THE Epson 5050UB/6050UB Thread - Page 41 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 1147Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1201 of 3540 Old 05-20-2019, 03:20 PM
Member
 
groggrog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 190
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 53 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by sahil0909 View Post
hey how are you? sorry im quoting an older post, i just wanted to request if you could share your opinion on the epson 4050 vs the 5050? since you had both, is the 5050 much better?
thank you

Hi Sahil -


5050 is definitely a worthwhile upgrade from 4050. Much better in daylight. Not perfect but makes it at least watchable when the 4050 wasn't. Finding that the nighttime picture is sharper overall as well.
groggrog is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1202 of 3540 Old 05-20-2019, 03:33 PM
Senior Member
 
oztheatre's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 247
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 135 Post(s)
Liked: 122
Does anyone know why and when frame interpolation is grayed out? I did have it accessible but now it's grayed out.. strange.. must be a setting in there somewhere?
oztheatre is offline  
post #1203 of 3540 Old 05-20-2019, 03:48 PM
Senior Member
 
Alaric's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Peterborough, Cambridgeshire, UK
Posts: 327
Mentioned: 34 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 100 Post(s)
Liked: 127
Quote:
Originally Posted by oztheatre View Post
Does anyone know why and when frame interpolation is grayed out? I did have it accessible but now it's grayed out.. strange.. must be a setting in there somewhere?
Yup. Needs a 1080p or less signal. Projector info will tell you what you are actually feeding in as many things upscale and grey it out!

Sent from my HTC U11 using Tapatalk

Sound - Marantz SR6011 (pre/atmos), Yamaha Z9, Mirage Om-6's, Om-C2's, 6x Om-R2's, 4x Nanosat (atmos), Dual Paradigim Servo 15's
Additional - MiniDSP : DDRC-88a, 2x4HD
Source -Panasonic DP-UB420, Toshiba HD-XE1, Sony SCD-XE620
Vision - Epson TW9400, eecolour Lut Box, 120" Spitfire Acoustically Transparent Screen
Alaric is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1204 of 3540 Old 05-20-2019, 03:50 PM
Senior Member
 
oztheatre's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 247
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 135 Post(s)
Liked: 122
Quote:
Originally Posted by Alaric View Post
Yup. Needs a 1080p or less signal. Projector info will tell you what you are actually feeding in as many things upscale and grey it out!

Sent from my HTC U11 using Tapatalk
Yeah no good, I'm feeding it a 1080p show from media player and still grayed out. Are you saying there's no motion adjustments with 4K material?
oztheatre is offline  
post #1205 of 3540 Old 05-20-2019, 03:57 PM
Senior Member
 
Alaric's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Peterborough, Cambridgeshire, UK
Posts: 327
Mentioned: 34 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 100 Post(s)
Liked: 127
Quote:
Originally Posted by oztheatre View Post
Yeah no good, I'm feeding it a 1080p show from media player and still grayed out. Are you saying there's no motion adjustments with 4K material?
I'm betting that info on the pj will say whatever you are feeding it, is being upscaled regardless of what the original source is. No FI on 4k!

Sent from my HTC U11 using Tapatalk

Sound - Marantz SR6011 (pre/atmos), Yamaha Z9, Mirage Om-6's, Om-C2's, 6x Om-R2's, 4x Nanosat (atmos), Dual Paradigim Servo 15's
Additional - MiniDSP : DDRC-88a, 2x4HD
Source -Panasonic DP-UB420, Toshiba HD-XE1, Sony SCD-XE620
Vision - Epson TW9400, eecolour Lut Box, 120" Spitfire Acoustically Transparent Screen
Alaric is offline  
post #1206 of 3540 Old 05-20-2019, 04:09 PM
Senior Member
 
oztheatre's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 247
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 135 Post(s)
Liked: 122
Quote:
Originally Posted by Alaric View Post
I'm betting that info on the pj will say whatever you are feeding it, is being upscaled regardless of what the original source is. No FI on 4k!

Sent from my HTC U11 using Tapatalk
Yeah it says 1080, it's just game of thrones.

I wonder if there's a firmware that might fix FI on 4K material? Is it not needed?

Otherwise, spectacular projector!
oztheatre is offline  
post #1207 of 3540 Old 05-20-2019, 04:20 PM
Senior Member
 
Alaric's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Peterborough, Cambridgeshire, UK
Posts: 327
Mentioned: 34 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 100 Post(s)
Liked: 127
Quote:
Originally Posted by oztheatre View Post
Yeah it says 1080, it's just game of thrones.



I wonder if there's a firmware that might fix FI on 4K material? Is it not needed?



Otherwise, spectacular projector!
The only firmware update adds the ability to use 4k enhancement and FI on a 1080p feed..... It may come later, but doubt it for a 4k signal.

If the pj sees a 1080p signal as shown in the info menu on the PJ, then FI should not be grayed out.

Sent from my HTC U11 using Tapatalk

Sound - Marantz SR6011 (pre/atmos), Yamaha Z9, Mirage Om-6's, Om-C2's, 6x Om-R2's, 4x Nanosat (atmos), Dual Paradigim Servo 15's
Additional - MiniDSP : DDRC-88a, 2x4HD
Source -Panasonic DP-UB420, Toshiba HD-XE1, Sony SCD-XE620
Vision - Epson TW9400, eecolour Lut Box, 120" Spitfire Acoustically Transparent Screen
Alaric is offline  
post #1208 of 3540 Old 05-20-2019, 05:14 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Viche's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,932
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 786 Post(s)
Liked: 186
Quote:
Originally Posted by jeahrens View Post
Just watched The Green Book the other day. It has a 2.00:1 AR, hit the lens memory for that AR and viola - no black bars and more immersion than a 1.78:1 screen provides.
What do you do with 2.00:1 AR movies? crop off the top and bottom or live with bars on the left and right?
Viche is online now  
post #1209 of 3540 Old 05-20-2019, 08:36 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Posts: 49
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 53 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by Alaric View Post
I'm betting that info on the pj will say whatever you are feeding it, is being upscaled regardless of what the original source is. No FI on 4k!

Sent from my HTC U11 using Tapatalk
My 5050ub was streaming Netflix this evening at 4K/60 and frame interpolation was fully adjustable within the menu from off to high. I had it off but it wasn't greyed out, I had options to choose. On low, the audio sync was about .25 second off until I turned it to off. BTW,the Netflix series "Dead To Me" looks great in 4K/60 👍👍
Gellert is offline  
post #1210 of 3540 Old 05-20-2019, 08:41 PM
Newbie
 
gates828's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 0
3D Glasses

So what’s the consensus on the best 3D glasses for the 5050? Best value?
gates828 is offline  
post #1211 of 3540 Old 05-20-2019, 10:32 PM
Senior Member
 
oztheatre's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 247
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 135 Post(s)
Liked: 122
Quote:
Originally Posted by Alaric View Post
The only firmware update adds the ability to use 4k enhancement and FI on a 1080p feed..... It may come later, but doubt it for a 4k signal.

If the pj sees a 1080p signal as shown in the info menu on the PJ, then FI should not be grayed out.

Sent from my HTC U11 using Tapatalk
Do you think it's needed for 4K material? Wish we could perfect motion from the player end but doubt that'll happen anytime ever.
oztheatre is offline  
post #1212 of 3540 Old 05-21-2019, 01:00 AM
Senior Member
 
Alaric's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Peterborough, Cambridgeshire, UK
Posts: 327
Mentioned: 34 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 100 Post(s)
Liked: 127
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gellert View Post
My 5050ub was streaming Netflix this evening at 4K/60 and frame interpolation was fully adjustable within the menu from off to high. I had it off but it wasn't greyed out, I had options to choose. On low, the audio sync was about .25 second off until I turned it to off. BTW,the Netflix series "Dead To Me" looks great in 4K/60
Sorry to be rude, but for that sort of claim, I would need a photo of the Projectors own Info menu to believe this.

I've seen too many cases of people swearing blind that their projector is broken and FI doesn't work, only to sheepishly return after doing this check to find out the player or amp was scaling. I would expect the same here, though down....and if not, the image would give an idea of how to repeat it!

Sent from my HTC U11 using Tapatalk

Sound - Marantz SR6011 (pre/atmos), Yamaha Z9, Mirage Om-6's, Om-C2's, 6x Om-R2's, 4x Nanosat (atmos), Dual Paradigim Servo 15's
Additional - MiniDSP : DDRC-88a, 2x4HD
Source -Panasonic DP-UB420, Toshiba HD-XE1, Sony SCD-XE620
Vision - Epson TW9400, eecolour Lut Box, 120" Spitfire Acoustically Transparent Screen
Alaric is offline  
post #1213 of 3540 Old 05-21-2019, 01:12 AM
Senior Member
 
Alaric's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Peterborough, Cambridgeshire, UK
Posts: 327
Mentioned: 34 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 100 Post(s)
Liked: 127
Quote:
Originally Posted by oztheatre View Post
Do you think it's needed for 4K material? Wish we could perfect motion from the player end but doubt that'll happen anytime ever.
"Needed", No, certainly not. A *lot* of people, including most critical reviewers turn it off or set it low and always like the option to disable.

However other people, who are particularly sensitive to motion can find it helps. If you are one of these, to get 4k FI takes a new JVC and a lot more money

Sent from my HTC U11 using Tapatalk
Luminated67 likes this.

Sound - Marantz SR6011 (pre/atmos), Yamaha Z9, Mirage Om-6's, Om-C2's, 6x Om-R2's, 4x Nanosat (atmos), Dual Paradigim Servo 15's
Additional - MiniDSP : DDRC-88a, 2x4HD
Source -Panasonic DP-UB420, Toshiba HD-XE1, Sony SCD-XE620
Vision - Epson TW9400, eecolour Lut Box, 120" Spitfire Acoustically Transparent Screen
Alaric is offline  
post #1214 of 3540 Old 05-21-2019, 02:27 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 1,027
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 751 Post(s)
Liked: 114
Quote:
Originally Posted by groggrog View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by sahil0909 View Post
hey how are you? sorry im quoting an older post, i just wanted to request if you could share your opinion on the epson 4050 vs the 5050? since you had both, is the 5050 much better?
thank you

Hi Sahil -


5050 is definitely a worthwhile upgrade from 4050. Much better in daylight. Not perfect but makes it at least watchable when the 4050 wasn't. Finding that the nighttime picture is sharper overall as well.
Thank you very much for your kind response, would you say the 4050 was dim, like with hdr content? i saw a good video comparison of the 5050 and 4050 projectors side by side with a 4k hdr movie playing if im not mistaken, and the 4050 appeared a little dim in contrast scenes. Was that your experience as well?
sahil0909 is offline  
post #1215 of 3540 Old 05-21-2019, 03:32 AM
Senior Member
 
Alaric's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Peterborough, Cambridgeshire, UK
Posts: 327
Mentioned: 34 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 100 Post(s)
Liked: 127
Quote:
Originally Posted by gates828 View Post
So what’s the consensus on the best 3D glasses for the 5050? Best value?
I did a bit of a comparison here
https://sites.google.com/view/epson-tw9400/home

All of the glasses create a significant light loss and have some form of color skew.

My old Xpand have the least loss and skew, but are old, not that comfy and tricky to get hold of if you don't already have a pair. The next best are the Epson's in terms of measurement, lighter, comfier and easy to get hold of. They are however quite expensive and you can't change out the rechargeable battery, though you should get many years of service before they die!

The cheapest i've found are Samsung, which are very cheap, light and comfy. They don't block light from the edges and are a bit of an odd design.

All of them have a skew though, so i'd recommend sticking to all one brand and getting a setting calibrated - You can pull over some settings from SDR stuff though and also the inbuilt 1-8 greyscale white patterns work for greyscale calibration, as irritatingly you can't FORCE the pj manually into 3D mode, so needs a special 3D disc to do it manually - I've yet to find a way to get HCFR inbuilt patterns to run in 3D
Luminated67 likes this.

Sound - Marantz SR6011 (pre/atmos), Yamaha Z9, Mirage Om-6's, Om-C2's, 6x Om-R2's, 4x Nanosat (atmos), Dual Paradigim Servo 15's
Additional - MiniDSP : DDRC-88a, 2x4HD
Source -Panasonic DP-UB420, Toshiba HD-XE1, Sony SCD-XE620
Vision - Epson TW9400, eecolour Lut Box, 120" Spitfire Acoustically Transparent Screen
Alaric is offline  
post #1216 of 3540 Old 05-21-2019, 08:46 AM
Super Moderator
 
teachsac's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Elk Grove, CA
Posts: 14,323
Mentioned: 78 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1269 Post(s)
Liked: 2075
Price talk, sales talk, deals, and retail links are not permitted outside of the deal's area. Posts and associated quotes removed. Please stick to technical discussions.

https://www.avsforum.com/forum/68-di...als-forum.html

Please use the report post button to alert staff to problematic posts. Never quote or respond to them yourself.

Panasonic DP-UB820 -> Yamaha CX-A5100 -> Sony XBR-75X940C; Mediabridge 6' and 15' HDMI cables.

Last edited by teachsac; 05-21-2019 at 08:53 AM.
teachsac is offline  
post #1217 of 3540 Old 05-21-2019, 08:49 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
jeahrens's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Iowa, USA
Posts: 4,052
Mentioned: 88 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2034 Post(s)
Liked: 1307
Quote:
Originally Posted by Viche View Post
What do you do with 2.00:1 AR movies? crop off the top and bottom or live with bars on the left and right?
Since 2.35:1 is wider than 2.00:1 you zoom the picture until the top/bottom of the image fills the screen and save the lens memory. This leaves pillarboxing on the left/right but crops nothing. Same thing for 2.20:1 content. The wider you get the less pillarboxing there is. The attached picture should help you visualize how the ARs are shown on a scope screen vs. a TV ratio 16:9 screen.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	AR Screen Comp.jpg
Views:	52
Size:	52.5 KB
ID:	2569582  
CallingMrBenzo likes this.

jeahrens is offline  
post #1218 of 3540 Old 05-21-2019, 09:24 AM
Senior Member
 
ckronengold's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Boston Strong / Jersey Strong
Posts: 477
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 248 Post(s)
Liked: 106
Quote:
Originally Posted by tsharp View Post

based on what i understand from all the projection calculators, in a light-controlled room, 20' away, with a 135" 2.35:1 screen, i should be golden, right? Am i missing something noobish?
golden.

Video: Epson 5050 / nVidia Shield / OPPO-103
Audio: Marantz 7010 / MartinLogan Motion 40 (LR), 50XT (center), M2 (surrounds)
Streaming: nVidia Shield / Roku Ultra / Chromecast Ultra
NAS: Synology 1515+ Server: Ubuntu 18.04, i7-8700 CPU
HTPC: Win10 Pro 64-bit, i5 750 Radeon HD 5850
ckronengold is offline  
post #1219 of 3540 Old 05-21-2019, 10:42 AM
Member
 
Join Date: May 2019
Posts: 25
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 4
Quote:
Originally Posted by ckronengold View Post
golden.
Exciting to get confirmation! I'm a very visual person, so it's hard for me to trust my imagination. Will return to my lurking...
tsharp is online now  
post #1220 of 3540 Old 05-21-2019, 11:29 AM
Member
 
groggrog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 190
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 53 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by sahil0909 View Post
Thank you very much for your kind response, would you say the 4050 was dim, like with hdr content? i saw a good video comparison of the 5050 and 4050 projectors side by side with a 4k hdr movie playing if im not mistaken, and the 4050 appeared a little dim in contrast scenes. Was that your experience as well?
The 5050 is slightly brighter. 4050 was slightly dim and after adjusting brightness it was better especially at night. I think the 5050 is a nice upgrade from 4050 in picture quality overall. Not that the 4050 is bad by any means, but the 5050 takes it up a notch.
groggrog is online now  
post #1221 of 3540 Old 05-21-2019, 12:27 PM
Senior Member
 
Maestrosc's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Riverside SoCal
Posts: 338
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 356 Post(s)
Liked: 238
Has anyone measured the lumen output on these and compared them to the advertised? I know the RS4500 advertises 3000 but was measured to only actually put out 2600. Would love to know actually measured output of these units?


Am looking for a solution for a 140" wide .8 gain screen. Anyone with a similar setup, if you would share your experiences with a similar setup, let me know,.
Maestrosc is offline  
post #1222 of 3540 Old 05-21-2019, 12:31 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Viche's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,932
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 786 Post(s)
Liked: 186
Quote:
Originally Posted by jeahrens View Post
Since 2.35:1 is wider than 2.00:1 you zoom the picture until the top/bottom of the image fills the screen and save the lens memory. This leaves pillarboxing on the left/right but crops nothing. Same thing for 2.20:1 content. The wider you get the less pillarboxing there is. The attached picture should help you visualize how the ARs are shown on a scope screen vs. a TV ratio 16:9 screen.

Got it. So you take the Constant Height approach. What if the image is 2.4:1. Guess you have to pillar box the top and bottom...
Viche is online now  
post #1223 of 3540 Old 05-21-2019, 12:34 PM
Senior Member
 
Alaric's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Peterborough, Cambridgeshire, UK
Posts: 327
Mentioned: 34 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 100 Post(s)
Liked: 127
Quote:
Originally Posted by Maestrosc View Post
Has anyone measured the lumen output on these and compared them to the advertised? I know the RS4500 advertises 3000 but was measured to only actually put out 2600. Would love to know actually measured output of these units?





Am looking for a solution for a 140" wide .8 gain screen. Anyone with a similar setup, if you would share your experiences with a similar setup, let me know,.
The projector reviews one has lumen output and it is manufacturer lower rated than what it puts out, ie it is brighter!
Though it does depend on the mode and particularly if you use the filter or high power mode!

Sent from my HTC U11 using Tapatalk

Sound - Marantz SR6011 (pre/atmos), Yamaha Z9, Mirage Om-6's, Om-C2's, 6x Om-R2's, 4x Nanosat (atmos), Dual Paradigim Servo 15's
Additional - MiniDSP : DDRC-88a, 2x4HD
Source -Panasonic DP-UB420, Toshiba HD-XE1, Sony SCD-XE620
Vision - Epson TW9400, eecolour Lut Box, 120" Spitfire Acoustically Transparent Screen
Alaric is offline  
post #1224 of 3540 Old 05-21-2019, 02:07 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
jeahrens's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Iowa, USA
Posts: 4,052
Mentioned: 88 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2034 Post(s)
Liked: 1307
Quote:
Originally Posted by Viche View Post
Got it. So you take the Constant Height approach. What if the image is 2.4:1. Guess you have to pillar box the top and bottom...
2.35:1/2.40:1 are within inches of each other for the most part. When a movie says one or the other on the case it can really vary. Sometimes I will get razor thin letterbox bars, sometimes an inch of overscan. Neither are noticeable unless you are right on top of the screen. The only time you would actually notice any letterboxing would be with The Hateful Eight and it's 2.76:1 AR. Still a much better presentation than a 1.78:1 screen will offer with that title.
CallingMrBenzo likes this.

jeahrens is offline  
post #1225 of 3540 Old 05-21-2019, 03:12 PM
Advanced Member
 
seplant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Fort Wayne, IN, USA
Posts: 845
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 338 Post(s)
Liked: 144
Quote:
Originally Posted by Alaric View Post
You can pull over some settings from SDR stuff though and also the inbuilt 1-8 greyscale white patterns work for greyscale calibration, as irritatingly you can't FORCE the pj manually into 3D mode, so needs a special 3D disc to do it manually - I've yet to find a way to get HCFR inbuilt patterns to run in 3D
The 5040/6040 can be forced into 3D mode, so I'd be surprised if the 5050/6050 couldn't be. On the 5040/6040, it was just a matter of going to Signal > 3D Setup > 2D-to-3D Conversion. I used this setting with HCFR built-in patterns several times with no issues.
seplant is offline  
post #1226 of 3540 Old 05-21-2019, 03:27 PM
Advanced Member
 
Liquid$team's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 517
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 220 Post(s)
Liked: 107
Quote:
Originally Posted by BillZ View Post
Chalk it up to heat stroke.
Did the same thing.... except through a conduit the wall not an attic. lol It sucked
Liquid$team is offline  
post #1227 of 3540 Old 05-21-2019, 03:35 PM
Senior Member
 
Alaric's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Peterborough, Cambridgeshire, UK
Posts: 327
Mentioned: 34 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 100 Post(s)
Liked: 127
Quote:
Originally Posted by seplant View Post
The 5040/6040 can be forced into 3D mode, so I'd be surprised if the 5050/6050 couldn't be. On the 5040/6040, it was just a matter of going to Signal > 3D Setup > 2D-to-3D Conversion. I used this setting with HCFR built-in patterns several times with no issues.
Interesting.... 3D setup has an auto, 2D and 3D modes.... 3D gives access to side by side and top and bottom, neither of which i know much about and gives a quite peculiar picture!
However crucially for calibration, it drops into the 3D color modes and as such should work with HCFR!
Thank You!

Sent from my HTC U11 using Tapatalk

Sound - Marantz SR6011 (pre/atmos), Yamaha Z9, Mirage Om-6's, Om-C2's, 6x Om-R2's, 4x Nanosat (atmos), Dual Paradigim Servo 15's
Additional - MiniDSP : DDRC-88a, 2x4HD
Source -Panasonic DP-UB420, Toshiba HD-XE1, Sony SCD-XE620
Vision - Epson TW9400, eecolour Lut Box, 120" Spitfire Acoustically Transparent Screen
Alaric is offline  
post #1228 of 3540 Old 05-21-2019, 05:16 PM
Advanced Member
 
Liquid$team's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 517
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 220 Post(s)
Liked: 107
The PC6050 is listed on the Epson website as having 20% more contrast. Is that accurate? Is that the only performance difference? Anyone see a head to head yet?

nevermind I found a head to head posted an hour ago on you tube
Liquid$team is offline  
post #1229 of 3540 Old 05-21-2019, 06:22 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
MidnightWatcher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: The Great White North
Posts: 5,497
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 168 Post(s)
Liked: 167
Quote:
Originally Posted by Liquid$team View Post
The PC6050 is listed on the Epson website as having 20% more contrast. Is that accurate? Is that the only performance difference? Anyone see a head to head yet?

nevermind I found a head to head posted an hour ago on you tube https://youtu.be/f-OpwDCagDc
Good video but they didn't seem to try adjusting settings on the 5050 to match the 6050, especially the sharpness. If this is truly how detailed the PQ looks on the 6050, it may be worth the extra money all things considered. I want to see a similar comparison post calibration.

Come to think of it, I do recall some 5050 owners saying a replacement 5050 they received due to an issue had a sharper image than the one they originally had. Perhaps not all 5050s are created equal.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Photos Of My Theater | Vero 4K | Epson 5030UB + Peerless PRG-UNV | 100" EluneVision Reference 4K Screen | Onkyo TX-NR555 @ 5.2.2 | 4 x ADX Maximus w/ Dayton Audio SA230 | Polk Audio RTi A9 + CSi A6 + OWM3 + Micca M8C + SVS PC2000 | 40" HDTV w/ Z83V Mini PC + MoviePosterApp | Z83V + DietPi FTP Server + 3 x 8TB HDDs + 4 x DLink DHP-701AV

Last edited by MidnightWatcher; 05-21-2019 at 06:26 PM.
MidnightWatcher is online now  
post #1230 of 3540 Old 05-21-2019, 07:03 PM
Advanced Member
 
Liquid$team's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 517
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 220 Post(s)
Liked: 107
Quote:
Originally Posted by MidnightWatcher View Post
Good video but they didn't seem to try adjusting settings on the 5050 to match the 6050, especially the sharpness. If this is truly how detailed the PQ looks on the 6050, it may be worth the extra money all things considered. I want to see a similar comparison post calibration.

Come to think of it, I do recall some 5050 owners saying a replacement 5050 they received due to an issue had a sharper image than the one they originally had. Perhaps not all 5050s are created equal.
There have been multiple 5050 owners that needed replacement units already? What were the issues? Not power supply again was it?
Liquid$team is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Digital Projectors - Under $3,000 USD MSRP

Tags
5050 , Epson , frame interpolation , motion smoothing

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off