Official Epson Home Cinema HC2100/2150 (TW5600/5650/5400) Owners - Page 20 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 98Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #571 of 608 Old 12-10-2018, 05:11 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by JPark View Post
The manual is pretty confusing. Reading the diagram, I think/hope it’s measuring to the base of the image rather than the center of it. I don’t know if that’s the case though.
The HC2150 with lens shift is included in the calculator here: https://files.support.epson.com/pdc/...ml5/index.html

Edit: So with a 110" screen the top of your ceiling mounted 2150 will be 0.6" below the top of a 16:9 image; throw range is roughly 11' to 17' and there will be 8" of vertical image movement from the lens shift.

Last edited by Fatteh; 12-10-2018 at 06:40 PM.
Fatteh is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #572 of 608 Old 12-11-2018, 02:31 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
descalabro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Posts: 1,046
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 407 Post(s)
Liked: 156
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fatteh View Post
I had originally thought this as well, but after setting it up I found the base of the projector is aligned with the base of the image (or the top of the image if ceiling mounted). So the lens centre is about 2 inches from the edge of a 16:9 image. In a ceiling mount, the lens shift will allow the image to move about 5% up and 10% below a centred image. In my room this is more than enough to use lens shift to keep the bottom of both 16:9 and 21:9 images at the lower edge of my screen.
Ok then, I guess we can conclude the manual isn't good and that you've found the right answer.
descalabro is offline  
post #573 of 608 Old 12-11-2018, 06:24 AM
Senior Member
 
JPark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: AZ
Posts: 204
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Thanks for the help!
JPark is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #574 of 608 Old 12-11-2018, 08:45 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 79
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 57 Post(s)
Liked: 5
Can my 2100 do 120" screen at 20 feet with cinema or bright cinema mode? Or is that too far and not enough lumens? I'm using a beige wall right now and bright cinema with a 1000hr bulb that was mostly on eco before this point. Looks pretty good but only on bright cinema, considering white or alr screen, but i have to know if 20 feet is too far away, and either how large the screen should be OR how many lumens I need to hit. Thanks!
Maze810 is offline  
post #575 of 608 Old 12-11-2018, 01:11 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by descalabro View Post
Ok then, I guess we can conclude the manual isn't good and that you've found the right answer.
Aye. The manual was a worry. I looked at it after buying the pj and thought I was going to have a serious mounting issue.
Fatteh is offline  
post #576 of 608 Old 12-11-2018, 01:35 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by Maze810 View Post
Can my 2100 do 120" screen at 20 feet with cinema or bright cinema mode? Or is that too far and not enough lumens? I'm using a beige wall right now and bright cinema with a 1000hr bulb that was mostly on eco before this point. Looks pretty good but only on bright cinema, considering white or alr screen, but i have to know if 20 feet is too far away, and either how large the screen should be OR how many lumens I need to hit. Thanks!
The calculator above gives an image size of 127" to 206" at 20ft. I can't imagine it not being bright enough, even on eco, but depends on use and expectations of course.
Maze810 likes this.
Fatteh is offline  
post #577 of 608 Old 12-11-2018, 03:00 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
serith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: syracuse, ny
Posts: 1,041
Mentioned: 79 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 785 Post(s)
Liked: 814
Quote:
Originally Posted by Maze810 View Post
Can my 2100 do 120" screen at 20 feet with cinema or bright cinema mode? Or is that too far and not enough lumens? I'm using a beige wall right now and bright cinema with a 1000hr bulb that was mostly on eco before this point. Looks pretty good but only on bright cinema, considering white or alr screen, but i have to know if 20 feet is too far away, and either how large the screen should be OR how many lumens I need to hit. Thanks!
i have the 2150 which is throwing a ~155" 16:9 image onto a 147" scope screen from 19' away. the screen gain & open weave of the spandex create a problem where there is not enough gain (people here have measured white over black spandex to yield ~0.6 gain). consequently, to get an image with enough pop that i like, i run the projector on full lamp power using dynamic. bright cinema is close but no cigar. even with adding velvet to my room (all around the screen, the ceiling, floor, walls), dynamic remains the reigning champ between the available choices. i have brightness usually somewhere between 40 & 45, contrast at 60, color temp at 4, and gamma is constantly fiddled with depending on the movie (some movies are just shot too dark and the 2150 needs all the help it can get to give you acceptable contrast). most movies i watch with gamma @ 1, some look fine at 0, others need to get cranked up to 2. i don't know how anyone can just have set-it-and-forget-it-settings. i'm also obsessive compulsive & a little neurotic so there's that.

one of the most attractive features that i look for when thinking about replacing this projector is lumen/lux output. most people do not run these budget consumer projectors this far away (feels like the average here for a modest sized room is usually in the 12-15' range), and additionally many use screens with ~1.0 gain so of course they're going to tout using their lamps on reduced lamp power and perceiving it as fine--i was once one of them. at one time i used this projector with a ~12' throw distance onto a 110" screen and even on eco it was damn bright (with 1.1, 1.0, and .9 silver ticket screens).
Maze810 likes this.


7.0.6 / 1700 ft³ / PSA MTM-210T³ / Epson HC 2150 / 147" AT 2.39:1 Spandex Screen / Seatcraft Rialto³ / Velvet Everywhere / Chasing LFE
serith is online now  
post #578 of 608 Old 12-11-2018, 11:05 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 79
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 57 Post(s)
Liked: 5
Quote:
Originally Posted by serith View Post
i have the 2150 which is throwing a ~155" 16:9 image onto a 147" scope screen from 19' away. the screen gain & open weave of the spandex create a problem where there is not enough gain (people here have measured white over black spandex to yield ~0.6 gain). consequently, to get an image with enough pop that i like, i run the projector on full lamp power using dynamic. bright cinema is close but no cigar. even with adding velvet to my room (all around the screen, the ceiling, floor, walls), dynamic remains the reigning champ between the available choices. i have brightness usually somewhere between 40 & 45, contrast at 60, color temp at 4, and gamma is constantly fiddled with depending on the movie (some movies are just shot too dark and the 2150 needs all the help it can get to give you acceptable contrast). most movies i watch with gamma @ 1, some look fine at 0, others need to get cranked up to 2. i don't know how anyone can just have set-it-and-forget-it-settings. i'm also obsessive compulsive & a little neurotic so there's that.

one of the most attractive features that i look for when thinking about replacing this projector is lumen/lux output. most people do not run these budget consumer projectors this far away (feels like the average here for a modest sized room is usually in the 12-15' range), and additionally many use screens with ~1.0 gain so of course they're going to tout using their lamps on reduced lamp power and perceiving it as fine--i was once one of them. at one time i used this projector with a ~12' throw distance onto a 110" screen and even on eco it was damn bright (with 1.1, 1.0, and .9 silver ticket screens).

I just ordered silver ticket samples, so I may be going the same route you did earlier. How many hours do you have on your bulb now? Did you change it yet? Also, what made you choose to go with such a low gain if you're in a mostly light controlled room? I also went with 0.6 gain before when I was on Eco mode, but that was in a white room with lots of ambient issues, only 13 ft away from a meager 105" projected screen. I painted my wall to achieve that gain (gliddon universal grey). I only painted because that was a temporary move to my parents house.


Old setup: https://www.avsforum.com/forum/110-d...l#post55140632



New setup (with theater seating and screen incoming!):

https://i.imgur.com/d4ibHme.jpg


https://i.imgur.com/HWcvgIm.jpg

Last edited by Maze810; 12-11-2018 at 11:10 PM.
Maze810 is offline  
post #579 of 608 Old 12-11-2018, 11:14 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
serith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: syracuse, ny
Posts: 1,041
Mentioned: 79 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 785 Post(s)
Liked: 814
Quote:
Originally Posted by Maze810 View Post
I just ordered silver ticket samples, so I may be going the same route you did earlier. How many hours do you have on your bulb now? Did you change it yet? Also, what made you choose to go with such a low gain if you're in a mostly light controlled room? I also went with 0.6 gain before when I was on Eco mode, but that was in a white room with lots of ambient issues, only 13 ft away from a meager 105" projected screen. I painted my wall to achieve that gain (gliddon universal grey). I only painted because that was a temporary move to my parents house.


Old setup: https://www.avsforum.com/forum/110-d...l#post55140632



New setup (with theater seating and screen incoming!):

https://i.imgur.com/d4ibHme.jpg


https://i.imgur.com/HWcvgIm.jpg
- ~600 hours on the bulb right now, used mostly in full lamp power (i made it about ~100 hours before the bulb started to flicker while used in eco-mode which is extremely common for UHP lamps).

- i have no changed it yet. i did purchase a spare back around the time i bought the projector though for when that day comes.

- the low gain screen was a result of creating a DIY acoustically transparent screen. the 0.6 gain is two fold. the first being that the spandex is an open weave, and the second being that the screen is white over black spandex. this is by far the most common way to create an AT-Screen found here on the forums--and i absolutely love it.

i love my setup. it's so nice to have the projector in the rear of the room and not hear any fan noise. additionally because of the size screen i have (~155" 16:9 // 147" 2.39:1) i wouldn't have much choice anyway.
Maze810 likes this.


7.0.6 / 1700 ft³ / PSA MTM-210T³ / Epson HC 2150 / 147" AT 2.39:1 Spandex Screen / Seatcraft Rialto³ / Velvet Everywhere / Chasing LFE
serith is online now  
post #580 of 608 Old 12-13-2018, 09:18 AM
Member
 
IP11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Chicago
Posts: 62
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 28
Quote:
Originally Posted by serith View Post
- ~600 hours on the bulb right now, used mostly in full lamp power (i made it about ~100 hours before the bulb started to flicker while used in eco-mode which is extremely common for UHP lamps).

i love my setup. it's so nice to have the projector in the rear of the room and not hear any fan noise. additionally because of the size screen i have (~155" 16:9 // 147" 2.39:1) i wouldn't have much choice anyway.
I love my setup as well. I have the same DIY AT spandex screen, but I am 16X9 , 120" from ~14.5 feet. I built some screen masks for 2.35 content that work pretty well.

I had the same experience with the lamp flicker and have been using my 2150 in normal mode as discussed earlier in this thread. I find the fan to be pretty loud, so i built a very simple hush box to cut down on the distraction. I watch a lot of movies at night after the kids are in bed, so the fan is louder for me relative to my volume level.

For a budget setup it is hard to beat a 2150 with a DIY screen. At first I was disappointed in the PQ, however; once I honed in on the correct picture setting the image came to life.
serith, Maze810 and joshbrown1987 like this.
IP11 is offline  
post #581 of 608 Old 12-13-2018, 07:17 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 109
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 69 Post(s)
Liked: 8
I'm have to say this is you aren't running a darbee on your projector you're missing sooooooo much it's crazy.

Sent from my VS988 using Tapatalk

Last edited by joshbrown1987; 12-14-2018 at 11:24 AM.
joshbrown1987 is offline  
post #582 of 608 Old 12-23-2018, 12:39 AM
Member
 
audiosq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 75
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Epson 2150 Fan

Is there any kind of mod that can be done to make the fan noise quieter? Maybe swap the fan with another one? It's not terrible on ECO mode, but still bothers me during quiet scenes.
audiosq is offline  
post #583 of 608 Old 12-23-2018, 12:22 PM
Member
 
FNwoz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: New Lenox, IL
Posts: 33
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 25 Post(s)
Liked: 14
I searched around a bit and didn't see anyone with this issue. I have a 2150 that seems to just turn off randomly. I went through my settings and changed a few that involved going to sleep automatically as well as the searching for input settings. Nothing seems to help. Anyone have any advice on this?
FNwoz is offline  
post #584 of 608 Old 12-23-2018, 12:28 PM
Senior Member
 
Car67's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 204
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 66 Post(s)
Liked: 37
Quote:
Originally Posted by audiosq View Post
Is there any kind of mod that can be done to make the fan noise quieter? Maybe swap the fan with another one? It's not terrible on ECO mode, but still bothers me during quiet scenes.
Check if high altitude mode is off, just in case. It shouldn't bother in eco mode, as far as I know complaints are rare, if not defective. Of course you can't change the fan in warranty.

Epson TW5350(HC 2045), Darbee DVP-5000S, Himedia Q5 Pro, 3D RF glasses: Epson, Samsung, Xpand.
FinePix REAL 3D W3, LG Otimus 3D Max, Moeyes 3D Tablet F892B
YT 3D Video Library
Car67 is offline  
post #585 of 608 Old 12-23-2018, 03:51 PM
Member
 
audiosq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 75
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 15
It isn't loud, but it is audible during quiet scenes. I'm a bit anal when it comes to sound. I realize changing the fan would void the warranty, but if there is a quieter one out there I might be inclined to do it.
audiosq is offline  
post #586 of 608 Old 12-26-2018, 05:03 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
serith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: syracuse, ny
Posts: 1,041
Mentioned: 79 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 785 Post(s)
Liked: 814
Quote:
Originally Posted by audiosq View Post
Is there any kind of mod that can be done to make the fan noise quieter? Maybe swap the fan with another one? It's not terrible on ECO mode, but still bothers me during quiet scenes.
don't ever run it on full lamp power then, the thing sounds like a leaf blower! with mine at the rear of the room i don't notice it anymore but when it was directly overhead it was extremely obnoxious. the best you can probably do is build a hush-box for it.


7.0.6 / 1700 ft³ / PSA MTM-210T³ / Epson HC 2150 / 147" AT 2.39:1 Spandex Screen / Seatcraft Rialto³ / Velvet Everywhere / Chasing LFE
serith is online now  
post #587 of 608 Old 12-26-2018, 05:47 PM
Member
 
audiosq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 75
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Yeah, it's ridiculous when not used in eco mode.. I'll have to research the hush box idea.
audiosq is offline  
post #588 of 608 Old 12-27-2018, 08:20 AM
Member
 
IP11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Chicago
Posts: 62
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 28
Quote:
Originally Posted by FNwoz View Post
I searched around a bit and didn't see anyone with this issue. I have a 2150 that seems to just turn off randomly. I went through my settings and changed a few that involved going to sleep automatically as well as the searching for input settings. Nothing seems to help. Anyone have any advice on this?
I'm not sure if I read this in the 2150 thread or another pj, but did you check the arc settings? Sometimes these setting can be screwy.
IP11 is offline  
post #589 of 608 Old 01-06-2019, 05:32 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Hi everybody!
I am new to the whole projector thing and recently got an Epson 5650. I wonder what sort of calibration settings I should use for watching films in the dark? Or is this too individual to answer?
Hallohallo is offline  
post #590 of 608 Old 02-22-2019, 03:24 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Not so much response for my previous post, but I wonder: Is there a way to make the image from 5650 a bit more...alive? I find every film looks so flat, dead, alike, digital (I know it's digital, but in particular with old films I don't want the digital feel so much)?
Hallohallo is offline  
post #591 of 608 Old 02-22-2019, 03:39 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: MD
Posts: 310
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 173 Post(s)
Liked: 50
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hallohallo View Post
Not so much response for my previous post, but I wonder: Is there a way to make the image from 5650 a bit more...alive? I find every film looks so flat, dead, alike, digital (I know it's digital, but in particular with old films I don't want the digital feel so much)?
I have the same problem. Move the color up a few notchs helps a little. But I think it's just a limitation with the projector. What kind of screen do you have?

Sent from my LM-V405 using Tapatalk
evilmonstertruk is offline  
post #592 of 608 Old 03-06-2019, 08:57 AM
Member
 
IP11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Chicago
Posts: 62
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 28
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hallohallo View Post
Not so much response for my previous post, but I wonder: Is there a way to make the image from 5650 a bit more...alive? I find every film looks so flat, dead, alike, digital (I know it's digital, but in particular with old films I don't want the digital feel so much)?
https://www.avsforum.com/forum/68-di...l#post55247044

Check out post 110. This was a great starting point for me and my naked eye 'calibration'.
IP11 is offline  
post #593 of 608 Old 05-19-2019, 09:56 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2019
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Hi everyone,

Is it possible to use the USB port for power on my Roku Stick? I have the Roku Stick plugged into an HDMI port, and then I tried plugging its power USB cable into the projector.

It receives power, but the projector has issues and it tries switching back and forth between USB and HDMI for source, and keeps saying “Unrecognized USB device, please disconnect.” I tried turning off the auto searching for source in the projector settings, but that didn’t help.

So, is there a way to tell the projector to ignore USB for source but still enable it for power?

Thanks for your help!
strummifyhq is offline  
post #594 of 608 Old 05-19-2019, 10:14 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: MD
Posts: 310
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 173 Post(s)
Liked: 50
Quote:
Originally Posted by strummifyhq View Post
Hi everyone,



Is it possible to use the USB port for power on my Roku Stick? I have the Roku Stick plugged into an HDMI port, and then I tried plugging its power USB cable into the projector.



It receives power, but the projector has issues and it tries switching back and forth between USB and HDMI for source, and keeps saying “Unrecognized USB device, please disconnect.” I tried turning off the auto searching for source in the projector settings, but that didn’t help.



So, is there a way to tell the projector to ignore USB for source but still enable it for power?



Thanks for your help!
It should be ok. It powers my nes classic. And a Chromecast

Sent from my LM-V405 using Tapatalk
evilmonstertruk is offline  
post #595 of 608 Old 05-31-2019, 08:13 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2019
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Angry

Could someone display the SMPTE-res image and post of photo of their HC2100/2150. I have attached mine which has greenish tint on right and reddish tint on the left. The reddish tint is not visible but the green one is visible in some scenes.


Epson sent me a refurbished one, but it has worse convergence than mine.


Don't know what to do. Whether to keep exchanging or live with the problem.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	SMPTE-res.png
Views:	44
Size:	44.2 KB
ID:	2574364   Click image for larger version

Name:	EpsonHC2100.jpg
Views:	46
Size:	1.28 MB
ID:	2574368  
Baryon Pool is offline  
post #596 of 608 Old 06-14-2019, 02:29 PM
Newbie
 
denmark219's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Unable to power on over network when in standby

I have all of the settings to be able to turn on the projector remotely, but I can't connect to the projector when it's in standby to be able to turn it on. From my pc or from my phone. When I power it on, I'm able to connect. The situation is that I need to be able to turn on the projector remotely (it's in our business and I want to be able to control it from home). Any ideas on how I could get this to turn on remotely? Thanks in advance!
denmark219 is offline  
post #597 of 608 Old 06-14-2019, 03:27 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
duc135's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 2,137
Mentioned: 14 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 304 Post(s)
Liked: 397
Quote:
Originally Posted by denmark219 View Post
I have all of the settings to be able to turn on the projector remotely, but I can't connect to the projector when it's in standby to be able to turn it on. From my pc or from my phone. When I power it on, I'm able to connect. The situation is that I need to be able to turn on the projector remotely (it's in our business and I want to be able to control it from home). Any ideas on how I could get this to turn on remotely? Thanks in advance!
The most obvious question is do you have access to your office network from home? When you say you can connect to it when it is on, are you connecting to it from home or while in the office? While in the office, you're probably on the office wi-fi which is in the same network. At home you are no longer on the office network unless you have a VPN connection.
duc135 is online now  
post #598 of 608 Old 06-14-2019, 03:34 PM
Newbie
 
denmark219's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Sorry, I should have clarified. I logon to a computer that's on the same network using chrome remote desktop. I actually was JUST able to solve this issue by downloading Epson's projector manager software. That was able to turn the projector on and off and control it. So I should be good now. Not sure why the iprojection app can't turn the projector on and off. Thanks for the help!
denmark219 is offline  
post #599 of 608 Old 06-23-2019, 03:49 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bear123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: PA
Posts: 6,289
Mentioned: 77 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2562 Post(s)
Liked: 4012
Thinking about getting my first projector and the Epson 2150 is one of my top choices. The only other consideration at this point is the BenQ 2050.

This will be for my main living room with lots of windows so a lot of ambient light. I have blinds but can't completely darken the room during the daytime. So this steers me towards the Epson for the better brightness. The other feature that appeals to me very strongly is the bulb cost of $49 vs $250-$300 for the BenQ. I have a fairly kick a$$ audio system for a living room so I'm kind of eager to see what a projector and screen adds to the experience.

Couple of issues I have are: My TV is mounted very high, close to the ceiling, and the center channel is directly under it on top of the fireplace mantle. There is no option to lower the center channel that I am willing to consider. I need a retractable screen due to my room setup, and acoustically transparent retractable screen does not seem to be an option at any reasonable price point. Because of this, I had almost scrapped the idea of a projector as the center channel would be blocked by the screen. However, a fairly easy workaround would be to place a stand in front of the fireplace when I drop the screen, and move the center channel down for movies. Retract the screen and put the center back up. A bit of a PITA but not a huge deal. What does everyone think? Workable solution? Worth it to have the big screen experience as needed?

Here's my room:


For budget reasons, and just to get started, I would get this screen:

https://www.amazon.com/Elite-Screens...gateway&sr=8-3
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_1637 2.JPG
Views:	150
Size:	1.99 MB
ID:	2583622  
bear123 is offline  
post #600 of 608 Old 06-23-2019, 04:10 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
duc135's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 2,137
Mentioned: 14 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 304 Post(s)
Liked: 397
I have a temporary non-AT screen in front of my center speaker. All I had to do was turn up the trim on the center channel when watching movies.
duc135 is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Digital Projectors - Under $3,000 USD MSRP

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off