Optoma UHD50 - Page 50 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 518Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1471 of 1503 Old 07-16-2019, 11:50 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
[QUOTE=JRock3x8;58300140]Are you connecting straight from device to PJ or is there something in between?


Today I tried a different UHD50 ( actually the UHD40 since I'm in Europe) and there were no issues anymore when PJ was directly connected to device (Shield, Apple TV 4k and LG 4k Blu ray player). So it seemed to be a problem with the first UHD50 that I tried.

But when there is no direct connection between PJ and device, in other words when I connect PJ to LG SK10Y (soundbar) and then to Apple TV 4K I saw some of the color problems mentioned in my earlier post, albeit less frequent. I do plan on watching a whole movie tomorrow night to see how frequently it shows up.
280189rb is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1472 of 1503 Old 07-19-2019, 08:51 AM
Senior Member
 
William L Carman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Oceanside, California (San Diego County)
Posts: 479
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 151 Post(s)
Liked: 48
I’ve asked this before, but I will try once again.

I have had my Optoma UHD50 since early December of last year, and I like it very much. I get the HDR indication on the top right of my screen when watching HDR material on Youtube and on Amazon Prime, but NOT on Netflix, and I can’t figure out why.

I get my streaming from a Roku + streaming stick going into my Sony 4K receiver. I am using good 4K ready HDMI cables to everything.

Does anyone here have any suggestions for me? They would be appreciated.
William L Carman is offline  
post #1473 of 1503 Old 07-19-2019, 12:39 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
JRock3x8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Northwest Indiana
Posts: 3,872
Mentioned: 16 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1796 Post(s)
Liked: 558
I watched stranger things two weeks ago and got the hdr flag.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
JRock3x8 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1474 of 1503 Old 07-23-2019, 12:02 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 0
I emailed optoma but they don't want to give me an honest answer so I will ask here.

I own this projector for almost one year. Have around 400+ hours. The only way I get a pleasurable picture is by using dynamic mode ON in ECO. With Dynamic OFF the picture is too dark and the contrast is very pure.

A asked Optoma how much does using this dynamic black will reduce the lifespan of the lamp. They sent me the same lie we can read on official website that with dynamic On the life of the lamp is longer. This is pure BS, since when you activate this feature the lamp throw much more light and it generates more heat. So how in the world can someone say that the lamp will live longer that way? It makes no sense.

I am askying you , hoping for a straight answear. How much it will shorten the life of my lamp the use of dynamic black?
nathan88 is offline  
post #1475 of 1503 Old 07-23-2019, 12:45 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: Out West
Posts: 1,090
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 619 Post(s)
Liked: 325
Quote:
Originally Posted by nathan88 View Post
I emailed optoma but they don't want to give me an honest answer so I will ask here.

I own this projector for almost one year. Have around 400+ hours. The only way I get a pleasurable picture is by using dynamic mode ON in ECO. With Dynamic OFF the picture is too dark and the contrast is very pure.

A asked Optoma how much does using this dynamic black will reduce the lifespan of the lamp. They sent me the same lie we can read on official website that with dynamic On the life of the lamp is longer. This is pure BS, since when you activate this feature the lamp throw much more light and it generates more heat. So how in the world can someone say that the lamp will live longer that way? It makes no sense.

I am askying you , hoping for a straight answear. How much it will shorten the life of my lamp the use of dynamic black?
When the projector is in Dynamic Black mode, it measures the brightness of the incoming content and reduces the intensity of the lamp as the content dims. Most content (movies, TV, etc) has an Average Display Luminance or ADL of about 10% of the maximum possible luminance:

http://projectiondream.com/en/movie-...-measurements/

So using Dynamic Black will dramatically increase lamp life over the Bright or Eco lamp settings. IN DB mode the lamp will go to full power when needed but most of the time it will run with greatly reduced power. IF you display content that makes the lamp in DB mode run at full power continuously then lamp life would be 4000hrs as per Bright lamp mode.

Last edited by DunMunro; 07-23-2019 at 04:32 PM.
DunMunro is online now  
post #1476 of 1503 Old 07-23-2019, 08:01 PM
Member
 
CeeJayII's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 58
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Would anyone be kind enough to post the edid.inf from the uhd 50? I sent mine in for repair and they sent it back with the latest firmware. Now 1080p @ 120hz and generic crt 3D are gone as options in the nvidia control panel. I was able to create a custom resolution of 1080p @ 120hz and it works, but getting generic dlp 3D back seems more of a chore. I'm thinking the edid from prior firmware would do the trick. I'd greatly appreciate any help.
CeeJayII is offline  
post #1477 of 1503 Old 07-25-2019, 01:33 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: Out West
Posts: 1,090
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 619 Post(s)
Liked: 325
UHD50 settings for daytime use in a room with a fair amount of ambient light:

I accessed the service menu and made the ISF modes available and I changed the settings for ISF Day to optimize daytime use:


Gamma - Film or Video (Film seems to give better contrast for text, such as typing this reply but Video is brighter).
Ultra Detail = 1
Dynamic Black = On

Using a Youtube pluge test:

Brightness to -8
Contrast to 18

I suspect the above will vary with screen type.


Color settings-> BrilliantColor = 10

Color settings-> Color Temp = Native

Color settings-> Color Gamut = Native (default for ISF Day)

****


I typically use my Epson HC1040 for daytime use as a computer monitor, in Eco Mode/Dynamic. Using the above settings the UHD50 is almost as bright and is quite usable, and I'm typing this with a fair amount of daylight coming through the sliding glass balcony doors to the left of my ~145in grey screen, and hitting the screen directly as you can see from the attached photo. The photo was done with Gamma = Video and this plus the camera autoexposure has blown out some of the highlights. The Photo is 4K but not HDR, as it is from my computer at [email protected]
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	UHD50ISFD.jpg
Views:	78
Size:	709.8 KB
ID:	2594616  

Last edited by DunMunro; 07-25-2019 at 02:03 PM.
DunMunro is online now  
post #1478 of 1503 Old 07-30-2019, 12:13 PM
Senior Member
 
William L Carman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Oceanside, California (San Diego County)
Posts: 479
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 151 Post(s)
Liked: 48
I had to send my Optoma UHD50 back to Optoma today. First, a couple of times very recently I got a black vertical bar a couple of inches wide in the middle of my screen. I still am not sure how I got rid of them, backing out of what I was watching? Pushing buttons on my remote? I’m not sure.

But yesterday I had to finally call a tech at Optoma because when I tried to access my menu using the remote, it just started blinking on screen, and nothing I tried fixed it. I called Optoma and described my problem and he said something was wrong with my projector and I should send it in for repair. It’s got well over 400 hours of great viewing on it so I am pretty disappointed . He said it would probably take at least a week to get it back.

Have any other owners seen either of my problems?
William L Carman is offline  
post #1479 of 1503 Old 08-06-2019, 02:12 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: Out West
Posts: 1,090
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 619 Post(s)
Liked: 325
DVD to 4K upscaling vs BD 4K

I used my Sony UBP-X700 to upscale 4 frames from the DVD version of 2001 and I've included the same four frames from the 4K BD. The forum re-compresses attached files but the differences should still be apparent. The attached photographs are of my ~145in screen with a Sony Nex3N.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	2001D4kDVD.jpg
Views:	97
Size:	626.6 KB
ID:	2599214   Click image for larger version

Name:	2001D4k.jpg
Views:	101
Size:	684.3 KB
ID:	2599216   Click image for larger version

Name:	2001Photo4KDVD.jpg
Views:	90
Size:	846.9 KB
ID:	2599218   Click image for larger version

Name:	2001Photo4K.jpg
Views:	88
Size:	1.19 MB
ID:	2599220   Click image for larger version

Name:	2001Bowman4KDVD.jpg
Views:	76
Size:	531.5 KB
ID:	2599222  

Click image for larger version

Name:	2001Bowman4K.jpg
Views:	77
Size:	736.6 KB
ID:	2599224   Click image for larger version

Name:	2001Pod4KDVD.jpg
Views:	74
Size:	507.3 KB
ID:	2599226   Click image for larger version

Name:	2001Pod4K.jpg
Views:	68
Size:	852.8 KB
ID:	2599228  

Last edited by DunMunro; 08-06-2019 at 02:22 AM.
DunMunro is online now  
post #1480 of 1503 Old 08-06-2019, 07:56 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Posts: 43
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 30 Post(s)
Liked: 9
Quote:
Originally Posted by DunMunro View Post
DVD to 4K upscaling vs BD 4K

I used my Sony UBP-X700 to upscale 4 frames from the DVD version of 2001 and I've included the same four frames from the 4K BD. The forum re-compresses attached files but the differences should still be apparent. The attached photographs are of my ~145in screen with a Sony Nex3N.
Thanks for this - look at difference in the moonbase frame (well all of them, but the moonbase really pops). Haven't been able to get the 4k disk in NZ yet, might just have to get it on Amazon based on how good this is.

Sony XBR-65A9F, Sony UBP-X700, Denon AVR-890 (cooled by AC Infinity AIRCOM T10), Apple TV (non 4K), B&W 600 series & LM1s in 7.1 config, Harmony Elite
avsngaiouser is online now  
post #1481 of 1503 Old 08-06-2019, 08:47 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: Out West
Posts: 1,090
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 619 Post(s)
Liked: 325
Quote:
Originally Posted by avsngaiouser View Post
Thanks for this - look at difference in the moonbase frame (well all of them, but the moonbase really pops). Haven't been able to get the 4k disk in NZ yet, might just have to get it on Amazon based on how good this is.
The Pan-Am shuttle scenes are hypnotic in 4k HDR. I should have included some shots of the instrumentation displays and the moon as they approach for landing... really nice! The 4k BD is the first 4K purchase that I made.
DunMunro is online now  
post #1482 of 1503 Old 08-07-2019, 03:09 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
JRock3x8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Northwest Indiana
Posts: 3,872
Mentioned: 16 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1796 Post(s)
Liked: 558
Moonbase is 2 separate frames - diff time stamps.

I don't see anything super noticeable


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
JRock3x8 is offline  
post #1483 of 1503 Old 08-07-2019, 09:40 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: Out West
Posts: 1,090
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 619 Post(s)
Liked: 325
Quote:
Originally Posted by JRock3x8 View Post
Moonbase is 2 separate frames - diff time stamps.

I don't see anything super noticeable


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
Yes, it was hard to match the two times.

I was just trying to show the differences between upscaling and true 4K.
DunMunro is online now  
post #1484 of 1503 Old 08-08-2019, 08:37 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by DunMunro View Post
When the projector is in Dynamic Black mode, it measures the brightness of the incoming content and reduces the intensity of the lamp as the content dims. Most content (movies, TV, etc) has an Average Display Luminance or ADL of about 10% of the maximum possible luminance:



So using Dynamic Black will dramatically increase lamp life over the Bright or Eco lamp settings. IN DB mode the lamp will go to full power when needed but most of the time it will run with greatly reduced power. IF you display content that makes the lamp in DB mode run at full power continuously then lamp life would be 4000hrs as per Bright lamp mode.
Thanks for this information. So to get the best lamp life, we should turn on Eco mode and turn on Dynamic black? When DB is turned on, the image is significantly brighter and the projector fan is louder. I'm just not sure how a brighter image can yield better lamp life.
sampanwala is offline  
post #1485 of 1503 Old 08-08-2019, 10:28 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: Out West
Posts: 1,090
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 619 Post(s)
Liked: 325
Quote:
Originally Posted by sampanwala View Post
Thanks for this information. So to get the best lamp life, we should turn on Eco mode and turn on Dynamic black? When DB is turned on, the image is significantly brighter and the projector fan is louder. I'm just not sure how a brighter image can yield better lamp life.
When I watch movies where the scene dims, I can see that the lamp dims as well. I think what happens is that the fan is run on high but the lamp often has reduced power and it is the combination of higher fan speed and a cooler lamp that extends bulb life. High fan speed is still nearly inaudible.

When DB is set to on with the lamp in Eco mode you can use the DB button on the remote to switch between DB and Eco, but AFAIK, DB brightness is the same whether the lamp is on high or eco.
DunMunro is online now  
post #1486 of 1503 Old 08-08-2019, 05:50 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Thanks for the reply. To get the best battery life I will keep DB on and Eco mode on.
sampanwala is offline  
post #1487 of 1503 Old 08-10-2019, 01:32 AM
Newbie
 
cocarroll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
For those with the half-blank screen issue when using FireTV etc, I have found that it seems to be related to using keystone. If you set keystone back to 0 it clears the problem, so you don't have to restart the projector.



(I have a UHD300X - the European version of the UHD40 - and they have yet to bring out a firmware update for us, so this is the only solution at the moment.)
cocarroll is offline  
post #1488 of 1503 Old 08-10-2019, 01:08 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: Out West
Posts: 1,090
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 619 Post(s)
Liked: 325
UHD50 - Effect of Gamma in HDR:


This image shows the effect of the 7 Gamma options available in the UHD50. I selected a frame from the BR2019 4K BD (via my UBP-X700) and froze it. The colour and sharpness has drifted a bit due to jpeg compression effects.

Edit: jpeg compression of the final composite image has removed much of the dynamic range and has made each image too alike.

This is a link to the same image but with less compression:
http://www.sfu.ca/~dmunro/images/BRgamma.jpg
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	BRgamma.jpg
Views:	34
Size:	1.14 MB
ID:	2601546  

Last edited by DunMunro; 08-11-2019 at 12:44 AM.
DunMunro is online now  
post #1489 of 1503 Old 08-11-2019, 07:25 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
JRock3x8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Northwest Indiana
Posts: 3,872
Mentioned: 16 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1796 Post(s)
Liked: 558
Having a really frustrating issue with this pj.

So this has happened a few times - i turn off my theater and go to bed. Wake up the next morning and hear a soft fan running in my theater and to my horror I look in and my PJ is on. It may have been on for 10 hours.

Why doesn’t the sleep function on this thing work? I have it set. It just doesn’t do it.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
JRock3x8 is offline  
post #1490 of 1503 Old 08-11-2019, 11:50 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: Out West
Posts: 1,090
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 619 Post(s)
Liked: 325
Quote:
Originally Posted by JRock3x8 View Post
Having a really frustrating issue with this pj.

So this has happened a few times - i turn off my theater and go to bed. Wake up the next morning and hear a soft fan running in my theater and to my horror I look in and my PJ is on. It may have been on for 10 hours.

Why doesn’t the sleep function on this thing work? I have it set. It just doesn’t do it.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Some HDMI devices, such as my digital TV box, continue to send a signal even when they are nominally off. Perhaps this is confusing your projector?
DunMunro is online now  
post #1491 of 1503 Old 08-13-2019, 02:45 PM
Member
 
ryanazarko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 38
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Question

Quote:
Originally Posted by blogorama View Post
Anyone else running with a HTPC? I'm having all sorts of issues trying to make things look right

Whenever HDR is on: windows desktop and all video is washed out, black levels are horrible, totally gross. HDR off, everything looks great. Projector detects HDR properly

With HDR off:
1080p60: bass hum from projector is riduculous, picture is great
1080p120: no bass hum from projector, picture is great
4k60 (3840x2160, which is what windows thinks the native res is): bass hum is back.
picture is blurry, windows gui looks weirdly doubled, like the pixel doubler has gone out of whack. Looks worse than 1080P
4k30: same as 4k60, looks awful
4k24: bass hum lessened greatly, resolution/clarity looks like what I expect from "fauxK" at 120"


I'm pretty computer adept in general, but I'm out of my depth here.

Video card is a geforce 1060, and I'm using the HDMI cable included in the box. Also I'm going through a brand new Onkyo receiver (which supposedly supports 4k and HDR)

I guess the next thing is to plug in directly to the computer and see if that works any better.

FWIW, i'm using an RX570 through a brand new Onkyo receiver as well. I don't have any buzzing or blurriness at any resolution or refresh rate. I am however, having HDMI issues. Above 1080p i can't use 4:4:4, 12bit, or more than 50Hz. The signal just drops off. I'm using highspeed cables, but my cable run might be too long. Any suggestions?
ryanazarko is offline  
post #1492 of 1503 Old 08-13-2019, 03:01 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: Out West
Posts: 1,090
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 619 Post(s)
Liked: 325
Quote:
Originally Posted by ryanazarko View Post
FWIW, i'm using an RX570 through a brand new Onkyo receiver as well. I don't have any buzzing or blurriness at any resolution or refresh rate. I am however, having HDMI issues. Above 1080p i can't use 4:4:4, 12bit, or more than 50Hz. The signal just drops off. I'm using highspeed cables, but my cable run might be too long. Any suggestions?
I am outputting 3840x2160 @ 30hz YUV from my HTPC and everything seems fine with a stable sharp image however RGB output is not as good. I output 4k @ 60hz from my Sony UBP-X700 and 4K @ 24hz 4:4:4 and again stable sharp image. I am outputting directly to the UHD50 with both these devices, HTPC to HDMI1 and X700 to HDMI2. The projector is the quietest I've ever experienced.

I am using a 12ft HDMI cable for the X700 and a 12ft DP to HDMI cable for the HTPC.


I always suggest bypassing the switch or amp and running directly to the UHD50 for testing. Long cable runs are always problematic.
DunMunro is online now  
post #1493 of 1503 Old 08-14-2019, 04:26 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 46
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 30 Post(s)
Liked: 9
How bad is the "light border" around the screen?
I have darkgrey almost black wallpaper will the light border be less visibale?
proddan is offline  
post #1494 of 1503 Old 08-14-2019, 06:20 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
JRock3x8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Northwest Indiana
Posts: 3,872
Mentioned: 16 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1796 Post(s)
Liked: 558
Quote:
Originally Posted by proddan View Post
How bad is the "light border" around the screen?

I have darkgrey almost black wallpaper will the light border be less visibale?


You’re going to want black felt or something that does a better job of concealing that light. On any painted surface It will be very visible.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
JRock3x8 is offline  
post #1495 of 1503 Old 08-14-2019, 09:07 AM
Member
 
ryanazarko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 38
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Condojector View Post
I wish I was dealing with a situation like that right now but the wife is proving to be a huge obstacle. If your cable distance is that long, you will need to buy a female to female hdmi 4k booster because from what I've read here, using a cable longer than 25 feet/7.60m is not going to work well.

Any suggestions on an HDMI booster? I'm using a 25ft cable and signal keeps dropping off.
ryanazarko is offline  
post #1496 of 1503 Old 08-14-2019, 10:32 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
JRock3x8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Northwest Indiana
Posts: 3,872
Mentioned: 16 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1796 Post(s)
Liked: 558
I use a 25’ cable with no issues

https://www.amazon.com/Monoprice-Cer...ct_top?ie=UTF8

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
JRock3x8 is offline  
post #1497 of 1503 Old 08-14-2019, 10:37 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: Out West
Posts: 1,090
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 619 Post(s)
Liked: 325
Quote:
Originally Posted by proddan View Post
How bad is the "light border" around the screen?
I have darkgrey almost black wallpaper will the light border be less visibale?
The light border is darker than on some other projectors such as the PX747. I find that it's typically not very visible with my grey painted screen, except in very dark scenes. Your wallpaper should do a good job of minimizing it.

OTOH, the more you optimize the room (dark ceiling, walls, etc), the more visible it becomes but a near black background, as you have, should help.
DunMunro is online now  
post #1498 of 1503 Old 08-15-2019, 07:16 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by JRock3x8 View Post
I use a 25’ cable with no issues



Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

I'm using the 30' version of this without any issues
sampanwala is offline  
post #1499 of 1503 Old 08-16-2019, 01:31 PM
Member
 
ryanazarko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 38
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by blogorama View Post
Anyone else running with a HTPC? I'm having all sorts of issues trying to make things look right

Whenever HDR is on: windows desktop and all video is washed out, black levels are horrible, totally gross. HDR off, everything looks great. Projector detects HDR properly

With HDR off:
1080p60: bass hum from projector is riduculous, picture is great
1080p120: no bass hum from projector, picture is great
4k60 (3840x2160, which is what windows thinks the native res is): bass hum is back.
picture is blurry, windows gui looks weirdly doubled, like the pixel doubler has gone out of whack. Looks worse than 1080P
4k30: same as 4k60, looks awful
4k24: bass hum lessened greatly, resolution/clarity looks like what I expect from "fauxK" at 120"


I'm pretty computer adept in general, but I'm out of my depth here.

Video card is a geforce 1060, and I'm using the HDMI cable included in the box. Also I'm going through a brand new Onkyo receiver (which supposedly supports 4k and HDR)

I guess the next thing is to plug in directly to the computer and see if that works any better.

So, i was playing around with this last night and made some progress. After applying a firmware update to my receiver, now I can push the frequency and color settings higher. I'm able to do RGB Full at 2160p60 from my RX570. I've come to discover that not all resolutions seem to support HDR. ie. I was playing at 1080p120 and all the colors looked washed out. If I change 1080p120 -> 1080p60, with no other changes, suddenly the HDR logo appears and the colors are no longer washed out. I bought this projector with the intention of gaming at 1080p120 HDR, but it looks like that's not a possibility currently.

The next thing i'm contending with is that for some reason at 2160p60 in RGB the text is very blurry. I can't seem to get the display to switch to YCrBr 4:4:4. When i click apply, the projector looks for a source momentarily and then just immediately comes back to running in RGB mode. I think this is most likely an AMD Radeon display driver bug.
ryanazarko is offline  
post #1500 of 1503 Old 08-16-2019, 02:19 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: Out West
Posts: 1,090
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 619 Post(s)
Liked: 325
Quote:
Originally Posted by ryanazarko View Post
So, i was playing around with this last night and made some progress. After applying a firmware update to my receiver, now I can push the frequency and color settings higher. I'm able to do RGB Full at 2160p60 from my RX570. I've come to discover that not all resolutions seem to support HDR. ie. I was playing at 1080p120 and all the colors looked washed out. If I change 1080p120 -> 1080p60, with no other changes, suddenly the HDR logo appears and the colors are no longer washed out. I bought this projector with the intention of gaming at 1080p120 HDR, but it looks like that's not a possibility currently.

The next thing i'm contending with is that for some reason at 2160p60 in RGB the text is very blurry. I can't seem to get the display to switch to YCrBr 4:4:4. When i click apply, the projector looks for a source momentarily and then just immediately comes back to running in RGB mode. I think this is most likely an AMD Radeon display driver bug.
You can set YUV as preferred in the projector:

Menu->display->image settings->color settings->color space -> HDMI YUV (or try auto). Your projector might be set to HDMI color space RGB.

What happens if you turn off HDR at the game source? Also 120hz HDR might exceed your HDMI bandwith and current bit depth or color sampling.
DunMunro is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Digital Projectors - Under $3,000 USD MSRP

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off