox one x HDR are all output at 24hz or 30hz in mysetup and works great.) I think if you want 60hz HDR; you will have to settle for SDR 4K in your current setup.

Ok. So I (sorta) figured out the problem. The AV receiver I was using did not support HDR. So I went and got one that did and it's now showing in HDR but on 30Hz. It will not show 60Hz and according to specifications this Optoma UHD60 is supposed to show up to 60Hz.
am2model3 likes this.
[email protected] is offline  
post #2839 of 3435 Old 08-16-2018, 02:12 PM
Member
 
AtomicInternet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Here's a screenshot from the web interface and on my actual screen for my UHD60

The C13 was worth the almost 3 week turnaround, the HDR support is now amazing and seems to span all video modes ("Game" mode picks up on HDR in my games now)
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	web.jpg
Views:	129
Size:	109.3 KB
ID:	2442472   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_20180816_160600 - Copy.jpg
Views:	150
Size:	2.23 MB
ID:	2442474  
batfinkus likes this.
AtomicInternet is offline  
post #2840 of 3435 Old 08-16-2018, 03:05 PM
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 553
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 268 Post(s)
Liked: 209
I can confirm the Optoma UHD60 will show a 60hz HDR signal; I do this over XboxOneX, PS4Pro, and my gaming PC.

(UHD60 is a HDMI2.0 port with full 18gbps inputs; not like some HDMI2.0 inputs on the market that only do 10.2gbps)
If you are using appletv4K; majority of your content you would want to output at 24hz or 30hz. (the UHD60 accepts 24hz input and displays its great)


I think it has to do with the signal options coming from the appletv4K.

If the signal is this: 4K/60Hz/10 bits/HDR/444; I thought i read the bandwidth exceeds HDMI 2.0 18gbps; so you would have to tell the appleTV to somehow output 8bit/4k60hz/HDR/420. (See info below) the HDR layer adds more data in the transmission.



http://community.cedia.net/blogs/dav.../4k-60-444-hdr

4K resolution.
60 frames per second.
4:4:4 chroma subsampling.

This trio has been used in combination for some time as a moniker to signify 18Gbps HDMI support. Simply stating ‘18G’ might have been simpler, but hey that’s another story…

The complication comes when HDR is added. From a menu where 4K is the main dish, and 60fps, 4:4:4 and HDR are the three side options, we can only choose two. The third comes at extra cost of which we can’t yet afford. That’ll come with HDMI 2.1.

Why is it so?

4K60 4:4:4 runs at 17.82Gbps, but only with the default 8-bit BT.709 color. That’s the same color gamut as 720p and 1080i/p. The whole point of HDR is to increase color volume, which it can’t do unless there’s first an increased color gamut. That means stepping up to BT.2020, which in turn means 10- or 12-bit deep color. The HDMI 2.0 spec also calls for a minimum 10-bit color with BT.2020.

Here's how it stands...

Main + 2 sides;
(Remember it has to be under 18Gbps…)

4K 60 4:4:4 (no HDR) = 17.82Gbps

4K 30 4:4:4 10b-HDR (no 60fps) = 11.14Gbps

4K 60 4:2:2 10b-HDR (no 4:4:4) = 17.82Gbps

Main + 3 sides;

4K 60 4:4:4 10b-HDR = 22.28Gbps


Bottom line – there currently is no 4K 60 4:4:4 HDR supported by HDMI 2.0. We need HDMI 2.1. The good news is that there’s not many applications that would require the combo of all three sides anyway. We're most commonly watching 24fps, 4:2:0 chroma, or both, in which case we're under the 18Gbps. Happy days. It’s just something to be aware of for now, whenever you see that moniker.
am2model3 is offline  
post #2841 of 3435 Old 08-16-2018, 04:08 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Posts: 28
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by AtomicInternet View Post
Here's a screenshot from the web interface and on my actual screen for my UHD60

The C13 was worth the almost 3 week turnaround, the HDR support is now amazing and seems to span all video modes ("Game" mode picks up on HDR in my games now)
Hi AtomicInternet,

Could you please let me know more detail about how amazing of HDR on Game mode? Does it show HDR blackbox when you play game or color look better?
PhillipLe is offline  
post #2842 of 3435 Old 08-17-2018, 02:20 PM
Member
 
AtomicInternet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by PhillipLe View Post
Hi AtomicInternet,

Could you please let me know more detail about how amazing of HDR on Game mode? Does it show HDR blackbox when you play game or color look better?
Apologize for the low volume and general confusion, I recorded on my phones "4K" setting, which I'm sure is compressed in addition to the YouTube compression, so obviously this is nowhere close to "real life" viewing, but it gives you an idea of the changes in the C13 firmware menu wise. I'm guessing my primary game is only 4K and not HDR since this was the first time I noticed I'm locked into "HDR" mode when it's receiving HDR10 signal.

AtomicInternet is offline  
post #2843 of 3435 Old 08-18-2018, 10:05 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
m0j0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Florida
Posts: 1,658
Mentioned: 23 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 662 Post(s)
Liked: 680
Quote:
Originally Posted by m0j0 View Post
A few more notes on these settings. I've noticed that some 4k blu rays I play have too much red, meaning the skin tones are off pretty badly at color setting of 19, while others have skin tones that are spot on at color setting of 19. So in those cases where skin tones are too tanned/red, I drop color down to 6 and all is good. Also, I have been turning Ultra Detail up to 3 on some 4k blu rays that are exceptionally clean and clear for that little extra bit of sharpness/clarity, such as The Great Wall, Guardians of the Galaxy Vol 2, Passengers, X-Men Apocalypse, etc. Lastly, I've been using the dynamic range adjustment and luminance/contrast settings on the Panasonic UB900 to brighten things up a bit more and get that little extra pop in some 4k blu rays that are a little on the dark side, so if you have one of those units, you should experiment with those settings as well to see if you can improve the image quality on a per movie basis. What I've been doing is tweaking for each movie and writing those settings down on an index card, then tucking that into the blu ray sleeve so I can redo those settings on a per movie basis to get the best image for each movie I own.

After watching some 50+ 4k blu rays on my Panasonic UB900 and Optoma UHD60, these are the settings I have found to work the best for a majority of the content I watch:


Optoma UHD60:

Display Mode: HDR
Wall Color: Off
Dynamic Range: HDR Auto / HDR Picture Mode Standard
Brightness: -1
Contrast: -2
Sharpness: 8
Color: 6 (I start at 19, then drop to 10, then 6, then 3, if needed, to get good skin tones on a per movie basis)
Tint: -2
Gamma: 1.8
Ultra Detail: 1 (I notch it up to 2 or 3 on really clean movies, but otherwise keep it at 1, especially if there is a lot of film grain)
Dynamic Black: On
Brilliant Color: 3 (This works for most movies, but sometimes have to drop it to 2 if there is a lot of situations where white is being blown out or acting funny due to dynamic black being on)
Color Temp: D65
Color Gamut: Cinema
CMS: Defaults
Color Space: Auto
RGB Gain/Bias Settings:
Red Gain: -4
Green Gain: -1
Blue Gain: 12
Red Bias: 0
Green Bias: -1
Blue Bias: 2


Panasonic UB900:
Luma: +1
Edge: +4
Contrast: +1
Black Gamma: +2 (sometimes +3)
Noise Reduction: Optional - If it's an older movie with a lot of distracting film grain, I might set all three noise filters between a value of 1 to 3, until I'm comfortable with the picture
m0j0 is online now  
post #2844 of 3435 Old 08-19-2018, 06:42 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Posts: 28
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by AtomicInternet View Post
Apologize for the low volume and general confusion, I recorded on my phones "4K" setting, which I'm sure is compressed in addition to the YouTube compression, so obviously this is nowhere close to "real life" viewing, but it gives you an idea of the changes in the C13 firmware menu wise. I'm guessing my primary game is only 4K and not HDR since this was the first time I noticed I'm locked into "HDR" mode when it's receiving HDR10 signal.

https://youtu.be/tyEKyH0NF_Y
Thanks so so much AtomicInternet. Your camera phone so good. I already create RMA ticket. I heard rumor long time that UHD60 will support 3D and now look like they did. Hope it work well. If you play Gear 4, you will see HDR very clearly. Thanks once again ^_^.
PhillipLe is offline  
post #2845 of 3435 Old 08-19-2018, 06:43 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Posts: 28
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by m0j0 View Post
After watching some 50+ 4k blu rays on my Panasonic UB900 and Optoma UHD60, these are the settings I have found to work the best for a majority of the content I watch:


Optoma UHD60:

Display Mode: HDR
Wall Color: Off
Dynamic Range: HDR Auto / HDR Picture Mode Standard
Brightness: -1
Contrast: -2
Sharpness: 8
Color: 6 (I start at 19, then drop to 10, then 6, then 3, if needed, to get good skin tones on a per movie basis)
Tint: -2
Gamma: 1.8
Ultra Detail: 1 (I notch it up to 2 or 3 on really clean movies, but otherwise keep it at 1, especially if there is a lot of film grain)
Dynamic Black: On
Brilliant Color: 3 (This works for most movies, but sometimes have to drop it to 2 if there is a lot of situations where white is being blown out or acting funny due to dynamic black being on)
Color Temp: D65
Color Gamut: Cinema
CMS: Defaults
Color Space: Auto
RGB Gain/Bias Settings:
Red Gain: -4
Green Gain: -1
Blue Gain: 12
Red Bias: 0
Green Bias: -1
Blue Bias: 2


Panasonic UB900:
Luma: +1
Edge: +4
Contrast: +1
Black Gamma: +2 (sometimes +3)
Noise Reduction: Optional - If it's an older movie with a lot of distracting film grain, I might set all three noise filters between a value of 1 to 3, until I'm comfortable with the picture
I'm sorry to ask this question if you don't like. Have you ever think about for rent your 4k bluray disc ?
PhillipLe is offline  
post #2846 of 3435 Old 08-20-2018, 05:29 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
m0j0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Florida
Posts: 1,658
Mentioned: 23 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 662 Post(s)
Liked: 680
Quote:
Originally Posted by PhillipLe View Post
I'm sorry to ask this question if you don't like. Have you ever think about for rent your 4k bluray disc ?

I prefer to own vs. rent, since I rewatch a lot of the movies I purchase many times. Also, I prefer physical disc vs. streaming, and there's no redbox close by, so that also tends to put me in the buy vs. rent category more often than not.


Unless you mean have I thought about renting my own collection out?

Last edited by m0j0; 08-20-2018 at 12:29 PM.
m0j0 is online now  
post #2847 of 3435 Old 08-20-2018, 01:14 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Posts: 28
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by m0j0 View Post
I prefer to own vs. rent, since I rewatch a lot of the movies I purchase many times. Also, I prefer physical disc vs. streaming, and there's no redbox close by, so that also tends to put me in the buy vs. rent category more often than not.


Unless you mean have I thought about renting my own collection out?
Yes. This is my question ^_^
PhillipLe is offline  
post #2848 of 3435 Old 08-20-2018, 02:04 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
m0j0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Florida
Posts: 1,658
Mentioned: 23 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 662 Post(s)
Liked: 680
Quote:
Originally Posted by PhillipLe View Post
Yes. This is my question ^_^

Got it! No, I haven't really thought about that possibility. I am still working on growing my collection for now, but who knows, might be fun to do something like that in the future.
m0j0 is online now  
post #2849 of 3435 Old 08-20-2018, 02:18 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Posts: 28
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by m0j0 View Post
Got it! No, I haven't really thought about that possibility. I am still working on growing my collection for now, but who knows, might be fun to do something like that in the future.
Let me know when you think about it ^_^. I'm a careful man so you will not worry about your collection.
PhillipLe is offline  
post #2850 of 3435 Old 08-20-2018, 03:47 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 83
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 57 Post(s)
Liked: 14
wrong tread!

Last edited by macmus; 08-20-2018 at 05:51 PM.
macmus is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Digital Projectors - Under $3,000 USD MSRP

Tags
firmware , hd65 , Optoma , optoma uhd60 , uhd60 apple tv , uhd65

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off