Epson 3700 or 4010 or BenQ 3050? - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 1Likes
  • 1 Post By rekbones

post #1 of 20 Old 11-16-2018, 11:19 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Epson 3700 or 4010 or BenQ 3050?

I'm not a projector pro.

I started with a PT-AX200U a long time ago.
Moved to a BenQ w1100 which I have now. This BenQ is on it's 3 bulb and it still works decently well aside from a blue tinge on certain black shades. But its still not quite as bright as I'd like during the day and it doesn't do side by side 3d which I'd like. It still works and ill use it for other things but as the primary home theater one I'd like to replace it now. Plus the bulbs are expensive and getting harder to come by.

We watch the usuals... netflix, prime etc. I output a PC to it a lot and also karaoke etc. PS4.. which is another reason I want to upgrade. The colors on this current projector don't quite pop on the PS4 as much as I think they should.

I was going with what I know initially so I looked into a newer BenQ. The 3050 is running at about $1000(CAD) right now shipped. But specs-wise i can't tell if its any better than the W1100 other than having 3d playback capability.

I saw the 3700 mentioned in some other threads as being super bright which would be awesome but no 4k support? I'd like to future proof myself here as much as possible for a reasonable $$.
I'm honestly not really sure what "hdr" means. I saw a thread here on the 4010 and it not supporting hdr or 18gbs for hdmi and gamers wouldn't like it. I'm not really sure this would apply to me but I don't really know since I've never had a 4k or hdr projector.

I like sharp clear quality and I hate the glazed look I have now trying to force brightness on my current one.

Auto keystone would be a good feature as well.

Thanks for any advice.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 20 Old 11-17-2018, 05:18 AM
AVS Forum Special Member