Official Optoma UHD51a Owner's Thread - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 5Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 47 Old 07-04-2018, 11:58 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Ken McPherson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 383
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 254 Post(s)
Liked: 146
Official Optoma UHD51a Owner's Thread

The Optoma UHD51a has a unique set of features that set it apart from the UHD50 and UHD51. As a result, his thread is for UHD51a owners only. Thread topics should be restricted to the actual use of the UHD51a by those who have already purchased the projector. For questions about the UHD51a, discussions of UHD50 or UHD51 or comparisons to other projectors, please see https://www.avsforum.com/forum/68-di...r-w-alexa.html
Ken McPherson is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 47 Old 07-04-2018, 12:16 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Ken McPherson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 383
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 254 Post(s)
Liked: 146
I didn't want to go through the ongoing hassle of moving the dongle from port to port whenever there is a firmware update, so I bought the 2nd dongle for $30. Well worth it, IMO. Made the upgrade process exactly as stated by Optoma.

All aspects of Echo/Alexa are now working in a consistent manner. 2160p working consistently from all sources.

After several weeks, I have dialed in every aspect of my installation. Perfect alignment, light border 'disappeared' with the super-sticky black felt tape surrounding 110" high contrast grey screen.
Ken McPherson is offline  
post #3 of 47 Old 07-04-2018, 12:36 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Posts: 29
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 3
Had no problem with the update moving WiFi dongle back and forth just more of a hassle
phancock3 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 47 Old 07-05-2018, 11:44 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Ken McPherson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 383
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 254 Post(s)
Liked: 146
Good to know.

I tried a generic USB Wifi dongle but the UHD51a wouldn't recognize it.
Ken McPherson is offline  
post #5 of 47 Old 07-05-2018, 12:31 PM
Member
 
Sonisame's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Vancouver, Canada
Posts: 182
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Send a message via Skype™ to Sonisame
Can we start sharing our user settings for 2160p/1080p and 3D(@120HZ)?

For non-hdr material I like gamma 2.4 and brightness/contrast set to zero, colors are at 4 with display mode set to Cinema or user to reduce gain for red a bit.

Lamp is usually on active mode, I find eco mode a bit dark for 3D.

Sonisame
ken802 likes this.
Sonisame is offline  
post #6 of 47 Old 07-06-2018, 09:58 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Ken McPherson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 383
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 254 Post(s)
Liked: 146
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sonisame View Post
Can we start sharing our user settings for 2160p/1080p and 3D(@120HZ)?

For non-hdr material I like gamma 2.4 and brightness/contrast set to zero, colors are at 4 with display mode set to Cinema or user to reduce gain for red a bit.

Lamp is usually on active mode, I find eco mode a bit dark for 3D.

Sonisame
Currently, I'm using gamma=film, red gain lowered, and the rest at default. I'm pretty happy with the image, but it's all so subjective. I'm debating whether to get calibration software or just leave it as it is. I'm hoping someone with more experience will join in to discuss color settings.

I also use active mode for 3D to maximize brightness on my 110" high contrast gray screen. I don't have the 3D Vision kit necessary to get 120hz, so I can't offer an opinion on that one. I'm not a gamer.
Ken McPherson is offline  
post #7 of 47 Old 08-03-2018, 12:49 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 0
My projector screen goes black at least once a day and there's nothing I can do to get the picture back up except by shutting the projector down and restarting it. It usually happens once every few days, but today it happened about every 10 to 15 minutes. Any ideas? The first day I hot the projector this happened and I ended up changing the 'High Altitude' setting which seemed to fix it for a while, but apparently not any more. When the projector goes dark, the blue led light is still on the projector. I have it on full power; see attached settings screenshot. Any insight would be appreciated.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot_20180803-004759_Dolphin_1533282525596.jpg
Views:	91
Size:	515.7 KB
ID:	2436634  
xxxsdesdexxx is offline  
post #8 of 47 Old 08-10-2018, 06:38 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 83
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 57 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ken McPherson View Post
I didn't want to go through the ongoing hassle of moving the dongle from port to port whenever there is a firmware update,
Which port is which (FW update and Alexa etc.) ?

Also which dongle did u purchase and u provide amazon link ?
macmus is offline  
post #9 of 47 Old 08-12-2018, 11:20 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Ken McPherson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 383
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 254 Post(s)
Liked: 146
Quote:
Originally Posted by macmus View Post
Which port is which (FW update and Alexa etc.) ?

Also which dongle did u purchase and u provide amazon link ?
See illustration for port assignment:
https://www.projectorcentral.com/pdf...spec_10297.pdf:

Dongle:
https://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/produ...ongle_for.html
Ken McPherson is offline  
post #10 of 47 Old 08-20-2018, 12:13 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 0
I'll assume that I am the only one with this problem, but if not I'd like to provide more information about my set-up. My set-up:

I have a 25 ft monoprice cable directly connected from the projector to my Onkyo
TX-NR656 receiver's MAIN port. The receiver has several HDMI 2.2 ports. I watch 4K content on my Roku Premiere+ which is connected to one of the HDMI 2.2 ports and my AppleTV 4K which is connected to a different HDMI 2.2 port; the screen going black happens on both devices.

The monoprice cable is this:
Monoprice Certified Premium High Speed HDMI Cable, 4K @ 60Hz, HDR, 18Gbps, 28AWG, YUV 4:4:4, 25ft, White

the HDMI cables that connect the device(s) to the receiver are also the Monoprice Certified Premium High Speed HDMI Cables found above but they are 6 ft in length.
xxxsdesdexxx is offline  
post #11 of 47 Old 08-20-2018, 12:37 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
JackB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 1999
Posts: 3,825
Mentioned: 21 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1465 Post(s)
Liked: 359
Quote:
Originally Posted by xxxsdesdexxx View Post
I'll assume that I am the only one with this problem, but if not I'd like to provide more information about my set-up. My set-up:

I have a 25 ft monoprice cable directly connected from the projector to my Onkyo
TX-NR656 receiver's MAIN port. The receiver has several HDMI 2.2 ports. I watch 4K content on my Roku Premiere+ which is connected to one of the HDMI 2.2 ports and my AppleTV 4K which is connected to a different HDMI 2.2 port; the screen going black happens on both devices.

The monoprice cable is this:
Monoprice Certified Premium High Speed HDMI Cable, 4K @ 60Hz, HDR, 18Gbps, 28AWG, YUV 4:4:4, 25ft, White

the HDMI cables that connect the device(s) to the receiver are also the Monoprice Certified Premium High Speed HDMI Cables found above but they are 6 ft in length.
Have you hooked the Roku or Apple directly to the projector to see if the 626 is the problem?

Jack
JackB is online now  
post #12 of 47 Old 08-20-2018, 12:45 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by JackB View Post
Have you hooked the Roku or Apple directly to the projector to see if the 626 is the problem?
I will do this the next time I am having problems. The one thing that makes me think that it is the 51A is at fault is that it also happens when I am casting to Chromecast with no HDMI cable being involved.
xxxsdesdexxx is offline  
post #13 of 47 Old 08-20-2018, 12:56 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by xxxsdesdexxx View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by JackB View Post
Have you hooked the Roku or Apple directly to the projector to see if the 626 is the problem?
I will do this the next time I am having problems. The one thing that makes me think that it is the 51A is at fault is that it also happens when I am casting to Chromecast with no HDMI cable being involved.
Thinking about it more, the 25 Ft cable is involved... ignore quoted post.
xxxsdesdexxx is offline  
post #14 of 47 Old 08-20-2018, 01:06 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Ken McPherson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 383
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 254 Post(s)
Liked: 146
Quote:
Originally Posted by xxxsdesdexxx View Post
I'll assume that I am the only one with this problem, but if not I'd like to provide more information about my set-up. My set-up:

I have a 25 ft monoprice cable directly connected from the projector to my Onkyo
TX-NR656 receiver's MAIN port. The receiver has several HDMI 2.2 ports. I watch 4K content on my Roku Premiere+ which is connected to one of the HDMI 2.2 ports and my AppleTV 4K which is connected to a different HDMI 2.2 port; the screen going black happens on both devices.

The monoprice cable is this:
Monoprice Certified Premium High Speed HDMI Cable, 4K @ 60Hz, HDR, 18Gbps, 28AWG, YUV 4:4:4, 25ft, White

the HDMI cables that connect the device(s) to the receiver are also the Monoprice Certified Premium High Speed HDMI Cables found above but they are 6 ft in length.
I have never encountered this issue.

However, from reading other 4k threads, it is not unusual for AV receivers to introduce handshaking issues with 4k devices. You need to narrow down the possibilities. I would try bypassing your receiver and connecting your devices directly to the projector with the shorter HDMI cables. If the problem goes away, it is most likely an issue with your receiver. If it continues to happen, there is probably a problem with your projector, and you should contact Optoma support. There is also a possibility that the 25' HDMI cable from your receiver to the projector is bad, even if it has the correct specs, because the blackouts occur with both of your input devices.
Ken McPherson is offline  
post #15 of 47 Old 08-20-2018, 01:08 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Ken McPherson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 383
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 254 Post(s)
Liked: 146
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ken McPherson View Post
I have never encountered this issue.

However, from reading other 4k threads, it is not unusual for AV receivers to introduce handshaking issues with 4k devices. You need to narrow down the possibilities. I would try bypassing your receiver and connecting your devices directly to the projector with the shorter HDMI cables. If the problem goes away, it is most likely an issue with your receiver. If it continues to happen, there is probably a problem with your projector, and you should contact Optoma support. There is also a possibility that the 25' HDMI cable from your receiver to the projector is bad, even if it has the correct specs, because the blackouts occur with both of your input devices.
You guys beat me to the punch.

Last edited by Ken McPherson; 08-20-2018 at 01:15 PM.
Ken McPherson is offline  
post #16 of 47 Old 08-20-2018, 01:15 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
JackB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 1999
Posts: 3,825
Mentioned: 21 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1465 Post(s)
Liked: 359
It's important that when you debug a problem that you make only one change at a time. The easiest test would seem to be to direct connect with the 25' cable the roku or apple. If that solves it then it is probably the 626. Like Ken said, in all these handshaking issues it's more often than not an AVR problem. If the first test fails then try to locate your roku close to the 51A and try it with one of the 6' cables. Follow this debug procedure and you should be able to isolate the problem.
Ken McPherson likes this.

Jack
JackB is online now  
post #17 of 47 Old 12-04-2018, 12:33 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Note to owners: The 51A's 3D function is completely incompatible with the Sony UBP-X700. The Sony will not send a 3d signal until it has detected a 3d monitor, and the UHD51A will not go into 3d mode until it receives a 3d signal from the Sony. I have contacted Optoma about this, they basically said sorry, call Sony with very little intrest in helping with the problem.
So Im taking the projector back. Not because of the incompatibility, I could easily replace the the bluray player, but because the Optoma customer service was so poor.... Now onto the Epson 5040UB thread.
Chad Brinkley is offline  
post #18 of 47 Old 12-05-2018, 09:06 AM
Member
 
guitarman512's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Glasgow, Scotland
Posts: 126
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 28
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chad Brinkley View Post
Note to owners: The 51A's 3D function is completely incompatible with the Sony UBP-X700. The Sony will not send a 3d signal until it has detected a 3d monitor, and the UHD51A will not go into 3d mode until it receives a 3d signal from the Sony. I have contacted Optoma about this, they basically said sorry, call Sony with very little intrest in helping with the problem.
So Im taking the projector back. Not because of the incompatibility, I could easily replace the the bluray player, but because the Optoma customer service was so poor.... Now onto the Epson 5040UB thread.
I have the UHD51 and the Sony X700, it plays 3D Bluray no problem. Have you made sure Dolby vision is set to off as that switches off the 3D output.
guitarman512 is offline  
post #19 of 47 Old 12-07-2018, 08:37 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Omro, WI...USA
Posts: 211
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 46 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ken McPherson View Post
I didn't want to go through the ongoing hassle of moving the dongle from port to port whenever there is a firmware update, so I bought the 2nd dongle for $30. Well worth it, IMO. Made the upgrade process exactly as stated by Optoma.

All aspects of Echo/Alexa are now working in a consistent manner. 2160p working consistently from all sources.

After several weeks, I have dialed in every aspect of my installation. Perfect alignment, light border 'disappeared' with the super-sticky black felt tape surrounding 110" high contrast grey screen.
So exactly which port does the wifi dongle go in to update to co9? service port? alexa wifi port ? media player port? wireless display port? the description on 'how to" from optoma is weird....

Wanab
wanab is offline  
post #20 of 47 Old 12-07-2018, 11:09 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Ken McPherson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 383
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 254 Post(s)
Liked: 146
Quote:
Originally Posted by wanab View Post
So exactly which port does the wifi dongle go in to update to co9? service port? alexa wifi port ? media player port? wireless display port? the description on 'how to" from optoma is weird....
Wireless display port.

https://www.projectorcentral.com/pdf...spec_10297.pdf
wanab likes this.
Ken McPherson is offline  
post #21 of 47 Old 12-09-2018, 09:22 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Hey guys so I bought this projector two days ago and it should be here sometime within the next week. I was wondering what 4k HDMI cords you recommend for this projector. I currently have a marseille mcable cinema edition and it does an excellent job of upscaling content. However, I recently found out that it isn't 2.2 capable and can not work with HDR. So now I am on the search for an HDMI cable that will help me get the most out of this projector as well as the best image possible. Please let me know what you guys recommend and I would appreciate it, thanks.
alex gant is offline  
post #22 of 47 Old 12-09-2018, 01:43 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Ken McPherson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 383
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 254 Post(s)
Liked: 146
Quote:
Originally Posted by alex gant View Post
Hey guys so I bought this projector two days ago and it should be here sometime within the next week. I was wondering what 4k HDMI cords you recommend for this projector. I currently have a marseille mcable cinema edition and it does an excellent job of upscaling content. However, I recently found out that it isn't 2.2 capable and can not work with HDR. So now I am on the search for an HDMI cable that will help me get the most out of this projector as well as the best image possible. Please let me know what you guys recommend and I would appreciate it, thanks.
Any Certified Premium High Speed HDMI Cable, 4K @ 60Hz, HDR, 18Gbps.

https://www.monoprice.com/product?p_id=15429
Ken McPherson is offline  
post #23 of 47 Old 12-15-2018, 10:05 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 0
What 3D glasses do you guys recommend. Have a couple 3D blue rays I would like to try, but need to purchase a pair of glasses first. Appreciate all recommendations and advice, thanks!
alex gant is offline  
post #24 of 47 Old 12-15-2018, 10:35 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Ken McPherson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 383
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 254 Post(s)
Liked: 146
Quote:
Originally Posted by alex gant View Post
What 3D glasses do you guys recommend. Have a couple 3D blue rays I would like to try, but need to purchase a pair of glasses first. Appreciate all recommendations and advice, thanks!
https://www.amazon.com/Ultra-Clear-R...hutter+Glasses
Ken McPherson is offline  
post #25 of 47 Old 12-16-2018, 05:25 AM
Member
 
GeckIRE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Posts: 22
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 2
Loving my UHD51A so far. Having trouble with the built in media player however. Anytime I try to play 2160p content it keeps saying "audio not supported" I've tried swapping to different audio tracks in the files but that doesn't help sadly. Does anybody have any idea how I might fix it?
GeckIRE is offline  
post #26 of 47 Old 12-16-2018, 12:02 PM
Member
 
GeckIRE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Posts: 22
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by GeckIRE View Post
Loving my UHD51A so far. Having trouble with the built in media player however. Anytime I try to play 2160p content it keeps saying "audio not supported" I've tried swapping to different audio tracks in the files but that doesn't help sadly. Does anybody have any idea how I might fix it?
Figured out the built in media player does not support AC3 audio codec, only AAC. Quite surprised by this :O
GeckIRE is offline  
post #27 of 47 Old 12-28-2018, 03:29 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Hey so I love the image this projector has but for some reason the image is slanting at the top on the left and right. How can I get the image to be perfectly flat projecting from about 10.8-11 feet away onto a 120 elite screen.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	image1.jpg
Views:	48
Size:	70.4 KB
ID:	2502146   Click image for larger version

Name:	image2.jpg
Views:	48
Size:	37.4 KB
ID:	2502148   Click image for larger version

Name:	image3.jpg
Views:	43
Size:	42.9 KB
ID:	2502150   Click image for larger version

Name:	image1 (1).jpg
Views:	41
Size:	49.3 KB
ID:	2502152  
alex gant is offline  
post #28 of 47 Old 12-28-2018, 11:56 PM
Senior Member
 
Paganmoon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 243
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 163 Post(s)
Liked: 67
Quote:
Originally Posted by alex gant View Post
Hey so I love the image this projector has but for some reason the image is slanting at the top on the left and right. How can I get the image to be perfectly flat projecting from about 10.8-11 feet away onto a 120 elite screen.
That seems to be cause you've angled the projector, so the image getting thrown is angled when it hits a flat surface (your screen). Try having your projector flat on the stand, and using more of the lens shift (though that might cause a bit of slanting as well).
Another option is to have your projector flat, but further down, or flat but further up and inverted.
Paganmoon is offline  
post #29 of 47 Old 12-30-2018, 09:50 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 0
So I'm comparing my new UHD51 and my old epson 2045. For some reason I'm getting better colors on the epson 2045 and the brightness is about the same for both even though the UHD51 is supposed to have higher lumens. All of the photos on the left are from the epson 2045 and all the photos on the right are from the UHD51. Is there something I need to change in settings to get better color on the UHD51? Thinking about returning honestly if I can't get a better picture or colors from this thing. EDIT** last set of photos (yellow ones) UHD51 on the left and 2045 on the right
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	9E797DBA-3634-475B-B9C8-E025F98E48EA.png
Views:	48
Size:	1.24 MB
ID:	2502742   Click image for larger version

Name:	33061D3F-6E9A-4B4C-88A9-462E2ED3079D.png
Views:	46
Size:	1.07 MB
ID:	2502744   Click image for larger version

Name:	DC5A902C-CB34-4512-93A0-752E3E45E8C5.png
Views:	49
Size:	1.54 MB
ID:	2502746   Click image for larger version

Name:	82BCF2C1-099B-4C43-AD0F-7DAA97EED961.png
Views:	45
Size:	1.64 MB
ID:	2502748   Click image for larger version

Name:	2B810035-9237-4A80-8097-376EA96C9F08.png
Views:	39
Size:	1.69 MB
ID:	2502750  

Click image for larger version

Name:	B397FF4A-05A5-4BE4-93FB-A628E4F653E3.png
Views:	36
Size:	1.58 MB
ID:	2502752   Click image for larger version

Name:	E06FC152-DA0F-4E3C-BF3E-A0A02A257EAB.png
Views:	35
Size:	1.42 MB
ID:	2502754   Click image for larger version

Name:	2CB9667A-6B4E-4C59-885B-6ED04128E89D.png
Views:	35
Size:	1.45 MB
ID:	2502756  

Last edited by alex gant; 12-30-2018 at 09:55 AM.
alex gant is offline  
post #30 of 47 Old 12-30-2018, 10:19 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: Out West
Posts: 1,309
Mentioned: 14 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 756 Post(s)
Liked: 362
Quote:
Originally Posted by alex gant View Post
So I'm comparing my new UHD51 and my old epson 2045. For some reason I'm getting better colors on the epson 2045 and the brightness is about the same for both even though the UHD51 is supposed to have higher lumens. All of the photos on the left are from the epson 2045 and all the photos on the right are from the UHD51. Is there something I need to change in settings to get better color on the UHD51? Thinking about returning honestly if I can't get a better picture or colors from this thing. EDIT** last set of photos (yellow ones) UHD51 on the left and 2045 on the right
I suppose both are using the same power settings and colour mode (cinema - standard, etc)?

I would set the UHD51a into dynamic black power mode since that gives highest brightness when needed and best bulb life.

Last edited by DunMunro; 12-30-2018 at 10:22 AM.
DunMunro is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Digital Projectors - Under $3,000 USD MSRP

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off