THE Epson 5050UB/6050UB Thread - Page 80 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 1189Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #2371 of 3831 Old 07-16-2019, 12:45 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
skylarlove1999's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 1,621
Mentioned: 15 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 824 Post(s)
Liked: 578
@MGBPUFF and @Gellert . Two of you seem to be stirring things up without adding very much to the conversation. I and everyone else here would greatly appreciate it if you don't have anything nice to say just refrain from saying anything at all. I know I have asked this before from both of you. I really do not want to drag Mark Henninger into this bs issue but I have no problem sending him a direct message and having him review this thread. It is privilege to be on this site. People who have added way more to AVS Forum have been permanently banned from posting. Please respect your fellow forum members. These are my last words on the subject. Next step is to dm Mark and let him decide what actions need to be taken.

Sent from my SM-G965U using Tapatalk
skylarlove1999 is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2372 of 3831 Old 07-16-2019, 02:45 PM
Member
 
Join Date: May 2019
Posts: 27
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 5
From http://www.reviewtranslations.com/pr...ulator_en.html , I put in what will be my lens to screen, room dimensions, and 133" 16:9 1.0 gain AT screen.

The luminance returns this - see screenshot. Is that ok? Too bright for a light controlled room?




Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
tsharp is offline  
post #2373 of 3831 Old 07-16-2019, 02:55 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
skylarlove1999's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 1,621
Mentioned: 15 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 824 Post(s)
Liked: 578
Quote:
Originally Posted by tsharp View Post
From http://www.reviewtranslations.com/pr...ulator_en.html , I put in what will be my lens to screen, room dimensions, and 133" 16:9 1.0 gain AT screen.

The luminance returns this - see screenshot. Is that ok? Too bright for a light controlled room?




Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
I don't think that would be too many lumens most likely you'll be running the lamp in high-power for HDR and in eco mode for SDR. I would take those estimates with a grain of salt as well. Do you plan on using the color filter for HDR content? If you do you will lose some more lumens but should still be fine.

Sent from my SM-G965U using Tapatalk
tsharp likes this.
skylarlove1999 is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2374 of 3831 Old 07-16-2019, 03:01 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
skylarlove1999's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 1,621
Mentioned: 15 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 824 Post(s)
Liked: 578
Quote:
Originally Posted by skylarlove1999 View Post
I don't think that would be too many lumens most likely you'll be running the lamp in high-power for HDR and in eco mode for SDR. I would take those estimates with a grain of salt as well. Do you plan on using the color filter for HDR content? If you do you will lose some more lumens but should still be fine.

Sent from my SM-G965U using Tapatalk
That maximum recommended footlamberts on that scale is for SDR not HDR. HDR would probably be around 33-37 footlamberts

Sent from my SM-G965U using Tapatalk
tsharp likes this.
skylarlove1999 is online now  
post #2375 of 3831 Old 07-16-2019, 03:22 PM
Member
 
Join Date: May 2019
Posts: 27
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 5
Quote:
Originally Posted by skylarlove1999 View Post
That maximum recommended footlamberts on that scale is for SDR not HDR. HDR would probably be around 33-37 footlamberts

Sent from my SM-G965U using Tapatalk


Ah! Gotcha - thanks for the input. I don't have drywall yet but making sure all plans are sound.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
tsharp is offline  
post #2376 of 3831 Old 07-16-2019, 04:26 PM
Advanced Member
 
CallingMrBenzo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Norther Va
Posts: 883
Mentioned: 14 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 635 Post(s)
Liked: 1388
THE Epson 5050UB/6050UB Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by tsharp View Post
From http://www.reviewtranslations.com/pr...ulator_en.html , I put in what will be my lens to screen, room dimensions, and 133" 16:9 1.0 gain AT screen.

The luminance returns this - see screenshot. Is that ok? Too bright for a light controlled room?




Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk


For HDR to be done right JVC has specified 50ftlbs to be the ideal target number when they released the new crop of 4K projectors. When I had my projector calibrated Chad said the more lumens the better the experience I was at 79/80 calibrated for HDR and 30 for SDR

Marantz 7011- Panasonic UB-820- Xbox One X - Epson HC 5050UB *Calibrated by ChadB* - Elite Screen's 2:35:1 AT 115' - PSA MTM 110's L/C/R - Mixed Surrounds - SVS Elevations Atmos X2 - Dual PSA TV36 B&C Neo's *MiniDSP HD* Took the Red Pill BEQ
CallingMrBenzo is online now  
post #2377 of 3831 Old 07-16-2019, 05:01 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
skylarlove1999's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 1,621
Mentioned: 15 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 824 Post(s)
Liked: 578
Quote:
Originally Posted by CallingMrBenzo View Post
For HDR to be done right JVC has specified 50ftlbs to be the ideal target number when they released the new crop of 4K projectors. When I had my projector calibrated Chad said the more lumens the better the experience I was at 79/80 calibrated for HDR and 30 for SDR
Did Chad say that he was getting the JVC projectors to give him 50 foot Lamberts? I'm just curious I hadn't heard that any of them besides the 4500 could get close to that

Sent from my SM-G965U using Tapatalk
skylarlove1999 is online now  
post #2378 of 3831 Old 07-16-2019, 05:44 PM
Member
 
Join Date: May 2019
Posts: 27
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 5
Quote:
Originally Posted by CallingMrBenzo View Post
For HDR to be done right JVC has specified 50ftlbs to be the ideal target number when they released the new crop of 4K projectors. When I had my projector calibrated Chad said the more lumens the better the experience I was at 79/80 calibrated for HDR and 30 for SDR
Yeah, that site I was using was actually set on the 5040, so it's not 100% accurate. Just saw that when I was playing with the projection angles and was concerned. When I use projectorcentral [1] and the below settings, I get 44 fL. It says that's for high ambient light, and I have a completely light controllable space. Not sure what power mode that is, but I hope I can still get HDR since my cables are already pulled!

16:9
16' throw
133" Image Size
1 Screen Gain

[1] - https://www.projectorcentral.com/Eps...ulator-pro.htm
tsharp is offline  
post #2379 of 3831 Old 07-16-2019, 05:45 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
FendersRule's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Northwest
Posts: 1,763
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 39 Post(s)
Liked: 28
Got it on and finally got hte image centered properly. Looks nice and vibrant.

For some reason, my PS3 is "not supported" by the 5050UB. I swapped the HDMI cable and it didn't make a difference. The Xbox One pops right on up.

Something about the PS3 that the projector doesn't like. Any ideas?
FendersRule is offline  
post #2380 of 3831 Old 07-16-2019, 06:06 PM
Advanced Member
 
CallingMrBenzo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Norther Va
Posts: 883
Mentioned: 14 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 635 Post(s)
Liked: 1388
Quote:
Originally Posted by tsharp View Post
Yeah, that site I was using was actually set on the 5040, so it's not 100% accurate. Just saw that when I was playing with the projection angles and was concerned. When I use projectorcentral [1] and the below settings, I get 44 fL. It says that's for high ambient light, and I have a completely light controllable space. Not sure what power mode that is, but I hope I can still get HDR since my cables are already pulled!



16:9

16' throw

133" Image Size

1 Screen Gain



[1] - https://www.projectorcentral.com/Eps...ulator-pro.htm


I’m in an 80% velvet covered space. Windows covered etc. I used to think most 4K movies were dim and always played with the HDR slider. Since the calibration which was in Natural mode I’ve never touched it. I was worried initially when discussing with Chad that we would forgo using the filter giving up 10% P3 coverage but I’ve been quite happy since.

Your screen is bigger than mine. I’m at 115 2:35:1 at 16 ft throw as well. I’m also at 1.0 gain. I think you still should have enough light.
tsharp likes this.

Marantz 7011- Panasonic UB-820- Xbox One X - Epson HC 5050UB *Calibrated by ChadB* - Elite Screen's 2:35:1 AT 115' - PSA MTM 110's L/C/R - Mixed Surrounds - SVS Elevations Atmos X2 - Dual PSA TV36 B&C Neo's *MiniDSP HD* Took the Red Pill BEQ
CallingMrBenzo is online now  
post #2381 of 3831 Old 07-16-2019, 06:10 PM
Advanced Member
 
CallingMrBenzo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Norther Va
Posts: 883
Mentioned: 14 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 635 Post(s)
Liked: 1388
Quote:
Originally Posted by skylarlove1999 View Post
Did Chad say that he was getting the JVC projectors to give him 50 foot Lamberts? I'm just curious I hadn't heard that any of them besides the 4500 could get close to that

Sent from my SM-G965U using Tapatalk


I mentioned to him that I read the magic number from JVC was 50 foot Lambert’s and he said it was a good target to achieved and that more light output the better for HDR.

We did discuss there calibrated P3 color, contrast and how they handled HDR.

Marantz 7011- Panasonic UB-820- Xbox One X - Epson HC 5050UB *Calibrated by ChadB* - Elite Screen's 2:35:1 AT 115' - PSA MTM 110's L/C/R - Mixed Surrounds - SVS Elevations Atmos X2 - Dual PSA TV36 B&C Neo's *MiniDSP HD* Took the Red Pill BEQ
CallingMrBenzo is online now  
post #2382 of 3831 Old 07-16-2019, 06:19 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
skylarlove1999's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 1,621
Mentioned: 15 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 824 Post(s)
Liked: 578
Quote:
Originally Posted by FendersRule View Post
Got it on and finally got hte image centered properly. Looks nice and vibrant.



For some reason, my PS3 is "not supported" by the 5050UB. I swapped the HDMI cable and it didn't make a difference. The Xbox One pops right on up.



Something about the PS3 that the projector doesn't like. Any ideas?
Are you running a PS3 directly to the 5050 or you going through a receiver?

Sent from my SM-G965U using Tapatalk
skylarlove1999 is online now  
post #2383 of 3831 Old 07-16-2019, 06:24 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
FendersRule's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Northwest
Posts: 1,763
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 39 Post(s)
Liked: 28
I have it going through my Denon AVS-991, as is the Xbox One is doing.......
FendersRule is offline  
post #2384 of 3831 Old 07-16-2019, 06:30 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
skylarlove1999's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 1,621
Mentioned: 15 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 824 Post(s)
Liked: 578
Quote:
Originally Posted by FendersRule View Post
I have it going through my Denon AVS-991, as is the Xbox One is doing.......
Try running your PS3 directly to the 5050 and see if you get any different results. I don't believe your AVR supports 4K. Are you trying to get 4K or are you saying you just aren't getting any signal from your PS3?

Sent from my SM-G965U using Tapatalk
skylarlove1999 is online now  
post #2385 of 3831 Old 07-16-2019, 06:41 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
FendersRule's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Northwest
Posts: 1,763
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 39 Post(s)
Liked: 28
I'm just trying to get ANY signal at all from it. I could run it straight to the 5050UB, but something tells me there's something in the PS3's setting that the 5050UB doesn't like.

I doubt the AVR is the issue, being that my Xbox One powers through just fine. I even swapped the Xbox One's cable to the PS3 (through the Denon) and it still had the same issue.

I did the PS3 power button hold-down thing, and no avail.

I suppose I could just get rid of my PS3 and use my Xbox One to play Blu-rays. That's the only reason I was holding around with the PS3 anyways...it's a nice blu-ray player still.
FendersRule is offline  
post #2386 of 3831 Old 07-16-2019, 06:54 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
FendersRule's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Northwest
Posts: 1,763
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 39 Post(s)
Liked: 28
Hmm. plugged it directly up and it works....which I can't really do long term.
FendersRule is offline  
post #2387 of 3831 Old 07-16-2019, 06:56 PM
Senior Member
 
drober30's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: MI
Posts: 264
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 65 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by FendersRule View Post
Hmm. plugged it directly up and it works....which I can't really do long term.
Have you gone into the Denons setup menu and checked that the HDMI input for the playstation is assigned?

Also, have you plugged the playstation into the HDMI port your using for xbox?

Does the Xbox work in the HDMI port your trying to hook the playstation up to?

Process of elimination will point to setup issue or failed HDMI port.

Last edited by drober30; 07-16-2019 at 07:01 PM.
drober30 is offline  
post #2388 of 3831 Old 07-16-2019, 06:56 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
skylarlove1999's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 1,621
Mentioned: 15 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 824 Post(s)
Liked: 578
Quote:
Originally Posted by FendersRule View Post
I'm just trying to get ANY signal at all from it. I could run it straight to the 5050UB, but something tells me there's something in the PS3's setting that the 5050UB doesn't like.



I doubt the AVR is the issue, being that my Xbox One powers through just fine. I even swapped the Xbox One's cable to the PS3 (through the Denon) and it still had the same issue.



I did the PS3 power button hold-down thing, and no avail.



I suppose I could just get rid of my PS3 and use my Xbox One to play Blu-rays. That's the only reason I was holding around with the PS3 anyways...it's a nice blu-ray player still.
Under the Advanced settings under EDID what do you have that set to? You do not want it on Expanded since your AVR does not support 4K
Since I have seen that cause some handshake issues.

Sent from my SM-G965U using Tapatalk
skylarlove1999 is online now  
post #2389 of 3831 Old 07-16-2019, 07:00 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
FendersRule's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Northwest
Posts: 1,763
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 39 Post(s)
Liked: 28
Solved. It was the "Deep Color Output" setting that didn't jive on the PS3. That's basically HDR. I set that to "off" and the PS3 purs....

In Layman's terms, the PS3 got a signal that said "Hey, I support 4k and HDR!"

The PS3 then went "Sweet, turn all that HDR (or 10-bit + color stuff) goodness on!"

Meanwhile, my Denon AVR just can't pass that stuff through due to how old it is. PS3 didn't know.

Similar results to Xbox One if you set it on from 8-bit to 10-bit, the screen goes black.

Skylar, your recommendation was on-spot. I'll post my initial feedback shortly.
boblinds and Alaric like this.
FendersRule is offline  
post #2390 of 3831 Old 07-16-2019, 07:08 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
skylarlove1999's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 1,621
Mentioned: 15 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 824 Post(s)
Liked: 578
Quote:
Originally Posted by FendersRule View Post
Solved. It was the "Deep Color Output" setting that didn't jive on the PS3. That's basically HDR. I set that to "off" and the PS3 purs....



In Layman's terms, the PS3 got a signal that said "Hey, I support 4k and HDR!"



The PS3 then went "Sweet, turn all that HDR (or 10-bit + color stuff) goodness on!"



Meanwhile, my Denon AVR just can't pass that stuff through due to how old it is. PS3 didn't know.



Similar results to Xbox One if you set it on from 8-bit to 10-bit, the screen goes black.



Skylar, your recommendation was on-spot. I'll post my initial feedback shortly.
Glad we could all work together to get it working. Take your time and enjoy. Good times.

Sent from my SM-G965U using Tapatalk
tsharp likes this.
skylarlove1999 is online now  
post #2391 of 3831 Old 07-16-2019, 07:43 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
FendersRule's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Northwest
Posts: 1,763
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 39 Post(s)
Liked: 28
OK, here's some quick scatter brain thoughts.

I calibrated all modes. By "calibrated", I mean uber basics, such as turning off interpolation and setting brightness and contrast only.

I find that "Natural" and "Bright Cinema" offer the best picture out of the box. "Cinema" is "Eco" mode. It sets off warmer tones and doesn't allow the image to pop at all. I guess a good mode if you want to...save energy?

Honestly, it's hard to tell the difference from Natural and Bright Cinema for my eyes. Both clipped whites the same on the AVS calibration disc. Both of these modes I would gladly "set it and forget" it to for gaming and cinema.

"Bright Digital" gave out the brightest picture I have ever seen in projectors. I felt almost blinded. This thing pours lumens out. Be warned, this mode will rev the fan up more.

Keep in mind my feedback is not using UHD discs, nor is it using 10-bit colors. I'm using the 5050UB with old stuff, but old good 1080p Blu-ray stuff.

First off, 4k enhancement for 1080p content blurs it up fine text to my eyes, just like I would imagine based on previous Epson screenshots. For movies, it is hard to tell when you switch it on/off, but for dashboards (PS3 AND Xbox), it blurs the text. By blur, don't take it literally, but I mean "smooths." It doesn't allow that crisp edge to be as crisp as it was with it off. I am deciding from this point on to leave 4k enhancement off for EVERYTHING 1080p sourced. Honestly, my take is that if you don't see pixel structure, leave this "Off" and don't look back for 1080p stuff.

Secondly, image enhancement is really cool. 4 and 5 are too harsh. 1 is not good enough. 2-3 are good settings, and it really adds a nice picture for everything I've seen thus far--far more than 4k enhancement does or should do. Right now I have it on "3", but I may further explore to see what is best, "2" or "3".

I'm a person that doesn't like my image altered or fussed with and image enhancement really is something that I can do. But, one thing I won't do is set a mode for each thing I do. So I will continue to see if "2" or "3" is best for 100% of everything. If it's 2, then I will leave it on 2. So far, 3 seems appropriate for the 3 movies I tested with.

How does this compare to an old 8700UB? It's not going to change your 1080p film experience in general, but I will say first and foremost the picture is VERY vibrant and punchy, where-as the 8700 was muted (but just as accurate). This thing obviously has more contrast--I can't tell you if the blacks seem blacker (probably so) but I can tell you that there is far more contrast in the picture which gives a pleasing image. Definitely an upgrade.

Not a $3,000 upgrade if all you want to do is 1080p 8-bit stuff, but definitely an upgrade.

This is a very good projector for 1080p cinema viewing. I'm excited to see what it does in gaming, HDR, and UHDs.

Last edited by FendersRule; 07-16-2019 at 07:52 PM.
FendersRule is offline  
post #2392 of 3831 Old 07-17-2019, 12:43 AM
Senior Member
 
MGBPUFF's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Georgia
Posts: 211
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 198 Post(s)
Liked: 87
Quote:
Originally Posted by lganz316 View Post
Anyone here knows if Fire TV stick will work with this projector?

Sent from my Moto G (5S) Plus using Tapatalk
I don't own a 5050UB, but in lieu of the PS troubles on the 5040UB, I would not try to power the Firestick from the 5050UB HDMI. Plug the Firestick power adapter into the same receptacle that powers the projector, just to be safe and not add increased PS load to the 5050UB. However, the projector does not have built in speakers, so what are your plans for sound?
lganz316 and Luminated67 like this.

Last edited by MGBPUFF; 07-17-2019 at 01:33 AM.
MGBPUFF is offline  
post #2393 of 3831 Old 07-17-2019, 01:10 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Luminated67's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Posts: 1,060
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 674 Post(s)
Liked: 381
Quote:
Originally Posted by MGBPUFF View Post
I don't own a 5050UB, but in lieu of the PS troubles on the 5040UB, I would not try to power the Firestick from the 5050UB HDMI. Plug the Firestick power adapter into the same receptacle that powers the projector, just to be safe and not add increased PS load to the 5050UB.
Agreed

Epson EH-TW9400 - QualGear Fixed Frame 100” - Sony x700 BRP & Panasonic 420 BRP - Sony 1080 AVR - IPL Acoustics M1TLs & IPL Acoustics AVC Pro Centre, Four KEF surrounds & 2 Sub boxes (10” Sub + 10” Passive Radiator)
Luminated67 is offline  
post #2394 of 3831 Old 07-17-2019, 05:44 AM
Senior Member
 
Alaric's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Peterborough, Cambridgeshire, UK
Posts: 330
Mentioned: 34 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 103 Post(s)
Liked: 128
Quote:
Originally Posted by tsharp View Post
From http://www.reviewtranslations.com/pr...ulator_en.html , I put in what will be my lens to screen, room dimensions, and 133" 16:9 1.0 gain AT screen.

The luminance returns this - see screenshot. Is that ok? Too bright for a light controlled room?

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
The Epson has an iris which you can stopper down, and will still work in normal/fast within that range!

I'm on a 120" screen, velvet/velour batcave and for HD/SDR i've got the IRIS notched down by 4 or 5 spots on eco power to give me 30ftl iirc

HDR eats light, particularly with the filter and that needs high power mode, but i can get away with Medium using a Natural non filter setting depending on movies and taste!

Put simply, you can never have too much light
CallingMrBenzo and tsharp like this.

Sound - Marantz SR6011 (pre/atmos), Yamaha Z9, Mirage Om-6's, Om-C2's, 6x Om-R2's, 4x Nanosat (atmos), Dual Paradigim Servo 15's
Additional - MiniDSP : DDRC-88a, 2x4HD
Source -Panasonic DP-UB420, Toshiba HD-XE1, Sony SCD-XE620
Vision - Epson TW9400, eecolour Lut Box, 120" Spitfire Acoustically Transparent Screen
Alaric is offline  
post #2395 of 3831 Old 07-17-2019, 06:24 AM
Member
 
Join Date: May 2019
Posts: 27
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 5
Quote:
Originally Posted by Alaric View Post
The Epson has an iris which you can stopper down, and will still work in normal/fast within that range!

I'm on a 120" screen, velvet/velour batcave and for HD/SDR i've got the IRIS notched down by 4 or 5 spots on eco power to give me 30ftl iirc

HDR eats light, particularly with the filter and that needs high power mode, but i can get away with Medium using a Natural non filter setting depending on movies and taste!

Put simply, you can never have too much light
Wow, I seriously have so much learning to do. I've never owned a projector and have only been focused on the build for now. Can't wait!
Alaric likes this.
tsharp is offline  
post #2396 of 3831 Old 07-17-2019, 07:06 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Luminated67's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Posts: 1,060
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 674 Post(s)
Liked: 381
Quote:
Originally Posted by tsharp View Post
Wow, I seriously have so much learning to do. I've never owned a projector and have only been focused on the build for now. Can't wait!
Hope you have deep pockets because once bitten it's a money pit if you aren't careful. :

Epson EH-TW9400 - QualGear Fixed Frame 100” - Sony x700 BRP & Panasonic 420 BRP - Sony 1080 AVR - IPL Acoustics M1TLs & IPL Acoustics AVC Pro Centre, Four KEF surrounds & 2 Sub boxes (10” Sub + 10” Passive Radiator)
Luminated67 is offline  
post #2397 of 3831 Old 07-17-2019, 09:06 AM
Advanced Member
 
ckronengold's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Boston Strong / Jersey Strong
Posts: 502
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 270 Post(s)
Liked: 111
Quote:
Originally Posted by Luminated67 View Post
Hope you have deep pockets because once bitten it's a money pit if you aren't careful. :
It's a money pit even when you are careful.

Video: Epson 5050 / nVidia Shield / OPPO-103
Audio: Marantz 7010 / MartinLogan Motion 40 (LR), 50XT (center), M2 (surrounds)
Streaming: nVidia Shield / Roku Ultra / Chromecast Ultra
NAS: Synology 1515+ Server: Ubuntu 18.04, i7-8700 CPU
HTPC: Win10 Pro 64-bit, i5 750 Radeon HD 5850
ckronengold is offline  
post #2398 of 3831 Old 07-17-2019, 05:03 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
FendersRule's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Northwest
Posts: 1,763
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 39 Post(s)
Liked: 28
What mode/settings for 3D do you guys use/find the best?

I'm assuming with Epson nowadays, that all I do is just register at their website and I'm protected?

What do you guys do the MPEG reduction and Noise Reduction? Seems like most everyone turns that stuff off...I think I'll probably do that.
DocOrange88 likes this.
FendersRule is offline  
post #2399 of 3831 Old 07-18-2019, 11:29 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: Out West
Posts: 1,307
Mentioned: 14 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 756 Post(s)
Liked: 362
DunMunro is offline  
post #2400 of 3831 Old 07-19-2019, 05:19 AM
Member
 
Join Date: May 2019
Posts: 27
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 5
Me again! My 5050 is sitting in a box while we finish the basement. I've been so focused on speaker layout, where walls go, where outlets go, I realized that drywall goes up next week, and I'm finally at the point of "Shoot, I need to find a receiver!"

Now, I have owned receivers in the past but have never had more than a 2.0. I'm building from scratch here. The Marantz SR7013 is top of my list but the price point is high. Is it overkill for what I'm wanting to do or do I sell it to my self as future-proofing? What was that said a couple posts ago about money pit...

I'll have:
Epson 5050
5.2.4 with no plans to ever go to 7.x.x
In-wall Episode 1700 Series for L,C,R,Surrounds,Atmos (in-ceiling)
133" AT 16:9
Xbox One
Apple TV or Shield or both
BR player of some sort - need to research this too!
Second zone with TV
Cheap turntable but music is not high priority

Important to me:
IMAX Enhanced
Dolby Atmos
Audyssey or similar
I would like to duplicate Zone 1 to Zone 2 TV so folks can watch a game on the projector screen or on the other side of the room by a game table. Not sure if this is even possible
tsharp is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Digital Projectors - Under $3,000 USD MSRP

Tags
5050 , Epson , frame interpolation , motion smoothing

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off