THE Epson 5050UB/6050UB Thread - Page 94 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 1261Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #2791 of 4254 Old 08-22-2019, 02:18 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 32 Post(s)
Liked: 3
Update on the convergence issues I had:

Had contact with Epson. They can't do much about it. They said if the panel alignment does not work then there is probably something wrong with the optics.

Within 30 days of purchase the DOA procedure can be started. Which means you can send the projector back to the seller and get a new one.

Just sended mine (tw9400) back to the seller this week. Expecting a new one next week.
Biggydeen is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2792 of 4254 Old 08-22-2019, 03:36 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Luminated67's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Posts: 1,109
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 709 Post(s)
Liked: 392
I can't understand why when purchasing a projector at $3K anyone would try a skimp on the HDMI cable feeding it like it's not that $50-70 is a lot of money in the grand scheme of things.

When buying a 4K capable projector and your lead is beyond 5M.



BUY A BLOODY OPTI-HDMI
Alaric likes this.

Epson EH-TW9400 - QualGear Fixed Frame 100” - Sony x700 BRP & Panasonic 420 BRP - Sony 1080 AVR - IPL Acoustics M1TLs & IPL Acoustics AVC Pro Centre, Four KEF surrounds & 2 Sub boxes (10” Sub + 10” Passive Radiator)
Luminated67 is online now  
post #2793 of 4254 Old 08-22-2019, 04:37 AM
Advanced Member
 
biglen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Limerick, PA
Posts: 979
Mentioned: 36 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 551 Post(s)
Liked: 92
Quote:
Originally Posted by Luminated67 View Post
I can't understand why when purchasing a projector at $3K anyone would try a skimp on the HDMI cable feeding it like it's not that $50-70 is a lot of money in the grand scheme of things.



When buying a 4K capable projector and your lead is beyond 5M.







BUY A BLOODY OPTI-HDMI
I wasn't aware that there was a big difference in 4k HDMI cables. I went on Amazon, and found one that had great reviews. I wasn't trying to "skimp" on the price, I was trying to find one with great reviews. My biggest fault, was not knowing that some were capable of doing more than others. Just because something costs more, doesn't necessarily mean it's better, was my thought process. Monster has been gouging people for years with their high priced cables, and they are no better than some cables that are 1/3 their price.

Sent from my SM-G950U using Tapatalk
biglen is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2794 of 4254 Old 08-22-2019, 04:48 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Luminated67's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Posts: 1,109
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 709 Post(s)
Liked: 392
Quote:
Originally Posted by biglen View Post
I wasn't aware that there was a big difference in 4k HDMI cables. I went on Amazon, and found one that had great reviews. I wasn't trying to "skimp" on the price, I was trying to find one with great reviews. My biggest fault, was not knowing that some were capable of doing more than others. Just because something costs more, doesn't necessarily mean it's better, was my thought process. Monster has been gouging people for years with their high priced cables, and they are no better than some cables that are 1/3 their price.

Sent from my SM-G950U using Tapatalk
No a dig at anyone just a general comment, the problem with reviews is it includes all sizes rather than the particular one you have highlighted.

Epson EH-TW9400 - QualGear Fixed Frame 100” - Sony x700 BRP & Panasonic 420 BRP - Sony 1080 AVR - IPL Acoustics M1TLs & IPL Acoustics AVC Pro Centre, Four KEF surrounds & 2 Sub boxes (10” Sub + 10” Passive Radiator)
Luminated67 is online now  
post #2795 of 4254 Old 08-22-2019, 05:10 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
skylarlove1999's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 1,979
Mentioned: 21 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1013 Post(s)
Liked: 711
Quote:
Originally Posted by Luminated67 View Post
No a dig at anyone just a general comment, the problem with reviews is it includes all sizes rather than the particular one you have highlighted.
Yes HDMI cable reviews on Amazon should be specific to the exact size. Most six foot cables exhibit very similar performance but once you get to beyond 20 ft the results become very hit or miss. Even within the same size and same brand their is inconsistency. It truly is frustrating. The higher price doesn't guarantee performance but from personal experience I do believe there is a higher percentage for successful handshake and 4K/60FPS 12bit 4:4:4 BT.2020 HDR10 performance. It is usually true that you get what you pay for. Finding that budget cable that works is a time consuming process. Thanks to all who post cables that work, regardless of price.

Sent from my SM-G965U using Tapatalk
skylarlove1999 is online now  
post #2796 of 4254 Old 08-22-2019, 05:41 AM
Advanced Member
 
biglen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Limerick, PA
Posts: 979
Mentioned: 36 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 551 Post(s)
Liked: 92
Quote:
Originally Posted by Luminated67 View Post
No a dig at anyone just a general comment, the problem with reviews is it includes all sizes rather than the particular one you have highlighted.
I didn't take it as a dig. I was just pointing out my thought process.

Sent from my SM-G950U using Tapatalk
Luminated67 likes this.
biglen is offline  
post #2797 of 4254 Old 08-22-2019, 06:03 AM
Senior Member
 
mach250's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 224
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 58 Post(s)
Liked: 37
I went from THIS CABLE to THIS CABLE. First one would give me pink and green dots with anything above 4:2:0 60hz, second one is perfect at any color depth. I would say anything above 10-15 feet needs to be optical.






Quote:
Originally Posted by skylarlove1999 View Post
The Xfinity 4k box playback should automatically default to the appropriate 4K color depth based on your display device capabilities. The 5050 is capable of 12bit 4:4:4 which is from a UHD disc. Streaming formats are never that high. They are usually 12bit 4:2:2 or 12bit 4:2:0. So I am not sure why you are getting 10 bit . Could be a receiver setting or the HDMI cable is only capable of 10 bit or could just be Netflix through Xfinity is limited to 10bit. Do you have a UHD player yet? That way you could pop in a disc and narrow down what is going on.

Sent from my SM-G965U using Tapatalk

I don't think I'm able to get 12bit 4:4:4 from my PC with a 1080 nvidia card.
mach250 is offline  
post #2798 of 4254 Old 08-22-2019, 06:15 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Luminated67's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Posts: 1,109
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 709 Post(s)
Liked: 392
Quote:
Originally Posted by mach250 View Post
I went from THIS CABLE to THIS CABLE. First one would give me pink and green dots with anything above 4:2:0 60hz, second one is perfect at any color depth. I would say anything above 10-15 feet needs to be optical.









I don't think I'm able to get 12bit 4:4:4 from my PC with a 1080 nvidia card.
That Opti HDMI is actually more than 2.5 times the price of mine. There’s a vast difference in price of these leads, but from what I have read is that with Opti leads it will either work perfectly or it won’t and this is purely down to how careful you are with the fitment.

Epson EH-TW9400 - QualGear Fixed Frame 100” - Sony x700 BRP & Panasonic 420 BRP - Sony 1080 AVR - IPL Acoustics M1TLs & IPL Acoustics AVC Pro Centre, Four KEF surrounds & 2 Sub boxes (10” Sub + 10” Passive Radiator)
Luminated67 is online now  
post #2799 of 4254 Old 08-22-2019, 07:00 AM
Senior Member
 
BIC2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Kansas City
Posts: 284
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 198 Post(s)
Liked: 45
PJ at top or center of screen

Setting up new Epson 6050 with lots of lens shift available. 10 ft ceiling, 7 ft top of screen. Adjustable 2-3 ft extension down rod. Centered side wall to wall. 17 ft throw. 2:35 screen 135-145 inches wide x 60 high.

I've read PJ should be at top of screen and I've read PJ should be centered on screen. I can pretty much do either in the upper one-third of screen. Which is preferable? Thanks.
BIC2 is offline  
post #2800 of 4254 Old 08-22-2019, 07:18 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
skylarlove1999's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 1,979
Mentioned: 21 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1013 Post(s)
Liked: 711
Quote:
Originally Posted by BIC2 View Post
Setting up new Epson 6050 with lots of lens shift available. 10 ft ceiling, 7 ft top of screen. Adjustable 2-3 ft extension down rod. Centered side wall to wall. 17 ft throw. 2:35 screen 135-145 inches wide x 60 high.



I've read PJ should be at top of screen and I've read PJ should be centered on screen. I can pretty much do either in the upper one-third of screen. Which is preferable? Thanks.
Centered in the middle of your screen both vertically and horizontally is supposedly best for image quality. Obviously not practical for 99% of the population. Centered horizontally and hanging about six inches to a foot down from the top of your screen will give you fantastic results. I haven't found lens shift vertically or horizontally to have a negative impact on the image for my Epson projectors through the past 10 years. I have my 6050 centered horizontally and a foot down into my screen vertically. There are some lens shift limitations when you use both at the same time but only at the upper recommended usage.

Sent from my SM-G965U using Tapatalk
skylarlove1999 is online now  
post #2801 of 4254 Old 08-22-2019, 07:22 AM
DIY Granddad (w/help)
 
MississippiMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Byhalia, Mississippi. Waaaay down in the Bottoms
Posts: 22,241
Mentioned: 279 Post(s)
Tagged: 6 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3790 Post(s)
Liked: 1760
Send a message via Skype™ to MississippiMan
Quote:
Originally Posted by skylarlove1999 View Post
You are definitely the king of awesome AV on a very discerning budget. I did originally try the Fiber Optic HDMI cable you suggested but alas the signal cut in and out too much for me to use it. I am glad it has worked out for you. It can never hurt to try the cheaper chicken. Thanks for your recommendation.

Your welcome. I certainly did not mean to discount the recommendation you made. That it too does the job intended is probably a given thing. Indeed, I am always trying to cut costs but without cutting corners, so when I do suggest a viable, less expensive alternative, it's only one that I myself have used "repeatedly" and can personally vouchsafe. It doesn't take but a few coming back on the Threads and saying "That was crap" to effectively put all one's suggestions to question.



Quote:
Originally Posted by biglen View Post
I figured I'd give it a shot, because it has free returns. I have nothing to lose. I'll let you know if it works for me. Thanks for your help !

Exactly the right outlook to take...iffin' you are a Prime'r. I found the suggested FO-HDMI to be very flexible and forgiving...well protected from kinking. People do have issues when too many bends...even sweeping ones...are made. Any FO line loses Light signal pass-through efficiency when it must pass through repeated bends. And when the efficiency is a dpendent factor as far as consistantly maintaining the speed and signal level of a transmission, all the advantages of having a FO-HDMI can come to naught.


Quote:
Originally Posted by skylarlove1999 View Post
If it works you saved around $100. That is a savings you could put towards a UHD player so definitely nothing to sneeze at. I really hope it works for you.

Again....the 100.00 saved is not chicken feed, and when one does find they both saved a lot as well as met their goals, the satisfaction index rises almost exponentially.
(............I hope it works for him too !!!........it better! )


@Kelvin1000



For many who have a 5040ub, what with it's limited non-18 gb Input abilities, the pursuit of Active cords has been a solution as well as a Rabbit Hole. Actives are among the most "Crap-shoot" type, some...if indeed many working wondermusly...others failing. (usually because someone presses the limits of reasonable sanity with 45'-50 ' + runs )


I've advocated the use of Cable Matters Certified 4K HDMI cords for about 3 yrs now...and over that time and in at least 30+ installations, only had one that didn't live up to my expectations. (...and that only recently...) A 25'er is a few dollars under 25.00 and it too is a "Prime" offering so there is little risk for A-Prime buyers to be concerned about.

https://www.amazon.com/Cable-Matters...ronics&sr=1-28



But beyond the 25' limit, the scramble to get the most 4K performance "Bang" for the least "Buck" has been at the forefront of many a Member's concerns. That accounts for why so many will rush to purchase any Cable someone touts as being "the one worth the money". It's been that way for sometime...all the way back to the days when HDMI was "new".


So it is a good thing you have vetted a Active HDMI cord that works as claimed.As such it is another viable alternativeand I'm sure many will be happy to know of it.

As for myself, now that there is a dependable and affordable FO-HDMI available....I'll not look backwards to a Wire-based cord. Especially since I'm primarily installing JVC units, both E-Shift and Native 4K'ers, both that absolutely require pristine 18 gb pass-through..

"They said it couldn't be done. Well, we sure showed 'em otherwise!"
HAS Advanced Audio and Imaging Solutions...Audio Transducers & Projection Screen Coatings
MississippiMan is online now  
post #2802 of 4254 Old 08-22-2019, 02:45 PM
Senior Member
 
BIC2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Kansas City
Posts: 284
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 198 Post(s)
Liked: 45
Tried it at about 1 ft down from top. Image beamed a foot or two up on the ceiling. I quickly changed the pitch to correct, but now PJ is pointing down a bit. Presume I want PJ level and use vertical lens shift instead of pitch? Thanks.

Epson Pro Cinema 6050 Projector, Screen TBD, Onkyo DX-C390 Six-Disk CD Changer
Triad Silver Speakers (11 in a 7.2.4 configuration), 2 JTR 118HT Subwoofers
Yamaha CX-A5200 11 Channel Processor, Monoprice Monolith 11 Channel Amplifier
Panasonic DP-UB820 UHD Blu-ray, Sony BDX-BP57 Blu-ray, Oppo DV-981HD, Harmony Elite Remote
BIC2 is offline  
post #2803 of 4254 Old 08-22-2019, 02:46 PM
Member
 
Rob Greer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 178
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 17
I've been trying to add my new 6050 to my Harmony Elite remote, but that model projector isn't listed as available. Harmony was once be pretty good about adding mainstream gear quickly, but the 6050 isn't on the list--at least for what I'm entering. Any suggestions short of manually adding the remote features to Harmony? Am I not entering the model number info correctly? TIA

"By my troth, I care not; a man can die but once; we owe God a death.... He that dies this year is quit for the next." -- William Shakespeare, Henry the Fourth, Part II
Rob Greer is offline  
post #2804 of 4254 Old 08-22-2019, 03:07 PM
Advanced Member
 
--Sclaws's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Aurora, IL USA
Posts: 692
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 83 Post(s)
Liked: 63
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rob Greer View Post
I've been trying to add my new 6050 to my Harmony Elite remote, but that model projector isn't listed as available. Harmony was once be pretty good about adding mainstream gear quickly, but the 6050 isn't on the list--at least for what I'm entering. Any suggestions short of manually adding the remote features to Harmony? Am I not entering the model number info correctly? TIA
Iirc I used the 5040 profile for my 5050. The HDR button was the only one I had to add manually.

Epson HC5050UB | 110" DEA Infinity Edge FF | Marantz NR-1607 | Kodi HTPC | Panasonic DP-UB820 | PS4 Pro
JimK
--Sclaws is online now  
post #2805 of 4254 Old 08-22-2019, 03:15 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Mike Garrett's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 26,687
Mentioned: 247 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12665 Post(s)
Liked: 10291
Send a message via Skype™ to Mike Garrett
Quote:
Originally Posted by BIC2 View Post
Tried it at about 1 ft down from top. Image beamed a foot or two up on the ceiling. I quickly changed the pitch to correct, but now PJ is pointing down a bit. Presume I want PJ level and use vertical lens shift instead of pitch? Thanks.
Yes, projector should be pointed straight ahead and you use lens shift to adjust the image height.
Mike Garrett is offline  
post #2806 of 4254 Old 08-22-2019, 03:48 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
skylarlove1999's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 1,979
Mentioned: 21 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1013 Post(s)
Liked: 711
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike Garrett View Post



Yes, projector should be pointed straight ahead and you use lens shift to adjust the image height.
The projector should be level with Earth and use the vertical shift to move the image up and down

Sent from my SM-G965U using Tapatalk
skylarlove1999 is online now  
post #2807 of 4254 Old 08-22-2019, 04:42 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
skylarlove1999's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 1,979
Mentioned: 21 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1013 Post(s)
Liked: 711
Quote:
Originally Posted by --Sclaws View Post
Iirc I used the 5040 profile for my 5050. The HDR button was the only one I had to add manually.
I think the 5050 profiles available in the Harmony remote

Sent from my SM-G965U using Tapatalk
skylarlove1999 is online now  
post #2808 of 4254 Old 08-22-2019, 05:31 PM
Advanced Member
 
biglen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Limerick, PA
Posts: 979
Mentioned: 36 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 551 Post(s)
Liked: 92
I'm confused about 4k Enhancement. It's grayed out with my Xfinity box, and my Nvidia Shield. Both are set to output 4k, so I'm assuming that's why it's grayed out? Does that mean the projector is outputting 4k, or no? Should I set the Xfinity box and Nvidia Shield to output in 1080p, then turn on 4k Enhancement?

Sent from my SM-G950U using Tapatalk
biglen is offline  
post #2809 of 4254 Old 08-22-2019, 05:36 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Cattledog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Atlanta
Posts: 1,858
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 72 Post(s)
Liked: 44
Quote:
Originally Posted by biglen View Post
I'm confused about 4k Enhancement. It's grayed out with my Xfinity box, and my Nvidia Shield. Both are set to output 4k, so I'm assuming that's why it's grayed out? Does that mean the projector is outputting 4k, or no? Should I set the Xfinity box and Nvidia Shield to output in 1080p, then turn on 4k Enhancement?

Sent from my SM-G950U using Tapatalk
A 4k signal is 8 million pixels. The Epson can only do 4 million. So no need to e shift. What it is doing is down-resing the signal.

Reality Based.
Cattledog is offline  
post #2810 of 4254 Old 08-22-2019, 09:31 PM
Advanced Member
 
biglen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Limerick, PA
Posts: 979
Mentioned: 36 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 551 Post(s)
Liked: 92
Okay, so when I set my Nvidia Shield to 1080p instead of 4K, I'm now getting 12 bit 4:2:2 when watching Netflix. If I switch the Shield back to 4K, I only get 10 bit. Does that make sense?

Sent from my SM-G950U using Tapatalk
biglen is offline  
post #2811 of 4254 Old 08-22-2019, 09:43 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
skylarlove1999's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 1,979
Mentioned: 21 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1013 Post(s)
Liked: 711
Quote:
Originally Posted by biglen View Post
Okay, so when I set my Nvidia Shield to 1080p instead of 4K, I'm now getting 12 bit 4:2:2 when watching Netflix. If I switch the Shield back to 4K, I only get 10 bit. Does that make sense?

Sent from my SM-G950U using Tapatalk
Doesn't make sense to me. Did you get the new cable yet?

Sent from my SM-G965U using Tapatalk
skylarlove1999 is online now  
post #2812 of 4254 Old 08-22-2019, 09:45 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
skylarlove1999's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 1,979
Mentioned: 21 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1013 Post(s)
Liked: 711
Quote:
Originally Posted by biglen View Post
Okay, so when I set my Nvidia Shield to 1080p instead of 4K, I'm now getting 12 bit 4:2:2 when watching Netflix. If I switch the Shield back to 4K, I only get 10 bit. Does that make sense?

Sent from my SM-G950U using Tapatalk
Does the 10bit still give you BT.2020 HDR10?

Sent from my SM-G965U using Tapatalk
skylarlove1999 is online now  
post #2813 of 4254 Old 08-22-2019, 09:52 PM
Advanced Member
 
biglen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Limerick, PA
Posts: 979
Mentioned: 36 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 551 Post(s)
Liked: 92
Quote:
Originally Posted by skylarlove1999 View Post
Does the 10bit still give you BT.2020 HDR10?

Sent from my SM-G965U using Tapatalk
This is Netflix on my Xfinity box.

Sent from my SM-G950U using Tapatalk

Last edited by biglen; 08-22-2019 at 09:58 PM.
biglen is offline  
post #2814 of 4254 Old 08-22-2019, 09:55 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: Out West
Posts: 1,378
Mentioned: 14 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 784 Post(s)
Liked: 397
Quote:
Originally Posted by biglen View Post
I'm confused about 4k Enhancement. It's grayed out with my Xfinity box, and my Nvidia Shield. Both are set to output 4k, so I'm assuming that's why it's grayed out? Does that mean the projector is outputting 4k, or no? Should I set the Xfinity box and Nvidia Shield to output in 1080p, then turn on 4k Enhancement?

Sent from my SM-G950U using Tapatalk
You need a 4K feed for 4K enhancement to work.
DunMunro is offline  
post #2815 of 4254 Old 08-22-2019, 09:58 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: Out West
Posts: 1,378
Mentioned: 14 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 784 Post(s)
Liked: 397
Quote:
Originally Posted by skylarlove1999 View Post
Does the 10bit still give you BT.2020 HDR10?

Sent from my SM-G965U using Tapatalk
10bit should still give HDR10:


DunMunro is offline  
post #2816 of 4254 Old 08-22-2019, 09:59 PM
Advanced Member
 
biglen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Limerick, PA
Posts: 979
Mentioned: 36 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 551 Post(s)
Liked: 92
Quote:
Originally Posted by skylarlove1999 View Post
Doesn't make sense to me. Did you get the new cable yet?

Sent from my SM-G965U using Tapatalk
Nope, the old $35 cable.

Sent from my SM-G950U using Tapatalk
biglen is offline  
post #2817 of 4254 Old 08-22-2019, 10:02 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
skylarlove1999's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 1,979
Mentioned: 21 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1013 Post(s)
Liked: 711
Quote:
Originally Posted by DunMunro View Post
You need a 4K feed for 4K enhancement to work.
Can you please explain how that works because I thought the 4k enhancement was for upconverting below 4k content to 4k as 1080p as an example and upconverting it to 4k.

Sent from my SM-G965U using Tapatalk
skylarlove1999 is online now  
post #2818 of 4254 Old 08-22-2019, 10:04 PM
Advanced Member
 
biglen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Limerick, PA
Posts: 979
Mentioned: 36 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 551 Post(s)
Liked: 92
This is what I get when I set the Xfinity box back to 4K, but then 4K Enhancement is grayed out. When the Xfinity box is set to 1080p, 4K Enhancement is not grayed out, and it engages.

Sent from my SM-G950U using Tapatalk
biglen is offline  
post #2819 of 4254 Old 08-22-2019, 10:08 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
skylarlove1999's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 1,979
Mentioned: 21 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1013 Post(s)
Liked: 711
Quote:
Originally Posted by DunMunro View Post
10bit should still give HDR10:





I get that 10bit can still produce BT.2020 HDR10 but if you look at the screen shot the projector is being fed a 1080P signal. Unusual for Netflix to send 12bit BT.2020 HDR10 when it sends a 1080p signal. My guess is that the Shield can be set to 12bit BT.2020 HDR10 even if that is not the signal being sent from Netflix and that is what the Epson projector is reading even though the projector is not actually receiving that 12bit BT.2020 HDR10 signal.

Sent from my SM-G965U using Tapatalk
skylarlove1999 is online now  
post #2820 of 4254 Old 08-22-2019, 10:08 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: Out West
Posts: 1,378
Mentioned: 14 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 784 Post(s)
Liked: 397
Quote:
Originally Posted by skylarlove1999 View Post
Can you please explain how that works because I thought the 4k enhancement was for upconverting below 4k content to 4k as 1080p as an example and upconverting it to 4k.

Sent from my SM-G965U using Tapatalk
See page 82 of your manual:



Quote:
Using 4K Enhancement
Using the projector's 4K Enhancement Technology, you can receive 4K (3840 × 2160 pixel) signals and
project ultra high-definition images. This technology shifts each pixel diagonally by 0.5 pixel to double
the image resolution.
Note: This feature may not be available depending on the projection mode and input signal.
Basically 4K enhancement takes a 4k signal and down samples it to something like 2.6K, but it still requires a 4K feed. Super Enhancement is for 1080P, IIRC, and that uses e-shift to reduce the SDE.

Last edited by DunMunro; 08-22-2019 at 10:13 PM.
DunMunro is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Digital Projectors - Under $3,000 USD MSRP

Tags
5050 , Epson , frame interpolation , motion smoothing

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off