Official Optoma UHD51a Owner's Thread - Page 2 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 5Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #31 of 60 Old 12-30-2018, 11:39 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Ken McPherson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 388
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 260 Post(s)
Liked: 146
Quote:
Originally Posted by DunMunro View Post
I suppose both are using the same power settings and colour mode (cinema - standard, etc)?

I would set the UHD51a into dynamic black power mode since that gives highest brightness when needed and best bulb life.
He has an Optoma UHD51ALVe, not a UHD51A. Different color wheel/lumens. He needs to find a forum thread specific to UHD51ALVe.
Ken McPherson is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #32 of 60 Old 12-30-2018, 11:48 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: Out West
Posts: 2,432
Mentioned: 31 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1335 Post(s)
Liked: 703
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ken McPherson View Post
He has an Optoma UHD51ALVe, not a UHD51A. Different color wheel/lumens. He needs to find a forum thread specific to UHD51ALVe.

I thought the UHD51 was identical to UHD51A minus Alexa?

https://www.optoma.com/ap/product/uhd51/


I mistakenly stated UHD51A in my previous post.
DunMunro is offline  
post #33 of 60 Old 12-30-2018, 02:25 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Ken McPherson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 388
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 260 Post(s)
Liked: 146
Quote:
Originally Posted by DunMunro View Post
I thought the UHD51 was identical to UHD51A minus Alexa?

https://www.optoma.com/ap/product/uhd51/


I mistakenly stated UHD51A in my previous post.
It is. My error. Looks like I confused posters from the other thread.

Last edited by Ken McPherson; 12-30-2018 at 03:02 PM.
Ken McPherson is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #34 of 60 Old 12-31-2018, 10:26 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Yea I have the UHD51A not the ALV. I'm going to return it. Purchased this hoping for better colors and brightness seeing how my 2045 is 2200 lumens and the 51a claims 2400. I will say the image is a little bit sharper but when you look at the price tags (479 vs 1699) it's definitely not worth it especially when it's not as bright and the colors are washed. I don't know if it's the LCD vs DLP thing or if I'm doing something wrong with the settings but I've done a decent amount of adjusting and still can't come close. Should've known better when I found out that it uses pixel shifting and isn't true 4k.
alex gant is offline  
post #35 of 60 Old 12-31-2018, 12:17 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Dave in Green's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 9,293
Mentioned: 165 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4370 Post(s)
Liked: 3829
Quote:
Originally Posted by alex gant View Post
... Purchased this hoping for better colors and brightness seeing how my 2045 is 2200 lumens and the 51a claims 2400. ...
When projectorreviews.com tested in brightest mode they measured the UHD51A at a maximum 1892 lumens vs. 2262 lumens for the 2045. So the 2045 exceeded manufacturer lumen specs while the UHD51A fell short. This is why it's so often recommended on this forum to ignore manufacturer performance specs and rely on independent test reviews measured with calibrated instrumentation.
Wesley Hester likes this.
Dave in Green is offline  
post #36 of 60 Old 07-15-2019, 04:08 PM
Newbie
 
lothian1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: NC
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Amazon offers the Optoma UHD51A for $1270 (w/free shipping).

http://amzn.com/B079HH68M8
lothian1 is offline  
post #37 of 60 Old 08-06-2019, 12:33 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Hey guys, needed some advice if u can help please. I recently purchased the UHD51A as an upgrade to my Benq W1080ST+.

I’m not super tech, I have an Xbox one that I use for games sometimes but mostly to stream and for blu ray. I haven’t yet ventured in to 4K but will do v soon.

Having just set it up and popped in a blu ray, I’m super disappointed with the picture. I’m getting serious image noise, or mosquito noise I believe it’s called. The movement on faces and lighter areas is awful, just fine grain everywhere. The pictures bright, but no way near as good as it was on my Benq. Is this normal/to be expected?Anything I can do??

Thanks in advance
Carlso47 is offline  
post #38 of 60 Old 08-06-2019, 01:08 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: Out West
Posts: 2,432
Mentioned: 31 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1335 Post(s)
Liked: 703
Quote:
Originally Posted by Carlso47 View Post
Hey guys, needed some advice if u can help please. I recently purchased the UHD51A as an upgrade to my Benq W1080ST+.

I’m not super tech, I have an Xbox one that I use for games sometimes but mostly to stream and for blu ray. I haven’t yet ventured in to 4K but will do v soon.

Having just set it up and popped in a blu ray, I’m super disappointed with the picture. I’m getting serious image noise, or mosquito noise I believe it’s called. The movement on faces and lighter areas is awful, just fine grain everywhere. The pictures bright, but no way near as good as it was on my Benq. Is this normal/to be expected?Anything I can do??

Thanks in advance
What Display mode is it in?

Try Cinema mode and gamma mode = film or 2.2

Turn down sharpness to ~5 - 8 and set ultra detail to 0 or 1.

Set correct screen colour.

set Dynamic Black = on.
DunMunro is offline  
post #39 of 60 Old 08-07-2019, 03:10 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by DunMunro View Post
What Display mode is it in?

Try Cinema mode and gamma mode = film or 2.2

Turn down sharpness to ~5 - 8 and set ultra detail to 0 or 1.

Set correct screen colour.

set Dynamic Black = on.
Hey there, thanks for your reply. I have it set on Cinema already & gamma mode film, still the same grain. I cant actually change the sharpness, its greyed out?? Any ideas?
Carlso47 is offline  
post #40 of 60 Old 08-07-2019, 10:20 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: Out West
Posts: 2,432
Mentioned: 31 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1335 Post(s)
Liked: 703
Quote:
Originally Posted by Carlso47 View Post
Hey there, thanks for your reply. I have it set on Cinema already & gamma mode film, still the same grain. I cant actually change the sharpness, its greyed out?? Any ideas?
I don't know why sharpness will be greyed out but too high Sharpness and Ultradetail will increase mosquito noise. I actually have a UHD50 so there may be some differences in the menus. What source are you using for video?
DunMunro is offline  
post #41 of 60 Old 08-07-2019, 12:22 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by DunMunro View Post
I don't know why sharpness will be greyed out but too high Sharpness and Ultradetail will increase mosquito noise. I actually have a UHD50 so there may be some differences in the menus. What source are you using for video?
Xbox one at the mo
Carlso47 is offline  
post #42 of 60 Old 08-07-2019, 01:05 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: Out West
Posts: 2,432
Mentioned: 31 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1335 Post(s)
Liked: 703
Quote:
Originally Posted by Carlso47 View Post
Xbox one at the mo
What resolution is the Xbox1 sending to your projector?
DunMunro is offline  
post #43 of 60 Old 08-08-2019, 02:33 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by DunMunro View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by Carlso47 View Post
Xbox one at the mo
What resolution is the Xbox1 sending to your projector?
1080p
Carlso47 is offline  
post #44 of 60 Old 08-08-2019, 04:32 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Posts: 30
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 7
Quote:
Originally Posted by Carlso47 View Post
Hey there, thanks for your reply. I have it set on Cinema already & gamma mode film, still the same grain. I cant actually change the sharpness, its greyed out?? Any ideas?



Make sure your Xbox is outputting YUV colors instead of RGB. RGB looks horrible on the UHD51A and sharpness can't be changed in that mode.
DunMunro likes this.
Domi2 is offline  
post #45 of 60 Old 08-08-2019, 05:54 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by Domi2 View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by Carlso47 View Post
Hey there, thanks for your reply. I have it set on Cinema already & gamma mode film, still the same grain. I cant actually change the sharpness, its greyed out?? Any ideas?



Make sure your Xbox is outputting YUV colors instead of RGB. RGB looks horrible on the UHD51A and sharpness can't be changed in that mode.
Hey, I’ve checked the only setting I can change on the Xbox is the video fidelity colour depth 8,10 or 12-bit. Tried all of those n still the sharpness is greyed out
Carlso47 is offline  
post #46 of 60 Old 08-08-2019, 11:50 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Posts: 30
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 7
Quote:
Originally Posted by Carlso47 View Post
Hey, I’ve checked the only setting I can change on the Xbox is the video fidelity colour depth 8,10 or 12-bit. Tried all of those n still the sharpness is greyed out

I don't have an Xbox but according to the documentation it's under Advanced settings: "Allow YCC 4:2:2".


https://support.xbox.com/en-US/xbox-...splay-settings
Domi2 is offline  
post #47 of 60 Old 08-09-2019, 12:44 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by Domi2 View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by Carlso47 View Post
Hey, I’️ve checked the only setting I can change on the Xbox is the video fidelity colour depth 8,10 or 12-bit. Tried all of those n still the sharpness is greyed out

I don't have an Xbox but according to the documentation it's under Advanced settings: "Allow YCC 4:2:2".


https://support.xbox.com/en-US/xbox-...splay-settings
Ok I think I see the problem, I have an original Xbox one, and I don’t have this setting. I guess I will need to upgrade it, or buy a blu ray player. Thanks for taking the time to check for me, much appreciated
Carlso47 is offline  
post #48 of 60 Old 02-21-2020, 02:06 PM
Member
 
crutzulee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 124
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 108 Post(s)
Liked: 80
Is anyone using this projector with a CIH screen? Is it even possible without an external lens?

OPTOMA UHD51A 4K projector + Elite Screens 100" 16X9 screen
ONKYO TX-NR787 ATMOS/DTS X in a 7.2.2 configuration
PARADIGM Monitor 7s L+R, CC350 Center, Monitor 3 X4, Mini Monitor X2
PARADIGM PS1000 X 2 + ENERGY CS12 (near field)
4 X Dayton Audio TT25-16 PUCK tactile transducers
crutzulee is offline  
post #49 of 60 Old 02-21-2020, 02:58 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Posts: 3,142
Mentioned: 80 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1739 Post(s)
Liked: 515
Quote:
Originally Posted by crutzulee View Post
Is anyone using this projector with a CIH screen? Is it even possible without an external lens?
It does not have motorized lens so you have to change it manually. When zooming to a 2.35:1 screen for instance the top and bottom black bars will be outside of the screen.

I'm not even sure this model has an anamorphic mode for an a lens to be attached.
noob00224 is offline  
post #50 of 60 Old 03-15-2020, 11:37 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2020
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
UHD51a - Wireless Status shows Fail

Just wondering if any one has issue connecting UHD51a to wifi. Once I installed the wireless adapter, it did connect to wifi and upgraded the firmware to Co6. But on the smart home page, it shows "Fail" for the wireless status. Also, when I try to register, it asks me to add 1883 to router firewall port. I have already done. I have also tried disabling the firewall completely. Still no use.
VIVEKANANDA Bhat is offline  
post #51 of 60 Old 03-29-2020, 03:14 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2020
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 0
OPTOMA PROJECTOR 3D issue

Hi dears could someone help me to turn on 3D in my Optoma 51 A projector.
Naveenrg is offline  
post #52 of 60 Old 03-29-2020, 03:34 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: Out West
Posts: 2,432
Mentioned: 31 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1335 Post(s)
Liked: 703
Quote:
Originally Posted by Naveenrg View Post
Hi dears could someone help me to turn on 3D in my Optoma 51 A projector.
What is your source device?
DunMunro is offline  
post #53 of 60 Old 03-30-2020, 05:43 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2020
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 0
The source device is Oppo(203) Blue ray player connected to Onkyo NR656 receiver And to Optoma projector
Naveenrg is offline  
post #54 of 60 Old 03-30-2020, 05:51 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2020
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 0
The HDMI used are 2.0.
And thanks for instant reply
Naveenrg is offline  
post #55 of 60 Old 03-30-2020, 10:18 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: Out West
Posts: 2,432
Mentioned: 31 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1335 Post(s)
Liked: 703
Quote:
Originally Posted by Naveenrg View Post
The HDMI used are 2.0.
And thanks for instant reply
I've not used 3D on my UHD50 as I haven't done the firmware update, and I can't help with the Oppo, but it should just be a matter of playing a 3D movie and setting the UHD51A into 3D mode as described on pages 23, 24, 26, 28 and 31 of your manual:

https://www.projectorcentral.com/pdf...nual_10297.pdf

If you're having trouble, try and bypass the receiver and connect the Oppo directly to the UHD51A.

Last edited by DunMunro; 03-30-2020 at 10:22 AM.
DunMunro is offline  
post #56 of 60 Old 03-30-2020, 12:30 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2020
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Will try and let u know
Naveenrg is offline  
post #57 of 60 Old 03-30-2020, 12:44 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2020
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Yeas dear it's working while bye passing by connecting blue ray player directly to the projector.

Thanks a lot
Naveenrg is offline  
post #58 of 60 Old 03-30-2020, 12:50 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2020
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 0
And kindly if u can send a link where I can buy 3D glass which supports this projector .if it's amazon it will be well and good as only amazon has the good delivery term.
Naveenrg is offline  
post #59 of 60 Old 03-30-2020, 02:31 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: Out West
Posts: 2,432
Mentioned: 31 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1335 Post(s)
Liked: 703
Quote:
Originally Posted by Naveenrg View Post
And kindly if u can send a link where I can buy 3D glass which supports this projector .if it's amazon it will be well and good as only amazon has the good delivery term.

These are the 3D glasses recommended by Optoma:

https://www.amazon.com/Optoma-ZD302-.../dp/B00O394RQC


You should be able to find similar ones.
DunMunro is offline  
post #60 of 60 Old 05-23-2020, 08:19 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2019
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
I heard there is a

C15
Lan 13 and
MCU 07

firmware. Does anyone know where to download this firmware?
manome is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Digital Projectors - Under $3,000 USD MSRP

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off