Official BenQ HT2550 4K HDR Projector Review and Owners Thread - Page 23 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 216Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #661 of 668 Old 08-12-2019, 07:20 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Posts: 498
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 232 Post(s)
Liked: 74
Quote:
Originally Posted by andy goodall View Post
Thanks, I tried this the other week, and it seems to work, but then my PC froze as soon as it logged into Windows, so I have reverted back to the las 3D vision drivers for now. Looks like NVIDIA has ruined their forum as well, what a terrible format it now is..


Most of my media is SBS but I have a few 3D Blurays too, which I assume are frame packing. The biggest pain is getting Windows to switch to 3D, NVIDIA has removed the option in display settings, which seems to be the only way I could get it to work in the past.



Might have to be a switch from my 1080ti to 5700XT. I remember having no problems in the old days with Windows 7 AMD 7900 and my Optoma Projector.
If it's Win10, what player are you using for the 3d blu rays?
noob00224 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #662 of 668 Old 08-13-2019, 12:41 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by noob00224 View Post
If it's Win10, what player are you using for the 3d blu rays?

I'm using PowerDVD 19 Ultra
andy goodall is offline  
post #663 of 668 Old 08-14-2019, 04:56 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
DaGamePimp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: USA
Posts: 16,219
Mentioned: 12 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 561 Post(s)
Liked: 589
Quote:
Originally Posted by ijain314 View Post
Just got my second projector back come benq repair. It has firmware 1.06! What’s the difference between 1.06 vs 1.05?
I just received a unit from BenQ and it has 1.0.6 so I am also curious if anyone has any idea what changed.

I have had two 2550's and the first unit had 1.0.1 which had no banding with HDR where as the new unit with 1.0.6 does have some with certain material (even though it's obviously improved regarding tone mapping vs 1.0.1).

- Jason

HT = Sony HW45ES @133" / Lumagen Radiance / Denon x5200 7.3.4 Atmos / B&K 5000 II amp / Boston VR2/VR12/CR67 speakers / Rythmik 12" subs x2 / CV 15" sub / Sony x800 / Toshiba HD-A3
Media Room = Sony 65x930e / Denon x3300 /Klipsch speakers /Velodyne subs /Sony x700 /PS4 Pro + PSVR/WiiU/PS3/360/Wii/ 2080 TI game PC / Multi-Arcade / Virtual Pinball TRE45ON
DaGamePimp is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #664 of 668 Old 08-14-2019, 05:53 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 5
Quote:
Originally Posted by DaGamePimp View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by ijain314 View Post
Just got my second projector back come benq repair. It has firmware 1.06! What’️s the difference between 1.06 vs 1.05?
I just received a unit from BenQ and it has 1.0.6 so I am also curious if anyone has any idea what changed.

I have had two 2550's and the first unit had 1.0.1 which had no banding with HDR where as the new unit with 1.0.6 does have some with certain material (even though it's obviously improved regarding tone mapping vs 1.0.1).

- Jason
Well... I had the same issue with 1.06. Also the HDMI port one only showed static after the update. I contacted BenQ about it. They were quick to act on the issue.

Benq had me overnight the projector back to them (at their expense) but to my luck they have no more HT2550 projectors In inventor. They are switch them now for HT3550 for free (which was overnighted to me). Props to the awesome customer service and making this right.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	image_1565830596197.jpg
Views:	23
Size:	2.45 MB
ID:	2603030  
DaGamePimp, sparky7 and ng4ever like this.

Last edited by ijain314; 08-14-2019 at 05:58 PM.
ijain314 is offline  
post #665 of 668 Old 08-14-2019, 05:58 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 234
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 128 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by ijain314 View Post
Well... I had the same issue with 1.06. Also the HDMI port one only showed static after the update. I contacted BenQ about it. They were quick to act on the issue.

Benq wanted had me overnight the projector back to them but to my luck they have no more HT2550 projectors In inventor. They are switch them now for HT3550 for free. Props to the awesome customer service and making this right.

That is why I love BenQ!
ng4ever is offline  
post #666 of 668 Old 08-15-2019, 10:34 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Posts: 498
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 232 Post(s)
Liked: 74
Quote:
Originally Posted by andy goodall View Post
I'm using PowerDVD 19 Ultra
Not too familiar with PDVD, but it should jump into 3d mode if it's a 3d packing type file. I remember some 3d settings there that needed to be enabled.

If there are multiple displays, the projector needs to be set primary monitor from windows.

With the older drivers (425 or older) in NVCP>Stereoscopic 3d>Set up stereoscopic 3d>Run setup wizard.
After going through this process to set up the 3d, you can deactivate the box labeled Enable stereoscopic 3d.

Don't know if you are familiar or are using it, I'm using MPC/BE with madvr which works automatically.
noob00224 is offline  
post #667 of 668 Old Today, 12:34 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by noob00224 View Post
Not too familiar with PDVD, but it should jump into 3d mode if it's a 3d packing type file. I remember some 3d settings there that needed to be enabled.

If there are multiple displays, the projector needs to be set primary monitor from windows.

With the older drivers (425 or older) in NVCP>Stereoscopic 3d>Set up stereoscopic 3d>Run setup wizard.
After going through this process to set up the 3d, you can deactivate the box labeled Enable stereoscopic 3d.

Don't know if you are familiar or are using it, I'm using MPC/BE with madvr which works automatically.

Interesting. I was under the impression you had to manaully switch settings over to 3D. I will try and give MPC a try. Does it do this with both 3d Blurays and SBS MKV's?
andy goodall is offline  
post #668 of 668 Old Today, 02:54 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Posts: 498
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 232 Post(s)
Liked: 74
Quote:
Originally Posted by andy goodall View Post
Interesting. I was under the impression you had to manaully switch settings over to 3D. I will try and give MPC a try. Does it do this with both 3d Blurays and SBS MKV's?
MPC HC/BE with madvr can switch automatically for 3D blu ray's, 3D blu ray ISO's, and 3D MVC MKV's.
SBS/TAB are 2D images, don't know if there is any software that can switch.

There are extensive guides for madvr, here is what is pertaining to 3D:
https://forum.kodi.tv/showthread.php...972#pid2238972
https://forum.kodi.tv/showthread.php...287#pid2616287
noob00224 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Digital Projectors - Under $3,000 USD MSRP

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off