Optoma UHD51ALV - Page 7 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 44Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #181 of 228 Old 12-04-2018, 07:17 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 5
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gamecock24 View Post
This is the fiber cable I bought that solved my lack of HDR. There Chinese or something written all over the box but it works. 50ft cable is available.
Fiber Optic HDMI Cable 25FT - ARC HDMI2.0 18Gpbs [email protected] 4:4:4 - PET Braided Cord and Gold Plated Connector ¨C Support 4K, UHD 2160p, HD 1080p, 3D, Xbox 360, PS4, Computer https://www.amazon.com/dp/B07H4GL3RW..._IXSaCbWED7R9B



Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Good news is that the fiber hdmi cable I bought worked without issue. Bad news is that the HDR still looks awful. Just way too much red in every scene that it just drowns out everything else. Can't change the HDR settings either because it's still greyed out. I tried connecting it directly to my Xbox One with the cord that came with it. No difference in setting options or how the HDR looked like.

Need to call Optoma again and see what they say this time.
mpls1981 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #182 of 228 Old 12-04-2018, 08:07 PM
Advanced Member
 
Gamecock24's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 857
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 416 Post(s)
Liked: 182
I agree the reds are way too blown out. Skin tones are too red and that really bothers me. I’ve turned the red gain to -6 on mine and that seems to helps some but I don’t really know what I’m doing. I wish I could find some calibrated picture settings to try. I’ve thought about applying some I’ve seen for the 51A just to see how they look but probably won’t work since they are for the other color wheel. It could be a good starting point though.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Gamecock24 is offline  
post #183 of 228 Old 12-04-2018, 11:34 PM
Senior Member
 
Paganmoon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 253
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 171 Post(s)
Liked: 72
regarding Red being overblown, I had the same issue with the UHD51, and kept trying to tweak Red Gain, to no avail.

What Color setting are you using? as in in the first menu, not the Color Settings menu:


for the UHD51, default setting when in HDR mode for the color is -19, but it's better at -20 imo, and I had tweaked it at some point, setting it back to -19 or -20 made the problem go away.

What's your setting look like there?
Paganmoon is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #184 of 228 Old 12-05-2018, 06:05 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Posts: 105
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 54 Post(s)
Liked: 31
Does anyone know what the current firmware version is for the 51ALV. Mine came with C:07 and I don't really care to connect it to my wifi until I have to. Just an old guy thing.
bjones8103 is offline  
post #185 of 228 Old 12-05-2018, 06:30 AM
Advanced Member
 
Gamecock24's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 857
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 416 Post(s)
Liked: 182
Quote:
Originally Posted by bjones8103 View Post
Does anyone know what the current firmware version is for the 51ALV. Mine came with C:07 and I don't really care to connect it to my wifi until I have to. Just an old guy thing.


Mine came with C:07 also and I didn’t see an update available when I checked. Do the 51A and 51ALV run the same firmware or are they different due to the different color wheels.?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Gamecock24 is offline  
post #186 of 228 Old 12-05-2018, 06:41 AM
Advanced Member
 
Gamecock24's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 857
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 416 Post(s)
Liked: 182
Quote:
Originally Posted by Paganmoon View Post
regarding Red being overblown, I had the same issue with the UHD51, and kept trying to tweak Red Gain, to no avail.



What Color setting are you using? as in in the first menu, not the Color Settings menu:





for the UHD51, default setting when in HDR mode for the color is -19, but it's better at -20 imo, and I had tweaked it at some point, setting it back to -19 or -20 made the problem go away.



What's your setting look like there?


IIRC when I was watching HDR all the other picture modes were greyed out. In SDR I’ve been using Cinema or HDR sim both of which I turned down the red gain for. I’m to the point where I can see differences in the reds now with SDR. Here’s a screen shot I took the other day while watching football and you can see definition in the jersey.

I so desperately need a better screen.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Gamecock24 is offline  
post #187 of 228 Old 12-05-2018, 07:16 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 5
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gamecock24 View Post
I agree the reds are way too blown out. Skin tones are too red and that really bothers me. I’ve turned the red gain to -6 on mine and that seems to helps some but I don’t really know what I’m doing. I wish I could find some calibrated picture settings to try. I’ve thought about applying some I’ve seen for the 51A just to see how they look but probably won’t work since they are for the other color wheel. It could be a good starting point though.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Projector Reviews has some settings that they calibrated that you could copy. They do a Reference, Bright and HDR setting.
mpls1981 is offline  
post #188 of 228 Old 12-05-2018, 07:21 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 5
Quote:
Originally Posted by Paganmoon View Post
regarding Red being overblown, I had the same issue with the UHD51, and kept trying to tweak Red Gain, to no avail.

What Color setting are you using? as in in the first menu, not the Color Settings menu:


for the UHD51, default setting when in HDR mode for the color is -19, but it's better at -20 imo, and I had tweaked it at some point, setting it back to -19 or -20 made the problem go away.

What's your setting look like there?
Unfortunately I'm unable to set the HDR and 3D settings on the projector. The projector will auto switch to HDR and 3D without issue; but I can't tweak the settings. If I watch an HDR or 3D movie and then switch to the projector settings menu, it shuts them off; switches to 1080p and then pulls up the menu with both the options greyed out.
If you know why this happens, please let me know. I'm completely up-to-date on firmware on the projector and Xbox and I've even tried connection the Xbox directly to the projector with the cord it came with (as Optoma suggested) and didn't help any. My only guesses at this point is either the projector is defective or the Xbox is somehow affecting the setting options (though I consider this unlikely as 3D on the PS3 is the same way).
mpls1981 is offline  
post #189 of 228 Old 12-05-2018, 07:27 AM
Senior Member
 
Paganmoon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 253
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 171 Post(s)
Liked: 72
Just for clarity, that was just a random screengrab of the Menu I found, you're not supposed to go into the Display Mode as indicated there.

Or are you saying the "color" heading on that part of the menu (the one above "tint") is greyed out when you get HDR input to the Projector? That setting does much more for color accuracy of Red than the red gain and red bias settings ever did when I was tweaking.
Paganmoon is offline  
post #190 of 228 Old 12-05-2018, 07:31 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 5
Quote:
Originally Posted by bjones8103 View Post
Does anyone know what the current firmware version is for the 51ALV. Mine came with C:07 and I don't really care to connect it to my wifi until I have to. Just an old guy thing.
I believe it's C:09. There were two updates available on their website. One for the projector and another for the Alexa aspect. If your settings say Alexa instead of Smart Home, then you are missing the update. You'd have to connect it to either Ethernet cable or make sure the USB Wi-Fi adapter is in the Wi-Fi port - not the Alexa port - to do the update.
mpls1981 is offline  
post #191 of 228 Old 12-05-2018, 03:30 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 5
Noob Solution

A 50-minute phone call with two people troubleshooting it with Optoma and I now feel like a total noob. Messed around with the cords, reset the projector twice and on the second reset, I realized the issue.

Note: For those that want to do a hard reset - Power up right up left menu (using the controls on the projector)

I've been entering the settings for the projector the entire time by pressing the home button on the remote and then going into the settings. Neither of the phone calls to them suggested doing otherwise and up to this point, nor have I. Even when I told them exactly what I was doing and seeing they didn't suggest anything else or ask why. Even sent them pics of my settings to prove they were greyed out. I didn't even know you could enter another way (noob). As I did the hard reset I saw that a menu had appeared on top of the movie (didn't take me to a special screen like everything else I've done). No one could figure out why my settings didn't act like they should and were basically the exact opposite.

But by pressing the Menu button on the remote, it pops the menu up while still in the movie and allows me to edit the settings that had been greyed out. I could have sworn I pressed every button and tried everything, but alas, I've turned into the guy who needs the 6-year-old neighbor kid to set my projector up.

Now to redo all my settings and hope for the best.
Sonyad likes this.
mpls1981 is offline  
post #192 of 228 Old 12-06-2018, 05:31 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Posts: 105
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 54 Post(s)
Liked: 31
Quote:
Originally Posted by mpls1981 View Post
I believe it's C:09. There were two updates available on their website. One for the projector and another for the Alexa aspect. If your settings say Alexa instead of Smart Home, then you are missing the update. You'd have to connect it to either Ethernet cable or make sure the USB Wi-Fi adapter is in the Wi-Fi port - not the Alexa port - to do the update.
I finally gave up and connected to WIFI. It confirmed my firmware was C:07, but stated that I had the most current update. Smart Home is the projector control site, though I don't plan on using it. I had to try a few different WI-FI dongles before I found one it liked. Thanks for the help.
bjones8103 is offline  
post #193 of 228 Old 12-06-2018, 05:32 PM
Member
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 7
Quote:
Originally Posted by bjones8103 View Post
I finally gave up and connected to WIFI. It confirmed my firmware was C:07, but stated that I had the most current update. Smart Home is the projector control site, though I don't plan on using it. I had to try a few different WI-FI dongles before I found one it liked. Thanks for the help.
Wait, so which is the current firmware C:07 or C:09? And someone said C:09 is the current? So which is it.
reptilexcq is offline  
post #194 of 228 Old 12-07-2018, 07:48 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 5
Quote:
Originally Posted by reptilexcq View Post
Wait, so which is the current firmware C:07 or C:09? And someone said C:09 is the current? So which is it.
System C06
LAN C09
MCU C07
mpls1981 is offline  
post #195 of 228 Old 12-11-2018, 12:43 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Posts: 30
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 1
do you know why selling of this PJ has been temp. canceled? (in EU)
Livestrong Lance is offline  
post #196 of 228 Old 12-11-2018, 01:13 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Posts: 30
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 7
Quote:
Originally Posted by Livestrong Lance View Post
do you know why selling of this PJ has been temp. canceled? (in EU)

Where did you hear that?


The projector is called UHD51ALVe here. I haven't seen it in stock anywhere yet though.
Domi2 is offline  
post #197 of 228 Old 12-11-2018, 06:00 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Posts: 30
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 1
ahh thanks.. but on amazon.co.uk/de is


Temporarily out of stock.


and also, they proclaim that is has 3200 lumens, not 3000.
Livestrong Lance is offline  
post #198 of 228 Old 12-13-2018, 09:13 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: New York City metro area
Posts: 64
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 54 Post(s)
Liked: 82
We just posted a shootout between the UHD51A and Epson HC 4010 at ProjectorCentral if anyone is interested.


https://www.projectorcentral.com/Eps...oma-UHD51A.htm



There's also some discussion in that review about the 51ALV as it relates to measured lumen output in the Cinema mode vs the 51A and the Epson.

Last edited by ProCentral Rob; 12-13-2018 at 09:14 AM. Reason: typo
ProCentral Rob is offline  
post #199 of 228 Old 12-17-2018, 03:33 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Posts: 30
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 7
Quote:
Originally Posted by Livestrong Lance View Post
ahh thanks.. but on amazon.co.uk/de is


Temporarily out of stock.


and also, they proclaim that is has 3200 lumens, not 3000.

It's in stock for € 1799,00 on amazon.de now.


I would assume that is because we use 230V instead of 120V here and a different bulb is used for our model, making it slightly brighter. Just a guess though.
Domi2 is offline  
post #200 of 228 Old 12-26-2018, 09:05 PM
Member
 
Scott Andersen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 115
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 55 Post(s)
Liked: 10
What are some good 3D glasses to get for this projector?
Scott Andersen is offline  
post #201 of 228 Old 12-28-2018, 09:45 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 197
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 88 Post(s)
Liked: 66
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scott Andersen View Post
What are some good 3D glasses to get for this projector?

Basically any highly rated DLP link glasses on Amazon. I have both of these, they work fine.



https://www.amazon.com/Ultra-Clear-R...WJ9YGQ87MG0B9K

https://www.amazon.com/Optoma-Compat.../dp/B013QD20XC
tatumjon is offline  
post #202 of 228 Old 02-02-2019, 08:30 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
falafala's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 1,030
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 19
i just got this projector thanks for great review on this forum!

i owned Epson 3010 and lately Optoma hd25lv, absolutely love the 3D on DLP. am a huge 3d fan with over 100 blurays.

UHD51ALV has mind boggling 3D, noticable upgrade from hd25lv in sharpness and color.

i am a little disappointed witj 4k and HDR compared to my QLED. but decided to keep it for 3D.

the wifi and alexa don't work, wondering if i should get a replacement? or they are useless anyway?

alao how do i get VUDU 4k to work on it?
falafala is offline  
post #203 of 228 Old 02-11-2019, 08:57 AM
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: Philippines, Pampanga
Posts: 549
Mentioned: 14 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 279 Post(s)
Liked: 97
a friend is askin if the UHD51ALV = the UHD370X?
are these two models the same but different region?
thanks

https://www.optoma.eu/product-details/UHD370X

XGimi CC, XGimi Z6, UKCSIS, Vmai M200 Pico
Xbox One S, LG SH4
wheelee is online now  
post #204 of 228 Old 02-12-2019, 01:34 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Posts: 30
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 7
Quote:
Originally Posted by wheelee View Post
a friend is askin if the UHD51ALV = the UHD370X?
are these two models the same but different region?
thanks

https://www.optoma.eu/product-details/UHD370X

The ALVe is almost the same model in Europe: https://www.optoma.eu/product-details/uhd51alve
Domi2 is offline  
post #205 of 228 Old 02-18-2019, 01:34 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Posts: 66
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 46 Post(s)
Liked: 8
Hi, I'm trying to buy a 4k 3d projector for my bonus room, and after some research, I really want to buy this one. Only thing that worried me was the response time(~60-70ms) because I play ps4.I play mostly basketball and soccer games. Do any of the owners have any lag problems playing games on ps4?
And I'm also planning to use it for golf simulator, but I'm not sure if I will create a shadow if I mount the projector about 8' high and 17' away from the screen, and stand between 14-15' away from the screen. If any of the owners can verify these for me, I would really appreciate it and order one right away.

Sent from my SM-N950U using Tapatalk
bongta029 is offline  
post #206 of 228 Old 02-24-2019, 09:59 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Posts: 66
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 46 Post(s)
Liked: 8
I ended up picking it up for less than $1400. I can't wait to complete the setup to enjoy 4k and 3d on a big screen

Sent from my SM-N950U using Tapatalk
bongta029 is offline  
post #207 of 228 Old 03-21-2019, 03:35 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Posts: 66
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 46 Post(s)
Liked: 8
Has anyone resolved the red color issue? And which wifi dongle do I need in order to cknnect to the internet?

Sent from my SM-N950U using Tapatalk
bongta029 is offline  
post #208 of 228 Old 04-12-2019, 09:00 AM
Advanced Member
 
Gamecock24's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 857
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 416 Post(s)
Liked: 182
I’m considering an Elite Starling Tab tension 2 with the Cinegrey 5D screen. Just curious if anyone is using the 5D screen with this PJ. How is it? I’m concerned the 1.5 gain maybe too bright.
I’m also looking at some Draper screens with the Contrast Grey screen (0.8 gain) and Elunevision with Aurora 4K ALR (1.3 gain).
I have samples from Draper already but my samples from Elite are taking forever to come so I can’t compare them for myself.



Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Gamecock24 is offline  
post #209 of 228 Old 06-05-2019, 09:05 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
jjsaustin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 218
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 36 Post(s)
Liked: 30
I'm considering getting this projector. Some previous posts talk about overblown reds. Did Optoma ever fix the issue or can the projector color be adjusted?
jjsaustin is offline  
post #210 of 228 Old 06-06-2019, 08:24 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Wesley Hester's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Selma, Alabama, USA
Posts: 2,446
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 196 Post(s)
Liked: 151
Quote:
Originally Posted by jjsaustin View Post
I'm considering getting this projector. Some previous posts talk about overblown reds. Did Optoma ever fix the issue or can the projector color be adjusted?
If you see any reds too red or reds are getting washed out - loosing picture detail, just turn the COLOR option down a bit is all you have to do.

I have the UHD51A model and for me COLOR is set as follows:

SDR: 0 (default was 14)
HDR: -23 (default was -19)

With those settings, I feel the few over-blown reds are acceptable enough without effecting color overall adversely if at all.

AKA Simple Solution.

Display: Optoma UHD51A Projector > Elite Screens R135WH1 ezFrame | 7.2.4 Audio: Onkyo TX-RZ920 9.2ch Network A/V Receiver, M-5010 2ch Amplifier; Definitive Technology ProCenter 2000, ProMonitor 1000(x10), SuperCube I & 4000 | Sources: PC, DirecTV, Apple 4K, Fire Stick 4K, Oppo UDP-203, Chromecast & Roku Ultras, Xbox One X, PlayStation 4 Pro & Nintendo Switch | Remote: Harmony Elite | HDMI: 40' Monoprice DynamicView+4x1 Switch
Wesley Hester is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Digital Projectors - Under $3,000 USD MSRP

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off