THE Epson 5050UB/6050UB Thread - Page 36 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 990Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1051 of 2728 Old 05-13-2019, 01:42 PM
Senior Member
 
oztheatre's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 245
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 134 Post(s)
Liked: 122
Quote:
Originally Posted by skylarlove1999 View Post
You sir are correct!!! Mic drop
I think I have the pro model.. seems here in oz we're only getting the black model which Art says is the pro model that's $1000 more in the US? The white model here in oz will be the wireless hdmi version. We don't get the spare lamp, installation or mount though. But interestingly, Art states the pro model is getting the better lens too. I can certainly see a difference, hugh difference, from my 5040 (TW9300 here in oz just to confuse us all)

And, an added bonus – the Pro Cinema is getting the best lenses from quality control, and other things, They claim better blacks (1.2M vs 1.0M to one contrast ratios, which would be slight. I think if you can use the extra’s there’s definite parity in the value propositions, so it’s which works best for you and your budget (and the Pro, is black).
oztheatre is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1052 of 2728 Old 05-13-2019, 01:52 PM
Senior Member
 
oztheatre's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 245
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 134 Post(s)
Liked: 122
Quote:
Originally Posted by termite View Post
In the review Art asks us to try out his calibration settings but I don't see them in there .
I wish he'd do some close ups of the lens quality, CA and convergence, pixel structure etc.
oztheatre is offline  
post #1053 of 2728 Old 05-13-2019, 08:00 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Hey everyone, I'm new to the forum but have been following this thread since it started. I know there has been some talk about the ub820 and 5050ub setup. I was just wondering if anyone had any thoughts about whether the extra $300 on the 820 is worth it compared to using a Sony x700 since the 5050ub does a really good job with the hdr tone mapping. Any thoughts would be appreciated.
Jmull22 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1054 of 2728 Old 05-13-2019, 11:00 PM
Senior Member
 
dimi123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 232
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 192 Post(s)
Liked: 59
Quote:
Originally Posted by termite View Post
OPPO Video settings as: HDR = Forced, Dolby Vison Processing = Player-led, Output Resolution = Auto, Color Space = Auto, Color Depth = Auto.
Why do you have "HDR Forced" enabled? I sold my Oppo 203 more than a year ago and can't remember but wouldn't that force HDR on SDR? Try manually changing the settings on the Oppo to 2160p, 12-bit 4:2:2 output. That should solve it. Always let the Oppo upscale to 4K and not the Epson.
termite likes this.

PJ: Epson EH-TW9300W | Screen: 135" 2.40 Stewart StudioTek 100 | Anamorphic lens: Prismasonic Cinomorph P-100M | AVR: Denon AVR-X7200WA | Amp: 3x Naim Nait 5si Stereo Amplifier| HTPC: Intel Core i7, GTX1080Ti | BR Player: Oppo BDP-103D, Oppo BDP-95, Samsung UBD-K8500 | Speakers: JBL Studio L Series, 7.2.4 | Mains Filter: BlackNoise 1000 V2, BlackNoise 2500, ISOL-8 VMC1080 | Cables: Chord Cadenza Reference, Chord Epic Twin, Audioquest NRG-4
dimi123 is offline  
post #1055 of 2728 Old 05-13-2019, 11:39 PM
Senior Member
 
termite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 466
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 200 Post(s)
Liked: 56
Quote:
Originally Posted by dimi123 View Post
Why do you have "HDR Forced" enabled? I sold my Oppo 203 more than a year ago and can't remember but wouldn't that force HDR on SDR? Try manually changing the settings on the Oppo to 2160p, 12-bit 4:2:2 output. That should solve it. Always let the Oppo upscale to 4K and not the Epson.
Well from what I understood "HDR Forced" means Oppo will send the HDR data to the display regardless of if the display can support it.
In the case of SDR there's nothing to send so no harm there. For the HDR=Auto to work properly, OPPO must first "correctly" sense that
the attached display can support HDR and then only it passes any available HDR info into the display. So by setting HDR=Forced we're basically telling the OPPO that my display is already capable of handling HDR (which is true for Epson) so please pass that info without guessing. I first started out with HDR=Auto and noticed that when playing some HDR clips OPPO failed to pass the HDR data into Epson. Setting to Forced solved that problem. I'll try your suggestion to set the resolution/bit-depth/color-space all to the fixed setting you mentioned.. Thanks!
dimi123 likes this.
termite is offline  
post #1056 of 2728 Old 05-14-2019, 04:52 AM
Advanced Member
 
CallingMrBenzo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Norther Va
Posts: 691
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 482 Post(s)
Liked: 1044
So I have decided to upgrade to an Acoustically transparent screen and go from a 100' 16:9 to a 115 2:35:1, I will be sitting about 10 feet away to 11 ish feet reclined. My question is on the select movies with changing aspect ratios, MI 6, Dark Knight, Aquaman etc would I just be zoomed in to my 16:9 portion of the screen and have black bars on the top and bottom and sides of the screen for those movies. It would really neuter those awesome films which is disappointing. I know for 16:9 content the screen is about 8% smaller than what I have but since the screen will be 2.5 feet closer I figured that wouldn't be a big issue.

Marantz 7011- Panasonic UB-820- Xbox One X - Epson HC 5050UB *Calibrated by ChadB* - Elite Screen's 2:35:1 AT 115' - PSA MTM 110's L/C/R - Mixed Surrounds - SVS Elevations Atmos X2 - Dual PSA VT36 B&C Neo's *MiniDSP HD* Took the Red Pill BEQ
CallingMrBenzo is online now  
post #1057 of 2728 Old 05-14-2019, 05:16 AM
Senior Member
 
dimi123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 232
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 192 Post(s)
Liked: 59
Quote:
Originally Posted by CallingMrBenzo View Post
My question is on the select movies with changing aspect ratios, MI 6, Dark Knight, Aquaman etc would I just be zoomed in to my 16:9 portion of the screen and have black bars on the top and bottom and sides of the screen for those movies. It would really neuter those awesome films which is disappointing.
In the absence of an anamorphic lens I would zoom in and fill the scope screen, then use the blanking option to crop the over-spilled picture above and below the screen.

PJ: Epson EH-TW9300W | Screen: 135" 2.40 Stewart StudioTek 100 | Anamorphic lens: Prismasonic Cinomorph P-100M | AVR: Denon AVR-X7200WA | Amp: 3x Naim Nait 5si Stereo Amplifier| HTPC: Intel Core i7, GTX1080Ti | BR Player: Oppo BDP-103D, Oppo BDP-95, Samsung UBD-K8500 | Speakers: JBL Studio L Series, 7.2.4 | Mains Filter: BlackNoise 1000 V2, BlackNoise 2500, ISOL-8 VMC1080 | Cables: Chord Cadenza Reference, Chord Epic Twin, Audioquest NRG-4
dimi123 is offline  
post #1058 of 2728 Old 05-14-2019, 05:44 AM
Advanced Member
 
CallingMrBenzo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Norther Va
Posts: 691
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 482 Post(s)
Liked: 1044
Quote:
Originally Posted by dimi123 View Post
In the absence of an anamorphic lens I would zoom in and fill the scope screen, then use the blanking option to crop the over-spilled picture above and below the screen.


Thank you sir.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Marantz 7011- Panasonic UB-820- Xbox One X - Epson HC 5050UB *Calibrated by ChadB* - Elite Screen's 2:35:1 AT 115' - PSA MTM 110's L/C/R - Mixed Surrounds - SVS Elevations Atmos X2 - Dual PSA VT36 B&C Neo's *MiniDSP HD* Took the Red Pill BEQ
CallingMrBenzo is online now  
post #1059 of 2728 Old 05-14-2019, 06:48 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2019
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 0
What is the blanking option? I too was curious about this issue.
astrobrooks76 is offline  
post #1060 of 2728 Old 05-14-2019, 06:56 AM
GCS
AVS Forum Special Member
 
GCS's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Mechanicsville, VA
Posts: 1,724
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 102 Post(s)
Liked: 75
How many are running this with a Panny 820? If so what settings does everyone use?

XBL Gamertag - blowfish7494

"Pull up your big boy pants and deal with it" - The Wife!

 

"Put on your man suit and fake it" - The Wife

GCS is offline  
post #1061 of 2728 Old 05-14-2019, 07:06 AM
Advanced Member
 
CallingMrBenzo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Norther Va
Posts: 691
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 482 Post(s)
Liked: 1044
Quote:
Originally Posted by astrobrooks76 View Post
What is the blanking option? I too was curious about this issue.
If the image is overshooting the screen you can block it out with the feature. There are some good Youtube videos showing it in action.

Marantz 7011- Panasonic UB-820- Xbox One X - Epson HC 5050UB *Calibrated by ChadB* - Elite Screen's 2:35:1 AT 115' - PSA MTM 110's L/C/R - Mixed Surrounds - SVS Elevations Atmos X2 - Dual PSA VT36 B&C Neo's *MiniDSP HD* Took the Red Pill BEQ
CallingMrBenzo is online now  
post #1062 of 2728 Old 05-14-2019, 07:07 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
beastaudio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Western NC
Posts: 14,439
Mentioned: 396 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5538 Post(s)
Liked: 5367
If doing mainly streaming is the 18gbps chipset pretty important? Gaming is not a priority but I wasnt sure if I even needed the 5050 over the 5040 purely for this one reason. If I am attempting YT/Netflix/amazon etc. in 4k/HDR, can I still manage this with the prior model?

European Models do not accept banana plugs
Belly of the Beast: Bass Bunker Theater
beastaudio is offline  
post #1063 of 2728 Old 05-14-2019, 07:59 AM
Senior Member
 
JonfromCB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Council Bluffs Iowa
Posts: 467
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 209 Post(s)
Liked: 152
Quote:
Originally Posted by beastaudio View Post
If doing mainly streaming is the 18gbps chipset pretty important? Gaming is not a priority but I wasnt sure if I even needed the 5050 over the 5040 purely for this one reason. If I am attempting YT/Netflix/amazon etc. in 4k/HDR, can I still manage this with the prior model?
If I'm getting it correct, it appears you want to know if you'll need a HDMI 2.2 cable to support what you watch using a 5040 vs a 5050. Both PJ's require 18Gbps/60 hz capable cables for full function support. You may or may not have "handshake" or connection issues with your current cable and if your equipment does connect you might or might not have issues with the "lower support" signals. Not knowing the specs of your cable I can only tell you to try it and see if it works. If it has the old "Redmere" chipset it probably will not work with either PJ regardless of the signal you are trying to send as the "primary" HDMI ports on both PJs are HDMI 2.2 according to Epson. The wireless 5050 would be an option for you if you're not concerned about full support of 60hz signals, and you can always add a 2.2 capable cable later for full support. Hope this helps.
JonfromCB is online now  
post #1064 of 2728 Old 05-14-2019, 08:28 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
beastaudio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Western NC
Posts: 14,439
Mentioned: 396 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5538 Post(s)
Liked: 5367
Quote:
Originally Posted by JonfromCB View Post
If I'm getting it correct, it appears you want to know if you'll need a HDMI 2.2 cable to support what you watch using a 5040 vs a 5050. Both PJ's require 18Gbps/60 hz capable cables for full function support. You may or may not have "handshake" or connection issues with your current cable and if your equipment does connect you might or might not have issues with the "lower support" signals. Not knowing the specs of your cable I can only tell you to try it and see if it works. If it has the old "Redmere" chipset it probably will not work with either PJ regardless of the signal you are trying to send as the "primary" HDMI ports on both PJs are HDMI 2.2 according to Epson. The wireless 5050 would be an option for you if you're not concerned about full support of 60hz signals, and you can always add a 2.2 capable cable later for full support. Hope this helps.
Thanks for the reply. The cable is fine. This is a new install so the tested and approved ruipro is what went in...my concern is purely if I even need use of the 5050's 18gbps chipset just to stream current and available content via streaming apps like those mentioned above. Does any of the content even require the full 18gbps? I know this was a gripe for some with the sonys who also just finally bumped up to 18gbps this year while the JVC's had a year head start on everyone. I only ever heard complaints tho when it game to gaming and the need for higher frame rate presentation along with 4k/HDR support, never heard any gripes around streaming things. If I can get away with the 5040 at a much lower price if streaming and sports are the ONLY needs for the PJ, then why spend the extra money for a chipset I'd basically never even use?

European Models do not accept banana plugs
Belly of the Beast: Bass Bunker Theater
beastaudio is offline  
post #1065 of 2728 Old 05-14-2019, 09:20 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Viche's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,927
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 784 Post(s)
Liked: 184
Quote:
Originally Posted by dimi123 View Post
In the absence of an anamorphic lens I would zoom in and fill the scope screen, then use the blanking option to crop the over-spilled picture above and below the screen.

So basically...with that setup you'll just miss the expanded footage, correct? Kind of a bummer.
Viche is offline  
post #1066 of 2728 Old 05-14-2019, 09:27 AM
Senior Member
 
dimi123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 232
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 192 Post(s)
Liked: 59
Quote:
Originally Posted by beastaudio View Post
...my concern is purely if I even need use of the 5050's 18gbps chipset just to stream current and available content via streaming apps like those mentioned above. Does any of the content even require the full 18gbps
It depends on the steaming device and applications. 18Gbps is only needed for 4K HDR @60Hz. The 5040 displays 4K SDR @60Hz. If you are using an Apple 4K TV you can get by with an Epson 5040.

PJ: Epson EH-TW9300W | Screen: 135" 2.40 Stewart StudioTek 100 | Anamorphic lens: Prismasonic Cinomorph P-100M | AVR: Denon AVR-X7200WA | Amp: 3x Naim Nait 5si Stereo Amplifier| HTPC: Intel Core i7, GTX1080Ti | BR Player: Oppo BDP-103D, Oppo BDP-95, Samsung UBD-K8500 | Speakers: JBL Studio L Series, 7.2.4 | Mains Filter: BlackNoise 1000 V2, BlackNoise 2500, ISOL-8 VMC1080 | Cables: Chord Cadenza Reference, Chord Epic Twin, Audioquest NRG-4
dimi123 is offline  
post #1067 of 2728 Old 05-14-2019, 09:30 AM
Senior Member
 
dimi123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 232
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 192 Post(s)
Liked: 59
Quote:
Originally Posted by Viche View Post
So basically...with that setup you'll just miss the expanded footage, correct? Kind of a bummer.
Yes, but the expanded footage is not always worth it as in most cases those movies are framed for 2.40:1 presentation.

PJ: Epson EH-TW9300W | Screen: 135" 2.40 Stewart StudioTek 100 | Anamorphic lens: Prismasonic Cinomorph P-100M | AVR: Denon AVR-X7200WA | Amp: 3x Naim Nait 5si Stereo Amplifier| HTPC: Intel Core i7, GTX1080Ti | BR Player: Oppo BDP-103D, Oppo BDP-95, Samsung UBD-K8500 | Speakers: JBL Studio L Series, 7.2.4 | Mains Filter: BlackNoise 1000 V2, BlackNoise 2500, ISOL-8 VMC1080 | Cables: Chord Cadenza Reference, Chord Epic Twin, Audioquest NRG-4
dimi123 is offline  
post #1068 of 2728 Old 05-14-2019, 09:31 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
beastaudio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Western NC
Posts: 14,439
Mentioned: 396 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5538 Post(s)
Liked: 5367
Quote:
Originally Posted by dimi123 View Post
It depends on the steaming device and applications. 18Gbps is only needed for 4K HDR @60Hz. The 5040 displays 4K SDR @60Hz. If you are using an Apple 4K TV you can get by with an Epson 5040.
That's what I needed to know. Thank you sir.

European Models do not accept banana plugs
Belly of the Beast: Bass Bunker Theater
beastaudio is offline  
post #1069 of 2728 Old 05-14-2019, 09:38 AM
Member
 
Join Date: May 2019
Posts: 35
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 3
Quote:
Originally Posted by beastaudio View Post
That's what I needed to know. Thank you sir.
But Amazon fire stick and pc supports [email protected] and will need the full bandwidth not sure about apple tv is it restricted in the freq?

Sent from my Redmi Note 7 Pro using Tapatalk
msankadi is offline  
post #1070 of 2728 Old 05-14-2019, 09:38 AM
Senior Member
 
JonfromCB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Council Bluffs Iowa
Posts: 467
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 209 Post(s)
Liked: 152
Quote:
Originally Posted by beastaudio View Post
Thanks for the reply. The cable is fine. This is a new install so the tested and approved ruipro is what went in...my concern is purely if I even need use of the 5050's 18gbps chipset just to stream current and available content via streaming apps like those mentioned above. Does any of the content even require the full 18gbps? I know this was a gripe for some with the sonys who also just finally bumped up to 18gbps this year while the JVC's had a year head start on everyone. I only ever heard complaints tho when it game to gaming and the need for higher frame rate presentation along with 4k/HDR support, never heard any gripes around streaming things. If I can get away with the 5040 at a much lower price if streaming and sports are the ONLY needs for the PJ, then why spend the extra money for a chipset I'd basically never even use?
Based on what I think you are asking, the short answer is no, you don't need the 5050 to view most of your preferred source material at it's "Epson processed potential" with either PJ. However 4K is now being streamed from some sources and the 5050 has more advanced processing for that. It may be helpful to not think of of signals or HDMI strictly in terms of Gbps..which can be thought of in simple terms as how much "water can come through the pipe"...slightly oversimplified. Per my previous post, my initial concern was your HDMI as both PJs have HDMI 2.2 ports and that's what's required for handshake. 2.2 HDMI cable supports 60hz signals. If your Ruipro is 2.2 you should be good to go regardless of which PJ or your source signals. According to Epson 5040 specs, frame interpolation of 1080p is 24HZ.

JMHO FWIW, I compared the two projectors last week with some of the same issues and user concerns you discuss. As 90% + of my viewing is cable tv or Roku sources. I much preferred the performance of the 5050 and what it did with live sports via HD cable processed in faux 4k as compared to the 5040, and of course with true 4K/HDR disc it was no contest between the two.

Last edited by JonfromCB; 05-14-2019 at 10:00 AM.
JonfromCB is online now  
post #1071 of 2728 Old 05-14-2019, 09:43 AM
Senior Member
 
dimi123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 232
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 192 Post(s)
Liked: 59
Quote:
Originally Posted by msankadi View Post
But Amazon fire stick and pc supports [email protected] and will need the full bandwidth not sure about apple tv is it restricted in the freq?

Sent from my Redmi Note 7 Pro using Tapatalk
The device and app has to support the native frame rate of the content. The Apple 4K TV has native frame rate support, others do not.

PJ: Epson EH-TW9300W | Screen: 135" 2.40 Stewart StudioTek 100 | Anamorphic lens: Prismasonic Cinomorph P-100M | AVR: Denon AVR-X7200WA | Amp: 3x Naim Nait 5si Stereo Amplifier| HTPC: Intel Core i7, GTX1080Ti | BR Player: Oppo BDP-103D, Oppo BDP-95, Samsung UBD-K8500 | Speakers: JBL Studio L Series, 7.2.4 | Mains Filter: BlackNoise 1000 V2, BlackNoise 2500, ISOL-8 VMC1080 | Cables: Chord Cadenza Reference, Chord Epic Twin, Audioquest NRG-4
dimi123 is offline  
post #1072 of 2728 Old 05-14-2019, 09:46 AM
Member
 
Join Date: May 2019
Posts: 35
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 3
Quote:
Originally Posted by dimi123 View Post
The device and app has to support the native frame rate of the content. The Apple 4K TV has native frame rate support, others do not.
Thank you for the answer i guess. I am still at a couple of levels too low in information I think and I wasn't able to comprehend what you just mentioned I thought higher frequency is always better at same or higher resolution

~MnVn
msankadi is offline  
post #1073 of 2728 Old 05-14-2019, 10:45 AM
Senior Member
 
dimi123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 232
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 192 Post(s)
Liked: 59
Quote:
Originally Posted by msankadi View Post
Thank you for the answer i guess. I am still at a couple of levels too low in information I think and I wasn't able to comprehend what you just mentioned I thought higher frequency is always better at same or higher resolution

~MnVn
That is not the case. The native frame rate should always be kept, resolution can be higher. Here is an excerpt from Wikipedia regarding frame rates:

"Film, at its native 24fps rate could not be displayed without the necessary pulldown process, often leading to "judder": To convert 24 frames per second into 60 frames per second, every odd frame is repeated, playing twice; Every even frame is tripled. This creates uneven motion, appearing stroboscopic. Other conversions have similar uneven frame doubling."
msankadi likes this.

PJ: Epson EH-TW9300W | Screen: 135" 2.40 Stewart StudioTek 100 | Anamorphic lens: Prismasonic Cinomorph P-100M | AVR: Denon AVR-X7200WA | Amp: 3x Naim Nait 5si Stereo Amplifier| HTPC: Intel Core i7, GTX1080Ti | BR Player: Oppo BDP-103D, Oppo BDP-95, Samsung UBD-K8500 | Speakers: JBL Studio L Series, 7.2.4 | Mains Filter: BlackNoise 1000 V2, BlackNoise 2500, ISOL-8 VMC1080 | Cables: Chord Cadenza Reference, Chord Epic Twin, Audioquest NRG-4
dimi123 is offline  
post #1074 of 2728 Old 05-14-2019, 10:47 AM
Member
 
Join Date: May 2019
Posts: 35
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 3
Quote:
Originally Posted by dimi123 View Post
That is not the case. The native frame rate should always be kept, resolution can be higher. Here is an excerpt from Wikipedia regarding frame rates:



"Film, at its native 24fps rate could not be displayed without the necessary pulldown process, often leading to "judder": To convert 24 frames per second into 60 frames per second, every odd frame is repeated, playing twice; Every even frame is tripled. This creates uneven motion, appearing stroboscopic. Other conversions have similar uneven frame doubling."
Okay now I understand... Is there a reason whr movies aren't shot at 60 fps? Or is there an optimal lower frame rate or technological challenges?

~MnVn
msankadi is offline  
post #1075 of 2728 Old 05-14-2019, 11:01 AM
Senior Member
 
dimi123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 232
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 192 Post(s)
Liked: 59
Quote:
Originally Posted by msankadi View Post
Okay now I understand... Is there a reason whr movies aren't shot at 60 fps? Or is there an optimal lower frame rate or technological challenges?

~MnVn
It's mostly tradition and the fact that 60fps introduces the dreaded "soap opera effect", which is not considered cinematic.

PJ: Epson EH-TW9300W | Screen: 135" 2.40 Stewart StudioTek 100 | Anamorphic lens: Prismasonic Cinomorph P-100M | AVR: Denon AVR-X7200WA | Amp: 3x Naim Nait 5si Stereo Amplifier| HTPC: Intel Core i7, GTX1080Ti | BR Player: Oppo BDP-103D, Oppo BDP-95, Samsung UBD-K8500 | Speakers: JBL Studio L Series, 7.2.4 | Mains Filter: BlackNoise 1000 V2, BlackNoise 2500, ISOL-8 VMC1080 | Cables: Chord Cadenza Reference, Chord Epic Twin, Audioquest NRG-4
dimi123 is offline  
post #1076 of 2728 Old 05-14-2019, 11:08 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 85
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 52 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by msankadi View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by dimi123 View Post
That is not the case. The native frame rate should always be kept, resolution can be higher. Here is an excerpt from Wikipedia regarding frame rates:



"Film, at its native 24fps rate could not be displayed without the necessary pulldown process, often leading to "judder": To convert 24 frames per second into 60 frames per second, every odd frame is repeated, playing twice; Every even frame is tripled. This creates uneven motion, appearing stroboscopic. Other conversions have similar uneven frame doubling."
Okay now I understand... Is there a reason whr movies aren't shot at 60 fps? Or is there an optimal lower frame rate or technological challenges?

~MnVn
Film is/was expensive and 24fps was sufficient to convey the illusion of motion while conserving film. TV and video were encoded at higher framerates because of the peculiarities of AC power (which is why NTSC is 30/60Hz and PAL is 25/50Hz). The 24fps "look" eventually became so associated with film that anything higher seemed "wrong" for cinema.

Experiments with higher framerates like the Hobbit films haven't really been received well, but they're good for 3D.
netwebber is offline  
post #1077 of 2728 Old 05-14-2019, 11:13 AM
Member
 
AVpassion7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 35
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Hi, Anyone upgraded from the 5030 to the 5050 ? Are the sizes the same or is the 5050 larger? I’m about to upgrade, but wondering if I will need to take size into consideration?
AVpassion7 is offline  
post #1078 of 2728 Old 05-14-2019, 11:27 AM
Member
 
Join Date: May 2019
Posts: 35
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 3
Quote:
Originally Posted by netwebber View Post
Film is/was expensive and 24fps was sufficient to convey the illusion of motion while conserving film. TV and video were encoded at higher framerates because of the peculiarities of AC power (which is why NTSC is 30/60Hz and PAL is 25/50Hz). The 24fps "look" eventually became so associated with film that anything higher seemed "wrong" for cinema.

Experiments with higher framerates like the Hobbit films haven't really been received well, but they're good for 3D.
Thanks for the explanation

~MnVn
msankadi is offline  
post #1079 of 2728 Old 05-14-2019, 12:58 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: San Francisco
Posts: 134
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 89 Post(s)
Liked: 33
Quote:
Originally Posted by termite View Post
In the review Art asks us to try out his calibration settings but I don't see them in there .
From the comments underneath the article: "Hi everyone. Yes, Calibration settings are coming. We’re transitioning our website servers, and host, but expect Eric can get his calibration pages up in a few days - they are already written. The new setup changes everyone's workflow. We’ll get it figured out soon enough. -art"

I must say I hardly found it a review, more like a rambling about DLP vs LCD, black levels, sharpness/detail don't matter much, opinions and repeating information. I'm also surprised it wasn't really compared against the 5040UB at all, even though Art says that's been his daily driver and he's had many hours on it.

Rob
PT-AE8000U | LG 55C7P | Oppo UDP-203 | Onkyo TX-NR636 | JBL 5.1
robl2 is offline  
post #1080 of 2728 Old 05-14-2019, 01:05 PM
Senior Member
 
termite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 466
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 200 Post(s)
Liked: 56
Quote:
Originally Posted by AVpassion7 View Post
Hi, Anyone upgraded from the 5030 to the 5050 ? Are the sizes the same or is the 5050 larger? I’m about to upgrade, but wondering if I will need to take size into consideration?
I just did upgrade from 5030 to 5050. 5050 is larger in length and width.
AVpassion7 likes this.

Yamaha AVENTAGE RX-A3060, Altantic Tech System 350 THX
HSU VTF-3 MK5 HP Sub, Klipsch RP-140SA Atmos Height (x4)
Epson 5050UB, 120" 16:9 screen, Panasonic TC-P60ST50 Plasma
Dune HD Solo 4K, Popcorn Hour C-200, unRAID Server Pro OS 6
Oppo BDP-83, OPPO BDP-203, Sony BDP-BX520, Panasonic DMP‑BDT220
termite is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Digital Projectors - Under $3,000 USD MSRP

Tags
5050 , Epson , frame interpolation , motion smoothing

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off