Forum Jump: 
 16Likes

post #1 of 37 Old 01-14-2018, 01:44 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 32 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Did I ruin my new projector?

I have a brand new Epson 2045. This is my first projector and I didn't realize that they could be sensitive to being turned off or unplugged at the wrong time.

I was wiring up my mount with electrical and wanted to test it out. Projector turned on fine. I wanted to power it off immediately but it wouldn't shut down so I unplugged it while it was still warming up.

Now when I turn it on, after warming up for a minute the main power lite goes off, the orange lamp light starts blinking and the fan starts going nuts.

I tried reseating the lamp but that didn't work. Going to call epson tomorrow but was hoping there was something I could do on my own.

Is it possible I ruined the lamp from doing this? Anyone have any ideas of something else I can try?

Thanks!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 37 Old 01-14-2018, 01:51 PM

Mentioned: 12 Post(s)
Quoted: 519 Post(s)
Liked: 292
Remove the lamp and inspect it visually to see if it popped. Put it back in maybe it'll turn on.
post #3 of 37 Old 01-14-2018, 01:58 PM
AVS Forum Special Member

Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Quoted: 403 Post(s)
Liked: 152
Quote:
Originally Posted by hominamad View Post
I have a brand new Epson 2045. This is my first projector and I didn't realize that they could be sensitive to being turned off or unplugged at the wrong time.

I was wiring up my mount with electrical and wanted to test it out. Projector turned on fine. I wanted to power it off immediately but it wouldn't shut down so I unplugged it while it was still warming up.

Now when I turn it on, after warming up for a minute the main power lite goes off, the orange lamp light starts blinking and the fan starts going nuts.

I tried reseating the lamp but that didn't work. Going to call epson tomorrow but was hoping there was something I could do on my own.