Official Epson Home Cinema HC2100/2150 (TW5600/5650/5400) Owners - Page 10 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 98Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #271 of 623 Old 01-25-2018, 01:23 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Sekosche's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 2,364
Mentioned: 136 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1439 Post(s)
Liked: 3634
Quote:
Originally Posted by joshbrown1987 View Post
Yeah I'll be going 4k in 2 years probably. I got rid of a 65" 4k Samsung to go direct projector full time. I was just tired of movies being so small from 12ft away. And with IMO limited 4k content as I don't really watch the same movie more than 2xs a year I find the 100" 1080 screen much better. I have a Optoma gt1080 and it's a really decent projector but OMG this thing blows it away by far. Bulb price and in overall real world lumen output is much better on the epson. Good choice.

Sent from my VS988 using Tapatalk

Content is exactly why I’m waiting to go 4K; that and HDR capability of PJ’s has a long way to go versus OLED/LCD televisions. So if the UHD resolution bump isn’t a significant contribution to the picture quality over the wide color gamut and HDR, I can’t really see the point (I hear the upscaling is nice though); maybe if you start to exclusively watch 4K and sit close enough to warrant the resolution increase, it’s worth it.

We replaced our family room TV with the 2150 on a silver ticket 106” high contrast screen, and I really have no complaints for the money at all.

Speakers: PSA MTM-210T x2, MTM-210C, MT-110SR x2; Atmos-SVS Satellite x2, DIY Volt-10 x2
Subs: PSA V1801 x2, DIY: 18" RSS460HO, 15" RSS390HO x2, BOSS w/JBL CX1200 x6
MA’s: Crowson Tech x2
Processing: Denon X4200, NU6KDSP, 3KDSP
Video: Epson 3700; Screen: Silver Ticket 106" High Contrast
Sekosche is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #272 of 623 Old 01-25-2018, 06:23 AM
Member
 
mauldo67's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 25
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 26 Post(s)
Liked: 5


Josh,

What is this from? The detail is stunning.

Mauldo
mauldo67 is offline  
post #273 of 623 Old 01-25-2018, 06:54 AM
Member
 
IP11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Chicago
Posts: 62
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 28
Quote:
Originally Posted by shishasmoker View Post
Hi all, Im new here and also new to projectors. I recently purchased the 2150 along with an elite aeon screen cinegrey from amazon 120". I have everything set up and my projector is about 11.5 feet away from the screen per the screen calculator on epsons site. my problem is brightness and calibration. anyone have any tips on the best way to calibrate the projector to be a little brighter without always having to use dynamic? my room is not light controlled but I usually watch tv at night with the lights off. I am also having an issue with my android box and xbox not being as bright as my cable box. Any thoughts on that? Sorry for all the questions at once
I've found Xbox One looks the best when it is outputting 10-bit color using the standard color space.

However you still need to select expanded for signal >hdmi color space on the projector. It does not make sense to me why these settings seem to mismatch but you get deeper colors with these settings. Give it a try. Also there is calibration patterns you can access on the Xbox that may help you set brightness/contrast levels.
IP11 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #274 of 623 Old 01-25-2018, 07:35 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 109
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 69 Post(s)
Liked: 8
Quote:
Originally Posted by mauldo67 View Post


Josh,

What is this from? The detail is stunning.

Mauldo
YouTube video called peru 8k. I believe.

Sent from my VS988 using Tapatalk
mauldo67 likes this.
joshbrown1987 is offline  
post #275 of 623 Old 01-25-2018, 10:58 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 109
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 69 Post(s)
Liked: 8
How man use the imagine enhancer built into the projector?

Sent from my VS988 using Tapatalk
joshbrown1987 is offline  
post #276 of 623 Old 01-26-2018, 06:06 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: MD
Posts: 311
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 174 Post(s)
Liked: 50
Quote:
Originally Posted by joshbrown1987 View Post
How man use the imagine enhancer built into the projector?

Sent from my VS988 using Tapatalk
I use it a bit. I choose preset 2 then adjusted it. It can really help but also hurt

Sent from my SM-N950U using Tapatalk
joshbrown1987 likes this.
evilmonstertruk is offline  
post #277 of 623 Old 01-27-2018, 12:32 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Posts: 22
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 3
Got the projector all set up and good to go, looks amazing! But on the second movie we watched, out of nowhere it looked like a dead pixel just appeared. Up close it looks more like a smudge though, I think a dust particle already got lodged in there. What's the best way to clean that out?
furiousfuria is offline  
post #278 of 623 Old 01-27-2018, 09:47 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: MD
Posts: 311
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 174 Post(s)
Liked: 50
Quote:
Originally Posted by furiousfuria View Post
Got the projector all set up and good to go, looks amazing! But on the second movie we watched, out of nowhere it looked like a dead pixel just appeared. Up close it looks more like a smudge though, I think a dust particle already got lodged in there. What's the best way to clean that out?
Maybe some canned air. I'm changing out my projector mount today and I'll look to see if there's a better way.

I read getting a air purifier may help with the amount of dust in the room

Sent from my SM-N950U using Tapatalk
evilmonstertruk is offline  
post #279 of 623 Old 01-27-2018, 09:58 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Posts: 22
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 3
Quote:
Originally Posted by evilmonstertruk View Post
Maybe some canned air. I'm changing out my projector mount today and I'll look to see if there's a better way.

I read getting a air purifier may help with the amount of dust in the room

Sent from my SM-N950U using Tapatalk
Yea that's what I was thinking, try to dislodge it with canned air. I'll pick up a can and give it a try. Let me know what you find! Loving the projector so far
furiousfuria is offline  
post #280 of 623 Old 01-27-2018, 01:12 PM
Member
 
chrisa871's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 35
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Anyone here using the Carl's ALR screen with the 2150? Thanks in advance
chrisa871 is offline  
post #281 of 623 Old 01-27-2018, 03:19 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: MD
Posts: 311
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 174 Post(s)
Liked: 50
Quote:
Originally Posted by furiousfuria View Post
Yea that's what I was thinking, try to dislodge it with canned air. I'll pick up a can and give it a try. Let me know what you find! Loving the projector so far
Yea I think canned air is really the only way.
New bulb?

Sent from my SM-N950U using Tapatalk
evilmonstertruk is offline  
post #282 of 623 Old 01-27-2018, 07:05 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Posts: 22
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 3
Quote:
Originally Posted by evilmonstertruk View Post
Yea I think canned air is really the only way.
New bulb?

Sent from my SM-N950U using Tapatalk
Here is a pic of my set up. Also that stupid little dot from up close. That doesn't look like a dead pixel right?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	20180127_184811_HDR.jpg
Views:	384
Size:	656.4 KB
ID:	2352158   Click image for larger version

Name:	20180127_000703_HDR.jpg
Views:	351
Size:	290.7 KB
ID:	2352160   Click image for larger version

Name:	20180127_000709_HDR.jpg
Views:	314
Size:	611.9 KB
ID:	2352162  
furiousfuria is offline  
post #283 of 623 Old 01-29-2018, 11:36 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 109
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 69 Post(s)
Liked: 8
Is there no way to force this projector fill or zoom or full screen? I can only set to AUTO on aspect I can't change it. Really not happy about that called. Epson that was useless

Sent from my VS988 using Tapatalk
joshbrown1987 is offline  
post #284 of 623 Old 01-29-2018, 11:38 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: MD
Posts: 311
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 174 Post(s)
Liked: 50
Quote:
Originally Posted by joshbrown1987 View Post
Is there no way to force this projector fill or zoom or full screen? I can only set to AUTO on aspect I can't change it. Really not happy about that called. Epson that was useless

Sent from my VS988 using Tapatalk
I noticed the same thing with my Amazon Fire TV 2. I don't have any other equipment hooked up right now. I am about to get a Dish Joey so I'll see if it unlocks it.

Sent from my SM-N950U using Tapatalk
joshbrown1987 likes this.
evilmonstertruk is offline  
post #285 of 623 Old 01-29-2018, 12:13 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 109
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 69 Post(s)
Liked: 8
Quote:
Originally Posted by evilmonstertruk View Post
I noticed the same thing with my Amazon Fire TV 2. I don't have any other equipment hooked up right now. I am about to get a Dish Joey so I'll see if it unlocks it.

Sent from my SM-N950U using Tapatalk
I've used my xbox 1 and 2ng gen fire Tv and yeah the option to change aspect is in the menu but can't change it. Not even in natural mode. I tried basically everything I could think of. It's stupid if I want to stretch and FILL the screen that's fine and it's my choice to lessen the image quality.

Sent from my VS988 using Tapatalk
joshbrown1987 is offline  
post #286 of 623 Old 01-31-2018, 02:12 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 109
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 69 Post(s)
Liked: 8
I can't get the HDMI on to work. How can I set it so that once I turn my AVR on it turns on the projector? Without a Chromecast

Sent from my VS988 using Tapatalk
joshbrown1987 is offline  
post #287 of 623 Old 02-01-2018, 09:32 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Posts: 22
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 3
Well I contacted Visual Apex about the dead pixel/smudge and they are going to let me exchange it for a new one once their shipment comes in, love the projector glad their letting me swap it!
chrisa871 and joshbrown1987 like this.
furiousfuria is offline  
post #288 of 623 Old 02-04-2018, 05:27 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Weird colors especially noticeable on writing

Hello all,

first-time projector owner here. Yesterday, I got the HC 2100 (EH-TW 5600 in Europe), set it up and directly noticed a weird display of colors that I was not able to make go away. It is especially noticeable for writing such as subtitles or even the projector options. It looks as if the blue and yellow panels are slightly mismatched, so that everything has a blue tinge on top / sides and a yellow tinge at the bottom.

I've attached two pictures of this, one close-up and one at a bit more distance. Every letter has a blue tinge on top and a yellow tinge at the bottom.

Since this is my first projector, I want to ask: Is this normal? Or is this a problem with panel alignment, i.e. does this mean I got a defective unit? Is there anything I can do to make this better?

Thanks!
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	20180204_000402.jpg
Views:	267
Size:	412.6 KB
ID:	2356082   Click image for larger version

Name:	20180204_000757.jpg
Views:	266
Size:	355.9 KB
ID:	2356084  
graemon is offline  
post #289 of 623 Old 02-06-2018, 02:06 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Posts: 22
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 3
Has anyone here who owns a 2150 use a Darbee on it? I am not able to get sound to work from external speakers when the Darbee is plugged in
furiousfuria is offline  
post #290 of 623 Old 02-08-2018, 04:56 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: MD
Posts: 311
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 174 Post(s)
Liked: 50
Just hooked up the Apple TV 4k to this thing and it is a must. Everything looks ten times better than my Amazon fire TV.

Sent from my SM-N950U using Tapatalk
evilmonstertruk is offline  
post #291 of 623 Old 02-09-2018, 12:42 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Sekosche's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 2,364
Mentioned: 136 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1439 Post(s)
Liked: 3634
Quote:
Originally Posted by evilmonstertruk View Post
Just hooked up the Apple TV 4k to this thing and it is a must. Everything looks ten times better than my Amazon fire TV.

Sent from my SM-N950U using Tapatalk

How so? Do you mean content quality is improved or just the interface looks better?

I use a half dozen different streaming devices with my 2150 and can’t distinguish one from another. In fact, the only streaming device I don’t own is an Apple 4K.

Speakers: PSA MTM-210T x2, MTM-210C, MT-110SR x2; Atmos-SVS Satellite x2, DIY Volt-10 x2
Subs: PSA V1801 x2, DIY: 18" RSS460HO, 15" RSS390HO x2, BOSS w/JBL CX1200 x6
MA’s: Crowson Tech x2
Processing: Denon X4200, NU6KDSP, 3KDSP
Video: Epson 3700; Screen: Silver Ticket 106" High Contrast
Sekosche is online now  
post #292 of 623 Old 02-09-2018, 07:33 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: MD
Posts: 311
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 174 Post(s)
Liked: 50
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sekosche View Post
How so? Do you mean content quality is improved or just the interface looks better?

I use a half dozen different streaming devices with my 2150 and can’t distinguish one from another. In fact, the only streaming device I don’t own is an Apple 4K.
It's just razor sharp. Netflix, Hulu, Amazon video. The fire TV was kinda soft but not thru the Apple TV.

Sent from my SM-N950U using Tapatalk
evilmonstertruk is offline  
post #293 of 623 Old 02-10-2018, 05:08 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 225
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 89 Post(s)
Liked: 88
Quote:
Originally Posted by graemon View Post
Hello all,

first-time projector owner here. Yesterday, I got the HC 2100 (EH-TW 5600 in Europe), set it up and directly noticed a weird display of colors that I was not able to make go away. It is especially noticeable for writing such as subtitles or even the projector options. It looks as if the blue and yellow panels are slightly mismatched, so that everything has a blue tinge on top / sides and a yellow tinge at the bottom.

I've attached two pictures of this, one close-up and one at a bit more distance. Every letter has a blue tinge on top and a yellow tinge at the bottom.

Since this is my first projector, I want to ask: Is this normal? Or is this a problem with panel alignment, i.e. does this mean I got a defective unit? Is there anything I can do to make this better?

Thanks!
I think this looks out of alignment, but it might be helpful if you could run a specific picture that we could all compare to. If you go to this AVSForum thread https://www.avsforum.com/forum/139-di...libration.html you can download the mp4 versions of the calibration files from the first post. I used the mirror site: http://w6rz.net/ and downloaded the self-extracting mp4 version of the "AVS HD 709 Calibration Disk". Then try running the "Misc Patterns/C - Convergence" set from a laptop driving your 2100. If you have a blu-ray burner you could also make the Blu-ray, but the laptop with HDMI out is probably simpler.
bitmap42 is offline  
post #294 of 623 Old 02-12-2018, 07:05 PM
Newbie
 
Trollhammerx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 1
I’ve been using the 2150 since Black Friday. Maybe about 3 or 4 movies a week max so not too much usage. Tonight I started to hear a rattling sound inside the projector. No clear indicator what is causing it, but it is happening in small bursts. If he projector wasn’t right over my head I wouldn’t notice, but right now it is very distracting. Anyone else experience this? I assume this will be covered by warranty, but if anyone had a quick fix in mind or experience with this odd rattle sound, please let me know. It’s emanating from the back area on the air filter side. Thank you in advance.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Trollhammerx is offline  
post #295 of 623 Old 02-12-2018, 10:07 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
serith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: syracuse, ny
Posts: 1,068
Mentioned: 81 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 819 Post(s)
Liked: 865
Quote:
Originally Posted by Trollhammerx View Post
I’ve been using the 2150 since Black Friday. Maybe about 3 or 4 movies a week max so not too much usage. Tonight I started to hear a rattling sound inside the projector. No clear indicator what is causing it, but it is happening in small bursts. If he projector wasn’t right over my head I wouldn’t notice, but right now it is very distracting. Anyone else experience this? I assume this will be covered by warranty, but if anyone had a quick fix in mind or experience with this odd rattle sound, please let me know. It’s emanating from the back area on the air filter side. Thank you in advance.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
i would call epson and see if they'll replace the unit under warranty for you. that would drive me nuts!
Trollhammerx likes this.


7.0.6 / 1700 ft³ / PSA MTM-210T³ / Epson HC 2150 / 147" AT 2.39:1 Spandex Screen / Seatcraft Rialto³ / Velvet Everywhere / Chasing LFE
serith is offline  
post #296 of 623 Old 02-13-2018, 07:45 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 109
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 69 Post(s)
Liked: 8
Quote:
Originally Posted by furiousfuria View Post
Has anyone here who owns a 2150 use a Darbee on it? I am not able to get sound to work from external speakers when the Darbee is plugged in
Where do you have your darbee installed I use one with moms and everything works perfect. I have mine installed right at the output from my AVR. All HDMI from sources going into the AVR and the last HDMI to projector is where the darbee is located'm

Sent from my VS988 using Tapatalk
joshbrown1987 is offline  
post #297 of 623 Old 02-13-2018, 09:29 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Posts: 22
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 3
Quote:
Originally Posted by joshbrown1987 View Post
Where do you have your darbee installed I use one with moms and everything works perfect. I have mine installed right at the output from my AVR. All HDMI from sources going into the AVR and the last HDMI to projector is where the darbee is located'm

Sent from my VS988 using Tapatalk
I don't have an AVR, it goes laptop (or PS4) > HDMI > Darbee > HDMI > projector. My 5.1 speakers connect through the Audio Out AUX on the Epson. Getting no sound at all when I do this, through the laptop or the PS4
furiousfuria is offline  
post #298 of 623 Old 02-13-2018, 09:38 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 109
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 69 Post(s)
Liked: 8
Quote:
Originally Posted by furiousfuria View Post
I don't have an AVR, it goes laptop (or PS4) > HDMI > Darbee > HDMI > projector. My 5.1 speakers connect through the Audio Out AUX on the Epson. Getting no sound at all when I do this, through the laptop or the PS4
That's gotta be setting on projector. Test it without the darbee in line and see what happens the darbee should have nothing to do with it. Also make sure settings on projector are set to out and the volume on projector is turned up

Sent from my VS988 using Tapatalk
joshbrown1987 is offline  
post #299 of 623 Old 02-13-2018, 09:50 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Posts: 22
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 3
Quote:
Originally Posted by joshbrown1987 View Post
That's gotta be setting on projector. Test it without the darbee in line and see what happens the darbee should have nothing to do with it. Also make sure settings on projector are set to out and the volume on projector is turned up

Sent from my VS988 using Tapatalk
Without the Darbee plugged in my speaker system works totally fine from the audio out aux port on the projector, as soon as it is plugged in there is no sound anymore. I can get sound fine plugging the aux into the laptop audio out (obviously), totally bypassing the Darbee. Issue is mainly with PS4
furiousfuria is offline  
post #300 of 623 Old 02-14-2018, 09:32 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 4
Quote:
Originally Posted by evilmonstertruk View Post
It's just razor sharp. Netflix, Hulu, Amazon video. The fire TV was kinda soft but not thru the Apple TV.

Sent from my SM-N950U using Tapatalk


Have you tried using an android box ? I’ve tried 2 different ones and they both seem really dim compared to my cable box.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
shishasmoker is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Digital Projectors - Under $3,000 USD MSRP

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off